2013 Nissan GT-R gets engine and chassis enhancements – now does the ‘Ring faster

Nissan has yet again given the Nissan GT-R a round of updates for the 2013 model year. The Japanese supercar is now even faster. 0 to 100km/h has dropped by 0.1 seconds – it’s now 2.7 seconds.

It’s also faster around the Nurburgring, doing the lap in 7 minutes and 19.1 seconds in May earlier this year, and taking into account 0.5 seconds lost due to traffic, that would translate to 7 minutes and 18.6 seconds, compared to the 2012 model which is capable of a 7 minute 21 second lap time.

So what’s changed? The 3.8 litre twin turbocharger engine has been enhanced with new injectors to improve mid-range and high-rpm response. The turbocharger bypass has a new relief valve to surpress the decrease of pressure, helping to sustain response. A new oil pan baffle helps maintain more stable oil pressure and reduces rotational friction during high performance driving.

Increased engine power is of course not enough to shave those seconds off the ‘Ring lap time. Nissan engineers have also revised the damper, spring and front anti roll bar to lower the centre of gravity. New cam bolts have been installed on the front suspension to improve camber accuracy and stability when cornering. Driveshafts have also been strengthened for more torque carrying capacity to improve reliability in high-stress situations.

As for the body, reinforcements have been added to the dash panel bar and instrument panel member resulting in increased body rigidity and better suspension control.

The 2013 GT-R goes on sale from Spring 2013. If you’re looking for a newer model GT-R at the grey dealers perhaps you want to wait for a 2013 model.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Gavin on Nov 03, 2012 at 10:44 pm

My apartment has one and it’s only used to go to work and back 6.15am every morning, on weekends it’s parked for the entire time. I guess if you need to maintain it you need to work that hard.

• maybe he went enjoy ever so early at 6.15am and sleep long hour on weekends? neh… not possible i guess

• Kalun on Nov 05, 2012 at 6:31 am

You guys should remember that every GTR made different from each other. Some luck one can get 0-100 in 2.5 sec.
      Some 2012 GTR already hit the 2.7 sec benchmark.

• delio on Nov 03, 2012 at 10:45 pm

2.7 sec? it can beat aventador or f12 easily. and gtr prices is more affordable than aventador or f12..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 3
    • Lamborghini and Ferrari r premium brands so they r much more expensive than this Nissan.

• tongi on Nov 03, 2012 at 10:59 pm

Wait 2013, probably i’ll wait after Next GE :P

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 8
    • armandd on Nov 04, 2012 at 11:00 pm

Yeah, after the 2012 GE I’ll also get to buy RM50k Nissan GT-R without tax, enjoy RM1.00/liter petrol and buy a large bungalow at RM60k!

Dream on mate…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 15
      • cogan terrace, cardiff on Nov 05, 2012 at 5:04 am

Hahah here in uk gtr will cost u min 34k pound and max 70k pound… how come can get RM50k…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
        • tongi on Nov 05, 2012 at 10:39 am

That’s right mate, this guy think we asking too much ,in fact We lost too much in real life, his the one should awake from DREAMS!

• Jimmy on Nov 03, 2012 at 11:04 pm

Great, 2.7 seconds only.
    Ferari/Lamborghini seem to be more glamorous/prestigeous. Somehow cars are like that.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
  • Prabakar Naidu on Nov 03, 2012 at 11:09 pm

I suppose it is the 2014 Nissan GT-R. Not 2013

• Enough lateral G during cornering to literally tear off a man’s face – J.Clarkson on the 2013 Nissan GTR
    But for some reason, I personally like the R34 ‘Skyline’ GTR more, I think its because of manual and a better engine note. Anyhow that’s me, and this is still an awesome machine and represent one of the greatest achievement in automotive technology. Just hope people treat it with respect more.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 2
  • Dumex2Durex on Nov 04, 2012 at 1:10 am

0 to 100km/h has dropped by 0.1 seconds – it’s now 2.7 seconds.
    Change new tires every month?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 14
  • Dumex2Durex on Nov 04, 2012 at 1:11 am

0 to 100km/h has dropped by 0.1 seconds – it’s now 2.7 seconds.
    changing new tires every month?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 14
  • But even with 850hp the GT-R cannot catch up with a BMW S1000RR, hehehe… ;)

http://youtu.be/Sv6oviSD5KA

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 52
    • fenzo on Nov 04, 2012 at 9:19 am

bro.. power to weight ratio remember.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
    • DriverLM on Nov 04, 2012 at 10:58 am

Did you just compare a liter bike with a supercar?

