Volkswagen Polo Sedan sighted at a Malaysian port

The new Volkswagen Polo Sedan – we’ve seen it being tested on the roads before, and now reader Wan has sent in photos of a big shipment of mostly white, silver, grey and black Volkswagen Polo Sedans lined up at a port in Malaysia.

The badges on the rear left of the car confirms that the car will share a name with its hatchback sibling and be called the Volkswagen Polo in Malaysia, instead of the Volkswagen Vento as it is marketed in India.

The rear right badge says 1.6, and there’s no TSI badging, which indicates that this affordable Volkswagen sedan will use a normally aspirated 1.6 liter engine, which we expect should be similiar to the one in the last generation Polo. For India specs, the 1.6 liter petrol engine makes 105 PS and 153Nm of torque at a relatively early 3,800rpm, mated to a 6-speed automatic or a 5-speed manual.

India also has a nice 1.6 liter turbodiesel making 105 PS and 250Nm from as low as 1,500rpm – that should be nice, if only diesels were more popular in Malaysia!

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• that diesel would be sweet, more torque than our 1.4 golf tsi/polo gti and at lower 1,500rpm rev. Frugal and powerful but we cannot have it here since our lousy diesel (we are way behind compared to India)

• No TSI and DSG ? = not a real VW high performance car but

if below 90k is ok what :) but i like my Polo hatch more ~ Sedan version looks a bit cheap and Saga BLM feel for me ! but i think it’s better than the Dugong and City !

• 'Thom'Lee on Jan 16, 2012 at 2:53 pm

I think this car will increase the sales of Volkswagen Malaysia by at least 50%.. if it is priced reasonably around RM80k to RM100k.

• Gebang on Jan 16, 2012 at 3:19 pm

I dont think so…interior is too basic…

• kadajawi on Jan 16, 2012 at 8:15 pm

I disagree, the interior looks very nice. Classy… grown up. If it also has soft touch surfaces etc… mhhhhh :) Big improvement over Vios etc.

• MYVI 1.5L SE on Jan 16, 2012 at 4:31 pm

80k it may sales well, bcos it is New to Malaysian?

• Silwen on Jan 16, 2012 at 4:38 pm

They will have to compete against the Fiesta, Vios and City. The latter two have a great many number of service centres and are relatively easy to repair. Unless there is something really good about it, besides having one more gear or some very competitive pricing, the only thing to me, that it has going for it is that it is imported.

Nonetheless, I hope this would make UMW consider updating the Vios to a double vvti engine, which the Yaris in the UK although it is a 1.33l engine. We shall see.

• If the price between 80k to 100K, i would prefer this than Vios, city or forte.

• VOLVO FOR LIFE on Jan 16, 2012 at 2:54 pm

the sedan looks ungainly. hatchback for me.

• “..indicates that this affordable Volkswagen sedan will use a normally..”

Since when is VW affordable to the rakyat (as it’s name as the people’s car)? This small sedan sure will be priced at 100k OTR.

• BeemerFreak on Jan 16, 2012 at 3:12 pm

IF the spec is similar to india’s, I dont see why this would not be a success. No current cat B model has rear aircon vents. Come on Japs, the Germans have spoken, it is your turn now

• Kiasu No Kiasi on Jan 16, 2012 at 5:55 pm

Why don’t U ask the Korean (aka Utopian Car) to answer ?

Selective Bashing ??

• BeemerFreak on Jan 16, 2012 at 10:21 pm

Am i bashing anyone? I am just calling the Japanese to match the germans because they can.
        Why dont you say i am bashing the Koreans. You could say I am excluding the Koreans from this conversation because they are not even good enough to join this 2 grps. Come one, use brain and analyze first before comment…..

• i don’t recall even any c- segment jap sedan having air cond vents at the back

• Exactly my thoughts, guess that 3rd world nation 3rd world car gameplan still works. Heres hoping ppl become more demanding buyers with introduction of the polo, to give em a bit of a squeeze.

• imran on Jan 16, 2012 at 3:15 pm

look like the proton saga

• Yup.. premium saga… will sell if priced it below 90K.. But unlikely…

• I hope Polo Sedan can be the rival of City and Vios.

• there r enough suckers out there who will buy it cos its Das Auto…….

crappy product from india…..geez ….

tot it was a proton saga FLX EFH ABC version…..

• kadajawi on Jan 16, 2012 at 8:30 pm

There are even more suckers who will buy the Vios because it’s a Toyota. I don’t think this VW will sell well.

• libralcl on Jan 16, 2012 at 3:22 pm

Hmm no TSI. If the price is on the high side. Then I think it might lost its selling point.

