Peugeot 508 1.6 litre 156 THP launched – RM170k OTR

Nasim launched the Peugeot 508 sedan earlier tonight in a single variant form, this being the 1.6 litre 156 THP. More than 100 pre-launch bookings have already been taken for the car, which rolls in at RM169,888, on-the-road with insurance.

Output figures for the EP6CDT Prince twin-scroll turbocharged mill are the by-now familiar 156 hp at 6,000 rpm and 240 Nm at 1,400 rpm, and the partnering transmission of choice is the AT6 six-speed auto gearbox, with steering mounted paddle shifters part of the package.

Performance figures for the variant include a 220 km/h top speed, a 0-100 km/h sprint time of 9.2 seconds and a combined drive cycle consumption figure of 7.1 litres per 100 km.

The kit list for the 1.6 156 THP includes just about everything as seen on the European spec’d model that we tested in Spain earlier this year – bi-Xenon headlamps with headlight washers and auto height adjusters, LED daytime running lights, leather seats, colour head-up display, eight-way electric-powered seats for the driver / passenger and push-start ignition.

Other standard issue items are six airbags, a 7-inch HD World in Peugeot multi-function colour screen (with USB and Bluetooth connectivity), four-zone air conditioning, an Intuitive Control Unit in the centre console, automatic electronic parking brake as well as steering-mounted radio/volume control and cruise control switches.

Also to be found, a Smart Beam function for the headlamps, where an intelligent camera – positioned at the back of the rearview mirror – analyses the driving conditions (vehicle being passed, lit urban areas sorta thing) and automatically switches the headlamps to high beam if the situation demands it, and reverting back to the standard beam if there’s on-coming traffic.

Elsewhere, there’s ESP, ABS, EBD, emergency brake assist, anti-skid regulation and DSC, as well as a Hill Assist system, front and rear parking assist (displayed on the 7-inch screen) and an Available Space Measurement (ASM) system, which aids the driver in parallel parking.

The 508 here also features the 10-speaker, 10-channel 500 watt amplifier JBL audio system with Arkamys audio processing that’s optional in Europe as standard fitment, and gets up-sized wheels to boot, in this case 18-inch twin five-spoke alloys, wearing 235/45 series tyres.

Four external shades are available for the 508, these being Pearl White, Bourrasque Blue, Aluminium and Haria Grey.

Oh, and the car actually has a navigation system, but it’s effectively dormant for now because there’s no Malaysian map as yet – owners will have to wait until next year before they can use it, when the map becomes available and retrofit loading is carried out. There are maps of France and Russia in the system right now, though it’s unlikely that an owner will want to drive his 508 that far just to utilise the GPS ….

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• BMW POWER FOREVER on Oct 19, 2011 at 12:11 am

very very nice. 1.6 road tax is a win.

• Maple on Oct 19, 2011 at 12:16 pm

I save about RM690 for road tax compare to 2.4L D secment cars.

• If i have 200k i’ll never choose the Japanese or Korean cars! my first choice is Passat second is 508.

• MoFaz on Oct 19, 2011 at 6:46 pm

the price is roughly ‘on the dot’…
      Open Market Value (OMV) for Pug 508 listed in SG customs is around S$28k = RM67k
      CBU from Europe: 30% import tax, 75% excise duty and 10% sales tax…
      (RM67k + RM10k (AP) + 30% + 75%) x10% sales tax = RM162k.. so profit for Nasim is RM7k….?

• Baba O'Reilly on Oct 20, 2011 at 2:19 am

The calculation is too simplistic. You need to consider:

Port charges
        Warranty goodwill provision
        Inward Handling Charges
        PDI & Rectification
        Overheads
        Advertising & Sales Support
        Accessories
        Sales Commission & Performance Incentive
        Dealer Margin
        Bank Facility Charges
        Overtrade Provision
        Parts & Inventory Support
        Technical Support
        Registration
        Road Tax (1 Year)
        Ownership Claim Fee
        Inspection & No. Plate
        Insurance Premium
        Profit (or Loss)?

• Wisdom on Oct 20, 2011 at 11:05 am

Then Naza selling @ lost?

• TFazuin on Oct 20, 2011 at 1:20 pm

That’s a load of BS, they can under declare the cars, look at the customs documentation. My old car landed fee including taxes etc is RM25,000 for a RM100K priced car. They aren’t declaring based on offical selling price but based on manufacturing costs excluding profits and all other ancillary costs. That isn’t wrong because they are the manufacturer albeit in whole or in part via CKD.

• Baba O'Reilly on Oct 22, 2011 at 6:57 am

What BS? Prices are gazetted now! Haven’t you heard of that? Who can ‘underdeclare’ when customs has set gazetted prices? Is there a parallel dimension with a TFauzin customs department?

• TFazuin on Oct 24, 2011 at 8:41 am

You don’t declare on selling price la bro, you declare on manufacturing costs. Its not wrong because if you’re the manufacturing partner that is correct.

Only when you’re a 3rd party parellel importer aja you use the retail price. Why would a manufacturer pay tax in home country and sell it for export and get taxed yet again?

Gazetted price hardly applies for manufacturer la bro, it only explains what is the RRP, it can be lower or higher depending on the model line up and the stuff they want to give.

I have my actual vehicles import document declaration, do you?

• tonytoni on Oct 17, 2012 at 4:52 pm

1.6L 0-100 km/h sprint time of 9.2 seconds (too slow )but at price of RM169,888.This car is not value to buy..

• What a bad pricing move by Peugeot. Should have & could have priced it better.
    For a 1.6THP model this is a daylight robbery. Good luck Nasim :(

• Grow up man!! This 1.6THP beats the 2.4L on performance!!!

• It doesn’t matter. For a brand which is still trying to break in Malaysia. Pricing is everything if want to snatch custumers.. Good example is Mondeo, is it doing good business with its pricing.
        M1, why don’t you learn some basic business first then talk..

• LatukBandar on Oct 19, 2011 at 1:47 am

people buy peugeot mainly for the ‘lion’ logo. look at the horrible 207. it is neither a coupe nor a sedan, fugly.

but this new 508 is worth the money. we malaysian are brained washed by gov to think that the smaller the CC, the lesser petrol it consumes. with the right fuel+aerodynamic+technology = 2.0 can be better than a 1.0 Viva.

to me, horsepower is important, so is RPM.

• kenso on Oct 19, 2011 at 5:58 am

Let’s talk business then. Your argument is valid IF Nasim intends to position the 508 as it’s primary model (which is not). In terms of sheer numbers, the 308 outsells any other model, even the cheaper 207. To achieve market penetration, it does not make sense to try doing it with a D segment, a segment that has as many competitors as flies. Another example is lower models such as Vios (sold 20,031 units until August) and City (8,608 units) are used to penetrate and subsequently the strategy is to “upgrade” them to a higher model such as Camry (5,310 units) and Accord (3,034 units). Using a Mondeo to “break in” Malaysia? Have you seen the Fiesta sales figures??

Please, if you don’t know your facts, don’t pretend you’re smarter than anyone else and tell others to learn “basic business”. We’re all open to contribute, it does not make you a better person to look down on others with that kind of language.

• THP156 on Oct 19, 2011 at 10:34 am

Yes……Kenso I agree with you !

• ttooyyoottt on Oct 19, 2011 at 4:53 pm

well said bro!

• Well if that is the case, i congratulate you for being one of those consumers willing to pay more than ought too. Prices of good cars in Malaysia will remain skyrocket if we have people like you doing the talking. Always have excuses to support high price….

• Kenso on Oct 20, 2011 at 11:17 pm

One minute you want to talk objectively about automotive business strategy in market penetration, the next you accuse others who say using lower segment/priced cars for market penetration being supportive of the manufacturer’s/government’s drive towards overpricing cars. I see you have an ineptitude towards viewing this as two completely separate issue.

• Redrules on Oct 19, 2011 at 9:00 am

You overlook the other specs offered as standard which is not offered as standard in most Japanese in the same segment. Try Googling PSA 1.6 engine and Aisin transmission to understand the package in this car.

• Critique on Oct 19, 2011 at 10:31 am

IMHO, pricing is not everything (at least for this segment)!

Nasim will also need to focus on after sales experience of the customer.
          Then they will deliver VALUE for the price of the car!

• gunigugu on Oct 19, 2011 at 2:56 pm

we all know it’s 1.6 man..but have you seen its size, efficiency and spec before commenting? it’s about the size of a civic (maybe slightly larger), more power and torque, a 6 speeder, gps and everything..170k..a civic 2.0 with specifications not even on the same page as this car is going for >120k..what do you say to that?

as for the brand..peugeot has already been in this country for a long, long time now and has their own following..and lately they have been introducing newer fresher models here which seems to be doing well..people now are open..they are willing to spend more than 120k on a small polo..what more a car this size and a specification list like this one? and judging by the majority of the comments here..people don’t seem to mind the price

• Don’t think Civic as same size as that. Think Civic is just slightly larger than Vios is more appropriate.

• Baba O'Reilly on Oct 20, 2011 at 9:41 am

Same size as Civic? Dimensions please? The 508’s wheelbase is longer than C-Class, 3-Series, Passat, Accord and Camry FYI!

• Genotype on Feb 08, 2012 at 8:29 pm

Dude.. Civic is a C segment class and this is a D segment class. Please compare with a car which is the same class. I just test drive this car and its way powerful compared with the Honda Accord and Toyota Camry. Hands down. The features and safety beats the japanese cars flat. and the price is just slightly higher only.

• HirumaKecil on Oct 19, 2011 at 5:06 pm

Nooo… U r so wrong… The price is right.. Compare the technology in this car with other competitoer from japan.. AND.. u must remember this car is not a replacement for 407 only.. 508 is a replacement for both 407 and 607… Maybe when they have ckd model then we can have this awesome car under rm140k… BTW even people always said that peugeot cannot survive because of their price tag, u must remember.. they are continental car.. and their price among the cheapest continental car in Malaysia….

• 1st impression: Wah, good looking! good performance! cheaper road tax!

Think twice before putting the down payment: Where to service this car if break down? How come no resale value? How come the parts so expensive?

After 5 years: This is continent car leh! how come the price drop like Korean car!

You might not agree with what I’m saying but I’m telling what is happening here! This is Malaysia!

• K Man on Oct 20, 2011 at 12:20 am

you sure or not the parts are expensive? pls share your price comparison with comparable makes.

• limaunipis on Oct 20, 2011 at 4:22 pm

1st impression: Wah, good looking! good performance! cheaper road tax!

No need to think twice before putting the down payment.

Where to service this car? – There’s plenty of nasim’s own and authorised SCs around Malaysia.

After 5 years: this is continental car leh! u think Peugeot owners care hoots about the price drop!

i definitely agree with what ur saying but i’m telling you what is CURRENTLY happening here! This is Malaysia!

:)

• The fact in Malaysia is you couldn’t easily get this car repaired if breakdown. Other places in Malaysia even rarely to see this brand on the road. This is the fact in Malaysia now. Not every corner in Malaysia like KL. And I don’t think you can get the service center nearby your house also even in KL. So is it many SC? Better go out KL and check.

Not really every people owing this car never care about resale value. For them, it is affordable for the drop of resale value but they care! Majority of them are calculative and really mind the resale value. I just remind those people who wants to put their hard-earned money in this car. Those people can get money easily, of course not mind.

• limaunipis on Oct 22, 2011 at 9:45 am

in order to reply, i have to reply my own comment :)

anyway…..i’ve got so many questions for our yh here:

1. how can you say one can’t get this car easily repaired if it breaks down? do you have proof to explain your assumption?

2. what do you even mean you can’t see this brand on our Malaysian roads? have you been stuck too long in your showroom to even notice 306s, 405s, 406s, 206s and 407s running around?

3. for the SCs, nasim’s website got a lot of info on that,, even on other car forums. you do know how to use google, the handphone / fixed phone, email and even talk to Peugeot owners to find out, right?

4. you’re saying as if Peugeot owners are rich people and have money to burn? that’s just BS. your hard-earned money are better off in continentals than Japanese cars simply because continentals are more robust, durable and can take lots of ‘abuse’ in the long run.

simply put, people who own continentals are a more faithful lot coz they tend to stick with a particular model for a long time and still have lingering feelings of the old model even when upgrading to a new model later on.

and those who own Japanese cars are a more promiscuous lot coz they seem to love changing models often every few years and dump the older models, supposedly for “better resale value”, once they get their hands on it.

check yourself what category you belong to and whether the car you choose reflects not just where you put your hard-earned money but even your personal life in reality. :)

• 4agze on Oct 19, 2011 at 8:18 am

more like power similar to 2.0 not 2.4…

for hot hatch 1.6T is a sure win for for a D-segment, people might think twice..1.8T would be nice for this car

• oligopoli on Oct 19, 2011 at 12:50 pm

Camry 2.4 – 167ps/6000, 224Nm/4000
          Camry 2.0 – 147ps/6000, 190Nm/4000
          Accord 2.4 – 180ps/6500, 222Nm/4300
          Accord 2.0 – 156ps/6300, 189Nm/4300
          Pug 508 1.6THP – 158ps/6000, 240Nm/1400

If people are saying this 508 engine is not so nice, then people might as well say that Accord and Camry (and Inspira if that matter) are, too. And the Pug beat those japs’ torque at much lower rpm too. And this 508 enjoy 1.6 road tax as well, though i don’t think that carry much bearing for buyers in this price segment.

• This figure (158ps/6000, 240Nm/1400) can only be achieved when the engine is running smoothly and consistently. Please don’t think that this engine will push this car with this hp when u accelerate or press your pedal suddenly.

• sri hartamas on Oct 20, 2011 at 5:19 am

whats your point?

• Baba O'Reilly on Oct 20, 2011 at 10:01 am

So at which point does the engine NOT run smoothly and consistently? Does it cough and splutter at several points in the rev range???

