Volkswagen Polo 1.2 TSI Review – worth two Myvis?

You get what you pay for, goes the truism. In the wonderful world of NAP and import taxes, excise duties and APs, this only holds true if you believe increases in things like quality, luxury and performance should cost exponentially more. If not, there is no justifying the gajillions one will have to shell out for Bentleys, Ferraris and Lamborghinis.

It’s even more crucial when it comes to compact cars, for example, the Volkswagen Polo. If you’re in the market for a B-segment hatchback, what are you really looking for besides a reliable box on wheels that can ferry yourself and possibly an average-sized family around in about a 50 km radius with the occasional balik kampung or glutton’s jaunt further afield? If you’re looking for a pocket rocket, by all means the various GT, GTi, GTI or Sports versions of numerous models justify premium prices.

But a 1.2 litre Polo at RM113,888? There isn’t even really the badge snobbery since, well, it’s still the People’s Car and it’s not quite got the special draw of, say, a MINI. That said, there are also question marks over the Honda Jazz, which comes in at just under six figures. But that’s one for another test driver.

The benchmark for a small hatchback has to be Perodua’s Myvi, which moves over 8,000 units a month for the national carmaker. A 1.5 litre version, which kicks in at about 103 PS, or two less than the Polo’s turbocharged plant, has several trims which average at about RM55,000.

So is the Polo worth two Myvis? Let’s start with the fact it looks better and has a VW badge in the front. However, if you really wanted to show off, and insist on a VW, there’s always the Scirocco.

Look after the jump for our full scoop on the Polo 1.2 TSI.

Aesthetic and intangible qualities aside, the next obvious talking point is the powertrain and here, there is no comparison. The 1.2 TSI dishes out its 175 Nm of torque from as low as 1,550 rpm while the Myvi gets you 136 at 4,400. The TSI is also paired with the very pleasing seven-speed DSG that ensures quick shifts to the right ratio all the time.

Well, except when you put pedal to metal. This never used to happen in the old Golf GTI, but maybe the robotic monkey in the DSG isn’t quite as conversant with the 1.2 as it is with the 2.0 turbo plant. When you’re looking for that sudden burst of power, the DSG seems a bit surprised and takes awhile to figure out the three or four-step downshift it needs to make. That said, once it gets there, overtaking in city traffic is a breeze.

The Polo is well-planted and leans no more than any other sporty hatch (bar those kitted to cause spinal hernia after each speed bump) when making hard turns. Coupled with its diminutive size, it is hardly flustered when weaving devilishly through the mess of slow cars on the right lane and fast lorries on the left and motorbikes in the middle of everything.

And this is where the Polo wins points for being special. Its USP is pretty much that while it can make quick progress on all roads, it makes no real sacrifice in terms of comfort. The ride is fine despite not showing the classic wobble of so many small cars that try to mask the ‘rich character’ of our roads, while the front seats secure a mid-sized body very snugly.

Despite having more torque in reserve than, say, a 1.8 litre Toyota Altis, the small TSI manages to push the 1,126kg car along at roughly 10 km per litre in the city without any real effort at saving fuel. On the other hand, the 14-plus km per litre claimed by VW might only be achieved by driving with the same delicacy used in eye surgery.

But no such grace is needed when fiddling about in the cabin. Much of the controls for the stereo, air-con, lights and wipers are the hardy basic VW stuff without too much electronic hoopla. Yes, this means it’s from the cost effective parts bin but once again, it befits the sort of car we’re looking at buying here.

As expected, the fit and finish is all up to VW standards and maybe it’s the smaller dimensions of the car, but the standard RCD 310 stereo booms with a vibrant intensity. Speaking of smaller dimensions, one aspect where the Polo is clearly beaten by a Myvi is cabin room. But that’s to be expected in a design by Daihatsu, which has dedicated its life to creating cars in the image of Doraemon’s pocket.

The Polo also comes with plenty of safety ‘features’ (read: European base-standard safety requirements) such as electronic stability, anti-slip regulator, anti-lock brakes, etc which are only partially matched by ‘premium’ variants of local makes.

And so, we come to the cop-out … er, conclusion. It’s hard to quantify things like looks, badge snobbery and even safety features (which only count if you ever get yourself into a hairy situation). But aside from that, what the Polo offers is a very easy drive. I can see why a rich man might buy this for his daughter who just needs a small car to go about on her day-to-days. It is probably the best city runaround car, surpassing even the Fiesta – which has gained quite a following here but of course, only costs three-quarters of the Polo.

It would probably be instructive to line these three cars up and look at the comparison to figure out how much your motoring soul values each particular feature. In the end though, it’ll probably boil down to this – no family will have a Polo as its first car, but many will buy two or more Myvis.