• MrPoppyplants on Jan 16, 2012 at 3:24 pm

Price this below RM100k, Honda City and Toyota Vios will be seriously threatened! But we all know that isn’t going to happen.

• kadajawi on Jan 16, 2012 at 8:31 pm

Because it’s just as outdated as the T & H? What’s the selling point? It’s by far not as modern as the Fiesta, and even the Fiesta doesn’t sell that well…

• BeemerFreak on Jan 16, 2012 at 10:28 pm

HAr…. The fiesta doesn’t sell that well. By outselling honda city, it doesn’t sell that well.

• Market surveyor on Jan 17, 2012 at 12:00 am

What you mean the fiesta is not selling well? you must be talking with ur ass

This model wont sell in malaysia….

• kadajawi on Jan 17, 2012 at 12:06 pm

A car with such superior specs (especially in terms of safety… Europeans wouldn’t even consider buying the Vios!), from a big brand, with a better ride etc. should be leading the market, but still the Vios easily outsells it.

• no fight against the new elantra…..elantra makes the polo look like a world war 2 relic.

• klguy on Jan 16, 2012 at 5:15 pm

compare an apple to an apple la. Elantra shud b in the same class as Golf. Polo’s contender shud by Accent.

• Jaybond on Jan 16, 2012 at 6:09 pm

The Hyundai Elantra is not in the same segment as Polo – the Hyundai model for that job is the i10. Elantra will compete against the likes of Civic, Corolla , Jetta, Mazda 3, Focus, Forte..

• Tommy on Jan 16, 2012 at 3:26 pm

Very very drab. Perhaps they should call it the “bento” box here. Hatch way better.

• Car lover on Jan 16, 2012 at 3:29 pm

WHY do you need 6 speed for such a low power?

Same boring old uncle look VW.. Hope it stays at port..

• rally_fan on Jan 16, 2012 at 5:07 pm

the extra cog give you more options to come up with better ratios to overcome the lack of power.

• kadajawi on Jan 16, 2012 at 8:34 pm

The less power the engine has, the more more gears help to keep the engine in the right rev range. There is no reason whatsoever to use a 4 speed nowadays, except for saving money.

And really.. old uncle look? Have you looked at pretty much everything that Toyota produces? People still buy it like there is no alternative. Same with Honda.

• Car lover on Jan 17, 2012 at 12:15 am

I never said that Toyota produce modern design cars. Hmmm…maybe thats the secret to being a global success in auto industry…cut cost on design and make production more efficient just like vw and toyota…anyway it still look boring…

I know that the more gear it have would help in fuel efficiency “the right gear for the right speed” and more ratios to overcome the power struggle but it doesnt help much when you only have 105PS..It also depends on the gearbox software…If they play the low gear a lot to overcome power struggle = fuel consumption high…

The main reason why this kind of drivetrain still work in Europe…Simple, they still like to drive manual, which is the best for this engine.

• kadajawi on Jan 17, 2012 at 11:50 am

Fair enough.

Mh… I’m not sure they cut cost on design (the VW Golf V was terribly expensive to build, the better looking Mk VI was cheaper, and the VII should be cheaper yet). Although I do admit that the Vios and especially Avanza look cheap to produce, flat surfaces etc.

The reason the VWs look so bland is that they shouldn’t offend anyone. They are quite conservative. Just like Toyota designs. Good designs tend to polarize, that’s not what you usually want when you want to sell as many as possible. Unless it’s so good that everyone likes it.

• kadajawi on Jan 17, 2012 at 11:52 am

Oh, and about the gears… it helps especially with a weak engine. Look at the struggles of a Proton with a 3 speed box. The engine doesn’t have enough punch at low revs, but the gearbox can’t put it in a lower gear because that would be too high revs. Makes for a terribly slow car. And you don’t constantly accelerate as hard as possible, and then the gear can be chosen for a fairly low rev. Except when you don’t have enough gears.

Yeah, a manual is more fun to drive.

• Masked Ryder on Jan 16, 2012 at 3:29 pm

I believe the Genuine VW sales will beat the “Fake VW aka Naza/KIA” soon.

Hopefully more CKD Model on the way.

• Price this at RM70K and send the Dugong and City back to Thailand.

• No TSI…..INDIA spec….Even at 80k, its not worth it

• sicilian_defense on Jan 16, 2012 at 3:41 pm

wow first glance i tot proton just relaunch their proton saga model… LOL

• moron..for some people everywhere and every manufacturer is proton2..dumb…

• You guys are so fixated with Proton that every ugly thing on the road is related to Proton. Get my drift?

