Lotus Evora S picked by Carabinieri as rapid response cars – two units to see service in Rome and Milan

The Italian military police have selected the Lotus Evora S as rapid response vehicles – two units of the car will see service in Rome and Milan in a two-year long stint. The Arma dei Carabinieri, as it is known, is a division of the Italian army and plays a similar role in Italy to Scotland Yard in the UK, working with the civilian police.

In preparation for the job with the Carabinieri, both Evoras have been equipped with some of the very latest voice recognition technology, including the EVA (Enhanced Vehicle Automation) system. A special portable refrigeration compartment has been fitted behind the front seats, which will allow for the rapid transport of vital organs and blood required during medical emergencies.

It’s a feather in the cap for the brand, Group Lotus’ CEO Dany Bahar said, considering the market where the cars will see service. “Everyone knows that Italy has more than it’s fair share of high profile sports car manufacturers, so it is a real honour for a relatively small British brand to be in this position,” he said at the cars’ handover ceremony.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• rapidshifter on Jul 25, 2011 at 12:01 pm

nice rims… hmmm lambo and ferrari get beaten for this gig??

• Georgie on Jul 25, 2011 at 12:32 pm

They already have 2 unit of Lamboghini Gallardo in service. (one already gone). And the Alfa Romeo 159 is their “Proton Waja to our PDRM”.

For a car that can do 0-100km/h in 4.9 seconds priced at £50k+ compared to a Ferrari 612 HGTS which can do 0-100km/h at approx 4.2 seconds but priced at £200k+, then why not pick Lotus Evora S?

• fique d on Jul 25, 2011 at 12:05 pm

british cars used by italian? unbelieveable… yur mama’s car no good enuff eh?

• means the are open enough to accept better car depends on their requirement, unlike malaysia insists on using Buatan malaysia which less durable and more expansive ( more compare to the government can get tax-free car (foreign) which better in sense of price or ohter)

• teelim on Jul 25, 2011 at 12:16 pm

This is something we won’t see here.

• TFazuin on Jul 25, 2011 at 12:21 pm

I think they go for practicality, its harder to maintain a Ferrari than a Lotus.

• italian malay on Jul 25, 2011 at 12:33 pm

Another marketing stretegy by donating cars to the Police.
    But at the end of the day, Proton will bear the cost of this goodwill.
    Inspira Msia and now Evora.
    Dany Bahar be a little prudent on your generousity
    cos its not your money !!

• Faddd on Jul 25, 2011 at 6:26 pm

F***in ***hole, not one single moment is left for you to find opportunity to bash the gov/Proton/Lotus thingy, haters going to hate, until the worlds end, can you not be happy just for once in you life?

• chan chin lee on Jul 26, 2011 at 2:20 am

Resorting to vulgarity & profanity reflects your low IQ and EQ :(

• Vanan on Jul 25, 2011 at 12:50 pm

I want to be a Police!!!!

• This is military police dude, not the civilian police. They do JAG I guess.

• Liverpool on Jul 25, 2011 at 1:01 pm

Maybe coz its much cheaper than Lambos and Ferraris?

• generation on Jul 25, 2011 at 4:37 pm

and yet still have a great Acceleration and Handling.

• Yes, much cheaper. Apparently both cars are for free:

“Lotus has donated two Evora S police cars to the Carabinieri, Italy’s national police.”

http://www.wired.com/autopia/2011/07/hot-pursuit-italian-police-roll-in-lotus-evoras/

• thumbs up to proton. a door to more success wth lotus brand hopefully

• confused on Jul 25, 2011 at 2:49 pm

Need for Speed Hot Pursuit bebeh.. Aww~

• selamat on Jul 25, 2011 at 2:55 pm

wallauweehhhhh

• drMpower on Jul 25, 2011 at 3:31 pm

i think the italians rozzers mainly use alfas
    not because of the petrol head factor of course
    but then they got rapid action cars as well
    this evora is addition to the already vast line up
    which i believe includes ferraris, lamborghinis, maseratis, and some others
    i remember looking at pictures of the vehicles
    with police liveries POLIZIA

• drMpower on Jul 25, 2011 at 3:34 pm

i think the italians rozzers mainly use alfas
    not because of the petrol head factor of course
    but then they got rapid action cars as well
    this evora is addition to the already vast line up
    which i believe includes ferraris, lamborghinis, maseratis, and some others
    i remember looking at pictures of the vehicles
    with police liveries POLIZIA

but what i want to see the most
    is the fleet of papal’s office at the nearby vatican city
    they may have one of two surprises ( i hope so)
    considering the vatican prefers using mercedes cars in the past
    to ferry the papal himself

• 1btgnaik on Jul 25, 2011 at 4:48 pm

This is a good choice for the military cops….considering the narrow streets in most of italys’ cities, this will be the “real” italian job….good handling, agile and compact as compare with most supercars, it would be vital in emergency response tasks

• kamaji on Jul 25, 2011 at 5:36 pm

Wonder why the Italian MP needs a 2 seater car.Better use a Ducati instead.Can anyone think of some reasons.

• Faddd on Jul 25, 2011 at 6:28 pm

What’s the difference between Carabinieri and Polizia? both are Italian Police…..!

• Horizon Sailor on Jul 25, 2011 at 7:58 pm

Carabinieri = Military Police (MP)= Polis Tentera

In Malaysia, if u see a green army landrover with blue strobe light….That is Polis Tentera..Known as Kor Polis Tentera….

• confused on Jul 26, 2011 at 8:45 am

but mostly the police who escorted Agong to Subang airport is just ordinary police, or sometime Helang squad.. never see MP doing such thing here in Bukit Jelutong..

• spinning on Jul 26, 2011 at 12:14 pm

dude, MP task is not escorting Agong…MP is responsible to police the army same as normal police to police the civilian…most army dun like MP, dun ask me why, ask them…

• khairil on Jul 26, 2011 at 4:00 pm

camry engined lotus.

• Faddd on Jul 26, 2011 at 9:15 pm

Yup, Toyota reliability, Lotus Handling, win-win situation don’t you think?

• you must be a girl then

• Military Police – MP

Job Task:
    1. Securing/ guarding Army military base.
    2. Provide traffic control INSIDE the base.
    3. Control the military law inside the base.
    4. Provide escort convoy for military vehicle when going out from base (VVIP/ Ordnance/heavy machinery)

Thats I know from it a bit since my dad are ex-army…