Suzuki SX4 gets a new face – CBU Japan, RM91,888

Suzuki Malaysia Automobile introduced the refreshed Suzuki SX4 this evening. The “Sport Crossover” gets a minor facelift that incorporates a new front grille with chrome effect, new front bumper and new 16-inch alloy wheels in a five double spoke design.

Inside, the SUV styled hatchback comes with “dark chrome” finish on the centre console and new fabric for the seats and door cards. There’s also a new “brake override” safety feature. In the case of a stuck gas pedal (both accelerator and brake pedals pressed at the same time), priority is given to the brake pedal and the car will stop. It’s rather unusual to highlight such a function, though.

No mechanical changes, so the 1,205 kg SX4 continues with the M16A engine with 110 PS and 150 Nm of torque at 3,800 rpm. The 1.6L VVT unit is paired to a four-speed automatic gearbox. In the safety department, dual airbags, ABS, EBD and Brake Assist are standard.

In terms of kit, you’ll get a factory CD/MP3 player with steering buttons and AUX-in, eight speakers, auto retractable side mirrors with indicators, 60:40 split folding rear seats, roof rails, fog lamps and a leather wrapped steering.

Available in five colours – Sunlight Copper (featured), Snow White, Star Silver, Super Black and Mineral Gray – the CBU import from Japan is priced at RM91,888 on-the-road with insurance, a slight increase from the previous RM90,001.50. There’s also a leather plus tinting Premier package for an additional RM5,000.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• SHAMSUL YAHAYA on Jul 31, 2012 at 10:42 pm

Nothing special

• Badut Rempit on Aug 01, 2012 at 10:18 am

Yup. So dull interior. My kapcai is nicer.

• lokpi on Aug 02, 2012 at 8:34 am

macam gampang kete mcm ni harga bederai ape dh jadi dgn harga kete import malaysia ni..

• SuzukiFans on Jul 31, 2012 at 10:44 pm

No Changes at all? This model should be able to sell well, providing the good space, 1.6 engine.
    I think the Malaysian just coudnt accept this design with such price. Easily low sales just like the Toyota Rush.
    Perhaps a CKD Model with a little more touch up for the bumper, for RM70krange? 70krange with Good Car in Malaysia. You should expect amazing sales!
    If Swith can sell at below 70k. Why not this? BIG SALES

• theanswer on Jul 31, 2012 at 11:33 pm

good space? hurmm..i doubt it. nway, sx4 is not that bad. the design quite ok..(but not the sedan). but the pirce is too high…maybe if ckd can lower the price..around nissan xgear price.

• hway de Cruz on Aug 01, 2012 at 8:34 am

will sell better if hv 6 speed n traction control…design not bad, add in more airbags, that will be a key feature, plus selling point

• 80K would be realistic my friend.

• Well it seems too plain equipment-wise for the price tag. The looks are quite okay though.

• is it 4WD ?

• Tiguan on Aug 01, 2012 at 3:25 pm

It is 2WD. Really hoped that they could bring in AWD model for some weekend offroadings.

• Malcolm Lim on Jul 31, 2012 at 10:48 pm

Danny – the brake override feature is sort of taking a jab at toyota..but this is something that the was recently prompted by federal regulators caused by toyota’s (in)famous stucked accelerator pedal issue.

• Chris on Jul 31, 2012 at 10:54 pm

Nothing special..No wonder people called ‘??? ?????’..Haiz..Too conservative..For sure no 2nd hand value as no demand compare with Korean made..

• bugger on Jul 31, 2012 at 10:54 pm

what a boring looking car…

• Merc=Real Euro on Jul 31, 2012 at 11:01 pm

and..the reason for price increase is……malaysia boleh..

• Yawn… Man, another boring offering from Suzuki aside from the Kizashi.

• nabill on Jul 31, 2012 at 11:05 pm

Should hv been a CKD n abt 20k less…..

• Black Dog on Jul 31, 2012 at 11:06 pm

The ‘brake overide’ is for lady drivers. When they’re overly excited, they always press the gas….oh god…don’t stop…faster…faster!

• Tks for update – spell check needed at “…CBU impirt from Japan is priced at RM91,888….”

• ekcheah on Jul 31, 2012 at 11:16 pm

Features so mediocre except the price. At that price there are so many choices including hybrids. I wonder who are the the buyers for this vehicle

• Kacau Daun on Jul 31, 2012 at 11:22 pm

Sadly nothing interesting leh. The 2012 facelift in China comes with projector headlamp, look damn nice.
    Actually at 90k for a Japan CBU, it is value for money.

• yes, it should have at least projector headlamps and DRL beside the fogs.

• *yawnnn. next.

• Bring other models…. Suzuki jimmy an wagonR

• I heard that this is a surprisingly capable off-roader and is always overlooked, but then at 90k I personally would take a Fiesta or even an Elantra.

CBU is all well and nice, but CKD it here and make it cost around 70k will make it compete against car it really should compete with.

• Redwings on Aug 01, 2012 at 1:05 am

The engine and gear box just too boring…

• drMpower on Aug 01, 2012 at 1:10 am

a friend bought this and over supposely hard terrain in miri, he reported his SX4 holding rather well there. so i guess this suzuki is more than decent sets of wheel. but why suzuki isnt selling well here?

even their best selling swift is no match to the bigger, larger, japanese and korean competitors. are they bring in models with limited target group?

the vitara is decent priced but at over 100k i dont think it can sell much with such look. the swift surely lose to A LOT OF sedans in that price range no matter how good the ride is. people bought swift, they must be niche people. as for kizashi, it is smaller to all similarly segment competitors. i dont know APV still in the mix? but very rare i see an APV on the road.

so i guess suzuki got their game plan quite not so good.

