BMW 328i and 320d: locally-assembled F30 launched

BMW Malaysia has introduced its first batch of locally-assembled F30 3-Series, with the models rolling off the BMW assembly plant in Kulim being the 320d and 328i – variants are the Sport Line and the Luxury Line for the 328i, while the 320d is now outfitted with a choice of Sport Line and Modern Line trims.

Nothing in the way of change mechanically, from going the local assembly route, with output numbers being the same – to recap, the 328i’s N20 2.0 litre TwinPower Turbo mill offers 245 hp at 5,000-6,500 rpm and 350 Nm at 1,250-4,800 rpm, while the N47B20 2.0 litre diesel has 184 hp at 4,000 rpm and 380 Nm at 1,750-2,750 rpm.

Exterior cues for the 328i are pretty much like that found on the CBU variants – the kidney grille, front/rear bumper and air intake’s trim elements of the Sport are finished in gloss black, with the tail pipe finisher in chrome black, while the Luxury’s similar bits are done up in chrome. Speaking of which, the 320d Sport also wears the same cues as found on the 328i Sport.

The 320d Modern, meanwhile, features design trimmings in chrome matt on the trim elements of the car, namely the car’s kidney grille, front and rear bumper, air intakes and end tail pipe. Inside, the Modern Line brings with it a unique mix of colours and materials, with a light coloured instrument cluster in Oyster and Chrono scaling, contrasting exclusive leather upholstery with Dark Oyster stitching and piping – the keys to the car are also highlighted in Oyster with Chrome highlights.

As for wheels, the 328i wears 18-inch alloys, the Sport wearing a Star-spoke styling 397 design and the Luxury, a Multi-spoke styling 416 unit, wrapped with 225/45 series tyres. The 320d goes the 17-inch wheel route, Sport offering Double-spoke styling 392 and the Modern, V-spoke styling 413, with 225/50 profile rubbers.

Equipment-wise, kit differentiation has the petrol variants coming with an 8.8-inch display unit, in conjunction with the Navigation system Professional that comes with the car, a nine-speaker audio system and BMW ConnectedDrive Apps. Meanwhile, the diesel gets a 6.5-inch screen, no Navigation, a six-speaker audio system and the omission of Apps.

As for pricing, the retail price for the locally-assembled 328i is RM289,800 while the 320d is RM248,800 (on the road, without insurance, with BMW Service Inclusive + Repair). Previously, the CBU units were priced at RM268,800 for the 320d and RM309,800 for the 328i when they were launched in March.

Click here to read our test drive review of the F30 3-Series.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Kevin Lee on Jun 05, 2012 at 12:05 am

wish they had the 320i variant!

• Paul Tan on Jun 05, 2012 at 12:30 am

It’s coming by the end of the year.

• 320i will be soon to Malaysia?? if that’s true i just wait. ;-)

• Is BMW CKD or SKD or what? on Jun 06, 2012 at 9:25 am

Can BMW Malaysia clarify with us if their cars are actually CKD or SKD? Your salesman, one day they say SKD, one day they say CKD. Don’t you train your salesman well? Some say 100% German parts including the tyres and battery for CKD whilst only assembled in Malaysia.

Some say the CKD has ZERO Malaysian content. If this is so, how is BMW Malaysia benefitting from the reduced tax given to CKD cars? The strict requirement to qualify for CKD tax incentive is that the car must have a certain percentage of Malaysian content. So, if the car has zero Malaysian content, how come it is claiming to be a CKD or SKD?

By the way if BMW is claiming CKD or SKD tax benefits, the saving should not be RM20,000. It should be about RM50,000.

• pauline on Jun 05, 2012 at 1:19 pm

another Inspira in the making.

• RedBeanBun on Jun 05, 2012 at 7:47 pm

the price should be similar to 320D..or slightly higher only looking at current pricing model

• Josh Ling on Jun 05, 2012 at 12:17 am

Sometimes I really don’t know why BMW wants to make the diesel models, especially on passenger cars section, to look so inferior to their petrol siblings. The price difference is great, but I’d rather not to make others feel like I am driving a diesel model just because I can’t afford the more expensive petrol model.

