Shelby GT500 Cobra: 850 hp tribute edition Mustang

Click to enlarge.

It’s called the 2013 Shelby GT500 Cobra, and it’s a tribute edition Mustang, built to commemorate the late Carroll Shelby. The vehicle was unveiled at the Rolex Monterey Motorsports Reunion, where Cobra is the marque of show this year.

The edition began life as a base 662 hp Shelby GT500, and with the completion of the rework exercise, the wide-body Mustang now generates more than 850 hp with the help of a Ford Racing 4.0 litre capacity Whipple supercharger on top of the base Modular 5.8 litre V8, the Trinity.

Click to enlarge.

Ford teamed up with Shelby American for several key components on the car – Shelby American provided a specially designed bonnet, a new rear wide-body kit, Shelby Wilwood brakes and new 20 x 13-inch rear and 20 x 10-inch front wheels.

To aid traction, the 13-inch-wide rear wheels are wrapped in massive 345-section rubbers for extra grip. As for the bodywork, the car is finished in the same Guardsman Blue with Wimbledon White stripes that graced so many of the Cobra roadsters from the 1960s.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Ekspresi Ruang on Aug 20, 2012 at 4:44 pm

drag king

• Mustang on Aug 20, 2012 at 7:01 pm

I LOVE FORD MUSTANG SOOOO MUCH:), it’ availeble to Boleh Land market? If not don’t ever we call we are Boleh Land. change to Tidak Boleh.. lol

• Anon Kneemas on Aug 21, 2012 at 9:37 am

I love the Mustang too (so much I bought a 3.7l coupe). Its a lot of car for the money BUT it’s not the most sophisticated nor refined car (even at that price point). Hypothetically, even if Malaysia did not have import duties on new cars, the Mustang won’t do well in the market as tastes there are notably euro-centric.

• There are many grey imports but are all left hand drive….i think its selling abt 400k…..

• antihipokrit on Nov 15, 2013 at 9:40 am

Boleh.. but with the price of RM1 Million

• Dr. M on Aug 20, 2012 at 9:05 pm

No way a GTR can come close!

• Anon Kneemas on Aug 21, 2012 at 9:31 am

Anthony, the engine capacity is not 4.0l V8, its the same 5.8l from the GT500 but with a Ford Racing 4.0l capacity whipple supercharger atop. Ford has not made a 4.0l V8 in recent years (only a 4.0l V6).

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Aug 22, 2012 at 10:33 am

Anon, completely fell asleep on that one! I am aware of the Modular 5.8 litre V8 – which is the Trinity – powering the GT500, but didn’t mention it. In editing the piece it came out pretty much sounding wrong! Thanks. I’ve rectified it.

• WhiteFox on Aug 21, 2012 at 1:18 pm

i cant imagine chasing the red horse or gold bull using this ><

• How much it cost for the Ford Mustang Shelby Cobra in Malaysia ?