• ong chin aun on Jan 16, 2012 at 3:48 pm

affordable ? hope so, if the taxes not too high. if around or below rm 80k, proton Inspira surely leave out. even now the sale not good. only handful of inspira on the road. wv polo Sedan 1.6 L with manual . best. how soon woll be launch?

• Tiguan on Jan 16, 2012 at 3:52 pm

Might get 1 if this is a TSI model and priced below RM90k. Black interior please.

• drMpower on Jan 16, 2012 at 4:14 pm

by no sweet co incident they got this polo sedan onto malaysia, as drb hicom bought majority stake in proton
    it seems they the vw tried themselves on proton but failed, so now drb hicom doing the job for them
    expect to see cheap vw that will not only rest the dumb unfounded criticisms, this also may indicate a win win between the people, government, proton, drb, and of course vw.

people got nothing to bash about on cars in malaysia and about them to subsidize this bla bla bla. government can rest these critics to bed and prepare for GE feel good, proton got cash injection, drb owns something, and vw got the massive production line in tanjung malim.

good.

• Nuffsaid on Jan 16, 2012 at 4:17 pm

The hatchback looks better, but the sedan is more practical.

While the hatchback might be more suitable for young executives who want more style and fun, the sedan’s trunk is great for young families to carry items such as baby stroller and groceries, which in my case, was exactly the reason I bought a Toyota Vios for my wife a few years back.

I wish we had this car as an option when we shopped for the small sedan back then. I would definitely go for it if it was priced within RM5-7K more expansive than the Vios. For RM1K+ extra per year (we took a 5 year loan), we would be more than happy to settle with the German for its solid built and assuming-ably better handling and longer warranty period.

• kadajawi on Jan 16, 2012 at 8:39 pm

Why not buy the Fiesta instead? You get lots of kit with it, and the Fiesta is only slightly cheaper in Europe than the VW. Those are serious competitors, and afaik both were developed in Germany (most Malaysian Fords are developed by the European subsidiary of Ford, which is based in Cologne, Germany (AFAIK)).

Although the Ford service isn’t very good, and the plastics used inside apparently don’t feel expensive. The Polo should do better. But then again it lacks the powerful engine, modern gearbox or safety features of the Ford.

• Waja Owner on Jan 16, 2012 at 4:59 pm

Seriously?? So plain from DAS AUTOO

Interesting to see how VW will try to sell this car without their TSI & DSG

Honestly, i see no reason why you should choose this car over its competitor….

• anti-vios on Jan 16, 2012 at 5:05 pm

Buruk.. have seen it last year…

• Maserati on Jan 16, 2012 at 5:24 pm

this will be priced at rm108,888. Ugly and boring.

• oh for this basic sedan if price below>100k it may sell well because its volkwagen=-=

• i thought it is supposed to compete with peugeot 207SV? the price could be 25k less than polo hatchback, when compared with city-jazz & vios-yaris price gaps.

if selling @ rm78,888, i will save money now lol^^

• Jaybond on Jan 16, 2012 at 6:11 pm

Pretty sure this will be a sub-100K car, the target market is Vios, City, Fiesta, Mazda 2

• OMG all the recently launched VW’s are so boring and THEY ALL LOOK THE SAME.

• Wednesday on Jan 18, 2012 at 8:57 am

ok mah. u drive the polo, people think you are driving the passat! of course passat and jetta drivers wont be happy if ppl mistake their cars for the polo sedan ;)

• yeah at the same time someone would say i cant afford a BMW so i got the cheapest German car.no doubt VW tech is good.but honestly the recently launched VW are a pain to look at

• Out of Luck on Jan 16, 2012 at 6:20 pm

“…..India also has a nice 1.6 liter turbodiesel making 105 PS and 250Nm from as low as 1,500rpm – that should be nice, if only diesels were more popular in Malaysia!”

The statement above sounded like as if Malaysians are not keen in buying diesel cars. Instead of ….”if only diesels were more popular in Malaysia!”, I think the proper statement should be changed to ….”if only they bring diesels version to Malaysia!”

I love diesel cars and I believe a big number of Malaysians loved them too.

• ongtk on Jan 16, 2012 at 9:45 pm

I am inclined to say Malaysian Euro 2 diesel are probably not suitable for the engine. Hence, no diesel variant.

• nebula87 on Jan 16, 2012 at 7:40 pm

lol…i saw it long time ago…VW storing them inside a factory….near autocity…XD

• dozy888 on Jan 16, 2012 at 7:51 pm

Since DRB – Hicom has bought over Proton.. Just rebadge this Polo to be 2013 Saga and price it at RM 40K ++.. I believe it will overturn MYVi’s long success sales result.. Proton will be number 1 again!

