F10 BMW M5 finally unveiled – twin-turbo V8 power!

BMW has finally unveiled its flagship high performance F10 – the all new BMW M5, seen here in Monte Carlo Blue. For the F10, BMW has given it a higher level of design differentiation over the regular F10 and F10 M Sport, unlike the E60 where the cars looked almost the same from the front.

Moving to the rear, there’s a subtle bootlid spoiler, and like the M Sport bumper the reflectors have been moved up nearer to the tail lights. Where the M Sport bumper featured a gloss black section around the tailpipes, the lower part of the M5 bumper gets an aggressive bespoke look to complement the classic M5 quad tailpipes.

What’s in the engine bay is pretty much expected – a 4.4 litre twin-scroll twin-turbo V8, which the turbos sitting inside the V bank, so we have to say goodbye to the high revving V10 of the E60 M6. The V8 is similar to the engine in the X5 M and X6 M, except the power output is a wee bit slightly higher at 560hp instead of the 555hp in the M SUVs. Peak torque is the same at 680Nm from 1,500rpm.

There are some changes though – like most latest revisions of their force inducted engines, BMW has now managed to cramp Valvetronic valve control into the cylinder heads, which means there is now no need for a conventional throttle. This means that now technically even though the new engine does not have the individual throttle butterflies of the outgoing V10, each intake valve acts as its own throttle, so you could consider this new engine as having a total of 16 (2 intake valves per cylinder) individual throttles!

Other changes compared to the M turbo V8 engine in the X5/X6 M include an increase in boot up from 1.2 bar to 1.5, and an increase in cylinder compression ratio from 9.3:1 to 10.0:1. Peak horsepower comes in earlier at 5,750rpm compared to 6,000rpm, and this peak power is sustained up to 7,000rpm. Redline has also increased by 200rpm to 7,200rpm.

Also, unlike the M SUVs which pair the blown V8 with an M Sport Automatic to drive all four wheels via xDrive, the F10 BMW M5’s engine hooks up to a 7-speed BMW M DCT twin clutch transmission, which drives the rear axle’s Active M Differential.

The car hits 100km/h in 4.4 seconds, and goes on to a top speed of 305km/h, which is by default locked to 250km/h unless you buy the M Driver’s Package.

There are two different wheel options available, as we found out from an online BMW M5 configurator tool. The press photos only show one wheel design, a nice optional 20 inch forged design with 5 slim doublespokes called Style 343M, similar to the Style 351M wheels and the E63 M6’s wheels. The other style has double the amount of doublespokes in a 19 inch size and is called Style 345M, and this design was previewed on the M5 Concept. The 345M design is standard on the F10 M5.

These wheels are wrapped with regular tyres just like all M cars, which just goes to show that run flat tyre technology doesn’t seem to have caught up to the standards which BMW M wants just yet. You will also notice the color-coded 6-pot brake calipers which the slim spokes so proudly show off.

The instrumentation cluster continues the tradition of having white backlighting instead of amber, complimented with red needles. The black panel multi-info display on the lower half of the display is also a shade of light blue instead of amber on regular F10s. This blue theme continues in the iDrive menu system, which is also now blue instead of red.

The 7-speed DCT transmission gets its own bespoke shifter and shifter surround. The trim around the shifter area also seems to be fixed to the black shade you see above, instead of following the dashboard and door trim as with regular F10s.

The suspension system uses Dynamic Damper Control and offers Comfort Mode, Sport Mode and Sport Plus Mode. Comfort is self explanatory, while Sport stiffens the dampers a little. Sport Plus stiffens the dampers even further. These drive modes also control the M Servotronic steering system’s assistance levels, with the most assistance naturally being offered in Comfort mode.

However, there isn’t the usual rocker toggle near the gear lever as with the F10 for selecting these modes. It looks like what you have to do is control it via a button somewhere and the black panel display shows you what options you’re cycling through.

The “default” trim for the dash and doors seen here is Aluminium Trace (F10 M Sport is Aluminium Hexagon), but you can also specify Finewood trimash grain Brown or Fineline Anthracite.