Most literbikes have better power to weight ratio than F1 cars. Its an apple to orange comparison.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 2
      • No, I compared a stock literbike with a supercar tuned to 850hp. ;)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 20
      • Jack L. on Nov 05, 2012 at 1:08 am

This comparision is unfair!

2 wheels is for men with two balls

4 wheels are for pussies and uncles

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 17
    • Medic on Nov 05, 2012 at 11:23 am

GTR still have a higher top speed &introduce some corners,the bike will be left behind.4 wheel traction &stability will eat up the bike.

• Painter on Nov 04, 2012 at 6:56 am

How long has this model been around already? 4 years? 5 years? Its probably high time for a complete redesign.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 11
    • frenzy on Nov 04, 2012 at 10:30 am

No need so rush, wait for a even more better R36 coming, conti will afraid of power of eastern engineering

• thequestion on Nov 04, 2012 at 1:20 pm

It’s a work of art to make this car so no need rush la.

• nighttrain on Nov 04, 2012 at 8:17 am

First introduced in Japan in 2007.. Ancient car. Other sports car makers might have introduced new generation already.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 32
  • Now Paultan is talking cars.

• BMW S1000RR weigh less than 500 kg with 192 hp. GTR weigh more than 22,000 kg. At 250 km/hr, this GTR could weigh more than 26,000 kg, additional weight from wind pressure to keep the car firmly on the ground. The bike cut through wind like a knife, the GTR has much bigger surface area. How much hp in order to win BMW S1000RR comfortably?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 27
  • thequestion on Nov 04, 2012 at 1:14 pm

they must have studied the 2 GTR accidents in Kuantan last month, so came up with more rigid chassis

• only one GTR, then other one is not.

• Both of them are GT-R. You can check the web for photos. One of it is white while the other is a dark gray model. I know certain sources reported those cars as Skyline but actually both of them are GT-R (R35).

• Both crashed models we’re the original 2007 models. Those were outdated already. The best that they can achieve is 3.2 seconds from 0-100kmh. And they only had around 480hp. Try comparing that one with this latest 2013 update.

• hopefully next GE change the gov and we can get sports and super cars with its original price.that time Malaysia’s street will be full of the 2013 GT-R

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 28
    • so that’s your reason to change government? to get sports and super cars with its original price so it’ll be a common sight on the street? very nice logic. i feel sad for your family and kids (if any) to have you. i really do.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 6
    • _xXx_ on Nov 04, 2012 at 7:42 pm

by then preve would cost 9k 1 piece else x laku….

• armandd on Nov 04, 2012 at 11:03 pm

In your dream that is…

• joe the ripper on Nov 05, 2012 at 5:11 am

If no tax also still expensive for certain people…myvi still conquer malasian road…

• LOL! its truth

• ahhhhhh…please remove that MEH BUTTON!!!
    Superb car like this shouldn’t have that button…
    You see, still got uncle’s clicking on that button?
    Uncle’s who clicking on that meh button only knows about Camry, Camry, Camry Camry and Camry only…

• muddy on Nov 04, 2012 at 6:11 pm

Most important variable here is the driver. Human i believe. So, no matter how perfect/skillful he is, there are some other factors affecting the perfect timing. Its not robot driving the car. So, the 0.1s diff is really on paper.

Give Vettel the 2012 car and say, err Jeremy Clarkson the 2013 car, you know the result…

• This is what i called the real ‘ultimate driving machine’

• Akula on Nov 04, 2012 at 6:59 pm

When you drive this, please think about this……
    AES…AES…AES…AES…AES…AES…AES…AES…
    HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!!

• AES cronies on Nov 05, 2012 at 5:17 am

To prevent face detection by AES….plz mod ur plat no..so its can flip when reach certain speed…and dun forget to wear ghost mask..hehe

• At 2.7 seconds from 0 to 100km/h, AES may have the ability to capture air.

