Frankfurt: Ford debuts the 1.0 litre 3-cylinder EcoBoost

Ford has officially unveiled its new 1.0 litre EcoBoost engine, which will be first utilised in the Euro-market Focus in early 2012 followed by the C-MAX in the same year. The all-new B-MAX will be next. The 3-cylinder engine is said to be equivalent to a conventional 1.6 litre engine when it comes to performance. The new engine has improved twin variable camshaft design, direct injection as well as turbocharging.

The turbo is able to reach nearly 250,000 rpm and is said to have virtually zero turbo lag. The exhaust manifold is cast into the cylinder head, which helps lower the temperature of the exhaust gases and this enables the engine to run with the optimum fuel-to-air ratio across a wider rev band. The cooling system is also able to help reduce fuel consumption. Referred to as split cooling, it basically warms up the engine more quickly. Unlike the larger EcoBoost engines, the 1.0 litre unit uses a cast iron block which reduces the amount of energy needed for warm-up by up to 50% compared to aluminium.

Other features include variable air-conditioning compressor, variable oil pump, special coatings for engine components and intricate development of engine geometry which help reduce frictional losses, an all-new camshaft actuator to speed up response times and so on. Furthermore, two main engine drive belts are immersed in oil which makes the engine run quieter and more efficiently, while maintaining the durability of a chain system.

It is also worth mentioning that the engineers deliberately unbalanced the flywheel and pulley to offset the engine configuration. According to Ford, this along with new engine mounts help deliver a more refined performance. This has been proven following a 720,000 km test which also includes 360,000 km of durability trials and 10,000 km of environmental testing.

The 1.0 litre EcoBoost will be available in two forms, including a 99 hp and an 118 hp variant, which also offers 170 Nm of torque between 1,300 – 4,500 rpm. These variants will be offered with a 5-speed manual and a 6-speed manual transmission respectively. Ford did not reveal the engine’s fuel economy figures, but said that it can output less than 120g/km of CO2 emissions. More information will be revealed at a later stage.

The Blue Oval also confirmed that the new engine will be made available in North America, China and in other regions although it did not specify a timeline. Continue reading to view more images of the 1.0 litre EcoBoost.

Harvinder Sidhu

Harvinder Singh Sidhu thinks there's nothing better than Formula 1, not even sliced bread. Having written about cars since 2006, he plunged head first into the industry out of a passion for all things four-wheeled and everything in between. The F1 enthusiast has been following the sport since 1999 and has been keeping up with it since. In between races he keeps himself busy as the host of the Driven motoring show and as our version of the Joker.

• “The turbo is able to reach nearly 250,000 rpm…”

woah, seriously?

• Yes, it’s the turbine that’ll reach 250k rpm.. Not the engine itself if you misread.

• sammo on Sep 15, 2011 at 9:11 am

wow…that’s much higher than f1 engine @@

• must be a typo?

• its not a typo….the turbine and compressor wheel on a turbo does not spin at the same rate as the engine itself.

• why used timing belt and cast iron block same as Campro Turbo??

• Because Ford took a Campro Turbo block, cut one cylinder off and call it now ‘3-cylinder EcoBoost’??

• eims @ gold on Sep 15, 2011 at 9:05 am

no lah..

but proton is improving their engines step by step.

for campro turbo. i guess its not much for new technology.
        i’m waiting for exora ev range extender. huhuh…

• armandd on Sep 15, 2011 at 6:51 am

Timing belt is not that bad compared to chain. Technology is catching up nowadays. Both have pros and cons.

• Probably b’coz iron is cheaper n more durable than aluminum.

Regarding d usage of timing belt, me thinks its more quieter than chain since a 3 cylinder would generate more vibrations.

• BeemerFreak on Sep 15, 2011 at 8:58 am

Haha, or did campro steal fords design? Eitherway since Ford is using that combo, i bet our campro should be as good

• cast iron can bear more heat albeit heavier
      but timing belt i dunno y

but 250k rpm?
      kalah F1

• vertigo on Sep 15, 2011 at 9:59 am

cast iron can withstand higher boost and more reliable for longer period. yeap, should’ve use timing chain instead to minimize maintenance

• armandd on Jun 14, 2012 at 10:37 pm

See, the International Engine of The Year also use timing belt like Campro engine.

• Debian on Sep 15, 2011 at 8:17 am

Great innovation by Ford, and its support for the conservation of environment. Cheers.!

