Proton and China’s Hawtai Motor Group sign MoU

Proton and China’s Hawtai Motor Group sign MoUProton and Chinese auto company Hawtai Motor Group Ltd signed a Memorandum of Understanding today to explore collaboration in product development with the aim of expanding Proton’s presence in the Chinese market.

The MoU was signed by Proton Group MD Datuk Seri Haji Syed Zainal Abidin Syed Mohamed Tahir and the Executive President of Hawtai, Hou Haijing in Nanning, China, witnessed by the Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak and Minister of International Trade and Industry, Datuk Mustapha Mohamed.

Under the MoU, Proton and Hawtai will evaluate the possible establishment of a Joint Venture Company (JV Co.) in China, to invest in joint new product development including joint design and development cost sharing. Both companies will spend the next three months finalising their study of the business case.

Proton says Hawtai are looking at manufacturing the Proton Exora MPV as well as the upcoming Proton P3-21A sedan in China, which by the way is set to debut in early 2012. The two companies will explore the development of new models together in later phase.

The joint venture company will also be responsible for vendor sourcing and component development work with local Chinese vendors. This will hopefully allow Proton to tap into low cost vendors in China and explore the potential of cross-supplying components from local Malaysian vendors to China and vice-versa.

Beijing-based Hawtai currently has the capacity to make about 200,000 vehicles, 300,000 engines and 300,000 automatic transmissions a year. Hawtai also has a joint venture with South Korea’s Hyundai Motors to manufacture the Chinese-market versions of the Hyundai Matrix, Hyundai Santa Fe and Hyundai Terracan.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Expatriate VN on Oct 21, 2011 at 6:38 pm

Why so many MoUMoU here, Moo-Moo there?

• MoFaz on Oct 21, 2011 at 9:18 pm

why r u so jelous?

• bcoz he hate Proton.. he doesnt seem happy after seeing Proton got many MoUMoU~~ thats mean proton is moving forward..(eh, is that toyota tagline, “moving forward”?)

• Mezo Syed on Oct 22, 2011 at 10:11 am

so what exactly is wrong with signing MoU’s it is an indication that there are basis for further negotiation and collaboration

Takkan Proton nak find partners in China is also wrong?

Everyone is looking for a partner in what will be the largest auto market in the near future

it only makes sense

• kimi_ on Oct 22, 2011 at 1:58 pm

I thiugh Hwatai is making biscuit company!!!

• taboogen on Oct 22, 2011 at 9:56 pm

thats what happened when u lived under the rock

• Low knowledge like you think like that

• Expatriate VN on Oct 22, 2011 at 4:33 pm

MoU with Chinese car maker is “as good as allowed cat access into your fridge to look for fish!”.

“But this jaguh kampong day dreaming is hopefully the cat can catches mouse!”

• Consumers fall victim to export-oriented strategy(korea)
            http://www.koreatimes.co.kr/www/news/opinon/2011/05/202_86490.html
            Rusted Hyundai-Kia Cars Recalled in US, but Not in Korea
            http://www.koreatimes.co.kr/www/news/biz/2010/03/123_63008.html
            Hyundai Motor’s rise
            http://www.koreatimes.co.kr/www/news/opinon/2011/08/202_91940.html
            below some text from article above
            “Hyundai has long come under criticism for selling its cars at higher prices at home than overseas. Some skeptics claim that the quality of Hyundai cars for domestic sale is not as good as that of vehicles for export. If the claim is true, the company should scrap its policy of discriminating against local consumers.”

• MoFaz on Oct 22, 2011 at 10:50 pm

dey immigrant, don’t be such an idiot.
            Audi, BMW, Ford, Fiat, GM, VW, Honda, Mitsu, Mazda, Toyota, Nissan all have JV with chinese car makers. it’s China’s automotive policy that require foreign auto makers to have JV with local Chinese companies.

• Expatriate VN on Oct 23, 2011 at 9:49 am

Wow MooFart attack dog! Don’t try to be smart, which instead very bodoh sombong.

Our jaguh kampong in no way came to the status as other car manufacturers mentioned by you! Our jaguh kampong products doest not appeal even in local, don’t talk about world market! What JV, bullshit ……

• nobody want to comment about my link i give above? afraid to read?..i will post same comment over and over as long there is articles bout bolehland car or hangu car mention

• That your opinion if you so good in doing business what where is world class company

• Expatriate VN on Oct 22, 2011 at 4:29 pm

So jealous! Like asking me “jeolous Maddona” because she is still “virgin”!

• M'sian Salvatore on Oct 22, 2011 at 2:00 am

For show only. every1 in the world know Proton is a worse automaker. R u dare u buy Proton share? huge losses await u with group lotus crisis matter. i prefer to call it a crisis rather than huge consume money or financial difficulty.

• Belang on Oct 22, 2011 at 3:32 am

if proton is worse carmaker, then why last time volkswagen are eager to buy proton share? from what i know, proton got lots of idea, but lack of money~ plus, proton factory in tanjung malim is the most advance factory in the world(according to “How do they do it” documentary in Discovery channel few years ago).. again, most carmakers in the world are jealous of proton bcoz they have Lotus.. how can a small carmaker own a Sportscar Company.. Lotus can be great sports car maker if Proton have lots of money to invest.. but as i said earlier, proton is lack of money.. thats why we can see many problem occurs to both company..

• Hadi75 on Oct 22, 2011 at 9:29 am

Bcos most probably VW dont want to spend alots of money building new factory since Proton factory is already under utilise….
          Having the most advanced auto factory in the world doesnt mean anything if u can only sell well ur product in your own country and yet still cannot fix the power window problem……
          Why would other carmakers be jealous of Proton for owning Lotus….Lotus is not the only sportcar maker in the world…there are others. Also Lotus also is not the only company that specialise in suspension and handling of cars….

