Volkswagen.Das Auto.Show 2011 happens this weekend at the Bukit Jalil Stadium carpark – admission is free!

Volkswagen Group Malaysia is looking forward to being a bigger player in the Malaysian market, and will soon have some locally assembled models to fight alongside the brand’s fully imported variants.

The CKD models, starting with the Passat, will be more competitively priced, and are sure to increase volumes significantly. The brand offensive starts now, and VGM is using the Volkswagen.Das Auto.Show 2011 to convince Malaysians that VW is the “people’s car” for us.

Located at the carpark of the National Stadium at Bukit Jalil, the Das Auto.Show is a big budget showcase for VW’s cars and tech. Comprising a “Mega Dome” and the “Caterpillar Dome”, the temporary white structures are clearly visible from the main road. There’s also a giant banner hung on the stadium to tell everyone why they’ve been sitting in a jam.

We attended the preview session for VIPs and the media yesterday night, and came away impressed at the scale of this “roadshow”. As far as I remember, never before have Malaysia seen such an elaborate and expensive showcase of this scale, and yesterday’s audience were wowed by the show. It felt more like a VW Group major motor show preview night than a local event, and it was obvious that VGM went all out to impress.

The Mega Dome (42m diameter, 21m tall) is laid out auditorium style, with an elevated ring that will see 12 moving cars circle 360 degrees around you. A backdrop is projected on the walls of the dome for a virtual reality effect, and there’s a huge VW logo on top of the igloo like structure.

VGM says that it’s the largest full dome projection system of its kind in the world. Cars such as the new Beetle, Golf and Passat Variant, Passat Sedan, Polo Sedan, Amarok, CrossTouran, Pheaton and Scirocco R were shown and explained here.

The connecting Caterpillar Dome on the other hand, is a 100m long curve shaped like the creature. Held up by air and free of columns, it houses the models that VGM currently sells such as the Eos, Golf GTI and TSI, Touareg and Polo. There’s also a huge F&B area with merchandise booths.

“The show gives the audience an in-depth understanding of why the Volkswagen brand appeals to drivers in more than 150 countries. The show explains Volkswagen’s vision that motivates trust amongst consumers, representing German engineering and reliability,” said Ricky Tay, VGM’s MD.

The best thing for the public is that admission is free. The Volkswagen.Das Auto.Show 2011 will be open to public this weekend (10-11 Sept) from 10am till 10pm. What can you expect to see there? Check out our live gallery and video after the jump!

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• F.O.C on Sep 09, 2011 at 4:17 am

Grand Opening, confirm going there this weekend. But I guess VW wanna do some marketing research on certain models which are not available in Malaysia such as Golf R & pickup truck, etc… to see how it interest our buyers.

• I hate Japanese cars on Sep 09, 2011 at 1:52 pm

I’ll wait for VW Jetta R, the Evo X killer with 3.6 V6 engine.

Read this on:
      http://www.autocar.co.uk/News/NewsArticle/AllCars/253927/

• Free also don’t want to go, buang masa aje.

• German Hell on Sep 09, 2011 at 6:50 pm

Let’s get this clear: VW may have the right to call themselves The People’s Car in Europe but for VW Malaysia to use that moniker is a damned lie. VWM does not care about its customers. VWM should use “We Sell You Our Cars Then The Hell With You!” Buying a VW is the biggest mistake I have ever made in my life. I shall grieve til the day I sell the car off.

• Hey brother what happen to ur car?but i don’t really understand why the VW reverse light only have one on the left hand side?cut cost or something?i feel dangerous when i reverse my car…and my tail light also masuk air!i can hear some weird noise from the Turbocharged maybe~any Polo owners here to share?

• Gavin on Sep 09, 2011 at 5:34 am

Smoke and mirrors.

Why not spend the money to build an aftersales service equivalent to euro standards? Plenty of parts and technical know how.

• Johnny on Sep 09, 2011 at 11:56 am

Who did that actually? Our culture is sell first and worry later, VW is adapting great!

• waters on Sep 09, 2011 at 1:50 pm

Yup. Have to agree with you here, all smoke and mirrors.

• German Hell on Sep 09, 2011 at 6:54 pm

Good question, Gavin. The answer is obvious. VWM only cares about selling cars. After sales service is really trashy. Try contacting them for anything at all. They totally ignore you. Never have I had to deal with another company that turns a deaf ear to me and treats me like I didn’t exist.

• adam seow on Sep 10, 2011 at 8:44 am

This is very impt. after sale.Using Toyota or Honda after sale service as a bench mark.

• Thanks Danny, will there be any VW gals? :D

• Danny Tan (Member) on Sep 09, 2011 at 4:55 pm

Event with fine cars are sure to have fine ladies, both go very well together :)

• rfedd on Sep 09, 2011 at 7:03 am

interested to come but just to see, i think an vw is not for me, very appreciate powerful engine, don’t really mind the boxy dashboard and body design but the price .. sigh…to vw, please don’t be greedy and please accept that you have to fight with local and and jap cars here. as long as the price is higher than most of the people’s reach, then you will be in niche market. if you want to reach mass one, please offer cheaper price and cheaper maintenance

good luck

• Johnny on Sep 09, 2011 at 11:31 am

ford approach like how they did with the fiesta is a good example.

• ismazri on Sep 09, 2011 at 7:05 am

Where’s my beloved passat cc?

• droll on Sep 09, 2011 at 7:13 am

it’s a good approach. i remember when VW was introduced a few years ago, it seemed like they were trying to position themselves as a premium marque in malaysia. i get the impression the germans stepped in and then turned the whole thing around and wanted to run this like in europe – VW is the people’s car.

good for the consumer i suppose!