• Bujang Lapuk on Nov 04, 2012 at 8:08 pm

I know one person who would WINCE at hearing this. James May.

• Sgt Scoop on Nov 04, 2012 at 9:27 pm

What an amazing machine. Even more amazing that it comes from the same people who make the Grand Lavina.

• NISSpengAN on Nov 04, 2012 at 10:28 pm

Nissan car is the best!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
    • no, GTR is the best, now Nissan as a whole is quite boring with maybe the exception of the 370Z

• For almost every year Nissan updates their GT-R. When you compare the original 2007 Nissan GT-R model with this one, the 2007 model’s specifications almost looked like another different car. The gap in performance is quite apparent.

• Maserati on Nov 05, 2012 at 12:42 am

U never go wrong with the japs! Koreans uprising? Ptui!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 24
    • David D on Nov 05, 2012 at 2:07 am

You need a checkup. We’re gloating over the legendary Godzilla, this GT-R, which all of us crave for, when you have to come and show your stupidity and anti-Korean hatred which carries no weight here. Pathetic.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
    • Kalun on Nov 05, 2012 at 6:28 am

All the legendary Asian sport cars are always coming from Japan. Never heard Korean did such a thing. Hyundai Tiboron is rubbish.

Hyundai don’t even produce their own engine and perfected their ride handling. How could they be in the legendary sport cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 16
      • Kalun: who say hyundai did not produce supercar, 2013 genesis coupe V6 Lambda engine can produce up to 347hp without force induction, this car even beat the new ford mustang & VQ37 in drag race 0-400. check it before u write a coment,

• Turbo man on Nov 05, 2012 at 1:03 pm

He is still living in a time where the only Hyundai car is tiburon. That was in the 90s.

This is the year 2012 going to 2013.

That explains why most of them are still claiming Korean cars hv low resale values and bad service. Times have changed but they are still stacked in the last millenium.

Shame. Such a shame..

• the greed toyolta on Nov 05, 2012 at 5:55 pm

most of these jap fanboy got stuck in the Y2K time bug. they are still in 1999.

• the greed toyolta on Nov 05, 2012 at 5:55 pm

most of these jap fanboys got stuck in the Y2K time bug. they are still in 1999.

• Turbo man on Nov 05, 2012 at 9:51 am

Again?

You guys are really getting desperate.

Post on Korean car can see u guys claiming jap supremacy.
      Post on jap car.can also see u guys.
      Post on German car. Can also see u guys.
      Post on proton also can see u guys.

Desperate ? Looks like it.

• the greed toyolta on Nov 05, 2012 at 10:02 am

godzilla can eat any maserati for breakfast!

• dude, go away….

• mohammad on Nov 05, 2012 at 12:47 am

my brother own a GTR… from jb(mutiara motor) to melaka,fuel cost around rm 300, speed limited to 185km/h.. 0-100 makes your face like to peel off..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 12
    • _xXx_ on Nov 05, 2012 at 1:49 am

I can reach Bangkok with rm300 fuel…

• Medic on Nov 05, 2012 at 11:26 am

Yes u may,but i would have woken up from a nap when you do,if i’ve used the GTR.

• _xXx_ on Nov 05, 2012 at 12:23 pm

haha hope u still can wake up in the hospital, elsewhere would be either hell or heaven depending on how sinful u were…haha joking ye bro, no offence.

• GTR freak on Nov 05, 2012 at 10:46 am

limited speed ? GTR ada speedcut ke ?

• fenzo on Nov 05, 2012 at 8:50 pm

my gti do 200km/h and only consume < rm100(jb to melaka)

• People with GTR…fuel cost is irrelevant to them.

• Proton Lover on Dec 19, 2012 at 2:18 pm

A tuned Satria GTi fitted with quad-turbo, up to 950hp, big rear wing & not forgetting the all important bonnet stripes will smoke any Datsun GT-R.

Even the Aventador will be pushed hard to catch a Satria GTi.

• wok yoh on Mar 08, 2013 at 10:26 pm

quad turbo?are u serious man?can u lend me the further spec of that car?i’m really interested!