Toyota USA new flagship car unveiled – Toyota Avalon

The car above is an example of what happens when Americans take over styling duties. This is the new Toyota Avalon, recently revealed at the 2012 New York International Auto Show, and it is redesigned for the premium mid-size sedan segment.

The design of the Avalon was the brainchild of a youthful team at the Calty Design Research Inc. in Southern California and Michigan. The engineering duties were taken care by the Toyota Technical Centre in Ann Arbor, Michigan. To keep it American, assembly responsibilities will be shouldered by Toyota’s facility in Georgetown, Kentucky when the Avalon goes into production.

The brief from Akio Toyoda for the new Avalon was to have a car that is more stylish, bold, sporty exterior design and luxurious interior styling in an enhanced dynamic package.

The Avalon will be numerous structural and chassis improvements to enhance ride quality, straight-line stability and handling. Strategically placed welds, improved body bracing and high-strength steel in key areas will imbue the car with better torsional rigidity, a stiffer chassis and an optimised suspension performance.

Shoring up suspension duties are MacPherson struts with advanced valving and rebound springs for a balanced handling and agility with ride comfort. The coil spring rate as well as the front and rear sway bar stiffness was increased to rein in body roll and help body control. Even the EPS has been retuned to deliver more control and agility and stability.

There will be three drive modes – Normal, Eco and Sport. Eco changes the throttle response and A/C power usage to improve fuel economy. In Sport mode, throttle response is enhanced and steering is weighted a bit more from centre. Paddle shifters offers a sportier drive while in D or S mode, the latter mode revised the throttle and helps improve shift response to maximise engine power and performance. Toyota has not revealed the engine choices for the Avalon as yet.

Toyota admits that the new Avalon is more compact than its predecessor but has better proportions and retains the same wheelbase, all the while being the lighter car. The exterior styling defines a sleek profile that helps communicate a sense of motion even at standstill. Other design highlights is the longer, sloping roofline, flared front fenders and reduced front and rear overhangs, lower vehicle height and reduced body-to-tyre gap. The Avalon will have the option of either the 17” or 18” alloy wheels.

Key exterior elements are the square Double-eyes PES (Projector Ellipsoid System) headlamps with HID and DRL, the wider front grille, LED combination tail lamps and dual rear tailpipes.

Inside, the Avalon is well endowed with rear legroom. The front seat’s hip point has been lowered by 10 mm to create better headroom. A concave dash panel design help create the impression of more space. Supple leather trims, hand crafted decorative stitching and soft touch materials add to the rich-feel of the interior. White ambient light illuminates key places in the interior for a loftier sense of luxury.

To improve NVH, sound absorbing materials are strategically placed around the cabin and body structure so it does not increase weight. The windshield and front side-glass panels uses acoustic glass to control sound intrusion into the cabin. Wind noises are reduced through the exterior cowl and louver sealing, out mirror shape and position, and wiper-blade position.

The Avalon will offer the Entune multimedia system, advanced capacitive touch switches, three-colour display screens for the multi-info display, audio/navigation interface, climate control, Display Audio system with 6.1” touchscreen are available as standard. The JBL Synthesis Premium Audio system, HDD Navigation with 7” screen, dynamic radar cruise control, heated/cooled front seats, heated rear seats, three-zone air conditioning are available as options.

In terms of safety, the Avalon will feature Vehicle Stability Control (VSC), Traction Control (TRAC), Anti-lock Braking System (ABS), Electronic Brake-force Distribution (EBD), and Brake Assist and Smart Stop technology brake-override system. It also gets 10 airbags, a pre-collision system that sense impending frontal collision and help prevent major damage. The brake pedals have adopted a variable ratio that varies the initial and final pedal effort ratios for better brake pedal feel.

A Blind Spot Monitoring system, in addition to the rearview mirror, helps eliminates blind spots. A new Rear Cross Traffic Alert system (RCTA) alerts drivers of cross traffic when backing up.

The Avalon will be the new flagship of Toyota in the USA and will go on sale later in the year.

Chris Ng

Chris Ng believes that all cars are made equal, and each one has its own unique story to tell. As such, the ex-advertising man is here doing what he truly loves, which is authoring the allegories and anecdotes of automobiles. Having served time in a motoring mag, he believes there's nothing more sublime than keeping the pedal floored and things burbling in top gear.

