Alfa Romeo Giulietta 1.4 TB MultiAir – 170 hp, RM178,888

Sime Darby Auto Italian launched the Alfa Romeo Giulietta at its Jalan Ipoh showroom yesterday evening. The Italian five-door hatchback is only available as a 1.4 TB MultiAir for now.

SDAI says that the range topping QV (Quadrifoglio Verde) model with Alfa’s 235 PS “1750 TBi” engine is coming soon, with a six-speed manual gearbox. Mmmm…

Sweet as that Cloverleaf may sound to enthusiasts, let’s focus on what we have for now, which is not bad at all. The MultiAir engine is of the downsized variety, displacing just 1,368 cc. But with turbocharging and Fiat’s patented MultiAir system (electro-hydraulic variable valve actuation tech, controls air intake without a throttle valve), it makes at a respectable 170 PS and 250 Nm of torque.

Paired to a six-speed TCT gearbox (twin-clutch, Selespeed finally retired), the Giulietta 1.4 TB MultiAir does the 0-100 km/h sprint in 7.7 seconds, before reaching a top speed of 218 km/h. Claimed combined fuel consumption is 5.2 litres per 100 km.

As with most modern European cars, Start-Stop is standard, but can be switched off. Also included is Alfa’s DNA selector, which gives the driver three driving modes – Dynamic, Normal and All-Weather. The DNA switch is placed in front of the gear selector. Boot space is still a decent 350 litres.

Riding on Fiat Group’s all-new Compact platform (the Dodge Dart and just unveiled Fiat Viaggio are the other beneficiaries), the Giulietta’s suspension consists of front MacPherson struts and rear multi-links.

Apparently, with aluminium wishbones at the back, Alfa managed to shave 10 kg compared to a conventional multi-link setup. Using the same metal up front saved four kilos.

There’s an army of safety systems at work. In addition to six airbags, it has VDC (Alfa’s name for ESP), ABS, EBD, HBA (Hydraulic Brake Assist), MSR (Modular System Regulator), CBC (Control Brake Cornering System), Hill Holder Control, ASR (Anti Slip Regulator), DST (Dynamic Steering Torque System) and TTC (Torque Transfer Control System). Alfa’s electronic Q2 electronic diff works on the front axle.

Standard kit includes bi-xenons with AFS function, dual-zone climate control, sound system with MP3/USB/Bluetooth and Blue&Me, steering radio and phone controls, leather, LED DRLs and 17-inch alloys. Three colours are available – Ghiaccio White, Alfa Red and Black.

The Giulietta is priced at RM178,888 excluding road tax and insurance. Click here to view a nice promo video. By the way, the lovely classic you see in the gallery is the Giulia Sprint from the 1960s.

LIKE ALFA ROMEO MALAYSIA ON FACEBOOK

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Alpha on May 12, 2012 at 12:28 pm

I love the Giulietta!!seen a lot in Europe and they look sleek!!But I was hoping it’ll be circa 160k,though.No idea it’ll be almost 180k.Isn’t the price is too near the 159??But Alfa is gorgeous!

• chuakz on May 12, 2012 at 1:07 pm

i believe that they chose to bring in the fully loaded model…with memory leather seats and bi-xenons….i don’t think you even get that with scirocco 1.4 that is 10k more

• Compared with the VW…the VW interior is freaking cheap and date ! this car looks nice in black !

• Lim Kopi on May 14, 2012 at 1:10 am

People, I honestly don’t understand what is Sime Darby’s business model in cars….

First of all, they have among the already most unpopular brands in Malaysia (chinese call it COLD DOOR CARS) eg: Ford, Alfa, Land Rover …

Then, they themselves don’t even have Half DECENT AFTER SALES to cover the products that they are selling ….

So in the end, the brands will ALWAYS SUFFER in Malaysia ….

• FIAT, Fix It Again Tomorrow! LOL

• a really nice car but too high in price..

• ayyam on May 12, 2012 at 12:49 pm

it does not have pretty face

• How come the chinese girl so old can be a car model, the car better than her.

• Nuffsaid on May 12, 2012 at 12:55 pm

“SDAI says that the range topping QV (Quadrifoglio Verde) model with Alfa’s 235 PS “1750 TBi” engine is coming soon, with a six-speed manual gearbox…”

Finally, the worthy replacement of my aged but still running strong 156 replacement is coming…..

