Honda Stream to undergo “product update campaign” in Malaysia – 1,494 vehicles from MY 2008-2010 involved

Honda Malaysia is undertaking what it calls a “product update campaign” for its Stream, involving 2008 to 2010 model year vehicles, with a total of 1,494 units involved. This is aimed at addressing a technical irregularity involving the water pump pulley bolts, caused by a burr around the periphery of the bolt-mounting hole.

Essentially, a burr is a raised edge formed from the machining operation, which in drilled holes can cause issues, such as that happening here with the Stream.

Honda Malaysia said in a statement that owners with affected units may observe a few symptoms including the constant display of warning lights on the speedometer and a noise from water pump. In the long run, the burr will cause the pulley bolt to become loose and the bolt may break.

When that happens, the auxiliary belt will loosen and eventually detach from the alternator. As the supply of current is interrupted, the electric power steering assist will gradually come to a halt that makes maneuvering difficult. There is also a possibility that the engine may stall.

Upon inspection, all affected units will be replaced with new water pump pulley bolts. The company is in the midst of preparing the replacement parts, and necessary inspection and replacement will be carried out when the parts are ready. Honda Malaysia added that all current selling models are not affected.

Meanwhile, in related news, reports say that Honda will be recalling about 200,000 passenger cars globally due to the issue above. The company said it had received 63 customer reports in Japan of engine malfunctions as a result of the defect, but said none had led to accidents.

In Japan, it will recall 50,122 units of the Stream, Civic and Crossroad that were made at its domestic plants between July 2008 and July 2010. “Globally there are some 200,000 cars, including those in Japan, with similar troubles,” a Honda spokesman said, adding that it would recall about 100,000 units in South America and 6,800 in Europe.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• taboogen on Jul 25, 2011 at 5:32 pm

herm even Mr Honda have problem….

• out of topic….any news about proton global sedan car..i hear from tv3 news just now..

• generation on Jul 25, 2011 at 10:41 pm

Proton Emas?? but Proton lately only mention that only 1 new car will be out due 2012. If it’s Proton Espire, Couldnt be Emas already.

• Legions on Jul 26, 2011 at 1:42 pm

global sedan car refers to P3 which is Persona R. mass Prod. will initiate soon in 1st Q of 2012

• Trying to fix the problem – I dont think so. I was exceptionally disappointed as just 1 month after my warranty expired the water pully in my 2008 steam broke when I was driving and the waterpump dropped nearly causing an accident.

When I reported this to the service centre and the customer service centre all they could say was that my warranty had expired and that I had to pay to get it repaired. Was only able to get them to look at getting it replaced for free after I lost my temper. It then took them several days to get the relevant approvals to change the parts and they expressed that it was on a ‘goodwill’ basis. During which time I was left inconvenienced without a car. I also had to pay for the labour to repair the parts and also for the replacement coolent which came to >RM400/-.

I am extremely annoyed as they did not disclose this issue to me when I brought the car in. What was worse was the car was just serviced 1 month before the who incident happened. Service from Honda is extremely bad and whats worse is that they made it seem that they were doing me a favour in getting the parts replaced. The service center even challanged my contention that this was due to a mechanical fault rather than something due to my own doing.

• carazy on Jul 25, 2011 at 5:36 pm

good names for the “recall”..

• Wisdom on Jul 25, 2011 at 5:37 pm

Stream are using the same engine with Civic 1.8. So Civic is confirm trouble free?

• where is jap die hard fan? if proton do that sure 100 comments by them bashing proton…but when H do that…silence of the lamb..hypokrito…

• Somemore coming up with fancy names for recall…

• Heck, at least Honda and Toyota are doing something to fix the problem.

Protong since the days of Saga and Wira Gaban until today; Personal and Gene2, I’ve changed my fuel pump and water pump numerous time and still no recall! Owh yeah, except for the lifetime warranty for the power window recently introduced (many thanks to the complaints done by the pak taxi).

Talk about lousy quality of our national car, no need to elaborate more on the service too.

Whatever it is, just gather enough money and buy imports, Japs, Conti or whatever, just buy imports.

Let the the Japs Power be with you! Arigato Gozaimasu!

