Peugeot 208 GTi: production model pictures released, on sale in the UK next spring

Peugeot has released these pictures of the production 208 GTi ahead of its Paris motor show debut. The three-door hot hatch will have 200 hp and 275 Nm of torque coming from a turbocharged 1.6 litre THP engine (same as in the RCZ), which should give the Renault Clio RS a run for its francs – certainly when you consider the GTi will do 0-100 km/h in under 7 seconds.

It has a wider front and rear track than the standard car, by 10 mm and 20 mm respectively. Gearbox is a six-speed manual. 17-inch alloys fill up the flared wheel arches and steering and suspension have been tweaked, the latter involving recalibrated shock absorbers, stiffer springs and upgraded cross members.

Exterior-wise, the hot Pug gets a black mesh grille with chrome accents and chrome trapezoid twin tailpipes. Halogen headlamps are new, and feature a latest generation light guide. Daytime-running lights are LED; so are the turn indicators.

Inside there is a flat-bottomed steering wheel, sports seats, drilled aluminium pedals and an aluminium gear knob. Essentially the car doesn’t differ much from the 208 GTi Concept that was shown in Geneva.

The company says the car pays tribute to the legendary 205 GTi of the late 1980s through GTi badging on the C-pillar. But as to the dynamics and handling characteristics, only the drive will tell, really.

How much? Peugeot has yet to say, but there have been 9,000 UK orders since order books opened.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Look so much better o.O

• kimikira on Sep 04, 2012 at 10:03 pm

indeed, Peugeot look fantastic linkup, but reliable is doubtful

• Yes, cars look fantastic, but reliability a doubt compared to its German rivals.

• French cars have come a long way since the 80’s and are much more reliable now-maybe as reliable or more than German cars

• samsons on Aug 26, 2013 at 5:03 pm

Pug shared prince engine with mini cooper from bmw group.. reliability not an issues anymore.. chill! hee

• cool, catchy (y)

• HakimR on Sep 04, 2012 at 4:36 pm

No Auto tranny?

• nope. not for the gti. just a good old fashioned manual 6-speed shifter.

• ysoexpensive on Sep 04, 2012 at 4:59 pm

i’ve been looking forward for this news to be officical and finally paultan.org has published it. good job guys. do you have any idea when will it be launch in malaysia? hope it will be cheaper than polo gti.

• joaana on Sep 04, 2012 at 5:04 pm

When Proton can produce such a cool super mini like this car? Haha..after 25 years, Proton’s cars still look very cheap and boring. No one in Proton is bold enough to produce such radical car designs like Hyundai or Kia. They gave thousand of reasons with little innovations.
    For Proton die-hard fans, please dislike my comment..haha.

• radical design like gen2. unfortunately it’s not accepted by many. it looks weirdo rather than popular

• Nytro on Sep 04, 2012 at 5:19 pm

Looks great, but I’m skeptical due to the so so reviews of the basic 208. Wonder how they going to change the dynamics for this baby

• moha3774 on Sep 04, 2012 at 5:55 pm

It has a wider front and rear track than the standard car, by 10 mm and 20 mm respectively…trust me it wont be the same as basic car..

• alex chan on Sep 04, 2012 at 5:35 pm

remember guys..europe car have NO resale value..very the low one..only stupid people got conned by NAZA will buy this one..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
    • Turboman!! on Sep 04, 2012 at 6:43 pm

Sam Loo’s counterpart for european cars.

So what you reckon we all drive?

20 year old toyotas where u can get one for RM2k and drive for 10 years and u can still sell for RM2k.

• who do you call stupid?..stupid. on Sep 04, 2012 at 6:46 pm

look who’s talking. stupid fanboy calling other people stupid. europe car. LOL. which japanese marque do you work for?

i buy conti car (NOT europe car, stupid) because i want to enjoy it for as long as it can take me, for its specs, its value for my hard earned money given the current automotive scenario, and not to listen to the “NO” resale value bullcrap over and over again by a T or H stupid fanboy.

• kereta lembu on Sep 05, 2012 at 2:23 pm

So when you drive your high resale value, non-“europe car” and if you happen get involved in an accident, I hope it can save your life. Or maybe your car has higher value than your life. Think about it. I’m not cursing you, I’m just saying some people only think about value, but safety has its value also.

• Alex chan -im sure you are the type who has never ever driven an European car.

• alex chan on Sep 04, 2012 at 5:42 pm

buy toyota OK

• don't ditch english class next time on Sep 04, 2012 at 6:54 pm

the stupidest 3 words comment i have ever seen from a stupid fanboy. even dare calling people stupid with that level of english.

yes i am offended.

• joaana on Sep 04, 2012 at 8:43 pm

hahaha..

• zaff1984 on Sep 04, 2012 at 8:07 pm

very nice pug.. hotter than polo gti..

• laluan sehala on Nov 15, 2012 at 9:40 am

yup. at least it is less boring to look at. if the polo gti doesn’t come with those big wheels, it looks pretty much the same plain jane its tsi sibling is too. but maybe that’s how the owners like it anyway… to look plain.

• Alex Chan on Sep 04, 2012 at 10:23 pm

vios trd is much more hotter than this what..pure ride and handling at it best..dont butthurt so much..its a reality..europe cars wont find value here (so was the owner maa..retarded)..

• Alex chan- better stick to do what you do best- a toyota salesman

• jeff – he can’t do better. that’s why he’s dissing the competition.

• contilover on Sep 05, 2012 at 7:17 am

wow, this is how Alex Chan, a T supporter/salesman does his work off the clock (or maybe that’s part of his job scope!) – he disses other brands!

if this Alex Chan supporter/salesman believes soooo much in his “product”, then promote your “product” lah and don’t worry too much about other brands.

or maybe Alex Chan is worried T’s market share is getting smaller with SIGNIFICANT percentages every month because of the many brands (and better offerings) to Malaysian consumers in the market today!

• idaho on Sep 05, 2012 at 11:27 am

mama…i want one….

• waaahh.. same engine as RCZ..
    those RCZ owner must be very nervous when see this car next to them at traffic light.. this hot tiny GTi can easily smoke RCZ…

I think the price could be around RM150K.. but still worth it than Polo GTi or Cooper No S
    my 2 cents…

• A. H. Wan on May 27, 2013 at 5:34 pm

I was told Peugeot 208GTi will be avaialable in Malaysia from September onwards. Open for booking now. Price will be from less than RM130k! (RM128,888?)