• iskhalifah on Sep 11, 2011 at 9:28 am

Well, the term “people’s car” is somewhat exaggerated. They know that they cant compete with the premium brand (Mercs, Beemers, Lexus etc) except for the premium sports hatch segment (GTi), and they wanted to re-brand to accommodate the another lucrative market: Japanese car buyers.

But wait.. the Malaysian brand perception who worships Japs cars like crazy can be tough for VW. And Malaysians are so sensitive about resale value & car volume (‘chicken and egg’ issue)..

Entry level execs in Europe can afford to buy a Golf TSI easily. Entry level execs in Malaysia? Even the cheapest Polo is beyond pocket’s reach. Saga/Viva also takes 9 years to repay. So, VW, please really understand the term “People’s car”.

This is Malaysia, not Germany.

• Veedub on Sep 11, 2011 at 1:57 pm

Don’t be a sour grape. Just because you can’t afford one doesn’t mean nobody can. The Polo, Golf, Golf GTI and to a lesser extent Passat CC are doing way better than expected. Otherwise you’d think they even bother to look at this tiny nation for expansion?

Resale values? Much better than the likes of Skoda, Fiat, Renault, Alfa Romeo, Citroën, Changan, Chery, Mahindra, even Ford!

Jap brands are definitely sitting up and paying attention. After all, the Golf, Polo, Polo GTI are in the same price bracket as some of their hot selling models. When the Jetta, Polo etc are CKDed, even worse.

Mass market doesn’t mean the whole country. It just means the portion of the market that will take up a liability of 90k or more to own a new car. That number is sizable already; look at how many Inspira, Civic, Altis, Camry, Accord, Sylphy, Teana are on the roads.

As for the rest who can only buy Myvi, Persona, Saga etc, blame the NAP.

• Myvi Lagi Best

• wah.. sooo jealous.. why only at BJ..
    will the organiser plan to have it in Penang???

• Ordinary Joe on Sep 09, 2011 at 7:35 am

Did they indicate when the CKD passat would start going on sale?

• Johnny on Sep 09, 2011 at 7:51 am

Brilliant event. but the cars.. seriously boring to look at.

• we malaysian still name it “wak segan” for the malays la , not volkswagan, volks or V.W . the popularity of this car are still the same(like audi) even audi is better accepted, because u all know the answer. for me i will buy merc or BMW.

• autoecom on Sep 09, 2011 at 2:06 pm

i use latest BMW…but i still admire VW..i bought one Golf :)

• ad voice say “das auto” mscam buang angin. tried say it properly. das auto is just waste of time and money only do this road show. tengok sarkis lagi baik.

• archilapagos on Sep 24, 2011 at 7:08 am

thats true…beratur skit punye pjng..penat..tp bila masuk dlm..ermmmm itu je yg depa show..uffffffhhh…x berbaloi..lbey baik tgk kat showroom jeee…buang masa,
        penat n rasa tertipu jeeee.. :((

• Seen all those cars on the road, so why bother? Come on VW!! You can do better than that. Bring on the heavyweights from Europe.

• I love VW!

• Jacksonkua on Sep 09, 2011 at 8:31 am

First thing VW must do is improve their after sale service by increasing the num. of 3s centre.

• Das Auto

• Can test drive their cars there? I think they just set up their mini-frankfurt autoshow in Bukit Jalil

• ACCORDMANIA on Sep 09, 2011 at 8:52 am

dear paul,
    can you pls find out when the new 2012 beetle will be available in malaysia?

• At least bring the Golf TSI price to RM120k ~ 130k..

• lazyf on Sep 09, 2011 at 9:10 am

i want to go!!!

• employee on Sep 09, 2011 at 9:11 am

Any test drive session???

• yes after you buy it

• autoecom on Sep 11, 2011 at 9:35 pm

You can go to any VW showroom and ask for test drive. Unless you go to KIA showroom and the salesman will say no!!!

• michael on Sep 09, 2011 at 9:18 am

So are you convinced?

• WALASiZO on Sep 09, 2011 at 9:36 am

LETS GET CROWD EVERYBODY!..LUV VW.

• jeffreyee on Sep 09, 2011 at 9:52 am

Interested in Passat. However was informed that u cant get into the cars and see inside. See from far only. What a let down. Also No test drive

• Autobahn on Sep 10, 2011 at 11:01 am

That is dumb, spend all the money for this big show and no test drive. These cars are ordinary cars not supercars or exotics so test drive session should have been provided.

• zanggief on Sep 09, 2011 at 10:01 am

I believe the Amarok would create lots of interest provided the price tag is bring close to the japs rivals…
    Any idea the price tag of ckd polo and jetta, will that be around japs rival or the continental rivals, this could be the major factor to become real ‘people car’

• ray_jay on Sep 09, 2011 at 10:07 am

No Passat CC on display, Danny?

• Stanley on Sep 09, 2011 at 12:47 pm

I think they have no extra car for disply. All stuck at the Port. But I think it must be other reason behind it. I owned Passat cc, 3 times in the workshop in 3.5 month time which two are major defects. I think there sre quality issues…

• ray_jay on Sep 09, 2011 at 11:42 pm

I read over the US forum there are few issues raised also regarding the CC. But since it’s under 5 years warranty i think it’s ok, right?

Anyway, what are the defects? Is it major?

• Stanley on Sep 10, 2011 at 7:30 am

first time : suspension. second time : low fuel pressure pump which caused total power loss and stall. towed to workshop. third time : high pressure fuel pump which engine was unable to start. again towed to workshop.