SDAI priced the 159 2.2 JTS (185PS) for about RM188K when it was launched here and back in the late 90s Milan Auto marketed the 156 2.0 Selespeed (155PS) for around RM155K. Is Alfa Romeo compact executive saloon coincidently priced about RM1K per each PS in this country?

If that’s the case I would be happy to accept the 159 1750TBi 6-speed manual for RM235K and not more!

SDAI, are you listening?

• Thank to Malaysian Automotive Policy else we can own this car at the price of Proton Preve

• Me Again on May 12, 2012 at 1:34 pm

buyers should think about the disintegrating brand of Alfa Romeo in Msia……

• silwen on May 12, 2012 at 1:51 pm

Are the Alfas still as prone to breaking down as they have always been? Or can we harbour new hope on them?

• Love the rear so much that i almost ignore the front.. And im talking about both, the girls and the car..

• Maserati on May 12, 2012 at 2:05 pm

Crazy price for such an unreliable car.

• _xXx_ on May 12, 2012 at 2:07 pm

frankly, I dun dare to think about Fiat & Alfa, not becoz I cannot afford….

• This car must be quite light….as 0 to 100 in only 7.7 s with 179hp and 259NM .

• junaidi on May 12, 2012 at 2:41 pm

took them a while right? What, waiting for rejects ka?

• JeremyNg on May 12, 2012 at 2:42 pm

Finally the most advance VVT engine is in Malaysia =) Please bring in Alfa Mito with MultiAir too ………… I glad that they changed their gearbox to TCT bcs the gearbox in 159 is hopeless ~~~ (too jerky, you need lift off the pedal when it change gear to make a smooth gear change)

• Tajul on May 12, 2012 at 3:16 pm

It’s good that they are bringing in the QV version. Tempted. Btw, there is already a grey market Giulietta QV running around in KL since last year.

• nice car..
    alfa is an alfa..

yet alfa used to be a great car in the early 1980s..
    even our PDRM are using alfa(s) back then..

then again now; reality check
    supports in Malaysia sucks big time..
    no offense!

so now..
    who buys this car must stay near jalan ipoh and work around there..
    ONLY!!!
    go else where the car stuck and they you go bye bye..

mmmm..

• unfortunately that is true for least well-known car brands here. Fiat is another sad victim of this too.

• no problem if stuck, your ah beng mechanics can unleash its true power to 350whp (haha joking)

• teelim on May 12, 2012 at 4:09 pm

quoted fuel economy is really impressive.

almost makes hybrid tech unnecessary

• F Fiesta on May 12, 2012 at 5:02 pm

The front design damn ugly just the interior quite nice

• Thanks Alfa for making decisions just that bit more difficult… Yummers!

• seancorr on May 12, 2012 at 6:24 pm

Very few SC so its only limited to people who love Alfas.

• Merc=Real Euro on May 12, 2012 at 7:02 pm

OTR …18X +++ what a ripoff… and luck got alfa badge otherwise i would though it is china brand…

• Having around 170hp, is it sort of like a “warm hatch” with decent power. And I believe most people will buy it for the looks alone. Coz I will.

Very curious to see how much the Cloverleaf version will cost here. If it’s around 220k then it would be a great and unique alternative to the Golf GTi.

Hope you guys at this site will do a review on this car soon!

• Alfa will become history…

• shawal on May 12, 2012 at 8:36 pm

cloverleaf model RM arm & a leg.888.88

• swifty on May 12, 2012 at 8:55 pm

Love the rear, but can’t say the same about the front. An acquired taste. Not talking about the girls, just the car and also talking about Alfa not Fiat although both are Italian brands. Got to say they got the best auto styling houses in the world. Will miss the growl of the legendary twin-spark. Dad used to drive one, company car.

• nighttrain on May 12, 2012 at 9:07 pm

preve better.. NOT! this isthe exact specs I was hoping for a Proton car, alas..

• If you see the steering, it have the same shape as proton steering. But the material was better. Proton steering wheel to ugly…

• kadajawi on May 12, 2012 at 11:02 pm

Sweet. Great looking car, including the front. Reminds a lot of the 8c. I do prefer the 159 styling though (especially the front).

• Sime darby only know how to sell but fortunately only minority opts for alfa .