• wow….. more powerful than current campro (not cps lah)…. and saving the petrol consumption

• ABTguy on Sep 15, 2011 at 8:55 am

Audi new S8 4.0 V8 cross-bank twin-scroll turbo can achieve 520BHP, equivalent to 130BHP per 1,000 cc. Why can’t ford match it with the highly tune Ecoboost ST :D

• howitzer on Sep 15, 2011 at 12:07 pm

bro..dont you see, obviously because its a V8 engine.. this particular one is 3 cylinder engine..

• The 1.0 litre EcoBoost will be available in two forms, including a 99 hp and a 118 hp variant which also offers 170 Nm of torque between 1,300 – 4,500 rpm

Install in viva
    MMmm…. Yummy

• Chris on Sep 15, 2011 at 11:08 am

You took the words right out of my mouth :D

I’m not greedy, I’ll settle with the 99hp one if it takes RON95 without needing to retard the ignition timing.

Everyone should just downsize and turbocharge everything now….

• eims @ gold on Sep 15, 2011 at 9:00 am

very nice innovation! maybe could win an award :)

250k RPM..? pehh.. my er6 only 14K rpm max..huhuh..

somehow i prefer belts, rather than chain.
    the downside is just the maintenance once in a while.
    but timing belt have more advantage over the timing chain.

i change my savvy’s timing belt @ 86000km but the belt still looks like new.
    next time i will change my timing belt after travel more than 100km.

but 120g/km of CO2 emissions… isnt it still quite high.

• Jugap on Sep 15, 2011 at 12:53 pm

250K is for turbo rev, not the engine rev. Your er6 using turbo ka?

• VW_fan on Sep 15, 2011 at 9:03 am

Quite a number of interesting engineering ideas in this engine. Looks like the trend of downsized, frugal and high output turbo engines are getting stronger and stronger. I hope the Asian manufacturers have something up their sleeves soon. So many Japanese engines are being retired as they don’t meet emission standards in Europe.

• LE buruk on Sep 15, 2011 at 9:07 am

99 hp only…better used yamaha r1 engine la….

• Look at the torque figure, 170nm at low rev…..thats more important for a daily transport such as a car. R1 is a sportbike & for fun, high rev engines are for fun…and its lighter too, not much weight to pull

• Nice. If proton can take this block and use it in their cars … it would be great. All that performance for the road tax and insurance of a 1.0 litre car.

• wow impressive Ford FTW !!!

• blue-traveler on Sep 15, 2011 at 10:35 am

there goes P1 & P2 salesmen thinking “krap!!!, better have something new when this little engine comes along. Or better yet ask big bro to impose some new taxes or incentive.”
    1.0 = 1.6, that’s something man. Sweet!!! Pay less for fuel.

• Kevin Lee on Sep 15, 2011 at 10:37 am

the engine is so small, it will be fun in micro hot hatches

• ikari on Sep 15, 2011 at 10:49 am

wow what a little chili padi

• buskerhatesTnH on Sep 15, 2011 at 11:03 am

this is what we called technology….

TnH enjin are so ancient, that if we dig under the pyramid, we might come across 1…

• Jerry on Sep 15, 2011 at 11:16 am

All the ingredients for making an engine tractable are present: twin variable camshalf, turbocharging, multi valves, etc.

It looks like Ford has nailed it the first time but nothing’s for sure until one gets behind the wheel and see for himself.

A major bear bug in any engines is friction which affects momentum of a vehicle.

• Jonathan Lim on Sep 15, 2011 at 1:20 pm

should do it awal-awal, like VW…..

• Swift Enam Kelajuan on Sep 15, 2011 at 4:26 pm

so new fiesta gune ini enjin ke?
    bagus3….i like…

walaupun aku teruja…tapi bila tgk MAA sales data…
    jualan ford,hyundai,kia,mazda tak memberangsangkan..sigh…

come on la..ford is good…budak2 kimchi sembang kencang je ckp kia hyundai best & keta jepun nampak ketinggalan zmn last2 tgk data sales msh ketinggalan jauh..ada la meningkat sedikit…

adakah sbb QC & SC yg teruk & xbynk? sbb naza & sime darby xleh blah?
    resale value? parts yg mahal? x femes? overpriced ? design xbest?
    hampeh…tipikal malaysian choose T & H je…haha

go ford! go sujuki! go mazda!! yeeehaaaa

• Lim Kopi on Sep 16, 2011 at 1:42 am

Well done FORD …

U have shown that not only Germans are ahead with technology and engine downsizing …

If only you are able to shake off that brand perception in Malaysia, u are truly not a bad carmaker :)