• Danny Tan (Member) on Sep 09, 2011 at 4:54 pm

All cars sold by VGM are there

• ray_jay on Sep 09, 2011 at 11:43 pm

Thanks mate. Didnt see in the gallery and straight away thought it was excluded

• komenturg on Sep 09, 2011 at 10:12 am

great, time to chk out some serious cars…. been thinking of changing my audi oledi, this will be a good time to c some hard facts on the VW brand. shud b an exciting wkend ahead…

• Nice…..International standards Autoshow

This will give higher benchmarks to KLIMS

• Dustin on Sep 09, 2011 at 10:36 am

I’m glad VW is here. But the marketing is a bit problem for us to understand. What the hell is Das Auto? Sorry la. Poor boy didn’t get to go overseas to study German mah. My little girl said, why people want to see “Dust-y Auto”?

I wish the people at VW pay more attention to their ads and localized it. Now I feel funny when I see VW on the roads. Gets reminded of Dusty Auto. Its the same as Lamborghini because of the “bull” on the logo. My little girl calls it “Lembu-ghini”.

• Unforgiven on Sep 09, 2011 at 11:22 am

It depends on how we educate the little one…

• turbo go go go on Sep 09, 2011 at 12:50 pm

like father like daughter

• haha, one of the most funny comments of the year. You should blame yourself for making your daughter looks silly. LOL, just can’t stop laughing to see a so funny comment.

• Rosmah on Sep 09, 2011 at 6:10 pm

My kids call Proton a Keta Potong. And pity they have developed a phobia towards power window at such young age.

• I think you are gay and childish!if you don’t know what is Das Auto pls move to another page!VW = Das Auto!VW are not funny but you’r so funny lolx

• bangang macam lembu ghini…ajarlah anak guna internet

• tulang on Sep 10, 2011 at 5:05 pm

i think that is what the event was about, so people faham the brand sikit. they were explaining the meaning of das auto during the show today, it’s something like ‘the car’ or ‘people’s car’

• mirror mirror on Sep 09, 2011 at 10:36 am

Hope they will introduce some kind of apprenticeship program here for local engineering students. I heard that this type of program has created many fine engineers in Germany over the years.

• Ash Menon on Sep 09, 2011 at 11:59 am

That’s a good idea. I think it will bring extra value to the VW name in Malaysia, and also provide some excellent opportunities for local talent (which will hopefully benefit the Malaysian auto scene as well)

• Unforgiven on Sep 09, 2011 at 10:38 am

How come I cannot see Jetta?

• BeemerFreak on Sep 09, 2011 at 10:39 am

Once CKD comes in, quality is going to go down the drain. We all know about the supplier crony system and how quality is compromised. No such thing as QC when crony system determines which supplier is of best quality and is supposed to supply..

• blue-traveler on Sep 09, 2011 at 10:40 am

I envy you guys at paultan.org, it looks so cool. I always wonder if there are many things diff for you guys at VIP events. ;p
    P/S, did any of you guys attainding this closed-to-public-VIP event spot any P1 managemants’ guy there? Or any other local car managers, be it sales or otherwise?

• michael on Sep 09, 2011 at 11:42 am

P/S, did any of you guys attainding this closed-to-public-VIP event spot any P1 managemants’ guy there? Or any other local car managers, be it sales or otherwise?
      ———————————————————–

they must be peeing in their pant

• huayeang on Sep 09, 2011 at 10:44 am

Wow, I am definitely going… Want to have a look on the Passat, Jetta and Polo Saloon, whether they are CKD version or just CBU testing version… :)

• If VGM really serious to claim Toyota market share, try to price VW competitively. VW Jetta about Civic price or Passat about Camry price bracket.

• Stanley on Sep 09, 2011 at 9:42 pm

Jetta would be around RM 140K and Passat should be approx. RM 180K. Those prices are fair. Do u think H or T are matching with VW ? Try to test drive VW equip with TSI + DSG then u would think the different.

• Minority Proton Share holder on Sep 09, 2011 at 11:30 am

Volkswagon is ambitious.. After holding the NO 1 position in China and NO 2 worldwide. They are trying to penetrate the bulletproof PROTON territory. Dream On VW. You can never win in this battleground. Because We Malaysian loves PROTON !!!!

• Unforgiven on Sep 09, 2011 at 11:34 am

Probably depends if Tun is still there or not, else Najib VW may win in M’sia…

• lonelyobserve on Sep 09, 2011 at 11:46 am

The most important factor is the NAP limiting VW to conquer Malaysia car market.

• who says anything about being no.1 in malaysia. Vw jus wans to offer Malaysians more choice and “better” value.

• Johnny on Sep 09, 2011 at 11:53 am

I wish you forever drive a Proton and not Germans. That’s your wish, right?

• PakAbu on Sep 09, 2011 at 4:27 pm

I think their aim is ASEAN.
      Malaysia is just where they are going to assemble the cars … at the moment. Once the skill base is good enough in Thailand, or Indonesia, or The Philiphines, they’ll move there.

• No One on Sep 10, 2011 at 2:48 pm

Honestly there are many car assemblers out there around ASEAN which is very competitive, fully equipped with facitities (example including their own test track), not to mention abundant of skillful labours…….question mark is…..why they choose DRB HICOM?…..only thing i could link is…..DRB HICOM’s plant is located in Pekan….birth place of our current PM?

• As a M’sian i don’t like Proton at all!i prefer VW any day anywhere…

• Really wish VW become a friendly neigbourhood car like the Japanese car.

