VW teaser ads surface – new cars launching next week!

There’s something brewing at Volkswagen Group Malaysia (VGM). We first noticed teaser ads featured in a local daily two days ago, and the same three teaser images have surfaced on their official website as well.

All three images of the to-be-launched models zoom in at their headlamps, and all point to the date 21 October, so we should expect a triple launch from VGM.

As for the identity of the models, based on the teasers, yours truly is guessing that the grey car (Are you a visionary leader?) with the four bar chrome grill is the Passat, the blue car without LED DRLs (Do you see a step ahead of your peers?) is the Jetta, and the brown car (Are you illuminatingly unconventional?) is perhaps a CrossTouran.

However, I noticed that a report in Tuesday’s Starbiz mentioned Polo Sedan, Jetta and CrossTouran, so perhaps they know something we don’t. What do you think?

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Paul, are these cars CKD models?

• If i have 200k to buy the Sedan i’ll choose the Passat over Camry and Accord.

If i have 140k to buy the Sedan i’ll choose the Jetta over Altis and Civic.

If i have 200k to buy the MPV i’ll choose the Estima maybe i’ll choose the VW Touran.

• kington on Oct 13, 2011 at 10:07 am

If their prices are as compatible with the class leaders, then……. Honda, Nissan and Toyota, wake up.

Don’t give us chrome plates here and there and expect us to believe that your cars are trully expensive and elegant.

• jay8393 on Oct 13, 2011 at 10:11 am

When the ads first same out, the blue car had LED daytime running lights. I was thinking what car was that, but after searching around I found no such car. Now that they edited the picture, it’s actually the Polo Sedan.

• puterakupang84 on Oct 13, 2011 at 10:16 am

I saw this advertisement in NST newspapaper..can’t wait for the launch..

• Dato Seri on Oct 13, 2011 at 10:30 am

Yup it’s a passat, jetta & cross touran.

• Golf owner on Oct 13, 2011 at 5:54 pm

A VW salesguy confirmed Jetta, Passat and Cross Touran. The Jetta uses the same 1.4TSI as the current Golf and the Passat is 1.8TSI. All imported. Probably VGM is testing water for the Jetta and Passat ahead of the CKD launch. The cars can be viewed at their showroom now. The Malaysian public is about to experience a new era of quality motoring. Toyota & especially Honda, your nighmare has begun!

• BeemerFreak on Oct 14, 2011 at 4:37 pm

Oh yes I have been waiting for that wind of change for a long time. If the Koreans can’t do it alone then VW will be supplying them with more armor.
        Unlike world war 2 this time the Germans will be helping the Koreans

• fahmie on Oct 13, 2011 at 10:30 am

wondering the price???

• fahmie on Oct 13, 2011 at 10:30 am

what about the price???

• gangully on Oct 13, 2011 at 10:34 am

Its the Passat, Polo Sedan and the Cross Touran…

the first photo with the four bars is the Passat, note the way the slat on the bumper turns in the opposite direction from the direction of the lights… only available on the passat…

the brown car is a cross touran… the jetta’s grill is closer than the one in the photo…

• Naim1M on Oct 13, 2011 at 10:35 am

The Jetta :D

• mujahid on Oct 13, 2011 at 10:37 am

still no touron….

• mujahid on Oct 13, 2011 at 10:41 am

No touron, most malaysian like mpv

• fortminor on Oct 13, 2011 at 10:44 am

cross touran, passat and pol sedan ;)

• halim on Oct 13, 2011 at 10:47 am

For the rich n famous

• K-Man on Oct 13, 2011 at 10:58 am

Wow, same time as new 508! Should be an exciting week ahead!

• DewaSemut on Oct 13, 2011 at 11:03 am

These 3 models assambled at Pekan? Wonder what is da price range going to be…

• ok computer on Oct 13, 2011 at 11:08 am

20 October? Why just now i saw in their website mentioned 21 october?

• ABTguy on Oct 13, 2011 at 11:09 am

First to comment ? I thought it was Passat, Jetta and Polo sedan.