Simple, lack or too few service center”s”and resale value as good as scrap .

Only for those who thinks money is for waste .

Dont get me wrong , good car but not practical in Malaysia .

• Unforgiven on May 12, 2012 at 11:24 pm

Very nice car, I like…

• kjryth on May 12, 2012 at 11:51 pm

my gen-2 is more luxury

• SG has also just launched the Giulietta 1.4 a few weeks ago.
    SG also only has the 1.4 model.

So coincidence both our countries are more than 2 years late, and has only the 1.4 model at the start?! Giulietta was launched in 2010. Surely Fiat factory is not unable to supply goods to this part of the world since launch till now?

SG authorized dealer says 1750TBi can be specially ordered for customers, beginning in June.

• langit hitam on May 13, 2012 at 10:15 am

I think this is because giulietta design nneed to be acclimatization with tropical temperature like us.

• langit hitam on May 13, 2012 at 10:19 am

I think Giulietta need to be acclimatization with tropical climate.
      That is the main reason as what I know.

• Fiat Owner on May 13, 2012 at 12:29 am

Looks nice but, being an Alfa, it’s pointless.

After a year of ownership, this car will spend half the time in the workshop as the local mechanics struggle to figure out why it won’t start / can’t shift gears / won’t unlock doors / randomly goes into neutral on the highway.

After four years, the dashboard will start falling apart.

After six years, you’d have spent in excess of RM40k in changing all of the various suspension bushes, lower arms, damper mounts, flywheels, clutches, various failed electronic sensors etc…

If you’re REALLY unlucky, the camshaft pulley would’ve broke one day and you’d have to open your engine and change all of the valves.

And most of the time, you’d have to wait a few weeks for parts to arrive from Italy.

Seriously, I love Italian cars and would have nothing but Alfa Romeos and Fiats in my garage if money and time were no object. But after getting burned by an Alfa 156 and a Fiat Multipla, it’s just not fun any more.

Also, never trust Alfa/Fiat owners who say that their cars are reliable and affordable to run – to us, having only one breakdown a year is considered reliable (Note: a ‘proper’ breakdown that requires a tow truck, not just a new battery).

• Bro, I totally agree with your comments regarding Alfa cars. Last time had the 155, had so much sensor and engine problems, maybe the engine is not built for tropical weather and assembly quality is not great. Spare parts are expensive and rare, worst is most spare part outlets import the lesser grade Alfa parts (from East Europe rather than Italy) here.The mechanics here also lack the knowledge to repair Alfa cars. But one thing is the driving experience of an Alfa is great, the amount of $$ spent later will outweigh all of that.

To be honest, the Germans build better cars. So if u plan to go conti, u gotta ride your luck if u decide to go for an Alfa Romeo. :D

• raybrig on May 13, 2012 at 9:49 am

mu77

155 is an old story bro..owning AR 147 2002 model till now…10 never give me headache..still run strong in highway…i would say no breaking down in the middle of the rd…and for your info FIAT owner..my car never spend half the time at the workshop..and the spare part i would say could be find easily IF ure going to the correct workshop(i would say their specialist).

owning this alfa u have to do an extra homework – like knowing the workshop u can go etc..because its not like toyota or proton where u can go to any workshop…

i didn’t say that both of u are wrong but maybe ure unlucky…and in 10-11 yrs owning AR147,i didn’t spent in excess of 40k in changing those part that the FIAT owner said earlier..cheers

• Keyboard Warrior on May 14, 2012 at 2:56 pm

haha..
          another drama tried to fake public by Alfa sales boy..

i’ve owned several alfa(s)..
          trust me; only 1 or 2 really lucky bastard will got no issue at all with their car..
          but im sure those lucky bastard dont drive much mostly say 10k KM per year..
          yes no problem..

but for typical 20-30k KM per year..
          oh my God good job in ripping wallet and bank(s) apart..

the interior of the 147 needs to be re-furbished/re-paint by special coating if not it will fall apart..
          each time the coating will cost.. wow… per panel/per coating..

also the 156/147 sales speed gear box frequently magically lost gear..
          and yes support here sucks; coz they pretend to know but they dont!

anyway; just go buy one..
          trust me; put ego aside..
          dont fake here..
          go back home cry on bed; see bank and wallet empty to maintain this called “car”…

good luck :)