• Belang on Oct 22, 2011 at 11:42 am

already lack of issue? often hear about POWER WINDOW problem eventhough after proton give lifetime warranty~ i wonder how did people drive their Proton until all looks like to broke down? i’ve drive my Gen2 (first model-2004), my parent have Wira from 1997 model and until today we never suffer any problem such as power windows and what so ever.. i also have Toyota Vios in case if people said i was proton boy.. both my proton have never suffered a serious problem~

• mizzuddin on Oct 25, 2011 at 12:39 am

yg problem tu suma tkde duit nk servis kereta accordingly…

save sana save sini… minyak itam pun beli yang murah

• rayVIOS on Oct 25, 2011 at 2:09 pm

betol tu. aku nye Satria elok lagi smpai sekarang, apa kes? sapa2 nk jawab x? xdak pun masalah power window laa, apa laa.. camna korg bawak kereta? main hentam cam bawak jeep masuk hutan ke? kalau pandai jaga kereta, x laa rosak.. ini pakai minyak enjin cap ayam, pakai spare part ntah kedai bodo mana punya yg cap2 ayam.. korang pun cap ayam.. bodo.. asal rosak hntr kat mekanik cap ayam, pakai pulak sparepart cap ayam.. kereta dari elok tros jd cap ayam.. tu lah mentaliti orang malaysia.

• Saya sayang Malaysia on Oct 22, 2011 at 12:52 pm

Bodoh punya komen balik2 power windows aku pakai gen2 2006 pun ok aje power windows dia…tak ada masalah…kau ingat kereta lain x ada masalh ke…abng aku keje kat honda pun ada ckp honda pun ada mengalami masalah yang sama…x kan owner honda nak ckp ngan orang power window ada masalah…malu oooooo…bengong…kau pakai kete apa???ckp berlagak mcm kete kau tak ada msalah..kalau ada masalah x kan nak ckp..pendam ajelah dalam hati sampai m**i…he..he..he

• Hadi75 on Oct 23, 2011 at 11:15 am

Saya sayang malaysia….ada ke aku tulis kat situ keta lain takde masalah…bodoh betul….baca betul2….fahamkan betul2….aku cuma bg contoh…..tak guna ada kilang tercanggih didunia kalo kereta yg dijual hanya laku kat negeri sendiri…masalah spt power window mengambil masa yg lama utk diselesaikan…..kilang under utilise….bla…bla….bla…

• littlefire on Oct 22, 2011 at 9:38 am

If want to talk about VW & P1, please read the wikileaks info before commenting…

http://malaysia-today.net/mtcolumns/44147-wikileaks-malaysian-government-decides-proton

• Belang on Oct 22, 2011 at 11:46 am

sorry, i will never trust internet news or wikileaks as i is use to bring down most of today government and people and use to give 2 or more country suspicious to each others~
            just dig to the people who involve directly to the things and you’ll get the purest answer rather than modified answer..

• littlefire on Oct 23, 2011 at 9:56 am

So if the facts are wrong why not P1 & the G sue him?!? I tot they very fast to sue ppl especially RPK 1?!? LOL… Now all very quite, no body even clarify about this news is fake from any side…

* Sure later got some hardcore fans will claim RPK go oversea hide cannot sue him… lolz… Anyway, you still can make police report at Malaysia & wait for him to come back to be capture & sue.. Still remember that RPK sign agreement with Wikileaks owner to help publish malaysian insider news?!? That why most are in Malaysia-todat.net.. Is what u choose to believe like those hardcore/trooper P1 fans & haters..

http://www.freemalaysiatoday.com/2011/05/18/raja-petra-teams-up-with-wikileaks/

• Expatriate VN on Oct 23, 2011 at 12:57 pm

So, by your craps, never trust PT Blog content as well, don’t trust anything and everything in internet, go become katak, dan duduk dibawah tempurung ……..

• Belang on Oct 23, 2011 at 9:34 pm

expat : why are you so annoying and SUPERDUMB? cant you difference between rumors or fake news and facts? how can you believe wikileaks when they are only just leaking news that we never knows?
            i am referring to the WIKILEAKS and MALAYSIAN TODAY LINK lah you stupid idi*t AS* **LES..

• Expatriate VN on Oct 24, 2011 at 9:49 am

Belang – who is the most idiots and dumb ass? Wikileaks credibility is at all time way light year better than our MSM, or that DUmno chap in Penang that cut and paste chess player from HK, and create blatant lies by relate to Penang CM son in sex scandal! Who tell the truth and lies?

Of course Wikileaks leaking news that we don’t know, most of the time any govs (MY,US, SG, etc) hide from the rakyat. Wikileaks normally release highly classified and confidential information for the people to know the real facts about their gov “wrongdoing”, and they are not selective in releasing all info at their disposal.

I don’t see any issue if the original Wikileaks info is link to M-T. You think P1 have MoU only. M-T also has MoU with Wikilieaks to publish a lot of info in M-T site, which normally consider as “secondary source” news published by 3rd party. So, M-T do a service to us by published those related to our country only.

If you still cannot get the point, then you are truly idiot of worst kind.

• MoFaz on Oct 24, 2011 at 3:00 pm

hahaha.. this stupid expat (opss.. immigrant) thinks MT has MoU with wikileaks? get a life la bodoh.

