Renault Megane RS Red Bull Racing RB8 – RM252,888

Renault Megane RS RB8-2

Last month, we reported that the Renault Megane RS Red Bull Racing RB8 will be officially launched in Malaysia by October, and here it is, the limited edition version of the Megane RS 265, now available for purchase.

Only 15 units (out of 815 worldwide) will be brought in by local Renault distributor TC Euro Cars, and we hear that 10 of those have already been accounted for, so you’ll need to be quick to own this RM252,888 (on-the-road with insurance) hot hatch.

That’s a substantial premium over the standard RS 265 Cup (RM234,526 OTR without insurance), but exclusivity is guaranteed. TC Euro Cars managed to secure a bigger allocation this time around – only five units of the previous black/yellow RB7 was brought in.

Renault Megane RS RB8-1

The Red Bull Racing RB8 is a celebratory special to mark Renault and RBR’s third consecutive F1 world championship win. Based on the RS 265 Cup, the RB8 gets a special Twilight Blue colour inspired by Vettel’s race car. UHP Bridgestone Potenza tyres wrap 19-inch black alloys with grey pin striping.

The front winglets, rear spoiler, door handles and side mirror covers are painted in contrasting Platinum Grey. Customary Red Bull Racing decals and a monochrome laurel on the rear side windows complete the special dress-up.

Inside, RBR logos can be found on the carpets and numbered aluminium sill guards. The gear knob and red trim are new too. Bigger news is the standard-fit of the new R-Link and RS Monitor 2.0 systems. The latter is a big upgrade over the RS Monitor seen in the Megane RS 250 and 265.

A seven-inch touchscreen colour display replaces the old monochrome unit, and the RS Monitor 2.0 has a much-improved user interface. A Red Bull Racing home screen is on board, and certain information can now be displayed in 3D form.

Displays include engine/torque curves, g-force diagram, bar graphs (turbo pressure, oil temp, intake temp, throttle, etc), maintenance schedule (tyres, absorbers, brake pads/discs, etc), stopwatch and oscilloscope (steering angle). It even shows the percentage of traction slip and wheelspin, basically what the LSD is up to.

The R-Link system groups together controls for navi, telephony, multimedia and vehicle systems into a cluster of buttons and joystick located next to the handbrake. One can also use voice command or the touch screen. A reverse camera is now available.

No changes mechanically, so under the hood is the Megane RS 265’s 2.0 litre turbocharged four-cylinder engine with 265 hp and 360 Nm of torque. Peak torque is available across a broader rev-range compared to the RS 250, from 3,000 to 5,000 rpm, as opposed to the old fixed point of 3,000 rpm. As usual, it has three pedals and six speeds, so those with lazy left legs need not apply.

0-100 km/h is done in 6.0 seconds flat, while top speed is 250 km/h, although from our experience, real-world performance will be stronger than what the bare figures suggest. Five more units left, if you’re interested…

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• yolol on Oct 24, 2013 at 2:06 pm

RM 252k? Totally not worth it, with this price tag better get an BMW 3-series, Merc C-class or Audi A4…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 77
    • Pinky on Oct 24, 2013 at 2:23 pm

Surely written by an uncle!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 14
      • Sam Loo on Oct 25, 2013 at 2:17 pm

Silly price. A good 2007 Porsche Carrera C2S is less than RM250,000.

Far better car than this trash. Pay RM250,000 for a Renault??? Ha Ha Ha

And in 5 years time, you still can sell your Porsche for RM150,000 but the Renault will be RM30,000. Don’t believe, go to Mudah and research yourself.

Oh btw, which car do you think will create a wow amongst people? A Renault or a Porsche?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 11
        • tak la sampai 30 k..around 150k jugak..

• adrianlow on Nov 06, 2013 at 3:57 pm

Hi Sam,

please do your research and then inform us the real RV of this unit. we don’t wanna know the Sam Loo RV of this car. RM 30k? if u so confident why dont show it to me and then we can talk more. stupidity at its best whenever you talk about something.

• TooDumb! on Oct 24, 2013 at 2:23 pm

Go and buy a 3-series, C-class, or A4 with same amount of money, and come back and challenge this car in a drag race.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 22
    • u sane?? on Oct 24, 2013 at 2:23 pm

Are you even sane to compare the RS265 and your german sedans??? This baby still holds the record of “Fastest Front Wheel Drive to Lap the ‘Ring'”… Come on, there sure is a special place for it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 8
    • You’re joking right?

• areyouserious on Oct 24, 2013 at 2:24 pm

are you serious? 3, C and A4 are so “yawn” compare to this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 13
    • Allo cikgu. This is hothatch, totally different class laa. Don’t compare lembu with rabbit laa

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 6
    • Renault: “Ok guys, lets make it limited to 800 units.”

TC Euro: “Eh, pls give us 15 units can ah?”

Renault: “Ok guys, just add in 15 units into production..make it 815 units”

LOL…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 2
      • akula on Oct 24, 2013 at 7:21 pm

Haha, I like this comment. That’s means Malaysia are soo special.