• wuttaheck on May 14, 2012 at 4:41 pm

wonder why you’ve owned several alfa(s)…

• raybrig on May 14, 2012 at 9:10 pm

Dear Mr. Keyboard Warrior,

wow…several alfas huh???what a surprise…i think it suits to call u a fan or perhaps alfa sales boy who’s been sacked by his boss huh??thats why now u complain and talking cock act this brand…

anyway…AR 147 is the first alfa i own and till now it serves me very well…i could say roughly 15k KM per year since 2002..and till now it can go strong in highway where i still can clock 200 easily without any doubt (maybe the way i took care of my car that’s why it still can run pretty strong).

about the interior problem..i did face it as well but it didn’t cost me a lot, honestly below RM400 and it depends on which area that affected…..or maybe lesser because my friend did sent and it did cost him around RM150…so i think that’s not a big issue because its not only happen only to alfa cars but to the other con tis as well…

my car is not salespeed..im using manual transmission….so i don’t face any issue on maintaining the gearbox ( i know for the salespeed owner that will be an extra money for them to maintain the gearbox)…

conclusion is it doesn’t give me any headache since i own it 10 yrs back…plus it is so important if u do extra homework by finding the correct workshop and joining AR forum…because this car is not like map car where u can send to any workshop…

and actually a few yrs back i did plan to get the AR 159 as a second alfa but because Sime Darby so late to bring it to malaysia i bought the German marque….i think u call me alfa sales boy is not relevant because i have an italian,german and japanese marque in my garage…plus i think u are the one who need to go back and cry on bed because u failed to maintain ur SEVERAL ALFAS…cheers…=)

• talk shit all here; buy VW 5 years warranty…
            after 5 years sale..

“Pakai BUANG” :)

• mohairi on May 14, 2012 at 11:49 am

The problem here as i see it, not the car.

YOUR ARE GETTING OLD!

• taboogen on May 13, 2012 at 12:35 am

hermm does the brz copy fiat or fiat copy them in terms of rear brake cluster… looks the same

• Alfa Romeo cars are meant for its enthusiasts. They build their cars like art (design more appealing), even its brand reputation and presence is lacking in Europe compared to their german counterparts. However, their cars portray passion, elegance and exclusivity.

So why buy an Alfa Romeo when u can have the all of its features combined (design,performance,technology) in German cars?

In Malaysia, only buy Alfa if u can afford to maintain it, had some of the most frustrating ownership experience with the 155 many years back. Makes no sense here unless u are loaded. :)

• alldisc on May 13, 2012 at 8:51 am

i had the chance to work with Milan Auto in 1996-97 during their peak days of selling.

the 146 and 155 were selling like hot cakes!! price was playing the biggest factor back then as wira 1.6 sold at 65K and the cheapest alfa was like 75-80K (just like a vios today) so many ppl who were stuck with either buying a proton or nothing at all grabbed at this option.

problem was – Milan Auto failed to realise the need of a bigger service centre. bookings for service took as far as 9 weeks, and many time a simple service procedure like 10K km took 3 days just to complete. it was horror for me hearing all the curse from customers.

milan auto was greedy too when they thought the 155 was selling well at 110-120K so the new 156 with its more advanced engineering was sold at almost double the price at around 210K and that was the death of them when ppl lost interest and walk away.

but no matter how problematic the car was (common problem was air-cond and overheating), Alfas has a special something upon driving them. it has a soul of its own, the growl it makes everytime driver accelerates… its unforgettable and creates the addicts for one to hit the road again and again.

• nighttrain on May 13, 2012 at 10:38 am

loaded folks will buy Italian for sure. but not regular Italian, exotic Italian, if you know what ia mean..

• Azydy on May 13, 2012 at 1:47 am

nice looking.. if I have money this is the car that I must grab

• DArkerMarker on May 13, 2012 at 9:15 am

I guess what ppl said about electrical gremlins that live in every alfa is true………
    From time to time, they would come out and lurk at some poor unsuspecting owner to give them headache and heartache….

Anyway, gud luck to the sales…..

I think the sales may work if they have sexy italian women doing the convincing…hahah

• zahid on May 13, 2012 at 9:41 am

Because its Alfa Romeo, it get lot good comments( actually its ugly car). If this car produced by local manufacturer, I’m sure it will get more condemned.

