My Proton Makeover – Sashideran gets his reworked Wira

The folks at Proton have certainly been busy this past week, with the launch of the turbocharged Exora Bold undoubtedly taking all the focus and time. So much so, the handover of the second vehicle that underwent the My Proton Makeover programme came and went quietly. Unlike the first one, there was no press event to shout the return of Sashideran Radha Krishnan’s 17-year-old Proton Wira back to him, which took place last Wednesday.

We’d asked for photos of the occasion, but amidst all the Exora Bold-related flurry of activity, they never arrived. But not to worry – we’ve managed to get some photos of the handover, courtesy of Proton’s Facebook page.

We caught the car in its final stages of prep the week before, and to recap, the original white of the car has been replaced with a metallic blue shade, which Proton motorsports division head honcho Tengku Djan Ley says was chosen to best complement the matte silver wheels picked for the car.

There’s a new rear wing, which the car never had, and the front bumper has a lip taken from a Satria, and highlighted in silver. The Wira also features a lowered ride, courtesy of a new APM suspension specified by the R3 boys. The car had a brown interior, but after the rework is now in black, with leather featuring prominently, on the dashboard, seats and door cards, highlighted by blue stitching.

The Wira gets a Momo steering wheel, and the centre console panel, instrument panel trim and new gearshift console cover (taken from the Satria GTI) is finished in the same shade as the external colour. From the photo of the alloy wheel, it looks like the idea of changing the 1.5’s rear drums to discs didn’t come to be.

We’re sure that Sashideran must have been absolutely chuffed to get back NAK 59, his ‘darling Wira’ all spruced up. So, on to the next makeover recipient, which should be announced soon enough. Stay tuned!

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• nice

• kimi_ on Dec 22, 2011 at 12:24 am

Damn it Potong, How much the front fog light cost you???

Looks like Potong more concern on the bling bling rather than safety of driver. The fog lamp can provide better view during night and rain hence it is more safe.

Although the ori dont have fog lamps, can you add it rather than have a spoiler that do not make this wira faster.

• how sure r u that fog lamps give u better view at night?

• blue-traveler on Dec 22, 2011 at 10:07 am

In the rain and mist at night,, YES. It is better than main head lamp, even the high beam. Happaned twice during mine stay in States side, fog and ice rain, hit the high beam, Dam# can’t see a thing a cause the light got reflected back. Change over to low beam and fog lamp, what a diff. can see “properly”. You can try this during your run to Genting on a misty day.
          On normal night drive, turn on and off your factory fitted fog lamp and you will see a mark diff in the wider angle of illuminated area.

• albag on Dec 22, 2011 at 8:13 am

i believe Mr Krishnan can add in those after market fog lights or LED daytime running lights in times to come… haha!

• Lorat on Dec 22, 2011 at 9:31 am

Actually, even oncoming headlight is blinding me these days. To add foglight? I think I will just ram your car head to head thank you.

• Pride on Dec 22, 2011 at 12:15 pm

Fog light will not blind you, only illegal HID lights will. Fog light is good for heavy rain and extremely good when driving in a misty road to Genting.

• civic owner on Dec 22, 2011 at 10:11 am

civic type r also dont hv fog lamp wut..

• ThePolygon on Dec 22, 2011 at 9:02 am

Waiting patiently for Juara makeover.

• S.Roma on Dec 21, 2011 at 7:29 pm

Damn, i want the sport rim only !

• the Rim, like GTR35…

• No performance upgrades? :(

• ayyam on Dec 21, 2011 at 7:46 pm

maybe not the best looking car or spec, im sure happy to get that kind of quality to refurbish my wira..huhu

• Jerry on Dec 21, 2011 at 7:51 pm

It’s unashamedly in STI blue!

• The owner looks a bit disappointed with the car. Maybe it’s below his expectation.

• Paparazi on Dec 21, 2011 at 10:06 pm

Cause it’s time to pack back after proton makeover his car…. Like kena tipu.

• jay8393 on Dec 22, 2011 at 10:02 am

Then he better not participate in the contest in the first place. He must expect the car not to look like the way he wants it to be.