Anyway, all good car bar the old man looks on Passat especially. I think my B6 TSI look better.

• Next 10 days or so will be interesting with the unveiling of the new F30 3-series and the local release of the VW trio, or quartet, with the Polo sedan thrown in as well? Seen a Singapore-registered Jetta in the flesh about 6 weeeks back. A rather well-proportioned & smart-looking car, imho. Hope the range includes the Jetta Sport 1.4 TSI with the 160 bhp/240 Nm engine priced below RM130K.

• Garfield on Oct 13, 2011 at 11:17 am

If a Passat is introduced, I think it would be the North American rather than the Euro Passat. Why? Because the North American car is 10 cm longer with a 9 cm longer wheelbase than the Euro Passat. Marketing ppl would think that way along the line of Accords and Camrys that we got so far.

• North American’s Passat is bigger. Our’s standard Passat. If Jetta price were correct (read wway below than Golf TSI) at the most RM130k, many will consider though at RM130k many will go for standard new Toyota Camry by next May 2012. T&H mentality rule our consumer decision making.

• sfssd on Oct 13, 2011 at 11:22 am

Gorgeous headlamps, I want to take a pair home and hang it in my bedroom….

• Garfield on Oct 13, 2011 at 11:26 am

I think Polo Sedan will not feature in the CKD launches just yet. So far VW only confirmed Passat and Jetta models with a third model in the future. They may not want to “de-value” the brand yet with an entry-level Polo (currently only for Russian market). For me a Jetta with a RM100-120K price tag would be satisfactory anyway

• Garfield on Oct 13, 2011 at 11:31 am

Had a look at the front bumper picture, looks like a Euro Passat rather than North American one. My bad

• Volkswagen my site just change the date to 21 OCT

• scratching head on Oct 13, 2011 at 11:33 am

The first pic (silver) is the new Passat, the second pic (blue) is the new Jetta.. the third pic still figuring it out. The pics of the new Passat and Jetta can be seen in mudah.com (ads by vw salesperson) if you type in vw

• cheapcarsfortherakyat on Oct 13, 2011 at 11:34 am

i hope the cars will be priced reasonably. are they ckd’s or cbu’s

• kaminski on Oct 13, 2011 at 11:49 am

Hey Danny, Just to let you know, it appears as if Volkswagen have changed the dates for two of the cars after your post, albeit only one day later. The blue car is 20/10 whilst the other two are now showing 21/10. Cheers!

• pl4y3r122 on Oct 13, 2011 at 11:53 am

my salesman fren frm volkswagen juru autocity said dey r launching passat n jetta on de 18th next week. passat 1.8 price he said 185k. jetta 1.4 145k. i was expecting de passat price 2 be around camry n accord price but its higher.. :(

• Garfield on Oct 13, 2011 at 3:16 pm

Spread the word price high high. Then during launch drop the bomb price way below what ppl have said and bring interest to ppl. Typical marketing strategy

• VWFan on Oct 13, 2011 at 11:57 am

the launching date has been pushed to 21 October 2011..
    open their website today to see

• JasJos on Oct 13, 2011 at 12:11 pm

From the headlights, looks like it’s Passat, Jetta and Touran.

• blue-traveler on Oct 13, 2011 at 12:20 pm

Can’t wait to see the price list and what kind of interior and spec being offer here, Malaysia. I will be so there to see it person; VW showroom.
    Wonder what the other euro cars operators will be thinking on that day :)

• jab strong fierce! on Oct 13, 2011 at 12:33 pm

The three models launching next week is obviously the new Passat, Jetta and CrossTouran

I’ve paid booking fees for the Jetta a couple of weeks back and was informed by the SA that it would be priced somewhere close to 138k++. First batch would be CBU and subsequently CKD. CKD will see some price drop but not significant

As for the Polo & Golf GTI, it’s still OOS for the time being and the next batch coming to our shores is by 1st quarter of next year :D

• Ordinaryguy on Oct 13, 2011 at 12:39 pm

The polo sedan will not make its debut yet? That is what I presume gonna make a huge contribution to VW’s sales volume here. On the same matter there are rumors about a 1.4 Tsi polo sedan for the indian market …

• Saga R3 Biru on Oct 13, 2011 at 1:03 pm

Car in blue is my powderful saga! oh yeah!