• sick&tired on May 13, 2012 at 6:56 pm

stfu mate! i am getting sick & tired of reading about fcking proton/perodua in every god damn post! nobody cares! get it through that thick skull of yours.

btw the alfa looks really good. and no more sillyspeed!

• alf147 on May 22, 2012 at 12:26 pm

alfa is sexy la…u like ordinary design car.that’s y u dun like it.

• ae101 on May 13, 2012 at 11:39 am

Wait few more yrs and you can grab this car at a very bargain price :). This is what i know about AR car in Mys.

• Adolf on May 13, 2012 at 3:28 pm

On looks alone this is a worthy competitor to golf. So many people are buying golf, the waiting list is unbearable, will seriously consider this.

• Adolf ….. are you sure what are you talking ? How old are you ?

Waiting list for Golf ? unbearable ? C’mon dude, they are giving free insurance, road tax etc and loads of pre-registered models for you to choose !!

• BlitzAce on May 13, 2012 at 4:08 pm

Where’s the test drive, Danny? :D

• wang bersepah on May 13, 2012 at 5:26 pm

murahnya…..bolehlah i beli untuk girlfiend i.

• says says on May 13, 2012 at 6:07 pm

Err ..the skirt is a bit too short…err..I mean the skirting!

• matlimmutu on May 13, 2012 at 8:46 pm

oooo this is the one that i saw in putrajaya that day!! nice car, sleek design.

• Sime Darby Automobile again …. Alfa, Ford – their pricing is way out in sync with the Malaysian market. Gonna be real exclusive cars in Malaysia if you are buying one … really for Alfa enthusiast (strictly)

• the engine seems the one found in bravo gt 1.4 T-jet…if the same engine…the price is way out from fiat !

• blackbox on May 14, 2012 at 11:21 am

Almost the same engine but come with different head and valve control. That’s why it is 20hp higher than bravo. The turbo charger also different brand.

• langit hitam on May 14, 2012 at 11:34 pm

A multi air turbo engine is quite different with bravo tjet.
        Its got infinite control on intake valve and lift.
        The mechanism is too big, that’s why its on intake not both.
        But,I think FIAT group is considering to have both in the near future.

• serious on May 14, 2012 at 9:18 am

u pay approximately RM10000++ for 1 hp of this car ^^

• CT Tan on May 14, 2012 at 4:51 pm

Its about time for JPJ to review its computation of road tax based simply just on the displacement capacity of the engine.

To be more equitable it should be revised to base on maximum power output which could also be used for calculating the road tax for electric and hybrid cars as well.

• langit hitam on May 14, 2012 at 11:31 pm

I think its should be base on CO2 emission not on Horspower output alone.

• steve on May 15, 2012 at 2:54 pm

The car’s absolutely gorgeous and way ahead of technology compared to any other cars out there….

But SIME, what’s up with the aunties as models?!?!

• jenggo on May 27, 2012 at 11:34 am

i love alfa every bit and my trusted 147 still a head-turner even though it was a 10-year old design..btw pls tell me which car wont breakdown?..like one said..you take care of her and she will take care of you..u gotto hv passion to own and drive her..give her love and she will love you until death do you apart..

• alfisty155 on Aug 13, 2012 at 4:47 pm

the people who said bad things sure never owned an Alfa. it was not that bad actually but for no reason (perhaps jealousy??) was exaggerated by somebody who never owned one. Can u see many alfisti still going strong? how thay can afford if the quality was that bad?

• dearpixel on Sep 22, 2013 at 12:11 pm

I’ve had my Giulie 1.4 since April. It’s been more fun than I bargained for–refined, luxurious but a screamer around corners. The traction control lets those Pirellis loose just enough to make it feel like hollywood when hammering the throttle in a dogleg. And it’s purrfect around town to avoid potholes and peroduas. The other night, I traffic light dragged a Nissan Z in the wet. Passed him and then he got really small in my mirror in the turns–nothing wrong with his car (300+ hp), but he didn’t have the handling maybe. And with an RX-8 the other night, he pulled out once the Giulie outpaced him from behind. What is it with people and fancy sports cars–can buy the basket but can’t supply the eggs, is it?

• the interior looks like Suprima S with class.