Hyundai self developing 10-speed automatic transmission

Hyundai self developing 10-speed automatic transmissionHow much is too much when it comes to gears? Cars like the BMW 5-Series come with eight forward ratios now, which is already a lot, but you can count on someone trying to outdo that. That someone is Hyundai, which is reported to be developing a 10-speed automatic transmission. Yes, 10.

Bloomberg News reported Park Seong Hyon, president of Hyundai Motor Group, the umbrella company of Hyundai Motor Co and Kia Motors Corp, saying that they’re developing the said 10 speeder for future luxury vehicles starting in 2014.

These could possibly including the next Hyundai Genesis and Equus luxury sedans. ZF is rolling out a 9-speed auto in 2013, and this one will retake the lead, if no one else joins the race.

Automakers are increasingly using transmissions with more gears to cut fuel consumption and emissions, and this piece of news signals that the Korean carmaker is firmly on the path of developing its own transmissions, instead of picking one off the shelves of ZF, BorgWarner or Aisin.

The 6-speed slushbox servicing the current Sonata and Tucson is an in house effort, and earlier this year, Hyundai launched an self developed 8-speed auto for the 2012 Genesis and Equus sedans. But 10?

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• the power of cv transimission

• MoFaz on Sep 30, 2011 at 3:57 pm

this has become like our SPM students.. everybody race for more As than everybody else until Gov put the limit to 10As maximum. so i think 10 gear ratios is enough!

• There’s no harm if more than that..lets try with 11, or maybe 12..no wait..13! =p

• squall_shinoda on Sep 30, 2011 at 11:04 pm

Heavy lorries may have manual transmissions as many as 18 gears already When it comes to the gear race, then those cars with CVT already won because there are infinite ratios in any CVT.

• alldisc on Oct 01, 2011 at 8:37 am

even 7 like the one in VW Golf 1.4 is already too much.

8 speed gearbox car was available in the 80s. Misubishi Tredia has 4 speed manual x 2 ratios = 8 speed.

Mistubishi Cordia Turbo has 10 manual ratios to choose from. 5 MT x 2 final ratio.

• 10 gears… more than Chrysler/Dodge’s 9-speed transmission.

• The EU (German) which are more advanced haven’t even reach that standard when the Koreans already on that development? Unbelievable. But the question still remains: Is it going to reliable/proven to withstand harsh condition etc?

• wallstreet on Sep 30, 2011 at 4:52 pm

This is becoming more and more like a lorry with 32 speed. Any car manufacturers can have 10 speed but there are points to consider like weight which is one of the most crucial area.

• jeffvip on Sep 30, 2011 at 4:53 pm

You shouldn’t look down on Hyundai bcos they are Korean. In fact the are proven high quality car manufacturer even in Germany.

Do you know which company create LCD 1st? Is neither samsung nor sony. Is Sharp. I dont see a problem smaller company bring breakthrough to the existing field

• gunigugu on Sep 30, 2011 at 10:55 am

could bring amazingly low fuel consumption..but going through the gears using the paddle shifters or even the tiptronic function on the gear stick is going to be a tiresome affair after this! lol

• Black Dog on Sep 30, 2011 at 10:55 am

Even my 6-speed auto now is so smooth can’t feel any jerk or change of gears.

• i dont think even F1 cars have that many gear ratios…pretty soon there will be adaptive variable transmissions….so many different other different drive mechanisms…too much sci fi

• lonelyobserve on Sep 30, 2011 at 11:17 am

If this really available, hopefully the gearbox can be introduced to Hyundai diesel engine powered vehicles. See how much improvement can be achieved compared to current 6-speed auto.

• BeemerFreak on Sep 30, 2011 at 11:22 am

Good effort…. but why not a twin clutch one? Maybe Hyundai and Kia should also focus on engine development and provide buyers with a range of turbo charged engines to differentiate itself from the japanese.

• Jolly_idiot on Sep 30, 2011 at 11:29 am

Why dun just go for cvt? Cut the crap. U get unlimited ratios. Wat these korean are thinking? 10 speed? I could imagime how long will the gearbox be? Can still fit in fwd?