• Littlebear on Dec 22, 2011 at 7:46 am

Proton should install more chrome parts onto the car. Chrome door handle, chrome backlights, chrome headlights etc… Guarantee the owner will love it. :P

• wat an ugly make over by proton…

• RejimKejamGanas on Dec 21, 2011 at 7:55 pm

Aik… kenapa sume kete diorang ‘makeover’ ni nampak mcm kete samseng?

• Naley on Dec 21, 2011 at 7:56 pm

lucky guy…

• Leather interior & the seat is nice, any dealer contact No.???

• congrat2! so lucky la you

• BadBET on Dec 21, 2011 at 8:13 pm

the exterior look really nice

• Heckler on Dec 21, 2011 at 8:17 pm

How come they don’t give a rear disc brake?

• sfssd on Dec 21, 2011 at 8:26 pm

Melayu dah, orang India sudah, lepas ni pemenangnya pasti berbangsa Cina.

• drMpower on Dec 21, 2011 at 8:26 pm

jezz this aint myproton make over
    this is kedai abang proton mekap

dang if they return it to its initial conditon i.e the real wira back as in when it was out, thats the best ever thing cud happen

• kington on Dec 21, 2011 at 8:27 pm

Now I miss my 1995 Wira 1.3 GL…..

• RedBeanBun on Dec 21, 2011 at 8:40 pm

this car subject to Power windows life time warranty?? :)

it will be real good if its in original white (pearl white maybe), or classic metallic brown.

Infact here are my Protong classic colors:

1) Saga – Metallic Brown
    2) Iswara – White
    3) Wira – Metallic brown, metallic light blue
    4) Waja – Silver

• Wanobi on Dec 21, 2011 at 9:00 pm

Good one from proton

• rush hour on Dec 21, 2011 at 9:03 pm

Sashideran will call this – Wira 1500 GT

• good recycle..!

• LPPL nothing special wat, looks just like any other mat wira.

• hayden on Dec 21, 2011 at 10:00 pm

I saw “kaki dislike” invading the area!! :D

• Expatriate VN on Dec 21, 2011 at 10:09 pm

Next vehicle chosen should be Tiara or the boxy Juara, see what the R3 boy can do about it!

• _xXx_ on Dec 21, 2011 at 10:20 pm

hey Sashi, what are u waiting? Drive your “new” Wira to any Toyota showroom now…your car has better resale value now.

• udasalleh on Dec 21, 2011 at 10:23 pm

alamak… the colour is so out of date… should have sprayed something metal inspired… ( gun metal / silver grey / dirty gold / copper orange ) from a design point of view… the shape of the car should go together with its skin.

They had more than a decade worth of examples in the streets to what colour goes best with wira.

• SatBer on Dec 21, 2011 at 10:26 pm

Feel dissappointed…….this type of finishing for a big company

• toyol on Dec 21, 2011 at 11:32 pm

boring..same as ah benggg…byk sgt dah kaler biru masuk kt wira ni….boring…xde pun special…..

• xshiro on Dec 21, 2011 at 10:35 pm

nampak macam biasa jer..boring…

• cidey on Dec 21, 2011 at 11:47 pm

proton makeover “with puspakom at side”

• Firqin on Dec 21, 2011 at 11:51 pm

Were are the safety features they should include the airbag as well

• Crazee on Dec 22, 2011 at 8:31 am

The car was not initially design to carry airbag(s), you can’t simply cut/make way for airbags(s)..need to think bout wiring n the electronics needed to run them + charity don’t really come cheap for this sort of company =)

• It is not about wiring and electronics, but more towards body impact resistance which will trigger the air bag sensor. And the body structural cannot be modified, it need to be designed from beginning.

• I think the first thing he’ll do is drive it to a used car dealer and sell it off at a higher value : )

• kington on Dec 22, 2011 at 1:29 am

And to label it Special Edition… tuned by R3 and Tengku Djan…

• JeremyNg on Dec 22, 2011 at 12:54 am

I wan the blue trim + rims + momo steering !!!