Unfortunate then, that despite growing competition in the local market, something like an entry-level Polo is still only a reasonable purchase for the top five percent income bracket. Not that it is out of reach of those who earn less. It’s just not sensible. A terrifyingly strange thing to say about the People’s Car.

Footnote: The Polo TSI reviewed here is the upgraded spec model compared to the model we first wrote about in October 2011. You can probably immediately notice the exterior differences – this car carries better looking alloy wheels.

Shannon Teoh

Shannon Teoh knows nothing about cars - despite having a mechanic for a father - but loves driving them. He has, however, written several articles that have caused civil unrest. So he can at least tell you what he likes and hates about the cars he drives. Or even those he has never laid a finger on. Kinda like what you guys say about Megan Fox and Kim Kardashian.

• we all know NAP is a big failure..

• wow… 1.2 tsi only have official figure of 14km/L?
      im pretty suprised.. my dad’s 1.6 altis dual vvti can do 13km/L easily..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
      • polot on Aug 14, 2012 at 2:23 am

altis no turbo, tak syiok

• Bimmer on Aug 14, 2012 at 7:59 am

Is it worth more than a Ford Fiesta?

• perodua on Aug 14, 2012 at 9:31 am

Turbo = tendency to speed = die faster

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 12
          • Turbo focused to torque not horsepower…

• RedKnight AHA on Mar 17, 2014 at 11:07 am

THna RIde a bicycle..Also can die ahaha..Better still ride public transport…

• agree. turbo give some kicks to drive. Especially in city highway such as MRR2, DUKE. Easy to overtake, no lag. Tested the Polo TSI yesterday, I can say the engine + DSG gearbox is awesome, powerful and silent. Highly recommended for someone that is thirsty for power. However, all other aspect of the car reminds me of the Proton Savvy. Paying 4 times Savvy, to get a turbo charged Savvy. LOL

• Brian on Aug 14, 2012 at 7:47 am

That is for city driving. For combined drive, the Polo can easily achieve more than 18km/L.

• Altis is the slower car with lower torque figures and higher fuel consumption, so what good is the altis?

btw, the official fuel consumption for Polo TSI is about 20km/l…14km/l is the reviewer guess for real world city driving if driven carefully, but he easily get 10km/l in city with a heavy foot.

• Yes.. I am getting 14.5km/L with “Mix” driving condition (city + highway).. Pure highway wise can get even more mileage (17 to 18km/L)..

• Altis will not spoil here spoil there like a VW that is for sure. Even a 20 year old toyota is by far more reliable than a 4 year old Golf!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
        • @ fsi, if drivers want a reliable car that can survive for a long time, purely for ferrying ppl and things around, yes Toyota is pretty good at it.. even my 1st Hyundai serve me well for 8 years with no breakdown, better than my fren’s Vios, and I still keep my Hyundai and got Polo as 2nd car..

Y? Driving pleasure cannot be replaced with majority of asian cars…

Its like buying an expensive RM2k Seiko Quartz watch and a RM3k Oris Automatic Mechanical watch..
          Quartz is anytime more reliable than Automatic watches (Automatic Mechanical watch needs good care, service it after few years and if you dont wear often, the watch will stop).. but why ppl still buy mechnical watches despite both have the same purpose of showing time? Mechanical watch owners see beyond the practicality and appreciate the art behind the master piece.. an art built with soul just like conti cars..

again, conti drivers looks beyond just driving from A to B.. altis is as good as it serve the purpose of ferrying, thats all..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
      • sepucps on Aug 14, 2012 at 11:50 am

i thought 1.6 liter altis no dual vvti..only single vvti..hmmm..

• altis 2012 1.6 dual vvti la..adoi
        btw i was just referring to the authors claim of 14km/L official polo fc.. just quite shocking thats all

• skiborne on Aug 14, 2012 at 11:09 pm

altis had ice-aged 4-speed automatic. with that u cnnt drive any faster than Polo. thats why 13km/l

• Newspring on Nov 05, 2012 at 9:55 pm

my old RM500 Proton Tiara (Citroen AX) can do 14km/l mixed driving, not bad for a 1.1 liter carburated car.

• junior driver on Aug 14, 2012 at 1:52 am

best car money can buy for RM100K…
      but too expensive..
      hurm have to work hard…

but when salary increase = price car / other stuff increases too…

:(

• Badut Rempit aka Samseng Jalanan on Aug 14, 2012 at 8:18 am

One Polo 1.2 TSI = Worth parting my kapcai and no more weely.

Two MyVi = No thank you. I love my kapcai and weely more.

• intermilan on Aug 14, 2012 at 12:21 pm

Best car money can buy for RM100K…????

What non-sense..

