My Proton Makeover – next up, a 17-year-old Wira sedan!

The next recipient of the My Proton Makeover programme has been identified – Sashideran Radha Krishnan’s 17-year-old Proton Wira, which he inherited from his father, will be given the reworking treatment by the R3 unit of Proton’s Motorsports Department.

The 24-year-old budding engineer is the first winner and second recipient of the Proton programme. The first was of course Fadly Hisham Roplay’s 1992 Saga, which was reworked by the R3 boys and handed back to him in September.

The white Wira that will receive the makeover was purchased by Sashideran’s father, Radha Krishnan, in March 1994. Interestingly, the day the car was registered also coincided with both their birthdays. “I still remember the day she was driven up the driveway of my house, all gleaming in white. I knew straight away that she was special!” Sashideran said.

In his submission for the contest, Sashideran described his Wira as more than just a car, rather a member of his family. The car reminded him of many key nostalgic moments, from ferrying him on his first day in a new school to bringing his mother and new born baby brother home from hospital.

His “darling Wira”, as Sashideran calls her, was also instrumental in being part of his first date, and was his reliable mode of transport to his first job interview and subsequently his first job.

“At one time, she sheltered me when I was away from home with no money to spare, becoming my room and bed for the night,” he explained, remembering once that he threatened never to speak to his father again when his dad said he was going to sell the Wira to get a new car. Dad has since relinquished full use of the Wira to Sashideran, who maintains the car quite intently.

“Sashideran’s story was so well written that it would be wrong not to reward him and his family for the love they shower on the car,” said Proton Director of Group Marketing, Branding and Motorsports, John D. Chacko. “We were a little amused considering that Sashideran is a passionate car lover, but his father still keeps a strict eye on him about how he cares for the car!”

Tengku Djan Ley, Head of Engineering of the R3 unit at Proton Motorsports, explained that Sashideran’s story caught the team’s attention because they weren’t expecting a “love story” with a car described in such a unique and heartwarming manner. “He and his family really love their Proton Wira, and the car definitely deserves the gift of a new zest of life,” he said.

The My Proton Makeover contest will reward four more lucky Proton car owners with a complete makeover of their car – entries close on December 28. As for Sashideran’s Wira, it’s scheduled to be returned to him in November.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• hippo on Oct 31, 2011 at 5:36 pm

The wira sedan is the best proton car. I had it for more than 10 years. No problem, it just keeps on going.

• jolly_idiot on Oct 31, 2011 at 5:42 pm

Wira is using the same engine as Saga 1.5. 4G13/15,

• banyak lg kereta guna engine 4g13/15
        4g13

Mitsubishi Carisma
        Mitsubishi Colt/Mirage
        Mitsubishi Dingo
        Mitsubishi Lancer
        Hyundai Excel GLS 1.3
        Mitsubishi Space Star
        CMC Veryca 1.3
        Proton Saga/Iswara
        Proton Satria/Wira

4G15

Mitsubishi Colt
        1991-current Mitsubishi Colt T120SS (Indonesia, 86 PS)
        Mitsubishi Maven
        1995-2002 Mitsubishi Mirage (US)
        Mitsubishi Lancer
        Mitsubishi Dingo
        BYD F3 (China) 2007-2008 model years 4G15S, EFI, distributor-less ignition
        Dodge Colt
        Eagle Summit
        Hyundai Excel
        Proton Saga/Iswara
        Proton Satria/Wira
        Soueast V3 Lingyue
        Smart Forfour
        Zotye 2008, 2008-?, 78kW
        Zotye 5008, 2008-, 78kW

• show off ur opinion about engine ka hahaha bro banyak org tau tak yah lah post

• tak payah show off la.. buka wikipedia jer la.. hahaha.. copy paste jer la bro.. bukan susah..

• sukasuki on Oct 31, 2011 at 5:49 pm

wira is a great car. but those ahbeng and soldadu make it into lancer wannabe tarnished its good reputation.

*soldadu = askar/tentera/army, u know what i mean when those askar modified wira and drive it like hell on the road. so annoying!!

• Pls dont say BEST proton car…If not mistaken, the rear lamp for this model got “masuk air”

• awak ni selalu “masuk air” nyer.. power window issue tak mau sebut ka? kasi sebut sekali la bro!! baru proton kn? lg ada banyak kan, kasi list ye.. thanks..

