EXCLUSIVE: Proton Satria GTI Makeover Video #1

Earlier, you saw the work in progress pix of Hafiz Mohd Hashim’s Satria GTI, with the boys at R3 reportedly working double time on the rebuild. The car has already undergone its repaint job, finished in Lotus Racing Green, as requested by Hafiz.

Unlike the previous makeovers, however, Proton has decided to make a series of videos on this one as the rework progresses along. The first of these exclusive videos to us is pretty much a teaser, talking a bit about the handover, with sound bites from Hafiz and his wife Salina.

The video also reveals that the Satria was previously involved in a mishap, with the car badly damaged, according to Hafiz. There’s a part in the video that shows the floorboard in front of the driver’s seat to be rusted, likely from repair work that wasn’t all too hot.

Stay tuned for more videos in the series – you’ll only find them here! :)

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• ss427 on Feb 28, 2012 at 8:40 pm

Cheap malaysia junk..

• Give him a brand new Satria NEO then…makeover but the car is still cannot tahan lama already…

• yeahjuststraightandcommentwithnobrainok on Feb 29, 2012 at 1:47 am

cheap malaysian comment…

• ex-sgti on Feb 28, 2012 at 8:58 pm

Terbalik? Yup ur deserve it to be rebuild…

• Pls give him a turbo engine.. We need to see more than usual repaint only.. Please

• exist_ting on Feb 29, 2012 at 7:51 am

yg bashing2 nh smua jealous sbnrnye. hahaha=)

• Kevin on Feb 29, 2012 at 10:17 am

What jealous??? Swear to god if given free also I don’t want!!! A piece of junk made by junk company as well !! Cheap quality, no flesh and with no passion just like what top gear said. New car also break down few times on my bro proton… Should get the award junk car of the year.

• BadBET on Feb 29, 2012 at 12:31 pm

free also dont want? wow… you must be rich then, good for you.

ps: even Porsche Panamera got bashing from top gear, is than mean Porsche Panamera is bad?

• Hammerclaw69 on Feb 29, 2012 at 2:16 pm

Kevin , Satria GTi z junk for u? have u felt one?

• samsam on Feb 29, 2012 at 10:58 am

r3 really nothing to do now days, and their script is really fake, no people will talk like that. use picture better video can show everything (bad)

• Hugo Andore on Feb 29, 2012 at 12:08 pm

Kalo ade masa, baik pergi luangkan dalam R&D and design.

Usah nak buat kerja kerja remeh cam ni untuk dapatkan publisiti murah.
    Ni saya tengok, nak pimp separuh separuh hati aje, bukannya bling sangat, dan takde gadjet gadjet power cam mobile internet, peti sejuk and petunjuk kiblat automatik…

Kalo sekadar tu, kedai motor Ah Chong di Taman Desa pun boleh buat….janji ade sponsor…Sori la kengkawan, aku kena click “Meh” sekarang.

• kalau ada masa lebih baik kamu buat kerja yang lebih berfaedah encik Hugo. Nasib baik tak ada butang “meh” utk di klik.

• jay8393 on Feb 29, 2012 at 9:54 pm

Ini kerja budak-budak kat R3. Proton still doing R&D works for production cars. R3 is just the in-house tuning arm like what AMG is to Mercedes-Benz and M-Division is to BMW: they take the road car and improve them.

• jay8393 on Feb 29, 2012 at 8:11 pm

Hopefully a TV station will turn this into a TV programme ala Overhaulin’. :D