• Wisdom on Oct 20, 2011 at 11:17 am

Do u know what ‘torque’ is?

• The figure is taken from the graph plotted from the engine performance output which runs at the optimum performance. The fuel combustion in this engine creates normal 1600cc vehicle output and torque. With the assistance of the turbocharged mill, it sucks and compress the air and finally twist the the shaft and boost up the torque and so called output. The whole process here will creates unnecessary energy loss such as friction, heat and noise. Eventually, this 1600cc engine won’t gives you immediate so called “158ps/6000, 240Nm/1400” output if you press your pedal hard suddenly!

• 508 torque at 240Nm @ 1400 rpm means you dont need to rev the engine like you need for the NA Jap models (who reach their quoted torque at above 4000rpm).You save fuel and throttle response is better.

• If you compare the torque figures, the 508 has more torque than Japanese 2.4L models, and where their peak torque comes in @ 4000rpm the 508s comes in at 1400rpm. I do agree people should think twice. Perhaps even three or four times and study the specifications, the network nationwide and the product itself, in depth before buying. IMHO the 508’s power and pricing makes perfect sense!

• But Polo GTI 1.4 beat the 2.4 cars :)

• Ford Mondeo EcoBoost 2.0 is much better in every aspect!!

• TFazuin on Oct 19, 2011 at 3:15 pm

I think not, I rather have 30 more horses under the hood than a measly 156 hp. In the same price category would be the Mazda 6 2.4, Honda Accord 2.4 , Toyota Camry 2.4 with a hp between 170-180hp.

Then there is next January’s launch of Suzuki Kizashi a C++ segment sporting a 2.4L engine with 185hp priced at 130-140K also CBU.

It isn’t the lightest car either, so it means that its a whimp. If you go italian at 190K you get an Alfa Romeo with 189hp on a 2.2L block. Over 9 years loan that means slightly over RM200 for instalment. What a bad pricing move. It should have been priced similar to Accord’s 2.0 price point.

• TFazuin on Oct 20, 2011 at 9:50 am

Look at this way even my friend who operates a Pug service centre says that the sales people are overconfident and greedy.

If I buy a lion I know I will get good service because I know the service centre personally for close to 8 years. But when they themselves says its missing the price points and you say its good… Good luck bro…

I’m one of the few people who before the warranty ends gets to change all the wear and tear parts including shocks, batteries etc. But if you think you’re smarter and luckier… cubalah. Your money, you decide… ha ha ha…

• Friend, you should go to try a normal 1.2 TSI Polo, with 105hp, it beat Civic 1.8 and Altis 1.8 like nothing. Wake up, please do not judge the car on the paper alone. Go try it, then you know what is all about

• TFazuin on Oct 21, 2011 at 8:55 am

Yes I know turbo powered cars has more power, but have you seen one clocking over 500K KM and still has the orginal engine and turbos? The stress will finally take out the engine much earlier than NA cars.

Baru bawa Polo 1.2 TSI sudah bising when I a kampung non aspirated Satria GTI is clocking 180hp on dyno. Now that is what I call peak of innovation because no turbos was involved in the build of the engine.

• Tough on Oct 21, 2011 at 10:29 pm

Thats why the Satria “drinks” fuel. Engine not efficient at all!

• DiskoStick on Oct 27, 2011 at 12:14 am

someone is Comparing VW to Proton!!!!!! help!!!

• Tfauzin-torque is more important criteria than bhp in real life driving bro-thats the pulling power. No use having 180bhp if you need to rev the engine until 6500 rpm or max torque achievable at way past 45000 rpm-its not usable at all mate

• looking-good on Oct 19, 2011 at 3:47 pm

1.6T ? the VW new passat is a better buy 1.8T at RM180k++

this lion is just half european blood, where VW is the true german breed!

how many of u r driving the PUG 1.6T?
        i myself is the owner of one for being 2 years till now… this engine give me a lot of trouble~!

I happily bought the car, its nice, but nightmare come when it start giving me headache!!

dun trust me? just go to any peugeot forum, see if all the owners are in deep shit now!

no more peugeot for me! will go straight to german breed! the new BMW F30.. nice!

now who wan to buy my 2 years 308T? selling at 75K

• sure or not, 75k

colour, years and location..

• K Man on Oct 20, 2011 at 12:24 am

hahahaha, you can blame the germans too for your woes. half of the engine is bmw’s. so it is fully european… unless you have no idea at all about what your own car is… such an embarrassment!

• tokmoh on Oct 20, 2011 at 1:32 am

No wonder his car Banyak Masuk Workshop, memang Banyak Makan Wang

How the heck a French is known as “half European”…

• limaunipis on Oct 20, 2011 at 4:33 pm

we don’t trust you AT ALL coz what you said about Peugeot 308T – “see if all the owners are in deep shit now!” – the problem is there but it doesn’t apply to ALL owners.

and the car being half European? last time, i checked the engine was franco-german and the car was styled by the french.

you sure you’re a Peugeot 308T owner ah? don’t look like you know anything about “your car”.

and you sound more like a car dealer leh! :)

• Derrick C on Jan 12, 2012 at 10:22 am

Agree… I don’t think Mr “looking-good” owns one P308T!

• looking good- wait till your dsg gearbox out of warranty and your be looking bad,,,,

• and this is daylight robbery why? because it’s 1.6?

• No because it is brand Peugeot 1.6. To change people’s perception, first introduce a proper price..

• contishallrule on Oct 19, 2011 at 1:26 am

what should be the proper price then, according to you?

• Lim Kopi on Oct 19, 2011 at 1:26 am

John

I am afraid no one is on the same page as u on this one.

Though I do get what your saying, 1.6 so should be much cheaper mah right, sadly I think those napoleans in Kastam will just look at it as a D segment car …. hence the price ….

Ya dig ?

• blablabla on Oct 19, 2011 at 4:29 am

Agreed…
            I think the car looks great and its engine that has 156 hp and 240 Nm and does 0 – 100 kmh in 9.2 seconds is more than sufficient.
            Makes me wish i had one..

• oligopoli on Oct 19, 2011 at 12:56 pm

1.6 yes, but they include the turbocharger. bigger engine no turbocharger. that sounds logical.

• zhongbie on Oct 19, 2011 at 6:42 am

DO U READ ? with twin-scroll TURBOCHARGE engine …..dude~

• Twin scroll, not VNT/ VGT. Twin scroll is just a normal turbo with two inlet instead of one. Just marginal power increase. So…. nothing special here.

• the word TURBO already gives a good impression of the car! :P

• K Man on Oct 20, 2011 at 12:28 am

twin scrolls work like twin turbo but in a smaller scale. twin turbos normally have a smaller unit to aid low end acceleration. likewise, in a twin-scroll set-up, there is a smaller scroll which works to push up the low end acceleration and the larger scroll takes over in higher speeds.

• theanswer on Oct 19, 2011 at 7:39 am

low baller spotted.
          yes it’s expensive..but u cant expect the price gonna be same as 407..
          the 407 is cheaper than a civic..but still cant compete in therms of sales number. their best seller is 308..they already introduced themselves..why want to sell another model with low price.

• kuching on Oct 19, 2011 at 9:41 am

nothing wrong with the price offered. Even old reconditioned japanese car (estima, alphard) price above &150k. Peugeot brand is one of the worldwide brands with its high quality, high technology, high perceptions.

• You are giving a very good example! See! Even the 5 years Alphard or Estima selling at above 150k and 180k. A guy in this discussion forum up there is selling his 2 years Pug 308T at 75k. If you think about resale value, think twice.

• limaunipis on Oct 22, 2011 at 9:49 am

if you are NOT thinking about resale value, get yourself a Peugeot or any other continentals.

better yet, think three times and choose continentals over Japanese cars! :)

• gilas on Oct 19, 2011 at 9:48 am

jadi brand peugeot kene jual same level dgn proton la?

• john,

your argument is redundant here, people are not concerned about engine capacity size as much as performance. otherwise tell me how come the old 1.8L e-class priced at more than 300k sold like hot cakes when according to you a 1.8 car should be priced at less than 200k?

• stephen on Oct 19, 2011 at 1:30 pm

People who still stay in Stone Age will think 1.6 ….OHHHHH no power but this is not the usual Proton Gen2 1.6….this is one with Turbo.

don’t you notice VW use 1.4TSI for Passat CC too? Please stop base everything on 1.6 lah 2.0….. grow up. Same like computer chip…do you still see any idiot continue to brag about the Ghz war? now everyone is talking about how many core you have to do the job. Its not same as Car but what i try to say is the way things progress due to technology advancement no longer the same

• Baba O'Reilly on Oct 20, 2011 at 7:09 am

So a C-Segment Volkswagen Jetta sedan, at RM149,888 and D-Segment VW Passat at RM184,888 are OK but a D-Segment Peugeot cannot be priced at RM169,888? Isn’t that a little prejudicial?

• TFazuin on Oct 20, 2011 at 1:37 pm

If you compare it to a Mazda 6 2.4, Alfa 159 JTS and Ford Mondeo yes it is overpriced. I’d rather put my money on the 6 or a Passat since I know it has more airbags, same no of speakers (10 or 12), a moon roof (for 6), and all the other fancy smancy stuff…

I also know a bigger engine would have better wear and tear because I’ve yet to see a 20 year old turbo car on the road with the orginal fitted turbo.

Worst case scenario if one’s on a tight budget I’d buy the 2007/2008 Mark X, 6 speed auto, 200hp, RWD.

A person with RM170K to spend wouldn’t care abt fuel consumption and how many sen he manages to save but more about reliability and how fast the car can go in and out of service. Wheter we pay RM70 or RM800 for road tax is inconsequential. The extra 10-30K also between the range as explained is also inconsequential because the diffrence is less than RM250 spread over 9 years.

Understanding that is understanding where your competition actually is…

• letstorque on Oct 24, 2011 at 11:27 am

BTW,Mazda6 only available here in 2.0 and 2.5l.

And the 2.5l engine is pathetic,since the body weight is heavier than Accord and Camry,although it is the smallest in dimension.

Mazda6 is only good for corners.
            And it has 6 airbags, same as 508.

Mazda6 only has 5 speed auto.

The interior quality drive me crazy after driving Camry (way way lower than Camry).

And if you’re like me, living in small town somewhere in Malaysia,servicing Mazda is tough, especially if you got problems with your car.
            Servicing at UMW Toyota is the best.

With Mazda, the joy only come when you meet corners.

Btw, the front brake pad cost me RM550 per pair, more expensive than Merc E-class W211 or BMW 3 series E46.Or most Volvos for that matter.
            And yet the braking quality only the same as Honda and Toyota, not on par with Conti cars.

• WickedSwicket on Nov 03, 2011 at 12:30 am

I wonder if John & YH are owners or a car dealership, other than Peugeot of course.. Now tht the lion has come out wit a gem they r scared no one will buytheir brand!!

• jalan54 on Oct 19, 2011 at 4:40 am

The car will still sell due to its features and design, but maybe sell lesser. Anyhow, T & H will still be the hot cake in Malaysia.

Myself, I rather go for passat although it looks uglier, but engine and gearbox, it is definitely better.

• pakchukong on Oct 19, 2011 at 10:58 am

Yep, agree with you, in fact, most reviewers will tell the same thing

• thinkerr on Oct 19, 2011 at 2:01 pm

Even if the Passat is a 1.8 priced at 185k with low specs?

• BeemerFreak on Oct 19, 2011 at 9:38 am

John I believe Nasim have yet to change your mindset and not the rest. Maybe if you are interested, you can ask nasim for a special “change my mindset price”.

You are the one who makes no economic sense. when long term average variable cost cant even be met by price, a business is suppose to shut down. This car was supposed to cost around 30k pound which translates into RM150k before any tax and excise duties.
      http://www.peugeot.co.uk/vehicles/peugeot-car-range/peugeot-508/build-price/

With only 20k extra on top of the supposed cost, how much work did Nasim’s boys do before they could even bring it close to this figure factoring in profit.

It is already amazing that they could offer this price for such a car supposingly to cost well over Rm200k( similar Price to the Skoda Superb). I think it is you that does not make business sense. You dont like dont buy

• THP156 on Oct 19, 2011 at 10:38 am

Yeah BeemerFreak, this John try to be smart and bullshit here….

• Coolken on Oct 19, 2011 at 4:26 pm

U mean this car is priced similar with an entry level 5 series in UK? That is a rip off!! The cheapest 5 series is 30k pounds. Check your facts man…

• BeemerFreak on Oct 19, 2011 at 9:31 pm

I did not give you the link
          http://www.peugeot.co.uk/vehicles/peugeot-car-range/peugeot-508/build-price/
          for fun. Try clicking into it, i have specced the car to Malaysian specs, and the price with VAT added is near to makes no difference 30k pound.

• MoFaz on Oct 19, 2011 at 6:36 pm

the price is about 23k UK pound (including VAT).. which is about RM90k. but Open Market Value (OMV) for Pug 508 listed in SG customs is around S$28k = RM67k
        CBU from Europe: 30% import tax, 75% excise duty and 10% sales tax…
        (RM67k + RM10k (AP) + 30% + 75%) x10% sales tax = RM162k.. so profit for Nasim is RM7k….?

• Jimmy on Oct 19, 2011 at 9:47 am

Do you mean Toyota, with 2 airbags but more expensive than this one?
      I agreed this one is not expensive, given the specs, even for a ‘new’ brand in Malaysia, of course not a China-made one.
      This car is not meant for ordinary average people, looking at the way they ‘specced’ it and the pricing. If they aim at mass sale, they would have brought in empty-spec 508 and priced it at RM135K. If I were to choose this car, I will not want the RM135k, I definitely want the RM170K one.