• fique D on Nov 06, 2011 at 8:07 am

hehehe as far as i known even rx8 also got this prob. i saw several bruneians’ ride with fogged taillight.

• BadBET on Oct 31, 2011 at 10:49 pm

my 15 year old wira still using the original rear lamp… never had problem with rear lamp.. so you are mistaken.

• RadzLee on Oct 31, 2011 at 5:51 pm

damn his wira looks brand new! my white 1.3 wira needs to be pimped more than his. it isvfalling apart now =(

• his rims looks nice too! maybe he should change to stock rims first…can sold this one..
      dapat duit lagi…hihihi..then dapat r3 rims..baik punye

• why are they choosing some ‘clean’ or ‘normal’ or ‘well looking’ protons to be makeovered ?

• MoFaz on Oct 31, 2011 at 6:22 pm

that shows he care for the car wholeheartedly. maybe R3 is rewarding him based on that, assuming he would care for the car even more after this….

• babeh on Oct 31, 2011 at 6:23 pm

less problem lolz

• Rosmah on Oct 31, 2011 at 7:44 pm

Biasa la, always find the easy way out.

• awg1031 on Oct 31, 2011 at 9:05 pm

because it’s not just about MAKEOVER la…this program is for those who cherished their proton car..apala….

• PokokCerryMechanic on Oct 31, 2011 at 6:27 pm

how to apply or register for my proton makeover?….i would like to see my wira get renewed.

• STFU! on Oct 31, 2011 at 6:30 pm

Let me guess what the makeover :
    bumper = Wira SE
    rims = Satria Neo CPS
    spoiler = Persona style

• jky xxxx on Oct 31, 2011 at 9:37 pm

dashboard??

• hampak gilor on Nov 01, 2011 at 6:52 pm

Dashboard : Wira SE (got hole to put tissue paper box)

• musangberjanggut on Nov 01, 2011 at 1:16 am

heyy~! put some portable bed for the cars, as he say that man used to sleep in this car last time.. kinda weird idea but who cares, me also love to sleep in car, but not in my BMW.. if i’m doing that i may wake up with knife on my neck.. lol..

who’s here enjoy sleeping in car, not just bcoz dont have money but just like to do it?

• Don’t expect anything.
    Don’t expect anything.

Trying not to hype myself up and then tumble down to deep depths…

• LOL! This car is actually used to be in MMU Melaka and the owner was using it as a taxi to send people around. I actually use his service a few times as it was cheaper than the real taxi.

• toyota fans on Oct 31, 2011 at 7:07 pm

i hope they will bolt on 4g93t engine…

• izzat on Nov 01, 2011 at 3:35 pm

nahhh..4G93T??…thats unlikely to happen..just don’t expect too much~

• peyno on Oct 31, 2011 at 7:44 pm

just make this wira with simple sleeper looks..

• LatukBandar on Oct 31, 2011 at 8:34 pm

Is it me or what that the next lucky winner will most probably be a Chinese.

• FR Geek on Oct 31, 2011 at 9:29 pm

expect similar like the SAGA …….wont be surprising nice

• hampak gilor on Oct 31, 2011 at 9:33 pm

Paultan, maybe you could pay a visit to Ah Seng Workshop that modify Inspira become Lan-Evo 10.

That’s more interesting LOL

• First thing they must replace is power window.

• Expatriate VN on Oct 31, 2011 at 11:00 pm

Too free for R3 nothing better to do ……..

• hippo on Oct 31, 2011 at 11:10 pm

My wira was stock 1.5 manual sedan. No water leakage at rear lamp, still ori Bosch. Only broke down once, due to clutch kit failure. It looks exactly the same as the makeover, except mine is dark grey. Power windows rosak a few times, but it’s cheap to fix anyway. Feels sad when i sold it off recently.

• RedBeanBun on Oct 31, 2011 at 11:24 pm

now i want to see how they can AMP this car u[.

Wira has one of the best modified cars on the road..they are just cool.

However, i vote Waja BMW-E60-like tail light is the best modified components on the road.. :)

• alfie60 on Nov 01, 2011 at 12:31 am

Dont know what to say anymore!!! Just one car get modify also BIG BIG news for them. Must be running out of innovative developement to distract us with petty issue like this.

