Kia Rio launched – 1.4 EX and SX, RM74k-RM80k

DSC_0078a

Naza Kia Malaysia has launched the third-generation Kia Rio in Malaysia. The five-door hatch, which made its official debut last night at The Curve, is available in EX and SX trim forms, priced at RM73,888 and RM79,888 respectively, both on-the-road with insurance.

The car is powered by a G4FA 1.4 litre MPI Gamma engine, offering 109 PS at 6,300 rpm and 137 Nm at 4,200 rpm, mated to a four-speed automatic with a ‘manumatic’ manual shift function. The claimed combined cycle for the mill is 16.6 km per litre.

As mentioned in our preview drive report yesterday, the third-gen Rio is extensively equipped for a B-segment offering. Common to both variants are LED daytime running lights, electric folding wing mirrors with LED side repeaters, static bending lights, glove box cooling and Bluetooth connectivity.

DSC_0051a

There’s also LED rear combination lamps, tilt/telescopic steering, an Akarmys-enhanced six-speaker audio system with MP3, iPod and aux connectability, a leather-wrapped steering with audio and hands-free functionality, alloy pedals, sensor-based rear park assist, 60:40 split folding rear seats and rear fog lamps.

Safety kit is also comprehensive, the five-star NCAP-rated Rio coming with Isofix mountings, six airbags (front, front side, front/rear curtain), electronic stability control, ABS/EBD, TCS, brake assist and Vehicle Stability Management (VSM) as standard fitment.

The higher SX adds on front fog lamps, a sunroof, full auto air-conditioner with an integrated cluster ioniser and a Supervision cluster instrument panel. Also on, a rain sensor and auto windscreen defog system as well as a Smart Key system with push-start ignition (the EX makes do with a keyed ignition).

DSC_0029a

The SX also wears five-spoke 17-inch alloys with 205/45 series rubbers, while the EX is equipped with five twin-spoke 16-inch alloys, wrapped with 195/55 tyres. Suspension is made up of Macpherson strut fronts and a torsion beam axle rear.

Equipped with disc brakes all-around, the improved braking system on the new Rio is good enough to offer a 36.2 metre stopping distance from 100–0 km/h. Other numbers for the 4,045 mm long hatch are a 43 litre capacity fuel tank and a boot offering 288 litres of volume space.

Five exterior colours are available, these being Deep Blue, Signal Red, Clear White and Bright Silver, with the signature Electronic Blue shade only available for the 1.4 SX. The Rio comes with a five-year, unlimited mileage warranty.

DSC_0080a

Naza Kia is targeting a monthly sales target of 200 units for the new Rio, and on the whole is looking to increase its annual sales volume by 22% to 15,000 units, aided by the arrival of the new UB.

As part of the company’s pre-launch activities for the car, a Rio Runabout contest was held via the Kia Malaysia Facebook page, with a Rio 1.4 SX as the prize. The contest, which ran from December 16 to January 24, required contestants to solve six puzzles that were displayed on the Kia Malaysia Facebook page.

A total of 5,000 entries were received, and the top 10 finalists were shortlisted for the grand finale contest that took place yesterday. The 10 were required to complete on-ground challenges at five separate locations in the Klang Valley, and the winner of the grand finale was presented with the car at the launch event.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Thava on Jan 31, 2013 at 1:58 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 114 Thumb down 275
    • This stands out from the normal bread and butter, the Honda City is a RM10k difference spec to spec, The Vios is in a class of its own, down at the bottom. But if you have issues with trusting KIA’s reliability and After sales, I don’t blame you.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 201 Thumb down 18
      • Bimmer on Jan 31, 2013 at 8:14 am

What kind of launch is this? Where are the girls!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 137 Thumb down 42
      • Sam Loo on Jan 31, 2013 at 9:14 am

With Kia and Hyundai coming out with fantastic designs like these, no wonder why Toyota and Honda in Malaysia are feeling the pinch. Yes, global reports are there indicating Toyota has the highest global sales, but I can tell you for a fact, we salesman at Toyota are tightening our belt. We see the decline in sales and we know a huge chunk of our sales are going to the Koreans. Its also not rocket science to know that Toyota and Honda resale value dropping accordingly as demand drops.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 167 Thumb down 25
        • RON97 on Jan 31, 2013 at 10:21 am

You dont sound like bro Sam
          Anyway it’s good that they launch the car now. Enjoy the sale when so many chinese try to show off during CNY with so call new car, then go brankrupt in 6 month.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 22
        • Hippo on Jan 31, 2013 at 10:58 am

Are you really the original Sam Loo? If u are, it shows you are a real car industry player.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 7
          • Hiroshi on Jan 31, 2013 at 11:36 am

haha uncle sam loo brand name value, sam loo = Toyota

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
          • raoul on Jan 31, 2013 at 1:07 pm

Why don’t Sam Loo resigned from Toyota and joined Kia or Hyundai salesman…talk is cheap and stink !!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 15
        • koochai on Jan 31, 2013 at 11:16 am

i doubt u are the real Sam Loo…
          the real Sam Loo won’t say bad about TOYOTA…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 6
        • Clearly not the original, So no offence if I gave you a dislike. I actually I come to read Sam Loo to get some laugh and go ahead and dislike it as part of my daily schedule. So you actually ruined my schedule.
          Anyways, I don’t believe this Prophets of the impending T&H doom, because through the decades of neigh sayers, T&H never really…..doom. It does not take a rocket scientist to know that Toyota and Honda resale value dropping, true, you need a bloody fortune teller. Resale Value goes according to the market now which goes according to the international market, which goes according the the political stability ,which is really unpredictable.