• Grey car is definitely the Passat, foglamp shape is unique to that model. Starbiz must have got it wrong.

• Kevin on Oct 13, 2011 at 1:15 pm

Hope price place around altis and civic range as in europe :)

• ridger on Oct 13, 2011 at 1:19 pm

1st picture, Volkswagen Camry…

• Yeap, agreed….most oversea car journalist did mentioned, the passat & jetta are as boring as a camry & corolla,…but vw hatchback stil get great review esp the class leading Golf where all family hatchback are being benchmarked against

• kington on Oct 14, 2011 at 9:35 am

The Jetta is pretty plain to drive, however as typical as conti cars are, the chassis feels heavier which gives a more sure-footed drive on the highways.

• torque on Oct 14, 2011 at 1:35 pm

Bro, regardless what ever magazine you read from oversea…mostly mags like Evo, Top Gear, Autocar and such originate from UK. Don’t you know that Jetta is a completely sales flop at UK? The European mostly fancy a hatch la bro…most entry level sedan car they always gives low marks, boring this and that…our market and theirs are very different, we like saloon, the UK likes hatch, the Japs now likes K-Car and people mover…different market different needs thus different point of view!

• kikci on Oct 13, 2011 at 1:34 pm

maybe its the facelift tguan, not cross touran ?

• Jack Leong on Oct 13, 2011 at 1:36 pm

do you see a step ahead of your peers? yes, my debt level is the highest among my peers lol….

• Jack Leong on Oct 13, 2011 at 11:20 pm

and paultan’s website never fix the issue of non-real time commenting :( when i posted this I never see other comments around.

• azrai on Oct 13, 2011 at 1:43 pm

Pekan born VW finally.

• Essential Motoring 101 on Oct 13, 2011 at 1:50 pm

Good tease efforts! Looking forward for the launch, and prices, of course!

• The CrossTouran is 4-WD or 2-WD SUV ? All 3 models to be launched soon are CKD or CBU ?

• torque on Oct 13, 2011 at 10:18 pm

Cross Touran is an MPV bro…FWD, plus all 3 models are actually CBU with CKD starting next year.

• Thanks for the info. But when I look at the pics at the attached link, the Cross Touran has only 2 rows of seats & thus made me wonder whether it is a SUV. However, its side view looks similar to the Hyundai Matrix, thus not that attractive.

• torque on Oct 14, 2011 at 1:28 pm

Trust me…it got 7 seats with no space at all for anything even heavy groceries shopping. More of a 5 + 2 kinda thing, 2 for kids at the back. No really best looking thou…

• Why in the world the first two image constantly reminded me of Waja and Saga. haha.

• Passat RM180k+
    Jetta RM140+

I was told from VW sells man.

• mijix on Oct 13, 2011 at 4:26 pm

I put my bet for CKD passat to be of range 170++

• These are grossly overpriced because VW sells man. LOL

• U can get brochure already from showroom…

• blue-traveler on Oct 13, 2011 at 5:11 pm

Wonder who gave everyone a thumb down, for no reason? We r not bashing any car brand. Just showing how excited we r in VW or any new car coming to Malaysia, thus giving us more option, is that bad? The new BMW 3 is coming soon, US market are now discounting their current stock.

