BMW 5 Series now with four-cylinder turbo engines in Malaysia – 520i and 528i M Sport wear the new mills

BMW Malaysia has announced the arrival of new petrol variants for the 5 Series, featuring the new 2.0 litre turbocharged four-cylinder engine in two different outputs. The new engine, which features twin-scroll turbocharging, Valvetronic variable valve control and Double-VANOS variable camshaft control, finds its way into the new 520i and 528i M Sport models.

The 520i’s motor turns out 184 hp and 270Nm of torque, and performance figures for the car include a 0-100 km/h time of 8.0 seconds and a 226 km/h top speed, as well as a claimed 6.4 litres per 100 km fuel economy.

Meanwhile, the TwinPower Turbo technology powerplant on the 528i M Sport offers 245 hp and 350Nm, and the extra horses translate to a 0-100 km/h time of 6.3 seconds and a 250 km/h top speed, with little sacrifice to claimed average fuel consumption – the car supposedly does 6.8 litres per 100 km.

As before, there’s the usual dollop of features and kit, with Brake Energy Regeneration, electromechanical steering and an 8-speed automatic transmission as standard, and the Auto Start/ Stop function now features across the model range.

Additionally, all the new variant entries also reflect upgraded equipment in its Driving Experience Control, which is the button located on the centre console that enables the driver to adjust mode settings for the vehicle’s accelerator, engine, steering, transmission, suspension system and traction control.

The modes available include COMFORT+, COMFORT, SPORT, SPORT+ and, for the first time, ECO PRO mode as standard. ECO PRO mode, which can help the driver to achieve fuel savings of up to 20%, depending on their individual style of driving, automatically optimises the vehicle’s drivetrain, heating and air conditioning strategy, as well as other electric comfort functions. It ensures fuel efficient throttle operation by dampening your throttle input so heavy footed people can drive fuel efficiently.

These new drive modes replace the old COMFORT, NORMAL, SPORT and SPORT+ modes. Essentially COMFORT has been renamed to COMFORT+, and NORMAL has been renamed to COMFORT.

The two new petrol new variants are joined by the improved 520d sedan, which offers 184 hp, 380Nm and 8.1 seconds for the century sprint and a 225 km/h top speed for numbers.

Price-wise, the 520i rolls in at RM358,800, while the 528i M Sport goes for RM409,800 and the 520d is priced at RM333,800, all on-the-road, without insurance, with BMW Service Inclusive + Repair (BS+RI). The new cars will be in all BMW showrooms from this weekend onwards.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• nice…the price really came down when they downsized the engine.compared to the 1st batch of 523i which was 400k and 535i at 600k.

so many f10s on the road already given the high price….malaysians must be filthy rich….

need to work harder

• rally_fan on Jan 05, 2012 at 12:26 pm

amazing engines as always from the germans be it audi, vw, or bmw. The same 4potter in the 528 in the 328 F30 gives it a below 6 second 0-100km/h time.. which is very near M3 territory.

new M3 will be even more powerful then im sure…

• 320d Owner on Jan 05, 2012 at 8:18 pm

A message to Geoffrey Briscoe. Can you please tell us what is the Malaysian content in the new 520i is? According to the Malaysian government, to benefit from CKD pricing, it must have a certain percentage of Malaysian content ie Malaysian made parts. But all your salesman swear and say the CKD F10 is 100% German parts but only assembled in Malaysia.

So, how to believe what is true? Are you training your staff well or are they lying to buyers like myself? Geoffrey Briscoe. or the PR for BMW Malaysia, can you please give us a reply. I tried contacting BMW Malaysia but no answers lah.

• Paul Tan on Jan 05, 2012 at 10:05 pm

BMW Malaysia does not claim CKD – they tell us SKD (semi-knocked down).

• Andrew Matthews on Jan 06, 2012 at 10:14 am

If it is SKD, they cannot reap the tax benefits given to CKD. If it is SKD/CBU it will be much higher in price. In the UK, 523i/520i is about 35,000 pounds sterling. So, 35,000 x 5 = RM175,000. On top of that, you will have to add 300% tax. It will definitely be more than RM358,000

Obviously, they are under the CKD tax bracket. So how come they are benefitting from CKD benefits and tax incentives and yet not using Malaysian parts as dictated in the terms of CKD/SKD tax incentives? To get CKD tax benefits, it is strictly required you use a certain percentage of Malaysian content.

