Mercedes-Benz GL 500 SUV sighted at JPJ Putrajaya

mercedes-benz-gl500-jpj-0004

Is the Mercedes-Benz ML 350 going to be joined locally by its big brother soon? Our ‘JPJ correspondent’ Anol Alias sighted this Mercedes-Benz GL 500 4MATIC at the JPJ Putrajaya car park for the usual approval, and the order sheet on the window shows this isn’t a grey market car.

This GL-Class is the second generation X166, first unveiled in the second half of last year. It’s made in the USA, the land of the SUV. The GL 500 model is powered by a 4.7 litre twin turbocharged V8 engine producing 408 PS and a massive 600 Nm of torque from 1,600 rpm up to 4,750 rpm.

mercedes-benz-gl500-jpj-0010

It’s one class larger than the ML-Class or the BMW X5 – think of it as a German Toyota Land Cruiser or Range Rover. It has got seven seats in three rows, or five with a massive cargo space if you prefer it that way. This particular unit is painted in a shade called Canvasit Blue, and it appears to be wearing an AMG Sport bodykit as well, which comes with more aggressive bumpers with large air intakes.

If launched here, the GL 500 is likely going to be a pretty high end product, and will cost a pretty penny in terms of road tax as well. There’s a GL with a smaller engine called the GL 350 but it uses a 3.0 litre V6 diesel engine, and we know Mercedes-Benz Malaysia doesn’t do diesels just yet.

With the ML 350 priced at RM570k here, expect the GL 500 with both an upgrade in terms of body and engine size to cost significantly more.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Datuk on Aug 01, 2013 at 12:51 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 139
    • Stupid Datuk, X5 nicer la

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 74 Thumb down 42
      • nah, this car looks so much more imposing than the new X5

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 56
      • Better buy cayyene

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 22
      • Datuk on Aug 01, 2013 at 2:12 pm

ur truly idiot, im compare this Mercedes with the new X5 which is will be soon entering Malaysia market. If u dont know anything don’t simply say like that, or u are truly know nothing about automotive.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
        • the article above already mentions that this GL is one class bigger than the X5 and ML, so not really a point to say it’s more imposing than the x5… or u just didnt read carefully?

• Of coz, if u r driving this. X5 is just a baby. BMW doesnt have any rival to this beast just yet.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
    • Q7 and this r over weight i mean they looks great but too fat!

• sutheshkumar on Aug 01, 2013 at 1:53 am

actually MBM did bring in the GL-Class officially, just they did not bother to launch it in a official manner.

• yeah, no point do a official launching event here coz most ppl with still go back to ML 350 or no money to buy at all. RM800k and above.. only the elite will opt for this. I saw it a few only for the last generation GL on the road. Its big and intimidating. Even in overseas, ppl will stil go for mid size luxury SUV with diesel.

• Yeaa even in the US this GL considered a full-size because the ML is mid-size SUV and GLK is the baby SUV. This GL is really huge, saw it once as a bodyguard vehicle, the big boss is in a Rolls-Royce Phantom :O

• bushi shenxiang on Aug 01, 2013 at 2:40 am

wow this car very nice!!! better than bmw x5. i would take this anytime than x5 or lexus/landcruiser etc . well done mercedes i take my hat off for u

• jinjangman on Aug 01, 2013 at 4:31 am

move over X5, Q7, XC90… this is the real deal!

• From a non bias point of view, I still think the BMW are nicer :P. Even the Audi’s are nicer

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
  • kadajawa on Aug 01, 2013 at 7:51 am

Fuiyoo…Kroni now demands bigger toys lah…high income nation good job…MACC don’t forget to get the buyers’ list also…might be a good info for future reference… :D

• kucca on Aug 01, 2013 at 8:18 am

lampu depan macam dipinjam dari saga flx

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
  • yeah, GL 500 is here. Now MBM is the pioneer in the large luxury SUV segment. Bet this goina cost RM800k and above. Time to buck up BMW, and Audi.

• Paul Tan on Aug 01, 2013 at 3:27 pm

We can probably use the Range Rover’s price as a benchmark.

The new model goes for RM950k to RM1.09 million, a giant price hike over the old model’s price which started from RM730k.

So I think the GL has the opportunity to fill the gap which the Range Rover created by hiking the price so much.

• Yes Paul. the RR price hike is damn crazy over here. Well, now with this beast. i hope we have more alternative choice in the Large Luxury SUV segment.

• proton driver on Aug 01, 2013 at 9:33 am

though only LHD made.

• though only LHD is made.

• this thing is bigger than x5, ML, cayenne, touareg. this is a full size suv. maybe comparable to q7 & soon range rover LWB..

• tricycle on Aug 01, 2013 at 9:54 am

Hi Paul, do you know how to calculate road tax in Malaysia or anyone who does? The JPJ website doesn’t show how, last time me check.

• Hafriz Shah (Member) on Aug 01, 2013 at 1:36 pm

We have a Road Tax Calculator on our sister site oto.my

Check it out here: http://www.oto.my/tool/road-tax-calculator

• Painter on Aug 01, 2013 at 9:56 am

Bentley’s upcoming SUV versus this! See what happen.

• Forza 5 on Aug 01, 2013 at 10:12 am

Taking about elite toys.. I think the Mercedes Benz G63 is more handsome than this GL.

• Sam Looser on Aug 01, 2013 at 10:41 am

ugly P.O.S !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • mirror mirror on Aug 01, 2013 at 11:18 am

Hey, how about the GLK? Those of us uncles with a smaller wallet and weak back muscles will find it easier to own and to get in and out of a cheaper luxury SUV.

• No one will buy GLK as it comes as LHD only. Besides, malaysian will whine about the roadtax as smallest engine for GLK is GLK 350.

• i saw numbers of people are driving Lexus LX570. That is 5.7 liters monster. Why cant they offer GL500?

• Jimmy on Aug 01, 2013 at 6:01 pm

Welcome. Brand-new Mercedes. Many will buy beautiful large vehicles if the shapes are cantiq, even at RM1M.

• Christian Chua on Aug 01, 2013 at 9:14 pm

No offense guy, but it looks like a soccer mum car’s car.

• johnjj on Oct 14, 2013 at 7:36 pm

I think this mercedes gl500 is more better than audi q7. But I look at the back side this gl, look like a Bmw cars.