Malaysia Boleh!

• kadajawi on Jan 16, 2012 at 8:28 pm

Sorry, but this is very disappointing. It looks nice and all, but 2 airbags, a normal 6 speed gearbox (it seems) and a very disappointing engine are just not enough. That’s just like a Vios, for Vios money or more. Obviously people would buy a Vios instead.

The Fiesta is much better spec’ed and handles very well, yet people buy the Vios. How is VW going to compete with such a me too offer?

• drMpower on Jan 16, 2012 at 10:28 pm

of course people expect more for the very less of money.
      vios is a buy word for all the good stuffs for that vehicle segment
      and not only a polo, even fiesta doesnt manage to get in well
      which speaks volume for the good job toyota done for years

honda is the other.

of course reputation counts. people get dumbly angered by good reputation honda and toyota enjoy here in malaysia. especially people who bought koreans.
      maybe they forgot korean screwed people so much in the past that nobody cares about any bloody koreans anymore. until now.

but they need to start all over again. and i cant see how by bashing honda/toyota helps.

• totenkepf on Jan 16, 2012 at 11:21 pm

Agreed.but lets see and feel the interior as well as the ride and handling,that would be better. But i do not believe that the sales will be better than vios and city. Buyers usually prefer cars with better exterior look, and of course the after sales value

• Yes, here it is VW dumps in the SOHC 8Valve 1.6 engine from 1980. Golf Mk1 to you…. Need to be real dumb to buy it. More dumb then buying a Toyota Unser!

• BeemerFreak on Jan 17, 2012 at 8:55 am

Haha surely never read the post…. EH the engine is a 1.6 16V DOHC from the Golf MKV FSI. That engine started production in 2005. It could even be tuned and mod to give direct injection. ONLY Honda gives SOHC engines… no one else does nowadays

• Why ppl buy Toyota or Honda? Because it is reliable and spares are reaonable and easy to find… Try VW is damn high maintenance car. The radiator fan cost RM1,500. And all the plastics used are brittle and it cracks due to our high humidity climate here. That is why you do not see many european cars on the road after 5 years. It is better to throw it away then to repair it. Think of Proton Tiara (Citroen). Buy for RM800. Cost RM5,000 to repair!

• People who can afford the European cars so they don ever care about high maintenance whatever…

• Are you saying these ppl have nice deep pockets that they dont have to? thats simplistic and U sound like one of them ..but surely youre not also refering to regular joes looking for b-seg vehicles like fiesta/city/vios/polo? Anyway you look, reliability and spare availability counts….that affects your resale as well.

• kadajawi on Jan 17, 2012 at 12:13 pm

I’m driving a 6, almost 7 year old conti, there is nothing wrong with the car. A bit of wear and tear (not much), an electric motor for the central locking system and wiper washer pump failed, and the catalytic converter failed (I admit that’s a bit bigger). But apart from that, no worries. The black plastic on the exterior isn’t as nice as it used to be, and the interior has slightly changed the colour, but nothing is wrong with the car, nothing is cracking.

• BeemerFreak on Jan 18, 2012 at 9:50 am

err this is likely from a person who has not own a conti, more so a vw. My Rocs maintenance bills are not much different to my wife’s city and the recent change of fuel filter during regular maintenance saw mine being even chepaer than honda’s.

• Why are you comparing the conti cars of yester years with the current cars? The last time I heard, which was many years ago. That conti cars are now fully climatized and are fitted with fans and cooling system that are durable in humid and hot countries. Jeez! Where have you been all these years?

• think of Proton Savvy (after owning and paying installment for 5 years) You still owe the bank after you sell it off! How worst can it get?

• Daniel on Apr 18, 2012 at 11:42 am

me this year is the 6th , same thing , i still owe bank i want sell off this car ,

but cant , i need settle finish , if not i got nothing but debt…..

• The engine is VW EA827 from 1974. The same engine as on the VW beetle 1.6 today.

• Olbert on Jan 16, 2012 at 11:29 pm

New Saga has arrived!!!

• For VGM Marketing Department,

This entry level sedan going to fail if the VGM priced it over RM80,000. Older generation 1.6NA engine hardly can please Vios-City segment. At RM78,000 Inspira is better car or Vios E is more reliable. RM80,000 more than twice India price.

• ben yap on Jan 17, 2012 at 12:55 am

Without TSI, i’m not interested at all. with a 1.6 that produces only 105PS, it is lower than campro CPS and even the outdated Vios 1.5.