Not much about Toyota, but a recent trip to the Honda and Nissan showrooms, they told me demand is going up for the Honda hybrids and The Almera respectfully, Because of rising fuel price concern and the Almera being ridiculously spacious for the price you are giving. So they are doing quite well. Dislike all you want, I never said KIA/Hyundai are bad, but I don’t believe the T/H/N are suffering.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 9
        • Sam Loo (Official) on Jan 31, 2013 at 12:01 pm

Stop pretending to be me.

Kia and Hyundai can’t even beat Volkswagen. LOL. Keep being in delusion kimchi fans.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 120
          • Haha! Thanks for making my day complete…… Here, have my dislike

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 73 Thumb down 14
          • MaSam Loo on Jan 31, 2013 at 6:21 pm

hahaha. yahoo.. he’s back.. if you, Maserati and Hyundai De La Junk join together.. It will be awesome and please have my dislike. TQ..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
    • Kalun on Jan 31, 2013 at 8:11 am

Quite pricy! Same price as the current Kia Forte.
      That’s make people wondering.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 77 Thumb down 11
      • theanswer on Jan 31, 2013 at 4:25 pm

some of u guys here failed to noticed that at 74k the car get 6 airbgs and esp. where is esp and 6 airbags for j spec vios or almera?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 8
        • Enthu on Feb 01, 2013 at 12:05 am

you are quoting someone comparing this to the current Forte…and here you are blabbering about vios/almera….pagi pagi still daydreaming ah?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 14
    • Vader on Jan 31, 2013 at 8:11 am

I think some of the customer who are not bias to Korean car will go Forte where the 1.6sx just need add ~RM6k.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 3
      • BRo… Forte will discontinue soon…. New K3 is coming n i believe government will ask them price tag at RM 90K.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 10
        • MITI lover on Jan 31, 2013 at 12:19 pm

must be priced according to regulation maa.

they don’t regulate food prices, housing prices, daily good prices and they’ll impose regulation on car prices just so that P1 & P2 don’t get hit.
          WFT?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 5
    • BrianXYZ on Jan 31, 2013 at 10:15 am

Agree on the expensive point.
      Don’t agree on the City and Vios as an alternative. The specs are world apart.
      Maybe, Fiesta would be a good comparison.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 11
    • NISSAN on Jan 31, 2013 at 11:13 am

you miss out Nissan Almera, bro.

By the way, the EX rim is damn ugly.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 9
    • nasilemak on Jan 31, 2013 at 12:28 pm

The price was decided by Gov, not by Kia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 9
    • Good looking and affordable… of coz we want 2 know more about Kias! Kias owners mind to share u guys experience about the Kias quality,after sale service or more?

• am K5 owner.
        good n bad. build quality is better than what’s expected, u can see in showroom.
        after sales service isn’t s good as honda.
        -alignment is still out after changed 3 service centres.
        -the 6 speed GB has never smooth, I complaint everytime I service and they reset everytime I complaint. never smooth especially in eco mode.
        -FC is better than expectation.
        -remember to check the car body paint before u accept the car.i had bad experience with that.my friend’s case even worst.

• poor man on Jan 11, 2014 at 6:26 pm

well kia rio now are the best small car arround the world…must wacth this video from CARBUYER.UK http://youtu.be/–PiYNEjl2c …. :)

• Car Lover on Jan 31, 2013 at 2:18 am

I think the Ford Fiesta XTR even more better looking and higher CC RM82k.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 81 Thumb down 20
  • I’d rather wait for the CKD version with 6-speed automatic.plus better HU etc.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 6
  • I don’t mind spending extra RM7k for the fully laden Top-spec version. Being Kia, it looks great, though I have to make the 3/4 rear an exception. Interior, reminds me of the Honda Civic ES, not that that’s a bad thing. But got to check it out how big and spacious the car is first, before commenting.

Features and safety are awesome! But power-train? I mean the Fiesta is only RM4k away, and has equivalent if not more features, and it’s a 1.6 with 6 speed-DCT. The City (Rub that Honda badge off your mind to avoid prejudice)also has more power and 5 speed and is RM 5k away though it has less features, but it looks bigger. All in all, great first impression, with it’s faults iron out by it’s merits.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 71 Thumb down 13
    • BrianXYZ on Jan 31, 2013 at 12:00 pm

Pls compare with the EX version lar…. RM73k onli. I think the SX is not that practical… Sunroof in Malaysia? People here is putting thicker tinting and now we have Sunroof as premium features???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 8
      • Samuel on Mar 09, 2013 at 3:10 pm

Or call it moonroof, hehe. But as i know, the best thing bout sunroof is you can clear the hot air inside the car instantly bcoz hot air will flow up.