Mercedes E200 can be sold at RM368,000 cause they use quite a lot of Malaysian content, thus, benefitting from the CKD incentives. And we all know E200 and BMW 523i is more or less the same price in the UK.

• dieselfan on Jan 06, 2012 at 12:24 pm

So you are complaining that BMW is too cheap?

• Haha Mercedes is treating Malaysian like a fool.

• BadBET on Jan 05, 2012 at 1:02 pm

agreed, malaysian is rich indeed. Even our car price is ridiculous high, still we can see those >100k car or luxury car everywhere.

the star 2010 – Malaysia has the most number of billionaires in South-East Asia
      the star 2011 – there are 39,000 millionaire in Malaysia.

wish can join them…
      need to work harder

• PumaFreak on Jan 05, 2012 at 2:34 pm

i short 1 cent to join the club..damn..

• PakAbu on Jan 05, 2012 at 4:38 pm

Or get a rich father in law :mrgreen:

• Agreed, that is a key.
          Average people do not study, smart people study hard, brilliant people look for a rich father in law.

• Vincent on Jan 05, 2012 at 9:02 pm

1 million is nothing at today value. Now a day, 1 house also cost 1 mil lior…I believe Malaysia have moer than 50,000 millionair.

• MUZZY on Apr 19, 2012 at 4:58 am

MIllionaire means 1 million USD excluding the property you live in

• Adolf on Jan 06, 2012 at 9:42 am

Most if the 5 series on the road are company cars of bankers. When they reach a certain level like SVP they can get it for free from their bank employer.

• Wak Segan on Jan 05, 2012 at 12:15 pm

HU HU SAD…EVERY IMPORT CARS COME WITH HIGH PRICE.

• Lim Kopi on Jan 05, 2012 at 12:19 pm

Finally …. BMW joins the downsing petrol game …No more high flying 6 pots

VW and Merc is going to be hit hard ….

• kadajawi on Jan 05, 2012 at 6:03 pm

They had them before, but try selling them in Malaysia where cc is all that counts and a small engine can’t perform well.

• Finally …………..BMW Made It

• littlefire on Jan 05, 2012 at 12:40 pm

Nice! At last BMW is bringing in some downsizing turbocharge engine to match Merc 200/250 CGI engine.. :)

• Kirsten on Jan 05, 2012 at 12:42 pm

any idea what is the improvement on the 2012 520d?

• ferruccio on Jan 05, 2012 at 1:09 pm

Sad that they opted to dump the straight 6 but the smaller turboed 4 is the way to go to meet consumption and emission targets. You lose the refinement of the 6 but I’m sure they have done as best they can to bridge the gap though it cannot be eliminated entirely

• kadajawi on Jan 07, 2012 at 11:10 am

They’ll probably put speakers in the exhaust system to make it sound like a V8… -.- Audi does it. And I think some F10 now have speakers in the car that make it sound sportier to the driver… yay… -.-

• hway de Cruz on Jan 05, 2012 at 1:18 pm

again, gomen tax ridiculously tariff tax, excise duty etc…. making a wonderful car to be totally unjustifiable and illogical. think its about 35K to 42K british pounds, brand new car that translate to just RM210k +/- , so why so high price when sell to rakyat? simply means gomen is not thinking out of the box, 1930’s mentality n only knows how to suck the rakyat even more….

• rally_fan on Jan 05, 2012 at 1:57 pm

im really si*k and tired of listening to the same old drivel about politics and taxes..etc. I think practically every mature and educated person in Malaysia already knows the real deal and the why and why nots.

can’t people just focus on talking about cars?

• kadajawi on Jan 05, 2012 at 2:01 pm

Are you sure that 35k isn’t only for the base spec car? Means you get 5 seats and a steering wheel. Oh and a few steel rims. That’s all. A friend is considering buying a 535d in Europe. I think it’s around 55k Euro… once he is done with the options he wants (not even all there is) it’s around 110k.