• Buyers in this segment look for finesse and refinement ride. Not some trashy buzzy little lump. No replacement for displacement. Greed is the game here. Best wait for 2.0 ckd, but i still won’t buy from AP King.

• VERY FUNNY A LOT OF CUSTOMERS CAN ACCEPT TOYOTA CAMRY AND HONDA ACCORD TAG AT RM170K BUT NOT PEUGEOT 508. NOWSDAY WE TALK ABOUT TECHNOLOGY WITH 1.6L ABLE TO BEAT 2.4L. LIKE FORD MONDEO WITH 2.OL CAN GET 203HP AND 240HP IN TAIWAN.

• Who’s robbing who? Like I said, the torque on this engine beats the Big Japanese 3 torque figures for their 2.4L models, and where their peak at 4000+rpm, this one comes in at 1400rpm like dambusters. The Camry 2.4 is RM174,990 and the Accord 2.4 is RM172,800!!!

Considering these are CKD and have NOT had to pay import duties at all, and are exempted from most of their excise duties as the definition of local parts equals ‘ASEAN parts’, and most of the CKD components are coming in from Thailand!

I think the freedom to comment has to be tempered with some basic understand of facts before accusing people of robbery in such a baseless manner.

• BMW POWER FOREVER on Oct 19, 2011 at 11:23 pm

well consider the kit u get on this car, and try one properly. u will never want to look at a accord, mazda 6 or camry again. it isn’t much more expensive to be honest than those local assembled stuff. (besides mazda that is cbu from japan). im driving a 5 series and i freaking love this car. dynamics good enough for me.

• Hello friend, do you know a Rm400k Mercedes E250 is equipped with a 1.8 turbo engine?? You are so outdated,you must be a Japs car fan, always come with a bigger cc yet under perform car.

• drMpower on Oct 19, 2011 at 12:15 am

it has the same over hang front problem just like the one it replacing. the 407.
    i dont know. it could be just me.

• Summicron on Oct 19, 2011 at 10:27 pm

You are not alone. One of my fav cars is BMW 3 series. Short front overhang is nice IMO.

• Be Gone AP on Oct 19, 2011 at 12:15 am

this looks very good. It’s giving the upcoming Passat a run for his money!

• pakchukong on Oct 19, 2011 at 8:58 am

Here maybe but not in the world, fully loaded of gadget is not so important than ride comfort and performanced……bmw f30 also not so cramped with gadget like this one….hahahahahha

• BeemerFreak on Oct 19, 2011 at 12:16 am

OMG tell me why should i ever choose a Camry, Teana or Accord over this? I mean how can you resist such temptation, As Donald Trump says, Japanese cars, you are fired. In fact screwed

• Sgt Scoop on Oct 19, 2011 at 9:14 am

But we all know that T and H outsell brands like Peugeot all over the world (except perhaps in France) because French cars have a similar build quality to Malaysian or Korean cars.

• oligopoli on Oct 19, 2011 at 1:05 pm

built quality similar to proton? no disrespect to proton, but pug is way, way better. got to disagree with you on this one.

• HirumaKecil on Oct 19, 2011 at 9:13 pm

U lie.. We all know that Peugeot car is one of the best in quality… Peugeot are very2 familiar face on the podium… They beat all japanese car in term of power and quality…. How can u be so blind…. R u the Jap car salesman? Hish… Gelap masa depang betoi la hang ni… Cekelat angin sunggoh….

• BeemerFreak on Oct 19, 2011 at 9:37 pm

are you talking about Peugeot 405 and 406? Yes i agree with you, those had terrible build quality, like Protons. However that is 10 years ago, means we are 10 years behind where we should be.

• HirumaKecil on Oct 20, 2011 at 4:30 pm

Ouchh…. Still 405 win paris dakar 2 time and even win the pike peak… I have both 405 and 406… Haha…. But surely the condition of my 16yr 405 is better than 10yr camry and even the handling are 2 X better than current camry…

• smokedtoomuch on Oct 19, 2011 at 10:16 am

The reason to choose Japanese cars are simple enough.

1. Numerous service centres around the country.
      2. Abundance of fairly reasonable priced spare parts.
      3. Decent second hand value. (ppl hate this reasoning but for cars that cost up to 2 years salary for middle class families, this is important.)
      4. Fairly reasonable quality.
      5. There are those who look at ride and comfort, not so much performance. People who use a car to get from A to B.

So, do these reasons give you an idea why people go Jap? :)

• just to add, the overall maintenance costs of japanese cars are no longer as cheap as they used to be, making random phone calls will show you that their parts pricing are already very close to european. perhaps 10% – 15% cheaper only generally. some parts are also more expensive than european parts.

• limaunipis on Oct 19, 2011 at 12:23 pm

One reason why there are people choose Peugeot or Continentals rather Japanese cars is simple enough.

They don’t follow the herd mentality.

Thank you very much.

• oligopoli on Oct 19, 2011 at 1:10 pm

i disagree on item 4 and 5. i think the conti got better quality and ride and comfort. i tried both last gen accord and pug 306 (this is different segment, i know), i think the pug’s built quality is better, handle better and more comfort.

• teelim on Oct 19, 2011 at 2:59 pm

I disagree with you on points 3-5

3) the problem with second hand value is that it depends on the market. I fail to understand why T&H has such good resalve value. They are REALLY overrated. If ppl don’t agree with the price and stop buying it, eventually it will come down.

4) i drive a Honda Civic and I think it is not worth the RM130k asking price. Milo tin roof, poor sound proofing, uninspiring handling, poor quality plastics, inadequate brakes, etc. I could go on and on.

5) ride comfort? European cars fare better. Everyone knows this.

I think if Nasim improves the after sales service, I am sure they will do well.

• Redrules on Oct 19, 2011 at 9:08 pm

I pretty much agree with you on the Civic comment, I used to adore the Civic’s design. After I bought it, and realised that’s the only thing which is good apart from an okay 2.0 litre Vtec engine. Other than that, I was wondering where did my 130k went to. Poor sound proofing, lousy ride, even the door was uneven. But as many people said, Honda has been in our country soo long, so they have the market, more established service centre and follower. I wouldn’t say they their maimtenance and service is that cheap anymore nowadays. That really open my eyes on brand loyalty, now I buy cars on their spec and price. Service wise, I must say non Japs have some catching up to do.

• smoketoomuch- the japanese cars are not what like they were 10 years ago- they have dropped in engineering, quality and design.
        But to the average buyer like you if its ok then so be it.

• for me, the best feature of this car is:

“The 508 here also features the 10-speaker, 10-channel 500 watt amplifier JBL audio system with Arkamys audio processing that’s optional in Europe as standard fitment”

everyday i’m shuffling! LOL

• Jimmy on Oct 19, 2011 at 9:51 am

One day you will say: 6 airbags and strong body is my top priority, this RM35k difference is insignificant.

• mr karim on Oct 19, 2011 at 12:20 am

waauuuuu i like this onee..pewwweiittttt

• this car seems to be much better than its japanese competitions ..people should really give a look to continental cars now.

• its a 1.6 liters..shouldnt the tax be cheaper? y 170k?

• loveit on Oct 19, 2011 at 8:09 am

face the fact… ALL ‘contis’ are goddess to the eye of those frog in kastam and jpj’s doesn’t matter how cheap the car suppose to be in their originated country…so that’s how they justified the price

• i just found out. the truth is the car is indeed expensive even in the UK..min 130k ringgit.. so with 100% tax on CBU 1.8 below cars…ITS very well priced IMHO!

• oligopoli on Oct 19, 2011 at 1:12 pm

never know kastam charge tax on conti/non conti. thought the tax based on price declared. any reference?

• MoFaz on Oct 19, 2011 at 6:21 pm

Japs are cheaper because they come from thai, 0% import tax, 75% excise duty.
        Pug 508 is CBU from europe, 30% import tax, 75% excise duty.
        if Nasim CKD Pug 508 here, it would be alot cheaper. last time, Pug 407 is RM170k CBU, after CKD become around RM125k only!

• confused on Oct 19, 2011 at 10:40 am

So it’s not gomen fault la. NASIM wanna make more money that’s why they charge it premium.

• Import duty, Excise Duty and Sales Tax doesnt change much if you’re 1.6L, 2.0L or 2.4L lah.

• Awesome package!!! Fully loaded not like empty jap vessels!

• Sgt Scoop on Oct 19, 2011 at 9:22 am

It is nice to see fully loaded cars for sale in Malaysia.

• Lim Kopi on Oct 19, 2011 at 12:29 am

Well done Nasim ….guess u’ve done it again by bribing your way thru in bringing in a good car with long list of gadgets and specs…. really hit the spot with the Idrive system ….

All this without compromising the pricetag.

Suppose this is the only way to bring Toyota and Honda down in Malaysia …. and why would anyone still be considering the Sonata?

Having said that, the Ford Mondeo still is THE car of the segment with 200 Hp Turbocharged + Dual clutch ….

Anyway Keep it up !

• BeemerFreak on Oct 19, 2011 at 12:43 am

Said that also, Toyota and Honda will have another battle to fight this Friday. Volkswagen’s Armada is ready for war.

• goguncas71 on Oct 19, 2011 at 7:03 am

Lim Kopi, the internet is such a great place where you can just accuse companies of bribery etc etc isn’t it. I sure Paul Tan wouldn’t mind you include your full name and address to make it easier for Nasims lawyers to contact you?

• john doe on Oct 19, 2011 at 7:26 pm

aiyoo bro, lim kopi just make a humour here. dont take it seriously.

• Baba O'Reilly on Oct 22, 2011 at 7:09 am

It may funny to him but it’s still an offence. He can be sued and Paul Tan along with him as the statement has been published on Paul Tan’s site. He should be more responsible. We can’t just go around accusing people of bribery without evidence. The company, the shareholders and employees can all sue him and he’ll have to spend a lot of money on legal fees. Why can’t we just keep our discussions civil and meaningful?

• Nazrul on Oct 19, 2011 at 12:34 am

I know this would be out of story but, I wonder when Proton gonna make a Perdana replacement model. Because, when I look at this car with 1.6 litre engine can perform like that, I’m impressed. If Inspira can be sold smoothly right now, why not Perdana right?

• this 1.6 is turbocharged, hence THP with a power similar to 2.4 engine. if the rumour is true, the upcoming 0.5-bar turbocharged campro will produce a similar power, to be installed in exora. sadly, we are still waiting for that, myself included. should the engine is good, i think proton will use that in inspira or whatever the new perdana replacement model is call IMO. why not?

• mangata on Oct 19, 2011 at 1:42 am

te answer is not in next 5 years

• theanswer on Oct 19, 2011 at 7:42 am

perdana replacement? can..but they have to sort their model according to the market. inspira is big as perdana fyi(perdana a bit bitgh on the inside actually). so p1 need a model bigger than inspira. something on par with accord or camry. dont make the same mistake by selling persona,waja n gen2 at the same time.

• bobdbilder on Oct 19, 2011 at 9:35 am

What do you mean engine performance?

You get direct injection and turbo, 240Nm lovely torque up to 3500 rpm on Euro 5 petrol.
      But you get a 0 to 100 in 9.2s (with an auto?) and 7.1 combined cycle FC (which is bad). The EP6CDTX is much nicer!

Its been like that since 2007. It seems a bit outdated by now.

• Very good looking car … price tag not as nice looking as the car ! If RM160K OTR would be real nice …. Peugeot has come a long way in Malaysia. This one beats Passat anytime in terms of looks, performance etc …..

Naza beat VW to their launch of Passat and Jetta in Malaysia ….haha

• pakchukong on Oct 19, 2011 at 8:52 am

Looking good.yes, but performance and comfort, passat is better..you can google it la…..

• maaajeeedaaa on Oct 19, 2011 at 12:54 am

1.6 THP only ka????? why not 2.0 turbo like mondeo??? what a waste…

• limaunipis on Oct 19, 2011 at 1:09 am

old mindset deserves old cars, nuff said.

• Cowabunga! on Oct 19, 2011 at 8:32 am

“young” mindset won’t buy this car, coz the price…
        “old” mindset wont buy this car coz of the engine size…

I won’t get this car because, Naza still galaxy miles away from improving their service centre and expertise…

at that price…I would think Ford Mondeo has my money..regardless old or young mindset to me.

• THP156 on Oct 19, 2011 at 10:17 am

I agree what maaajeeedaaa said,
        Im using THP156, I feel that, if car can have 2L Turbo, will be nicer to drive hahahha
        such as Golf GTI 2L Turbo… , Mazda MPS 2.3L Turbo….

• oligopoli on Oct 19, 2011 at 2:27 pm

wah, u drive what? 5008? 3008? power is never enuff, i guess…

• foxis on Oct 19, 2011 at 8:31 am

Don’t forget that 1.6litres turbocharged engine is way lighter than your old 2.0 fuel sucking engine in terms of weight.

• racotua on Oct 20, 2011 at 12:39 am

because they DON’T have a 2.0 turbo petrol engine.

• Peugeot OK But Naza KO on Jun 13, 2012 at 10:02 am

If Peugeot with 2.0 Turbo, again Ull ask WHY NOT 2.5 Turbo? Again When 2.5T U’ll ask Why NOT 3.0 Turbo?
      I ve suggestion for u:
      1) Buy Exora (Big, Spacious & Cheap), removed the engine & get the horses from kampung2 & let the real horse run your car (it’s a real natural Green Hybrid).
      2) Get Boieng or Air bus engine inside your car.
      3) Open your own automobile plants in Kulim ka, Sik ka, Aloq Staq ka, Bukit Kayu Itam ka.. Assemble your self. If no buyer, at least u can use for yourself!!!!! and STOP compain at once

• Jimmy Lim on Oct 19, 2011 at 1:00 am

Since the autoworld where everyone interested in downsizing the engine capacity but boost on power. Who cares if is 1.6L? Power is there. Besides you’re enjoying state of the art gadgets around it where Camry?? Not much to be commented.