• gen2lama on Jul 26, 2011 at 3:45 pm

hmmmm…wonder why u bought proton. not one but three…..aiya ‘ just gather enough money and buy imports, Japs, Conti or whatever, just buy imports.’ :……..persona+gen2+waja, u can buy pure jap car man…..

• kington on Jul 25, 2011 at 6:40 pm

I guess the Civic will be spared, but water pump problems have been quite common in the previous generation Stream, especially the 1.7 litre models sold in Singapore.

The way i look at it, even German cars are not spared. I’ve heard customers having to replace relays for signals and selected electric devices in brand new A4s. Many people are of the opinion that these cars are no longer built to last, with more and more recyclable plarts used and not forgetiing the fact that building bullet proof cars do hurt sales.

• fique d on Jul 25, 2011 at 7:04 pm

wahhh recall parties again…. im in im in… oh no mine just honda wave … oso kena recall ka ?

• ultrajo on Jul 26, 2011 at 9:49 am

that’s why Boon Siew introduce HONDA WAVE DASH to counter your wave problem hahaha!

• carazy on Jul 26, 2011 at 10:20 am

and my honda EX5 also need to be “update” la ni..hehe

• “product update campaign”? why in earth so hard to admit it is a RECALL!!!

• Recall® on Jul 25, 2011 at 7:59 pm

Toyota already trademarked the word Recall®, so Honda have to come up with a more creative term.

• AkuLerTuh on Jul 30, 2011 at 10:53 pm

Huh! Do u prefer call it recall than Product Update? do you know what recall means for automotive company? if u have a automotive company.. would u mind using recall rather than product update? do u? think before u writing on.

• kowreck on Jul 25, 2011 at 7:49 pm

so i can assume here that its free for the update?

• generation on Jul 25, 2011 at 10:06 pm

if Honda can call this an update, hopefully they will not rush their future model and simply give ppl and update…. this is not cool.. I would rather have a well build Origin Model without update than a full of problems car with constant free update..

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Jul 25, 2011 at 10:18 pm

Yes, your assumption is correct.

• Wisdom on Jul 26, 2011 at 11:04 am

Its a known facts, manufacturers nowadays like to use consumer as part of R&D….

• kowreck on Jul 25, 2011 at 7:50 pm

so i can assume that the update is free then?

• fique d on Jul 25, 2011 at 8:09 pm

why nowdays automakers keep recalled their product… is it workmanship became poorer or consumer awareness n expectation became higher

• drMpower on Jul 25, 2011 at 8:24 pm

product update campaign is an excuse for SOMETHING MUST HAVE GONE WRONG
    otherwise they would not bother to do the update thing
    plus they are NOT PAYING the customers for wasting the time waiting for the cars to be ‘updated’
    why we don’t go back do something and then come pick up the cars?
    one is because we don’t really trust people and people means like at large (i am not saying i don’t trust service center people)
    second is because it is non of their business to even ask us what to do

as far as money is concern, honda is charging 50- 60 bucks per hour for the work hour
    so now the table turned, why dont they give 50-60 bucks per hour of waiting for each customer
    i dont they will not do that but what say honda for 50-60 bucks discount off for next service
    no?

i read somewhere about the transport ministry is mulling about passing something of a law about birthdays being the end-start of driving license expiry.
    or something like that
    i believe they are short of issue to be think of that they resort to something like that

so now ministry, i believe its high time for u to further justify the paycheck
    by making it compulsory for car makers to compensate the drivers for any inconvenience faced
    or
    get the recall law up and running

• We have a law but we still failed to enforce it.

• drMpower on Jul 26, 2011 at 1:13 pm

i may have miss something here
        i wasnt aware any of the laws regarding the recall
        and giving customers the right to kaw-kaw claim compensation if anything goes wrong
        what i know theres consumer tribunal or something

i hope paultan.org, one day, give some posting about laws and regulations
        afforded to us the public that use the motorways
        the postings may be just about laws. thats all.

• better yet have someone to raise the issue in the parliament.

• teelim on Jul 25, 2011 at 11:46 pm

So this is Honda trying to make a recall sound less serious.

great job *roll-eyes*

• Carl Wong on Jul 26, 2011 at 2:56 am

Do you think we humans are perfect? NEVER. So the cars we build are not perfect sometimes. Cars are complex machines and sometimes it might have problems, just make sure you fix it fast!! It’s good to have recalls for serious problems, yes even for Proton.