• Expatriate VN on Nov 01, 2011 at 10:04 am

Bertelur sebiji – riuh 1Malaysia.

• deftones on Nov 01, 2011 at 12:33 pm

why u are so jealous??
      he’s 1 of lucky owner..why not spread the good news?

• big news? i saw news about this only in paultan…din see anything abt it in any local newspaper oso….u call that hyping?

• reDalerT on Dec 11, 2011 at 1:34 pm

marketing la bro.. 1 person like u slam about it to 10 of your friends, 5 of them slam to another 10 people each , while the 5 other ask 10 other friends each whether really got proton makeover program or not. 50% of them google proton website or go to showroom, 10% of those end up buying a proton. from a business POV = win win situation

every other car mod show also mod 1 car, also big big news, what’s the problem.. u jelly bro?

• Vincent on Nov 01, 2011 at 12:41 am

Omg please stop doing all these nonsense! If proton has too much money and too much free time please use it to improve ur cars! It’s embarrassing to call proton our national car! After 30 years you have achieved nothing at all!
    What’s the point in doing this. At the end it will just be another wira. Why not just give him a brand new wira

• acerman2 on Nov 01, 2011 at 11:28 am

less talk. MORE work please. Proof that YOU can do better.

• Vincent on Nov 01, 2011 at 2:07 pm

I am not a car manufacturer. Of course I cannot claim to be able to do better. Proton claims to be a car manufacturer and they can’t even get a simple power window to work after 30 years??!! They should be exporting their cars internationally by now! Instead of just selling to locals here, who buy it only because of the crazy tax our government impose on other cars to protect proton! Open your eyes acerman2!

If the goverment plays fair and removes the taxes on other car makes, do you think proton will be able to sell at all??

Who will buy a proton which is priced similarly to a toyota, honda and nissan??

After 30 years they have started to rebadge cars again! What is the difference the proton now and the proton 30 years ago?? What exactly have they improved???

It is the protectionist measures that has to be removed to enable proton to improve! Do not keep on spoon-feeding. It is when they face the challenges that they will improve and produce world class cars.

I am a Malaysian. I love everything about Malaysia and everything Malaysian. But this is a disgrace!

• Honda Power on Nov 02, 2011 at 9:29 am

Well said, Vincent. Totally agreed with you. After 26 years, Proton still need to be ‘protected’ by G. Remove the protectionism and I can tell P will ‘tutup kedai’. Yep, who wants to buy P if T, H and N cost the same as P?

• 12raixa on Nov 02, 2011 at 12:18 pm

you do know that there is no country in this world that didn’t protect their national company. Go to Korea to see what I mean.

• just wondering whether Proton’s Motorsports Department would like to pimp Tiara..or maybe Juara..that would be fun..hahahahaha XD

• gtmaniac on Nov 01, 2011 at 12:08 pm

Much agreed! Both of these models are always treated like unwanted child of Proton. A little bit of tinkering might inspired current owners to fall in love these cars again.

• amirad on Nov 01, 2011 at 8:43 am

I had a wira 1.5 manual for eleven years before I replaced it with a gen2 cps manual. Over the eleven years, the engine has never miss a bit. I love the car so much that I service it myself. It has original satria gti centre console, ori momo race steering wheel and gear knob, matching two tone black and grey coolmax seat cover. But the downside, I have replaced the power windows so many times that I’ve lost count. The entire body panels were replaced including the roof because of chronic rust spots. In the end sold it off for RM10k to relative back in 2008.

• Jack Leong on Nov 01, 2011 at 9:13 am

i bet it gonna look the same after the makeover.

• of coz la…this is not pimp my ride…they only refurbish+do alil bit of mods here n there to the car…

• bertuah hahah adoi jeles tul aku.. kepada kaki kutuk rosak itu ini tu tgk diri dulu pandai jaga kereta ke idak. ke ko tukar barang imitate hahaha aku pakai saga kotak pun tak pernah bocor lampu kecuali kene batu tu pun bukan salah proton lol sial lori batu ..

• DewaSemut on Nov 01, 2011 at 10:30 am

Pls lah choose my entry – my Waja need that same attention too!! (Car Reg no : C*G 4*17)…. hhehehe :) :) :( :) :)

• Instead of wasting time doing all these, go and improve the current line up quality first la..American did the pimp my ride you here also want to follow. Hey, the American will make plenty of money by selling the show and you here wasting time and money doing this nonsense.