• notetablet on Aug 01, 2012 at 6:06 am

well my mom uses the 1st batch CBU that enters Malaysia in 2007 for the price of 94k. it handles great since my father often uses it as a travel vehicle from trganu to KL every 3 days within 5-6 hours travel time. good speed (we had mod it a bit), good handling, many cupholders, good visibility, good enough rear storage and the rear is still comfortable for 3 adult :)

• Yuzdi on Aug 01, 2012 at 9:06 am

This SX4 is a mixture between Euro n Japs. In Euro they are Fiat Sedici. Of coz CBU is bit expensive but it’s worth buying. Y not CKD? U will know how the quality it’ll b if CKD. There is 4WD in oveseas. Hope that Suzuki can bring in MPV Landy in the future. Just to compete with existing Serena.

• tiadaid on Aug 04, 2012 at 10:06 am

The problem is their marketing. In DRB they’ll have to compete with the other brands in the DRB lineup so Suzuki often take a back seat to VW & the others. It’s just like Chevrolet during the DRB years.

• tiger760li on Aug 01, 2012 at 3:11 am

UNCLE UNCLE TAN U GO BUY DIS CAR V NICE OOO

• Kenny Clarkson on Aug 01, 2012 at 5:21 am

Saga BLM copycat ?

• Manfurb on Aug 01, 2012 at 6:10 am

The steering wheel, gear stick, seat fabrics n lots of other things obviously similar across the other model range from swift to vitara….no new offerings. Dont know what will happen to suzuki when swift sales start to decline….their other models just dont survive in msia

• gosh couldnt tell the difference at all. What a boring bland overpriced vehicle. there just too many better choices out there…. furthermore the brand has got no leverage at all…

• momocultus on Aug 01, 2012 at 9:05 am

Can you find any Japan CBU for 90 k? the others japs offering cheap stuff above that.. for me if am looking for car with Elevated Driving View i would go for this….

sadly am not i already have 3 Suzi’s at home :)

• seriousdude on Aug 01, 2012 at 9:23 am

bring the new swift la

• goguncas71 on Aug 01, 2012 at 9:44 am

A CBU Imported from Japan 1.6 car at the same price as a locally assembled Vios/City…apparently car taxes arent so high as the make it to be and the reason for the high prices are UMWs need for large bonuses…

• ss427 on Aug 01, 2012 at 9:47 am

Sigh…. seriously Suzuki, how much longer are you guys planning to flog this old workhorse SX4 model? The 1.6L makes just 110hp. Although torque o/o of 150NM may looked decent, the whole engine had to be bogged down by an ancient 4AT!

I understand Toyota owns Suzuki, but do u guys have to behave like Toyota too? :( Continue with antique powertrain and then charge your customers dearly for it.

Also, is there any reason why auto climate control CAN’T be installed in the SX4 crossover? The SX4 sedan came with auto climate control and the dash is virtually the same.

Hehe Hyundai 1.6L Gamma GDI makes a heady 140hp without any forced induction :) And torque o/p is almost 170NM too… And it offers far better fuel economy than this antique Suzuki block

• slick shifts on Aug 01, 2012 at 10:01 am

no rear fog lights as well.

• OHH my GOD …. SUZUKI cars far behind. Please learn from KOREAN CAR MAKERS. No to Japanese overpriced car. Hate Japanese Cars due to overpriced.

• pedick castot on Aug 13, 2013 at 11:36 am

Because Japanese cars are still more durable and reliable.

• kambeng on Aug 01, 2012 at 10:25 pm

WTF, the aircond control is downgraded from previous version!

• tunguuu on Aug 01, 2012 at 11:29 pm

haha…1.6 CBU 91k? n looks empty..Cruze 1.8..looks so much more better at 100k…so who earning big money?

• momocultus on Aug 02, 2012 at 10:39 am

hahaha Toyota owns Suzuki ? Those who saying korean is better drive must be a P license holder or worse still don’t have license hahahha. if Suzuki is so outdated am sure you don’t c Fiat rebadging korean car .. and yeah if you saying Fiat is outdated and so is Ferrari :P

• The SX4 might look boring in the current sea of new designs but it has a pleasant flow and will age well. What I don’t like is the name. Come on. SX4??? If they can have names like Swift and Vitara, what the heck is SX4???

• everlast on Aug 02, 2012 at 8:29 pm

BOooringgg….!
    Bring in the new swift! it’s almost 2013 already! COME ON!
    What’s wrong with our suzuki here in M’sia???

• Dayalan on Aug 06, 2012 at 11:18 pm

I own the 2010 version and feel that for the current facelift, they could have at least added in keyless start or auto climate control to justify the price increase. Otherwise, this car is simply out dated by the competitors.

• Rashid on Oct 13, 2012 at 6:19 pm

Nothing special at all after 5 years production, not like other models. Increase of 1,000 lots of money

• pedick castot on Aug 13, 2013 at 11:30 am

boring? i don’t believe. i love my 2013 sx4. only downside is the blindside in left windshield pillars.