• Paul Tan on Jun 05, 2012 at 12:30 am

I have the same sentiments. There is no upgrade path for second generation diesel buyers, once they got hooked with the first diesel car they’ve bought, all they can get is just another low end spec car one after another when they wish to replace their cars. It’s not that bad with the 320d as they can upgrade to the 520d later, but after 520d where do they go? There’s no high spec 520d “SE” model, or a 530d.

• nabill on Jun 05, 2012 at 9:52 am

maybe bcos in europe specially , most of the 320d is actually sold to fleet and company registered cars thats y the specs are bare minimum…

• donnatello on Jun 05, 2012 at 7:53 pm

U SURE O NOT..
        320d cant use RON95 a????
        i cant belief it..

• BeemerFreak on Jun 06, 2012 at 10:25 pm

730Ld

• diesel engine is more efficient compared to petrol engine..

• Bimmer on Jun 05, 2012 at 7:15 am

I wanted to go to the Diesel route but the lack of features turned me off. In the end I booked a Prius C for my daily city ride and decided to keep my 525i E60 for long distance travel. Was planning to trade in the E60 for a diesel F30 so that I can benefit for both city and long distance but the features seem like a downgrade from my current ride.

• sutheshkumar on Jun 05, 2012 at 12:34 pm

I feel your sentiments too. Its disappointing to know when the E90 came up with a lot of goodies, this F30 diesel is just purely upsetting. Same goes to the F10 as well. Why remove the Comfort Access option which was available in the E60? Even it is also remove in the F30 when the E90 top flight petrols had it.

• dreaming of maserati on Jun 05, 2012 at 12:35 am

now those that bought the e90 320i are crying!!

• TurboMan!!! on Jun 05, 2012 at 2:59 pm

Yeap

But the owners of 323i and 325i will still be smiling as its the last 6 cyl ever for this segment at this price. 335i and C300 is much more expensive. Audi doesnt have any 6 cyl offering for their A4 in Malaysia.

Rumor has it that BMW is working on a 3 cyl turbo. So gents, cherish your 4 potters now as it might be going the way of 6 cyl probably in this decade.

• waterman on Jun 05, 2012 at 5:26 pm

what bout those who bought 320d CBU with plain car?? now 320d comes with sport and modern?? cry even harder… hahaha

• Bimmer on Jun 05, 2012 at 6:28 pm

At least they can say that their car is rare. Only limited units are available in Malaysia…

• RedBeanBun on Jun 05, 2012 at 7:52 pm

they bought at 30-40K less, what to cry?

if u calculated, might as well say those bought F30 at 300K cry since local assembly cost 20K less

and said should top up 80K from 300K to buy F10 when the 520i comes..

• Jimmy on Jun 05, 2012 at 12:41 am

Malaysian Mercs and BMWs are relatively low-specced, like Malaysian Toyotas; fortunately they have no glaring cost-cuttting areas. True?

• Goodma on Jun 05, 2012 at 1:57 am

finally :)
    anyone know is Ingress (damansara) service is good? or any comment? i’ve placed a booking there.

• Congratulations on your new F30! Ingress is a decent and reputable dealer and their service is pretty efficient, and they are the pick of the bunch if you live in PJ

They usually have no problems slotting you in for a service and their level of workmanship is very good. They also organise quite a few events and open days so its nice that you dont just buy a car from them but join a BMW family with open days, festival lunches and dinners as well as organising golf days/driving experiences (Also give alot of nice freebies like calendars, pens etc..)

• sudonano on Jun 05, 2012 at 10:28 am

what about Auto Bavaria? also, if i buy(actually bought an F10) at Auto Bavaria, can I send to Ingress Auto/ Quill?

• nah…was told by one of my friend. He has to wait for more than 2 weeks just to get the repair done. Just try some other authorized dealer

• Luckily it is priced significantly cheaper than the C-Class.