• rapla on Dec 22, 2011 at 5:28 am

awesome wiring job in the boot

• Pendrive Kingston on Dec 22, 2011 at 6:23 am

Hey Proton, please PIMP my ride!!! ?YOU’VE GOT’TA PIMP MY RIDE!?

• kereta lembu on Dec 22, 2011 at 6:24 am

Good Job for doing a Bad Job!

• eims @ gold on Dec 22, 2011 at 8:23 am

this program suppose to be a good marketing for proton.
    it suppose to make people think
    “Pehh!! nice mod!! I want to mod my car like this aso! i love my proton! ” :-D
    many people will crazy for “i have a proton, i want proton to makeover my car!! huargh!!”

but if its only like this, its more to make people dissapoint
    or people will just think… “oh… ok…” :-|
    “i have a proton.. nahh… adekukesah about proton makeover??”

anyway, 1st & 2nd proton makeover, i only like r3 sportrims only..

• firefish on Dec 22, 2011 at 9:06 am

Nice colour combination blue and gray. Nice but not enough to say wau!
    Or else they used cheap camera to take this pics or with low resolution, because the blue body colour should not that dull…

• i want the famous wira gt wing!

• thebosssedangbercakap on Dec 22, 2011 at 9:22 am

Proton boleh bungkus lah, if mod like this no need to hire r3 team also can do, sad to see that proton still can’t beat ahbeng modders.

• mofidz9 on Dec 22, 2011 at 9:22 am

seriously, what do u expect the makeover should be? big spoiler? spinner? lcd40″? aquarium? turbo? hehehe.. so far more to restoration with basic makeover only..

• I thought its pre-makeover at first glance.

• ben yap on Dec 22, 2011 at 10:05 am

nice twin exhaust and sports filter. the intake manifold was changed to a new one.

i like the height of the car lowered, not too low and the wheel gap between the fenders and wheels are just nice.

good job!

• Nizam80 on Dec 22, 2011 at 10:08 am

I love all those blue-stitching. And that nice-to-grip Satria GTi gear stick and knob !! That thing must be rare nowadays! Some more it’s free!

• The stich at floor mat should blue too.

• thunder cats on Dec 22, 2011 at 10:25 am

could have done better,,,this is rather dissapointimg for a wira,,,i

• Aiyoo. That car is ok la. Anyway he got it for free. At least it is better than your father’s wira. Semua jealous. X payah dengki. Huh. Proton, good job.

• dokcukuppitis on Dec 22, 2011 at 6:17 pm

Dia ni mesti ejen proton…pegi daaa jgn nak racun fikiran org waras.

• Masalah org macam ni.Tau nak kutuk je. Proton je kutuk. Org tu happy sudah la. Aku bukan salesman la.

• jgn la nk kutuk sgt…biar jela…dpt free kowt…nk mntak lbeh2…syukur la klu tgk kete da jdik mcm bru smula wlau ade kkurangan….cbe anda yg gnti tmpt owner 2…da proton buatkan…pastu ckp la kt diorg…ape bnde nie sume…kutuk dpn diorg la..bru diorg bley ubah lg…klu brani la…syukur la ape yg da dpt 2…

• I thought the WIRA makeover will turns into Bimmer lookalike…
    At least the makeover could have done better and transform into sporty looks, like the one we see in Rally Circuit. Should throw in some gadget like touch-screen navigation, start/stop button, turbo-charger…etc…

• edy halim on Dec 22, 2011 at 10:56 am

IM JEALOUS HEREEE ! HUH !

• Jernson on Dec 22, 2011 at 11:14 am

WOW!!! So surprised after make over still is Proton Wira !!Only the rims is nice !! others still remain BORING Wira !! Dont waste money on make over.Take the make over money for donation.LAGI BAGUS!!! You donate many will thanks to you !! you make over this car only owner thanks to you !! Others will scold you.

• jolly_idiot on Dec 22, 2011 at 11:15 am

Nothing special. This kinda work i can easily do it outside. R3 should impress us rather than doing a boring job.

