2012 Audi A8 Hybrid powered by 2.0L TFSI inline-4

Audi will add a hybrid variant to its flagship Audi A8 for production 2012, using a hybrid drivetrain that mates Audi’s 2.0 litre TFSI engine to a disc-shaped electric motor.

The inline-4 turbo engine (modified for hybrid use) makes 211 PS and 350Nm of torque on its own, but with the help of the 40kW and 210Nm electric motor, the Audi A8 Hybrid makes a total combined output of 245 PS and 480Nm, which is less horsepower but more torque than the A8 3.0 TFSI’s 290hp and 420Nm supercharged V6.

The hybrid system’s disc-shaped motor basically replaces the Audi A8 automatic gearbox’s torque converter and sits in between the engine and the 8-speed automatic transmission. A multi-plate clutch that operates in an oil bath connects or disconnects the electric motor and the TFSI engine, and does so ultra-precisely and gently in all situations.

The electric motor is powered by a 36.7kg lithium-ion battery located in a crash-proofed area in the boot, providing 1.3 kWh of nominal energy and up to 40 kW of power. The battery is air-cooled two different ways depending on need. Air is either blown from the passenger compartment by a fan or via a separate cooling circuit coupled to the automatic air conditioning system. The electric motor itself and the control electronics are water cooled.

According to the provisional figures generated by early-stage tests, the 2012 Audi A8 Hybrid will be able to reach 100km/h in 7.7 seconds and continue to a top speed of 235km/h while consuming less than 6.42 litres per 100km in the EU combined cycle test, along with CO2 emissions of less than 148 g/km.

The hybrid luxury sedan will be able to hit 100km/h on electric power alone, and can cruise on electric power for up to 3km at a constant 60km/h. The driver can choose between three modes – an EV mode which tries to run on electric power as often as possible, a D option which allows the car to automatically choose when to use what power source, and an S mode which emphasizes on the best possible acceleration.

Of course, if the fact that your A8 Hybrid can silently roll into a hotel lobby with nary a sound isn’t enough to let people know you’re not driving any regular A8, Audi has also given the A8 Hybrid some unique identification externally – turbine blade 18 or 19 inch wheels, hybrid badging and an exclusive Arctic Silver paint.

You know what’s the most interesting thing about this A8 Hybrid in Malaysian context? Because the internal combustion engine component of the hybrid system has an engine displacement of less than 2,000cc – it actually fulfills the engine displacement rule of hybrid car tax exemptions in Malaysia! BMW and Mercedes-Benz have hybrid cars but the electric motors are all paired with giant engines. This is sort of the first German hybrid luxury sedan with an engine size that actually makes sense.

Wonder if Euromobil will use this to their advantage and bring the Audi A8 Hybrid in. In terms of luxury brands, Porsche already has the Cayenne Hybrid and customers are paying full tax on that as it doesn’t qualify for exemptions. Lexus has three hybrid cars for sale and only one – the CT 200h – qualifies for the tax exemption.

But then again bear in mind the tax exemptions are due to expire by the end of this year and there has been no word from the government so far on whether the exemptions will be extended.

Look after the jump for some photos of the new A8 Hybrid.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Carl Wong on Aug 25, 2011 at 2:43 am

A hybrid from Audi finally :]!!!

• drMpower on Aug 25, 2011 at 3:48 am

either they hired greenpeace designer
    or
    they are sooo hooked up with green stuffs that they worship the grass so much
    or
    they are just cheeky people; camourfledging the V8/V10 lust with some fancy words

that they got the meter panel coloured in green and yellow and use words such as ‘charge’ , ‘effficient’ , and ‘boost’ .

• I rather call them trendy people. Green tech is the ‘thing’ nowadays

• Griffin on Aug 25, 2011 at 7:02 pm

Yeah, and apparently being gay too is the ‘thing’ these days

• Cool !!! …very cool indeed. This should the real future of automobile. Well done Audi

• This Audi deserved special treatment from our government. Tax must based on FC

• audier on Aug 25, 2011 at 8:03 am

me like dis car so much. lostsa love! lovely spec, lovely design :D

• M0Faz on Aug 25, 2011 at 9:08 am

They should have “Ludicrous Efficiency.”