• Black Dog on Sep 30, 2011 at 11:45 am

Your name really fits you!

• uncle sam on Sep 30, 2011 at 12:15 pm

cvt is for pussy driver, like u. jolly idiot. memang idiot pun. . .

• Unforgiven on Sep 30, 2011 at 12:24 pm

The performance for CVT is way too slow in the current market.
      CGi/GTi/Evo will not be using CVT…

• jolly_idiot on Sep 30, 2011 at 1:56 pm

I always believe technology can overcome anything. If they put more effort to improve it, i won’t see a reason it won’t outshine others.

• squall_shinoda on Sep 30, 2011 at 11:09 pm

The reason why conventional auto gearbox is still important because the current CVTs are only capable to handle up to medium-sized car torque; larger cars can only use either conventional auto gearbox or dual-clutch gearbox. Even a supercar like Merc SLR McLaren can only use 5-speed auto instead of 7-speed auto in S-Class.

• blue-traveler on Sep 30, 2011 at 12:05 pm

At what point, will it become too much: way-too-many-gear? Rather then upping the number gears for normal cars, shouldn’t they be thinking of putting some sort new gear system into 100% EV cars? Correct me if I’m wrong all but a couple of them EV cars have no gear system right?

• MoFaz on Sep 30, 2011 at 3:51 pm

in theory, yes EV doesn’t need gear system because the electric motor could increase or decrease speed easily, take ceiling fan as example. but upon reading in forums about EV, i found few opinions why gearbox is needed in EV:
      1. What is the power needed to start a vehicle from stop and accelerate to 25mph? It requires a certain torque at the rear wheel. Is that torque, from the motor, to the differential to the axle going to be enough to accelerate it? Now, put that through a gear reduction and see how much torque you get. Lots more. Transmissions are torque amplifiers, and even though the motor may get all its torque at 0rpm, it may not be enough to push it very quickly without a transmission.
      2. it takes TONS of amps to put max torque on a motor at 0rpm. Thats not very great for the battery pack…. as your peukert exponent rears its ugly head. The more amps you draw, the exponentially less your battery pack lasts.

• Unforgiven on Sep 30, 2011 at 12:17 pm

10 / 2 = 5. 5 speeds auto is considered a high standard that most people are still looking forward to (in M’sia).

• syamness on Sep 30, 2011 at 12:23 pm

I agree with some of the earlier comments made here…. why not go straight to CVT?!
    upping to 10 gear ratios i suspect will just make it more prone to failures (double the movable parts of a 5-ratio gear?)….

• lonelyobserve on Sep 30, 2011 at 1:17 pm

I heard from some car sales person that most of the drivers in Boleh Land hit accelerator a lot to gain speed but CVT operates differently whereby slightly depress can build speed smoothly. Due to that many people complain CVT still consumes lots of fuel due to inapproriate driving style. In worst case, CVT spoilt.

• francis on Sep 30, 2011 at 1:58 pm

# -Speed transmission and CVT are different technology. there are Pros & Cons for both kind of transmissions. Also..considering the cost building too…

And some of you comment on why not using Twin-clutch tranny.. There are common problem on them too. Maintenance is another headache story for twin clutch.

Do some Google.com before comment.

I am wondering if driving a car with 10th-speed. What will the RPM reading?
      1.2RPM = Running at 140KM/H ???
      If this implement at low CC engine with a little help of turbo…This will ridiculously saving lots of fuel….

• Judge on Sep 30, 2011 at 11:56 pm

CVT! Are you joking! >15 years technology Malaysian driving behavior not suitable for CVT, Kancil 600cc drive leh Porshe 911

• policeman on Sep 30, 2011 at 1:09 pm

Since nobody has said it, I will.

Proton still using 4 speed auto!

• policewoman on Sep 30, 2011 at 2:11 pm

Since nobody has said it, I will.

Perodua still using 4 speed auto! duh!