• the price isn’t what nasim want in the first place !!!
    they submit 155k for the same spec to gov but gov say its TOO MANY FEATURE YET TOO CHEAP !!! so they reject their price !!!
    this is force by GOV NOT NASIM !!!
    SAME PROBLEM GO TO MANY CAR IN MALAYSIA, GOV SIMPLY DO NOT WANT ANY CHEAP THING GET ONTO THE ROAD EXCEPT THE POOR EQUIP NATIONAL CAR

• not sure about this, but govt can tell u to sell this item at x price only? that’s news

• LatukBandar on Oct 19, 2011 at 1:36 am

welcome to communist malaysia.

Normal lah, chicken, sugar, flour, rice… etc.

have u heard of price control?

• kenny on Oct 19, 2011 at 9:30 am

yes, they can. they approve the final sales price. in fact all cars must go to them for price approval. they only reject if they think the proposed price is too low.

• JacKal on Oct 19, 2011 at 10:00 am

Yup the Gov approves the pricing for all cars sold through the Ministry of Finance. That’s why even hybrid cars with no tax and duty are more expensive here than in other countries where it is sold.

• jalan54 on Oct 19, 2011 at 1:59 pm

That is how they protect those stupid un-profitable companies! That is why our country debts increase!

• oligopoli on Oct 19, 2011 at 2:31 pm

i really love to see any reference/link/documens saying that government fix minimum price for the car. opine on matters is one thing, giving fact is another y’all.

• Alpha on Oct 19, 2011 at 4:32 am

Prove it,bro.Or else it kinda sounds like u’re BS-ing.

• goguncas71 on Oct 19, 2011 at 6:59 am

Ha..ha,,the Govt sets the price? Funniest thing i’ve heard this month. MITI doesn’t set prices anymore, this has stopped years ago.

• megastuwar on Oct 19, 2011 at 3:53 pm

not MITI laa bro….MOF…..they set the price and duty of ur car….they the set the price…the govt still have control over automotive market….

• JacKal on Oct 19, 2011 at 6:30 pm

Sorry some people do not believe one of the facts of living in Malaysia. As explained in my earlier comment, MOF does not set but rather approves the pricing of all vehicles sold in Malaysia. Having worked with 2 manufacturers over the last decade, I can’t count the number of times our retail price was rejected and given baseless reasons as the price of the car should be higher because it has 6 air bags or because the spec is too high, the retail price should be higher. Even got the excuse that because it is this particular brand it should be this price. Unless MOF approves the retail price, we cannot sell the cars. Sorry some people do not understand. My mistake of trying to share and enlighten people who read this blog.

• Paint on Oct 19, 2011 at 7:30 am

Obviously you’re talking rubbish. Show me which part of law states gov can control price ( save for commodity products)? The only thing gov can determine is the import and excise duty which is tied to the car pricing structure and the engine size. You ask Toyota and Honda, despite the full tax exemption. Why are their hybrid still not the cheapest? Bloody car sellers squeezing our hard-earned money.

• oh ya? then how come vios J is allowed to be introduced?
      any facts? any prove?

• tiadaid on Oct 19, 2011 at 9:02 am

Any proof? As often time said, “Proof or it didn’t happen”.

Anyways, I wonder how’s the fuel consumption for this car is like. Peugeot’s got a bit of a reputation as a gas guzzler (somewhat confirmed by my friend who drives a 308)

• bobdbilder on Oct 19, 2011 at 9:42 am

If the price was cheaper then it would eat into their Kia’s market share. NAZA has to balance the several brands so that they would not intrude each principal’s offering.

Salesmen always give the brunt of the fault to the government because they cannot understand the company’s marketing plans.

• liar…

• JonVu on Oct 19, 2011 at 10:28 am

How true is this issue? any proof?

• paparazi on Oct 19, 2011 at 11:07 am

election soon, beat the sucker, choose the right one… but in the end still the same.
      damn LPPL!!!

• bodoh punyer orang ini ingat gov bodoh.

mana ada gov set car price main cakap aje this is the price you must sell. if the gov want to set what price they want naza to sell, they tax the car laa, so naza have to pay the tax and price more to make some profit margin after the tax. if gov just main ckp what the price naza should sell without first taxing the naza, then naza can do undertable promotion, naza untung, gov rugi.

please go learn basic econ la. to keep price high, tax. to keep price low, subsidize.

• racotua on Oct 20, 2011 at 12:46 am

to those who don’t believe about the price approval system, try to get a job in a car company (and i don’t mean being a sales person) in a senior position then you will know. many things cannot be proven just because it is asked for or demanded. it is just you being poorer in knowledge if you choose not to believe it.

• You are right 1/2, because other car brands will complain. But do u know who are these car brands.
      Toyota — UMW
      Honda—-DRB
      Ford, bmw, Alfa Romeo, Hyundai—– Sme Darby

Guess who own those companies??? Got it….!!!

Cronny car business in boleh land

• Civic Crazy Price for Crazy man on Jun 13, 2012 at 10:13 am

How do u know Nassim submitted RM155K & Gov rejected due to so many features?
      May be Gov want it to market but Nassim said TOO MANY FEATURES but low profits.
      If Nassim really wanted to market at RM155K & Gov Refused, He can do in some other ways like, Pay RM155k & get naked 508 but free gadget & features.
      Toyota did once, Buy Vios & Get Sony Bravia for Free (that moments was RM8k for Bravia). I still remember, once I bought Vios & get Free Bravia, again I went to Sony Wings buy another Bravia but Sony make me mad & I called CIC (Customer Contact Centre 1-800-88-1233) buy compaining like this… I bought Toyota Vios get free Bravia = I am so happy with Toyota. Again I bought Sony Bravia but I don’t get Toyota Vios for Free, so that I am complaining

• contishallrule on Oct 19, 2011 at 1:16 am

caught me by surprise….you gotta give credit to Peugeot when it’s due – this car smells and breathes premium all the way!

can even T/H answer back?

let me answer that for their salesman: never!

-contishallrule-

• teelim on Oct 19, 2011 at 11:27 pm

Can actually, they will play the resale value and after sales service card… Which will only work on really conservative buyers (see “chinese uncles”)

But thats all they have left. lol

Time for T & H to wake up.

• but the hoard of T & H blind buyers haven’t woken up yet, so how u gonna expect T&H to wake up?

• limaunipis on Oct 22, 2011 at 9:58 am

Sshhhh, don’t wake them up please.

i hope T & H are still “ignorantly sleeping” in their showrooms / sales office while their market share slowly goes to Peugeot and other continentals, whom are going strong with their presence in Malaysia.

all in due time, our streets and highway will be so full of continentals, european tourists may even think Malaysia is a european country. :)

• mangata on Oct 19, 2011 at 1:18 am

awesome car……….cool specs prefer this than tin kosong camry

• yeah..at least i’m not the only person feels that Camry interiors sucks …

• Surely beats Camry, Accord and Teana. No more “japanese car have higher resale value mindset”. Welcome to Malaysia, european cars.

• Charity Motors on Oct 19, 2011 at 2:12 am

looks very “Aston Martinish” to me. Lovely looking car though. I bet it will sell very very well.

• ken dan on Oct 19, 2011 at 2:27 am

Dont Buy 1st.Later CKD…become 130k………..comfirm

• Khoikoi on Oct 19, 2011 at 12:37 pm

Let everybody buy, later on when ckd u can buy maa

• Is it true that 308 did not drop value after CKD (unlike 407)? Is it possible 508 also stays at current px if and when CKD?

• aku je on Oct 19, 2011 at 2:35 am

ermmm 1.6, body besar.. walaupn pakai turbo.. tetap x sama stabilnya mcm nek camry 2.4.. pickup mesti jauh beza.. Peugeot mmg da d ketahui harga mang mahal..
    minyak pn msti kuat mkn nye.. stakat tulis je.. kat malaysia ni mane ad bwk keta besar x laju, sume men tekan je.. kancil n viva apetah lg.. ni sure bile pickup kuat makan minyak ni.. huhu pasni nampak la, orang kaya kedekut.. kereta mewah bawak slow.. xcaye aku org bwk keta mewah bawak perlahan… nonsense

• Nizam80 on Oct 19, 2011 at 12:02 pm

Kalau bro perasan max. torque kereta ni, mmg pasti kereta ni ada pickup. 240nm @ 1400rpm. Ok, biasanya engine idle speed brapa rpm? Slightly bawah 1k rpm kan? Ini 240nm at 1400 rpm… max torque dapat dicapai slightly above engine idle speed, bro. Tak yah nak tekan minyak lebih-lebih. Boleh maintain pemanduan bawah 2000 rpm sepanjang masa = menjimatkan petrol.

• Matsui Bush on Oct 19, 2011 at 12:57 pm

i think you are the one who talk nonsense

• Poker on Oct 19, 2011 at 2:59 pm

Org kaya bawak keta mewah slow because they value their life more, and those of the passengers…. unlike some of the idiots driving recklessly with their souped up tin milo endangering everyone’s life around….

• megamind on Oct 19, 2011 at 3:46 pm

ko nie reti x reti pasal torque and hp…..ko tau ke xtau saiz enjin x penting….yg penting output dia je…ko tau x tau Prince enjin tu apa…ko tu yg nonsense

• Redrules on Oct 19, 2011 at 11:29 pm

Excuse me, does anyone realise that Mercedes Benz 2.5 CGI Bluefficiency has only 1796cc displacement. Yes, thats about 1.8L and not 2.5L. E class is a lot bigger than this 508 mind you. It produces 204hp because it’s intercool turbocharged engine. Still think bigger cc makes better power?

• sagaforlife on Oct 19, 2011 at 3:24 am

Habislah Japs car kena kentut ini macam, Mondeo already landed, now is 508 (1.6L wooo, much more pawaful than 2.0, 2.4, 3.0 crappp!!!)…..

Next is those Passat and Jetta, those continental car is invading the japs…
    Accord, Teana n Slyphy, and the Camry, apa macam sekarang? mmg kena tapao punya….

p/s: 18″ wheel is teh ahsem!!!! and jangan lah ada SE crapp by the Japs…..

• THP156 on Oct 19, 2011 at 10:31 am

Hi sagaforlife,
      THP156 only can comparable with 2.0 2,4….not for 3L cars..

• sagaforlife on Oct 19, 2011 at 8:54 pm

Well, I know its not comparable, but bigger engine doesn’t mean it would perform well…..

Turbocharged and down-sizing the engine capacity is the trend nowadays, especially in continental cars, just imagine if the range of 508 is ranging from the 2.0HDi and the 2.2HDi….. Ngahahahahaha….

Well, all for marketing sake….

This would be enough…. 1.6L…..

• Maserati on Oct 19, 2011 at 5:01 am

I drove a pug 308 turbo before, power not bad for a small car but i doubt it will be enough for this huge heavy car. Other than that, this looks like a great package!

Maybe cit driving ok,but highway drive not really great. In fact i even test drove a rcz 1.6 turbo auto before, not great at all on highway. Not enough power..

Comparing this with korean cars like sonata which is rubbish.Koreans still got a long way to go. Its either jap or conti for me. Mondeo? Rubbish car. Hardly see any on the roads

• vincent on Oct 19, 2011 at 10:56 am

Mondeo rubbish car? Japanese car good? Please step out from your little kampung called – Malaysia.. Lol

• suggestion to nasim:
    launch a more standard version of this car with toned-down specs like:
    1. dual airbags
    2. dual-zone airconditioning
    3. 16/17 inch wheels
    4. fabric seats
    5. driver-only electric powered seat
    6. 6-speakers audio
    these changes would be minimal, but would enable nasim to sell it below 150k, or even lower
    surely there would be a market for it

• SaveTheEARTH on Oct 19, 2011 at 2:20 pm

Nate safety safety safety. If with 2 airbags what’s the different between T/H or even Proton. Airbags tht save our life must maintain as now offering by Pug. Very few car manufacturers with 6 airbags. Other than this we just follow Nate toned-down spec.

• peugeot fan on Oct 19, 2011 at 5:56 am

dont worry…nasim will do the magic again once its declared as ckd.

it’s naza world man…

• Baba O'Reilly on Oct 20, 2011 at 2:32 am

What magic? If you think the price will change, you’re wrong and misleading others.

• Wow, for ~170k, you get cool specs… Awesome!

• car lover on Oct 19, 2011 at 6:46 am

Aftersales services shoould be as beauty as this 508………NASIM can do it….

• catdog on Oct 19, 2011 at 7:22 am

Beutiful ‘model’, i want….

• Masked Ryder on Oct 19, 2011 at 7:29 am

1.6 car = 170K = Good buy (Only Naza/Nasim Salesman will give such a pethetic quote).
    Same engine as a Peugeot 308 ?
    Malaysia book of record (Most Expensive D segment car with tiny 1.6 ltr engine).

Now u all know what i mean when i say the blog is full of Bu**Sh*t from Naza Salesman.

• jeff lim on Oct 19, 2011 at 1:39 pm

wrong, malaysia book of record for d segment 1.6 goes to volvo s60 t4 priced at rm220000 otr

• SaveTheEARTH on Oct 19, 2011 at 2:31 pm

Now looking at horsepower and torque. Not on engine capacity, higher cc does not mean good it even lead to more weight. You imagine the engine carry so many weight in front just like those old day big car big engine. U drive u can feel the weight distribution is the issue.

• limaunipis on Oct 19, 2011 at 2:32 pm

the amount of BS from T/H IS OBVIOUSLY HIGHER whenever Peugeot launches a new car.

get back to worklah T/H salesman!