• taboogen on Apr 06, 2012 at 5:08 pm

civic front headlamp… vios stereng and merc E-class rear end…. wow really

• E-class rear? Really? How many cars have the same design before the E-class comes out?

• Regina Shwartz on Apr 07, 2012 at 2:37 am

That’s not the E-Class rear – if anything, it’s more like the Jaguar rear.

• taboogen on Apr 06, 2012 at 5:31 pm

no need thumbs down.. its true right… and and let me add … myvi front emblem styling.. hahahah.. kelakar lah

• Who care who looks like each other,this car looks awesome with mix blood why not?

• lol, i don’t see people saying that towards a korean car? that actually proved how stupid the mentality is in malaysia, toyota > everything? pui

• loveit on Apr 06, 2012 at 7:43 pm

that what’s most malaysian are…typically bias and prejudice..

• Oooo…really??? When Malaysian,Korean,American or any other carmaker maker do car u compare it….
        but when Toyota do it u say “Who care who looks like each other,this car looks awesome with mix blood why not?”

TOYOTA FAN!!

• fragmentation on Apr 06, 2012 at 6:54 pm

Maybe the steering should be square to avoid looking like other car? Jezzz

• ngapsayot on Apr 08, 2012 at 8:11 am

How about it looks like a Ford Model-T. Lemme see, it’s got engine in front, 4 wheels, 4 doors and 2 headlights and a boot at the back.

• looks like an avalon to me

• One nice car especially the headlight like transformers eyes

• autojohndoe on Apr 06, 2012 at 5:21 pm

civic front and more to old sonata for rear…

no offence Toyotarians….

• taboogen on Apr 06, 2012 at 5:29 pm

not forgeting S-class shoulder…. really running out of ideas already….

• slumber on Apr 06, 2012 at 11:39 pm

Agree, side profile looks like YF sonata, rear lights looks like NF sonata, dashboard looks like Kia optima,c-pillar looks like Mazda6, front lower grill looks like hyundai trapizoidal style, what else is ‘taken inspiration’ from??

• kenstar687 on Apr 06, 2012 at 5:23 pm

Seriously, bashing much? Just enjoy the car as it is.

• Masked Ryder on Apr 06, 2012 at 5:31 pm

aiyo, need to blame hyundai for making the avalon looking alike with the sonata at the rear.

• Masked Ryder on Apr 09, 2012 at 10:17 am

Can’t live without my nick ? Come on get you own nick & get a live.

OK even this round i can’t tahan Toyota, copying Civic light is really pathetic.

About time Toyota hire new designer.

• it doesnt look like a toyota.

• Camry should based on this design & concept and upgrade the outdated engine.

• BeemerFreak on Apr 06, 2012 at 5:46 pm

If Camry is already 180,000, if this car comes in, it would be RM500,000. Malaysians never learn. Keep supporting high car prices!

• wish one day all Toyota cars is well design like this one for example

• looks very comfy

but we 3rd world countries will never get cars like dis…..with the right price

• msian on Apr 06, 2012 at 6:17 pm

actually it has hints of the rear of the Renault Latitude headlamps of the honda civic and for some strange reason the face of the car looks like the hyundai Veloster

• Sholihin on Apr 06, 2012 at 6:52 pm

it Look like K5 rear

• Julian Lee on Apr 06, 2012 at 6:53 pm

cannot defeat 7-series

• lazyf on Apr 06, 2012 at 7:08 pm

sekali pandang kombinasi lampu dan grill depan macam ALZA pun ada….hehehe

• wa..didnt know so many designers here…y not u go get a job in car companies?

• Drift on Apr 06, 2012 at 9:01 pm

Yeah..it’s funny to read some people here think they are smarter and called these Japanese car manufacturers stupid. Walao, calling the biggest car company in the world stupid. Wah, if these ‘smart’ people sits in the board, I think they can make the car fly..

• Jtype on Apr 07, 2012 at 1:38 am

Walao…. 4speed gear box for Malaysian next gen Camry…. Toyota Stupid!!!

• ini america toyota punya style… kereta nie xkn msuk m’sia, yg msuk m’sia nie design dri jepun je… ni kepala america punya designer…toyota jepun x kn design style mcm nie….