• why must VW sell their car in mass in Malaysia…tak cool lah…everyone is driving myvi and saga..why does one buy Polo eventhough it is overpriced? because of less number of Polo on the road compared to other cars…exclusivity…actuallu\y dah banyak Polo atas jalan sekarang pun….but still less than myvi and Proton…don’t compare laa…Proton and VW jauh bezanya..not talking about quality here but satisfaction of driving…PUASSSSSSS

• lkoiu on Sep 10, 2011 at 11:43 pm

ntah cam sama je, nak laju sgt pun ada traffic light, harapkan highway je
        puas ape ke bendanya

• klaka seram on Sep 09, 2011 at 11:38 am

wow! can’t wait to Visit Das Auto Show tomorrow

• Saw a Sharan in one of the above picture. Are they planning to bring it here? For sale not just for show.

• The Sharon will come in with the 2.0 TSI engine. Heard that it will be here by end of 2011 at the price below RM300k.

• stplk on Sep 10, 2011 at 11:45 pm

vw please make it RM500k (half a million) so that it’s very exclusive and only for rich people

• Johnny on Sep 09, 2011 at 11:45 am

Dream on vw.. no way vw can be strong in malaysia unless:

1) Polo RM 50k, scirocco RM 70 k, golf RM 80k, passat RM 110k (plus minus)

2) Plenty of affordable and available parts (original, recond and aftermarket)

3) Can service and fix anywhere (city, town and kampongs)

BTW, vw is no merc or beemer. its the peoples car.

• Johnny on Sep 09, 2011 at 11:52 am

Not sure any car manufacturer beside gov supported proton can do that?

• rally_fan on Sep 09, 2011 at 3:05 pm

you forgot perodua and naza kia.. they’re all proxies for foreign car companies anyways..

• Unforgiven on Sep 09, 2011 at 12:05 pm

That was probably their initial plan when wanted to partner with Proton, which is to turn all the Proton to be VW…

• i think VW will price their car between T, H and Merc, Beemer
      It price is everything then P will >80% of market share
      VW will bring top end tech like TSI & DSG with more spec and price their higher then T, H which is spec way low…..(No VSA, Auto light, wiper, 6 air bag, etc…)

• Ash Menon on Sep 09, 2011 at 12:07 pm

Scirocco RM70k? What you smoking bro? Even the lowest-spec model in UK is RM95k.

• Johnny,

dream is good but need to be realistic. i dont think VW wants to be no.1 in Msia. hence, no need for them to lower the price. In Msia, even overpriced, msians will still buy it, and if VW are painting the premium tag on our vague msians minds, and we still buy them, it concludes that VW is successful. VW did well in studying msian consumer behavior. As more and more people are shifting to VW from toyota/honda/entry level BMW/Benz, their work is almost done in Msia, and that is already a very strong footing.

• Unforgiven on Sep 09, 2011 at 2:29 pm

Only Proton wanna be no.1 in M’sia.

VW wanna be no.1 not just in Asia, but the global World. Think Global without protectionism.

• Girls is my weakness on Sep 09, 2011 at 12:22 pm

r u sure want to drive vw to kampung or any pedalaman rural area?lol
      city town is still okey maa….

• Hello VW is suppose to be people car but not for poor people car like potong lah!if Polo cost only 50k i wont or never ever buy it coz i feel so shameful to drive the same level as the Potong cars!unless 108k!!!btw Polo is a little bit expensive but it’s worth and i love it so much!Jazz is super expensive and Neo CPS is most expensive car in the world i mean the quality of the 60k lolx

• janganlah langsi sangat bro..I drive Polo juga tapi doesn’t mean those who drive local car are poor..they might be financially wiser than you bro….don’t look down on people

• Johnny, all I’ve got to say is your idea of pricing VW cars vs Jap cars are waaay outta whack. You got all your segment comparisons all wrong for one. You want a Passat to be priced like a Civic and a Polo to be priced like a Myvi? Research a bit more before commenting will ya? Or you a Jap car salesman troll?

• Cheah Tat Cheong on Sep 09, 2011 at 1:31 pm

Let’s be realistic here, models like Scirocco, GTI, etc are a million times more interesting than the dull and boxy Passat, Jetta and Polo Sedan shown here. Just because it has a VW badge doesn’t make a boring car look nice. That is why VW is spending millions at Bkt Jalil so you’ll feel better when paying a premium price for them. In the end, real-world factors like maintenance costs, resale value, reliability, after sales service will determine if VW can really sell in numbers. Good luck!

• sub_zero on Sep 09, 2011 at 2:37 pm

german are bliztkrieg hard in our market!

• Unforgiven on Sep 09, 2011 at 2:41 pm

The Polo 1.6 NA is gonna be a good fight in M’sia….

• BN=barang naik on Sep 09, 2011 at 3:17 pm

near my house..plan to go there this weekend..wanna buy VW shirt..hehe

• intermilan on Sep 09, 2011 at 4:00 pm

The polo sedan (from the video) suffer from ‘high’ suspension set-up .
    Similar like peugeot 207 sedan..

This suspension arrangement might be necessary in asian / non-european countries with poorer road condition, but it is just not right for malaysian roads.

over here, the roads is quite okay (right?).. beside, just look at ‘so and so quality’ T & H B-segment sedans (or the locals P1 & P2 offerings), where got such big clearance /’high’ suspension set-up for any of their cars?

VGM / VW should look into rectifying this if they want to sell this polo sedan here well, else it might be ‘kill’ just because of the stupid look alone.. As a case study, the 207 sedan was highly criticised because of this (and a few more reasons). And result that matter shows.. 207 sedan sale was no where near what they are targeting. Only 975 units YTD July 2011 which is a clear ‘under-performed’ considering the low asking price of only ~RM73K.

Good luck with the show. Tempting, but too many open house invitations lah..

• Donnie Yen on Sep 09, 2011 at 4:14 pm

show like this, wasting time n money only…. it’s super boring!!