• hazamiey on Oct 19, 2011 at 2:35 pm

Citroen C5 with same Prince engine is selling higher at RM 189k.

• Poker on Oct 19, 2011 at 2:55 pm

Malaysia book of records? Probably not… Volvo S60 1.6 costs more.

• S60 1.6 is more expensive at 220k

• Now u all know what i mean when i say the blog is full of Bu**Sh*t from toyota and honda salesman.

• GrrrG on Oct 19, 2011 at 8:50 pm

Get yourself an eye check up. Don’t you see the word ‘turbocharged’? Google is there 24/7 for you to search out what it is.

• Baba O'Reilly on Oct 20, 2011 at 9:35 am

The automotive landscape has changed. There are even Audi D-Segment cars with 1.4L engines. You must compare apple-to-apple based on the torque required to move the car. If you’re buying purely on engine capacity why buy a 1.8L E-Class then? Are the buyers not very smart? Every car maker does their best to put good products on the road. The vicious attack on Naza Group shows where you’re coming from and what your agenda is.

• Jonathan on Oct 19, 2011 at 7:32 am

I dont like the design especially the front design…reminds me Peugeot 207 design….Conti is a good car but for now I will choice Kia Koup or Kia Sorento even it’s different segment.

• Mentari-o-korea on Oct 19, 2011 at 2:14 pm

Jonathan, my kia koup 2.0 is having same 156hp, n i think can eat this car for brkfst looking at weight ratio n heavy 18′ rims, soon optima coming with additinal hp so test the optima first!

• that’s true. that same info was given to me by an insider. their suggested price was much cheaper initially but out wonderful government did not agree and capped it at this current price bracket.

• Vincent on Oct 19, 2011 at 8:04 am

Har, RM169K… right pricing strategy…

Finally, those marketing guy is working. Market segmentation and target the right group of customer. Diffecial your self from competitor. Price is not the onlyfactor in selling. Profit is the determine factor on how a product is sucess.

Peugeot never able to be the best selling car in D segment. T & H has monopoly it since years with average combine sales voulme of 2000 unit per year. The balance D segment market is share amount others brand…. People who look at T & H basically prefer the low maintenance, good resales value and realible car.. they never look for art or masterpiece…

Hence, Naza have to accept the facts that they can only target 100 to 200 units sales a month.

If they do it as the past (407 CKD), they price it next to civic 2,0 C segment hoping people will take 407, more value for money paid… however, those Civic (japanese) potential buyer still have concern about realibility, maintenenace cost and depreciation. End up, they will still take Civic.

If you are Naza, selling 100 unit at margin of RM30K per unit vs 200 unit of RM10K per unit, what would you take…

Next thing Naza has to do is, make those 508 owner feel superior than accord and camry. Special parking like what captiva does might help. Special dinner at 5 star hotel for 508 owner get around will help to create brand value…

People is slowly realise, it is important to create value instead of cutting cost…

• Alright, will skip new Camry for this time one… after test drive.

• Jolly_idiot on Oct 19, 2011 at 8:28 am

Somehow still prefer bigger cc for this class of car. No doubt 1.6thp can beat 2.4, but the mind set will always be. 1.6 onli ar? Can tis thing move? Under power or wil engine too stress?

• policeman on Oct 19, 2011 at 8:39 am

It looks good and priced OK, but I wouldn’t get it, unless if this was a Japanese car.

• limaunipis on Oct 19, 2011 at 2:51 pm

What the heck are you waiting for then?

Go get YOURSELF a Japanese car lah because that’s the best you can drive anyway.

• Definately thumbs up for Naza. Nice car, nice features n value.

While tat 1.6 will definately draw flak esp for a D-segment car, it shouldn’t b much of an issue since big Peugeot owners r long known to hv different taste from d crowd.

• water on Oct 19, 2011 at 8:51 am

the question is, is it reliable?

of all the contis, Merc is the most reliable.

i have a fiesta, it has been making funny noises after 1 month.

i have 3 series BMW, after 2 years, hydraulic failed, i only drive this baby 2 times a week.

i have C-class, after 6 years, still running strong, albeit parts and servicing a bit on the high side.

my friend’s 308 Turbo is always sick.

i fully agree, the spec given is AMAZING, more than Mercs and BMW even. but the reliability? the drivability?

i think the Ford Mondeo, may just edge out this car. 7.9s to a hundred.

• I agree. The main reason why Japanese cars (ie the Accords & Camrys) will continue to dominate the D segment is their reliabilty, strong networks of 3S centres & the relative affordability of their parts. In addition, it is always easier to source for the parts of Japanese cars, especially those of Toyota & Honda, either the original or the compatible parts. Resale value is another major factor which determine the sale numbers as shown by the poor resale values of Ford, Peugeot & other non-Merc. & non-BMW conti. Even within the Japanese brands, the resale values of Nissan, Mitsu & Mazda still far lagging behind those of Honda & Toyota. So there is still a high degree of risk being assumed if you purchase a 508 or even more so, a Mondeo !!

• jalan54 on Oct 19, 2011 at 1:52 pm

I think ford mondeo is not for you either, tested the car, not as expected.

You should buy your merc, nothing can compete with it… lol

• VoidDance on Oct 19, 2011 at 8:58 am

Oh now everybody else want to copy Bangle’s butt. Hehehe.

Nice car with a lot of goodies. Sad though to think that Peugeot is a brand name not associate with luxury but when arrive in Malaysia, it is extremely expensive. Scrap the NAP la Najib and every petrol heads here will love you (a little bit).

• Kitolo on Oct 19, 2011 at 9:10 am

Good luck reselling after using it for 3 years =)

• good luck in surviving in a high speed crash in your beloved camry n accord :)

• Sgt Scoop on Oct 19, 2011 at 10:32 am

Both of those cars have 6 star Japanese NCAP ratings.

• Nissan on Oct 19, 2011 at 12:21 pm

are you sure you will survive in non-T & H car in high speed crash? look at the poor princess who died in the tunnel inside a M luxury car.
        dont simple curse other just because he drive a Jap car.

• LE buruk on Oct 19, 2011 at 9:11 am

buy @170k three years later can only sell for 70K…

• Victor Hoh on Oct 19, 2011 at 11:58 am

I will be waiting after 3 years.

• Espresso! Quick! on Oct 24, 2011 at 9:31 pm

don’t talk rubbish. you know nuts about car values (what you know is probably what your grandfather told you and is not applicable today), you don’t know the future and you don’t have a crystal ball!

• kereta lembu on Oct 19, 2011 at 9:15 am

I guess most Msians have this stereotyped mind that you have better value if your engine displacement is higher. Well, sorry to say…times have changed and we need to look at the benefits of having a smaller capacity engine. Weird people only talk about how big the engine should be but no mention about how much power this tiny engine can produce and its fuel consumption, lower road tax etc…Or maybe some Msians like to pay more for a bigger engine with lower performance? Typical BIGGER is BETTER attitude.

As for the price, it would be more attractive at 155k or 160k…but looking at the specs and the fact that its a conti car, I think it offers more value than the Japs. Then again, Japs will always win in Msia because what people care about is resale value and don’t care which is the better car. Its ok if you have less airbgs and lower specs, as long as you have higher resale value LoL

• TFazuin on Oct 19, 2011 at 4:56 pm

Ford Mondeo 2.3L Turbocharged 203PS is 179K… why not spend 10K more and get 50hp more?

• teelim on Oct 19, 2011 at 11:36 pm

Mondeo is 2.0L

Its also poorer specced. If you are all for performance and handling, by all means get the mondeo. But for most people, the 508 will be better with its higher equipment level

• SaveTheEARTH on Oct 19, 2011 at 11:58 pm

Mondeo is 2.0 la

• CK200H on Oct 19, 2011 at 9:20 am

Is there any patterned by European to Super/Turbo Charge a small CC? Why Japan is not doing so when it is proven to be effective/powerful? Japan keep on their DVVVT…. Motor assist…

• Sgt Scoop on Oct 19, 2011 at 10:44 am

It’s interesting how the different cultures have opted for different solutions to the thirst for fuel economy. The Europeans have gone for turbocharging smaller engines. The Japanese have gone for hybrids. Neither provide a long term solution and they know that. Perhaps the Americans have it right with the Chevrolet Volt?

• 1st: A hefty luxury tax in some european countries (i.e. France, Holland, Denmark, Belgium) for engines above 2.000cc. A Camry 2.2 is more expensive than a BMW 520i there. The old 520i had 2.171cc, the new 520i has 1.995cc to avoid the tax barrier.

2nd: DVVT simply doesn’t work. Just compare the torque specs of a turbo and a DVVT..

3rd: 120km/h speed limit in Japan, no speed limit on the ‘Autobahn’ ;)

• ericT on Oct 19, 2011 at 9:20 am

Superlike the interior..way better than the Japs!

• Ford Mondeo EcoBoost 2.0 is much better !!

• jalan54 on Oct 19, 2011 at 1:48 pm

Tested Ford Mondeo EcoBoost, the power not as good as it mentioned. Handling, very bad, a lot of body roll. power shift gearbox, unable to compete with vw dsg gearbox.

In terms of design, 508 is much better compare to ford mondeo. Engine is proven to be a good one, since it is being used in 308 turbo, 3008, 5008 and still doing well.

• carlove on Oct 19, 2011 at 9:25 am

smart looking car + really good spec but a bit pricey…..

• ben yap on Oct 19, 2011 at 9:27 am

i cannot afford it at RM170K. :(

• Honda Power on Oct 19, 2011 at 9:40 am

Why must you praise this car? RM170K for a 1.6 car is daylight robbery and I am sure you cannot afford to buy it. I agreed with John. T and H sales are not going to be affected by this car and the 3 new cars VW is going to launch. Why? Because all these 4 cars are overpriced compared to T and H. Malaysians like T and H. No doubt about it. Brand loyalty is important.

• PLEASE DO NOT COMPARE THIS PEIUGEOT 508 TO T AND H (LOW QUALITY AND A LOT OF RECALL ). I JUST LIKE TO COMPARE THIS CAR TO FORD MONDEO, VW PASSAT..
      SLOWLY MALAYSIAN WILL CHANGE THEIR MINDSET AND WE NOTICE THAT A LOT OF KIA, HYUNDAI, PEUGEOT AND VW ON THE ROAD NOWSDAY.
      IN TAIWAN, T AND H IS CHEAP CAR COMPARED TO PEUGEOT..

• limaunipis on Oct 19, 2011 at 12:16 pm

the 508 may be OVERPRICED TO YOU but it came with lots of goodies.

why must you praise UNDERPRICED T/H with NOTHING, i repeat, NOTHING TO OFFER NOW except facelifts?

get back to worklah T/H salesman!

• nuffsaid on Oct 19, 2011 at 12:53 pm

Do not be surprised if future generation S-Class is fitted with a 1.6T with a starting price of RM500K. If that really happens, what would you call that then? Daylight massacre??

• kereta lembu on Oct 19, 2011 at 1:18 pm

If T and H have the same specs and equipment level as Peugeot or VW and still can sell them cheaper, then you have a case. But many times, T and H give customers less stuff hence, they look relatively cheaper. So…the debate goes on :)

If you ask me, a car’s engine might be its heart but its also just one part of a car. Other elements are just as important such as safety and comfort etc.

• man101 on Oct 19, 2011 at 1:30 pm

Brand Loyalty or is it more, BLIND Loyalty?

• jalan54 on Oct 19, 2011 at 1:45 pm

If you don’t know anything, then please don’t simply make a stupid comment here. In terms of over priced, T & H are the leaders! Their cars are way over priced with features they provide in the vehicles. They also never treat human as human by only provide 2 airbags (some even worse, only 1 airbag).

In terms of engine and gearbox, they are all outdated (H still consider better compare to T). If you think that is what you mean by worth it, go ahead!

• can someone explain why ppl say T&H engine and gearbox is outdated?

• oligopoli on Oct 19, 2011 at 3:02 pm

T & H should put kubota engine into camry and sell camry at 30% from current price, then i think u will be one of the happy owner, obviously.

• CK200H on Oct 19, 2011 at 3:23 pm

Dear Honda lover,

This car can perform better than Accord 2.4 in term of engine performance, interior accessories, specification, safety etc. You name it.

So ? Accord 2.4 at RM170K is not overpriced? where a better performed car compare to Accord 2.4 at RM170K is daylight robbery?

• pojie on Oct 19, 2011 at 4:21 pm

This car overpriced compared to T & H? Really? T & H definitely cheaper if you compare using the 2.0 models which are very miserably equipped. If that’s the case, please return to your Honda Accord 2.0 and enjoy the super-huge screen filled with radio station channel info.

• armandd on Oct 19, 2011 at 5:27 pm

Well, some people, like those from our road and transport department still have this orthodox mentality, equating engine power with engine capacity. Even F1 cars will eventually have 1.6l turbo motors. This is a 1.6 turbo engine, not NA one. T and H cars from the same segment don’t even have half of the kit that come with this car. T & H brand is so overrated.

• As a Malaysian i don’t like Honda and Toyota at all ! i think Honda and Toyota brands are cheap! VW is overpriced? but the brand is much higher class than any Honda and Toyota! Peugeot is overpriced? huh the performance and exterior beat any T & H :) even the Korean cars r much better than T & H lolx

• libralcl on Oct 19, 2011 at 9:40 am

For me this car is nice. All I will consider from a car powertrain perspective is 1st responsiveness – a car with a lots of power or torque but it did’t deliver the power well to the wheel is not a good thing then HP & Torque reading goes seconnd and cc goes last. =)

• moncat on Oct 19, 2011 at 9:41 am

omg..i was made a pre booking yesterday..hour b4 launching..i’ll make a cancellation today…sad..too sad..what a price tag!

• Nasi Goreng on Oct 19, 2011 at 9:47 am

Really nice… what is the size compared to accord and camry??

