Ford 1.0 litre three-cylinder EcoBoost engine launched – two output versions; mill to make debut in Focus in 2012

Ford’s smallest petrol engine, the 1.0 litre, turbocharged, direct injection three-cylinder EcoBoost has been officially launched – Ford president and CEO Alan Mulally did the honours yesterday.

Developed by Ford’s UK engineers, the engine will debut in Europe in early 2012, first on the new Focus, before making its way into global markets. In Europe, it will also feature in the C-MAX and Grand C-MAX as well as the upcoming B-MAX, which begins production in the middle of next year.

Two output versions of the engine will be available, as we reported in July, with a slight variance in the output numbers for the production units – there’s the 125 PS and 170 Nm version, which goes into the Focus, as well as a 100 PS variant.

Ford has developed a special high-tech line at the Cologne Engine Plant to build the engine, and the plant is set to build up to 350,000 units a year of the new powertrain. European production capacity is expected to increase to up to 700,000 units per year when the company’s new engine plant in Craiova, Romania, opens in early 2012.

The company says that in the years ahead, it anticipates production to expand outside of Europe to deliver a global capacity of up to 1.3 million 1.0 litre EcoBoost engines per year. Closer to home, it seems probable that the engine will eventually make its way into the Fiesta, though exactly when remains to be seen.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• krs99 on Nov 10, 2011 at 4:10 pm

This engine suck coz using timing belt

Definitely Meevi DVVT engine is better! ;p

• Myvi engine?…better than this???
      HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA
      One of the best jokes in planet earth so far

• krs99 on Nov 10, 2011 at 4:45 pm

Don’t say joke lorr….

Ask anybody who drive meevi… they all will say this….hehehhehe

They say I buy myvi coz Dual VVT (DVVT) lorrrr…..kehkeh

• Dude forgot to mention……. my Proton Savvy 1.2 can smoke ‘timing chained’ Myvi 1.3 easily… because it uses timing belt or what??

• tiadaid on Nov 10, 2011 at 4:32 pm

Nice troll.

• armandd on Jun 14, 2012 at 10:39 pm

Your automotive knowledge is very limited and seriously needs to be upgraded.

• This engine make my Campro CPS looks ancient….huhu. I love Ford just like I love my Proton. Japanese? I dont give damn.

• krs99 noob on Nov 10, 2011 at 4:28 pm

didn’t know myvi comes with more than 125hp engine…-.-

• Jokeoftheday on Nov 10, 2011 at 4:33 pm

haha…joker la u…

• antaras on Nov 10, 2011 at 4:39 pm

Really unbelievable power. 1 litre = 100/120PS. My 1.5 litre can’t even achieve that! sigh…

• Some honda power dude will come up and say his honda 1.5L can!!

• gomok on Nov 11, 2011 at 1:23 am

And say the power of dream…..keep dreaming la honda fanboiiii……..hahahahaha

• azrai on Nov 10, 2011 at 5:00 pm

So the trend is the cc & cylinder number going down and down (even Daihatsu will come with 2 cylinder engine) and the gear keep going up and up (12 gears???)

• waa..later high maintenance for the turbocharge.

• hway de Cruz on Nov 10, 2011 at 5:11 pm

looks like the EU really going to hv a great fiesta celebrating lower CO2 emision n cleaner engine…. but guys, look at the potential of the tiny 1 liter engine can do, real big power with a version going for 120PS, cool dude! that’s very close to the 2.0 liter normal aspirated territory n only pay for road tax 1 liter… wah, yeah bring it on ford. but please sell at reasonable 1 liter price here in bolehland ah, dun sell it abv 50k, it wun work here in bolehland. hopefully gomen here in bolehland dun tax ridiculous insane, make it cost 275k, then give it special low co2 discouragement tax of 69k, this will bring the car to 344k, then they decide to tax 58k for each car seat belt, this would bring it to a super nova figure of 634k for a cool 1 liter engine… yeah, bolehland here can. aiyah, since oledi tax so high might as well tax another 390k cause ford name, so make it grand total of 1024k…yup, close to a bentley grey import price….. hmmm, is that taxed enuf oledi? aiyah, someone in the corner of a ministry will try to add in a fart tax, potential fart u give during lifetime of the car…. a fart cost 5k, so if u fart 300 times during car ownership, u need to pay fart tax of another 1500k… yeah, that shud be the real car price in bolehland