• Garryt on Dec 22, 2011 at 11:21 am

why don’t proton open up this with a charge for all proton car owner. Probably even sell their new engine to go with the whole upgrade.

In this way not only the second hand value of the car is higher and the proud owner can have more value to their asset

• ZenZarray on Dec 22, 2011 at 11:31 am

Makeover is just makeover nothing to do with engine upgrade and tuning…if the proton says R3 Tuned than it would be engine upgrade and tuned,reinforce body structure and etc…

• Lim Guat Kim on Dec 22, 2011 at 12:42 pm

Mr. Sashideran, I pity you. Proton should have restore to the specification of thier Wira 1.6XLi, with 4 disc break, nicer interior (electric wing mirror, meter dim switch, and a cup holder). The blue interior is so ‘Ah Beng’. This Tengku Djan Ley has no taste, shame on him!

• He has no idea what to do with the ‘kereta rakyat’ because it is totally different from the cars he has at home

• why don’t they change the engine to campro 1.6 eh? since we already have our own engine..hurmm..

• Peter on Dec 22, 2011 at 2:06 pm

Hope his Wira’s bumper is stronger now & will function like a real bumper.

• semangat yo... on Dec 22, 2011 at 2:22 pm

Pergh… mantap neh… Da reworked pun hood, bumber depan n head light x leh align… mmg design error dulu ke pe neh? ke R3 x bersungguh2 nk reworked? soundproofing pun x psg… maybe work in progress kut… think positive gang…

• semangat yo... on Dec 22, 2011 at 2:25 pm

fender dgn bumper dpn x rapat… soundproofing x de langsung ka? jimat2… belum siap kut…

• mentari-o-korea on Dec 22, 2011 at 4:43 pm

..i still think the color selection was wrong, just take back original mitsu evo 2 color will do!

• duhhh on Dec 22, 2011 at 5:26 pm

i notice the rear tail lamp, reverse and signal lamp is red??!!

• michaelooi on Dec 22, 2011 at 6:28 pm

this actually looks worse than the original!

• WilsonLy on Dec 22, 2011 at 7:13 pm

nothing special

• DKBOSS on Dec 22, 2011 at 11:30 pm

HOLY CRAP!!!! WHAT WAS PROTON & R3 thinking when they did this make over !!! Either their funds was cut by half looking at the half-baked job done or they are just lost and cannot creatively come up with a proper make over for the car. I’ve seen a lot more modified wira’s by our local automotive talented Malaysian in car shows and other automotive shows over the years were people just go WAA .. check out that Wira ….

I really pity that Sashi guy, he must have been really, really excited to see something of a one kind wira with performance upgrade … etc engine, other safety features put in…at least a decent ICE system for the car …. Custom design bumpers by R3 or at least the dashboard/meter console could have been changed to make it look up to date. R3 has just tarnish their image, just look at the wiring at the boot door, it’s like a 12 year old using black tape to stick the wires to the boot !!!!

Sashi, my suggestion either take out all the parts worth selling it “& bring your car to some of the local performance and body auto car shops in Penang, Ipoh, Johor even in Klang Valley, they can do a 100% better job than this crap produced by proton & R3 team or take it to the nearest car dealer as mention by almost all the readers here and sell, sell, sell !!!

Take the money and move to other car makers where you can start your own journey with a new car and create new memories with it and remember your Wira the way it was, that will be much more meaningful than what Proton & R3 team did to your car !!!

Just Imagine is CHIP FOOSE or West Coast Customs had done the make over for this Wira… That will be one sweet ride for sure :)

• Cowboy on Dec 23, 2011 at 3:21 pm

WTF this is a piece of CRAB….

• Jernson on Dec 23, 2011 at 4:08 pm

R3 TEAM can modify Proton TIARA? Come on !! Modify a failure product is more challenging !!

• rosman on Dec 23, 2011 at 8:38 pm

I’ve already see this car in my neighborhood and the owner give me a look on his new “Make Over ” car. Overall it’s okay but what all off you guys doesn’t see is they NEVER changed the seat belt to new seat belt. The seat belt already tore and does not fit the new looks and not safe to be use..i dunno why the R3 boys close their eye on this matter..Another thing is the new owner cannot bring his family in his NEW car due to the fact it is too low and during driving the rear tyre hit the the body. Anyway congrtaz to the owner.

