Nissan Livina X-Gear is here – 5-seater, 1.6L, RM82,800!

Edaran Tan Chong Motor (ETCM) has officially unveiled the Nissan Livina X-Gear. It’s essentially a five-seater version of the Grand Livina MPV that Malaysia is very familiar with, plus tough SUV-style looks thrown in the package. Launched with the same 1.6 litre engine as the Grand Livina, the Serendah-assembled X-Gear is priced at RM82,800 OTR, including insurance.

At 4,275 mm long, the X-Gear is 145 mm shorter than the 4,420 mm Grand Livina, although both share the same 2,600 mm wheelbase and tracks. This means that all the millimetres the X-Gear loses over the Grand Livina is behind the rear axle, the length Nissan added in to accommodate a third row for the Grand.

So while many would naturally view the two-row X-Gear as a smaller Grand Livina, it can also be viewed as a large hatchback, something like a Suzuki SX4. In fact, ETCM is pitching the X-Gear in the B-segment hatchback market (Jazz, Swift, Mazda2, Fiesta) and hopes to steal some sales from similarly priced popular sedans such as the Toyota Vios as well.

To us, the X-Gear’s macho add ons make it look quite convincing as a psuedo-SUV. The entire front bumper is new and chunkier than the standard item, with a protruding chin and prominent cut outs for the fog lamps. The grille is unique, too.

There’s also a silver “sump guard” for full effect. From the side, one can see black body molding and overfenders. The wheels are similar in size with the Grand Livina.

The rear mirrors the changes up front. There’s a chunkier bumper in black, with a similar silver panel. The Nissan logo on the tailgate is surrounded by a black piece of plastic to match as well. The package is completed with roof rails, which are functional, stresses ETCM. No old X-Trail style lights on them, though :)

Ground clearance is 180 mm, no difference from the Grand Livina. There’s also no raised suspension or 4WD, so owners shouldn’t take the X-Gear too far off the beaten track. As mentioned, the HR16DE is similar to that in the Grand Livina.

The 105 hp/150 Nm unit is paired to a four-speed automatic gearbox. The suspension consists of front MacPherson struts and a rear torsion beam. Steering is EPS while the brakes are vented discs up front, drums at the back.

Inside, the changes are the deletion of the Grand Livina’s rear air con vents (smaller car doesn’t require it) and the strip of vent up front that directs air to the rear. In place of the former is a cupholder that folds out to make two.

The seats have a nice “tartan” pattern to it (not big checks like the GTI, but much finer in size), repeated on the door cards. There are also dark silver trim on the doors.

I’m enjoying the X-Gear’s generous rear legroom as I type now. More updates coming your way later.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• huiyoo on Sep 06, 2011 at 11:01 am

nice. price is also affordable compare to T&H. will choose this over CRV and Rush

• Over Rush, maybe.
      Over CRV, Nope
      Over Sportage, Nope

First of all its in different price range. But good afford tho..

• Geronimo on Sep 06, 2011 at 11:55 am

CRV is over RM150k and offers lot more features and power. Comparing CRV doesn’t make sense. CRV will competes with Kia Sportage which also offers full time AWD.

• turbo go go go on Sep 06, 2011 at 12:13 pm

i think this can fight a bit with P2 Alza.

i’m waiting for Nissan Juke. 1.6 Turbo!!!!

• rally_fan on Sep 06, 2011 at 8:17 pm

the 2 guys you comparing are SUV’s.. different market.. different capability…different.. different.. different.

• PakAbu on Sep 06, 2011 at 11:01 am

I wonder if the er.. “cosmetics” will be made available as kit for the Grand Livina. I think it will make my ride look more “macho” ;-)

• carlito on Sep 06, 2011 at 11:28 pm

nothing can make your grand livina look macho! its like putting lipstick on a pig!

• Marcos on Sep 07, 2011 at 9:55 pm

If really that bad, NGL wouldn’t be the best selling non-national MPV in M’sia. Use Brainlah!