Not impressive at all…

• Gebang on Jan 17, 2012 at 1:38 am

This model will damage VW image in the future if they pricing more than vios/city

• I am actually have the catalog of this polo sedan, I am sort of “taken” it during 1 of my service to one of the VW service center like 2 months ago. Beside the very Saga look, the lack of DSG & TSI. The interior is actually better than my polo hatchback. Come with RCD310 ( the 1 fitted in Golf) and climatic air cond just like the golf. So I don’t think it going to be cheap

• it will be hilarious if it comes with steel rim like Vios J.. Comes on VW!

• sure la not come with the steel,if vw brings this with steel how going to sell la.

• RM80,000 and turbodiesel is nice pair. Nobody simply buy a Vee Dub’s badge without a proper technolivy found in hatchback sibling. Suicide if over RM80,000 for old engine. New Vios has everything better but driving character than this Polo.

• Unforgiven on Jan 17, 2012 at 8:39 am

This should be around 207 pricing or cheaper, be fair n good, it should not be an expensive car.

• droll on Jan 17, 2012 at 9:48 am

can you imagine what happens if VW starts assembling these cars in Malaysia? the price will then be competitive.

• PakAbu on Jan 17, 2012 at 11:05 am

Looks quite possible now…. :mrgreen:

Even lower…. if DRB slaps a Proton badge on it! :mrgreen:

• kadajawi on Jan 17, 2012 at 12:15 pm

Then people won’t buy it, cause there’s a Proton badge on it. They are allergic to that.

• PakAbu on Jan 17, 2012 at 3:59 pm

Badge allergy (snobbery) is very expensive to cure. :mrgreen:

• dun think thats possible,unless DRB sells Proton to VW itself

• protonsucks on Jan 17, 2012 at 11:21 am

Outdated. No TSI and DSG

• samsam on Jan 17, 2012 at 12:29 pm

the exterior look dull.. suitable to those “How to Act Like a Rich Man” =]

• The Polo Sedan will be the third CKD car here. Price is below RM90K.

• soundsfishy on Jan 17, 2012 at 4:46 pm

the new ‘saga’ begins…

• put some spoiler..it will be nice…

• Unforgiven on Jan 17, 2012 at 9:51 pm

Is it really that hard too get a CKD VW? Is the quality really that bad? If not what are they waiting for on the CKD models?

• RedBeanBun on Jan 17, 2012 at 9:57 pm

milk the malaysian! but hey, heard 2012 will be going to be a tough year for economic, i will wonder how many people will go bankrupt for the car loan…safe your $$ man. mark my word, wait until 2012 over to buy car if you still can afford it.

• no worries if get P1 or P2

• So if no one buy cars in Malaysia, car industry close down, SMI support industries goes bankrupt, lots of people lose jobs, inflation rises, u think the economy will get better this way?

• Andrew on Jan 18, 2012 at 4:38 pm

Dont think it will price at vios/city league, as you can see from their previous pricing, Touran vs Nissan Livina. They wanna market them as higher premium car than T/H/N

• kadajawi on Jan 18, 2012 at 6:18 pm

Yes, they do, but a Touran is also miles ahead of the Livina. That is almost like comparing a Rusa with an Exora. (Not saying the Livina is bad, but a Touran in terms of spec and everything is in a different league, IMHO).

• kadajawi on Jan 18, 2012 at 6:20 pm

(An edit function would be great).

The thing is this Polo doesn’t really seem to be that premium. The specs are so-so, the engine is very meh, … they should price it lower than the Vios etc.

• RM 81050.00 in south africa.. uhuu…. wonder if that same price in malaysia…

• 1020010 on Feb 17, 2012 at 11:37 pm

Underpower and gear shifting delay

• no TSI no talk……..no interesting …

• no TSI no talk….

• VWsupporter on Apr 18, 2012 at 1:45 am

saw the malaysia vw site and it said polo sedan will b launched on 19th april. can’t wait to see the real car

http://thepeoplescar.com.my/

• aaronc on Apr 18, 2012 at 4:24 pm

oh wow! i am selling my 2005 Wira sedan 1.5 manual to get this! Any takers? haha!

• I’ve been told by my mechanic friends who specializes in conti cars that the horsepower reading for conti cars are taken from the wheels. Where else the Japs take theirs from the fly wheels. That’s why the conti cars have better engine power tractability, thus feels more drivable during everyday driving and especially true during expressway drives.
    Wonder how true is that.?
    Anyway I drive a conti and it certainly feels much torquier than my wife’s Japanese make car that is of similar engine capacity. Even the gearings are more relaxed and better spaced gear ratios maybe due to the conti cars pedigree and experienced producer.
    So Polo sedan buyers, don’t despair. Go for a test drive and then decide. Cheers!