Sergio Pininfarina: 1926-2012

Legendary designer Sergio Pininfarina, who oversaw the design of the Ferrari Testarossa and Fiat 124 Spider, among others, died on Tuesday at his home in Turin. He was 85.

His passing was announced by design company Pininfarina, which his father Battista started in 1930, and which he led for decades after his father’s death.

Pininfarina was born Sergio Farina in Turin on September 8, 1926. He graduated in mechanical engineering from the Polytechnic of Torino in 1950, after which he began his career in the family firm, Carrozzeria Pinin Farina. In 1961, the family’s last name was changed to Pininfarina by a presidential decree.

In 1966, he took over the chairmanship of the company after his father’s passing, and helped transform the company into a globally renowned design empire. In 2006, he became honorary chairman of the company, handing over management of the family business to his son Andrea, who died two years later in a scooter accident. Following this, Pininfarina’s other son, Paolo, took over the leadership of the company.

While he and his company crafted many designs, primarily for Italian car companies, the association with Ferrari remains the most inevitably linked. Other designs Sergio Pininfarina helped oversee for the Italian automaker include the F40 and Enzo.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Embun on Jul 04, 2012 at 12:37 pm

I can only thought of hyundai matrix

• ss427 on Jul 04, 2012 at 2:10 pm

The Matrix must have been the worst design ever to come up from that firm LOL…

Or perhaps it was designed by some newbies who was fired just 2 months into the job because of his crap Matrix design… LOL :D

• theanswer on Jul 04, 2012 at 3:33 pm

another one is hafei lobo(naza sutera/forza).

• Cheah Tat Cheong on Jul 04, 2012 at 12:53 pm

Hyundai Matrix prices just went up, maybe not…

• Abuya on Jul 04, 2012 at 1:03 pm

Hensem jugak gambar dia time muda pegang rokok. Apapun, dia antara designer terbaik sebelum era 1996. Lepas era tu, ramai designer terbaik muncul dengan bantuan software design seperti AutoCAD

• zidane on Jul 04, 2012 at 5:59 pm

bro… autocad dah ada sebelum 96 lagi la… have u ever use AutoCAD R13?

• jaka sembung on Jul 04, 2012 at 9:44 pm

abuya ni budak kecik lg time tu, AutoCAD ni actualy dh start keluar awal 80an

• Nonsense!

3D CAD like CATIA is used in automobile design. Compared with real 3D CAD systems AutoCAD is a toy.

BTW: For the license fee of a CATIA network installation you can buy a Ferrari.

• Lim Kopi on Jul 04, 2012 at 1:26 pm

What a great loss to the automotive and design world…

But m sure his legacy lives on…

• theanswer on Jul 04, 2012 at 3:25 pm

of course. it’s a big company runs by his family members.

• R.I.P, the legacy lives on….

• Cyber on Jul 04, 2012 at 4:11 pm

Mr. Pininfarina, you will be deeply missed and remembered as one of the all time great designers of exotic sport cars.

I loved your design since my childhood days through one of your your masterpiece – Ferrari Testarossa. Whenever I think of Ferrari, I think of you, Pininfarina.

• Anti-emo on Jul 04, 2012 at 5:27 pm

That very famous name: Pininfarina. A name whose mention will bring back those memories playing the Prototype cards in the 80s with the Pininfarina Ferrari 512S Modulo trumping every other prototypes.

Okay, it wasn’t his design, but it’s still his company and name to the car.

• Garry on Jul 04, 2012 at 5:53 pm

I think he died sometimes back

• they forgot to mention NSX and fiat coupe

• jon trobolta on Jul 04, 2012 at 10:48 pm

his son died in scooter accident?thats so sympathetic..

• carnoisseur on Jul 05, 2012 at 12:18 pm

I wish i had a career like his

• Jolly_idiot on Jul 07, 2012 at 2:32 am

Enjoy your trip to meet jesus.

• fanofthisite on Jul 09, 2012 at 12:18 am

R.I.P and thank you