• Thumb down la bcoz they’re waiting ejora turbo…hahaahaha

• and AB is giving 0% for the current E90 models…

• scratching head on Oct 13, 2011 at 6:05 pm

I agree. Why the thumbs down? It’s good to see more cars entering the market, especially cars with class leading build quality. New cars coming in is good and it gives more options for people to choose

• Jetta at the back like audi A4…6 airbag, turbo engine, bigger car than civic….good bargain

• VGM giving brochures? They don’t provide them, merely 4-6 pages pamphlets unlike Auto-Dunia.

• RedBeanBun on Oct 13, 2011 at 5:59 pm

VW sales said Passat import RM180K..but wonder that might be 1.6L turbo engine..then it will Rm160K local assembly..

• Anwar on Oct 13, 2011 at 8:06 pm

I heard from Goh Brothers salesman:
    – first batch of Jetta will be CBU RM148,888
    – second batch of Jetta will be CKD RM138,888

Why not we wait until next week…

• Gavin on Oct 13, 2011 at 10:50 pm

This car is worth to buy, cause of the technology…. is a fuel save ride with the power of 1.4 TSI auto 7 speed.

• If that is the price, you can get Accord VTi or VTi-L with another 1k. C segment VW or D segment H

• Gavin on Oct 14, 2011 at 3:45 am

U can’t compare a orange to an apple, u didnt drive it before and u won’t know the it power of the TSI technology… I really feel it before, once it launch u can test it and u will like it

• goreng on Oct 14, 2011 at 3:56 am

Accord nothing special, just bigger size only…

• golfer on Oct 15, 2011 at 9:15 am

U r right brader, my Golf 1.4 TSI potong Accord 2.4 like sayur.

• TopGear on Oct 13, 2011 at 9:39 pm

i think the Brown colour is a VW Tiguan (facelift) … suppose to launch tis month

• TopGear on Oct 13, 2011 at 9:49 pm

brown unit should be the new Tiguan to be launched tis month

• goreng on Oct 13, 2011 at 10:10 pm

Look ‘lembut’ but 0-100km/j 8sec + , look ‘garang’ like civic but slow poke…..huahuahuahuahu

• Gavin on Oct 13, 2011 at 10:42 pm

This is a powerful car 1.4TSI Jetta with 122bhp for normal spec and 160bhp for the Jetta Sport model, all come with 7-speed (A) DSG Transmission.

• goreng on Oct 14, 2011 at 3:53 am

This jetta will come with 160hp…..yeahhhhh babyyyy. Civic and altis makan asap laaa…..hAHAHAHAH

• jab strong fierce! on Oct 14, 2011 at 3:02 pm

VW is bringing in just the 160BHP Jetta for now, no news of the Jetta GLI/Sport. It could be next year news

• Jimmy on Oct 13, 2011 at 10:56 pm

No 6-airbags no talk, as VW is still a baby among Malaysian car buyers (NO DOUBT vw IS BETTER THAN CHEATERS SELLING 3RD WORLD CARS AT SKY-HIGH PRICES).
    Sunroof as optional accessory?

• puterakupang84 on Oct 13, 2011 at 11:03 pm

I already saw all these cars and what can I say now Malaysian automotive will shift into new paradigm and now its time to see european car brand on our road..

• Nice to buy this car if got chance will buy it…. hahaha

• Aaron Chong on Oct 13, 2011 at 11:34 pm

can’t wait to test drive the new Jetta … golf like drive-train with sedan look, what a great combination …

• If they can put a price range for Jetta and Passat variants at RM12X-RM13Xk and RM150-RM185k respectively there’s more chance for das Auto at Malaysians driveways.

• Unforgiven on Oct 14, 2011 at 4:31 pm

I wonder how many ppl can afford a VW.

• BeemerFreak on Oct 14, 2011 at 4:31 pm

Why no Golf and Scirocco R?

• golfer on Oct 15, 2011 at 9:16 am

My Golf 1.4 TSI potong Accord 2.4 like sayur