Bugatti Veyron Jean Bugatti – only 3 units, RM9.9 mil

Veyron Jean Bugatti-07

Following the launch of its Les Légendes de Bugatti (Bugatti Legends) series at this year’s Pebble Beach show, Bugatti unveiled the second model of the range at Frankfurt. The “Jean Bugatti” is based on the Veyron 16.4 Grand Sport Vitesse, which 8.0 litre W16 engine generates 1,200 PS and 1,500 Nm of torque, is good for 0-100 km/h in 2.6 seconds and can break the 400 km/h barrier.

The Bugatti Grand Sport Vitesse “Jean Bugatti” is a celebration of the oldest son of company founder Ettore Bugatti and his most famous creation, the Type 57SC Atlantic. Like the other five models in the Legend series, the “Jean Bugatti” is limited to three units and costs 2.28 million euros (RM9.9 million) a pop. The first in the series was the Jean-Pierre Wimille edition.

Here’s a bit of history. Gianoberto Carlo Rembrandt Ettore Bugatti, known as Jean, was the eldest son of Ettore Bugatti and the most gifted of his four children. From the late 1920s onwards, Jean used his own structural and design ideas to exert more and more influence over the development of the company located in Molsheim, Alsace.

Veyron Jean Bugatti-12

In 1936, he took over as head of the company at the age of 27. By the time of his tragic accidental death in 1939, Jean had secured his place in automotive history thanks to his pioneering engine and chassis designs and concepts for vehicle bodies.

One of the most extraordinary designs created by Jean has to be the Type 57SC Atlantic, which ranks among the most expensive vintage cars in the world today. Today’s Legend model is a call back to La Voiture Noire (The Black Car), an Atlantic model which was driven by Jean Bugatti himself and has been lost since World War II.

“Jean Bugatti was a gifted car designer who knew to mirror the 1930s style of avant-garde in the design of the Bugatti car bodies. His jet black La Voiture Noire was more than just Jean’s ‘private’ car. It was also his most impressive work of art – breathtakingly sporty dimensions paired with fluid, elegant lines and the unmistakeably expressive Bugatti DNA,” explains Achim Anscheidt, chief designer at Bugatti.

Veyron Jean Bugatti-10

The body of the Jean Bugatti Vitesse Legend Edition is constructed entirely from jet black, clear-coated carbon fibre. The Bugatti horseshoe on the front grille and the EB logo on the rear is crafted from platinum, the first time the metal is used on a modern Bugatti. The signature of Jean Bugatti is lasered onto the fuel and oil cap and painted Arctic grey.

Inside, the Vitesse features the same beige and brown tones that were present in the Type 57SC Atlantic. The silhouette of the Type 57SC is embroidered onto the chocolate brown doors using contrasting beige silk thread. From a bird’s eye view, the Atlantic’s silhouette is immortalised using brown thread for decorative stitching on the rear storage compartment. A nice touch is the gear lever, which is rendered in rosewood.

Additional specific Legend Edition feature is the leather insert embossed with the lettering “Les Légendes de Bugatti” in the extended section of the centre console, and door sill plates displaying the likeness and signature of Jean Bugatti.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• motorhead on Sep 12, 2013 at 11:44 am

Hope one Malaysian will buy. Malaysia boleh!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 7
    • drBirdie on Sep 12, 2013 at 10:17 pm

I think it’s a little bit overpriced, worse than umw.

• Rosmah on Sep 12, 2013 at 11:01 pm

Yes, yes, I will ask my hubby to buy for me, sudah bosan degan lembu dan cincin lah….

*sarcasm*

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
    • Mahathir on Nov 14, 2013 at 4:42 pm

Dont worry, i will buy this with all the money i stole from the public

• What To Do With Your Money When You Got Lots of Em – Volume 2: Special Edition Bugattis

• This price is before taxes and duties. Will be about rm30mil on the road!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
  • WaJib on Sep 12, 2013 at 12:56 pm

Manyak olang Malaysia mampu… Dapat projek besar kan..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 0
  • Dear BN…i mean err dear santa

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
  • Johnny on Sep 12, 2013 at 1:13 pm

Already in my garage! and RC CAR! still a Car! :D

• downsys on Sep 12, 2013 at 1:46 pm

The truth is, people who buy this kind of luxuries are those who didn’t earn their money through hard work – either inheritence or corruption, etc.. People who really work their asses off and make billions rarely indulge in such ultra luxuries. See the late Steve Jobs, or Bill Gates, or Warren Buffet, or Mark Zuckerberg.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 2
  • spark on Sep 12, 2013 at 1:57 pm

who need bugatti when u have saga sv. hehe

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 5
  • TS.Lim on Sep 12, 2013 at 2:19 pm

BMW i8 achieves FC of about 2.5liter/100km.
    This monster is reported to have about 2.5km/liter or less!

• Suprima S better. 5 star Ncap OK?!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 48
    • flat_tire on Sep 12, 2013 at 9:03 pm

tak payah nak puji sgt larr.. getting 5 star without the need to go through an actual crash test.. huhh.. what’s up with that..?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
    • farizY on Sep 13, 2013 at 10:24 am

People do not understand sarcasm

• Proton best on Sep 12, 2013 at 2:41 pm

Proton Suprima S better. 5 star Ncap OK!?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 17
  • 9.9 million car but no cup holder …??
    Errr, thanks …
    Not for me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
  • amirad on Sep 12, 2013 at 3:02 pm

Give me Anton Furst batmobile. Comes with a jet turbine engine, fully enclosed security system, pop up gatling guns and the deal breaker would be the side grappling hook that allows the car to take corners faster than any LSD equipped hot hatch.

• paparadzi on Sep 12, 2013 at 4:39 pm

If I have 9.9 million to spend on a car, I still won’t buy this one.

• Afnan on Sep 12, 2013 at 7:32 pm

Cepat Taib. Ade tiga je

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 0
    • i dah order ketiga3 lah. satu i ambk, satu bg ah jib gor, satu bg mamaktir.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
  • Kak Mah Keparat on Sep 12, 2013 at 9:39 pm

Saya baru order petang tadi, esok sampai laa….

• why china co doesnt copycat this one? pls make it AAA grade, original one too expensive meh.

• BMW BEST on Sep 13, 2013 at 5:58 pm

Trust me…I can easily get this monster and crash and crash until it total loss…in GRID 2…

• GT-Rider on Sep 13, 2013 at 9:06 pm

Nice car and I believe the driver will drive it with so much cares. Me is not included.

• F of