After checking Mercedes site, a new CKD C250 with only 204hp cost 295k when this new CKD 328i with 245hp cost 289k.

• thunder cats on Jun 05, 2012 at 4:37 am

only 20 k difference from the cbu??? hmmmm

• Isn’t a 20K difference from CBU quite a substantial drop? If they dropped it any lower it would undercut the previous CKD generation pricing by quite a decent margin dont you think? The F30 cars are already cheaper than the previous E90 cars they are replacing..And besides the CBU models if Im not mistaken are from South Africa not Germany anyway so how much can you save from difference in labour rates between the two countries apart from Gonvernment tax

• RomeoMustDie on Jun 05, 2012 at 11:39 am

Euro is depreciating so car parts should be cheaper, no?

Probably it is because the sales advisors & dealers commission rates are going up maybe.. just maybe

• shawal on Jun 05, 2012 at 7:30 am

Im sure those who got the firsts 320ds with no trim are going to be pissed!!! saw 1 in PJ …

• Only RM20000 the different. BMW play the price. I think the CKD unit should cheap RM50000 than CBU not RM20000.

• shawal on Jun 05, 2012 at 7:36 am

I’ll just wait till sg besi try to clear out their stock ,
    F30 has a timeless look, hehehe while e90 is just plain ugly

• Gavin on Jun 05, 2012 at 7:45 am

Good marketing scheme, talking about local assembled, all pictures from Europe. No disclaimer *actual models may vary from pictures shown*

• I tot SKD 328i will come with M-sport goodies… disappointed.

• rosdi on Jun 05, 2012 at 9:57 am

Eh how come the steering is on the right?.. The title and the picture beneath it give me an impression those are the cars being rolled out of the assembly plant… tipu lah Anthony ni..

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Jun 05, 2012 at 11:52 am

Ha ha, no tipu on my part. Didn’t the Euro plates give it away? :) The photos were provided in the press release, and are from the time of the international media drive for the 3er; the group shots were snapped at Circuit de Catalunya.

• rosdi on Jun 05, 2012 at 10:02 am

So which one saves money in the long run? The i or the d?

• I’ll wait for the pre-owned 328i offered by autobavaria which should not take long before we start to see them in the showroom…prices are definitely much lower than the CKD and comes with warranty…

• other then the slanted face, the rest is 5 series..

• I always longing for the 3 series since E46 until F30. But still can’t afford.
    Salary scale below RM10K. Wonder about the new NAP. Will it help consumer like me to purchase the so call “state of the art” bimmer or will it continue to protect the so call “national pride” car manufacturer?

• donnatello on Jun 05, 2012 at 8:02 pm

there is no more protection to the national pride car la u noob.. proton is already a drb punya

• What a significant drop on both models. Love to hear the news. And feel so happy that 320d is being outfitted with trim line. Lol. Doesnt matter those who bought beforehand. Tats their choice. They wont even bother to look at trim line or price. Otherwise they wont buy it so fast. Rational buyers tend to wait till the lauching is stabled oni will proceed to purchasing the car. CBU buyers just want to show off that they got it when others still have to wait.

• You are just like the other bunch of idiots and cheapskate. Those with money no issues, only buy CBU for the fact of it ‘s build quality coming directly from Munich. Assembled by robots and not by drug addicts looking manual labour in Kulim. Make tonnes of money first before you can join the CBU group.

• you are such a moron, Sim. you think you have money at all? from the way you write, you really sounds like you are someone from a really low background..you dont belong to beemer’s family.. please f*ck off..

• oh by the way, people like you (I repeat, like you) get CBU because they are ashamed of themselves..you are ashamed of who you are..f*uck off somewhere else out of this earth..

• zaff1984 on Jun 05, 2012 at 11:54 am

How many years/km’s is the warranty..?

