My Proton Makeover – work in progress pics of the Wira

Work has been progressing steadily on Sashideran Radha Krishnan’s 17-year-old Proton Wira, which is the second vehicle chosen to undergo the ‘My Proton Makeover’ treatment, and on December 14, he’s set to get his beloved ride back, all dressed up and ready to go.

We were invited to have a look at the car yesterday, with things moving into the final stages of the rebuild. The original white of the car has been replaced with a metallic blue shade, which Proton motorsports division head honcho Tengku Djan Ley says was chosen to best complement the silver wheels set to be tricked out for the car.

New to the car will be a rear wing, which it never had, and the front bumper now gets a lip, highlighted in silver. The car will also go back to Sashideran as a lowered ride, courtesy of a new APM suspension specified by the R3 boys.

Inside, the original brown interior has been replaced with a black theme, with blue highlights. Leather is the choice of wrap, and is to be found on the seats and door cards, and the stuff covers the dashboard as well, all replete with blue stitching.

The centre console trim hasn’t yet been painted, but is set to be blue, like the Satria GTI gearshift console cover that finds its way onto the car. Elsewhere, the roof lining also goes the black route, with an Alcantara-esque feel at that.

Mechanically, Djan says that they’re toying with the idea of changing the 1.5’s rear drums to discs, which might or might not happen, but otherwise, most of the mechanical work is pretty much complete – engine rebuilt and everything remounted. Sashideran, who was also present yesterday, looked thrilled, and is eager to get his “darling Wira” back. Next week, then!

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• insperut on Dec 09, 2011 at 3:22 pm

nice colour…
    wonder where they gonna put reverse light la

• pak turut on Dec 09, 2011 at 4:25 pm

warna macam teksi ajer :P

• I like it ! simple and nice…seriously this is the best looking Wira i have ever seen in my life i mean in M’sia road coz most of them are fake Evo plus overdone !

• Arrian on Dec 09, 2011 at 3:29 pm

go go wira go…so far so good and look impresive
    just one question, did the proton provide life time warranty to this car? if yes then the owner have to service the car at their service center, for next 10 years…

• dirtyoldmen on Dec 09, 2011 at 9:40 pm

You wish for life time warranty?
      No problem!
      Just be sure to rub the magic lamp, OK.

• kimi_ on Dec 11, 2011 at 5:44 pm

Come on Proton…Is the fog lamp cost so much????

Why the hell this makeover cant afford to include FOG LAMP to this Wira. I know the original dont have, But cant you include it since SO MUCH “modification” done????

Dissapointed that proton want add more bling bling but forget that fog lamp can give driver better view when dark, so more safe !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Don’t know why but this looks really like the work by normal kedai abang workshop rather than some professional team for me.

• Black on Dec 09, 2011 at 4:11 pm

x de aper yg spesel pon. hanya meng”s.e.”kan wira tu ajer…

• ZenZaray on Dec 09, 2011 at 6:19 pm

For U mayB it’s not special…not all people have the same taste…duhh~~
      By the way the the Make Over is free….wat more do u want if people are giving u for free…

• tokmoh on Dec 09, 2011 at 8:52 pm

Ntah… banyak songeh tul orang kat sini.

Aku tanya kedai ketuk aritu, nak ketuk bumper depan, belakang, fender kiri kanan Waja, dia quote RM650. Full body paint lagi la, senang-senang RM2,000++

Agaknya orang kat paultan ni sume kaya sangat, cost of makeover ni sume macam lekat celah gigi diorang je sampai boleh kutuk program ni. Sorry la abang kaya… Tapi camne boleh kaya kalau asyik meraung keter mahal, cukai sini, proton sana, ap sini, lembu sana blablablablabla. Kalau kaya sangat, tong sampah seribu ringgit pun boleh beli tak komplen langsung. Barulah like a boss.

So aku conclude, reason sebenar diorang komplen ialah… u jelly? *trollface*

• Nice one Tokmoh.

My expression -> :yaoming:
          I bet they took an arrow on the knee.

Excuse me, too much 9gag recently.
          Some people expect pimped up exterior and interior like those on Pimp My RIde, overhaulin’ and such. But then again, I’D RATHER have a normal looking & sleek ride. I mean come on, you want this car too look like an ahbeng’s job?

Heh. I wonder, really. :)

• makeover yang cantik

• Expatriate VN on Dec 09, 2011 at 4:18 pm

Bye-bye to my “white blood princes”! And welcome my “Avatar blue blood old woman”!

