GALLERY: Renault Clio RS 200 EDC – 200 hp 1.6 turbo

Clio RS 200 EDC-18

Here’s a gallery of the new Renault Clio RS 200 that we first saw in September last year. It’s a big departure from the previous-gen car – five doors vs three (rear handles hidden Alfa 147-style), turbo vs NA, dual-clutch vs manual – so let’s hope that it remains as fun to drive. It looks the part, that’s for sure.

The new hot Clio is powered by a 1.6 litre turbocharged engine with 200 hp at 6,000 rpm and 240 Nm (up 25 Nm from Clio III RS) from just 1,750 to 5,600 rpm. This new 16-valve four-cylinder unit includes goodies like DLC (Diamond Like Carbon) cam followers developed from F1, direct injection and VVT.

Downsizing is for efficiency, and the new Clio RS uses 6.3 litres of petrol per 100 km, equivalent to CO2 emissions of 144 g per km. Compared with 2.0 litre NA engine of old, this represents savings of almost 25%.

While the old Clio RS didn’t have an auto option, this new one doesn’t have a manual option. The engine is paired exclusively to Renault’s EDC (Efficient Double Clutch) dual clutch, six-speed transmission, described as docile in daily driving and particularly effective in sporty driving. Steering paddles are standard.

Clio RS 200 EDC-11

Freshly released performance figures indicate that the 0-100 km/h sprint takes just 6.7 seconds, while top speed is 230 km/h. The previous-gen hot Clio did 6.9 seconds and 225 km/h. Launch Control with two modes (Sport and the more extreme Race) comes standard.

There’s also an “R.S. Drive” button that modifies the mapping of both the transmission (gear shift programming and shift time) and engine (response to pedal position and engine pitch), while altering the way ESC and ASR traction control intervene, as well as the feel of the power steering. Three modes are available – Normal, Sport and Race.

As usual for RS, there are two chassis options. The optional and more sporting Cup version (TC Euro’s preferred choice of chassis) is 3 mm lower, 15% stiffer and benefits from a quicker steering rack. Yummy!

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• nice, but dont know how much when it comes to MY.

• bloody expensive on Mar 21, 2014 at 7:53 pm

308 how much? This one maybe cost 1 and a half lion possible two!!. Renault is for very rich man…normal fler cannot play 1.

• teelim on Feb 15, 2013 at 2:32 pm

Hate the new looks. Sad that no more manual transmission :(

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 12
    • No manual transmission?? Are you sure? I saw all manual! Auto have any Gearbox problem like DSG?

• Hyundai De La Junk on Feb 15, 2013 at 2:46 pm

Is that a copy cat of KIA Rio or been copied by KIA Rio ..LOL… Shame on you Peter !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 18
    • Not even sure who copy who and you already have your verdict. Shame on you, junk.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
    • kadajawi on Feb 15, 2013 at 11:19 pm

Where on earth do you see ANY similarity with the Rio? Seriously, wtf? The only similarity is that they are both B segment. That’s all.

• Falle on Feb 15, 2013 at 3:43 pm

Looks great but no manual? Damn that’s what make the last car great. I still think that the fun factor will be still there, the current Turbo Megane is still fun to drive.

What do you think, Kadajawi, I believe you’re a Renault fan.

• kadajawi on Feb 15, 2013 at 11:21 pm

Not bad. Not sure if it’s an improvement over the regular Clio, it’s just a bit sportier in terms of looks. And of course the internals.

Figures were to be expected, I guess it will be priced around 200k, or just below that. What we actually need is the regular Clio. It won’t break speed records, but it has great looks, good FC, a nice interior, drives nicely, … and as station wagon has more than enough space for a B segment car.

• kadajawi on Feb 15, 2013 at 11:27 pm

Oh yeah, and no manual gearbox is a shame. When will they understand that a car like this isn’t meant to win competitions. It’s meant to be a huge laugh.

Ps: There is a Clio V6 on Mudah right now ;) 130k and it’s yours. A V6 mid-engined, rear wheel drive 2 seater B segment hatchback. Pure madness.

• sepul on Feb 20, 2013 at 3:12 pm

That is a very rare version. Purely for track tool. Road legal one at that.

• yeah if you dont mind the hefty road tax and fuel of the v6 engine…

• Flash on Feb 15, 2013 at 5:21 pm

Saves fuel? Wait until the turbo kicks in and it will sip fuel like an elephant

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
  • badbutgood on Feb 15, 2013 at 6:49 pm

there isnt any car that comes with big hp while can be fuel economy……

• kadajawi on Feb 15, 2013 at 11:23 pm

Wrong. BMW diesels? 320d should be close to the Viva and Kancil in terms of FC, yet has about 180 hp. As a D segment sedan. The x30d and x35d cars also have good FC eventhough they are very powerful. Same goes to some of the diesels from other manufacturers.

