Proton VIP Makeover: Work in progress pics of Hafiz’s GTI

Here are some work in progress pics of Hafiz Mohd Hashim’s Satria GTI, the current car being reworked by R3 in My Proton Makeover. Hafiz, a Quality Control Inspector based in Singapore, has his wife to thank, as she submitted a photo-entry featuring two Satrias belonging to her and her husband, but his GTI was the one chosen by the judges.

The R3 boys should be having a good time “playing” with the GTI, since it’s the sportiest car to be madeover since My Proton Makeover started. Till now, they’ve worked on a 1992 Saga, a 1994 Wira and a 1996 Iswara Aeroback.

“From the first look, car has been well maintained and we can tell when an owner appreciates his car. As we start taking it apart, we will analyse its inner conditions to see what areas we need to work and improve on. We will also be focusing on making his machine run smoother. The Satria GTi has its history with Lotus, and we look forward to ensuring that it is tuned to that level of quality and performance,” said R3 head Tengku Djan.

From the WIP pics, it looks like Hafiz’s hatchback is now a green machine. How mean, we will have to wait till the unveiling to find out

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• ZenZarray on Feb 28, 2012 at 5:34 pm

Seems like the Satria GTi gonna transform to Lotus Editon GTI…

• kamilsucka on Feb 28, 2012 at 5:55 pm

yep..it does

• Sharvind Varma on Feb 28, 2012 at 6:04 pm

haha..satria gti R3…same green colour…but at the end only exterior and interior refurbished…but the engine will remain the same..why need R3 to do so…go any modifying shop oso can do better

• At least its free

• ..... on Feb 28, 2012 at 6:54 pm

Ya but this guy get it for free…u?

• samsam on Feb 29, 2012 at 11:02 am

why do u guys keep saying FREE, if this program is NOT about FREE restoration

• ah bear on Feb 28, 2012 at 6:57 pm

free maaaa…or percuma or kostenlos or gratuito ????????? or ?? or ??? or free of charge

• grateful on Feb 28, 2012 at 7:06 pm

Can you get those shops to do it for FREE? :)

• exJAVANESE on Feb 29, 2012 at 10:37 am

somebody got jealous! atlest IT’S FREEE!!! got it??

BTW Soo.. Lucky man…i wanna it too T.Djan!!!! Choose my gti…plzzzz!!

• Justice on Feb 29, 2012 at 10:37 am

ya..free, also (maybe) got warranty like brand new car

• loveit on Feb 29, 2012 at 2:06 pm

seeing a man with dismantled engine block, don’t think they refurbished interior/exterior only..also no need modifying engine, the original already the best just need ‘refreshing’..

• laut biru on Feb 29, 2012 at 5:22 pm

free maaa…

• Lorat on Feb 28, 2012 at 6:10 pm

I don’t think R3 will do a complete copy of Lotus Edition GTI. That and it will be ripping off own design! :P

• lan87 on Feb 28, 2012 at 6:13 pm

yeah… looks to be that way… well be kinda awesome to see how lotus GTi will look like… i think this will be the best Proton makeover compared to the previous ones…

• amroll on Feb 28, 2012 at 6:05 pm

lucky gti.this will be the most exiting makeover in this contest.im jelly

• syafiq on Feb 28, 2012 at 6:06 pm

untunglaaaa

• syafiq on Feb 28, 2012 at 6:07 pm

untunglaaaaa

• encikpadil on Feb 28, 2012 at 6:26 pm

lucky bloke!

• Looks like R3’s 1.5R done.
    1R – Repaint, checked
    2R – Restore, in progress
    3R – ???

• lucky dude..can’t wait to see it!

• teamsleepnine on Feb 28, 2012 at 8:03 pm

I see yellow bumper…special edition to celebrate the aprc triumph that dsz mention late last year/early this year?

• nabill on Feb 28, 2012 at 8:16 pm

Dat 4g93 dont need many mods…ody good reliable n robust engine…plus it easily responds to small mods anyway…

• GT Driver on Feb 28, 2012 at 9:16 pm

Not to be confused with Mohd Hafiz Hashim..

• originals on Feb 28, 2012 at 10:42 pm

so boring, just a repaint? com on.

• RedBeanBun on Feb 28, 2012 at 10:55 pm

I guess it right! its the UGLY green!!

• amroll on Feb 29, 2012 at 12:08 am

better color compared to previous makeovers.

• HirumaKecil on Mar 02, 2012 at 1:00 pm

Lo… No need u to guess it lah… They already mention that the owner like that color in the first place… Problem with people like u is, they are so eager to condemned other… Full of passion…. strong desire…. but always CARELESS…. Hahaha.. So funny la u… Why u need to guess??? Why???? My advice to you…. Read first, then after finish it… READ AGAIN… So u would not miss important point… FOLLOE my ADVICE or u will look IDIOT+STUPID like wht u just did… Haih… So ‘kesian’ la people like u.. Hopeless…

• VOLVO FOR LIFE on Feb 28, 2012 at 11:51 pm

i thought it looked better in its original paint

• Nissan on Feb 29, 2012 at 12:15 am

interesting. would like to see them pick a perdana next.

• lan87 on Feb 29, 2012 at 9:24 pm

i like this idea… Tengku Djan, please choose a Perdana for ur makeover… and also don’t forget Putra k ;)

• HirumaKecil on Mar 02, 2012 at 1:02 pm

Yea… Perdana…

• mentari-o-korea on Feb 29, 2012 at 6:21 pm

The color make more sense this time, the lotus green look great on gti, rariness!

• Jerome Jonathan Fernandez on Mar 08, 2016 at 10:25 am

My Proton Makeover May I Know What Is The Website.

• Jack yee on Dec 17, 2022 at 11:48 am

Can I request makeover for my proton satria (year of 96)
    And how much the cost. Thanks you.