The Malaysian spec one will probably already have many of these options. Try to spec one in England with all the options the car in Malaysia has, I’m sure you will find the price to be relatively reasonable (of course Malaysians earn less, and it would be nice to spec the car yourself).

• BadBET on Jan 05, 2012 at 3:38 pm

Most of us never stay oversea or have friends there, so most of the assumption came from surface reading or word by friends (who also never stay oversea or have friends there). That is why some people tend to compare the price only. We never know about running cost, ownership cost, additional cost, insurance cost, fuel cost or etc. And thought that BMW or other brand sell their car as they sell it here… full of spec and equipment.

LOL –> we want a car as good as European, had resale value as Japanese but at the price of Malaysian.

• kadajawi on Jan 05, 2012 at 4:35 pm

I’m German, so I guess I should know. The base spec model usually has most of the safety stuff (well basic things such as 6 airbags), but everything else is missing or very basic. Kancil spec la. I’m surprised they even put paint on the car.

Insurrance is expensive, road tax depends on the engine, but for Germans not too bad, unless it is an old and dirty engine (old Saga would be very expensive. Fuel is almost rm7.

• i agreed with you.. in overseas, car like 523i may cost just under RM200k. but its all bare specs and without rear aircon climatization. no HUD, no Adaptive Damper Control and not even Sat Nav. but if added up all the specs (which Malaysian specs have already included). It will cost around RM 300k++ in overseas too. havnt adding additional cost.

• Simon Ng on Jan 05, 2012 at 3:56 pm

Yes! The tax is high. But do you know that the car loan interest rates in some of these countries is also high? In Australia, the interest rates can be as high as 10% a year. Unless you have a big down payment or buy cash. Cars like these can still be a distant dream, even if you live in other country.

• RedBeanBun on Jan 05, 2012 at 8:17 pm

c class is A$60K, which is less than 1 year salary of many australian. thats why they dont need finance.

• kadajawi on Jan 05, 2012 at 10:17 pm

Yeah, and it’s good that Australians live in the wilderness and eat animals they catch with their own hands/can survive without food.

• VOLVO FOR LIFE on Jan 05, 2012 at 11:24 pm

i have lived in the uk for years. and yes, insurance could be expensive but road tax is cheaper especially for vehicles with bigger engines. the price for the bmw 535i m-sport in the uk is around rm 200k. spec-wise, if you buy outright new it could be costly once everything adds up. however, there are a lot of things which is not noticed or experienced by malaysians. for example, prices between different dealers and districts vary and often they would give special discounts or throw in free options such as free navigation or metallic paint to sweeten the deal. other than that, the uk car market is a very large one with pre-owned cars (these however usually end up as grey imports in countries like malaysia, thailand and singapore). what is bad about the uk car market is that used car value are really terrible. just 3 years down and you would be smiling if you manage to retain 25% of the vehicle’s values. however, based on a rough calculation, the cheaper car price still offsets the benefits of cheaper fuel. it takes around 20 years to justify the benefits of cheaper fuel over cheaper car price.

• kadajawi on Jan 06, 2012 at 12:46 am

I paid around RM 2000 for my Renault 19 in road tax in Germany. The car was worth less than that. 1900cc, diesel, and quite a stinker = you’ll bleed to death. Bought a Citroen Xsara, 1400cc petrol, tax exempt for the first few years because it’s so clean.

Resale value is awful in Germany too. But then again, it always it, anywhere. My Kangoo dropped to around 1/3 of it’s original value in 5 years. That hurts too (well, if I wouldn’t have been the one to profit from this).

Are those RM 200k including all the specs? You are right with the discounts, that happens in Germany too, but you won’t get 200k worth of extras for free (and you could easily spend that much on a F10… for the extras). The F10/F11 (535d) a friend wants to buy should be around RM 400k, base price is more like 200-250k.

• syed agail on Jan 05, 2012 at 1:22 pm

I am eagerly waiting to see them fitted in the
    upcoming 3 series . Love the consumption figures..
    Amazing!!

• kadajawi on Jan 05, 2012 at 1:58 pm

The F30 320d EfficientDynamics does 4.1L/100 km. :) Officially.

• yeah, the new diesel engines fr bmw is uber powerful and yet sips very little fuel. Its common to get 4 digit mileage on a full tank ( though it is a pretty big tank). makes those expensive hybrids redundant.