• agree. Polo is too expensive. Polo sedan even worst (RM90k plus), the only good thing about Polo Sedan, is the NVH level is good. Engine sound hardly noticeable in the cabin. Other than that, i just the same as Proton Saga FLX.

• libralcl on Aug 14, 2012 at 2:52 pm

Vote wisely will get you work less to get the car.

• kadajawi on Aug 22, 2012 at 2:54 am

As much as I love to talk bad about Toyota you shouldn’t forget the Prius C. In terms of safety it is on the same level as the Polo, but the focus is on good fuel economy rather than performance. Which some people may prefer. In any case it is good value for money. (Though I’d say the Preve CFE is even better value for money…).

• TurboMan!!! on Aug 13, 2012 at 11:01 pm

Jerome.

I love the way you write. Very informative, sarcastic and engaging.

Keep up the good work.

• skiborne on Aug 13, 2012 at 11:13 pm

test drove it before, loved it to every bit, yes the price is rather steep, but why didnt nobody complain about jazz’s price being high aswell considering it has nothing to shout about

• At least VW POLO is much more worth than HONDA JAZZ, only equipped with outdated I-vtec engine and lousy 5 speed(DSG is now recognized as the most advance in transmission technology)
    And in term of BRANDING, there is no way Perodua can compete against VW, not even Honda or Toyota!!

• Merc=Real Euro on Aug 14, 2012 at 11:46 am

DSG is now recognized as the most advance in transmission technology) ….. eerr really… how about the juddering and mechatronic problem..care to explain…

• BeemerFreak on Aug 14, 2012 at 9:21 pm

Haha which does not and had not occur on my scirocco of 3 years and has promted me to obtain a jetta as well, which by the way also does not suffer from the so called juddering. Explain that….never use before want to comment so much.

Listening to reviews and feedbacks are akin to reading rumours, trust nothing u see unless u personally experienced it.

• RedKnight AHA on Mar 17, 2014 at 11:11 am

SPOT on!..COmpetitor SA at in the HOUSE spreadign WORDS of Crap

• alldisc on Aug 15, 2012 at 9:33 am

that juddering is only felt on cars with dry clutch DSG. the Golf GTI and scirocco 2.0 using wet clutch DSG that is able to absorber the judder better.

• Medic on Aug 15, 2012 at 10:39 am

Merc,From day one,you’ve been anti-Vw,condemn everything,regardless of which model.You’ve must have been bitter after been smoked by a Vw.Don’t be a Troll,give constructive comments instead.

• junior driver on Aug 24, 2012 at 4:38 pm

haha MEdic just got his 1.4TSI after using Civic; talked so much :)

• the reason the Myvi could sell over 8,000 units a month the first place is the stupid taxes :( if not the Polo directly competes with the Myvi. And can you imagine that? A VW directly competing with Perodua.

Having no competition means that is why there is no reasons for Malaysian car companies to improve their cars. Sad truth. If not our cars just might be improving as fast as the Koreans.

• hway de Cruz on Aug 14, 2012 at 8:50 am

excise duty alone is 75%, totally ridiculous, minus that the car could b around 68k, which is justify. gomen totally hv no consideration for rakyat, simply add in excise duties just to make quick money. we can do away with this type of nonsicial gomen, collectively we can remove them for good

• based on personal experience
      1)VW car 160 to 200k range: CIF = approx RM45k+
      2)Swift Sport : CIF = approx 25k+
      3)Honda Stream : CIF = approx 45k+
      ( the above are excluding import duty, excise duty , sales tax and the profit margin by the principal and dealers )

• kadajawi on Aug 22, 2012 at 3:03 am

The taxes for the Myvi are the same as for other ASEAN built cars, AFAIK. And just 10% lower than for CKD cars (30 for CBU).

However from what I know the government decides the price for non-Malaysian cars. That way they can also avoid having cars that are too close in price to the local brands. This _usually_ avoids base spec cars. For example the base spec Polo comes with a 1.2… with 60 hp. Manual 5 speed. Apart from 6 airbags and ESP it comes with powered windows and steel rims. It does not have aircon or a radio. Such a car could probably be sold at 40-50k…

• Yesterday I talked to the VW sales person, she told me VW won’t reduce the price as to retain their image in Malaysia. If that’s true, then VW sucks big time.

• Jimmy on Aug 13, 2012 at 11:27 pm

The best car for daughter (who is not very experienced in driving yet) is the new Mercedes A-class.

• ferraro on Aug 14, 2012 at 2:44 am

no, ferrari italia is better, no need to hold the steering

• ysoexpensive on Aug 14, 2012 at 9:35 am

her father must be a filthy rich drug cartel if he can buy a ferrari italia for her. Or in our country mayber he’s one of the AP kings.