• Firman on Jun 05, 2012 at 1:01 pm

Though it’s only rm20k cheaper than the CBUs, the CKD 328i is till cheaper than CKD Mercedes Benz c250.. Better horsepower too (328i=245hp, c250=204hp, A4 2.0T=211hp)..

• seancorr on Jun 05, 2012 at 1:35 pm

Hmmm no nav in the 320d…that’s a turn off for me. At least offer some features as optional and not just telling the customers off saying ‘sorry that feature isn’t available for the model but if u were to take the RM60k extra model u will have it.’

• waterman on Jun 05, 2012 at 5:34 pm

perhaps they will have the option to upgrade to 8.8″ screen + navigation later on?

• Matthew on Jun 05, 2012 at 2:39 pm

And don’t supposed they have dropped the horrible red dash trim on the sport in favour of the much nicer black?

• Nanados on Jun 05, 2012 at 3:21 pm

I am undecided between luxury and sport lines. So sakit kepala

• Ah Chan on Jun 05, 2012 at 3:52 pm

Come on BMW Malaysia… Lets have those pre-reg units soon. @Matthew I’m with you and wishing they dropped the red highlights.

• Matthew on Jun 05, 2012 at 4:59 pm

In other markets you get an option, red or black – you would think if BMW Malaysia had to choose only one they would have gone for black

• donnatello on Jun 05, 2012 at 8:04 pm

ppl who cant afford a new car and only want the preowned better buy preve..

• kelso on Jun 11, 2012 at 5:50 pm

There’s a difference between pre-owned and pre-reg. Obviously you wouldn’t know the difference. Little boys should go back to school and stick to posters while the adults talk.

• Korean Fan on Jun 05, 2012 at 4:59 pm

I am indeed amazed by the comments posted in this post.

I wish the same kind of comments in Toyota and Proton post. But I might be dreaming.

• because bmw (banyak masuk worksyop) is luxurious car here, even the engine is so loud (guess which one), still cannot be bashed

• I suggest everybody holds their horses and don’t placing any booking now. By year end, there will be lot’s of pre-reg. You think they can hold so much stock once the CKD line start production meh…haha

• tricycle on Jun 05, 2012 at 7:41 pm

now it the price looks prettier and affordable

• johnson on Jun 05, 2012 at 11:16 pm

no difference even locally assembled,this models will be far too expensive to buy as long as proton is still around bloody mahathir screwed up the whole country and damm proton..

• i can’t recall how many times i smoked speedy 3er on highways, so pathetic, oh and i got gt-r lol

• abuabu on Jun 07, 2012 at 10:42 pm

come come now malaysians, wise up and open your eyes. This is a clear example of how European giants (who are financially screwed at the moment)decide to flog us off our hard earned money. BMWs are nice to drive, totally agreed, but when it comes at THIS cost and THIS spec, its plain daylight robbery. It hardly even spells luxury/sporty sedan, for if this were true, then many other sedans with fairly similiar specs would qualify. So, might I humbly suggest trying other makes till BMW realises that we Malaysians are not as dumb as they think. There are many out there which offer generous luxury at good prices. Driving a BMW is just another car (some may disagree strongly.. LOL), at least till BMW Malaysia gets an attitude adjustment… how bout it guys?? 1Malaysia for our betterment? P/S .. for all those who will say that i dunno what i’m saying i drive an M3, and i think that betters most of your sporty luxury sedans..

• Bye bye preve.

• cosmo on Jun 08, 2012 at 10:31 pm

it looks ugly…wonder how the CDK quality will be…

• 6 cyl is still the best, people are asking BMW to bring it back.

• jasjit on Jun 10, 2012 at 5:24 pm

when will the first batch of local assembled cars come out

• paul, when will the msport ckd launched? Any indicative time frame will be very much appreciated:)

• Simon Tan on Mar 17, 2013 at 3:59 pm

Hi Paul,

I planed to get my 1st BMW 3 series, what’s your opinion between 320i vs 320d?

Is the 320d much better then 320d, in term of performance, price, and maintenance?

Your comment is much appreciate.

Thank you,

Simon Tan