• SaveTheEARTH on Sep 09, 2011 at 6:04 pm

Are there any reserve parking lot for VW vehicle. I saw it from the above pictures showed.

• Rosmah on Sep 09, 2011 at 6:16 pm

If got free show or free makan, for sure all Bolehmen will come in droves. But will they jump in and buy one? i think not.

• They bringing Amorok into Msian market? Anybody can comment on VW reliability? Siapa yang pi please find out how much. Thks

• tulang on Sep 10, 2011 at 5:08 pm

dunno about the reliability la, tak pernah own a vw. but if they offering 5 years warranty they should be reliable… if not their after sales costs also gila hahah

• steam_man on Sep 11, 2011 at 12:41 am

buy a kia forte then, they also 5 years warranty.

inspira also.

• its a great event but the vw should have put some interesting cars. passat and polo sedan are just downright boring to look at. i mean the estate passat is soooooooooo damn boring…. i guess as long as thier suckers out there vw should have buyers….

• Kok Chi on Sep 10, 2011 at 6:06 pm

This show is to reveal to the public on VW’s intent for the Malaysian market. The CKD cars that will be sold in 2012 will certainly kill the Japanese and Korean brands here. The Polo sedan is meant to take the fight to City/Vios, the Jetta will fight the Civic/Altis and the Passat will fight the Accord/Camry. A German brand with 5 years warranty and those amazing engines and gearboxes will certainly kill those Japanese brands. The 1.4 TSI engine which will be fitted onto the Jetta will have RM70 for road tax, amazing fuel efficiency and amazing power… Who cares about boring looks? It’s not like it’s damm ugly anyway, they look classy!

• gyutr on Sep 10, 2011 at 11:31 pm

but still high price, high maintenance

• Medic on Sep 12, 2011 at 12:16 pm

How can maintenace high..don’t just comment blindly..check out the maintenance fees/schedule on Vw 1st.Service every 15k km…my 1st service cost me only $360.Can H or T beat this?

• iskhalifah on Sep 11, 2011 at 9:35 am

Well, the majority of Malaysians still thinks T&H as the ultimate brand.

Perception & mentality is hard to change. If only the European brands made impact on our market in the 70s and 80s, surely our roads are not dominated with Jap cars.

• It is better without the test drive at B. Jalil. If there is, many will get headache arranging for a new VW, for sure!

• I didn't on Sep 10, 2011 at 12:50 am

Wow! this thing is huge!

• Aaron Chong on Sep 10, 2011 at 2:55 am

Night shots taken from the VW Das Auto Show at bkt jalil -> http://tinyurl.com/44dbszt

• Aaron Chung on Sep 10, 2011 at 6:01 pm

damn lousy nightshots…

• Aaron Chong on Sep 11, 2011 at 11:20 pm

Video captured during my visit to Volkwagen Das Auto Show 2011 on 10th Sep’11 –> http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WRSU–WuATE&feature=colike

• Bravo for VW effort to showcase their People’s Car and open the eye of the people at Bolehland on the Quality of car outside of this land.

• turbo go go go! on Sep 10, 2011 at 8:42 pm

such a disappointment.

rubbish event.

a big thumb down

and a big middle finger to them

• mandom on Sep 11, 2011 at 1:17 am

It’s stupid…. especially the exit point. I feel like someone who carried strange/dangerous virus. They need to stamp the VW logo on our hand “again”, then, give them the registration number before they send a small group of people to a separate section for approx 30 seconds before let us go (sterilize?)…. or you hired an event manager who used to export cow to foreign country?

• Kok Chi on Sep 11, 2011 at 1:49 am

That dome is a pressurized dome la… The pressure holds the dome up. Comprende?

• jflee169 on Sep 10, 2011 at 1:26 pm

Just came from there. First of all, it’s impressive for the dome as it is specially for introducing models not in M’sia and also models to be CKDed in M’sia, i.e. Polo Sedan, Jetta and Passat. Overall it is nice to attend the show, but VW can do better by displaying the models in the show for the public to touch and feel the real car. It is quite disappointed to see those models displayed also can be touched.

And for those who is interested going to the show, it is advised to go as early as possible. I was the few one who reached there around 9.55 am and upon registration, i got no. 134. The show also restricted to every 300 registration in order to control the seating in the dome. When I came out from the show, it was around 11.15 am and the ques already extend to the car park except you are the VIPs.

Enjoy the show!

• craig on Sep 10, 2011 at 1:27 pm

I just went to the event’s place this morning and I am very upset with the arrangement they have. I am very sure the event organizer are not experience to handle large crowd and even tell us to only come back after 3pm, which I was there to queue up before 11am. The messy process and dis-organize make the event as a joke which first time I experience a global branded event with this level of quality. VW Malaysia should get some one who has quality to run the show and I had throw away the waiting ticket after i got it because it may only allow me to go in for the show after 6pm I think.

Over promise with disappointing manage, organize and messy event in town. Totally wasting our time

• No One on Sep 10, 2011 at 2:26 pm

My opinion….boring look cars….even the Volvos used to be called the boxy cars had better styling than VW nowadays…

• I agree.actually vw design language is nothing much to shout about.all cars look rather plain,their selling point is the engine,gearbox tech,competitive pricing in malaysia,and their tagline selling German technology

• KamLYS on Sep 10, 2011 at 5:10 pm

Is Jetta on display?

• just been there today, and there is no Amarok shown at the dome which was dissapointing. the dome was very cool but they should also display all those exclusive cars at the booth for all to see.