• most modern 1.6L NA can produce 120hp d … no need 2.0 pls ~~

• Waja Owner on Nov 10, 2011 at 11:49 pm

Dude, if its 1.0 means it have to be below RM50k? Its more powerful than a 1.6NA engine and its probably more cleaner and more efficient than some 850cc available ere.

Then put into the consideration new technology and if they put in a focus, i reckon it be around rm100k

Wonder if sime derby will introduce it next year…Lets see if they have the BALLS to test the market ere with this new engine..Someone must show that big engine is old school thinking…Output is more important

• iseeyou on Nov 11, 2011 at 2:14 am

i don’t know,just looking at your long,wining comment makes me wanna thumb down urs…i din’t even read it…

• soundsfishy on Nov 11, 2011 at 8:34 am

reading ur long comment make me wanna fart too…

• Out of Luck on Nov 10, 2011 at 5:14 pm

At 125PS, it’s even more powerful than Ford’s own 1.6L NA engine. Maybe Ford should use the tag line “Lagi Power, Lagi Jimat!” :-)

• Naz@AE111 on Nov 10, 2011 at 5:31 pm

K3-VE 4 pot = 86ps, slow.. Myvi 1.5 4 pot = 109ps, damn slow.. Ford 1.0 3pot turbo = 125 ps, what the tut????!!!!

• chuakz on Nov 10, 2011 at 5:36 pm

impressive figures for such a small engine

• OMG…great job Ford…

• shawal on Nov 10, 2011 at 11:29 pm

Wow …its even smaller than my palm (with hand on screen) ….

• avcutie on Nov 10, 2011 at 11:33 pm

How amazing they can pack 120hp in 1L engine. But don’t you folks think 120hp is too little for a car the size of Focus?

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Nov 11, 2011 at 2:59 am

Considering that the C170 Mk I Focus 1.8 had only 114 hp and 148 Nm coming off its twin-cam Zetec mill, 125 PS (or 123 hp) and 170 Nm should be decent enough to move the car. Don’t think someone who’d buy the 1.0L EcoBoost version would be looking to fly around in it.

• as usual lah on Nov 11, 2011 at 12:46 am

trend enjin kapasiti rendah tapi power ini japs dulu yg wat kan? mazda rx8 1.3..evo 2.0 leh malukan jentera enjin besar…vtec 1.6 tapau 2.0…dan juga kei car turbo 660 kwn aku..respek dgn ford..not bad…

• Carl Wong on Nov 11, 2011 at 3:01 am

Perodua is going for turbos too, downsizing to turbo engines with only 2 cylinders, hopefully in the near future. And of course eventually Hydrogen fuel cells. From KLIMS 2010 brochure.

• TFazuin on Nov 11, 2011 at 6:35 am

That solely depends if Big Daddy Toyota wants to fund that, you need to remember that Perodua/Daihatsu still makes a whole lot less cars than the parent, unless they can come up with something like 140-180hp which can power most of the Toyota’s product line. New technology also present new challanges and mile long reliability issues which no japanese manufacturer is willing to take a gamble on.

• mazda rx8 1.3 ,evo 2.0 n vtec 1.6 tapau 2.0 mmg power tapi makan minyak kuat. Skrg lg power lagi jimat

• _xXx_ on Nov 12, 2011 at 11:35 am

Sounds good but UK design? Xnk laa…

• uk design and engineering is superb… but uk manufacturing.. is.. well.. hahaha

• November on Nov 14, 2011 at 5:29 pm

this engine is just amazing!! but the Ford brand i just don’t like it.. hahaha..

• Trollollolololo on Nov 17, 2011 at 3:17 pm

is it good for long term? 1.0 turbo. Pressure weh!