• i want one. But not enough money. Saga is ok also.

• Saga is a deffective toy on Jun 13, 2012 at 10:57 am

Saga is NOT a car but a deffective toy, it’s unsafed & risk to get stuck 7 burn easilly. No peace of mind. if u send to service centre & complain, they ll tell u… biasalah macam tu!!! U buy, change the chasis & engine….
      If u ve got not enough money to buy a car, then look for 2nd hand Vios 200x at RM30K+++
      Good luck poor man but avoid from being a poor mind

• taking into the account of UK price and adding our CBU import duties n local sales tax…the car came to a 240k price tag!! XD….hmm….so 170k seems like a bargain!

UK prices should have tax built in too, but not too high i believe.

• Bongcs on Oct 19, 2011 at 9:59 am

Nice interior.

• my dreams partially shattered. Was hopping for below RM160K… Lousy! Now let’s see how VW handle their pricing…

• jflee169 on Oct 19, 2011 at 10:49 am

Don’t put too high hope on VW pricing.

• kenny on Oct 19, 2011 at 10:55 am

don’t think the passat will be cheaper though.

• intermilan on Oct 19, 2011 at 11:36 am

you won’t get any sympathy from VW.
      They will price their’s even higher.

• thinkerr on Oct 19, 2011 at 1:53 pm

You will also regret the pricing and I’ve seen the car, not the high spec version that SG gets.

• Mentari-o-korea on Oct 19, 2011 at 2:17 pm

Wait for k5 optima, more reasonable pricing with extra hp!

• MoFaz on Oct 19, 2011 at 5:59 pm

unfair to compare CBU Pug 508 with CKD VW…. wait until Pug CKD here la.. last time 407 from RM170k become RM125k. I’ll do that if I were you.

• Vincent on Oct 19, 2011 at 6:05 pm

Passat at RM175K right?

• laluan sehala on Oct 23, 2011 at 7:45 pm

The Passat is RM184,888k nett price. You can check from their website. To get the “on-the-road” price, it is a lot more.

The 508 goes for only RM164,672, nett price. With all other costs added in but without insurance, it is RM165,362. So it is about RM20k in difference in reality.

Just to add, the 508 makes 156hp from a blown 1.6 while the blown 1.8 in the Passat can only muster 2 more hp from its 1.8. The 1.6 seems to be more efficient in getting the horses. The Passat has 10Nm more though. But it is all in paper. Inside is a different story altogether. I have gone to both VW and Peugeot showrooms over this weekend and heard comments that the 508’s interior (and also exterior in some cases) projects a more premium image than the VW which looks plain and dated.

• even lousier!

• xxWWWxxx on Oct 19, 2011 at 10:26 am

wow… just compare a 1.6 turbo hitting 156bhp, that’s abv the common aspirated 2.0 territory. cool 1.6 road tax, just abit uncomfortable with the OTR price of 170k. think might go over the showroom wkend to chk it out first. can’t really comment without seeing the actual car in metal. since they put this car for D segment, guess hv to chk out what’s inside of the car to qualify for this 170k price tag. would b nice if they price it around 135k to 140k

• bye bye camry & accord. . . i just dunno how they going to sell their 2.4L model & lagi dunno why people will still buy it at this time when peugeot & vw are providing much better choices. .

• blue-traveler on Oct 19, 2011 at 10:50 am

Looks like a good deal, with all its fixes that comes along, that most car don’t get it here. I think I will head over to the Pug show and have a look at this one, as soon as i get a break. (No I’m not buying, have just started monthly payment for the new car, just look see look see)
    BTW, IMHO, I think we should start get over the engine size, as in liters, as a yard stick for performance.
    For the newer gen of cars coming out, they will be more eco friendly, as in less fuel consumption. Yet getting more powerful with newer tech. Like the new E200/240, they are no longer 2l or 2.4l, but 1.8l, yet still perform just as good if not better. VW/Audi….. 1.2, 1.4, 1.8 and 2l Engine are great, proven internationally. Now if only the Japs would get into the game soon. ( I know the new and up coming Mazda and Nissan engines are example of it, but what about the local fav H & T?)
    At the end of the day, anything tech that saves fuel money is a winner for every driver, Expect for those that drive, Bugatti, Lamborghini, Ferrari, Porsche, Maserati, Brabus, GT-R. Heck! they ozzzzes money, they don’t need to save.

• Hi, can anyone tell me the wheelbase of this 508 ? Is it comparable to the 2800 mm of the current Accord ? By the way, is it a CBU model from France ? Any maintenance free package offered by Nasim ? How long is the warranty period for this 508 since the resale value of Peugeot cars are still low.

• Prashnan on Oct 19, 2011 at 11:13 am

Well, everybody…this is very simple to understand,

FYI’

This Car should sell at RM150k plus initialy, but some how or rather, they waited for Budget 2011, seems nothing change on Duty tax, they have no choice to put the price higher, inorder to sustain the car value next year.

Due to manufactured year 2011, so next year is 2012….you all should know by now, Nasim have overtrade policy every year…..so they hike the price from RM150K to RM169K…….to protect their pocket, and drain out Rakyat money….he he he…..so” better wait for a while…until the real competition with FORD and VW’……same ‘D’category…..anyway some sources says….ford mondeo 1.6T will be in market soon…..price should be 155K and VW Passat… RM160K……..and if can please dont eat hot pei now!…..let be cooler for a while….and eat slowly….then you feel the tender…..

• Baba O'Reilly on Oct 22, 2011 at 7:13 am

You have absolutely no proof to back up the speculative comments you’ve posted.

• Victor Hoh on Oct 19, 2011 at 11:56 am

Given the premium price, I hope that the Prince engine in 508 will be much more reliable than the one in 308 Turbo.

• well, it cheaper that Citroen C5…hope this will make Citroen to lower the price of C5…

• Initally, i thought the price should be lower than what they’re offering, around 3008 or 5008 price given that it’s only 1.6T, however, once i look at the spec sheet, i changed my mind.. Based on the spec sheet alone, i think the price offered is excellent..

• treblecase on Oct 19, 2011 at 12:32 pm

OMG!!..this is one seriously good looking car! And that spec especially the audio system…drooling!!!

Malaysians are just too conservative. Which is good coz nobody will bat an eyelid if you passby driving a Camry or Accord but but but THIS!!…wow..chick magnet…!!!

• if I have lot of money and i want perfomance for D segment, I will choose ford mondeo. add more 10k get 200hp 2.0 turbocharged

• Norman on Oct 19, 2011 at 12:41 pm

The 5008 has been on my shopping list to replace my wife’s aged Vios to haul my growing family (not adding members, but they have grown bigger). It is, in my opinion, the best value for money mid size MPV among the choices available of its class (Honda Stream, Mazda 5 etc).

On the other hand, I have been waiting rather impatiently for either the 508 and CKD VW Passat to replace my old Alfa 156. I would had taken the Alfa 159 few years ago if the local distributor brings in the mouth watering 1750TBi instead of the merely improved 2.2 JTS. I want a modern European saloon (below RM200K) with adequate power and handling for my daily use and occasional demanding driving to kick those Camry and Accord asses.

Now the 508 is launched with awesome design, packaged with excellent goodies and priced within my reach. I have not tested the 508 (reasonably happy with the 5008 test drive few weeks ago since it is meant for a more decent family driving) but I am a bit skeptical with the idea of potentially having two cars of the same brand with identical engines. Besides, I doubt this 1.6 turbo is enough to smoke those 2.4 H&T on the highway like my old 156!

For discussion sake, any of you guys would consider having the 508 and the 5008 parked at your garage if you are in my shoes? Would you wait for the CKD Passat rumored to be launched later this year (below RM200K and likely to be 1.8T)?

• MoFaz on Oct 19, 2011 at 6:49 pm

if not rushing, u better wait.

• Redrules on Oct 19, 2011 at 9:35 pm

You can consider crosstouran parked next to 508 or 5008 parked next to cross touran or 5008 next to Passat. :-)

• oligopoli on Oct 20, 2011 at 12:13 am

well, the news is out. passat with 1.8T is here, within your budget, better power and transmission than this pug. i say, go for passat

• Norman on Oct 20, 2011 at 3:51 pm

Thanks for the comments!

I was really surprised to see the VW Passat 1.8T and Cross Touran were launched a day after I posted this. Didn’t quite like the look of both cars and not particularly impressed with the performance too.

I guess this is what I would do for now: get a Ford S-Max for family and occasional biz use like hauling international clients while retaining my old Alfa. It’s a CBU with European handling at RM185K+ with adequate power (203PS), look, space (check out the space between the three seats at the back row, and oh yeah, 9 airbags including driver’s knee!

I shall wait and see for the CKD version of 508 and Passat in the coming months. They should be cheaper or maybe offered with different engine choice (diesel?). Or else I can always get a used 2-door German coupe (few years old 335i, SL350, GTI, A5 2.0T or even Passat CC, anything around RM200K) for my own use and continue kicking those T & H 2.4 asses on the highway.

• kastam on Oct 20, 2011 at 5:25 pm

you have serious low self esteem issue against other Toyota & Honda owners who do not even know you exist.

• Nuffsaid on Oct 20, 2011 at 8:23 pm

Are you one of those T or H 2.4 drivers occupying the fast lane all the time doing 140-160kmh and think there’s no one else could possibly go faster than them?

• squawk on Oct 19, 2011 at 12:55 pm

Good timing for the contis now especially due to the unfortunate flooding which will affect supply from the usual suspects.

• DK BOSS on Oct 19, 2011 at 1:22 pm

I would definitely wait for the Suzuki Kizashi as I’ve heard it would be launch early Jan 2012 next year…Paying RM170k for a 1.6 twin-scroll turbocharged somehow does not seem rite even with all that premium features…. Even throughout the Suzuki Kizashi is in the C+ segment sedan, sumore having an engine spec of 2.4L engine that pushes out 185hp and 230Nm of torque, with a 0-100km/h sprint done in 8 seconds and definitely a pricing lower than RM150K would be nice. Built quality is fantastic and has an overall Continental feel to it.

Hold on to your wallet boyz coz the Kizashi is coming !!

• dream on bro…with 2.4liter engine its gonna attract a higher CBU and sales tax rating. n its gonna most probably brought in from japan. so expect closer to 180k price tag.

• SaveTheEARTH on Oct 20, 2011 at 12:14 am

Been waiting for Kizashi long time ago. Till now already bought Prius, no regret. With high tech engine and motor. Spacious too. With great safety features. Kizashi still in buying list all depend the time when it launch. Kizashi really a good car, test drive only will know how good it is. I saw it at Subang Parade drove by Suzuki top management ppl.

• Harrykok on Oct 19, 2011 at 1:30 pm

I like the blonde more than the car design but anyway, everyone have their own taste. The price for the car is about right with all the things you get and of coz some ppl will bitch about the resale value, reliablity, etc wonder how they get all these info from personal experience ? or just purely speculation ? Dont just “ketuk” for fun if you dont like the car give your OWN opinion dont need to give false and baseless comment about the car and there is no “Rubbish” car in this world. Ppl should be glad we have more choices now other than your usual T , H & N ! Cheers !

• techart touch on Oct 19, 2011 at 1:46 pm

bile nk bawa masuk sonata 2.0T 274 HP…270 Nm…jauh ketinggalan 1.6T just 156 HP…

• aaaaaaa on Oct 19, 2011 at 1:46 pm

nice car, but the price abit high

• jeff lim on Oct 19, 2011 at 1:49 pm

rm 170k is not that expensive compared to rm 220k asking price for a volvo s60 t4 which is also 1.6.

• komen2 byk2… ada duit ka nak beli…

• Jimmy Dean on Oct 19, 2011 at 2:27 pm

All these old timers didn’t keep up with new engine technologies. Twin scroll is one of the most efficient turbocharger and the trend all over the world is downsizing of the engine while giving same performance output as the old bigger cc engine. At the same time you are getting better fuel economy. There are more of these new technologies coming in, HCCI, electrical turbocharger, etc.

Most likely, I will buy this car after test drive. I might trade in the other lion at home.

• Audi Owner on Oct 19, 2011 at 2:51 pm

The engine is impressive but sadly is attached to an old gear box technology.I hope this car does not feel floaty at high speed as the 1.6 engine will be very light for a front wheel drive car.To solve this problem a very high profile tyres with a bigger wheel rim will be required.

• 4G63T DSM on Oct 19, 2011 at 3:06 pm

Cheaper than the C5. By 20odd grand last checked.

Nice!

Head to head with a Camry 2.4 and Accord 2.4, this out equips both with features that isn’t even available as options.

And to those that say the engine isn’t comparable to a 2.4L mill, look at your torque figures. A N/A 2.4 typically tops up at 220-230Nm at a high 4000+ rpm, when this THP does 240@1400rpm.

Even the Sonata 2.4 is 165k….so how is this overpriced??

• Manoq on Oct 19, 2011 at 3:14 pm

You haven’t even bought the car, but you already talk about selling it in 4-5 years time?
    The car must be so lousy then. Can’t wait to get rid of it …… nothing much to shout about in terms of specs and driving enjoyment.

The only reason you buy it is because your auntie, your neighbour, your ex-girlfriend, your customer and your yoga instructor bought it.

Apa susah, after 4-5 years, you can call them and ask them if their kids or relatives would want to buy your 2nd hand car. He/she can help you to say “good” things about the car.

This is the mentality of H and T owners.

• contishallrule on Oct 19, 2011 at 3:33 pm

kesian all those T/H salesman trying their best to downplay this one-helluva-kind offering by Peugeot!

T/H salesman, you guys got NOTHING, NADA, ZILCH to offer now for this car segment so i suggest that:

1. Enjoy a cup of coffee and sing “what have i done to deserve this” song.

2. You can resign from T/H and consider becoming a Peugeot/VW salesman instead hahahaha!

what a fine day indeed for continentals!