• you ask reader to read wikileaks but give link to malaysia-today website. give link to the original cable document lar bro!. even malaysia-today also does not provide the link to the cable.

wikileaks share cable documents, mostly on what US agents (embassy, etc) thinks is the right information to report back to washington. what they think is might be not the right thing, otherwise they dont attack iraq on pretext of wmd, only later after thousands killed only said eh sorry! our mistake, no wmd!

• MoFaz on Oct 22, 2011 at 3:41 pm

he’s soo little, knows nothing.

• Expatriate VN on Oct 22, 2011 at 10:28 pm

” what they think is might be not the right thing, otherwise they dont attack iraq on pretext of wmd, only later after thousands killed only said eh sorry! our mistake, no wmd!”

– this is pure simpleton craps! What make you believe, and/or have a strong ground to believed it is purely WMD reason for US to attack Iraq?

– how true is your statement compare with wikileak info? Your craps as good as syiok sendiri wishful thinking for the sake of attacking like mad attack dog!

• every body say “BBBOOOOOOOO”
            i can see that is the MALAYSIA-TODAY laa.. not wikileaks~~ how i trust it was pure information.? can u give a damn sh** of guarantee that what they publish is not altered?

• MoFaz on Oct 22, 2011 at 11:05 pm

they would somehow twist the words to make it sound bad. previous report on Proton, they mentioned “Proton profit drop RMXXX million” or “Proton Q4 profits down XX%” which make people think that Proton is making loss, while actually they still have nett profit.

• Expatriate VN on Oct 23, 2011 at 12:54 pm

P1 also like to twist all the time that the facts are few year it is actually make loss on selling car. But their creative accounting team “twist-and-turn” or “tweaking”, included selling of assets and government’s R & D grant as part of “cash-inflow”, at the end the balance sheet turn from “RED” to “BLACK” to make it feel good syiok sendiri!

• If you think you can do better make your own car and sell we how good your market share and how much share holder get profit. Proton doing business we support our local company if you don’t it like your own children . You bring them into the world and tell everybody your children are no good what the hell is this ?

• catdog on Oct 22, 2011 at 8:59 pm

Sokong. mou sana-sini…kita mahukan hasil. p1 mmg ada peningkatan, tapi ia lum cukup, ya lum cukup! ibarat p1 naik 1 langkah tapi org lain naik 3 langkah. apapun ramai rakyat mahukan p1 berjaya,,komen2 yg sedikit negatif ni bukan apa cume tidak mahu terlalu kecewa bila p1 gagal

• qeer PROTON on Oct 23, 2011 at 12:45 pm

I hope that to those who critics Proton so badly, are having nice mercedes benz in their garrage..WHAAAAT!!!! you don’t even have that stupid hyundai getz??????!!!!! what a looser. stop saying “stupid” things, and be wide open mind..

• Hameed Koyakuti on Oct 24, 2011 at 10:38 am

BILA P1 MAU BANKRAP ???

ENUFF OF THESE IDIOTS AND CRAPS !!!

Kah kah kah, i was offered to put a proposal to turnaround Lotus !!!!! No need la buggers idiots, Turnaround P1 1st, that one i can volunteer……

Lotus just sell off and make profit, next year buy Ferrari or GM units…….

• This business what do you know about business, if you know you don’t talk like this

• LOL @ OUR NATIONAL CAR on Oct 21, 2011 at 7:09 pm

If business not doing well, more MoU can help to increase the share price.

• We see we support not we see we critisied , who the hell are doing thing like this ? I don’t know what you learn in your life than criticising what other people doing. No body is perfect and no body start business get success easily so when people work hard support if can do better prove it not condemning a good effort they doing

• dzulx on Oct 21, 2011 at 7:42 pm

Just release the f****** extra turbo will you!!!
    MoU cannot be test driven…

• synzx1386 on Oct 21, 2011 at 11:01 pm

your lack of knowledge knows no bounds…..the world may be too complicated for your simple mind..keep your self deprecating remarks to yourself!!

• Sonic Boomz on Oct 22, 2011 at 9:46 pm

It would be better for the world if you shut up synzx1386 aka proton cyber trooper

• P1 Turbo still on debugging.. If now launched, it will come out look like fire lighter… Burning… haha

• MoFaz on Oct 22, 2011 at 7:59 am

Myvi without turbo can burn also.. Ferrari and Audi R8 got burned also. not enough debugging?

• Should measure in quantity. P1 power windows many problem for years and extreme quantity. But other brand is one or two. I just support P1 now only due to they have changed their mind and have more testing period before launching.

• MoFaz on Oct 22, 2011 at 3:44 pm

why suddenly talk about power window..? we’re talking bout burning car here. but yes the percentage already went down based on their report earlier.

• he have no idea meyh. asik2 power window. woii, aku bosan laaa. cari laa isu lain boleh x??

• The Unicons on Oct 21, 2011 at 7:46 pm

About Hawtai, does it have a good reputation? Worried it becomes “black-heart” and giving Proton a crap products….. transmission for example, and other components of course.

Proton should keep ZF and Getrag and getting working with more reliable and good reputation companies….

• MoFaz on Oct 22, 2011 at 8:36 am

The main reason is to enter China. You have to get JV with local companies or build factories in China to sell car there due to their automotive policy. Audi has JV with FAW, BMW has JV with Brilliance Auto, and VW + GM with SAIC… just to mention a few.
      all big chinese companies already have JV with other giants, and if Proton do JV with them, they might not take Proton’s products seriously so the JV might fail to bring the benefits to Proton. Youngman and Hawtai are relatively new in automotive industries and they do not have enough products to offer in China, so Proton could offer their lineups. in the other hand, Youngman could help Proton in heavy vehicles tech, and Hawtai could offer their Euro5 diesel engine tech to Proton. from other news, Euro4 diesel will be available in Malaysia in 2013, and Proton will launch Exora Diesel in UK by 2014.
      Proton use Punch CVT, i don’t think they will use Hawtai transmission because Punch also has factories in China. interestingly enough, both Punch and Hawtai gearboxes use technology from ZF, but Hawtai’s is not CVT.