• its great news with this new rio model
    many choices for city cars right now…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 4
  • hajihalef on Jan 31, 2013 at 2:52 am

Better interior layout than Ford Fiesta imho.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 15
    • Beng Alex Chan on Jan 31, 2013 at 9:53 am

Yeah also better than the useless junk vios city almera.They r regretting buying those Japanese junk now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 29
      • BrianXYZ on Jan 31, 2013 at 12:19 pm

Hello, different people has different priorities. A family man with 2 children with RM 70k budget for a car will not buy any of the hatches.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 7
  • joanna on Jan 31, 2013 at 3:17 am

Proton Jaguh Kampung can anytime beat any Kia cars with their only product which is Preve…
    Preve can beat any cars. Its design is superb. No need to replace for the next 20 years. Sell it abroad for cheaper price, sell locally for higher price. Its good for the business because Malaysians are guinea pigs for their marketing experiment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 74 Thumb down 161
    • hahaha apa2 topic pon kena jugak bash proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 12
      • spyshotX on Jan 31, 2013 at 12:31 pm

what to do? truth hurts but nobody here in PT can deny that proton will always has a place in our bolehland heart be it on the love or hate side.. otherwise people won’t bother mentioning it anymore..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
    • gkj76jk on Jan 31, 2013 at 8:25 am

Before you downvote joanna, note the sarcasm 1st.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 7
    • yahooo on Jan 31, 2013 at 8:50 am

Sarcasm eh joanna? Or sheer stupidity?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 32
    • gOOsh on Jan 31, 2013 at 9:02 am

ntah apa-apa lar dia nih…
      btw joanna, did you pass your UPSR?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 26
    • BrianXYZ on Jan 31, 2013 at 12:25 pm

joanna, pergilah main jauh-jauh…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 16
  • very outstanding safety kit….include 6 airbags,stability control (ESC) too which even the Camry dont have!!, seldom cars at this price point provided wt safety kit as comprehensive as this. Euro 5 star rating. If i’m looking for a supermini, will consider this RIO.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 5
    • gkj76jk on Jan 31, 2013 at 8:27 am

Yes, features are very nice, but they screwed up one thing: the indicator stalk is on the left, unlike its bigger bro Forte. Noobs to this car will be switching their wipers on whenever they want to make a turn haha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 43
      • farghmee on Jan 31, 2013 at 10:42 am

no big deal la bro.

i drive myvi & gen2 also sometimes switched wrongly.

no big deal.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
      • xenogearz™ on Jan 31, 2013 at 12:18 pm

What is so screwed up about that? The indicator stalk in a Honda Jazz Hybrid is also on the left. It is just a matter of getting used to it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
      • wipeass on Jan 31, 2013 at 4:56 pm

dudeeee. most bmw’s have indicator stalks on the left.

• My Proton Waja also have this on the left side.And I think all BMW models have the indicator stalks on the left,as it follows the German market.Same as other Continental cars.

• alldisc™ on Feb 01, 2013 at 10:16 am

all european cars have left indicator stalk. the reason why proton followed with Waja and then Gen2/persona – they wanna join the band.

• Nicholas on Jan 31, 2013 at 7:58 am

Looks interesting… In terms of the sunroof , push start and the auto climate control.. But the 1.4 engine and 4 speed transmission is really a lrt down though.. If it is 1.6 plus 6 speed transmission, I think it will sell like hot cakes

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 6
    • That may eat up sales of the lower-end Forte.

But still, the 1.6 GDI engine and a 6-speed auto tranny are prefect for this car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 3
  • Nice! KIA has really come a long way! DRLs and LED rear lights once only found on conti cars is now standard kit esp with the Rio.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 6
  • fast on rolling downhill on Jan 31, 2013 at 8:37 am

compete with sonic with same CC and abt same price plus Sonic driving & handling superb with very low noise and 6 speed . Want to test drive this also. But pricing shall be good at 69,xxx for full spec though it is only 6 speed and 1.4 hatchback.

• almostthere on Jan 31, 2013 at 9:33 am

4 speed only la for now kawan

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
      • alldisc™ on Jan 31, 2013 at 5:57 pm

4 speed or 6 speed, NazaKia will still find it hard to move the cars.

Ready stocks available at almost any time, any colours, big discounts + huge warranty show its desperation.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 25
        • Sure or not? Huge discount? In ur dream… T & H are giving kaw2 disc for their unsold junk!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
          • alldisc™ on Feb 01, 2013 at 10:26 am

at least UMWT managed to move more than 100K cars last year. for naza – hardly 20,000 units.

and that, for selling corolla altis size forte at vios price. such formula will not fool anyone anymore.

and the worst is they dare to price optima K5 at Camry level. the reason Sonata HF was selling well 10 years ago was because it is priced at Altis/Civic price with the dimensions and power of a Camry/Accord.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 16
  • Again Naza? Those Korean marques can go on full potential with others.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 15
  • RajahGlobal on Jan 31, 2013 at 8:52 am

That price range more suitable for 1.4…. hmmm must test drive to see whether it’s worth the price..whether better than Sonic..

• bokiasi on Jan 31, 2013 at 8:57 am

over priced, just 1.4cc should be 60k. cos can’t put below prev price, few months latter come out 6 speed AT 85K

• Maserati on Jan 31, 2013 at 8:58 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 137
    • i been driving most car you been mention, undeniable malaysian prefer Japanese brand rather then Korean in term of car,but competition is good, for me forte look good still exterior modern even nowadays but engine is just aged lousy and noisy,about interior forte is the best material and design…japanese as always reliable

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 4
    • Drive Your Way on Jan 31, 2013 at 12:30 pm

Just wondering, what car do you own and drive now, bro?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
    • Kiasu No Kiasi on Jan 31, 2013 at 12:31 pm

Now that you mentioned it, really a frog/toad face.. LOL

LED DRL can get easily from bros shop.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 19
    • BrianXYZ on Jan 31, 2013 at 12:45 pm

City still looks modern now? Are you sure?
      Beauty is in the eyes of the beholder.