• droll on Jan 05, 2012 at 5:47 pm

nola, those hybrids are still cheaper than the 320d by a lot. prius alone is about 50% the price of the 320d in m’sia.

• kadajawi on Jan 05, 2012 at 6:07 pm

Prius is 50% of a car la. Totally different car, Prius no performance, so so handling, noise insulation just ok, not so fun to drive. Of course these BMWs are more expensive, you also get more.

• What a joker, compare BMW’s price with Toyota. Could you come up with a more logical argument?

• turbo and direct injection is the way to go, amazing fuel ecnomy..plenty of power and torque

• vincent on Jan 05, 2012 at 2:06 pm

The 2.0T numbers seems lose out to Ford Mondeo Ecoboost

• droll on Jan 05, 2012 at 5:48 pm

this car is in a completely different league as far as m’sia is concerned. just look at the pricing. even with 184bhp, it still does 0-100 in 8s (very close to mondeo’s 7.9s). in real life, you probably won’t be able to tell the difference.

• ABTguy on Jan 05, 2012 at 2:08 pm

Woo hoo, finally turbo charged 4 potters in 5 series. Sad to see that the 520i cost more than the 520d, which should be the reverse case in many other countries coz diesel engine is more complex to make thus cost slightly more. Duty wise the petrol model should be lower than same capacity diesel also right ??

BMW Malaysia, why ??

It’s TURBO time, everyone else bring it on !!!

• Agreed. Just like how the e90 320i is priced lower than the 320d. Maybe BMW(M) price their vehicles according to the 0-100km/h figures? Lol.

• Adolf on Jan 06, 2012 at 9:59 am

320i vs 320d are miles apart in terms of performance hence the higher pricing for the diesel variant. Now the 520i has better 0-100 than the diesel one hence the higher pricing. Just my opinion.

• VOLVO FOR LIFE on Jan 06, 2012 at 11:29 pm

in the uk, the 520d is cheaper than the 520i.

• CK200H on Jan 05, 2012 at 2:10 pm

have been sitting in this F10 for few days. Feeling, the start stop engine features is really annoying. BMW should at least add on some hybrid function to get the car move smoothly. Aside from this, everything is old feel.

• kadajawi on Jan 05, 2012 at 6:12 pm

Start stop saves fuel. Fine with me. But do you know if the aircon will continue working without the engine?

• Sentinel Prime on Jan 05, 2012 at 2:21 pm

Yes Yes!!! yeah!!! Finally it reached here after long wait for new turbo engine!
    At least updated with latest stuffs on par with mercedes.
    Anyway, i love my boxxy E250 cgi quite a very comfortable car. haha.
    This is time for 2nd car for BMW 5 series “drive for fun” This 5 score higher mark against E class. 95% over 86% in euro ncap.

• Ian CHEONG on Jan 05, 2012 at 4:05 pm

So first batch is fully CBU, or are these CKD already?
    If CBU @ 300k+, then CKD, we can see 250k?
    Whatabout interior? Still the SAME OLD Black Alacantra leather again? Or are there OPTIONS?

• Cheah Tat Cheong on Jan 05, 2012 at 4:05 pm

The bald figures might be impressive, but this is actually a sad day for BMW lovers. The joy of driving/owning a BMW has always been synonymous with thefamed inline-6 engines – a key luxury feature of the brand, otherwise you could just about substitute this engine with another modern and highly efficient turbo four cylinder from Ford or VW for example.

• ayamxxx on Jan 05, 2012 at 4:16 pm

wow.. this is what we call a turbo engine. not like proton. increase only a bit power,but increase fc.
    now can compare apple to apple, turbo with turbo

• ayamxxx on Jan 05, 2012 at 4:25 pm

wow, this is what we call a turbo engine.
    improve a lot of power but @ same time reduce FC.

Not like PROTON CAMPRO turbo suck.
    next time, compare turbo engine with turbo engine, not turbo vs na engine.

• BadBET on Jan 05, 2012 at 8:25 pm

1. Campro CFE is Proton first turbo engine and no one has it yet, it has not been proven either good or bad. So to just simply judge it like that is just wrong.