• Expatriate VN on Oct 23, 2011 at 1:05 pm

Oh, oh, oh …………. MooFart, P1, Jaguh Kampong from Malaysia can JV with Youngman and Hawtai only, also Jaguh Kampong from China ………..

Talk like bodoh sombong, some more claim Youngman could help Proton in heavy vehicles tech …… Moo Moo here and there ……. small car already got so many quality issue until have to offered 10 year warranty for one small component, some more want to built heavy vehicles – what kind in the plan – it is as good as pipe-dream …..

• TFazuin on Oct 24, 2011 at 8:32 pm

Expatriate VN says,

My imported CBU car power window also burned the motor after 7 years, and you’re making a fuss over a Proton giving 10 years warranty?

Not every car maker will admit a mistake and issue a recall much less a lifetime warranty. What Proton did is similar to what Hyundai did giving a lifetime warranty for the drivetrain in the US.

I’m in Houston, TX now and I want to try the local Chevrolet Camaro on rental. Its’s the US version of Proton. GM is a failure, but they do make some inspiring cars. I support the local US, car industry when I am here.

Yes when you go into China for business, you have to give away 50% equity or 51% equity to state owned companies. That is the law there. I’ve run the back office for finances supported from KL and we have more than our share of lessons on how to do business in China. MOU is normal, its non-binding as compared LOI, LOU.

• bongek on Oct 21, 2011 at 8:10 pm

proton to get low cost vendor and cross vendor program…ermmm…not bad idea for malaysian automatic vendor

• When to settle MOU with Hwa Tai (biscuit)? XP

• takin on Oct 21, 2011 at 8:14 pm

what happened to the Youngman ?
    whatever it is..
    wish u all the best proton :)

• Ra - One on Oct 21, 2011 at 8:51 pm

Some blog saying Persona have two main variant – hatchback and sedan. Hatchback is going to be launched before sedan. The Lotus engineers is preparing P3-22A model, known as a variant of Persona R?

Any idea Paul? I’m planning to get a new car so I need info. Besides, waiting for 2011/2012 Hyundai Accent… I need to get some info before getting a right car for myself. Thanks.

• kivatt0024 on Oct 22, 2011 at 7:55 pm

4 ur info the PERSONA R will launch the sedan first…and then they will launch the hatchback on 2013….the Global Small Car also coming through including the SAGA R….

• Potong news i always click the button on the top ‘ Meh ‘

• MoFaz on Oct 22, 2011 at 3:40 pm

i would suggest paultan to add 1 special button just for your nick: ‘ kick ‘

• MoFaz on Oct 21, 2011 at 9:26 pm

so far, we haven’t heard Proton-Youngman terminate their agreement or ventures, so that’s mean Proton will collaborate with 2 rival chinese companies, or Proton take a new partner because Youngman now trying to get Saab?
    what about Proton-Youngman SUV project? and i read in other forum that Proton-Youngman also has electric truck and bus project. i wonder what’s gonna happen next…

• Shit… P1 being thrown by Youngman? Sad..

• MoFaz on Oct 22, 2011 at 11:24 pm

no news about proton-youngman deal, so you can’t assume that they throw proton just yet. as i mentioned above, they still have several on-going projects including SUV and electric truck & buses using technology developed by Proton & Frazer & Nash.
        the way i see it, IMHO, youngman is trying to buy Saab to get into european market.

• Expatriate VN on Oct 23, 2011 at 2:23 pm

“on-going projects including SUV and electric truck & buses using technology developed by Proton & Frazer & Nash.”

– Moo Fart too much, put your foot in your mouth when you are craps – electric truck & buses – come with remote control …………

• :) proton waja is the best car in the world ;)

• agreed.especially its ride and handling.can ride terowong menora up and down within 10 minutes only..

• rahim seksyen 5 on Oct 21, 2011 at 9:47 pm

Sounds like desperation on Proton’s side.
    Ask to MOU with VW tarik harga / sombong ,
    Already facing problems with low quality products and blaming vendors instead,
    Proton now wants to go to China to source for cheaper parts.
    Good luck P1 in your quest to source for cheaper power windows !!!

• MoFaz on Oct 22, 2011 at 8:51 am

try disassemble your car and count how many “made in china” parts you have. probably your power window also come from china.

• Saya sayang Malaysia on Oct 22, 2011 at 12:59 pm

lagi sorang punya hamlau…x ade cerita lain ke balik2 power windows..kan proton dah bagi life time warranty (10 tahun atau 250,000km) x ckp lagi ke…mana da syarikat lain boleh bagi…kalau dah bgi life time warranty bermakna produk tu dah bagus…kalau guna power window macm be**k mana x rosak power windows…bengong punya orang..

• kivatt0024 on Oct 22, 2011 at 7:58 pm

bro..if vw bought proton we can’t consider it as our national car maa…vw want 60% of the share…then what can we get..?? lots of our local engineer will be kick out…u want to pay their compensation…?? haiya….dont talk like tin milo maa….

• Potong going to rebadge Chinan cars next….

• Every company go to china most of the product in the world comes from china. Please this the karma take it.

• So future Protons will be made of chinese ‘low cost’ parts?