• drMpower on Jul 26, 2011 at 1:18 pm

of course we are not perfect, the humans
      but i dont want to drive a car with parts of it falling off
      or dismantling itself

sometimes we might see this as glass of water half full/half empty methaphore
      recalls may mean the manufacturers are really concern about the customers’ safety
      or
      it may picture out that the manufacturers are not doing a bloody good job in the first place

• Kimahrileo on Jul 26, 2011 at 8:12 am

How many times did Honda and Toyota made recalls? ALOT! Stupid Proton basher got something to say this time? DO some study first ok, b4 bashing without any knowledge what so ever. That will makes u looks dumb :)

Congrats to Proton for the new CVT transmission and Perodua for making products that is rebadged for their own parent company, Daihatsu. ( New Myvi is rebadged by Daihatsu to become Sirion ) :)

• kington on Jul 26, 2011 at 10:56 am

It’s always been the case for PErodua, the Viva is sold as teh Charade in the UK while the MyVi shares the plaform with Daihatsu, Toyota and even Subaru.

Commendable effort to Proton for launching a CVT box when many automakers face so much problems with it. Hope it lasts well coz it does lower the maintenance of the car unless you’re required to change the entire box.

Many Proton bashers here are angry because those days, Proton never do recall.. they just let you pakai until rosak then you come and claim if still udner warranty. For Honda & Toyota, too much at stake, hence recalls are necessary.

• calvin_ng on Jul 26, 2011 at 9:11 am

so…this is how it sounds…

1. Honda found the problem honda recall = customer Angry and blame Honda…
    2. Honda found problem do nothing, customer dont know and accident happen = Customer blame himself of not driving properly

Hello… make sense… Honda being nice and replace problematic parts for free and what they get Angry customer, if in that case Honda might as well like Toyota just keep quiet and blame it on driver error and get tons of lawsuit (if they are unlucky) if they are lucky they might as well get away with it…

• kington on Jul 26, 2011 at 11:04 am

If I’m not wrong, it was later proven that several of the sticky pedals were indeed driver’s fault.

In fact, GM cars also suffered something similar but was of course spared the lime light by the Obama’s guys.

• calvin_ng on Jul 27, 2011 at 3:50 pm

so… your point being… HONDA should keep quiet and assume nothing happens… customer happy :) well at least they will be happy until they met accident lah…

• kington on Jul 27, 2011 at 11:54 pm

No just to point out the fact that teh recalls pressured by the US govt against Toyota seemed a little unfair when GM cars were also affected. GM of course, were well protected.

• APQP leader on Jul 26, 2011 at 9:17 am

This is what happen when some of TS16949 clauses is skipped or ignored.

• Wisdom on Jul 26, 2011 at 11:08 am

They are not skipping TS, they are confuse with it…..

• blackjkx on Jul 27, 2011 at 10:57 am

“This is what happen when some of TS16949 clauses is skipped or ignored.”
      ???
      haha.Funny. Maybe u just came back from audit course?
      Bet your company just develop a team to apply for 16949 certification. And you are in team of APQP, so proud to call yourself APQP leader.

• abahaku on Jul 26, 2011 at 11:00 am

Product update used by Honda
    Will more ‘vocab’ to replace recall soon to be used in the future?
    haha

• kamaji on Jul 26, 2011 at 1:06 pm

Honda did not recall due to defect….they name it ‘product update campaign’.Here I’ve got another recall…will simply call it ‘free engine or body enhancement’ or ‘free mandatory modification’..WTF

• Just me on Jul 26, 2011 at 2:07 pm

Sound quite scary, can cause fatal accident actually. This is definitely a recall and not update. I quess Honda do not understand the meaning of update. 1494 total Stream from 2008 to 2010 is a bit low isn’t it? Look quite OK, at least to me.

• calvin_ng on Jul 27, 2011 at 3:54 pm

it is call product update due to the parts is functional… what they do is to update the product so it will not fail…

well you can call it recall but they can call it update it is just terms… anyhow the point is they take the initiative to replace your parts and not keep quiet about it…

call it as you like recall / update / replace / refresh / WTF…..
      it is the same… they remove problematic parts and replace it with a good one :)

at the end they fix your car thats the most important