• Yea, that’s just sounds like 1 Ferrari can get you few Semi D, dozens of japs/conti sedan car, maybe million of nasi lemak? Dont compare with nonsense or comment thing. Regular person just don’t understand, get something else uncle.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
    • Get A class bettter lah! Mercedes leh not french fries…

• Jimmy on Oct 24, 2013 at 5:56 pm

People who play cars/vehicles/toys are not interested in C-class nor its equivalent.
      Proper sedan = S-class and above.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 11
  • Furqan on Oct 24, 2013 at 2:34 pm

I think its about time renault introduces a new megane. It’s still the best FWD hot-hatch on the market but other manufacturers are catching up. The next scirocco R will most probably use the same 290bhp engine from the Golf R MK7.
    BTW the color contrast spoiler is a really nice touch.

• foxtrot on Oct 25, 2013 at 7:53 pm

lol scirocco will never catch up with a megane.
      mechanical LSD baby!

• Not worth it because you not a rich man. So keep quiet

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 13
    • mat yo on Oct 24, 2013 at 9:32 pm

Owh so u r vry rich?…vry good come i clap for u kihkihkih

• lembu jinni on Oct 24, 2013 at 3:05 pm

needs to be lowered with KW ddc suspension kits….perfecto!

• Anti-Fuel-Price on Oct 24, 2013 at 3:06 pm

I guess is the right time I F*** a DEAF company right here. HELLO VW!!! Renault is selling fast with this “ol skol” gearbox + previous RS is selling well too.
    WTF r u “considering” or doing “F**rketing” Research????
    Wanna give thumbs up for Renault, Peugeot, Honda for supplying Manual Box to “PURIST”.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
  • With that price, Isn’t it better to get a Golf GTI with better dual-clutch transmission which only .5 second slower to 100. Still have 20k extra to spend on other things if you’re crazy, like rims, seats or maybe tuning. Unless you’re into Sebastian Vettel thingy. I don’t think this is well worth the money.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 19
    • frenzyaustin on Oct 24, 2013 at 5:28 pm

The “fun” factor which the French does better than the German. Golf GTi appear to be cheaper but it might be one of the most boring Hot Hatch on the market.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 6
  • Excuse me…
    pls compare apple to apple. If u really wanna compare hatchback vs sedan, but with the same 2.0 capacity engine, then I will say..this Renault will kick dust to the 320I, C200, and A4 2.0T’s face.

• Lambert on Oct 24, 2013 at 3:43 pm

Fantastic choices for the Malaysian market now. Golf GTI, A-class and this. All very capable sprinters. Which would you choose if price wasn’t an issue?

• your bro on Oct 24, 2013 at 4:40 pm

Well, I will take A250 for it’s look and performance. As for this baby, price is not a prob for me. but i cant drive stick, oopss sorry. Hehe.. For GTI, leave it to rich ah beng college kids and lala zai.

• this car is in a different league altogether..please do not compare uncle cars with this. I own a RS250 and still it catches attention than those driving C Class, BMW or Audi..better comparing Ford Focus ST, ROCCO R..but still..nothing matches this babe IMHO. Track ready car that’s a bonus!

• Finally car show without unnecessary women model…lol

• How come the recaro seats are missing the red bull logos on the headrests and also the red stitching? Check out and compare with the image of the interior with vettel in it.

Missing in transit?

• Steering still looks ugly like 15 inc monitor display infront

• Saikia on Oct 26, 2013 at 5:25 am

Consider the price, performance and passion:

If for daily use, I would rather get a Polo or Golf. But I think the new Hyundai Santa-fe SUV is more practical and suitable. Even a used Cayenne is better (can still have about RM60-70k left for road tax, maintenance and etc).

If for weekend/occasionally use, I would pick something that has more fun or eye catching. New car we have FT86, A45 and etc. Mid age we have RX8, 350z, ver8/9 STI, S15 and etc. Old wine we have RX7, Supra, Evo 6.5, R34 Vspec II, F355 and etc.

I’m sorry, at Rm253k for a Renault, I expect to have roll cage, full bucket seat, 5 points belt, widebody and etc. Else please tell me why not I just pay half of the price and get a Hyundai Veloster.

• Adrian on Nov 06, 2013 at 4:03 pm

are you f*****g kidding me? u wanna compare the veloster to this? thats like comparing a rabbit to a cheetah. try bringing the veloster on the sepang track and see how much you will be left behind. RM 253K for the fastest front wheel drive car on the Nurburgring till now is a good deal. the only thing is that i don’t have the money to buy this baby. RX 8 to compare with the RB8? you must be working as a standup comedian..

• My 991 t s would easily smoke this. bloody meganes cucuk me and think they god, would kena my smoke anyway. same goes to those bloody gtr ah beng owners, cucuk but no balls to actually rev it up

• Jules on Mar 09, 2014 at 1:37 pm

Although even if I have money to buy this car… . ‘Just because personal preference ‘ I won’t buy it but to those who says its a silly buy but I don’t think so. This is a car for car connoisseur who really knows what it is all about. You wouldn’t think of rv. Also power isn’t everything … Even if you can blow this car at the highway… This car shows the accessible power you can fully use at the twisting roads. Hmmm maybe 1 day I got a chance to get a used one.

• Just bought this monster via second hand from direct owner. Love this car, you will feel special when you drive it.
    Go Go RB8