• tokmoh on Aug 13, 2012 at 11:46 pm

Myvi can fly to the moon, your argument is invalid.

But good job VW for increasing the price of Polo. According to industry experts and all the great wise ministers, this will ensure the industry become more vibrant and its workforce remain safe.

Don’t be like Honda, haiya, why they reduce Jazz price to under rm100k? Very bad wor, current owners will lose second hand value, who gonna compensate these owners? Besides, by reducing price, the industry will be negatively affected. Proton will have to reduce workforce, Honda gonna help these anak tempatan to cari makan aa?

I propose next facelift, Polo must priced at least rm200,000. Like that baru Proton, Perodua, supplier chain semua akan mampu berdaya saing supaya dapat menjayakan aspirasi kerajaan agar Malaysia ke arah kuasa besar dunia. Janji dicapati!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
    • skatax on Aug 14, 2012 at 8:31 pm

haha.. like your sarcasm.

janji dicapati makes me hunger for capati mamak. emm…

• RejimKejamGanas on Aug 14, 2012 at 10:38 pm

Don’t know why so many Malaysians don’t get sarcasm.

• synergy on Aug 13, 2012 at 11:58 pm

we buy vw .. boikot local car . then price will down deep to the sea floor

• indonesian_reader on Aug 13, 2012 at 11:59 pm

Hi, Paultan.org.

I was wondering if you can compare the Volkswagen Polo to the Hyundai Grand Avega and also Honda Jazz & Honda Brio & Nisan March especially in safetyness.

The reason.
    I wanna change my 7 years old Honda Stream 2.0 into something smaller, and I think Hyundai Grand Avega is nice with very good price. I read that paul said that Grand Avega were designed in Europe for European taste, but I can’t find good enough information about the sefety. Is this Hyundai safety already up to the European and Japanese car?

Thank you

• b sensible on Aug 14, 2012 at 12:06 am

put in this perspective, myvi is alike “kopi-o”…but it’s seem the “kopi-o” is added w/ sugar, milk to make it thicker & richer in aroma but it still taste the same. so sugar, milk is alike duty to make the kopi-o look better! next time want to drink kopi-o, drink beside starbuck, so you got class…lagi best!!!

• Sabahman on Aug 14, 2012 at 12:21 am

A Polo is a better car than a Myvi. Twice as good? Not really. The
    Myvi is not THAT bad.

Maybe Polo is 50% better? Interior, seats, pickup, noise, styling and handling of the Polo beats the Myvi. Actually the Polo is best in just about everything. If it was’t for the Government taxing foreign cars to death I would buy the Polo. In Germany a Polo is a cheap car, a student car. In Malaysia a Polo is a car for the rich man’s wife.

Ps. In real life driving, the 1.5 Myvi is hardly any stronger than the 1.3, so save your money and buy the 1.3. I tried both and could not tell much difference.

• myvil on Aug 14, 2012 at 2:20 am

myvi can fly you know , very different with other cars

• leroycharlie on Aug 14, 2012 at 1:02 pm

The difference between 1.3 and 1.5 is most apparent when the car is fully loaded with 5 passengers.

• when it comes to “accident” (touch wood), maybe no 2 MyVi can save life compare to 1 Polo.. :S

• kadajawi on Aug 22, 2012 at 3:17 am

In Germany it is not that cheap either. A Polo will set you back at least 10.5k Euro, and that is for the manual 60 hp 1.2 without radio or aircon (or anything else really, apart from 6 airbags and ESP). The Myvi, made in Japan (thus production costs are pretty high), will set you back 8.5k, but it is more powerful and better spec’ed (same in terms of safety, but radio and aircon, mirrors can be adjusted electrically, …).

• Polo comes with basic accessory. Almost all basic (but the auto power window on all four doors is good). For me, the price is too expensive. Even Preve can come out with all the light sensor, rain sensor, sensor there, sensor here with 40k cheaper than Polo. For me, Preve’s engine performance is identical to Polo (tested them both in the same day, same route), just the engine noise is too visible in Preve. NVH reduction is better in Polo than Preve.

• fooyc on Aug 14, 2012 at 12:32 am

Polo cannot be 1.6 tonne.

• Summicron on Aug 14, 2012 at 1:17 am

I skipped a beat when I read the Polo is 1.6 tonne. Like … what?!

• wflau on Aug 14, 2012 at 1:25 am

i’m surprised when i read only to find out its only 1.1 tonne actually..

• Unforgiven on Aug 14, 2012 at 12:40 am

So is the Polo worth two Myvis? Only in M’sia I guess, it’s really sad but just do a LOL!

• Mario Gomez on Aug 14, 2012 at 7:10 am

So thanks to our bastard automotive policy system n stupid national car.

