Spyshot: W222 Merc S-Class sheds some disguise

The next generation W222 Mercedes-Benz S-Class is due for a world debut soon, and in a little tease show Mercedes-Benz’s engineers have decided to shed some of that black camo that they’ve been putting on their test cars.

Although immediately recognisable as an S-Class, the design cues are rather CLS-esque, like a bigger, buffer version of Mercedes-Benz’s sexy four door coupe. The character line on the side drops towards the rear of the car just like the CLS too.

But unlike the CLS and the E, there’s no ‘hump’ over the rear wheel. Something that’s exiting the design language after a short run? The E facelift seems to have lost this as well. The boot lid has also been reshaped.

We’ve also added our previously featured spyshots of the interior into the full gallery below as a recap.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• hasan on Dec 11, 2012 at 12:34 am

as usual, looking good, but this one has tooo many smallerr E, cls etc design cues. maybe the camo hid much of the distinct characeristics. we’ll see when it’s out for public view =)

the 2 spoke wheel, please change it, my oyes are burrrrning!! it looks like my dad’s old 1998 Citroen evasion

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
  • It has elegant and expensive lines like the current generation.
    Am not sure of the Interior. Why do they have to change the air-cond vents to a Rolls-Royce type circular air vents. And four of it. To me it looks like a Spider staring at you.[arachnephobia beware]
    Well until it fully reveals, we can see the full result. Nice large LCD screens for both the main and meters panel though.

• kiddo on Dec 11, 2012 at 1:09 am

I do wonder if these spyshots were taken by anyone from this blog. If they weren’t and were instead borrowed from other websites, is it legal to put Paultan’s watermarks on the photos?

And is the source cited?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 18
    • Paul Tan on Dec 11, 2012 at 10:03 am

As explained many times before, we have our own freelance European spy photographer. These are all properly licensed. Since we are publishing it directly from the spy photographer we are the ‘source’.

Its kinda sad that we get this question all the time. Funny how Malaysians always think a Malaysian publication cannot have world standard content :) where’s the Malaysia boleh spirit people?

Did you know paultan.org was the first in the world to unveil the Honda Crz facelift photos? Autocar UK and Auto Express used our photos for their weeklies and Autoblog used it for their website.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 79 Thumb down 5
      • malaysia man on Dec 11, 2012 at 12:05 pm

don’t be sad Paul. take this kind of comment as a challenge. Malaysian can be world class no doubt about it. keep up the good work.

• uncertain buyer on Dec 11, 2012 at 12:16 pm

gud job Paul Tan! keep up the gud work

• well that is the true malaysian ‘spirit’. nothing done by malaysian, in Malaysia will be good enough. bring over some white guy, rubbish come out from their mouth also we pay them millions

or alternatively, if this site address is paultan.co.uk, you’ll be datuk paul already

• kingston on Dec 11, 2012 at 1:29 am

The most important car for Mercedes Benz,wonder what new technology has Mercedes put in it to set the bar for other full sized luxury saloons to follow,hmm..

• Josh Ling on Dec 11, 2012 at 9:36 am

Judging by the photos, and hopefully, the new S-Class should look cleaner on its profile, and thank goodness it’s curvier than some of the current models of MB too, which is a relief. I really don’t like MB cars to be too “angular”.

• kenot on Dec 11, 2012 at 11:34 am

as we look at the other new generation of mercedes cars, may be we can predict this new S class. the shape might be not attract the people like jaguar XJ or Audi A8 which is i think more sexy, but the tech in mercedes is much more concern.

• Jimmy on Dec 11, 2012 at 1:39 pm

Big cars from big name companies are for people with big pockets, so please, no small eyes ya.

• Julian Lee on Dec 11, 2012 at 2:32 pm

BMW better

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
    • Sam Loo on Dec 11, 2012 at 7:31 pm

Between Benz and Beemers, Benz owners in Malaysia that I know off seems to say that it is far more reliable and durable than Beemers.

Beemers may have better performance on paper, but that performance very quickly transforms to heavy wear and tear