• Arrived at around 11.30 am. The line to the entrance was already long…brought along the family (wife, kids, baby) as tot it would be a nice family oriented event..alas…it was not family friendly, in fact, it was not public friendly at all. I guess they didn’t expect that many turnout with the amount of hype that was put out through the media. No consideration at all for those with kids. Luckily my kids were well-behaved today, otherwise, I would have left. Were able to enter the dome after an hour plus of waiting and the show was only around 5 mins or so. What a turn off!! After that we were ushered into the static display where you weren’t even able to sit and feel the inside of the cars. A bit dissappointed with the whole arrangement. A little dumbfounded with the purpose of spending so much money and you end up alienating all your potential future customers and totally messed up your brand building…

• newton on Sep 11, 2011 at 12:04 am

la sape la yang manage benda nih
      buat yang lagi bagus la , dah la tak boleh test drive, kena beratur panjang lagi, nak tengok benda kejap je, berbaloi ke?
      kalau macam ni la nak attract customer baik tak payah jual kat malaysia
      pergi la ke india ke china ke melambak orang boleh beli kat sana
      malaysia ni apa yang ada, rakyat seciput je
      paham ke dak nih?

• was there this afternoon. found out have to wait for >2hrs to get in. wat waste of my time.

• peYno on Sep 10, 2011 at 7:36 pm

I saw Saga FLX on a Polo Sedan…

prfftt…

• Please don’t even think to come for the Volkswagen Das Auto Show @ Bukit Jalil. There’s no golf R, scirocco R, the new beetle and amarok in the show room.

• Agreed….totally mess up…wonder if the Mat Salleh care at all tho…

• Azrel on Sep 10, 2011 at 10:05 pm

Being one of VW proud owner, i was all excited to attend the show. Reached there and saw a very long queue. Apparently, only 300 people are allowed to attend the dome at one time. Thus the long queue. I just dont understand, VW should expect large turnout, but they limit the no of people into the exhibition area. A lot of people were queing for hours and were told to come back on Sunday. This is totally not acceptable.

• Mofaz supporter on Sep 10, 2011 at 10:36 pm

From the negative tone: Malaysian are really pathetic, no place to go at weekend. No proper sports gymnasium, no proper library, parks are badly contaminated by haze from Indonesia, golf courses are luxury only for the rich. General Malaysian only can afford to see merchandize/goods at supermarket and car show.

From the positive tone: paultan.org is doing a great job in attracting the crowd.

Moral behind the story: The VW marketing guy and the PR company should get screwed up for such a lousy arrangement !!!

• no_astro? on Sep 10, 2011 at 11:28 pm

i’m sure you dont have astro.

they put ads in astro, so the whole malaysia knows. not only paultan reader.

get a tv if you can.

• richard Wee on Sep 10, 2011 at 10:37 pm

Reached there aorund 10:15 and waited until 11:30 only the “show” started. After show pass thru a showroom (no different with showroom outside). Then the end. Conclusion is Das Auto Show managed to draw a large group of people (jungle people) but failed to achieve any goal. Unfortunately, >95% visitors not happy with the organiser and this will affect image of VW Malaysia.
    Complaints:-
    (1) Time wasting event
    – wasted too much time to q for registration which can be done online.
    – wasted too much time b4 enter the dome to see the “show” – no reading materials on VW or the new development of VW and etc.
    – wasted time for the show as not additional information on VW. Paultan provides more information than Das Auto Show.
    (2) Poor organiser
    – wasted a good event to promote VW. Should give some goodies/ infomation on VW and etc.
    – Not allow to bring in drinking water. But also not provided inside. So bad hospitality.
    – some I-pads for children to play but majority people has to pretend cool (so so de) to kill time.
    (3) Bad Experience
    – Bad image for VW Malaysia.
    – Learn nothing for this event. Trusted the long organiser.
    – Good experience because we global brand like VW also failed to organise a good event.

By the way pls find out who does the marketing for this event – Good Marketier.
    -lousy event also managed to draw a large crowd.

Richard.

• steam_man on Sep 10, 2011 at 11:31 pm

first, we are not jungle ppl, you from jungle doesnt mean all of us are same like you do.

wrong organizer, not long organiser.

its ipad, not I-pads

you must be more than 50 years old.

• yes it need uncles / oldies to buy vw
        young people mostly only can afford a p1/p2

• steam_man on Sep 11, 2011 at 12:38 am

wrong, uncle auntie drives toyota honda.

young exe making 10k at age less than 30 can afford bmw.

most ppl cannot afford non-local cars, no matter what their age are.

• Stanley on Sep 11, 2011 at 10:31 am

Richard, why you call urself jungle ppl ? VW is doing their best and safety is priority. If u want to b free and easy, go to VW showroom and definitely the sales personnel would attend to u for all VW info. Ipad to children, I think u should become the organiser and let the others judge you.

• apamacam on Sep 12, 2011 at 3:42 pm

The event company is Hotshoe. They should be quite experience handling events like this. I guess it’s just overwhelming crowd.

• Unforgiven on Sep 10, 2011 at 10:46 pm

Been there twice this morning and paid RM4.00 for the parking (RM2.00 per entry), didn’t manage to get in due to my gals (queue under the sun). Went there again on the evening myself and the queue is crazy, gave up and headed home.

• buiop on Sep 10, 2011 at 11:34 pm

don’t think vw cares about people who come, at the end of theday , how many will buy vw? vw knows that not many people can afford the price (high taxed) so why bother to offer driving test in the first place?

• tabasco on Sep 10, 2011 at 11:57 pm

Guys can anyone tell me is there any rear wheel drive VW model around ? If yes which model is the cheapest among the VW family ? 150k below can get any brand new rear wheel drive car in this country ? I heard that even the passat is front wheel drive.

Thanks for your info

• steam_man on Sep 11, 2011 at 12:36 am

go get a toyota mark x.