• jalan54 on Aug 14, 2012 at 2:34 am

Doesn’t really matter how good it is, price of the car and the maintenance cost are still the most important factor for most Malaysian.

Malaysia will only consider buying Polo instead of myvi when 1 of these 2 things happened. The drop of the price and maintenance cost of the car or the raise of average income in Malaysia.

• daniel ks on Aug 14, 2012 at 5:30 am

as a current business man
    i find that foreign / expensive etc car are not worth paying for.

installment already high and depreciation thing , buy a new car service at service center (no choice warranty)

also pay a premium.

thats ridiculous.

• No interest with car in Malaysia already. Price getting higher. When you own it and you need to spend for high maintenance cost. I want to consider riding bike already. Motorbike (250cc & above) are cheaper than car and cheaper in maintenance.

• alldisc on Aug 15, 2012 at 11:58 am

wrong, malaysia’s bikes are one of the most expensive in the world.

except, for the kapchais…

• kadajawi on Aug 22, 2012 at 3:05 am

Motorbikes are also extremely deadly. This can be reduced quite a bit through proper protective suits, but those are probably not very comfortable in Malaysia, and they are very expensive.

• Fooled on Aug 14, 2012 at 10:33 pm

why must say “as a current business man”?
      what does that supposed to tell us?
      only business man can calculate?

ngm sai lan si…

• what to do, still this is ‘rich people car’
    duty excise is measured due to the demand, like polo gti hiked rm50k ,insane..

• PetrolLeg on Aug 14, 2012 at 7:34 am

If you want to differentiate technically speaking, got the money to buy and to some extend don’t really care if 50 or 75 percent if your salary goes to the installment and yet you feel good about having a VW then it is up to the buyer to think if it’s worth two myvis. Personally it is a preference that some would not want to be a commoner.

• kensomuse on Aug 14, 2012 at 8:20 am

Hi Jerome,

It’s great seeing another writer joining the fold. Love your witty comments and the interesting way you phrase your points. Looking forward to seeing more articles from you.

Btw, when I had that car for review, I felt that “robotic monkey” you mention felt faster in engaging gears from a stop go situation compared to the Golf TSi I have back home, thus making it easier (for me at least) to cross busy intersections.

Buyers who go for the Polo usually have higher disposable income, don’t mind the space too much and a car that offers a driving feel that cannot be found in local makes. So no, even if the average income of Malaysians do increase, there are other options to invest on (and it’s not just about alternative choices of cars).

• Marvin Lee on Aug 14, 2012 at 8:52 am

This is how all car reviews should be written.
    Frank and no nonsense.
    Like! :-)

• Fooled on Aug 14, 2012 at 10:35 pm

No la.
      He didn’t even mention the unfair car pricing policy. Frank meh?

• Driver on Aug 14, 2012 at 9:06 am

It worth more than 2 myvi, except the price paid for taxes…

• power8003 on Aug 14, 2012 at 9:19 am

I think malaysia’s volkswagen cars are overpriced. In the European or some others countries, volkswagen is just a common car which people used for day to day use. Unlike in Malaysia, Volkswagen is premium brand which almost matched BMW or Merc brand in term of pricing. Just for the recent example. POLO GTI was previously priced at RM130k plus now, it is at RM160k plus. Increase of RM30k for nothing. It does not make sense. In overseas. POLO tsi and ford fiesta are the almost the same price. But Malaysia bolehland, It is different by 20k. It does not make sense at all……….

• Yesterday I talked to the VW sales person, she told me VW won’t reduce the price as to retain their image in Malaysia. If that’s true, then VW sucks big time.

• How’s the interior quality? worth the price?

• confused on Aug 14, 2012 at 10:23 am

Polo is better than Myvi. Fact #1.

But by how much? Certainly not twice of it. Fact #2.

Myvi is good all-around city car. Only idiots drive it to fly to the moon. Fact #3.

• all i can say is for that price, you are better off with a peugeot 308 thp.

• from 130K to RM170K
    ridiculous

• Price is too high for owning such a small car, 308turbo seems value for money compare to this IMO.

• vwster on Aug 31, 2012 at 5:03 pm

U try own one 308 and see how frequent u go back to their workshop.

• Driven a Peugeot 308 Turbo. The engine is awesome, good acceleration. But the handling is even worst than Saga BLM. You need to go slower than Saga BLM to take corners.

• Merc=Real Euro on Aug 14, 2012 at 11:33 am

If the price doesn’t kill u the DSG will.
    What is the point of paying so much for a car that will give you headache. All the warranty is useless when your car is stuck in service center for few days. Worse still you will be going in and out of service center many times for silly problem and not expected of a car costing 2 MYVI….