• MoFaz on Oct 22, 2011 at 8:55 am

don’t be sceptic… iphone made in china, does it mean iphone is not good? the most important is quality control (QC).. not “where” it was made. i can trust chinese products, but not foodstuffs.

• blue-traveler on Oct 22, 2011 at 12:04 pm

Wrong! Again. iphone is assemble by A Taiwanese company with its main industry hub in china, that runs like a military camp. (thou that its now being challenged by another Taiwan co., that have gab some small contract rights to assemble some of the new ipad3/ipad HD in Taiwan and also china, with the old company plea/ dealing/ asking apple to retain its status-quo as the only one,) Nearly 83% of all it parts are form else where. Important components are from Korea, Japan, all over America -not just usa, but America if you still don’t get it- and 1 S.E.A. Asia country, I will let you guess which, thou its only 1 small minor part, which anyone can make. Apple value secrecy over all else. Doubt you will find it. Most of its workers don’t even know who they are making for. But i have digress. Main point is, buddy for you, to stick being the “good little bureaucrat” that stand by proton come rain or shine, ok. Arm with all the know-how know-who, and gods know where you got the info from,(imho, from the hard facts that you have posted for this topic, I’m guessing some internal sources) and keep on entertaining us, sorry I meant enlightening us “poor sob complaining having to pay so much for cars here, in a country where to work, a car/motorbike is a must for 70% of workforce. Cause public transport suck big time.) Thank you.
        P/S, even before I click the comments, I knew you would be here shooting down other people. i click here just to see how intensive the fire is, and how feq/long you show up here. And i was right and you didn’t disappoint me, infact won me a free lunch from my collage. Thank you. And for your info. I’m not against this MOU. Any mou is a sound business plan to explore option. Just don’t overuse and to jerk people around, else one will lose some credibility in the business circle.

• MoFaz on Oct 22, 2011 at 3:51 pm

i didn’t said by which company, i said it was made in china. you said i’m wrong. then you said it yourself that it was made in china. so, you also wrong???? now, please read carefully before you judge anyone’s statements.

• tokmoh on Oct 23, 2011 at 12:49 am

That guy never owns any Apple products to stubbornly say it’s made in TAiwan when every Apple product clearly states “designed in california assembled in china”

Probably he’s one of those taiwanese who’s against taiwan = china

• MoFaz on Oct 22, 2011 at 4:36 pm

clearly u have a grudge against me. if you disagree, you can always write your opinions…
          now it’s time for me to say that you’re dead WRONG. i do not have any insiders in Proton or gov related to automotive business. i can assure you that whatever i wrote here are based on my understanding, from what i gather by reading numerous auto-related news and blogs.
          but, you’re right about me being Proton fan. you’re right that i can always be found in proton related topic, so is everyone else. you can see ‘proton’ get hundreds of comments, while some other news somehow get very little reaction from paultan readers. many would write badly, and some people will give opinion and overview from different perspective.
          you can see that a simple MoU like this would get bashing.. i don’t think proton did any mistake here, they’re just trying to expand. why so butthurt? maybe because you can’t call proton “jaguh kampung” if they succeed? well i think people like you won’t even support your own family member, and when they succeed, you will be enraged with jealousy.
          so, you know a great deal about apple. did you know much about our own automotive industry, and do you understand anything about any policy? many people said that import tax was raised after proton started. so let me tell you that they’re wrong. a senior economist in japan wrote that the import tariffs were drastically raised on completed cars in 1967, almost 20 years before proton.
          i’m happy for you that you get a free lunch by betting on me. if you’re a muslim, you should stop doing that because betting is haram in islam.

• tec96248 on Oct 23, 2011 at 2:22 am

wow, why suddenly talked about religion? my goodness.
            it doesn’t matter who economist written the import tariffs, like it or not, have to live with it. should save the time for something more fruitful. MoU, JV, etc., doesn’t matter much if can’t bring profit and sustainability. it will be more interesting when and where they launch new models, and we all can taste it or own it.

• tec96248 on Oct 22, 2011 at 4:49 pm

it’s feel good. indeed entertaining reading those irrelevant comments in automotive blog. way to go, mate. hahaha.

• wow~! wikipedia bergerak~! copy paste boleh laa~~

• Yes.. I support. It is depend how much the brand want to pay for the cost of production. If customer want cheap, they give cheap. China can make rocket, Malaysia also can’t. Malaysian only eat roti canai on the moon.. But other make research on the moon.

• iPhone is indeed made in china, but designed in Californa, not Bolehland.

• China make everything you go to US UK all from china . They accept that. Who are slow develop person ?

• DewaSemut on Oct 21, 2011 at 10:43 pm

Not a strange move by automakers these days.. good move Proton to join the bandwagon of automakers into JVs n stuff…

• DewaSemut on Oct 21, 2011 at 10:59 pm

So now we know from where Proton’s first SUV will be coming from… :)

IMHO Hawtai SUV is kinda decent looking… ple Proton don’t just rebadge bulat2 like what u did with Inspira… do some extensive mod just like what Peugeot n Citroen did to Mitsu ASX.

http://paultan.org/photo/index.php?album=guangzhou-2010-hawtai-b35-suv&image=dsc_0885b.jpg

• Evoque on Oct 22, 2011 at 7:49 am

The rear of tt HawTai suv very alike to old porsche cayenne. Tak boleh tahan, want vomit!!

• MoFaz on Oct 22, 2011 at 8:47 am

nope. Proton’s SUV (Iguana Project) is based on Exora platform and already undergone testing. it was reported that Youngman paid for the development cost while Proton/Lotus do the R&D. it will be launched as Youngman/Europestar first, and Proton will have the option to rebadge it later.