I think the myvi 1.5 fits the description of your DREAM CAR. Fuel efficient, reasonable quality, good engine power to weight ratio, good resale value. OK it has no DRLs but I think you can fit a good quality one at some shops with reasonable price.

You better upgrade from your kancil now!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 8
      • Beauty is in the eyes of the beholder, True. But the current Honda City dose’t have overly complicated lines, and sharp angles should look fresh for the years to comes, although admittedly the the chrome grill of the facelift version does kill it a bit. The Honda City design, like the GTR, was apparently inspired from Japanese Mecha like Gundam or Evangelion.

It’s sharp but simple lines should last longer than most car [definitely longer than Hyundai’s fluidic sculpture]. Just look at the B2 Stealth bomber or Oscar Niemeyer’s architecture, the UN headquarter for example. Hard to believe they are 30 and 60 years old huh?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 10
        • BrianXYZ on Jan 31, 2013 at 6:51 pm

Walao, why so academic 1??
          People just buy if they see the car is nice to them. Straight line lar, bengkok line lar… Cannot understand for a typical layman like myself….sorry

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
          • I.ME™ on Jan 31, 2013 at 11:22 pm

Ah, don’t worry ,just elaborating the facts why products with simple and clean lines will last longer. In this world there will be more ppl preferring straight simple lines. Overly complex lines will get more bang & attention, but will aged quickly.

• nighttrain on Feb 02, 2013 at 6:42 pm

brian, you come from bukit, right?

• autodriver on Jan 31, 2013 at 11:09 pm

are you sure Forte 2.0 is “horribly underpower”? It is faster than Sylphy and Lancer, but I never heard people said Sylphy and Lancer is underpower. Kia sell at “ridiculous price”? you are total retarded man. Under RM 80k which “CBU” car has better features and safety than the CBU Kia Rio. You said City is look better than Forte, please google how many awards won by Forte.

I understand the frustration as a rival salesman but please do not mislead others by giving fake story. As a consumer we deserved with the greater product rather than empty pricey car.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 1
    • maybe u r just talk2 without investigate first.. Forte is the best design of all.. it wont feels outdated and people think the car is cost around rm100k. How can u say it looks ages after 1 years? About the frog face on rio dont u feel that Vios is much worst where it looks like dugong n katak??

• Kia Forte is such a good looker even now…esp with the bodykit. It still looks fresh compared to altis and civic.

• RajahGlobal on Jan 31, 2013 at 8:59 am

Fiesta 1.6 at RM74k…. hmmm

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
  • darker marker on Jan 31, 2013 at 9:08 am

Design of the car has nothing to shout about.

Price of the car isn’t attractive enuf compared to other competitors.

So, my guess is that most ppl wont buy this car…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 17
  • ABTguy on Jan 31, 2013 at 9:11 am

I hope all potential Rio buyers abstain from buying this over-priced kimchi. Give Kia / Naza sometimes to think about their strategy and commitment to develop the business in Malaysia.

They are not sincere here. 1.4 litre engine comes with lower tax bracket, so the duty cost would not be too high. Give buyer a lousy 4 speed auto (mind you the legacy 4spd of old kia is quite faulty, fail within 100,000km). Guys, be careful …..

Take forte instead !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 3
    • Roger Tan on Jan 31, 2013 at 11:45 am

I agree with you that the pricing is high, and I’m no supporter of Naza

However, could it be that their hand are tied in terms of pricing?

The Forte was priced before the Inspira and Preve came out, as such was not “bumped up” by our beloved lawmakers

• intermilan on Jan 31, 2013 at 11:46 am

For your info,

Satu dunia ni.. Kia Rio with 1.4L engine only equipped with 4-speed g/box (if choose automatic g/b option).

Kia dont have the combo of 1.4L + 6-speed gearbox.
      Not now. So Naza don’t have a choose to begin with.

And do you check if this gearbox is the same lousy legacy 4-speed auto of old kia that you mentioned? If both are different gearbox, don’t simply related them both la.

And also, this 1.4L engine ALMOST produce normal 1.6L engine output (bhp/torque). Very high output for a 1.4L.

But I do agree that the pricing ‘feels’ kinda overpriced. The numbers simply tak ngam.

Maybe they think with Kia increasing positive and strong reputability worldwide (which is true), its time too translate it to a bit more $$$$.

Who want to be known as low-value brand forever (which is the image you’ll get when selling ‘cheap’ car)?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
      • autodriver on Jan 31, 2013 at 11:22 pm

I agree with you that despite of having better bhp & torque than other 1.4L rivals, people will still think it is underpower. Are they taking RIO to compare with GOLF 1.4L?

Kia Rio 1.4 currently only paired with 4 speed auto as this is world wide offering by KIA Korea, not Naza. RIO 1.4 in UK also wearing 4 speeder auto.

In term of pricing, in fact I do not find it overprice because RIO is CBU from Korea. Whereas Forte is local CKD and rebadged as NAZA, not KIA. That’s the reason Forte can sell at attractive price. Unless Naza planning to CKD RIO, then we can expect the price for RIO lower than RM 70k. :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
        • ahmad loy on Feb 01, 2013 at 10:13 pm

Thanks..very good review..you know what the car is..welcomes this type of comment.

• BrianXYZ on Jan 31, 2013 at 12:49 pm

Good insight!