• sick&tired on Sep 07, 2011 at 11:37 pm

because of idiots like you! malaysians generally have the herd mentality, they will follow what the majority do even if its not to their interest. thats why cars like the nissan livina, perodua myvi,toyota vios, etc are selling so well, even if there are superior alternatives.

• Glabagila on Sep 10, 2011 at 1:05 pm

Herd mentality is no confined to just ot just malaysians..
            Yes, there are definitely superior alternatives if you can afford them..
            helicopters, G6 (not the GXX SXX thingy!). etc..

• freeky on Aug 13, 2012 at 10:38 am

hahahahha…putting lipstick on pig……………its grounded livina…

• Chris on Sep 06, 2011 at 11:02 am

good try with bringing in more varieties, specially this smart urban type of x-over. Very appealing to those young educated lads who want to show some character. However, outdated engine and grearbox is a big NO, for me at least.

• akinablue on Sep 06, 2011 at 11:08 am

quite boring..hmmm

• stanley on Sep 06, 2011 at 11:10 am

Good marketing by TCM for launching this model
    and at a lower price too. Looks like a mini Murano at a glance.
    They should have maintained the rear a/c – most appreciated by Msian !!

• Either you better change your spectacle or you’re blind or you’re Nissan salesman.

• Indigo on Sep 06, 2011 at 11:16 am

Finally the original shorter body Livina is here which looks much better and normal minus the overhang.

• lazyf on Sep 06, 2011 at 11:27 am

Nice…

But more tastier if comes with manual tranny…

• Nice and affordable. But pls change the rims and rear light design to match the look.

• a lot better than Mr. T Rush!

• wah! wah! hebatnyaaa..! kahkahkahkah….

• Expatriate VN on Sep 06, 2011 at 11:50 am

ETCM like don’t have better models to offer!

• cheng on Sep 06, 2011 at 11:54 am

more pics needed. especially the side view. thanks.

• tora bora on Sep 06, 2011 at 12:00 pm

wowww, planning to remove 3rd row seat of my GL and do some modifications to make longer version of livina x-gear

• Daniel on Sep 06, 2011 at 12:06 pm

boring interior..

• ancient rear light design doesnt compliment well at all

• HERIC on Sep 06, 2011 at 12:31 pm

GOOOD MOVE FOR TAN CHONG

• prefer 1.8L engine though. car did look macho but the engine isn’t . 105hp/150Nm for car this big feel a bit underpower i guess.

• Buyer on Sep 14, 2011 at 11:14 pm

Should put CVTC engine & 5 speed gear box. other wise hard to compete. Interior also need to brush up. Now a day saga or myvi already CVT & DVT engine

• artworkz on Sep 06, 2011 at 12:36 pm

sumting like hyundai matrix

• Ahmad Yani on Sep 06, 2011 at 12:38 pm

Nice models make me excited..

• OMG, It looked weird.

• nabill on Sep 06, 2011 at 12:55 pm

from the dimensions, looks more like a pimped latio rather than a livina…

• Still looks ugly,might cater for people who are looking for space

• donadoni on Sep 06, 2011 at 1:18 pm

i dont fancy this

• MOHA774 on Sep 06, 2011 at 1:43 pm

…if its not offering 4WD or AWD, why call it X-Gear?….just call it Livina Wagon…

• Just me on Sep 06, 2011 at 1:57 pm

The price will rule because this is malaysia market. Anyway, not my cup of tea.

• taiwan sell around 55k , here 83k ? gov eat you kao kao …

• Nissan Malaysia still not updated with this line-up.
    What a shame ETCM!

• LivinaXLover on Sep 06, 2011 at 3:06 pm

Just checked www.nissan.com.my…still not updated.
      I guess this is the only place to read/view this car.

• ben yap on Sep 06, 2011 at 2:34 pm

same old junk. it’s a cheapskate way of the so-called “new” model. it is basically a carried over.

BORING!!!

• jolly_idiot on Sep 06, 2011 at 2:37 pm

Such a small different in price. I rather take the 7 seater.

• Ordinary Joe on Sep 06, 2011 at 3:13 pm

No off road capability? Then i fail to see the point of this car. Might as well just get the 7 seater, so at least you have option of carrying extra people or extra stuff by folding the last row of seats..