• Tin Milo and Biscuit MoU~

*just want to see how many unlike i’ll get with this statement~ ;P

• waaa.. until this time i only got 1 dislike meyh? i thought peoples will hentam me kaw2 bcoz i said tin milo to proton~ last time i say something bad to proton i get so many thumbs down~~ :D

• milo + biscuit nyum nyum.. on Oct 22, 2011 at 4:09 am

cicah biskut dalam milo…………….. fuhhhhhhhhhhhh sodapppppp !!!

somehow feel so hungry now.. damn proton and biscuit, u made me hunger !

• Saya sayang Malaysia on Oct 22, 2011 at 1:04 pm

nie lagi sorang punya group bodoh…kau dpt beza tak diantara tin milo dgn metarial untk buat kete?…susah2 mak abah kau hntr gi sekolah tingi2 tp otak beku semacam. kalau kete buat dri tin milo tak la susah pembuat kete nak cari…srh orang macm kau aje kumpulkan…kalau setakat pakai Honda (moped) baik x yah kecoh…

• alfie60 on Oct 22, 2011 at 12:11 am

What can they learn from this shiity company? Even power window takes them 25 years to sort it out?

• MoFaz on Oct 22, 2011 at 9:11 am

their first car waja launched in 2000, i don’t know how you count but i know 2000-2011 is not 25 years.
      Toyota recalled their cars in US in 2008 due to power window, Honda also recalled their cars due to power window switch that might get short-circuit and may lead to fire. it takes them 60-70 years to sort it out??

• When the time wira its self PW have so many problem, opp.. my stmt is not so accurate, when their leader is not Japanese in proton, the whole car have problem, especially QC, from my knowledge, proton car have no QC check on vendor part’s…… what their practise it pick & place on their production line… Proton recently announced that their PW life warranty, life warranty means 10 yrs only , what their expected the car lifetime end…. Is the 1st time i heard that car maker announced the car lifetime…. T&C is you are not warranty if any 1 time services not done in Proton…. this mean actually is you the one who pay the PW money. 3 yrs car warranty period… 7yrs service in proton, RM50 extra p/service , 1year u services 2 times, RM700 extra u need to pay…. if RM200 per set, proton still have Rm100 profit…. wat proton need to do is make sure PW can last for 28 month per set….. Think about it, proton just past the cost to the owner & just do announcement… Honda & toyota willing to recall any car that have problem, but do proton recall any car since the 1st car out from production line? means that their car is not problem at all in proton mind and yet owner still non stop complaining. What a shame to proton, P2 establish shorter than proton, funds not much as proton and P2 only sell kancil & rusa when beginning….. their car able to sell higher price compare proton and ppl still demand on their product… Prove & evidence win it al…..

• MoFaz on Oct 22, 2011 at 12:16 pm

dude, don’t just assume before you write. please check for facts! how hard is it to type “Proton recall” in google? Proton has done plenty of recalls. last year they recalled gen2 produced in 2004, 6 year old cars. this shows that a recall will be done even beyond the warranty period.
          you have to understand that recalls are made for serious or life threatening defects. Honda recalls their cars to fix the power window because a 2-years old girl died due to fire from their pw switch! Toyota recall their cars after many complaints regarding accelerator pedals.
          there are some cases of PW issues on Myvi, just search “myvi power window” and you can see plenty of it. and you can search also for “My Honda Tak Guna” in google. do you hear any major recall regarding those issues?

• Saya sayang Malaysia on Oct 22, 2011 at 1:13 pm

takkan dalam 10 tahun kau pakai kete PW asyik ada masalah aje …apa orang ke BE**K yg pakai…aku pun guna proton juga tapi buat masa nie x ada pun masalah berkaitan dengan PW…Aku jaga senang aje PW aku, belikan PW lubricant setiap bulan aku letakkan kat getah di tepi tingkap bgi licin…negara kita kan Iklim panas…kebiasaanya getah kat tingkap akan keras…sampai hri ini “no problem’ dah nak masuk 7 tahun dah….nak lgi senang jgn buka tingkap dri beli sampai dah nak menopouse kereta kau…gerenti x ada masalah..

• The Unicons on Oct 22, 2011 at 6:31 pm

Still remember…. Honda also got power window problem. it leaks.. and if lots of amount of water goes into the switch…. your Honda will burn into flames…. Worst then Proton….

But I never bashing Honda blindly… like you did to Proton…

• MoFaz on Oct 22, 2011 at 11:17 pm

yeah.. a 2-yo girl died due to fire caused by short-circuit in Honda’s PW switch.

• kivatt0024 on Oct 22, 2011 at 7:59 pm

open ur own car making company la……!!!

• Bizaro on Oct 22, 2011 at 8:35 am

Made in China always NG (No Good). Copy-paste-stupid rapid development-profit no. 1=China’s culture!

• China said becoz people want cheap. They provide biscuit thin lor.. that is normal. 1cents got 1 cents product la.

• really aa.. this weekend tried to book my fav rpc, all fully book. only left tomyam. nasi lemak also all fully book. haiyooo, where to pay my water bill?!!

• patron on Oct 23, 2011 at 12:44 am

AGREE!!! most of them are!

• Ahmed on Oct 22, 2011 at 1:20 pm

Hurray proton . 1 step further .

• End of the road now rite?has lost its homegrown sales to malajaps daihatsu.and lotus is nothing other than huhahuha.with wheezy toyota engines.
    last but not the least the biscuit car company hwa tai.
    and trust me u will lose further customer confidence if u continue with this chepo inferior chinese quality!!!!!!!