• Newspring on Sep 30, 2011 at 8:44 pm

Well, latest Daihatsus and Toyota Passo are equipped with fuel saving CVT, we are still getting old 4 speed auto from P2. Sad…

• luristvan on Sep 30, 2011 at 2:47 pm

p2 also…

• MoFaz on Sep 30, 2011 at 3:54 pm

next gen proton cars will come with CVT. all of them.

• Phillip zak on Sep 30, 2011 at 11:10 pm

Toyota also using four speed auto in camry, altos and bios…
      People still buy them…so brand power is strong enough to overcome spec requirements,

• Ahmad on Oct 02, 2011 at 12:45 pm

new altis 7 speed super cvt…i own one..thanx to paultan for the decision i made based on good & bad comments…fully satisfied

• Carl Wong on Oct 02, 2011 at 1:18 am

I’ll sum it up for all of you. Toyota and our national car makers Proton and Perodua are still using the out-dated 4 speed automatic, which is sluggish and not fuel efficient enough for today’s standards let alone emission standards……

Just a suggestion for the blog, can we have the option of editing and deleting our own comments since every human make mistakes?

• proton already start cvt for saga… perodua ?

• Luqman_HKM on Jul 25, 2013 at 4:12 am

They just started using CVT. The Saga FLX uses a 6-Speed CVT. Preve uses the 7-Speed CVT w/paddle shifting. Exora Bold also uses CVT, and what’s next? The Global Small Car with a CVT?

• drMpower on Sep 30, 2011 at 1:10 pm

so, suddenly its about whos got the more gears?

its about time these koreans come out clutching fist claiming they are the best in everything. the world already know about munich/bavaria to slow down on the horsepower race, but i guess Mr Park Hyeon Seon would at least want once in his wonderful life for hyundai to produce more powerful vehicles compared to bmw/ mercedes

so i will not suprise if a car comes out on sale by hyundai with 800 horsepower. and still nobody would give a heck about it. not doubt Mr Park will not sleep for 80 days bragging how hyundai is superpower in motoring.

maybe they will also have an in-house tuning company like what AMG to mercedes, and M-division for BMW. they should name it the WS. Winter Sonata. thats love series is the only thing from korea that sell to me. oh. theres another one. Kim Jung IIl. I adore him a lot.

10 speeding gear application is dependant to so many factors for it to be viable for use. for example the power of the vehicle possesssing 10 speed gearing. and how it selects the gears. i would imagine its another case of ‘oh i am not sure which gear should i do’
    and imagine how is it to reach the top 10th gear altogether?

• An651 on Sep 30, 2011 at 5:48 pm

Idle – Shift to D – accelerate=

Vr..vr.. vr..vr.. vrr.. vrrrr.. vrrrrrr.. vrrrrrrr.. vrrrrrrrrrr…… vrrrrrrroooooommmm brake!

[traffic light]

start all over again

• armandd on Sep 30, 2011 at 1:36 pm

7 or 8 gears enough laa.. no need 10 gears..

• arcana on Sep 30, 2011 at 3:18 pm

we do say that when we are used to 4 or 5 gears that 8 is probably a handful.
      lets see how we gonna deal with 10….double upshifts and downshifts?…..
      i have sat in the new F10 5 series and i dont really notice much difference between a 6 speed and 8 speed one, pretty much the same experience unless like someone commented doing paddle shifting manually, 10 gears is ouch.

• 10-gear tranny has slower acceleration but higher max speed than 9-speed if these two are put into the same car with same power and torque.

• albag on Sep 30, 2011 at 1:39 pm

better be reliable… more speeds mean more complicated… if shit happens, sure gonna cost a bomb for repair…

• Budak Kecil on Sep 30, 2011 at 3:10 pm

I still prefer a 6 speed manual than 10 speed auto.

• littlefire on Sep 30, 2011 at 6:07 pm

6-speed manual pun sudah outdated… now 7-speed manual pun sudah mai…

• sam witwicky on Sep 30, 2011 at 6:32 pm

meh! i agree with budak kecil…
        6 speed pun suda okey maa….