• Davion on Aug 15, 2012 at 1:12 am

Don’t make baseless accusations you can’t back up with proper evidence.

• Sam Loo on Sep 06, 2012 at 7:52 pm

Well, like the Range Rover, you need to buy 2 VW instead of 1, coz one will be always sitting in the yard waiting for parts to be shipped in

• polo 1.2 TSI on Dec 10, 2012 at 10:49 am

Problems : Fisrt is the turbo, 1st year of owning the car, got replacement for four days waiting and the warranty is given by VW Malaysia by Goh brothers in IPOH. Second time is the DSG megatonic after the 2nd year have to wait for more then one week to get replacement because have to claim thru insurance, hmmmm. The problems is not having a replacement car to use and have to wait for the all the paper works to claim their insurance. Imagine is a branded new car with tons of problems to get it fixed. Sad indeed to face this kind of service given for a branded car.

• millionaire2004 on Jun 29, 2013 at 7:00 pm

hi,

i am planning to buy polo 1.2 TSI but got a bit worried with the comments here. the sales person said that the DSG problems has been fixed and he does not hear any complaints since june 2012 till now. can this be true?

• there’s nothing to shout about driving a volkswagen especially entry level, iv been inside polo, just a simple design the dashboard, aircond…basic and simple only

• the interior of volkswagen is one of the best among industry, not fancy, well thouoght out details, not plastic, leather coated steerings, upholstery fabric seats, it feels like a airplane cockpit some says.

• Yes, it’s basic looking but look at the assembly, the quality of the plastics, the safety functions. For instance, the Polo has ESP, Camry does not. The Polo takes 9.7secs for the century dash, the Camry takes forever (12.5secs). But, I still think the Polo does not equal 2 Myvis as the Myvi holds its own fort well too, for the price.

• Looks and quality are different all together.. interior quality is above average such as soft touch, soft plastic, even the chrome looks classy.. The simple dash is due to good ergonomic, easy to use.. ergonomic is something VW score high.. unlike some of its rival with massive amount of buttons all over and confusing.. Peugeot 308’s control panel looks nice but it is one of the hardest to operate where you need to lean forward and stretch your arms to reach those buttons, which is pretty dangerous when you are driving.. for VW, things are within reach, even volume and mute control on steering wheels..

I would say VW design “no nonsense”, just practical and easy to use..

• skiborne on Aug 14, 2012 at 11:26 pm

that the specs bro, the specs have been standardized by VCM prior entering Malaysia, unlike in Europe any car u buy u can add-on in terms of features

• vwster on Aug 31, 2012 at 5:05 pm

do you need a sophisticated interior for a car to drive well?

• leroycharlie on Aug 14, 2012 at 12:57 pm

Waiting for a new govt, when Myvi money can buy you a VW.

• Bowie on Aug 14, 2012 at 1:14 pm

Very good insight my friend !!!

• to abolish tax? it will never happen.. not as easy as that.. the entire auto industry will be affected..

• Gurmit on Aug 14, 2012 at 1:07 pm

85% tax? hmmmm….

• I drive a Myvi. I want a Polo.
    Polo is better than a Myvi in every aspect except cabin space.
    It’s a win-win for the government which ever car we buy, local car they gain, foreign car they gain. It’s a lose-lose situation for us people, local car quality is not up to par, foreign car is too expensive.
    What can we do?

• Feels a bit sarcasm to compare POLO with Myvi with our NAP crap.

• Although Polo is a great car, gamen did a wonderful job, making Polo not worth 2 Myvi. Msia boleh, janji ditepati.

• Ganeson on Aug 14, 2012 at 2:34 pm

Why no one mentioned the the polo really got 5 star NCAP and does not skip out on safety features. I think gov’t should introduce tax break for cars that meet 5 Star, and tax cars that don’t meet. Same for emissions or fuel consumption, the lower, the lower the tax should be.

• Sabahman on Aug 14, 2012 at 2:57 pm

Polo interior is in a different class. Materials and design is better. Myvi interior is plastic fantastic.

• not to mention that perodua let alone Myvi cannot be found on tested car list on EuroNCAP website.

• Kurkuda8 on Aug 15, 2012 at 10:10 am

I think you should learn more about EuroNCAP.

EuroNCAP is not a vehicle safety regulation enforcement agency and it is not compulsory
        for all cars sold in Europe to be tested by EuroNCAP.

All cars sold in Europe only need to undergo one test procedure which is known as Vehicle Type Approval (VTA). To obtain VTA certification, a manufacturer must produce the necessary technical documents showing that it complies with the European Economic Community regulations.

With limited funds and resources, EuroNCAP cannot test every single model sold. EuroNCAP members will nominate certain key models that sell in sufficient volume to be tested.