• PauKaya on Feb 15, 2013 at 8:29 pm

a car that doesn’t have a manual doesn’t deserve to be yummy. danny, i expected better from you.

• VWFan on Feb 15, 2013 at 8:42 pm

Hot looking! If I have money to burn, I don’t mind having one. Thumbs up.

• peyno on Feb 16, 2013 at 6:11 am

proton is following the trend… downsized turbocharged engine and CVT GB

good job proton

• Gracke on Feb 16, 2013 at 1:55 pm

It is such a good looking car, clean and simple, very sporty like 2 doors coupe(actually 4 doors), nice huge headlamp, not to deny the golden yellow color is perfect match!!! Performance and handling no need to say more! Too good that Renault is back….Tan Chong please hurry up!!! can’t wait anymore and make the YES price for us…!!!

• Azran Hazemi on Feb 16, 2013 at 2:23 pm

Some people only know how to talk cock about manual or auto tranny. When Danny says “yummy” I believed that he is looking at the car in the whole perspective. RenaultSport rarely put us down before, and they are not that stupid to come out with this kind of product even though it might be inherited by influence from global demand on efficiency. Moving to dual clutch, it helps driver to focus more on driving. Bear in mind cornering gurus such as Renaultsport and folks from Hethel, Lotus is all about overall performance, which is not only gear change, but also handling, adequate firepower from the engine (not underpowered, not too excessive), vehicle dynamics, and how the car behaves and composed on the road or track. I’ve seen lots of people are so into manual tranny, and easily call themselves enthusiasts by just having ride with three pedals. Sadistically only little knows how to rev-match, use engine braking, and utilize the manual shifting to aid in taking corners. Most Malaysians are really poor into cornering that’s why we are seeing a lot of drag racing here and there. Sometimes a car will not be a good car by just having a manual Trans, if it moves like a boat. This is not the car with average aisin 4-speeder. Go and try VW DSG or Porsche PDK and one will marvel with its lightning fast shifting. Also, shifting through F1-styled paddle shift nowadays are so intimidating. Like what Gordon Murray underlines on creating the best car, it is the “Packaging”. From there he creates the all-hailed supercar, the McLaren F1.

• kadajawi on Feb 16, 2013 at 6:00 pm

I have driven VWs 7 speed DSG several times before. Also used the paddles. Yes, it is very, very fast. No, that doesn’t make it any more fun to drive.

Why is the GT86 hailed as the best car of the year? Most fun ever? They put no-grip and skinny energy saving tyres on to it. Does that make the car fast? No. Going sideways is usually not the fastest way around a corner. But it is a blast. A lot of fun.

The Clio thus should _also_ be offered with a manual gearbox, because, admit it, why do people buy it? Who goes racing with it? Are lap times really so important? If I buy a performance car, the lap time is the last thing that bothers me. The big question is: Will I enjoy driving it?! Will I pray for every opportunity to sit in the car? A good manual gearbox will win over even the best auto box in that category.

• kadajawi on Feb 16, 2013 at 6:06 pm

Btw., I had to drive a Rusa recently. Manual gearbox, but not a good one. The handling is quite frankly rubbish, the car feels floaty above 70, and it has the suspension of a trampoline. Bouncing, and bouncing, and bouncing…

Yet I haven’t had that much fun in a car in quite a while (ever since I’m forced to drive an auto box). Yes, even more fun than a VW with DSG.

• Perodua handling is just hopeless.
          Yea, maybe msia should also start the “God save the manual theme” that is happening in the US.

• kadajawi on Feb 17, 2013 at 6:52 pm

Yes, it is.

Thank God there are still the Europeans who will keep the manual gearbox alive.

• AVH® on Feb 17, 2013 at 7:56 pm

You don’t need a Rusa to feel Perodua’s bad handling, just came back from the LDP on a 3 yr old Alza, and the steering, pedal and roof vibration is intolerable at 80kph, at 100, it feels like an earthquake [I should’t be going that fast, but curiosity got hold of me, and I have never experience Earthquake].

I have been away from my aging Proton Saga original and after spending CNY on cars with 4/5 auto and CVT, nothing really comes close to the joy of a Manual. I honestly find it hard to replace that car for it’s fun factor at 80k budget new.

• It is not just manual or auto gear box that makes GT86 fun to drive. Low center of gravity (using boxer engine), engine, tyres…etc.