The most adventurous leather trim you can go with has got to be this full Sakhir Orange trim, but you can tone down on the orange a little with Sakhir Orange/Black, which switches certain areas of the interior to black for a more two tone look rather than just orange all the way. There’s also options for a leather wrapped dash.

As for color choices, other than this blue you see here the rest are all different shades of grey or white. What about a nice red like the debut color of the X6 M? Perhaps it’s coming soon in the future. Look after the jump for a huge pic gallery of the new F10 M5.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=2323]
[zenphotopress number=999 album=2320]
[zenphotopress number=999 album=2321]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Best looking sports saloon around.

• i love cars on Jun 20, 2011 at 1:19 am

It’s hideous… The kidney grill is oversized… it’s like your nostril is bigger than your eyes…

• LanunFX on Jun 20, 2011 at 8:51 am

Always complain…complain…complain, look at proton complain, look at perodua complain some more, then at BM pun complain jgk?…

• BMW Super and Loyal Fan on Jun 20, 2011 at 4:17 pm

Thank God this will remain CBU. At least quality will be maintained. I got lots of friends with CBU F10 staying overseas, and all of them say totally got no problems. They love their cars. However the F10 CKD here, non stop got problems and always breaking down. All my friends who got the car just complain complain complain. So so so many complaints about the F10. This is what you call CKD quality. BMW Malaysia, can we please have the F10 CBU back again at RM399,000? At least give us the option to choose. No point paying big bucks for non stop problems with the CKD.

• ilovem5 on Jun 22, 2011 at 2:04 am

M5 has died….

• Mozilla Chrome on Jun 20, 2011 at 12:07 am

Any performance figures?

• Amazing car BMW M5!! but very very expensive, I can only hope for Satria Neo.. :(

• clutch basah on Jun 20, 2011 at 9:40 am

I like your comment. No shame on living in reality my friend.

• Ak, I know you can do better than that…
      Les Brown said: “Shoot for the moon. Even if you miss it you will land among the stars.”
      Search for the meaning in Google if you don’t understand what it means.

• typical read and follow… come on… moon is the nearest thing to earth other than man made satellites…. stars are far far away… they are relatives to our sun…

• corolla_KE70 on Jun 20, 2011 at 11:57 am

i fell u too my friend.

• MCdog on Jun 20, 2011 at 12:21 pm

Vote for those who propose tax reduction on imported car.

• KeretaMayat on Jun 20, 2011 at 1:58 pm

Even the tax is reduced; you still need to pay the maintenance for the car. As you know, it’s not cheap to maintain that kind of car. You just make sure you work hard and get good income, and then you will able to afford the car.

• armandd on Jun 20, 2011 at 12:14 am

wow! 680Nm from 1,500rpm! this beast must be a blast to drive..

• lalok_stylo on Jun 20, 2011 at 12:47 am

seriously??
      i think maybe there is wrong typing error…..

• no. not typing error. max torque available from 1500rpm to 5750rpm, extremely wide but it is turbo after all, so flat torque curve is to be expected!!

• Whitefox on Jun 20, 2011 at 12:45 am

Nice car~~~

Nvr complain to abt bmw M-serious. wish i faster kena sportstoto :P

• Ayo, looks plain la this f10..great engine,chassis etc but the looks a bit 80’s..boxy

• Jerry on Jun 20, 2011 at 7:38 am

The BMW fatigue has set in on me. I guess it’s a case of overexposure. Driving one and reading about one is two entirely different thing. Sian…

• Simon Ng on Jun 20, 2011 at 3:30 pm

Jerry. Test drive one and know that cannot afford, not only feeling sian, feel “tu lan” as well. Many years ago, I test drive the E60 530D. After that, i refuse to test drive any more cars. Everytime I see an E60 driving pass, I know what I am missing.

I have been working hard since the E60 came out. Guess what? Everytime I thought I am closer to that dream. Sometime else would come up, higher fuel price, living cost, housing cost etc…

• LOL! Buy e34 or e36 la… you can only get the real BMW feel from the older cars.