• Do you think a car which have the highest sales in Malaysia deserve a test for the sake of Malaysian people?
          Perodua can sponsor the cars for a test?

• wiare on Aug 14, 2012 at 8:18 pm

but polo dashboard design is plain and boxy, like old generation vw cars

• golf for life on Aug 14, 2012 at 3:08 pm

Driven the car for 2 weeks as replacement car; very basic suspension, interior very plasticky, engine response slow and jerky..have to rev high . Not worth paying the very high price…

• So before u went to the VW showroom but didn’t know that Polo interior is so plasticky or test drive the car?! RM108-115k is not too much actually…

• eerio on Aug 14, 2012 at 8:20 pm

not too much? you have got annual income of 200,000 to say like that

• alvin on Aug 22, 2012 at 12:21 pm

u drove the sedan?

• nurburgring on Aug 14, 2012 at 3:49 pm

As the Polo owner, for me i didnt regret to bought these car..the 1.2tsi heart couple with DSG gearbox is like you are having sex with Victoria Secret model..you can feel the power & great handling.

• CKD Master on Aug 14, 2012 at 5:04 pm

better buy two myvi cz can accomadate 10 people instead on Polo only 4 ….even myvi is worse quality and ride but almost most of malaysian buy it…bcz cheap & reliable…

• Polo is about putting a smile on driver’s face every time taking it for a drive.. Dont really care if you can ferry 10 ppl or not..

• alldisc on Aug 15, 2012 at 11:09 am

no smile when you spend 5/6 of driving time idling in peak hour traffic jams.

and in front of you is a kancil 660 automatic with smoky exhaust pipe which you cannot overtake.

• At least I m sitting more comfortable than in that kancil .. lolz.. VW seats and Daihatsu seats are different.. ppl who drive perodua knows the seats are less comfy especially long journey or too long in the car.. on VW seats feel less fatigue, its is where conti car scores in terms of ergonomic design..

Need a lot of over taking in jam? Polo is just right for the job with high low rev torque to get the car moving, good handling and the car is easy to drive..

Jam or freeway, Polo is a good city car.. driver still smile, bcos its a VW.. you would rather wanna jam in a Polo than a Kancil :D

moreover, my journey to work is always on a open jam-free highway.. ;)

• JeremyNg on Aug 14, 2012 at 9:11 pm

I got an idea why don you buy the Perodua Van which can fetch more people and save more money ??

• i will not buy both myvi or polo 1.2 tsi, both over-price in Malaysia!

• Have to agree that even for ppl who are affluent, only few will pick this car.. not bcos its not good, it is just priced too close to the next segment above..

Have to say, Polo owners are drivers who look for more beyond practical.. Its not only about ferrying from A to B comfortably, its about enjoying the driving experience..

putting into example:
    – Driving a MyVi usually for ferrying passenger or cargo from A to B when it is needed. How many MyVi owners pick up the key, step inside the car and just drive without a destination, cruising on highway, tackling corners in outskirt roads, and finally come back home with a satisfying smile?
    – Polo driver does.. with no purpose, picking up the key and just drive to anywhere.. “where are you going? doesnt matter, I just want to drive”.. Finding any reason to drive or drive without a reason.. Driving is beyond ferrying from A to B.. that is something you dont feel with a MyVi.. No two MyVi can give those satisfaction…

having said that.. yes.. there is a price to pay for the hefty price tag.. when you can afford and have the passion for it..

my 2 C

• rally_fan on Aug 15, 2012 at 9:52 am

i still can’t believe the amount of polos i see on the roads today.. wonder what the real numbers are?

• alldisc on Aug 15, 2012 at 11:06 am

many are test drive units, i think….

• sales figure:
          2010 – ~150 units (since launch in Q3 2010)
          2011 – 1791 units (Jan – Dec 2011)
          2012 – 968 units (Jan – May 2012)

by now should be more than 3000 units on the road. Possible of more than 4000 units by end of 2012..

VW is now #8 most popular brand in msia (for Jan – May 2012), and #1 conti car ahead of Merc, BMW, Peugeot and Ford(partially conti)

* report extracted from motortrader “Market Report”

• ahmad loy on Aug 16, 2012 at 1:04 pm

Agreed. That why RM118K OTR, this car is reasonable enough.

• beggo on Aug 14, 2012 at 9:04 pm

i got my polo 1.2 tsi as my birthday gift last year, use it everyday to travel to college

• I own polo sport since early this year. What i can say is, i fell in love with driving again after so many years driving a proton. Yes the judderring was there but after worldwide ecu update it was gone. The downside of the update was that you lose a bit of growl during take off

• This car is too slow for performance buffs so they wont buy it. People who buy them drive it like it has got no turbo. All the Polos I meet on the road drive slower than average Myvi owners. Then they buy this Polo for what? Just to show they are a snob?