• gOOsh on Jan 31, 2013 at 9:13 am

i think the package naza offer is quite good… at least people will have options to choose; instead of jazz, city, vios, fiesta & almera…
    anyway, i like…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 4
  • Ha Gnih on Jan 31, 2013 at 9:20 am

And what’s with the 4 speeder ??? Oh gosh! Thumbs down! Thumbs down!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 12
  • wajaowner on Jan 31, 2013 at 9:24 am

as i commented in the previous post the price will be 70K to 80K . A good segment to spoil our choices.

If it wasn’t for its engine this RIO will tapau VW POLO 1.2TSI that is going for RM 112K.

I will buy this if have the money or better wait 1 year and buy used car eheheheh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
    • ahmad loy on Feb 01, 2013 at 10:23 pm

You compared this KIA RIO 1.4L 109 PS/130nM NA engine with VW POLO 1.2L 105PS/173nM turbo engine?..your common facts about auto technology got problem..better stay away from commenting!

• Rakyat on Feb 02, 2013 at 9:00 pm

Different segment and different engine. How can you compare both?

• _xXx_ on Jan 31, 2013 at 9:29 am

4 speed auto???? Halo, this year IS 2013, not 1973!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 21
    • Swift & Almera oso 4 speeder la kawan! Dont talk like an idiot…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 1
    • alldisc™ on Feb 01, 2013 at 10:33 am

as long as there is overdrive ratio, fuel economy wont be that much affected.

• ben yap on Jan 31, 2013 at 9:32 am

since it is almost the same price as the Forte, i rather choose their bigger brother.

• The price was decided by Gov, not by Kia.Definitely they wont make it below the $72K Prevert..I dont have to say what will happen..you guys knows better..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 16
  • Is it too expensive to put a fog light on the Ex??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
  • Tak suka B.N. and Inspira on Jan 31, 2013 at 10:03 am

1.4 engine with 17″ rim? Dun u think heavy and underpower??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 3
  • How about road handling? Normally, kia is not so good when it comes to road handling.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
  • umnokakipitnah on Jan 31, 2013 at 10:11 am

its a no brainer…ford fiesta wayyy more worth it!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 5
  • Bongcs on Jan 31, 2013 at 10:13 am

The Asian Version Of GOLF VW

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
  • Chow 1 on Jan 31, 2013 at 10:16 am

Don’t look at the fancy stuffs. Driving experience is the most important thing, test drive all Fiesta, Civic, Vios, etc before deciding the final choice which you like most.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 2
    • Same here, fiesta is a great car, driving dynamics, performance and feature is top notch. Quality is excellent, but it is really small. The Vios and city is an old product, the year Vios is due later this year, while the city next year. But the city to me is still the most balanced in its segments .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
  • drift_81 on Jan 31, 2013 at 10:28 am

it’s obviously made for city driving. considering the body size and weight, i think 4 speed is good enough for it.Most B and C-segment cars now days equipped torsion beam axles.it’s work as semi -independent suspension only.So,the performance depend on the road conditions.

• AhBeng on Jan 31, 2013 at 10:41 am

I personally dun think is necessary to fit in a 17″ to run especially in Malaysia, instead to replace those rims with a nicer one will be even better. The EX rims veli aunty la………….

• Azhar on Jan 31, 2013 at 10:46 am

MyVI is much much better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 49
  • Still waiting for Kia Cee’d

• alldisc™ on Feb 01, 2013 at 10:39 am

aint that for europe only? as the name suggests – Cee’d means Community of European Economic Design but there is always a Hyundai variety available, if not mistaken the i30.

• Where is the all new picanto? Since this Rio hatchback is sited in between 70-80k range, then a full spec picanto should be around 60k?

• ernie on Jan 31, 2013 at 11:06 am

well after testing a few cars, i bought the polo sedan for its driving dynamics. nuff said!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 28
    • koochai on Jan 31, 2013 at 11:26 am

mid to share what car u tested?

• powershot on Jan 31, 2013 at 1:30 pm

good luck with the after sales services. you’ll know what i mean

• BrianXYZ on Jan 31, 2013 at 1:35 pm

Polo Sedan for driving dynamics???
      If you say Polo hatch TSI, then I can understand…

Lots of cars under RM100k has better driving dynamics than Polo sedan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
  • sambalbabi on Jan 31, 2013 at 11:10 am

it comes with a rear brake disc!!! SLURPPPPPPP!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 5
  • city will make the best buy la i think. tho it has been a few yrs since its launch, still it comes with the best features. 1.5, 5 speed. better then below average vios. and still more space than this rio. looks good as well.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 10
  • Sam Loo's twin Sam Lee on Jan 31, 2013 at 11:52 am

Aesthetic with no value whatsoever~

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
  • Kiasu No Kiasi on Jan 31, 2013 at 12:28 pm

80K for a 1.4 4AT Sub compact, more expensive that Forte EX 1.6 6AT, If this isn’t daylight robbery then i dunno what is.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 7
  • what to do… its a overprotecting country towards their national car – Proton.
    it’ll likely at least a 10k – 20k cheaper if proton doesn’t exist…

• Khairoy on Jan 31, 2013 at 12:40 pm

Nice Designation.. Respect

• Maserati on Jan 31, 2013 at 1:12 pm

Drive your way,

I am driving a Golf Gti mk6 atm. Will never buy korean until they can mk their engines better and mk their cars more solid.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 48
  • hosea on Jan 31, 2013 at 1:33 pm

Have you guys ever sit in a ford fiesta?

Ford fiesta is meant for midgets.
    The space is so cramped you feel like a sardine inside the can.