• 4G63T DSM on Sep 06, 2011 at 3:52 pm

Not sure why someone would get this over the grand livina. After all if u dont need 7 seats u can always remove them for extra cargo space…not unlike my “5-seater” Citra.

Besides the g.livina isnt a really large car.

• super ugly!!!

• awg1031 on Sep 06, 2011 at 5:12 pm

just like livina, it’s too low (ground clearance) to my liking..at least livina looks nice as a mpv, but this…..

• BN=barang naik on Sep 06, 2011 at 5:26 pm

besar giler rear legroom…selesa utk long journey..thumbs up Nissan!!

• ahshuy on Sep 06, 2011 at 5:34 pm

danny should also list out the difference btw this car and grand livina in terms of price tag and room space.

frankly i do prefer grand livina over this if the diff only few thousand ringgit.

• Danny Tan (Member) on Sep 06, 2011 at 5:44 pm

The Grand Livina 1.6 (A) is selling for RM89,800.

Many will view it as you do, which is why ETCM isn’t expecting this to outsell the G.Livina, but we think there will be some who don’t need a third row and dig the more macho image.

They also want a piece of the B-segment hatch market, where cars like the Ford Fiesta are doing pretty well.

• artworkz on Sep 06, 2011 at 9:41 pm

use this to beat fiesta??? haha, 2 car targeting different comsumer.

• Nashraf on Sep 06, 2011 at 5:53 pm

The last picture is misleading. Rear legroom “looked” generous because the front seat was pushed forward.

• Danny Tan (Member) on Sep 06, 2011 at 5:59 pm

The driver is about 170-175cm tall (like me), and that’s his correct driving position.
      In any case, rear legroom is great. I suggest you head to a Nissan showroom and try it for yourself :)

• TallPan on Sep 06, 2011 at 11:31 pm

‘s a bit presumptuous innit?

• zaxssa on Sep 06, 2011 at 6:01 pm

i’m really look fwd for this x-gear though n have seen it in nissan showroom 2 days ago however i’m quite frstrated by the interior, its just as my grnd livina, the most unacceptable is the radio, its just the same old radio like the grnd livina. other things are all same. so if u imagine for hitech gadgets likes reverse camera, gps or smthing like that, dream on guys. etcm will not put in those inside a car like that teana maybe. some more as a nissan car owner i would appreciate if more promotions like discounts n gift during fstive seasons. frustrated 1 more time when servicing my grnd livina n spending almost rm700 but no gift. should b thinking towards other car maker with more concerns to owners next time. etcm dont b sooooo kedekut

• zaxssa on Sep 07, 2011 at 12:09 am

better get alza instead, what say u danny. Don’t just compliment, there are alot thgs to say about the x-gear which tome is not so good. why dont etcm bring in other models like juke. it will make some impact in the B segment.

• Danny Tan (Member) on Sep 07, 2011 at 12:17 am

The Alza is a good product. But there are many who want to “graduate” from national makes. To each their own, I guess.
        The Juke is on the way.

• Resurrected on Sep 09, 2011 at 1:08 am

Oh seriously on the way? Do you know if it’s going to be this year?

• sam witwicky on Sep 06, 2011 at 6:11 pm

not bad….still waiting for nissan juke turbo…sentra old school tu x pyh la jual lagi…adoi TC….

• OldStuffs on Sep 08, 2011 at 11:03 pm

sentra is old but still a good car, not everyone is into high tech and newest gadgets, some still feel comfortable with conventional and reliable stuffs

• 110ss on Sep 06, 2011 at 6:32 pm

Danny, do u know why GL HR16DE is different from Latio HR16DE even though they are same engine code? I found GL 1.6 is not equipped with CVTC, less HP & torque on paper..

• tikus on Sep 06, 2011 at 6:44 pm

Danny,Any indication that 1.8cc will be on sales??

• Masked Ryder on Sep 06, 2011 at 6:51 pm

Would choose this over Inokom Matrix anytime.

