Tata Zest sedan breaks cover, AMT for diesel variant

tata-zest-press-pic-1

Tata Motors has unveiled the Tata Zest at an event in New Delhi, ahead of the 2014 Delhi Auto Expo. Measuring 3,995 mm long, 1,695 mm wide and 1,570 mm tall, with a wheelbase of 2,470 mm, the compact sedan tips the scales at 1,106 kg.

Penned by the Indian carmaker’s design studios in Pune, Coventry and Turin, the Zest is motivated either by a new 1.2 litre Revotron four-cylinder turbo petrol (85 PS at 5,000 rpm/140 Nm between 1,750 and 3,000 rpm) or a 1.3 litre Quadrajet diesel (90 PS at 4,000 rpm/200 Nm between 1,750 and 3,000 rpm).

Tata has announced that the diesel variant will get a new F-Tronic Automated Manual Transmission (AMT) with five speeds. This makes it the first car in its class to offer an AMT, as well as the cheapest automatic diesel car in India.

The vehicle sports a new corporate grille with the “Humanity Line” – that’s the line on the bottom of the grille that flows into the glass of the projector headlamps. LED DRLs frame the fog lamps, while the tail lamps also feature LEDs. The wheels are 16-inch alloys.

Inside, you’ll find a new Harman infotainment system incorporating a five-inch touch-screen, Bluetooth, smartphone-enabled navigation, voice recognition, social media and built-in climate controls. There’s speed-sensitive electric power steering, too.

On the safety front, there’s ABS, Cornering Stability and dual airbags. Dual-path independent MacPherson struts and ventilated disc brakes sit up front, while independent three-link MacPherson struts and drum brakes sit out back. Stabilisers are present at both ends.

The Tata Zest utilises an updated version of the X1 platform, which underpins the Vista hatch and its Manza sedan sibling. Its sub-four metre length allows it to qualify for small car excise benefits in India. A hatchback version, called the Tata Bolt, has also been unveiled alongside it.

Direct competitors include the Honda Amaze, Maruti Swift Dzire, as well as the upcoming Ford Figo and Hyundai Xcent.

Live launch photos courtesy of Faisal from MotorBeam India.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• kadajawi on Feb 04, 2014 at 5:18 pm

That interior actually looks quite nice… for such a car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 1
    • Albert Lee on Feb 04, 2014 at 8:41 pm

At least Bollywood has a better car than our boleh land.I am not running down Proton for nothing.The dashboard looks much ,much better than our Proton.Performance wise,one has to test drive this car.I hope the engine does not resemble the boiling Campro engine(which sounds like boiling water)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
  • ss427 on Feb 04, 2014 at 5:29 pm

I almost threw up my lunch when I saw the rear end… or was there one in the 1st place? All these hatchbacks-crudely-modified-with-a-tail thingy needs to stop at once.. Its downright hideous.. :(

But I must admit the interior, esp the dash looks pretty nice and original. At least the Indians doesn’t do rip offs like the Chinese do :(

And I believe the overall fit and finish is way better than Proton… LOL :D

But seriously Tata is that the best you can do? Your Nano actually looks pretty good from all angles and its an icon by its own right… this POS looks just plan wrong… sigh…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 21
    • AutoFrenz on Feb 04, 2014 at 7:03 pm

You wanted to throw out bcoz its better looking than chinese cars issit…just admit it…you re jealous issit…its a fact anyway bollywood stars are so good lookin…kuch kuch hota hei…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 5
    • butthurt proton basher, always downgrade proton everywhere. that’s not making other cars better. and how you know the fit and finish is better than proton only by looking pics? pics are deceiving and that’s total BS

• azrai on Feb 04, 2014 at 5:31 pm

What…another Persona’s rear resemblance again in India?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 5
  • azrai on Feb 04, 2014 at 5:33 pm

I think this 3 box sedan silhouette will definitely match Perodua’s Buddyz concept soon to launch in 2015 form.

• exterior ugly

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 10
  • Xplorer on Feb 04, 2014 at 5:53 pm

Tail Lamp… look alike old Vios …

• thebugbud on Feb 04, 2014 at 6:21 pm

5″ infotainment screen and preve is onky 4.3 or 4.2″ only. .. come on proton…

• Gajen on Feb 04, 2014 at 6:56 pm

wow, not bad for both interior and exterior.

• Amarjie on Feb 04, 2014 at 7:13 pm

The back end 3 1/4 look somehow remind me of recent P2 prototype…

• old dog on Feb 04, 2014 at 8:08 pm

Protong world car? LOL..here is your competitor..

and Protong dont have diesel! how to penetrate Europe market!

• roxas on Feb 04, 2014 at 9:29 pm

waaa indian cars oso have design like tis,..mananya proton

• I recently bought this car in India…very nice car…very smooth engine…good power in high RPM…No lag for engine..and interior is soo nice..car has inbuilt Harman Kardon audio system and it looks quit expensive though…back seat has lot of boot space…tata is learned from Land rover n jaguar….i feel it is better than Honda Amaze(Indian Model) economy is soooo good : 1 ltr/21
      price : approx RM 3,8700

By the way i have Myvi SE 1.5 in malaysia 2014 Model…No need explain about myvi to our fellows..Myvi is comfortable…but tooo over priced

Price : RM 5,7000
      1 ltr/13

perodua has to learn from TATA..
      we are looking for fuel efficiency and more comfort…

• Shame on you..Proton!

• norman on Feb 05, 2014 at 11:57 am

Indian automotive has been improved way better than China cause of many collaboration with either Japanese or Europe companies.Ive drive TATA Suv turbo diesel and yes engine refinement may not be that good(Rough sound) but at least the engine is still reliable.Normally their engine doesnt churns out more power compared to Japanese/European/Korean or even Campro but is still reliable in every whether.

• taiko on Feb 05, 2014 at 2:19 pm

good move TATA.much improvement since the establishment.pls choose me for the model of this car.sells will skyrocket to the mars.CHEERS

• hope not in Tata Indoga AND Tata Indica?

• Good Move but ………

People is frosted old cars lot of money loss after 6month and 1year

What is the next stap hw change Old Tata Indigo/Indica/Sumo/Arya/Vista/Safari?