• dirtyoldmen on Dec 09, 2011 at 9:57 pm

no need to tell us about your fetish for granny porn, OK?

• Can’t u just fuck off and not comment stupid nonsense things about proton all the time?

• awg1031 on Dec 09, 2011 at 4:19 pm

lucky guy..unfortunately i don’t have good stories to share with proton about my 1 year old satria..haha..

• Clement on Dec 09, 2011 at 4:24 pm

4 words to describe : Nothing to shout about. :)

• wonder why did they choose this color?

• GrrrG on Dec 09, 2011 at 4:29 pm

The padding materials used look like alcantara material.

• nice leather trim….

• P1 Loyal Owner on Dec 09, 2011 at 4:30 pm

I wish that Proton have consider to open new division to recondition old P1 or second hand P1 car… and sell it with good price… This will boost up pre-own P1 car… and easy for new generation (especially for those are getting first job ever – age 22-30) to buy car rather than burden budget just to start new life….

The pre own car can be sell to other country… This will also make many stranded P1 cars got new life….

Hope Paultan represent us to talk with P1 management about this golden opportunity…

• harris murad on Dec 09, 2011 at 6:12 pm

Super Like!!!

• I like where you’re going with that…

• clever! i would love some reconditioned Savvy myself.. great car, but let down by uninformed service technicians.. a reconditioned Savvy by Proton’s own team would be just perfect for a start-up like me

• ezracopters on Dec 11, 2011 at 2:43 am

yup.. gud thinking brilliant idea, i might wanna buy 1 for myself..

• BMW POWER FOREVER on Dec 11, 2011 at 4:34 pm

good intentions but sorry to tell you nobody in any other country nobody would want a new let alone re-conditioned protons. if you go to certain african countries you would see it’s filled with used mercs audis bmw peugeots from europe.

• P1 Loyal Owner on Dec 12, 2011 at 12:47 am

Yes that is true… but not many peoples can afford to buy pre-own luxury car… just what i say… the target market just for new generations… especially for those who are getting first job… or for student…

And like u say… only certain african country… not all community can buy BMW, Mercs, Audi… Some african businessman can bought it… how the rest?

My friend… some people dream to own luxury car… like u n me… someday we will buy it… but for those cant afford it… they have a dream just to have a good car… for the convenient of moving from A to B… ^_^Y

The 10 Poorest Countries Of The World | World Poverty
        10. Ethiopia (GDP – per capita: $700)
        09. Niger (GDP – per capita: $700)
        08. Central African Republic (GDP – per capita: $700)
        07. Guinea-Bissau (GDP – per capita: $600)
        06. Union of the Comoros (GDP – per capita: $600)
        05. Republic of Somalia (GDP – per capita: $600)
        04. The Solomon Islands (GDP – per capita: $600)
        03. Republic of Zimbabwe (GDP – per capita: $500)
        02. Republic of Liberia (GDP – per capita: $500)
        01. Democratic Republic of Congo (GDP – per capita: $300)
        SOURCE: CIA World Factbook 2008

http://www.hottnez.com/the-10-poorest-countries-of-the-world/

• BanyakMakanWang on Dec 12, 2011 at 10:52 am

Well, that’s super simple to understand.

Africa is near to Europe.
        A natural place to dispose junks.

Used to visit few african countries.
        Sori bro, BMW not popular.
        They dont want to drive BanyakMasukWorkshop, may be.

They do naturally prefer Mercs, and french cars (Peugeots, Citroën & Renault).

• edy halim on Dec 09, 2011 at 4:54 pm

jangan lupa letak final result nanti k. cant wait !

• SpeakUp on Dec 09, 2011 at 5:01 pm

This is fun … seeing such project happen in Malaysia … really fun!

• iphone4 on Dec 09, 2011 at 5:12 pm

hello proton. bleh amik proton waja saya tak makeover?.. kereta waja saya ni dah jumpe probelm ABS pump problem. dah alang2 make over tu tukar lah sekali. kan free..

kalau jadi emel lah saya. paultan.org tau. terima kasih ye.

• Nissan on Dec 09, 2011 at 5:16 pm

nice interior work given away FOC. how come the Saga owner didn’t get this? because he own a cheaper Saga than Wira? Wha’t next? Waja? Maybe should give it to the poor Tiara owner.

• BMW POWER FOREVER on Dec 09, 2011 at 5:18 pm

all that modifications and the side mirrors are still manually adjusted?