• David D on Sep 06, 2011 at 8:44 pm

Dude, Matrix is already a discontinued car, so why keep piling the hatred on them? In fact, i’d rather have this than any Vios, since it offers MPV space for the same money, and depending on which Vios spec we compare to, it’s also much cheaper!!

• asgard on Sep 06, 2011 at 7:12 pm

i choose exora turbo over this

• Cik jah on Sep 06, 2011 at 8:15 pm

Agree with u bro….heard that it will be launched sometime in October 2011…

• pedobear on Sep 06, 2011 at 8:14 pm

m… I thought this was higher than Grand Livina?
    prefer the side protector showing look like higher?

for my preference…. I think inside abit dull in color or design?

paul, any comment about it?

• sam620 on Sep 06, 2011 at 8:40 pm

is it the cd player same as latio, can’t play mp3

• time for si dugong (vios) die…

• SP_Persona on Sep 06, 2011 at 8:51 pm

can’t wait to know about the test drive result because to have 105hp/150Nm for SUV…ermmm… still wondering about it…

• Rovery on Sep 06, 2011 at 9:23 pm

Nice review really love it but one thing why the last picture he’s not wearing shoes so disturbing.

• nighttrain on Sep 06, 2011 at 9:35 pm

This is really ugly for a B segment hatch. What other B segment hatches currently on sale in the country?

• malaysia is MY country!! on Sep 06, 2011 at 10:09 pm

ugly

• nolan on Sep 06, 2011 at 10:36 pm

ugly as ever !!!

• E-View on Sep 06, 2011 at 11:27 pm

THE ugliest MPV with no MPV characteristics !!!!

MAYBE good for indonesian market,

BUT Malaysians never like this kind of design.

• zafedz on Sep 06, 2011 at 11:47 pm

wait for exora 5 seaters….how much proton will sell it??ha!ha!ha!

• dannyl77 on Sep 07, 2011 at 12:01 am

Nice Variation of Livina ….. But 2-3 years late already…. if i am not wrong , it was Launch in 2008 outside Malaysia.. Now only bringing this in ar…. Outdate already la….

• Danny,
    What type of engine tech in the 1.6 engine?

• all of sudden i feel like the 4-speeder auto for the car is so yesterday, way behind the FLX, yushhhhh!

• rulered on Sep 07, 2011 at 6:35 am

Lose a few things add a few things….wala! ….the X Gear!! What’s wrong with these Japs?

• Leonardo on Sep 07, 2011 at 10:00 am

Damn! If it was priced around RM70k, i would run to ETCM showroom to book one today! For RM80k i have lots of other options to me, including fairly new pre-owned SUVs.

• What sort of fairly new pre owned SUVs would that be? Dun tell me ur talking about 5 yr old crvs?

• daniel on Sep 09, 2011 at 10:03 am

Because of the ‘hunger’ created by the 3Ps. In Bolehland even a grandma in a new mini-skirt will sell. For a typical consevative company like TCM, recycling of obselete components is the way to save costs. Would you vote for flotation of fuel prices for world car prices? Yes the fiesta is a world class budget car but selling at inflated prices in Bolehland.

• rusazmie on Sep 09, 2011 at 4:56 pm

Look like Honda CRV but how the size

• Fatty on Sep 11, 2011 at 4:21 pm

Still too expensive, should be below 80k?

• Mdishah on Sep 20, 2011 at 5:53 pm

Cannot compare with Suzuki SX4 Crossover

• Mubar on Sep 23, 2011 at 10:10 am

i’m thinking of getting this… but just curious bro, why comparing to suzuki SX4… price,reliability issues? engine…. pls help.

coz i’m thinking of getting it this wkend.. and it looks better than sx4

• I just collected my Livina X-Gear on 11 September 2011, have using it for 12 days. So far, fuel consumption is very save which 13 cents (all highway drive) and 15 cents (50% city and 50% highway drive). Engine wise, quite powerful the car as same engine with GL but X-Gear with only 5 seaters.

• Henson on Oct 01, 2011 at 10:19 am

Hi all,
    has anyone got their x-gear yet? how is it in terms of highway stablity? same as grand livina?? thanks !

