Mitsubishi Mirage to make its debut in Tokyo

It’s the return of the Mirage name to the fold – Mitsubishi Motors Corporation is set to debut its new Mirage at the upcoming Tokyo Motor Show. The name was of course first used for the Mirage series developed for resource/energy/space-saving and high-performance in a compact package, which made its debut in Japan in March 1978.

The new Mirage, the company says, inherits the essence of that first series – cleverly getting the most performance and function out of a limited space. The five-door compact hatch measures in at 3.7 metres long, 1.66 metres wide and 1.49 metres tall, and will be powered by a 1.0 litre three-cylinder MIVEC block, with Auto Stop & Go.

The design focuses on compactness, affordability, and high fuel efficiency, and Mitsu is looking at the global model to fit the needs of emerging markets as an affordable entry-level model as well as needs of advanced markets for fuel efficiency and low-CO2 emission.

The five-seater will come equipped with a CVT gearbox, wear 14-inch wheels and 165/65 series rubbers, and has a targeted top-of-class fuel efficiency (at least for the Japan domestic version) of 30 km per litre. The new Mirage will make its market debut in Thailand in March 2012 before entering other global markets.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• taboogen on Nov 10, 2011 at 11:21 am

wow it has P3-21A body line…. and i wonder if this is the MIT Globar Car

• yup this is Mitsubishi’s global small car, looks very similar to the concept, i guess this is the platform Proton EMAS will use, or at least interchange parts, according to MMC-Proton cooperation

• it’s look like fiat punto

• Next proton satria neo?? lol

• P1, pls rebadge this as P.Savvy to compete the Lagi mahal MYVI…

• why the eff so many comment thinks this car as the next satria?
      nonsense betul lah–____–

• as usual lah on Nov 11, 2011 at 12:55 am

mirage is satria lah…datz y people keep comment this mirage is the next satria..
        i told ya…what happen to mitsu colt anyway? next mitsu evo hybrid? geezz…

• pentium 4 on Nov 10, 2011 at 11:30 am

Proton, rebadge Mirage as Savvy replacement…!

• will this be rebadged as our new Satria?

• Honda Power on Nov 10, 2011 at 11:49 am

Nice small hatchback. Beats Viva and Myvi anytime. But don’t place your hopes too high that this car will be sold in Malaysia. It’s a protected market here for Viva and Myvi. Sigh!

• dozy888 on Nov 10, 2011 at 11:54 am

Proton Satria?

• farghmee on Nov 10, 2011 at 11:57 am

1. nice 2-tone interior
    2. 90s design dashbd?

• Perodua Savvy 2012?

• Chris on Nov 10, 2011 at 7:23 pm

Dad? Is that you? How many time did I tell you not to confused Proton for Perodua??

• _xXx_ on Nov 10, 2011 at 11:59 am

CVT again. Go fly kite better la…

• nice. more model to choose from. consumer ftw!!

• blackBJQ on Nov 10, 2011 at 12:06 pm

Okay..everyone is going mild n green.
    Those were the days.. :-(

• When will this re-badge to Savvy2? if price right i’ll buy to run around city to save some patrol $$$

• psychotic bionic on Nov 10, 2011 at 12:08 pm

the concept car looks way better than the production one…

• next Proton Savvy…??

• winners on Nov 10, 2011 at 12:19 pm

Hm….30km/l? I’m very skeptical even with its Auto-Stop & Go. Otherwise, those hybrids will have to close shop already.

• 1.0l =30kml ok what? the hybrid RM140,000 1.8l engine so there’s no cannibalization of sort (or redundancy for these two different segment altogether.

• winners, it is common nowadays to get 30 km/l on compact car solely depend on ICE. Please check Mazda Skyactive Engine..even new Nissan March is able to go that far for 1 litre of petrol.

• winners on Nov 11, 2011 at 3:57 pm

I hope the 30km/l is not restricted to only 60km/h speed, which is normally the case. You know those manufacturers always like to give unrealistic figures at unreasonable speeds. Even in urban driving, 70km/h to 80km/h speed is usually the norm, unless due to traffic congestion.

If their assurance of 30km/l is only for a constant speed of 60km/h, then I would say that it’s a total gimmick, because it’s practically not possible for every day commute.

