Isuzu D-Max HI-DEF – limited edition run of 210 units

Isuzu Malaysia unveiled another D-Max version last night, a limited edition model called 2012 HI-DEF. It’s based on the 3.0L 4×4 variant of the pickup and is available in both automatic and manual transmission forms. In keeping with the LE theme of previous HI-DEF models, which were 200 unit runs, there’s just about the same for the current special edition, except the number has been increased by 10 to make it 210.

There are no mechanical changes from the current 3.0 litre D-Max models; essentially, it’s a spruce-up job consisting of luxurious fittings and trim, helping to dress up the truck into a polished and refined machine, as Isuzu puts it.

The truck comes in a special Platinum Brown Mica shade, and there’s Mercury Silver Metallic if the former isn’t your cuppa. The rims feature a titanium finish, while the radiator and under grilles feature a lattice design finished in chrome. There’s also a new bumper guard and chrome body stripe work the visuals a bit.

Aside from that, there are HI-DEF decals on the sides of the vehicle and on the tailgate, while the door visors have their own HI-DEF logos. Oh, and the front door sills wear a blue-lit Izusu logo, so you’ll always know which truck you’re in.

Kit includes a newly-designed D-Box, which is a unique lid cover allowing cargo to be locked away or removed altogether to haul larger items. It wears a rugged side profile roll bar, offering the truck a more muscular profile. You can of course opt for an anodised aluminium roll bar in place of the D-Box.

As for the interior, it gets dressed up with brown Italian leather-wrapped seats that have HI-DEF logos stitched into them, and the carpet mats are also exclusive to the limited edition model. Also strapped on is an integrated entertainment and navigation command centre, which handles just about anything you can think of in terms of media playback – the system also features Bluetooth hands-free connection as well as a reverse camera.

The Isuzu D-Max HI-DEF Limited Edition is priced from RM96,498 (RM97,680 in Sabah, and RM97,911 in Sarawak), on-the-road, without insurance.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Another limited edition, how may type of limited edition from Isuzu D Max since it launched? bored….

• i wonder if the engine is as good as the YD25DDTI, new duramax or the T6 engine…

top gear people such as jeremy clarkson seem to like hilux, d-max and triton…in my opinion, its just bad taste.

• Rachel on Jun 14, 2012 at 12:53 pm

I dont think JC or other TG hosts is interested in pickup,unless its from Land Rover like the Defender.

• haha…not necessarily
        JC has always liked the hilux and d-max…the defender is compared with other SUVs…this is based on the TG mag i’ve always read lah

:)

• theanswer on Jun 14, 2012 at 1:25 pm

isuzu pickup strength is their well known good fc.

• anti-first on Jun 14, 2012 at 12:30 pm

looks very tacky with all the ‘HIDEF limited edition’ shouting at every opportunity.

• Why can’t they just bring in the new D-Max. Those 210 units may be the last batch of the current model? : )

• Darren on Jun 14, 2012 at 5:12 pm

I’m sure they are trying to get rid of their remaining stocks. The new D-Max should be in by year end

• kerelbort on Jun 14, 2012 at 3:48 pm

give up on FL ald.. just roll out new D-MAX!!

• Izit just me, or do i hv a feeling tat they r trying to clear off existing inventory b4 bringing in its version of d Chevy Colorado?

• pelams on Jun 14, 2012 at 4:23 pm

y not just 2.5L?

• I am driving a Dmax. 6 yrs old and 200k
    travelled. No repairs at all even brake pads are still original. RM50 diesel can
    last me 400km. No wonder the Thais like
    it so much. After sales service is the
    only let down.ACM sigh!!!!

• ericg on Jun 14, 2012 at 9:08 pm

hi anthony, any news about the all new 2012 dmax? thanks.

• DArkerMarker on Jun 14, 2012 at 9:30 pm

I dont mind LE among supercars….

But LE in pick-up trucks???

What’s next?? LE in Kapchai?? LE in scooter too??

Pleazzzzzz…..

• Even cars are going HD these days?

• yanes on Jun 15, 2012 at 12:44 am

a limited edition pickup truck? i like the optimism lol. :)

• Davis on Jul 03, 2012 at 2:29 am

Those bought Hi Def will be kicking their ass once Dmax 2013 is out. The new Isuzu Dmax is huge!~