-contishallrule-

• Tarmiziali on Oct 19, 2011 at 3:52 pm

This is a good car. Period. Spec and equipment wise, it may be even better than the Accord or Camry. Price is very close to the more powerful mondeo ecoboost.Now we want and see just where the passat will slot in.

Malaysian are not motivated by spec but rather than pricing. And D-segment is not a popular segment. The highest is Camry sold in 500 per month with accord only 300s per month. If Malaysian wanna go euro D-segment, they would rather go for BMW and Mercs. I would think they would be lucky enough to sell the 508 10 per month.

• Waja Owner on Oct 24, 2011 at 11:49 am

Really bro? 10 units only? I saw a lot of 407 on the road and one of my friend was about to sell his Citroen C4 for the lovely specced 508…seems to be out of stock already….100+ bookings in less than 1 week..

Have you notice theres a lot of Pugs already on the road? Matter of time before i get my conti…

• Everytime a new non-Japanese car is introduced (such as Continentals or the likes), some people will think that Japang cars domination will collapse.

This is NOT true as most Malaysians has always been a loyalist to Japang products for so long.

Even with our heavy-slap-on-the-face NAP programme we will still witness people lining up to buy import brands.

The ones that are suffering are people who bought Tin Milos made from Tanjung Malim and have to sent it to service center average 30 times per year for numerous complaints.

I say any import cars are way better than our local “Tin Milos Cars”.

• autojohndoe on Oct 19, 2011 at 6:44 pm

average 30times?

well, congratulation.. you just made sin out of your fitnah…

• Like your Tin Milo description.
      They should be recycled and disappear.

• oligopoli on Oct 20, 2011 at 12:06 am

i’m not a big fan of proton, though i drive a waja. i must say you are bullsh******ng. 30 visit per year? hahaha

• The GPS only shows map from France so that means it is a CBU unit?

Btw, why won’t car companies even wanna dare try to introduce the estate version of their cars? How can they be so sure that it would not suit local taste if they haven’t tried to sell it here yet? They are way more practical, only cost a tiny bit more, and they look better in my opinion. Estate version of sedans sell like hot cakes in Europe for a reason.

On another note, the locally assembled new Passat which will be launching soon would most likely be cheaper than this 508. It’s up to which brand and design we prefer. Power should be around the same too.

• tiadaid on Oct 19, 2011 at 8:12 pm

Cycle & Carriage, the previous franchise holder for the Pug, DID try to market the 407 Evente estate here. Ever seen one on the road?

I don’t think the wagon has been successfully marketed in Malaysia since the Nissan AD Resort, back in the 90s.

• True true, I do see a few of them on the road. The estate will obviously would not be popular here if is not promoted or introduced here by bigger players.

Yes, BMW do sell the 3-Series in estate form but I honestly would not know that they sold it in estate form till I saw one on the road. Anymore? Nope, and that’s the problem.

They really should bring in the E-Class wagon, 5-Series wagon, and to appeal to more people, VW should locally assemble their new Passat in both sedan and estate. I strongly believe Malaysian will love estates and wagon especially for it’s unique looks and added practicality.

Seen one E63 AMG wagon one day on the road and omg how much this body-style stood out among the boring sea of E-Class and 5 Series sedans.

• squawk on Oct 20, 2011 at 2:15 am

That’s because people here think a wagon or an estate looks like a hearse but they don’t realize that Estimas and other MPVs are also used as hearses.

• ben,

it is not cheaper.

• looking-good on Oct 19, 2011 at 5:22 pm

PUG 1.6T giving lot of trouble. beware!
    go search local car forum~~ u will know! even youtube also…search NAZA, peugeot

• limaunipis on Oct 20, 2011 at 4:43 pm

mostly T/H and maybe the occasional Kia/Hyundai/Ford salesmen giving lot of trouble HERE. BEWARE!

no need to search local car forum~~u know now! heck, even youtube also, search Toyota, Honda, Kia, Hyundai, Ford.

:)

• otai ford on Oct 19, 2011 at 5:33 pm

wah..so many suggest the ford mondeo ecoboost..tapi beli ke tak?
    this pug is nice than wak camry & pak accord….
    why nasim not just focus the B & C Segment?….

next i want to see the MAA Vehicle Sales Data September 2011
    nak tgk jualan vw polo,naza forte,ford fiesta & pug 308 meningkat ke menurun eh..hmmm…

• Heard that Nasim will now offer (for all pre-ordered and future orders until end October) RM10,000 rebate. In cash! Yeay!

• betul ke niii?

• intermilan on Oct 19, 2011 at 9:41 pm

where you heard..?

• Baba O'Reilly on Oct 20, 2011 at 2:37 am

Another fake rumour. Yes I heard King Kong will be visiting my house with Fay Wray. He’ll give me some magic beans and this will grow into a magical multi-coloured beanstalk immediately after being planted. After I climb up I’ll meet Pappy Boyington, Sheriff Lobo and BJ & The Bear. We will have dinner and then fly off to Fantasy Island to meet Mr. Rourke and Tattoo. They will give me 10,000 US dollars in cash! Yabba-dabba-do!

• moncat on Oct 20, 2011 at 11:50 am

absolutely not!i was called da salesman yesterday,to cancel my pre book!he told me to wait until next 2 weeks..test drive first..then make my decision..wasting time

• navin on Oct 19, 2011 at 6:29 pm

would sell well if ckd locally assembled at price range of RM140k with same features. But again all counts on the engine/gearbox reliability for such exclusive sedan car. Maybe thats why T / H badge still selling well here.

• Big boss on Oct 19, 2011 at 9:37 pm

Well said.

I was considering to buy this car for my company’s directors.

With such price, a sub 150k car such as Honda and Toyota would be the choice now.

• Medic on Oct 20, 2011 at 4:39 pm

Going by this comment of yours,how can u justify Accord/Camry 2.4,which has lower specs,less torque,worse FC costs $180k(same price)??R u a hypocrate?

• Big boss on Oct 21, 2011 at 9:02 am

Please read my comments correctly.
        Sub 150k means below RM 150,000.00.
        Both Honda and Toyota 2.0 are selling below that amount.
        It matters in term of tax rebate.

Do not simply call people names.
        BTW, it should be hypocrite and not hypocrAte.

It is no wonder that you misunderstood what you read when one can hardly get his spelling right .

• yup. big boss is right in terms of the tax stuff. hope that peugeot will have a car that suits the company fleet purchases later on.

• john die on Oct 19, 2011 at 6:45 pm

will top up another few K’s for alfa romeo 159..sorry dude..or maybe will choose either mazda 6 or ford mondeo..anyway…nice looking interior instead..

btw..if u see the figure..actually its not that bad for the 1.6 engine by them..its not lousy at all..i think the they put it in the right price..it’s conti car maa…

• samad on Oct 19, 2011 at 6:50 pm

even this is looking cool and so good, i still prefer japanese/proton/perodua coz of easy reach and relatively cheap to maintain. one more thing new conti is very far from my budget. hehehehe. :-) cheersssss

• JeremyNg on Oct 20, 2011 at 12:35 am

Japanese car cheap to maintain ??!! Doubt about it ………..

• Baba O'Reilly on Oct 22, 2011 at 7:12 am

Being an owner of two of Japan’s big 3 brands, I beg to differ.

• Due to the high car taxes and prices, it boils down to resale value unless money is not an issue for u. Was a victim of Naza”s Korean car tragedy. Good car and decent service contrary to what ppl say but the resale value is just too low that you cannot even cover your outstanding loan. Same prob with most European cars n thus the so called class mentality. Buy a H & T tin kosong and u will have better sleep 5 years down d road.

• limaunipis on Oct 20, 2011 at 4:54 pm

Tsk, tsk, tsk.

Why blame your financial mismanagement with Peugeot / Continentals resale value?

You should have done your research BEFORE BUYING / COMMITTING whatever car that “supposedly” give you “better sleep” 5 years down the road!

So whatever problems you’re facing now, be a man and blame YOURSELF for it, don’t go around blaming others or other things.

• Faris ToneDeaf on Oct 19, 2011 at 9:52 pm

How can you say that the car is wrongly priced ? It’s just nice. Performance wise, this car beat the crap out of the Japs. You can save on road tax too ! Some people are just too dumb

• Jimmy on Oct 19, 2011 at 11:02 pm

Sorry to most Camry and Accord owners.
    I really felt sorry to them when I saw them feeling proud in their Camrys/Accords, especially the Camry 2.4 owners. Do they really think that ‘resale value’ is more important than their & their passengers’ lives? Just want to show off or what? If you have a lot of money, you will not care about resale value and maintainence; you will buy the cars that you like, like the beautiful Mazda 6 with 6 airbags.
    Do you admire the Camry/Accord owners? Many years ago I did. Nowadays, to me it is: no 6-airbags no talk, no big size/heavy kerb weight no talk. RM20k just for optional additional 4 airbags? I want.

• actually the resale value of camry and accord 2.4 is not that great….pretty weak in fact. only jap cars 120k and below have good resale value.

• Syafiq on Oct 19, 2011 at 11:36 pm

Europeans are down sizing their engines (in case you haven’t notice). A petrol head should know this. So it seems near ridiculous to talk about how much few cc’s a car has comparatively. All that matters at the end of the day is the overall package – how manufactures combine chassis, gearbox, engine and interior comfort and so on, some even consider their service intervals. ( I hate honda’s 5000km intervals – can anyone tell me they prefer?)

p/s – the prince engine has great reputation. I will go for it.

• Naza ….. IMPROVE your service with good mechanic ,foreman, service center, equipment
    REDUCE spare part price,labour cost
    BUILT back malaysian interest in your product.
    +++ take note and action from others positive comment in the forum

• Baba O'Reilly on Oct 20, 2011 at 9:31 am

Parts pricing has already been reduced twice by Nasim, which is a subsidiary of Naza. Remember that you don’t cry to DRB-Hicom when you have issues with Honda, UMW for Toyota or Sime-Darby for Ford/Land-Rover! Labour rate is about RM78 compared to about RM120 for VW, RM140+ for Audi and RM180 for Mercedes/BMW so the Peugeot labour rate is equal to Japanese competitors. How much lower do you want to go? If so, what sort of qualified manpower can they hire?

• i think he wants it to be as cheap as perodua or proton then only he will be satisfied.

• laluan sehala on Oct 21, 2011 at 11:24 pm

If that is the case, just buy a Proton or Perodua. No need to look to Peugeot if cannot afford it.

• Good car with under power, under perform, and ridiculous price! With that price I can go for the Hyundai Sonata 2.4! Or don’t mind spend extra for the VW Passat instead!

• Friday on Oct 20, 2011 at 12:16 am

moe, don’t say anything you can’t confirm. makes you look very shallow.

• JeremyNg on Oct 20, 2011 at 12:33 am

My opinion , i feel that it’s more well equip than its Japanese competitor !! Malaysian there a new boy in the hood so consider about “him” b4 u buy the 2 less equip Japanese BOY ~

• Exige on Oct 20, 2011 at 12:49 am

This is an exciting discussion. As usual, the typical malaysian mindset of the T & H are far more superior and continental brands The audi, bimmer, benz n VW are way out priced for ordinary folks. Secondly, it is again, ppl, to be fair, please view the car before giving comments. This car is spec through the roof! Find a jap car with similar price range with the equivalent specification. I doubt so. 2 years back, i was in market to shop for 2.4 litre car. T & H are miserable when comes to value for money, except the resale value. We are being treated with lower than normal spec camry and accord for sure. The start stop of camry is a a joke. check out the alfa 159 / Mazda 6 push start button and then make a judgement.

I walk away with the Mazda 6 2.5 with zero regrets and zero defects. Oh by the way, Made in Japan and out specced the T & H by a huge margin. The only handicap is slightly smaller dimension. I’ve driven numerous 1.6THP models and I believe this 508 is no pushover in terms of performance even though it is pulling a bigger chassis and extra weight. Anyone notice the 508 kerb weight is only 1400kg?

By the way, 508 overhang is long due to FF configuration. All FF cars have long overhang, including the Audi A4. The main reason is drive shaft that is required for powering the front wheels. Only FR/MR and RR configuration can employ short overhang like the BMW 3 series.

All in all, this 508 is a great bargain for those who want something different. It is a quantum leap from 407 in all aspects and pricing is competitive and for once, 508 can really rub shoulders with T,H,N,M, Hyundai in Malaysia market.

• RedBeanBun on Oct 20, 2011 at 6:08 am

UMW smiling now…

The market will tell:

1) PUG508 1.6 – 170K
    2) PAssat 1.8L – 180K
    3) new camry 2.4 – 180K

when Camry change the gear to 6 speed + GPS…bye bye the other 2.

simple as that…the market selling report will tell..

• no matter what pricing they put for the new Camry, it is still a Camry – sucky tech sucky interior..is only meant for those died-hard Cam fans

• well…you will only need to wait for about 256 years before the camry gets a 6-speed gearbox.

• kereta lembu on Oct 21, 2011 at 10:58 am

No need to wait till Camry has 6 speed + GPS. Most people only care about a big engine and whether or not its Japanese made. So, if you put a 3 speed auto and give it a 6,000 cc engine and have no seatbelts and no airbags, people will still rush to buy it.

Trust me, I have nothing against the Japs or their cars. I’m just amazed by how people judge a car by its origin and not because what it is capable of. Is there a term for this? Car Rasicm? As long as you’re not from Japan then you suck : )

• Honda Power on Oct 20, 2011 at 11:13 am

Please stop the arguments/opinions/discussions. Wait and see how many units this car sell 100 units minthly. Maybe 50 will be a more reasonable figure. Wait, let’s revise it to 30 units monthly. Ha Ha!