• H4dRi on Nov 10, 2011 at 12:21 pm

geez, what happened to japs. designer these days, are they trying to mirage into passo

• VoidDance on Nov 10, 2011 at 12:22 pm

This is the perfect car for Proton to take on Perodua heads on. To hell with patriotic non-sense. Perodua is doing it, why not Proton? Rebadge this car and price it lower than MyVi/ViVa. Let see how much Perodua screw us up all this years with their price.

• hway de Cruz on Nov 10, 2011 at 12:33 pm

wow…30km/l, bring it on man, certainly helps utilize petrol real efficiently. really nice interior, with dual tone n shift level gear knobs… cool stuff! well, i really dun mind wat rebadge or who gets to sell it, i am just looking at the FC which is great, that’s the idea of a small compact car for day to day tasks. would b great if price under 40k too since they intend to put it under affordable entry level

• nighttrain on Nov 10, 2011 at 12:33 pm

I remember previous Mirages to be aggressively styled. But never overstyled like Veloster or CR-Z.

• Hannan on Nov 10, 2011 at 1:17 pm

Definitely the proton savvy replacement

• Jerry on Nov 10, 2011 at 1:34 pm

I hope 30km/L is not just a Mirage, though. Lol!

• Cheah Tat Cheong on Nov 10, 2011 at 1:52 pm

And there, ladies and gentlemen, the new Proton Savvy / Saga :) Coming to a showroom near you in 2013!

• saga r will be totally new design. why would proton rebadged this model?
      savvy / small car was totally waste program as there are myvi / viva produced by perodua. so i dont think proton interest to have 2nd generation of savvy

• krs99 on Nov 10, 2011 at 3:56 pm

You say savvy totally waste program…

Deeiiii…. that saga selling and so wll almost 7000k/month is based on the savvy la…

This Mitsu Small car platform is the basis of Proton GSC Model. Savvy and Saga replacement definitely.

U Salesman P2 ka? Afraid this new Savvy with Mitsu engine will kill your beloved meeevi? No more bullet lagi last time kutuk savvy sebab pakai engine renault..

• savvy replacement coming in 2013.. near-production concept is rumored to be shown at geneva 2012

• toyotard on Nov 10, 2011 at 2:03 pm

The 208 and this car looks like it has the same origins! Another JV project like the 4007/Outlander and 4008/ASX?

http://paultan.org/2011/11/10/mitsubishi-mirage-to-make-its-debut-in-tokyo/mirage-1/

http://paultan.org/2011/11/09/peugeot-208-to-enter-the-market-in-spring-2012/208_1110pc026/

• albag on Nov 10, 2011 at 3:49 pm

another rebadge potong coming soon! nice one~!!!

• Samurai Malaya on Nov 10, 2011 at 3:53 pm

I see Pug 208 resemblance…platform sharing…I dont think they’ll share this with Proton

• mat koboi on Nov 10, 2011 at 4:31 pm

baik pakai kereta mirage ni…..better than viva yang lembap…pick up kurang…

• Leonardo on Nov 10, 2011 at 5:47 pm

Plain Jane! It’s like teh tarek with no milk and bueh! What happend to their stylist? Or their top brass wants to play safe? Too safe maybe?

• Chris on Nov 10, 2011 at 7:27 pm

Aiyoh… give them a break lar.. at least it didn’t become a scooter :P

• as usual lah on Nov 10, 2011 at 5:50 pm

why not mitsu colt? yep..208 platform..mitsu-pug-citroen again..heheh

• william on Nov 10, 2011 at 7:35 pm

i think this is their first product under MOU with NISSAN :P
    dont u guys feel it like NISSAN MARCH?

• Pak Abu on Nov 11, 2011 at 7:41 am

Apa ni? Lihat kat bontot belakang. Tak fully utilized space langsung. Lihat kancil dan viva. Saiz sama. Tapi lebih spacious. Daihatsu engineer make car better than predessesor. Pls compare also swift and myvi/jazz. See how they can make small car actually bigger.

Proton, dont rebadge this car. Kennot fight with myvi

• Satria a.k.a Mirage on Nov 21, 2011 at 7:47 pm

myvi 1.5 se kennot fight with satria neo la…kancil/viva spacious???u r kidding me man…