Oopss are you a midget? ;)

I don’t mean to hurt you, seriously.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 7
  • hosea on Jan 31, 2013 at 1:35 pm

Guys, please use your head a bit.

Do you think the government will allow Kia to price Rio at 60 to 70K?

If that happens, who is going to buy Preve?

Think a bit lah. :P

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 4
    • Mint Berry Crunch on Feb 02, 2013 at 9:57 am

The Rio is a completely different class of car to the preve.

ITS MARKETED AS A PREMIUM CAR WTF. But it’t not like the small continentals they are trying to poise themselves as. It’s not diesel. It’s not a turbo. It’s a freakin Rio for god’s sake. It’s the bottom of the Kia food chain. Daytime running lights in a rio o.0 what are they thinking????

Rio’s are cheap and cheerful.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 14
  • Decent array of specs (6 airbags and electronic stability control). The only disappointing aspect of the car is the 4-speed auto. Hopefully it’ll be bumped to a 6-speed auto tranny soon.

• Sam Loo (Official) on Jan 31, 2013 at 2:38 pm

Meet the new KIAsu FrioG.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 25
  • Lotus on Jan 31, 2013 at 2:49 pm

Wheres Rio sedan? Sure will take the sedan version anytime. Hands down.

• MONTY on Jan 31, 2013 at 3:10 pm

for goodness sake, check your maths dude.. it’s 107 PS not, 109 PS… haissssssssssssssssssss………. shame shame!!

• sundei on Jan 31, 2013 at 4:24 pm

109 PS = 107 hp
      Who doesn’t know math?? ops… u meant math? right?

• for god’s sake, there’s no math involved. you guys are just talking about number here!

• palehotak on Jan 31, 2013 at 3:21 pm

If Naza Rio, the price can be around RM50-60k
    The KIA badge alone priced RM10k++

• SunShine on Jan 31, 2013 at 4:15 pm

Preve hbatch is better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 13
  • civicEK on Jan 31, 2013 at 4:23 pm

better wait for hatchback preve, much powerful and spacious. nuff said.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 17
    • Honda lover on Jan 31, 2013 at 10:07 pm

Another moron which compare the Rio-lution with potong junk.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 14
      • hungt on Feb 01, 2013 at 6:15 am

why so butthurt? Rio no turbo, preve hb kepish kepish one

• civicEK on Feb 01, 2013 at 10:13 am

Here in Malaysia we dont care bout what segment. As long it is spacious, good power + handling + main factor : pricing.

current preve have 4 airbags + good chasis. so preve hatchback must be much better equip.

bout d tax do u think pakatan can really reduce car price? LOL :D

dats why im saying just wait for preve hatchback :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
  • gile mahal for such a tiny small car, and made in korea..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 18
  • ahnadino on Jan 31, 2013 at 7:09 pm

Kalau kereta korea murah kemana proton nak pergi siapa akan beli.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
  • Sam Loo on Jan 31, 2013 at 7:11 pm

nobody complain about the cheap plastic interior huh?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 14
  • It looks like we got the same specs as UK, instead of the USA where it comes with 6-speed.

That would also explain the indicators stalk being on the left.

Seeing that SX is just RM 1000 shy of Kia Forte 1.6 EX, personally I would go for this Rio as I place higher priority on safety features.

IMHO, only Ford Fiesta comes with equal safety features but, at a higher cost even when taking the sedan model. To those who keep saying that Ford Fiesta XTR can be had for under RM 90K must be smoking a lot of something that is not legal in this country, unless you show proof by producing name of SA and the contact number of that Ford dealer.

IMHO, Naza now offers the best safety features B-segment car in our market, that is also not too bad looking and comes with decent interior space.

If you truly care for your family, get this car if you have the means.

As a reviewer on carbuyers.com said, “Don’t be a badge snob.”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 4
  • Powertrain to bad,not believe?go try it yourself.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • Carson on Jan 31, 2013 at 9:31 pm

It is with “KIA” badge. Will it lower the price if wearing with “NAZA” badge? Just wonder only…

• Hi, may I know fuel consumption for this car (kia rio) ?

• Tis is the best B segmen car. But some of ahpek still will buy Vios & Almera… becoz they juz know nothing about car. They dont even read the spec sheet… or read it but understand nothing! Pity them… in 2013 but still buying 90s technologies.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 8
  • Booked for 2nd city car…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
  • autodriver on Jan 31, 2013 at 11:50 pm

RIO is CBU, great safety features and list of features. In Korea, RIO 1.4 sold is also pairing with 4 speed auto, how NAZA able to get 6 speeder for RIO then.

Kia did offer 6 speed auto, but it is for RIO 1.6L which is not available in Malaysia.

Almxra 1.5L premium version is selling at same price as Rio 1.4L, similar power train and same 4 speed auto (it is not CVT). But Almxra has missing lots of features such as 6 airbags, ESP, manual mode transmission, electric fold side mirror, 5 years unlimited mileage warranty (Almxra get 3 years or 100k mileage warranty) etc. However not many people complaining on Almxra feature and powertrain. But here I saw number of complains about RIO 1.4 engine, 4 speeder auto, overprice etc.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 2
  • Enthu on Feb 01, 2013 at 12:08 am

this is the turning point where Koreans “think” their cars can now compete competitively with the Japanese?