• donno on Apr 06, 2012 at 8:18 pm

Its a Toyota Optima K5 LoL!

This car exists the way it is shows that the koreans are now the benchmarkers, and the japs are now doing catching up…

• Storm on Apr 06, 2012 at 8:55 pm

Oh please la…Korean benchmarked, Japanese catching up? Thank you for making me laugh..

• Jtype on Apr 07, 2012 at 1:36 am

20 years ago u bought a Sony TV and u laughed at Samsung. And nowadays u got yourself an iPhone 4s and iPad 3, u visited www.ifixit.com and you found out samsung display on Apple latest products…. u dare not laugh…..

• Storm on Apr 07, 2012 at 8:06 am

20 years ago I never bought a Sony Tv, I bought a Panasonic and I never laughed at Samsung because it’s no where to be seen. Now I only have IPhone 4 & IPad 2 and I don’t know what’s there to be laughed at because who cares what’s inside my IPhone or IPad….

• Jtype on Apr 08, 2012 at 6:09 am

so…. u just dun care what actually u are paying for? by the way, it is still Samsung display inside iPhone 4 & iPad 2…

• Storm on Apr 08, 2012 at 10:10 am

What an idiot. Can’t you read? Of course I care about what I buy. I care what are the features, specs, practicality etc in my iPad. I DON’T CARE WHO SUPPLY THE DISPLAY. Do other ipad buyers ask who are their parts supplier?? So for you who supply Apple display is your main intention of buying? Before you buy a pair shoes you will ask who supply the sole? Samsung display so what?

• Aerotourer on Apr 06, 2012 at 9:26 pm

You are right…. Copied from K5 the interior and rear…

• DewaSemut on Apr 06, 2012 at 8:29 pm

Toyota Jap designer should bring down their pride and ego and start learning from the American designer… This design cues should be adapted to the rest of Toyota’s market

• putih on Apr 07, 2012 at 2:30 am

agree they have to do so since the american designer also bring down their pride and ego when they start to mix and match honda, mazda, hyundai design que in this car.. good job!

• VOLVO FOR LIFE on Apr 06, 2012 at 8:53 pm

if this was the camry wouldn’t it be good

• wow!! suddenly everything is OK if Toyota does resemblance the design que of other car makers.. and it will be everlasting non stop bashing if the car wears the Proton emblem.. *puke*

• Looks like the Japanese car makers are now copying the Korean cars design philosophy. Emmmmm…. Makes us wonder whether the Toyota designers are running out of ideas. The Avalon looks like an updated Sonata version to me. Lol!

• Edward Roti Canai on Apr 06, 2012 at 9:29 pm

PREVE looks much better than this ABALONE. Proud to be a owner soon.

• catdog on Apr 07, 2012 at 10:09 am

we knw u like preve vy much, i also like, but not proper cmpare w this lol

• Mienzz92 on Apr 06, 2012 at 9:37 pm

~ WRH 215

• optimus on Apr 06, 2012 at 9:37 pm

that bottom front air intake/grille – looks peugeot’esque – identity crisis at toyota ^^

• Cars are people too on Apr 06, 2012 at 10:15 pm

If cars are people, this will be what happen if Peugeot 308 sedan and Honda Civic had a one night stand.

Hyundai Sonata jumped in for a threesome in the morning.

• Toyotapj on Apr 06, 2012 at 11:36 pm

Wow….nice design from Toyota ! Hope this car can come to Malaysia ..la sure sell like hot cakes. Anyway the New Camry is at the same league solid and reliable .

• This car will never come to Malaysia or even Japan. Toyota has their own different model line up for North American market. You can Google for Toyota America models, the models such as Sienna, Tundra, Highlander, Sequoia are all with US specs, suitable for their road and as big as those from Fords and other GM division.

• whysoserious on Apr 06, 2012 at 11:37 pm

If TOYOTA buat kereta yg design mcm HONDA..xde org bash..semua kata bagus2..if PROTON..for sure kene bash kaw2..typical malaysian..never appreciate local product..and im very sure that many people will thumb me down..

• Car Driver on Apr 06, 2012 at 11:53 pm

Very nice.. But it will be overly expensive here in malaysia if it replaces Camry.