2.5 liter , rear wheel drive.

hey why do you need rear wheel drive?

buy second hand bmw la. rm150k so small, barely enough for a new camry. rear wheel drive lagi, tamak nya.

• tabasco on Sep 11, 2011 at 8:29 am

thanks steam_man for your info,

car is really expensive in this country. Toyota Corolla Altis is only HK $ 170k (RM 64k) in Hong Kong.

Why i need rear wheel drive ? Because I have never tried one before. You mean it feels the same steam_man ?

• steam_man on Sep 11, 2011 at 10:00 am

i think for this price, you can get a recon bmw/toyota mark x.

well, of cos rear wheel drive feels better, when you trash it around.

since you wanna try RWD, the above option are what you have.

enjoy :D

• Kumar on Sep 11, 2011 at 11:55 am

Agree with you tabasco, we should try RWD someday when we can afford. Have been driving FWD car for the past 15years, time to try something new.

• rally_fan on Sep 11, 2011 at 5:50 pm

RWD = Right Wheel Drive. with power going to the rear wheels.. the steering wheels are not corrupted by having power go thru them, and still having the job of steering the car at the same time.

been driving RWD for the last 6 years.. will never drive another FWD car…

• M Effendi on Apr 06, 2012 at 2:55 pm

RWD – Rear Wheel Drive

• kc8ch on Sep 11, 2011 at 12:46 am

I suppose the German should run the show, let’s the local organiser learnt. Personally I went there but only disappointment. big thumb down.

• henry on Sep 11, 2011 at 4:20 am

Planned to go later…but after reading about the comments here. Better not. Thanks!

• Chai Heng on Sep 11, 2011 at 10:49 am

Damn bad experience. Air cond cold like hell, wait long like hell from one waiting area to another. Then the show is over in 2 min, wat’s the point? Very quick intro n no info on d cars! Then escorted to a showroom where cars r displayed. N u can get these cars in the showroom anyway! Wat a time waster..

• VW fan on Sep 11, 2011 at 1:28 pm

Thanks guys for your comments, would have wasted my time if I had gone. Expected it to be a fantastic showcase for VW cars and not a pain for VW lovers. VW better apologise to those who had to endure the pain of bad event management.

• looking-good on Sep 11, 2011 at 2:17 pm

I was there just now..
    when reached, there’s already a long ques ~~

don’t bother to line up, but been lepak a while at the car parks, as there r some classic beetles gangs there~~

• Adamccl on Sep 12, 2011 at 12:34 pm

Agreed. I was looking to take photographs with the Kombi (my all-time favourite) just to waste my time…

• frustrated on Sep 11, 2011 at 2:51 pm

GO! IF u want to queue under hot sun for more than 1 hours. waste my time only..

• waja2007 on Sep 11, 2011 at 5:38 pm

Started queing at 11.45 am, managed to get in about an hour later at 12.45 pm.

Yes, I still want to get in (with my wife n kids) bcoz I came from my hometown that is 60-70km away from Bukit Jalil.

Drinks not allowed. Umbrella not allowed (after queing in the sun!). Bags not allowed. But a big surprised is that a pushchair also not allowed!

This event is rubbish, not friendly at all. Sombong n berlagak pulak tu.

Bye2 VW. I will still considering a Toyota, Nissan or an all-new Hyundai/KIA MPV for my next ride.

• the_upside on Sep 11, 2011 at 5:47 pm

went there, paid parking.. saw the queue, found out what it took to get in..waited a while, turned around and went off.. people were in a line that stretched out into the carpark.. the sun was hot at that point, and rain looked like it was coming in .. and not only did i have my kid with me.. so did many others.. after waiting for about 15 mins.. i gave up, left and went somewhere else. After all the hype, it was clear they weren’t able to cater for the amount of people they attracted. disappointed and time and money wasted.

• gd for you, luckily you never waited, i heard they were admitting 10 pax per time, as max capacity is 300 or so. some waited 2 hours to get to the front…once inside, you can only watch the cars circulating…you cant sit in or touch it. better go the showroom and check out the cars.

• kok chi, you are damn confident the vw will killl honda and toyota. lets see. all i can tell you is that the japs and koreans aint gonna take this sitting down. you are just on a high at the moment…wait till reality sets in….

• JeffLim on Sep 11, 2011 at 8:07 pm

Was there at 3.15pm but only managed to enter at 4.35pm. Disappointed… NO ANORAK, No Sharan, No Passat Wagon. Replaced with “EOS”, “Cross Tiguan” and “Passat CC” instead… The rest of existing range… Better go VW Showroom… Can open the door to inspect the car and test drive… Came out 5.15pm… WASTE OF TIME!!!

• anakmalaysia on Sep 11, 2011 at 11:18 pm

advise : jangan pergi kalau ada lagi event macam ni, penganjuran paling teruk, tak ada apa nak tengok. Sedih sebab hanya mencemarkan image VW. Lesson to learn – kalau x ada budget jangan buat show yang hanya melepaskan batuk di tangga sahaja. Disgusting Auto !!!

• laxxier on Sep 11, 2011 at 11:18 pm

das auto, buang masa pergi tadi

• after reading the comments here i think this show is just wasting our time even we able to go there!they should improve their show like let’s us to test drive the VW R line,play some little games or show the VW R line cars,ABT performance with some sexy girls…will more interesting to visit!i’m a VW fan but disappointed!

• Rosmah on Sep 11, 2011 at 11:54 pm

They should give free makan like my Jibby open house in PP.
    25000 came for a feeding frenzy. It was total madness!