• JeremyNg on Dec 09, 2011 at 6:17 pm

I wan the door trim & the dash trim in my wira !!!!! It look nice

• LFA LOVER on Dec 09, 2011 at 6:21 pm

could they change the inside door handle with metal one? That would be nice

• Mentari-o-korea on Dec 09, 2011 at 6:43 pm

If i were em i’ll not choose that color!

• RedBeanBun on Dec 09, 2011 at 6:56 pm

what if the owner said….I am allergic to Blue Color :P

Good move, good initiative, but..BLUE???!??!?!

• jay8393 on Dec 09, 2011 at 6:58 pm

The front lip is actually pretty nice, with the extra extension.

• pim my ride on Dec 09, 2011 at 7:16 pm

ngarut lah this project, if it’s done by aftermarket companies fine but to be done by Proton, they should at least publish out interesting facts and figures on related engineering changes associated with those new parts. Baru nampak macam OE rather than RE.

• samsam on Dec 09, 2011 at 7:56 pm

so team R3 good in repaint, rebuild and remount la? every usual bengkel can do it, marketing fella should get fire.. make me dislike r3 even more.. r3 continue racing and touring la..

• Annoynimouse on Dec 09, 2011 at 8:01 pm

The thing I like most about this build is the quality of work and attention to details that you wont find in most other workshops. You always see people trying to refurbish old cars, but often left with niggling imperfections such as fittings, quality of parts, body panels, rubber linings etc. This one looks immaculate, like a new car.

• thebosssedangbercakap on Dec 09, 2011 at 8:53 pm

hantar ahbeng buat balik kereta ni confirm lagi cantik.

• Annoynimouse on Dec 10, 2011 at 5:59 am

cantik sekejap je… then retak sana sini… use too many rivets and fillers…

• Julian Lee on Dec 09, 2011 at 9:44 pm

nice color… but bmw still better

• Your comment show that u just want ppl to thumbs down ur comment and start fighting! noob you are so childish lolx yea BMW is better but Ferrari is way better…what’s is ur point dude?

• lmao. This guy loves to troll. He’s been here since ages ago.

Nah, for you Julian. ;)
      http://i.qkme.me/354wqp.jpg

• bersih on Dec 09, 2011 at 9:57 pm

the seat looks nice

• shawal on Dec 09, 2011 at 9:58 pm

Can you makeover my savvy!??!
    cuz you peeps owe me a power steering hose!

• SparC on Dec 10, 2011 at 11:48 am

how much will it cost?

I like to makeover my 15 years old satria

• when is my 99 proton satria make over time?

• DArkerMarker on Dec 10, 2011 at 2:11 pm

–yawn—-

I’ve seen better Wira (better looking, better performance), and they are been driven on the road everyday.

how come this “biasa” Wira gets the attention pulak??

• bobdbilder on Dec 11, 2011 at 10:02 am

Why do you people think that this is supposed to be a showcase? Flexing corporate muscle? R3 and the motorsport division is already proven on track. This is the more human side of a big corporation. Companies give away money for tax benefits. They seldom commit real resources, expertise and manhours. How many companies, local or multi-national can give in such difficult times?

When a company contribute to the enhancement of its customers, it will gain in more ways than just financially. When one organization goes beyond its business responsibility, we should be thankful. If this act is spread through more companies in Malaysia, we have these unselfish people to be thanked for starting the ball rolling.

• SAGA BeLum Masak on Dec 11, 2011 at 2:44 pm

Alo…. Can they do some makeover to my manual 1.6 BLM… At least can put CFE too…

• toyol on Dec 12, 2011 at 10:24 am

kaler x brp menarik..so many blue on the road…huhu…

• Safe Driver on Dec 12, 2011 at 12:25 pm

Wow, stitchings on the dash and door. The stuff is expensive than the dash and door combined, impressive.

• TIARA 1996 on Dec 19, 2011 at 7:06 pm

I’m interested to see Proton Holdings Berhad to make the PROTON MAKEOVER a PROTON TIARA…!! i wan to see how u makeover a small car like tiara… so who own a tiara join this VVIP makeover…

• Life1 on Jul 23, 2014 at 3:13 pm

I have a proton wira sedan 1.5GL, 1993 version. pls, if there’s anyway my car can get a makeover, that will make me the happiest person on earth bcoz I luv the car so much.

• hafis on Nov 10, 2014 at 3:07 pm

I WANT TO ASK HOW I CAN CONTACT THIS WORKSHOP.BECAUSE I LIKE TO MAKEOVER MY PROTON WIRA.CAN ANYONE TELL ME.

• kvanan on Aug 26, 2016 at 5:56 pm

Good job !! I have a wira and would really love to make over. Could you guys help ??