• Annecy on Apr 06, 2012 at 11:55 pm

I don’t usually like Toyota but I’m a huge fan of that dashboard, and well, the rest of the interior, I guess, minus the steering wheel. Looks just a tad too blocky in my opinion.

• G8888 on Apr 07, 2012 at 12:01 am

Just stunning! I have to say this is one of the better looking toyota launch in recent years! how I wish the Camry would look similar to this!

• putih on Apr 07, 2012 at 2:34 am

totally stunning.. i believe both honda and hyundai designers felt the same way because their design cue being used in this car.. awesome!

• Beautiful! Why doesn’t the new Camry share any styling cues…

• Maserati on Apr 07, 2012 at 1:26 am

Looks great.As usual,Jap forever > Korean

• robot on Apr 07, 2012 at 2:04 am

front grill is really hideous..maybe influence by peugeot

• curious on Apr 07, 2012 at 2:14 am

how would the camry look like if they give us the chance to design it ourself, just wondering. This avalon definitely has the american look, so it will look like persona, waja, satria etc? lol

• putih on Apr 07, 2012 at 2:17 am

no worries.. get yourself a h.accord, just go to the nearest ah beng and ask them to make custom bodykit for you with civic headlamp, peugeot massive grill, sonata rear lamp plus lexus ls exhaust tip..

• curious on Apr 07, 2012 at 2:17 am

how would the camry look like if they give us the chance to design it ourself, just wondering . This avalon definitely has the american look, so it will look like persona, waja, satria etc? lol

• putih on Apr 07, 2012 at 2:19 am

no worries.. just go to the nearest ah beng with a h.accord and ask them to make custom bodykit for you with civic headlamp, peugeot massive grill, sonata rear lamp plus lexus ls exhaust tip..

• curious on Apr 07, 2012 at 2:28 am

if ever toyota will leave the design of the new camry to us. This car looks american, so it’ll look malaysian? lol. stupid but it makes me think

• Kl Stray Cat on Apr 07, 2012 at 7:51 am

Can anyone say “C6” ?!

• Wallstreet on Apr 07, 2012 at 7:57 am

Now this is the only Toyota that i can call it really fine and beautiful. Give credit when due. I really don’t understand those Korean fans..you are happy with your car then it’s good for you but why always like to say Japs are copying? For me it’s the Korean that love to copy and I m not saying its a bad thing. Its obvious they copy everything frm phones, cars, fashion, songs, dances, clothing, cookies etc. This is actually a sign of a country is developing fast. Just like Japan monsterous economy many years ago. They copy and make it better. As oppose to Japan today, why Japan economy never recover? Beside high Yen, they are still refusing to open up more and still very conservative in today’s open economy. Copy? It will be good if Japan starts doing thatnagain but no, not anymore.

• vincent on Apr 07, 2012 at 10:32 am

This car, if brought in my UMW, will most probably cost as much as a E250… Wahahaha. Toyota fanboys are always being ripped off in Malaysia.

• RyanL. on Apr 07, 2012 at 1:18 pm

Now this is sexaaaaaaaaaay.

• DArkerMarker on Apr 08, 2012 at 9:22 am

the passenger side dashboard design looks like “terkopek”

Anyone agree with me?

• The car has the design theme like an audi A7.

Good for Toyota but dont know will it be acceptable to US market…
    But love the interior..nicely done!

• Korean Fan on Apr 08, 2012 at 2:17 pm

This car falls into the category of large sedan, where it is in this area that toyota is lagging behind many players, especially the american brands. So this car will be completely different from an ordinary toyota model because toyota is trying hard to capture this segment.

• Lim Teck Soon on Apr 08, 2012 at 4:53 pm

TOYOTA NEED TO HIRE EUROPEAN DESIGNERS TO BECOME BEAUTIFUL !

All their so call new models are so outdated looking. Of course Toyota is so quick to conned would be customers that they have updated the inside where it counts :-)

• azrai on Apr 09, 2012 at 8:42 am

At first glance i thought it is a Honda with Ford styling cues.

• jsooz on Apr 09, 2012 at 4:36 pm

for some reason the interior looks apek-ish

• maggimee on Apr 09, 2012 at 6:03 pm

damnn… i thought it was a honda from the front…