Mercedes-Benz V-Class (W447) officially unveiled

mercedes-benz-v-class-w447-unveiled-g

Here’s the W447 Mercedes-Benz V-Class in all its entirety. The successor to the Viano moves further away from its commercial roots (although Vito van versions will be available) towards luxury and comfort in an attempt to woo those unsmitten by the R-Class.

It starts with the looks – less van, more upscale MPV. The V-Class can now stand alongside passenger models such as the C-Class and S-Class and not look out of place. You’ll no doubt recognise the two-bar grille, and those striking headlamps with LED DRLs (full-LED headlamps available) add a premium touch.

Round the side, you’ll see muscular twin creases and a vast expanse of glass area, while the simple and uncluttered tailgate (optionally power-operated) features a large rear window that stretches down below the vehicle’s waistline. This window can be opened separately from the tailgate, allowing access to a shelf that can carry up to 50 kg in weight.

The Mercedes-Benz V-Class comes in base and Avantgarde trims – each can be specified with Exterior Sports and Interior Design packages. Two wheelbases (3,200 and 3,430 mm) and three body lengths (spanning 4,895 to 5,370 mm) are available.

The sole powerplant is a 2.1 litre four-cylinder turbodiesel. It produces 136 PS/330 Nm in the 200 CDI, 163 PS/380 Nm in the 220 CDI and 190 PS/440 Nm in the 250 BlueTec. The first two variants come with a manual gearbox as standard; a 7G-Tronic Plus auto with shift paddles and Direct Select lever is optional. The 250 BlueTec gets the latter as standard.

Agility Control adaptive dampers are standard across the range, and auto gearbox versions get Agility Select, which offers Eco, Comfort, Sport and Manual driving modes that influence engine, throttle and gearbox response.

If the exterior does little to convince you of the V-Class’ premium credentials, you only have to step aboard. Greeting you is a dashboard not unlike those on the C-Class and GLA-Class, along with the same standards of cabin appointments and finishes.

There’s the familiar three-spoke steering wheel, the new COMAND knob and touchpad, the circular air vents and the floating central display, while wood inserts and ambient lighting are also available.

Possible seating configurations include four individual seats with armrests, a two-passenger bench (independently-folding seat backs) or a three-passenger bench (two-piece seat base, independently-folding seat backs) for both second and third rows. Up to eight passengers can be accommodated in all. The seats can be removed altogether as well.

Finally, tech. COMAND Online, Linguatronic voice control and Thermotronic climate control are available. As for safety, Crosswind Assist and Attention Assist are standard; options include a 360-degree camera, Distronic Plus with Collision Prevention Assist, Traffic Sign Assist, Lane Keeping Assist, Blind Spot Assist and Adaptive High-Beam Assist.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• dino years on Feb 03, 2014 at 7:36 pm

better than 4speed gb 2 airbags estima.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 2
    • AutoFrenz on Feb 04, 2014 at 1:03 am

You know aaa sebastian actelly with its tall n lean body it actelly competes with nissan serena…so leave estima out of it…let alone mention it in the same line with alphard n vellfire…my grandmother wont like it…puhhlisss

• ureanoob on Feb 04, 2014 at 5:13 pm

you are kidding right? this is gigantic. bigger than alphard or estima. this was the original luxury mpv before toyota made their alphard larger.

• yeah, and the lady in red has awesome pair of high heels

• phuwekkk on Feb 04, 2014 at 10:57 am

sam loo will not agree with you.. Merz can’t defeat toyotaya RV..toyotaya is the king of RV.

• European alphard

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 16
  • paucharsiew on Feb 03, 2014 at 8:00 pm

i’d still have the vellfire thanks.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 46
    • das auto on Feb 03, 2014 at 11:54 pm

Vellfire is just an overpriced hiace common junk.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 7
      • Hyundai De La Junk on Feb 04, 2014 at 11:01 am

U mean the Korean Junk name Grand Royal Starex which is actually a cheap Roti Van..lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 11
      • Can you just shut your mouth for once ?
        If you don’t like Vellfire then leave.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 14
    • dino years on Feb 04, 2014 at 8:17 am

You sir, must be kidding me. A jap cardboard box over a german house mover?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
  • If the Toyota Alphard is the Camry of MPV, this is the S-class. Bigger, more opulant and probably waay more expensive.

The exterior is what you expect, a van….but this time with fancier headlights, but to my eyes, it is still a boxy van, but my gawd the interior…Personally, I have never been much loving Mercedes interiors with the exception of the new S and C classes, but the V-class really trumps as one of the best interior ever come out of Stuttguard.

So for those looking for a status upgrade over the the rather common Toyota Alphard/Nissan Elgrand…well voila.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 8
    • seancorr on Feb 03, 2014 at 10:06 pm

Only one issue here…it only comes with a diesel engine so as long as we do not have access to Euro 4 fuel this MPV will still be a dream.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
      • Gahh, missed that part.

Yeah, unless the ‘plan’ to improve our Diesel quality goes on, I really don’t see any likelyhood of this coming to Malaysia which is a bummer, ould make an excellent luxury airport Taxi like the first-gen V-class.

• Josh Ling on Feb 04, 2014 at 6:22 am

even if it does make its way to Malaysia, don’t expect it to overtake Alphard as the favorite large people mover. the exterior just doesn’t work with me at least. it’s as if mercedes benz designers have been trying so hard and spent so much time on the front that when it came to the rear part, they had no extra time and decided to put some randomly designed rear lamps and a rather huge glass on the tailgate, and that’s it. i mean, really?? that rear doesn’t even look like they even bothered to put any effot into designing at all!