• Anak Malaysia on Oct 20, 2011 at 11:17 am

what ever it is.. we are very lucky right now because we have many option for our next car…. hehehehhehe….we can choose from europe, japan, korea, china & malaysian car.. but the most important is “ukur baju di badan sendiri” ……

• Jack Leong on Oct 20, 2011 at 12:53 pm

and the money goes to.. you know who.. NAZA

• limaunipis on Oct 20, 2011 at 4:16 pm

like…duh!

thumbs down for such an obvious fact! :)

• Baba O'Reilly on Oct 22, 2011 at 7:19 am

What’s with this hatred of the company? They’ve made European cars more accessible. Why not give them a thumbs up for offering more choices to the Malaysian consumer? Of course a profit is needed to keep the company alive, pay employees and expand the business. Don’t you go to work for a salary?

1. Automobiles Peugeot
      2. Vendors
      3. Logistics companies
      4. Nasim
      5. Government of Malaysia
      6. Dealers and salesmen

• eheemm RedBeanBun when do camry will change they suck 5 speed to 6 speed? Let me guess, its million years away,lol. Dont even mention the equidment level

• wait a minute, why people think this car is underpowered? bcos 1.6? then they should consider merc E200 0r E250 as underpowered which only powered by 1.8 engine with a body bigger and heavier than this.

• caruser on Oct 21, 2011 at 12:38 pm

508 is starting to look more appetising to me after seeing the prices of Jetta and Passat.

• Apparently there is a gearbox issue with 508, based on various reviews by foreign test drivers. I think the version we get may well have the same issue. see link below at 3.48

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FsWd3dlemEA

• laluan sehala on Oct 21, 2011 at 11:20 pm

The automatic gearbox of the diesel car featured in the video is the AM6 while the petrol version that we get, comes with the AT6. Do read the link for clarification:

http://under-the-skin.org.uk/news_peugeot_508.html

• Thanks for the clarification. But anyways, it seems that even AT6 has some issues. Please see the link below, in particular the last comment.

http://paultan.org/2010/01/27/peugeot-introduces-new-at6-6-speed-auto/

• laluan sehala on Oct 24, 2011 at 11:04 am

strange. could be an isolated case but generally, aisin transmissions are quite robust and reliable as opposed to what the last post mentioned in the link. they also feature in a popular german sportscar brand.

• Are you trying to compare a German makes with local makes?? Hey stop act naive, if they are comparable, our national car is selling worldwide now.
    And (if all)people like you, then they certainly will be a Proton hardcore fans, not VW. But please open your eye and look at the truth in market.
    Please don’t make my stomach lough, haha

• iskandar on Oct 23, 2011 at 4:29 pm

I was realy excite at first when knowing that 508 have reach our shores. Sad to say, the price in beyond my limit. i realy hope it sell at RM150K. or below…now i can just go to the peugeot centre and admire the masterpiece..isk isk isk..sob sob

• Maybe you could be interested in this one… which will be more affordable then the 508:

http://paultan.org/2011/06/12/peugeot-408-t73-sedan-spotted-undergoing-camouflaged-testing-on-the-highway/

• One SC at Peugeot Lot 88, Sungai Petani told me that this car can actually sprint form still to 100km/h in just 4.8sec and not 9.2 as spec. and this was done during his 508 training session by a pro french driver. any comment?

• laluan sehala on Oct 24, 2011 at 9:07 pm

don’t think so lah! hahahaha. 4.8 seconds? definitely not the 156bp turbo… for sure. wonder what the SC was having while undergoing through the training. if 8.4 seconds, maybe, just maybe believable lah.

• seen all brand and model, but might consider 508 among all… gonna to test drive before purchase

• Is the car CBU or CKD? No official statement on this matter yet. If CBU, hopefully in the future NASIM will make it CKD and sell below RM 150K.

• BernieBaby on Dec 05, 2011 at 4:45 pm

Been driving Continentals for over 30 years now. Japs car are okay for me though but I only rent them when I drive in other countries (only if there is Conti or Contis are just too expensive to rent). It’s either a Pug 508 , Mondeo or the Passat in my eyes now as a replacement car. The Pug 5XX series has always been winners , the 504 and 505 were driving gems and could take the old rural roads really well. I saw the 508 but to test drive it but chances are that will be my choice unless the Mondeo or the Passat gets the better of me. I always found the Pugs had character over the Fords and Volkswagens. I wonder about the Alfa 159.. but I heard the engine is not Alfa sourced.. what a shame.

• New Peugeot owner WWF 6755 unhappy & inexperience service Technician at Glemarie Service Center
    Pertaining to above matter I would like to highlight to Peugeout Management how bad my case was treated at Glenmarie Service Center and how unsatisfied myself with services rendered by so call main service centre of Peugeot.
    I received Peugeot 308 Turbo on 17th January 2012 2pm .From the moment I left the showroom at TTDI the car check engine light was on and the warning Log stated Engine fault and car needed to be repair.
    1. I called the sales advisor and he told me the check engine light will go off once I fill in the petrol but that didn’t happened and the check engine light was still on.
    2. After discussion we decided to take the car to Glenmarie Service Centre on 18th January 2012,
    3. 18th Janaury 2012 9.45am we reached Gelemarie service Centre and after waited for 20 minutes technician attended my car and he diagnosed the car using the computer/PDA and after 5 minutes he said the car is fine and no problem with the engine even though the error message indicate Turbo Fault. He reset the check engine light and handover the car to me without even test drive the car to check if the problem still persist. I left glenmarie and I drove the car approximately 5KM and the check engine light were on again and I can feel the Turbo is no longer working and feel like driving N/A Cars.
    4. 19th January 2012 10am Again I took the car to Glenmarie Service Centre , technician attended my car and he diagnosed the car using the computer/PDA and after 5 minutes he said the car is fine and no problem with the engine even though the error message indicate Turbo Fault. He reset the check engine light and handover the car to me. I left glenmarie and I drove the car approximately 20KM this time and the check engine light was on again and I can feel the Turbo is no longer working and feel like driving N/A Cars. That night I decided to write to NASIM/PEUGEOT and I wrote in details the event that took place from the day I received the car.
    5. 20th January 2012 9.15am, I received a call from Peugeot stating Trouble Ticket has been open for my case and the agent ask me to refer to Glenmarie again. My Nighmare started again, I took the car to Glenmarie Service Centre and reached the service centre sharp 9.45am.Customer service attended my case and told me I need to leave the car and collect the car latter in the evening. Shuttle services was not arranged to send me to office which is 7km away from glenmarie service centre but cab was called and I went back to office.
    6. 10.45am I called the service center and checked with the customer service the status of the car and the CS advised the technician still diagnosed the car and will update me.
    7. 11.50am, I called the service center and checked with the customer service the status of the car and the CS advised the technician still diagnosed the car and will update me.
    8. 15.50PM- I called the service center and checked with the customer service the status of the car and the CS advised the technician still diagnosed the car and will update me.
    9. 4.30PM the CS called and told me the car will ready by 6pm and I left office 5pm and reached glenmarie 5,15pm, for my disappointment the car was left in the service bay unattended by any technician since morning and the reason gave by the technician is they short of the computer/PDA to check the car as there is only 3 computers to service approximately 35 Peugeot cars daily.
    10. As a customer I feel very disappointed and angry with the way my case was handle and even though Nasim/Peugeot HQ called and inform the Glenmarie service center to prioritize my case but it was not done by the staff at Glenmarie.
    11. The CS didn’t treat my case as a urgent case and took the customer for granted.
    12. 17.30PM finally the technician attended my car diagnosed the car using the PDA and did some software update and reset the check engine light. The PDA indicated TURBO FAULT and another Vault Error. Technician reset the check engine light.
    13. 6PM the technician and myself took the car out to test drive the car, to check if the problem still persist and as suspected the check engine light was on and the Turbo was not working.
    14. The Senior Technician told me indeed the problem was with turbo system and I have to leave the car at Glemarie and only will be able to collect the car on 21st January 2012 1PM.
    15. 21st January the Technician still couldn’t resolve the Turbo Fault Issue and the check engine light was still on.
    16. We notice another problem with the car which is pulling to left and the Bluetooth function of the car not functioning.
    17. 21st January 2PM I was informed by NASIM/PEUGEOT Technician that my car only can be repair after Chinese year which is after 25th January 2012.
    18. It’s already more than a week I bought and received the car but never get to drive the car until today.
    19. Peugeot/Nasim must compensate for all the travel charges occurred and taxi fare and time wasted to rectify this problem.
    If more senior technician was assigned to attend my case from the first day I send the car the problem wouldn’t have drag this long and I do not need to go through this hassle. At the same time it is very clear that staff at Glenmarie don’t understand the escalation process and how urgent it is to attend and solve the issue. My car was not attended from 9.45am-5.50pm due to shortage of the servicing equipment/tools at the centre. To a customer is this an acceptable excuse? The hassle I had to go through for last 3 days is really have created bad impression on Peugeout and after sales and services.
    I will never recommend Peugeot car to my family and friends not because the car is not good but the after sales and a service is really bad and the technician is incompetent to handle Peugeot cars in Malaysia.
    I even thinking to file my case at Consumer Court and highlight in media.
    Peugeot is award winning car but the customer service is not even close to be nominated to any award and I really hope other peugeout owner will not go through the night mare that I went through so far.
    I really hope authorities will take necessary action to protect consumer like me which taken for granted

• you don’t want to make service appointment for peugeot but you don’t mind doing it for honda, toyota, or nissan. why the double standards? you even make service appointments for proton and perodua.

• Derrick C on May 24, 2012 at 3:29 pm

Don’t get it! What ru trying to address here, friend???

• there are also many other happy peugeot owners out there.

• Wednesday on Mar 28, 2012 at 8:36 am

It is said to be sold out and buyers will only get their cars mid year. Wonder when will the next batch come in.

• Shariman on Apr 12, 2012 at 12:16 am

Now that the spec for the ‘new’ 2012 Camry is out, I guess many of us will be running to make our booking at the nearest Toyota huh….

• yup. even though it is not really ‘new’, it will surely sell loads. that is the power of the japanese brand here in malaysia.

• puggy on Apr 15, 2012 at 9:09 pm

Does the prince engine use in 508 same as 308 Turbo?? I heard a lot of problems occur in prince engine of 308T. That was a nightmare to the driver. Any of 508 owner that can give his/her opinion about dis car. TQSM.

• Tokeh on Apr 25, 2012 at 11:07 am

will get mine this weekend, heard next batch will be CKD but the price is same..

• yyoufook on Jun 03, 2012 at 8:52 pm

wow..508 easy ta pau New camry..& save 11k..haha

• I am a pug owner 508, don’t doubt my ownership, cause if you do, come and see for yourself. I don’t mind.
    I don’t know bout the service centre cause my car has not passed first service yet. But I sure can say the salesman are sure not ethical. They told me that the GPS malaysian map may come in, within about 3 months, then at that time i can actually bring it to the service centre and upload it. How does that sound for you? Good? Later when I get the car, I call the call centre, their answer was, currently, there is no plan being pursued on bringing in the Malaysian map. So my question is, where did the salesman get the 3 months timeline? Honestly, it is not essential to the car, but its part and parcel in helping me decide which car to get. Now I feel cheated, make complain, no one really cares, push back to salesman, salesman call up, say he was right he only said maybe will come in 3 months, plus he already give me tinting , plate number, etc so those are a sort of compensation already. WHAT? That is not related to the GPS map lor. So yes, I am disappointed on that, I call that unprofessional. Makes me feel that to sell, he’ll say anything. If he can do that and management not taking any action, the question that I would ask is….what makes us think that any of their other salesman would not try to give false hope on the benefit of the car, only to tell you that he was only telling you the possibility, not certainty? How much can you trust them when there is no accountability fro higher power?

• I have been looking around forums, discussion threads, blogs and review sites of the new Peugeot 508, because I’ve strong interest in getting it anytime soon, looking at most of the comments it seems that the after sales and service is the main thing that puts people off or rather a stumbling block when coming to a final decision. Yes it is happening to me and I’m very worried that I’ll be in such shoes as 6755 and his nightmare.

I’m getting past the mindset of owning a continental cars versus Japanese makes and I’m definately looking forward to having a continental make and being prepared mentally and financially, but somehow reading all the issues about after sales does makes me think twice. I believe these are the backbone or the pinnacle to complete the who buying process and proud to own that particular brand. If one or two customers complaint such service, it may deem as hard to handle customers, but many in majority are throwing spanners at their service center it must be something very important that they need to look into besides having sales units, having said that even one or two customer complaints it should be taken seriously as their goal should be 100% customer satisfaction with service.

How are we going to move forward if companies and employees are not having the same or some form of finesse or thinking as the brand? It is highly questionable and just wonder why sometimes we are losing out to neighbouring countries.

• Rahul on Sep 17, 2012 at 1:34 pm

Paultan in this article clearly mention that there will be GPS map by 2012.

According to Peugeot, there will be no map. So either Paultan’s information is no longer accurate or Peugeot is lying to Paultan.

Really puzzles me. If things we can see can be lied about, what about things we can’t?

Hear everything with a pinch of salt.

• Espresso! Quick! on Nov 15, 2012 at 9:56 am

paul reports what is in the media pack. if it was correct at time of publishing, why the speculation? it is just an unfortunate turn of events that peugeot themselves conned nasim into believing that there will be gps. all work on the gps has stopped indefinitely. so stop griping about it.

• Titus Raj on Jul 13, 2017 at 11:55 am

Owned for almost 5 years now, 125,000 km. First wear and tear issue this week, which is the drive shaft. Beautiful Car in Looks and aesthetics. Awesome performance . Very good service center in Ipoh. GPS works. Not so accurate in KL.