• Das Auto Con Show on Sep 12, 2011 at 11:51 am

This Das Auto Con Show really con people. I Qed for 20 minutes in a 400 metre Q until this Idiot from Volkswagon told me it will take about 3 hours before I can get in. Apparently Con Show can only accommodate certain number of people only. So pvery likely I gotta Q for 4 hours before I can even see a tyre.

Definitely DAS CON AUTO SHOW.

• Adamccl on Sep 12, 2011 at 12:26 pm

Went to the opening hour entry but was very disappointed. Where are those Retro Beetles, Kombis and Golfs? Those are the ones I wanted to see. Of course, it’s very nice to view the new models, especially the spectacular performances at the dome. But seeing only new models make the whole roadshow incomplete. Also, why can’t we have a feel inside the new models? That’s part of the visit attraction. Sad.

• Adamccl on Sep 12, 2011 at 12:29 pm

Went to the opening hour entry but was very disappointed. Where are those Retro Beetles, Kombis and Golfs? Those are the ones I wanted to see. Of course, it’s very nice to view the new models, especially the spectacular performances at the dome. But seeing only new models make the whole roadshow incomplete. Also, why can’t we have a feel inside the new models? That’s part of the visit attraction. Sad…

• VWgang on Sep 12, 2011 at 12:40 pm

Ello all,
    Sudah lah this is so called a “PUBLIC” event. its a ridiculas to think that the flow with that kind of turnout is easy come easy go.
    It is an autoshow.It is meant to create the awareness on the different models VW has to offer.how lah to conduct testdrive for the thousand of people?
    How to prepare makan makan all? Malaysia style,nothing to do bawak satu family sekali go tengik this kind of show apa macam. Sudah lah this Dome is a pressurized Dome. Malaysian je kemaruk everything FREE nak ni tue.
    Apa macam mau kasih feel and touch the cars with this kind of thousand people coming in and going out. Some parents pun tak keep and eye on their kids letting their kids monkey about. by the end of the day,the cars all hancur.
    But yes,there shouldnt have the show BUT INSTEAD all the new and current car made on static so that people get to look around it.

sometimes manusia kena pakai otak sebelum nak critise. bad organization doesn’t mean bad car.

• beep2x on Sep 12, 2011 at 2:10 pm

Went there with my wife and 3 boys….the queue was utter silly & rubbish. I was hoping alternative system to take the guest registration detail via droppin calling cards etc but no…it has to be queing all the way. Some of the workers damn arrogant. Heck it took my family less than 5 minutes to decide to call off and proceed with our next daily agenda. Shame on VW. Got 2 frisbee though and all our decide WE ARE NOT POLO ENOUGH….!!!!!!!

Wake up VGM mgmt. If like this, i’m definitely striking out the new VW Jetta from my option list.

• beep2x on Sep 12, 2011 at 2:21 pm

Went there with my wife and 3 boys….the queue was utter silly & rubbish. I was hoping alternative system to take the guest registration detail via droppin calling cards etc but no…it has to be queing all the way. Some of the workers damn arrogant. Heck it took my family less than 5 minutes to decide to call off and proceed with our next daily agenda. Shame on VW. Got 2 frisbee though and all our decide WE ARE NOT POLO ENOUGH….!!!!!!!

Wake up VGM mgmt. If like this, i’m definitely striking out the new VW Jetta from my option list.

bengong

• Waste of time, lousy n stupid organiser, no freebies at all

Better go to the showroom ……

Total Failure !!!!

• STUPID AND WASTING TIME EVENT .. BIG LETDOWN ON VW

• Guys VW show is bad but the cars are still good too and fun to drive coz i own a Polo and i love it!VW people fault but not the cars fault!

• helmi on Sep 12, 2011 at 10:27 pm

Agreed its a total utterly disastrous failure in term of organising a motor show. Arrogant staff, just look from outside and cannot feel the inside, no test drive, no freebies, long que. I wish I could shout to the top management VW Malysia just get lost and take your car out, we have many other option to choose. VW is really a DUST AUTO.

• Been there on Sunday with my family. wife and 2 young daugthers. very long que. Need to wait 2 hours to see the show. and the most disappointing this got monkey smoking at public area. can see the monkey face here :

http://postimage.org/image/1dbl7jflw/

• Das Monkey at VW show : http://postimage.org/image/1dbl7jflw/

• archilapagos on Sep 24, 2011 at 7:19 am

too tired…beratur skit punye pjng tp apa yg dapat tgk…hampehhhh..
    kalo takat tgk gitu baik p tgk kat showroom jeee…buang masa jeee.. >((

• archilapagos, understand your disappointment. Public shows will always have mixed reviews, you can’t please everybody. The amount of people that came was so overwhelming that we have to cut short the presentation. Only 300 people can accomodate the Dome, if it was made any longer, it’ll only lead to more frustrated people queueing even longer. I remember the last time I was in Shanghai for World Expo 2010, the queue was even more ridiculous, 5 hours! Now mind you that it was a paid event!

In short, the event was open free for the public and when handling crowds by the thousands there will certainly be those disgruntled unfortunate few.

My company Oracle Projects International was part of the team that made the VW event from concept to reality. We did the Domes, Content & Video

• archilapagos, understand your disappointment. Public shows will always have mixed reviews, you can’t please everybody. The amount of people that came was so overwhelming that we have to cut short the presentation. Only 300 people can accomodate the Dome, if it was made any longer, it’ll only lead to more frustrated people queueing even longer. I remember the last time I was in Shanghai for World Expo 2010, the queue was even more ridiculous, 5 hours! Now mind you that it was a paid event!

In short, the event was open free for the public and when handling crowds by the thousands there will certainly be those disgruntled unfortunate few.

FYI, my company Oracle Projects International was part of the team that made the VW event from concept to reality. We did the Domes, Content & Video.