• tan ah kow on Oct 22, 2011 at 4:17 pm

Proton is like an old maid. Nobody will want to marry you.

• And you like a poor man saying bad about others but have car manufacturing company build one and we how good you are ?

• LOL @ OUR NATIONAL CAR on Oct 22, 2011 at 5:10 pm

after 2 failed JV/MoU with Goldstar and Youngman.

now Hawtai is the third MoU. welldone Proton!

• Not all Made in China goods are crappy. If you pay for quality, you will get quality products.

Cummins, world most heavy duty engine are also manufactured in China.!

• i agree..the very dead cheap product usually the crappy one..international trade had thought me many thing when trade with chinese..u want cheap u get cheap quality

• WUW Inspiration on Oct 30, 2011 at 8:00 pm

True.

But if you want one w/o the “Cummins” word stamp on the body you could one also. Exactly the same, come from the same factory but at a cheaper price of course!!

• Quattro on Oct 22, 2011 at 11:47 pm

anyone ada update pasal persona r..jadi ke next year nak introduce…pls citer siket

• LE_buruk on Oct 23, 2011 at 3:41 am

from tin milo upgrade to tin biscuit….that is a good improvement…well done proton..=)

• Expatriate VN on Oct 23, 2011 at 1:13 pm

Looking backward and forward, left and right, top and bottom, front and back, there are non-ending to Mou-Mou here, Moo-Moo there, but the end result is still Jaguh Kampong infested by cronies vendors with shitty car for the last 25 year!

• get a life la brader…

• MoFaz on Oct 24, 2011 at 9:50 am

i can’t believe this is coming from someone who claimed he get 5-6 figures salary. most probably he thinks that RM1000.00 is 6 figures. i won’t believe whatever he say, he claimed he works overseas but paying income tax to Malaysia. that’s purely bullshit!.

• Expatriate VN on Oct 24, 2011 at 12:16 pm

You can’t believe it not because of I bullshit! It is because you are very ignorant the least, or plain stupid. Go and check with LHDN about paying income tax procedure, then get clarification from them about your query! Check the link below, or call them to get an answer.

“Pengenaan cukai bagi individu yang tidak bermastautin berdasarkan pendapatan diperolehi atau diterima di Malaysia.” (Source: LHDN).

http://www.hasil.org.my/goindex.php?kump=5&skum=1&posi=2&unit=1&sequ=1

What the above statement said? As far as the individual income is generate or receive in Malaysia (including salary pay in Malaysia), no matter where he/she is working (local or oversea), then it is taxable.

You keep on adopt “fool and confuse around” on other matter when your attack mode or divert attention tactics is not effective on the main topic! Shame on you!

• tec96248 on Oct 24, 2011 at 12:20 pm

why can’t he pay income tax to Malaysia? If you work in Overseas, you bought a property in Malaysia and rent it out. The rental need to be taxed as well if it exceeded a certain amount, dude. And lots of people doing so, who are working in overseas.
        What 5 digits or 6 digits? It’s nothing, earning 5 figures a month only after conversion to RM, might be 4 figures only in that country. Moreover, lots of people earning 5 figures locally already. So nothing to shout about.
        Moreover, working as a technician in overseas, may also get 5 figure when convert to RM. So don’t waste time to bother where an individual work.
        There’s always someone smarter and see further……………. hahaha, IF is a smart individual, will be the same everywhere he/she earns. hahaha. Agreed??

• Malaysia Memang Boleh on Oct 23, 2011 at 7:11 pm

Who say only Proton export better quality and cheaper car to overseas.
    CHECK OUT THIS
    http://www.koreatimes.co.kr/www/news/opinon/2011/05/202_86490.html

• Expatriate VN on Oct 24, 2011 at 12:20 pm

So, by giving this link, are you insinuates that our jaguh kampong are comparable only on the worst in the market?

• kerelbort on Oct 24, 2011 at 12:45 pm

95% of the comment non-automotive..hahaha

btw, it is true that for a company to penetrate into China market, they would have to have a JV with a local company. To expand the market in China, a company need to have an engine plant in China.

Maybe Youngman did not have engine plant suitable for a car yet so a JV with Hawtai is generally a very good move given that Hawtai has its own engine factory.

To have more than one partner in China is nothing new as a lot of other foreign car company have more than one partner in China and they too have different variant to cater for different city-tier. Like Proton/Youngman, they are targetting 3rd tier city, where the people is able to afford a car and did not really looking forward to drive around in a elongated version of car. So you might not see Youngman in Beijing or Shanghai often.

Anyhoo, too long comment doesn’t means good comment. Overall, this is a good move and China is a vast country with a lot natural resources to build car. To export the resources back to Malaysia to produce parts like batteries for their new REEV might not be feasible. With this JV, both China and Malaysia trade will prosper.

• Expatriate VN on Oct 24, 2011 at 2:29 pm

Aiya, all these hypes about Mou-Mou here, JV-JV there news are either, to prop up P1 share, or for syiok sendiri. Look at the products line-up, you can know their tangible accomplishment is “pea nut”.

• wheeler on Oct 24, 2011 at 12:45 pm

china is a very promising market and everybody wants to get there. Proton is expanding their sales and market shares so nothing wrong I see. To bash is easy but well, I’m not that generation, not even to any makes..

• Expatriate VN on Oct 24, 2011 at 2:35 pm

P1 go into Left Hand Traffic (LHT) market like UK, Aus, Thai, etc already a failured, or at least able to sale few thousand unit only.

What success rate they can achieve in Right Hand Traffic (RHT) market like China? Other RHT like Middle east market, average 6 footer @ 90 Kg Arab, P1 offer a car like Saga? Some more junior Jaguh Kampong want to offer Kancil at Middle east!