Sad to say for the same price, I would not consider a Korean yet.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 13
  • Kelvin on Feb 01, 2013 at 12:19 am

Actually the 1.4 RIO CBU are direct competitive with 1.4 Swift CBU. Don’t you guys think the direct competitor are more relevant since size and performance are almost equivalent? :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 2
  • PauKaya on Feb 01, 2013 at 12:19 am

so…a swift or this

• I.ME™ on Feb 01, 2013 at 12:34 am

A fun to drive car, I’ll choose the swift, A great aesthetics and design car, get this one.

• ReentryCapsule on Feb 01, 2013 at 12:20 am

Myvi jugak best.Interior Rio ni BURUK.

sekian.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 53
  • Liverscotter on Feb 01, 2013 at 1:35 am

Fiesta the best car on earth.

Fiesta>Inspira>Forte>Preve>Vios/City>Rio>Neo/Myvi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 31
  • Rakyat on Feb 01, 2013 at 2:33 am

This is an overprice piece of junk. Wait till mk7 golf launches this year.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 22
  • Rakyat on Feb 01, 2013 at 3:00 am

It looks like Angry Frog(Angry Bird+Crazy Frog). Remember crazy frog?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 15
  • vios_fan on Feb 01, 2013 at 6:51 am

lawa, lawa…..macam katak

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 17
  • This Rio looks handsome, at least to me. Equipmt level is decent, design is good. However my cousin and office mates caution me about KIA/ naza. Its spare parts cost and aftersales service would be a nightmare they said. KIA is a global marque and arent they supposed to adopt the global best practice for these issues? KIA/ Naza is similar to Proton they said, actual issues and perception. Other than those, the brand is fine..

• limpe on Feb 01, 2013 at 10:26 pm

kia put on loud and annoying ads here ,

this car so expensive for 1.4 ,

for this kind of power i rather buy proton better.

doesnt worth 30k than proton ……

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 15
  • Ah Beng on Feb 02, 2013 at 1:57 am

The annoying ad is the reason why i don’t buy this car.

• Azamiruddin on Feb 02, 2013 at 9:31 am

Still ridiculously expensive for a 1.4L car…

It is not worth buying…for the same price, you can get Exora Prime, with much more cabin space and engine torque.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 16
  • Eric Foong on Feb 02, 2013 at 9:53 am

Nice car, but still the price is high for Korean car hatch back model in Malaysia market.

• sarawakiana on Feb 02, 2013 at 5:22 pm

Very high chance few months down the road, this car will be selling at 30% at the price quote here…after PRU and NAP ma…

• chester on Feb 02, 2013 at 8:54 pm

Kimchi is progressing fast in car industry..
    http://www.japantoday.com/category/kuchikomi/view/japan-losing-its-manufacturing-edge-to-south-korea

• Rakyat on Feb 02, 2013 at 9:03 pm

Overprice and underpower. Why anyone even want to buy this?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
  • Rakyat on Feb 02, 2013 at 9:09 pm

Too expensive for a frog!

• Rakyat on Feb 02, 2013 at 9:11 pm

The power level only similar to polo? …and polo has more torque?

• Peace on Feb 03, 2013 at 1:10 am

KIA haters, why u said that rio is very expensive. I think the price which goes with the spec is really relevant. If u want to said that it has 4 speed, suzuki swift also has 4 speed. Swift spec & feature less compare with rio and expensive.Not to mention that the design is almost the same as previous model. But they proud to announce that the new swift is freshly designed.
    Also compare hp & torque between rio and swift, Rio has more 14 hp & 7 tork. Rio has bigger dimension than swift.. Also, suzuki malaysia launch new model with downgrade engine.
    Previous model is 1.5 liter but new model come with 1.4 liter but the price still high. Why nobody complain.? Bcoz its japanese. If korean, u will bash & curse all u want.. Righttt.. Please refer the link for swift spec and price. Also the picture “New Freshly Design” car for all japanese car lover. Peace…

http://paultan.org/2013/01/10/suzuki-swift-third-gen-launched-rm78k-rm83k/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 2
    • Ah Beng on Feb 03, 2013 at 5:33 pm

Go to buy one then :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
    • Liverscotter on Feb 03, 2013 at 6:46 pm

If wanna best buy go buy Fiesta. It just like Rio is Viva while Fiesta is Mini Cooper

• sundei on Feb 07, 2013 at 1:50 am

S.Shift 1.4 lit engine is not a “downgrade”, study the engine,test drive one and you will know it actually drives better then the former.

• Ah Beng on Feb 03, 2013 at 5:35 pm

Mahalnya katak ni…

• Sam Loo on Feb 03, 2013 at 6:48 pm

All I can say is, 1 year on when these sorhai’s sell this piece of rotten cabbage, I will have a few Hilux to show them, plus lots of tissues to wipe their tears.

I will even make an acoustic room for them to yell HAILAT LOR till they run out of voice ….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 28
    • David D on Feb 10, 2013 at 5:41 pm

How about this. One of us driving a Hilux at crash test into your Camry. Then you’ll realise how important is safety. At which point, no point screaming hailat, as you would be dead in a bodybag by the time your incompetent-minded head of yours would have hit the front of the Hilux rather than get cushioned by life-saving airbags. I know, because i was in an accident before, and side airbags play a big difference between life and death.

Safety or resale value? It’s a no brainer. No point spending money on a car with good resale value, but poor safety kit, when you can have a low RV car, and safe to make you buy one again.

• lucky8 on Feb 03, 2013 at 11:54 pm

nice car, looks jst like GTI in and out, booked one, hopefully got it before CNY !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
  • Fendy on Feb 04, 2013 at 12:20 pm

Went to Setapak showroom (near Royal Selangor) yesterday… Fall in love with the car. And I saw a Kia Soul at their parking bay. Hope Naza Kia will bring that model in Malaysia…. hehe

• Screen Filter on Feb 04, 2013 at 9:04 pm

Why people like Katak face.