• littlefire on Nov 01, 2011 at 10:35 am

Why not get the white wira from Namewee Nasi Lemak 2.0 movie and fix it up?!? lolz.. the handler and the power window from the movie… Maybe can also do some advert that proper spare part can prevent your proton cars from falling off.. :P

• alfie60 on Nov 01, 2011 at 12:31 pm

I think this is a Desperate act by Proton. They are try to create a demand for a secondhand market for their old shitty Proton to the youngsters. The sale of brand new car also not moving because public worry later after buying the shitty car hard to sell in 2ndhand market and price is also low.

Bad enough 25 years ago our parents had to buy the shitty cars now they WANT the youngster to ‘gian’ the old model again. We all should boycott is kind of marketing exercise and not encourage Proton if not they would not improve. Can you imagine DZS laughing at us telling Tun Mahathir “Dont worry sir,I can make the youngster buy the old low quality car for the 2nd time”

Of course some people think this is a good thing especially Singaporean expat like Mofaz like this kind of diabolical marketing campaign is good for Malaysians but in reality the malaysian are crying in their hearts.

Sticks and stones may break my bones but name calling me MOFAZ can never hurt me !!!!

Lastly,Proton may be a shitty car manufacturer but singapore cannot make their cars just you remember that Mofaz you kiasu singaporean!!!! ;-)

• MoFaz on Nov 01, 2011 at 3:55 pm

i’m malaysian. nuff said.

• Expatriate VN on Nov 01, 2011 at 4:59 pm

Next time don’t bull-crap you earned 6 figure income in sg! Ha, ha, “pisau sudah makan tuan lor ……..”

• MoFaz on Nov 01, 2011 at 5:42 pm

dude, what i said is not bullshit. I’m a Malaysian, working in SG with more than RM120k annual income.

• troll on Nov 01, 2011 at 6:55 pm

wow Proton pay you so much as their internet trooper

may i apply this post as well?

• MoFaz on Nov 02, 2011 at 9:37 am

you can try. put “Internet Trooper” as the job title. i wish u luck.

• asahiyakuza on Nov 01, 2011 at 12:55 pm

I don’t understand some people comment about this makeover by Proton.

1 – Why people expecting major cosmetic change? They are Proton. Of course they will retain the original looks + minor addition. Change the car to evo/ah-beng VIP styling will defeat the purpose isn’ it? If you watch Overhaulin’ , this is actually what they did in their show.

2 – Why they select a car in good condition? They are searching owner who have nostalgic/ special connection to the car. Of course they’ll take care of the car.

p/s I do not work in Proton/own any Proton. Just a general point of view.

• insperut on Nov 02, 2011 at 10:27 pm

haters gonna hate… that is all ;)

• Jerrnson on Nov 10, 2011 at 12:04 pm

Impossible they choose a proton with buruk buruk sana rosak sini rosak !!! Buat malu meh ??? They just want let you see so many years car still in good condition.Too proof their quality la !! Another sad person 17 years didn’t change his car !!! Hope his house got other brand car !!!

• Expatriate VN on Nov 01, 2011 at 5:07 pm

101 lesson about “My Proton Makeover”

Methodology: Input-Conversion-Output approach.

Input – a 17-year-old Wira sedan! Colour: white

Conversion process – “Forward-backward”, “up-and-down”, “top-and-bottom”, “back-and-front”, “inside-and-outside”, ……….

Output – Remain “brand new makeover” shitty car!

Achievement: Self praise syiok sendiri nothing to do freak show!

• insperut on Nov 01, 2011 at 5:32 pm

wira is my all-time fav
    been using 3 models of wira… one after another
    ’95 1.5 carb, ’96 1.8 dohc and currently on 1.6 sohc

long life wiraaa… heheee

• samsam on Nov 02, 2011 at 1:00 pm

fk = r3, this proton makeover campaign is BORING..

• Muttiah on Feb 03, 2013 at 2:56 pm

hi, there. i would like to make over my car. its is wira 1.6 (1995) auto. i can be contacted at 0122690151. i need more advice . please kindly contact me. thanks

best regards
    Muttiah

• simerjit kaur on Aug 27, 2014 at 8:22 am

I want wira…. Hw much…..
    Plz col me