• Phoebe on Oct 18, 2011 at 5:15 pm

May i know its oil comsumption per kilo meter?

• fishetouff on Oct 18, 2011 at 6:17 pm

ordered the x-gear when SA mentioned waiting time is about 2weeks., now SA told me need to wait for 2 months at least. seriously .. what is going on with TC ?

• Angry on Oct 21, 2011 at 1:18 pm

Lousy the SA…. Tell me 2 wks, then b4 deepavali, then end of oct… Now tell me before nov. Crazy…. This car is nice la but fuck that… I’ll just get another car..
    Bullshit sales people.

• luqman hakim on Oct 26, 2011 at 2:36 pm

wow…nice car…

• lawmasai on Oct 26, 2011 at 3:47 pm

The X gear is only 4% shorter in length when compared to NGL but it is 8″ lighter than NGL. The 4% shorter in length all comes from the shorter rear over hang. Body wise, engine wise, transmission wise, door wise are the same as NGL – until the last 6″ at the back and less one third row rear bench.

Paul, where the the disproportionate saving in weight comes from?. Thicker metal sheets for NGL?. The black plastic arch fits poorly with large gaps when compared to those on SX-4.

I think by end end they will come out with X-gear 1.8 for CNY. Maybe at RM88888. Great if TCM can fit in those comfy latio’s seats.

• linazaiman on Nov 12, 2011 at 8:14 am

if you are not enough money pls don’t talk too much…………

• hi guys…..
    really need your opinions berween GL and this X-Gear….. which one is the best choice consideration ; fc, power, space, maintenance, handling (in town/high speed highway), looks, deals, top speed………..
    i’ve short listed several mpv’s and sedan within the range of 80-90k…..
    your comments are really appreciated….
    need help…?

regards.

• nice son on Nov 21, 2011 at 9:31 am

tunGGu 2nd hand la…

• previously Angry but now happy :) on Nov 28, 2011 at 11:02 am

yes….

finally i got my car!

BUT its not an x-gear… its an suzuki sx4 actually its a blessing in disguise. now i actually have to thank the sales person for not delivering on his promise to deliver the x-gear by end of oct.. hehe

yes i’m paying about 5k more…. but i’m definently happy.
      interior size almost the same but seats more comfy… ride height also quite high.
      performance is much better than x-gear
      space — hmmm this part x-gear wins with a big big boot..
      styling wins x-gear and i’m loving it more everyday… didnt even realise the car existed before i went to the showroom.
      interior quality and accessories – win win win la… cbu from japan, and i got mp3 player with aux input 8 speakers, steering wheel controls, trip computer with average FC, live FC, mileage range etc, arm rests, leather wrapped steering, interior just feels more premium…

ya la… x-gear is cheaper but after discounts is still ok. i got sx4 for around 87k…
      still testing out mileage, and i found out prices of spare parts and maintenance schedule.. what shocked me was it is cheaper than a proton savvy maintenance at authorised workshop.. WTF! ya.. i had a savvy… so flame me, it drove very nicely but the overall quality just sucked so bye bye my baby savvy.

so anyway… anyone wants the details for maintenance just let me know… i can scan and send to you..

• I’m driving a X-trail 2.5 (the true 4×4 edition, not the current 2WD edition) and wanted to down grade to a smaller SUV..

Have considered Lavina (the higher end 1.8 model) when it launched but dislike the 7-seat configuration – a family MPV which is not what I was looking for; and thought it would be nice if Tan Chong introduces a 5-seater version.

And presto… X-gear. My wish came true; but it is ugly – both inside and out… and not really a 4WD crossover or compact SUV.

(I also concur with above opinions that Lavina is better option than X-gear.)

Suzuki SX4 (of all cars below 100k ringgits available at the moment) is the closes thing to what I am looking for when I eventually change my current ride.

(Even though I would prefer to stay with Nissan as I don’t like doing the familiarity with a new service center and service staff all over again.)

TC is very, very slow in bringing in new models… wish they could do better and make it easier for Nissan car owners to switch within its brand.

• Another piece of junk.. Boring look..