GT86 has auto version as well.

• kadajawi on Feb 17, 2013 at 6:59 pm

That is not what I meant. What I wanted to say is that good lap times are not important, except for bragging rights and drivers who actually do competitive racing. So that DSG is a bit faster… Who cares?

• Even in the Uk the manual shifting is declining in popularity. One can enjoy driving even with non-manual fast shifting gearboxes but i understand the ‘feel’ of changing gears as i drove a manual car for the first 15 years after obtaining my driving licencse…

• PauKaya on Feb 16, 2013 at 10:38 pm

lightning fast doesn’t equal to awesome fun. a toyota 86 isn’t very fast, but it’s very fun, helped a lot by having a proper manual. that said, the auto version is pretty damn good too and its not a complicated double clutch gearbox. i can fully understand renault jumping into the double clutch bandwagon (lets face it many people can’t drive a manual these days) to increase sales, but removing the manual option altogether is a bit of a sad story. I don’t want the future generation to not know the joys and techniques of double declutching, heel and toeing, left foot braking etc. but i guess its inevitable, eventually i presume the fast ford, honda type-r’s, opel OPC’s to adopt that hell quick double clutch auto.

And yes, Porsche PDK is marvellous, just like the one in the nissan gtr, but its just not as fun as the manual, which saves you money by not optioning for the pdk in the first place, and theres a reason why the gtr isnt a particularly exciting car to drive. “shifting through F1-styled paddle shift nowadays are so intimidating”, i had no idea paddle shifters were so scary to use.

• kadajawi on Feb 17, 2013 at 6:48 pm

Amen. Also keep in mind that the GT-R gearbox is extremely unreliable. It needs a lot of care and maintenance to keep it alive. The VW problems are nothing compared to the Nissan.

• GT-Rider on Feb 17, 2013 at 8:34 pm

Nothing wrong with mine, or maybe I’m so lucky. I like it fast, it means FUN.

• Pray that your GT-R gearbox wont give you problem…dont ride on your luck though..

• Renault have to move with the times or else they wil lag behind the competitors who are all into double clutch/semi-autos now.

• GT-Rider on Feb 16, 2013 at 8:07 pm

My ride is great on straight roads and corners, it never fails me

• The design looks good, for a hatch back. Below RM150k, it can be a good contender to VW Polo.

• haris on Feb 17, 2013 at 1:36 pm

Its true that it is fun that hailed the 86 as the best driver’s car around. However, this does not apply to all. Some are looking for fun and some are looking for brute power. The 86 needs to be revved up like maniac to get the most of its 197hp, with paltry 205nm of torque. It is really fun when you are on the track, but in-real world driving, immediate torque is what most drivers need. Thats why some still will fork out their hard earned money for GTI, Megane RS, Scriocco.I’ve sampled the revv crazy K20A FN2R in the sweeping tight corners in pahang on the way back to kelantan and lost to full fat torque of Scirocco 2.0 because the roads are in hilly area all the way..

• DSG/Stronic = the worst gearbox ever! Which car auto gearbox has no problem? Peugeot, Renault, Citroen or Ford? I’m planing to buy a car but not Japanese car. By the way i don’t like Mercedes & BMW. Anyone care to share?

• kadajawi on Feb 17, 2013 at 6:45 pm

Peugeot and Citroen use torque converter gearboxes, VW and Ford DSG. But different ones. Renault usually manual for their performance cars, and TCEAS only imports performance cars atm.

DSG should be fine actually, just beware that it has 2 normal clutches. So they will eventually wear out. Also it seems like switching from N to D while the car is moving is deadly for the gearbox. That may be what killed all those VW DSG boxes…

• sepul on Feb 20, 2013 at 3:33 pm

Well, fun is defined differently by us drivers. Some enjoys brute power in straight line and overtaking, some enjoys cornering with precision, some enjoys both like I do. Even though I drive an auto, I also see how fun a manual can be while driving.

Plus, I see that driving a manual is safer because drivers will be more alert on the road, seeing he/she has to use all limbs to get the car moving (left foot for clutch, left hand for gear lever, right foot for throttle and brake, both hands on steering, head to look the road around).

Then again, global preference favors auto tranny over manual and from marketing standpoint, it is reasonable for Renault to go dual clutch autos. Besides, I think with 200hp on tap, it is better to let the gearbox do the shifting and drivers should pay attention to the road. That much power may be disastrous if drivers cannot control the clutch properly, assuming it does come with manual. The car is very light for that power band.

Maybe Renault is trying to let us feel how an F1 car is driven with the new Clio RS.