• I think the reason is that the overall chasis is taken out of their Sprinter line of commercial vans. Thats why not much can be re-design when it comes to the shape of the vehicle.

As far as overtake the Alphard in Malaysia, I believe that firstly, cost is one thing. The price has not been realesed yet but i think this will be much more expensive than a regular alphard or Veilfire. Than of course theres the so call Toyota reliability, spare parts in Malaysia for the big Toyota is readily available.

• its okay on Feb 03, 2014 at 8:42 pm

Its nice!looks cozy and exclusive
    better than estima,alphard,vellfire….*list goes on :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
  • seancorr on Feb 03, 2014 at 9:00 pm

Finally one can purchase a true premium MPV instead of settling for an Alphard or Elgrand.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 7
  • skatax on Feb 03, 2014 at 9:13 pm

lower half dashboard looks bare and too utilitarian for a luxury mover. r
    reminds of commercial Vito.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
  • rest in peace alphard

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 11
    • AutoFrenz on Feb 04, 2014 at 8:44 am

Sure or not…who wd want to buy a kangoo lookalike van with no prestige…the rear is so hideous…even if they turn it into bas sekolah the children wd run away bcoz its so scary…save me from this monster…help…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
  • why do u need sport mode in a comfortable MPV? zzz

• these euro vans are famous in the europe. they’re large, luxury & comfortable. i had travelled from Berlin to London in the previous model passenger version. its like travelling in a nice luxury minibus. its better than starex, estima or alphard. btw, size-wise, its comparable to starex. not estima, alphard or vellfire..

generally, i would prefer any euro minivans over the 3 Ts.. just try & ride in sharan and compare with estima.. you’ll know the real people mover..

• vinann on Feb 04, 2014 at 12:33 am

Yet its will never reach Bolehland shore as its drink Euro4 diesel.

Jon, are this monster drink at least Euro4 fuel? You never mentions.

• mr_em on Feb 04, 2014 at 7:58 am

Apartment on wheels!!

• Hisham on Feb 04, 2014 at 8:02 am

Cant afford the selling price here should be above RM500k.stick to my 8yo multipla.

• the rear lights could’ve been better :(

• heybadigol on Feb 04, 2014 at 9:50 am

This is truly function over form. It makes the Alphard/Velfire look sexy. And in true German premium car fashion, its rear wheel drive in standard form (with option for AWD I should think). Though considering its massive size and weight, RWD or FWD wont make any difference to the handling (AWD might make it handle better…. slightly). Dont think anybody’s gonna be drifting this box on wheels.

Obviously, its not for everyone. Its targetting the market of spacious luxury MPVs that can carry customers & business contacts as well as your children, and the buyer is also probably bored with the Velfire/Alphard/Odyssey/etc (which are not premium brands anyway). It should be more luxurious than the Japanese rivals, at a premium price too. So you get what you pay.

• Jilbaber on Feb 04, 2014 at 10:02 am

This gonna make alphard,vellfire even Ekysion looks like 1980’s Vennette

• kenneth on Feb 04, 2014 at 11:15 am

This V-class gonna be better than the alphard/velfire i terms of ride and performance.I think this car would be safer compare with the jap mpv. But the design at the rear really not my favourite at least the front looks like c class. The interior really looks and feel good. if we can get this model in here but with the euro4 fuel than it will be the true people mover or buisness vehicle.

• If it’s sold in bolehland….would it be above 1 million ringgit?

• taiko on Feb 04, 2014 at 1:46 pm

good use for the undertaker.for the last trip on earth they ride by mercz.CHHERS.

• trololol on Feb 04, 2014 at 4:13 pm

we need Vellfire with this kind of interior.

• landcruiser on Feb 04, 2014 at 4:46 pm

Tho tis Merc is outstanding in its luxury interior styling, thumbs up and way much better than the japs counterpart.
    But the exterior styling is still does not paid as much attention to details as the japs. Take for example the side door railing of the V-class is still visible like a panel van, the Estima/Alphat has it hidden underneath the side window. The big chunk of squarish side window does make the V-class looks a bit commercial compared to the slimmer and more stylish. All I could say is maybe thers nothing perfect in this world..

• apasamy on Feb 04, 2014 at 5:06 pm

i really hope u guys are joking when u say that this car has a luxurious interior.

• kadajawi on Feb 04, 2014 at 6:32 pm

Yeah, how can it beat the hard plastic leather stitching that Toyota has copied from Samsung!

• KaijuLand on Feb 04, 2014 at 9:40 pm

New Alphard looks waaaaaay better than this. And Vellfire?? Yeah. Better as well, by leaps and bounds. Perhaps its just the tri-star brand that gives it the plus points but other than that, it looks more suitable to be converted into a hearse since its SO BIG kan??? Also people mover bah, just the dead ones lar. Wahahahahahhahahaah !!!!!

• pakngah on Feb 04, 2014 at 9:57 pm

have toilet?

• kadajawi on Feb 05, 2014 at 11:08 pm

So… 41000 Euro (RM 185000) for the base model, as Edition 1 it’s around 70000 Euro (RM 315000). Base spec already has a leather wrapped dashboard (well, synthetic leather).

• Vito is selling at a more reasonable price. Available at NUSA showroom, Glemarie