Kia Rio = Katak

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 16
  • Yh Soh on Feb 06, 2013 at 9:31 pm

Was waiting soooo long for this car. Before this tried the old Swift 1.5 then New Swift 1.4 which felt more perky than the old. Surprising. Not until I tried the Rio that I find the Swift 1.4 ….is powerfullll. Rio power is inadequate…6 airbags forget it. VSS forget it… sunroof forget it…. rain sensor…blblabla all went out the door for the Swift 1.4….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 13
  • nazana on Feb 07, 2013 at 9:10 pm

Underpower + Overweight + Overpriced = Not worth?

This car isnt Light, with 17-inch rim somemore.. feel really heavy and you cant feel any power.. engine Gegar in hilly roads.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
  • Being a former Kia owner, I will never choose another Kia regardless what Naza does

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
  • Daniel Yap on Feb 10, 2013 at 7:03 pm

Just finished a quick test drive today of the full spec RIO. I walk away very impressed by the build quality and the design. Spec wise, you’d find some big named contis with less features at much higher prices and the Rio trumps all the Japanese cars or sure.

I agree that a 6 speed auto would be better, but seriously speaking, the 4 speed is adequate for the job.

• Rakyat on Feb 12, 2013 at 5:00 am

RM80k for a frog? This is nonsense! You think golden frog meh?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • Ah Beng on Feb 12, 2013 at 5:05 am

Where’s the front “frog” light?

• Ah Beng on Feb 12, 2013 at 5:07 am

Can it make bull frog sound when you horn?

• sudonano on Feb 13, 2013 at 2:05 pm

Just got the chance to test drive this car today.

Well, based on my 5km test, I can say the steering is overly assisted. Visibility for short people is not so good in the front, as the dash is high. Power is fantastic. For a 1.4 it is lively and very good pickup. Noise insulation is good too. Forget the fact its a 4 speed. Cause this 4 speeder is slick. Having a manual mode seems pretty redundant as its only 4 speeds, but its nice to know its there. The rear window is a bit smallish though.

For the price, i’d say its a bit overpriced, maybe the high end one should be nothing more than 75k. Cause its not as powerful as a Fiesta.
    Build quality was not outstanding, cause there was one stretch behind the Kia showroom in Glenmarie that was rather bumpy and there was a rather irritating rattling sound. It was not the key that’s for sure.
    It seems according to the SA, the first batch is from Korea, however the second batch and beyond will be a Naza built one, however they will not be changing the price nor putting a Naza logo.

All in all its a decent car. If priced better this may end the Vios domination. Maybe.

• 4-speed is a let down. nowadays most cars have 5 or 6 speeds transmission even manual cars…been waiting for a year and they come out with 4-speed…disappointed with kia…getting other brands

• ne ama on Feb 14, 2013 at 7:43 pm

Damn expensive!!!!! high interest+high yearly insurance+ roadtax+high maintaince+poor service+ plastic interior+ cheap quality + and no resell value… not worth it…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11
  • just test drive last night, very nice car! i just dislike 17′ inches for 1.4cc car and 4 speed only. if ckd high specs got leather seat,reverse camera,6 speeds,1.6 cc….i think i will buy it…haha….

• SamlokGgsamlok on Mar 16, 2013 at 5:38 pm

Please put in 1.6l engine at least ! 4 speed gb is ok but 1.4l engine is really under power!

• cap ayam on Mar 17, 2013 at 12:55 am

have test it this morning ..its OK! The pickup impressive with 17″ wheel at 1.4 MPI engine that I thought its was too big at first. Turn off… 4 speed for long distance….emmmm.. engine will scream for mercy…

• keny312 on Mar 18, 2013 at 6:11 pm

confirm the 1.4 engine is running timing chain? If so, then worth it.

• any complaint from user about this nice looking Kia Rio.

• actually all this arguement acure because of out mindset.agree??
    toyota ownwers always proud with their ride,same goes for honda,nissan and etc etc…every machine got their pro and con…it depends on what we need…but one thing for sure nothing can compare with old rides..toyota,honda or honda(etc etc)…look at the old toyota SE and Seg,honda civic Ek even Eg,nissan Sentra,Cefiro…still’WALKING TALL’…why???Because those days car built for QUALITY and PRIDE…but now days only for money..who cares for the quality,the feeling??those days we know how it is to drive a toyota,honda or nissan..now days all seems to be same=LAME…..the best way to buy car now day is…SEE YOUR BANK BALANCE..

• 4 speed???.. my fiat punto 1.242 has 6 speed cvt… come on la kia…but the gear ratio is quite decent i suppose..and will not scream in the long distance..hopefully

• Anthony Leow Yong Nien on Jun 05, 2013 at 4:46 am

Too bad now Kia Rio no stock in Penang ……….. Do one here can know went will the new stock coming ? I order already but salesman said have to wait till mid of July …..!!!

• I just booked one in Ipoh around Jun and need to wait for at least 2-3mths…may i know whether you are getting ex or sx?

• The power or performance of a car cannot be judged based on the cc alone. The 1.4 engine in Rio produces 109hp which is equalant to some 1.6 litre engines.Comparing to the junk that H&T’s are producing these days in the equalant segment, Rio is indeed a more value-for-money choice.