• HirumaKecil on Jun 21, 2011 at 1:44 pm

Yeah.. e34 is the best…… e30 also nice one…. i like e34 and e30 more than other bm…

• BadBET on Jun 20, 2011 at 8:19 am

Still out of reach even they sell without tax here. Really like it. :(

• Anything from Alphina for this fiver?

• Although I welcome the new change of turbo for BMW M series, I feel that there are a lot of ppl out that screaming madly about the change.

Turbo? Problem?! U mad bro?

Get over it! (Expect ex BMW M enthusiast to come flaming.. lol)

• Khairul on Jun 20, 2011 at 8:56 am

a lambo chased an m5 last nite until they both crashed.. pity..

• rapidshifter on Jun 20, 2011 at 10:20 am

if reach 300km/h can speedtrap gun catches you?? absolute gem this M5

• helang on Jun 20, 2011 at 2:51 pm

yes!!

what are you? still living in the 80’s? living in the myth that if you go over 250km/h they got blurred picture?

where do you think they spent all the ‘income’ they got from traffic offender? buy a new speedtrap gun larr. investment bebeh.. investment!!!

• teelim on Jun 20, 2011 at 10:21 am

the new 5’s look is starting to grow on me. especially this version. :D~

T_T if only I could afford one

• dream lover on Jun 20, 2011 at 10:51 am

Paul,
    Any idea on what actually transpired
    btw the M5 and Lamborghini crash along the Elite highway yesterday?
    Where the drivers on a “high” or was it a stolen car chase ?
    Thnx! :)

• Dato seri on Jun 20, 2011 at 10:54 am

This car is damn heavy. You can feels the weight when you drive hard. That’s why I sold off my previous e60 m5 & make way for Ferrari 458

• guru guru on Jun 20, 2011 at 12:57 pm

My Tata Lorry also damn heavy. I can feel the weight too when drive hard up the mountain. That’s why i sold it.

• 680 Nm at 1500 rpm?wow…5 point seat belt is a must…

• kingjoke on Jun 20, 2011 at 11:16 am

so many photo… the most i like…the engine! haha vrooomm …vrooommm

• venven81 on Jun 20, 2011 at 2:05 pm

ya dude. whenever there’s coverage on any bimmer, you can sure expect a lot (i mean damn lot) of photos on those cars. im sure paultan must be a big fan of bimmer!

• Paul Tan on Jun 20, 2011 at 2:07 pm

Actually, whenever there is a car launch, we put up EVERY SINGLE PHOTO that the PR department makes available. It just so happens BMW likes to put up a hell alot of photos.

• PassionToDrive on Jun 20, 2011 at 1:35 pm

Everytime I see a a sports car such as this M5, it will sky-rocket my motivation to focus and work harder for my future! So that my children can proudly & enjoy at the back seat while their PaPa drives the sports sedan:D

• Gavin on Jun 20, 2011 at 1:51 pm

The black faced meter dials are excellent clean and clear

• mimpi on Jun 20, 2011 at 3:08 pm

Thanks for the headsup and fantastic photos !!
    That’s the closest we can get to this Ultimate Driving Machine
    and drool over it !!
    Maybe tikam 4748 at Toto would be the only way of owning this beauty !!

• freeze on Jun 20, 2011 at 8:29 pm

Cheaper to get a parang, slash the owner and drive off in it.

• albag on Jun 20, 2011 at 5:17 pm

how much it costs? RM40,000?

• Dudes, I was in S’pore last week. Saw the new 1 Series Coupe on the road.
    S T U N N I N G…..Man that is a beautiful car
    & driver….. she has that CFM look…..hehehe…

• last time i saw someone proton satria was dyno,also get 500hp on wheel from just 2.0liter turbo straight 4.but you know,fuel cosumption like water…

• vertigo on Jun 22, 2011 at 7:53 am

the square boxes near the air intake seems like an air-water intercooler.