Oh wait, maybe tat’s only available on the standard Turbo Diesel version. :P

• Jules on Aug 25, 2011 at 9:40 am

Finally, a sensible all-round car for city & highway. Next step is to increase the power & capacity of the battery & downsize to 1.8L, then 1.6L but the torque remain close to 500Nm yet consumption of a kancil. If anyone can do it, it must be volkswagen group. Hope to see something like this in a porsche too with mid engine config & sell it for a super low price to dilute market & start the “apple” revolution.

• Gajen on Aug 25, 2011 at 9:43 am

Just a 2.0 for an A8? Better get the sonata la!!!

• Ok. Then buy your sonata then.

• Compare the output la bro / sis. Adoyai

• paparadzi on Aug 25, 2011 at 1:47 pm

A very old-fashioned mentality. No longer relevant in the modern world. Unfortunately, that is how our government way of thinking, as if the c.c. is everything.

• Pakai Audi A8 dengan engin 2.0l, buat malu saje lah.

• Unforgiven on Aug 25, 2011 at 10:27 am

By the way, based on my observation in KV:

1. Most malays are driving Proton/Satria/Persona/Myvi.
    2. Most malays are driving BMW M3/M5/7 series/Brabus/Cayenne.
    3. City/Vios/Altis are mostly Chinese/Indians.

It seems that the earning power is with quite a huge gap.

Anyway, what about Audi? Which segment shall it be?

• sukasuki on Aug 25, 2011 at 1:37 pm

fall into anak2 tan sri, dato’ sri segment.

• Unforgiven on Aug 25, 2011 at 2:22 pm

The ‘isi tersirat’ is we need to bring up the level of middle income group…

• Norman on Aug 25, 2011 at 11:30 am

Euromobil, bring this car over and price it below RM350K, then I will call off my hunt for a ’09/’10 A6 3.0 and get this babe instead! Hell! This could well be the last sedan I need in my lifetime.

Maybe I can get a Land Rover Defender or a VW EOS for the weekends. kee kee!!

• among all the german brands, audi seems to be the only one to have complete design scheme from the exterior-interior-enginebay in one package.

• Alan Wong on Aug 25, 2011 at 6:59 pm

Guys, everyone knows that Hybrid cars run on Li-Ion batteries…. and everyone knows that Li-Ion batteries does not last forever. Li-Ion on handphones and laptops lasts about 2 to 3 years then it detriorates in performance. The same will happen on Hybrid cars… What they don’t tell you is the price of a new set of Li-Ion batteries when it goes dead… By then, you will think twice if you did really saved money in the end….

BTW, for all those who click dislike for no reason…. GET A LIFE!!!

• tishaban on Aug 25, 2011 at 10:01 pm

I think there are two reasons to buy a hybrid. One is to save money by lowering your fuel consumption. The second is to reduce your carbon footprint or to reduce dependency on fossil fuels.

Money is replaceable but fossil fuels are not. I’m not convinced that hybrids are the answer since the batteries themselves present another challenge but there is definitely something to be said about reducing your fuel consumption overall and it’s not just about the money.

• Alan Wong on Aug 26, 2011 at 7:52 am

I agree with you bro. However, what is being brainwashed to the public is about the fantastic fuel consumption it gives. That is their selling point. Not everyone who thinks of buying a hybrid is thinking about the environment…. Its mainly about how much money they can save on fuel…

• tishaban on Aug 25, 2011 at 10:04 pm

Interesting observation about the price and tax free hybrids Paul. Will we get an Audi A8 hybrid for a little more than the price of an Audi A4 then? Nice…

• whk9988 on Aug 30, 2012 at 12:04 pm

Please keep us inform when the Audi A6 hybrid, Q5 hybrid and A8 hybrid open for booking. I will get one of them