• Eastar Mystic Black on Dec 29, 2011 at 1:36 pm

1 word… AWESOME

• Car Lover on Dec 29, 2011 at 8:30 pm

what means by R3 = Race, rally and reseach..

if i work as the chief here.. replace the engine to the cps 1.6 tune to 145hp.. same as satria neo r3 maroon.. increase the safety feature as the engine becomes more agresive.. like adding rear disc brake.. put a stabilizer bar into the engine bay and the body.. to reduce body roll.. fog lamp is important.. its not an accesories// i will put in that car.. moulding a carbon fibre hood.. simple only like original.. to reduce weight.. come on la.. u re the engineer.. u make that car.. sure u know how to make it done right?

even what i say is like i want to make that car is like racing car.. what the most important is what is R3 stands for? is not like refurbish the old car like new.. then what is the used of R3? make something that people never think of it.. putting a cps engine into wira? come on.. seriously u worker can make it happen.. then people will salute the worker in R3 division..

anyway.. nice car u got there.. many people will jealous coz u hav nothing to spend to refurbished ur own lovely wira..

• 99ners on Feb 22, 2012 at 4:32 pm

another moron talking witout brain.. you change the engine and mounting your car cannot pass puspakom.. BTW… U never mod ur car right? I bet u use standard kancil..

• Car Lover on Dec 29, 2011 at 8:34 pm

what means by R3 = Race, rally and reseach..

if i work as the chief here.. replace the engine to the cps 1.6 tune to 145hp.. same as satria neo r3 maroon.. increase the safety feature as the engine becomes more agresive.. like adding rear disc brake.. put a stabilizer bar into the engine bay and the body.. to reduce body roll.. fog lamp is important.. its not an accesories// i will put in that car.. moulding a carbon fibre hood.. simple only like original.. to reduce weight.. come on la.. u re the engineer.. u make that car.. sure u know how to make it done right?

even what i say is like i want to make that car is like racing car.. what the most important is what is R3 stands for? is not like refurbish the old car like new.. then what is the used of R3? make something that people never think of it.. putting a cps engine into wira? come on.. seriously u worker can make it happen.. then people will salute the worker in R3 division..

anyway.. nice car u got there.. many people including me will jealous coz u hav nothing to spend to refurbished ur own lovely wira..

• how to participate in Proton makeover programme?
    look interesting..how bout the fee?

• Revein Reveindran on Mar 25, 2013 at 8:02 pm

Hi everyone,

Sorry for not introducing myself first.
    I just told myself that I am goin to restore my wire hatchback which is an automatic.But before I get it converted to a manual, I wanted to get the whole car fixed especially the wiring, handling , Engine and gearbox then cosmetic.But my first step was a disaster today.I took the car to get the power window controller replaced with a new unit from The Proton spare part shop and fixed it.GUESS WHAT???!!..

MY DOOR CAUGHT A SMALL FLAME AND DAMAGED THE DOOR RELEASE MECHANISM I THIN AND I CAN’T CLOSE THE DOOR.THE POWER WINDOW WAS WORKING FINE BUT IT ALL HAPPENED THE MOMENT I PLUGGED IT IN.i saw a little smoke and quickly removed the panel and saw the flame and put it out immediately with water.Now my cant can’t be closed.what a day.

I think the whole cars wiring is totally wasted.U need help to find someone or a few people who could help me with this car.It has been with me since 2003.

Is there a way for me to post pics of my car to find out how much it would cost.basically the engine and air conditioning is running well

Really want to restore this car.

My contact number is 0102214632 Jay

Thanks everyone

• Bongani on Oct 29, 2013 at 6:10 pm

Good day,

I urgently need assistance with changing the front lamps of the Proton Satria Neo( 2007 model) and the rear back fog light just up the exhaust. Please can some someone give me directions on how does one go about changing the light bulbs. Thanks