2. BWM has been creating engine for years and it is a luxury brand, do you really think the CFE has the same cost with BMW engine? I bet they even use luxury material for their engine.

• mirror mirror on Jan 05, 2012 at 9:47 pm

Damn why don’t they introduce lower spec E class and 5 series? If the price is around RM200k I am sure plenty of Accord and Camry buyers will switch over.

• kadajawi on Jan 05, 2012 at 10:20 pm

No, not really. People all buy Vios instead of Fiesta sedan, despite the Fiesta being better, safer, … But resale value of a T&H is better, and spare parts are easier to get. So they buy the Vios. Same with Camry.

• don’t be ridiculous, not even dumbest person will choose a cheapo camry over an e-class or 5 series if the price is close.

• kadajawi on Jan 07, 2012 at 11:05 am

Then explain to me why people buy the Vios, with the competition the Vios has. Like the Fiesta for example.

Of course at the price of a Camry more will buy the 5 series. But not all… resale value of the Camry might be better, there are more SC, maintenance is cheaper, …

• Carl Wong on Jan 06, 2012 at 12:52 am

Reasonable price.

• Never believe those fc numbers. Based on my real life experience and calibration, you need to add 2 litre/100km to the “claimed” numbers, and that’s for light-footed drive. If it says 6.4l/100km, please expect 8.4l/100km. For spirited drive, adding 4l/100km is about right.

• kadajawi on Jan 06, 2012 at 11:45 am

Not really. A friend can’t get his C30 2.0D over 7-8L. At top speed. Constantly. Of course it depends on the driving style, and a BMW provokes a rather spirited driving style.

Btw., someone achieved 2.6L/100km with an older BMW diesel that is supposed to be around 5-6L IIRC. THAT is some seriously light footed driving.

• i agree with ctc. it is indeed a sad day for bmw lovers and admirers. they no longer come with super creamy and refined in-line 6’s (except for the 535i) but small turbo 4’s. notwithstanding this, hopefully they are still better to drive and sounds better than any mercedes/audi/volkswagen-engined cars, if not, it will be the end of the bmw brand.
    can’t wait to see and test drive the cars at bmw malaysia glenmarie next weekend. also agree with rf, why can’t all the readers comment on the cars itself rather than going on and on about government and politics? we are all matured smart thinking adults, we know what goes on and the reasonings for that. so let’s enjoy the cars with the new engines, which are priced better for those of us who can afford it!:)

• i have a 528i M-sport. which is last batch in-line 6. sounded very sweet and smooth when driving on highway. as if u’re driving a sport car. Love it a lot. not sure whether the new turbo 4 will have that kind of driving feel.

• wajarays on Jan 07, 2012 at 11:43 am

enjoy my 530 lci Msport for now … before this i think f10 is not mascular look as e60… but after saw few f10 Msport on the road, not bad …. after 5-6 years then change to f10 =)

• hei, the f10 M-sport is really awesome. as if u r driving the new M5. i having one. 528i but 6 cylinder. 2011 model. smooth n the engine sound is great. but light colour as it can show the muscular front bumper from afar.

• Sabear on Jan 08, 2012 at 5:51 pm

Awesome.

The 5 series is one smooth cruiser.

These new models make it more competitive.

Except the diesel, I don’t think Malaysia’s industry is working hard enuf to get the best diesel marks.

• GlueBall on Jul 05, 2012 at 2:53 am

Why exclude politics when Malaysians are getting ripped off with a whopping 300% tax on foreign cars? The government wants Malaysians to buy homemade cars. BUT…do you ever see any politician, any Datuk, any Tan Sri dare to be caught driving in one of those bone shaking Protons? No, no, no . . . because they KNOW that Protons are total crap when compared to imports. These corrupt VIPs who make these tax laws are magically exempt from having to pay such obscene 300% tax.

• sudip on Oct 11, 2012 at 1:03 pm

Sooner or later the gov have to conform to global requirement especially regarding the emission standard and this would involve some changes in the policy. EU are in the process of implementing EURO6, but we are still far behind (even from EURO4).

• aqil7366 on Nov 04, 2012 at 3:53 am

I drove the f10 520i for the last few months. The handling is good even though at high speed more than 200 km/h. This entry level of f10 car is fine with me.