• wolfsburg on Sep 30, 2011 at 3:29 pm

This shows that how fast Hyundai and Kia are progressing…

• shawal on Sep 30, 2011 at 4:36 pm

Its just a pissing contest to see who could shoot farther, i tot lesser moving parts equal to improve reliability, nvm, we all will end up driving electric soon anyways

• autobus on Sep 30, 2011 at 5:44 pm

10 gear???maybe more suitable to lorry and bus. :)

• Masked Ryder on Sep 30, 2011 at 10:07 pm

My Mountain Bike Shimano Gear have 21 Speeds, 10 speeds gearbox more on gimmick than practical.

• BMW POWER FOREVER on Oct 01, 2011 at 12:58 am

auto?? meh. stick for me.

• matrxe on Oct 01, 2011 at 10:47 am

lets start with 5 gears and then if you put a separate gear like overdrive to engage in all gears..voila.. 10 gears!

• Moogen on Oct 01, 2011 at 3:14 pm

There is a misconception here that more gears = higher top speed. As Mofaz clarified, transmission is indeed a torque amplifier. There is no way that the more gear ratios you got, the higher the top speed. If this is the case, a 660cc Kancil with 10-speed kimchi transmission would do 4xx kmh and outrun an Aventador. There is a limit to it. A properly tuned transmission from the manufacturer will have a ‘just right’ ratio/torque amplification to bring the vehicle to its max speed. Any more gear after that would not have enough torque to accelerate the vehicle further, which reflects the limitation from the engine’s torque output. The concept of more gear ratios in a transmission is to spread out the ratios so that the engine stays as close as possible to the peak power band. Eg: 6 speed close ratio but high final gear transmission used in the powerful but narrow powerband CTR. Even that is only 6 speed. So the question is, what kind of engines really need the 10-spd transmission?

• Zaifman on Oct 02, 2011 at 12:02 am

What?!

10 GEARS now?!

• Carl Wong on Oct 02, 2011 at 12:51 am

More gears are good but cost would be even higher??
    I don’t like conventional torque converter automatic transmissions any more, they’re quite sluggish when you need accelerate out of junctions or overtake because even if you go flat out you still need to wait for the computer to down shift………..

Continuously Variable Transmissions is better for me, more responsive with a lot of low end torque, and it’s the most efficient transmission for today’s standards. Conservative drivers like myself who care more about fuel efficiency/economy prefer CVTs. If you want speed and performance just get dual clutch (I haven’t driven Ford Fiesta, is it good?), which change gears faster than a blink of an eye or simply stick shifts like the Honda Civic Type R with a 6 speed manual :].

• but cvt sound boring went u rev it out

• dunno y pl so scared of so many gears..its auto maa,not mnual where u shift it yourself,idiot!its controlled by tcu..i guess because its from hyundai,ppl so sceptic,jealous…it this were honda,toyota..sure ppl gonna like soooooo much,soooo proud~hahaha

• TheBestOrNothing on Oct 04, 2011 at 2:00 pm

At the end of the day, its just a marketing gimmick.

” My hyundai is faster than your merc cause i have 10 gears and you only have 7! ”

The reason CVT is design to reduce losses in between changing gears, same goes as for dual clutch. What about losses in between 10 gears?

The best is still simple yet cost effective. If its not, they gonna use only for one car model and they gonna stop the production cause its too expensive and the high maintenance cost its a burden to customers.

Well, I don’t question their capabilities cause they are one of the finest car maker.

• TheBestOrNothing on Oct 04, 2011 at 2:07 pm

I think is just another marketing gimmick..

” My hyundai is faster than your merc cause i have 10 gears and you only have 7! ”

The reason CVT is design is to reduce losses in between changing gears, same goes as for dual clutch. What about losses in between 10 gears?

The best is still simple yet cost effective. If its not, they gonna use only for one car model and they gonna stop the production cause its too expensive and the high maintenance cost would be a burden to customers.

Well, I don’t question their capabilities cause they are one of the finest car maker.