• MoFaz on Oct 24, 2011 at 2:57 pm

weii stupid. RHT is 66% of the world. 3 of the biggest car market are RHT: China, America, Europe. “attack dog” is your fav term, which ironically more suitable to describe you. stupid attack dog like you will not understand anything, just barking non-stop until the world end.

• I we don’t try we never know you have to try to change your fate

• protonforeva on Oct 24, 2011 at 9:18 pm

yg aku tau, malaysia yg berpenduduk 28 juta berjaya menubuhkan syarikat kereta design sendiri. kalau korea, 70 juta, china 1 billion. kira okey apa org melayu!

jgn jeles golongan expat / imigran!

• Expatriate VN on Oct 25, 2011 at 12:29 pm

jeles? Jeles pasal CamTak-Pro engine! Bodoh sombong punya protonforeva.

Kereta design sendiri? Ptuiiiii …….. las las balik rebadge jugak – Inspira!

Kira okey apa …….. ? …… lagi idiots, ini projek cronies lah ……

• I want to support Proton. It is a good move.

Currently, the auto industry in China has trived so much. Cars in China are so much modern eg VW. The only thing is Proton must be able to offer at a very attractive price to lure buyers. Wondering on its original cost of production…

Anyway it is a move to laud for..

• makeitmine on Oct 25, 2011 at 9:38 am

Just utilize Lotus to design engines, components & parts for car manufacturers in China.. that will easily make money in China.

Lotus already helping tune Chery cars, then Proton don’t have to complete build a full car.. MOU here and there to have Lotus tuned ride, Mitsubishi safety, European design standard, German gear boxes, Korean leds, Chinese assembly, Indonesia exhaust system, India steel car body, Malaysia R&D..

As long no more than 20% components built in Malaysia, consumers perception about Proton will change and they cannot solely blame Malaysians for poor quality.

• eggman01 on Oct 25, 2011 at 1:29 pm

That market is already conquered by Mitsubishi,Toyota and Isuzu when it comes to selling engines and car components in China..

Proton can use Hawtai’s CRDI engines.

• Hoochiez on Oct 25, 2011 at 11:03 am

http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/malaysia/article/putrajaya-netted-rm2.3b-in-car-import-duties-from-2007/

To all P1 cyber-troopers – after reading this, please stop your nonsensical claims that HIGH IMPORT & EXCISE DUTIES for imported cars are meant to provide SUBSIDIES, once and for all.

FYI – Budget 2012 allocation for SUBSIDIES was 14.4% or approx. RM33.23billion. You still dare blatantly claim that HIGH IMPORT & EXCISE DUTIES are NOT MEANT FOR THE PROTECTION OF P1 ?

I rest my case.

• Expatriate VN on Oct 25, 2011 at 12:24 pm

Yes dude, proton yearly profits either RED, or make few hundred million only, but when come to car, consumers “subsidy” in the form of crappy taxes under NAP, say RM 20K per car x 500,000 TIV = RM 10 Billion.

This is how the NAP equivalent, apart from contribute revenue to gov coffer, also established gravy train to feed cronies vendors and AP Kings!

The tax portion go to gov which is consider fair “normal practice” is 10% sales tax, and unfair excise/import taxes, the rest go to cronies and AP Kings. Also, indirect cost like higher insurance coverage for higher selling price, service higher hire purchase car loan, higher component and after sales service, if factor in – that is the cost of car ownership consumers have to pay for P1 existence.

The RM 33.23 billion subsidy is pea nut compare to the taxes collect by LHDN from individu is in excess of well over RM 80 Billion, not to mention taxes contribute by Petronas. Where are all the monies gone? Perhaps gov have to change the word “subsidy” to “wellfare allocation” to reflect rakyat taxes contribution!

• eggman01 on Oct 25, 2011 at 1:27 pm

Proton can use Hawtai’s experience in makiing SUV and big sedans..This is great news

The Hawtai B21 Sedan can be rebaged as a Proton Perdana:

http://en.hawtaimotor.com/b21.html

• Expatriate VN on Oct 25, 2011 at 4:26 pm

Google here and there inside hawtaimotor.com, see SUV and big sedans, then start craps about rebadge ……… too much wishful thinking and day dreaming.

Luckily no MoU with NASA, otherwise you may google Nasa web and start crap P1 can make rocket to outerspace!

• eggman01 on Oct 26, 2011 at 8:37 pm

Proton can use Hawtai’s technology with this new joint venture..They’re way better than Europestar-Lotus.

The Hawtai B11 at B21 are original designs made by Hawtai and its powered by CRDI engines made by a European company..A Proton Perdana CRDI will be a great thing!

• You guys just don’t get it. This is the sign! For once Protong is doing the right thing. It’s their backup plan. It’s called Plan B! What’s Plan B?

It’s a plan when all else fails!

You see, Protong is already an expert producing “Tin Milos” (they’ve been doing that for 27 years).

And HwaaTaii is a biscuit company.

Together they will conquer the light-food industry!

Now that “The Circle is Complete” (so says Darth Vader in episode 6).

Imagine Mr. Al-Mofaz working in the assembly line, QC/QA all the biscuits passing him by? It’s free breakfast, lunch and dinner!

Imagine Mr. Manualjohndoe checking each strength of the Tin Biskut with his NCAP standards?

Hahahaha hahahaha hahahaha.

• protonforeva on Oct 26, 2011 at 7:49 pm

i see a lot of outburst of jealousy from expat / immigrant and his sidekick syoh.

i must have pushed the right button to get them talking rubbish like crazy!