• realcar on Aug 15, 2012 at 2:16 am

There is a saying, premium cars are meant to drive slow, so that other ppl can see the car and look who is the driver..

No wonder cheaper car run so fast.. drivers are to paiseh to let other ppl know who is the driver… lolz…

• paparadzi on Aug 15, 2012 at 1:35 am

Don’t buy any car before the next general election, and please vote wisely.

• kwwhr on Aug 15, 2012 at 2:12 am

not really good way to put dual vvti, it saves fuel but with less power, what is better is more power thus less fuel consumption and emission, like what europeans / proton do now.

• alldisc on Aug 15, 2012 at 11:04 am

pls read more to understand better the reason for dual vvti, and the reason manufacturers downsized engine capacity but offset by fitting a charger.

• How about DSG problem that triggered VW to do ‘service campaign’ last month? The problem solved or not yet?

• Medic on Aug 15, 2012 at 3:56 pm

There’s no prob with the DSG.Vw is installing the latest map for the DSG to make it smoother &more fuel saving for free.

• intermilan on Jan 11, 2013 at 6:43 pm

Your statement is a blatant lie.

The DSG problems were and are reported worldwide.

Anyone should google to find out how widespread is it. Don’t regret later.

• matlimmutu on Aug 15, 2012 at 5:30 pm

i prefer 308 turbo.

• vwdab on Aug 15, 2012 at 11:59 pm

if we consider the price, reliability, 2nd value, trend, etc…etc.. its hard to make any decision on what car to buy. there’s always a little money to spend to get better and better.
    so stop considering all those factors and consider what we want instead, only then we will smile everytime kickdown the pedal.
    learn the reasons. learn the technologies. imagine a relatively cheap car with the same tech with Aventador’s transmission?yes, u get what u pay..

• cannot tahan lah !

• amirad on Aug 16, 2012 at 11:06 am

Is 2 myvis worth 1 polo? Is 4 wajas worth 1 bmw 3 series? Is 3 cornettos worth 1 baskin robbins? Is…..? Rule of thumb 2 malaysian cars worth 1 jap car. 2 japs car worth 1 german car. Not applicable to lexus, infiniti and the likes. So is the pleasure directly proportional to their cost. I must confess there’s a different feeling when you drive all those makes. For some, the pleasure is actually in the mind.

• An Over Prices Economy Car…

• Medic on Aug 18, 2012 at 9:41 pm

Who ever said this is an economy car.

• Sam Loo on Aug 23, 2012 at 12:19 am

It costs a bomb to maintain

• Medic on Aug 23, 2012 at 11:26 am

My Polo service price averages between $350 for normal service to $600 for major service.Need to service every 15k km only.You do the maths idiot.

• RyanS on Jan 24, 2013 at 8:44 am

DSG that dry GB u really follow 15k km for service ?

• Sam Loo on Aug 20, 2012 at 9:31 pm

I have seen a speeding Golf along the NSE (prolly at 200kmh), I was oledi doing 160kmh. After 1 hour, I saw the bugger with the hood up just before Simpang Pulai.

So much for German reliability

• While we can all agree that the Polo has its merits, for a compact car I will go for the Fiesta. If I can afford the Polo, I would wait for some time until I can afford the Golf.

• mantoi on Aug 23, 2012 at 9:19 am

why compare to myvi alone la… compare la with civic/focus/navara etc… i.e. similar price

• Norrafi on Jan 17, 2013 at 12:02 pm

http://forums.whirlpool.net.au/archive/1773189

This is ‘nice’ comments from other place. Do we have the same Polo as them?

• alfarabi on Jan 21, 2013 at 2:49 pm

friend of mine posted on his FB saying that his most regret is buying this model. this car gives so many problems. avoid!

• alfarabi on Jan 21, 2013 at 2:52 pm

oh btw, my sister has the 08 1.2 fsi polo, now it is sitting collecting dusts at my moms house. problems after problems.

• atz1999 on Jan 31, 2013 at 8:48 pm

i would suggest people who cukup2 makan buy proton and perodua ..don’t complaints a lot or have some extra money buy japanese car…
    unless you have good monthly income start dream and buying european car…

• Tok Berlagak on Jan 26, 2014 at 1:38 pm

2009 launched internationally model.

Shouldnt it coming out a New model instead of facelift?

• NormanTheGreat (Member) on Aug 30, 2014 at 1:37 am

Now on offer for RM109k otr..too bad my wife already take the Fiesta 1.0ecoboost 3 cylinders 125hp/170nm