New Audi TT and TTS make their debut at Geneva

211/ , EUROPA; SCHWEIZ, GENF, Datum: 03.03.2014 12:00:00: 84 INTERNATIONALER AUTO SALON in Genf 2014 84e Salon International de l'Auto et accessoires, PALEXPO - Stefan Baldauf / SB-Medien

After weeks of teasers, the third-generation Audi TT has finally come out of its shell. The design-oriented coupe is claimed to hark back to the original TT, whose looks caused a stir when it was launched in 1998.

Measuring 4,180 mm long, the new TT is ever so slightly longer than the previous model (just 2 mm), although the wheelbase has grown by 37 mm to 2,505 mm, granting shorter overhangs. It is also a little narrower at 1,837 mm but is the same height at 1,353 mm (the sportier TTS is 10 mm lower).

The exterior design is an evolution of the current car, but with Audi’s new family face first seen on the Audi Sport Quattro concept. The now-familiar hexagonal grille is broad and flat and is flanked by rectangular headlights, which can be specified with either LED or Matrix LED technology. The Matrix LED headlights in particular feature a world first: dynamic turn signals that swivel according to where the driver is steering.

211/ , EUROPA; SCHWEIZ, GENF, Datum: 03.03.2014 12:00:00: 84 INTERNATIONALER AUTO SALON in Genf 2014 84e Salon International de l'Auto et accessoires, PALEXPO - Stefan Baldauf / SB-Medien

The TTS gets larger front air intakes, a pronounced kink in the side sills and typical S model details like silver side mirrors and a more aggressive rear diffuser design featuring quad tailpipes.

Inside, much of the design has been streamlined thanks to the removal of the central MMI display; instead, a 12.3-inch TFT LCD display behind the steering wheel called the Audi virtual cockpit relays all the information straight to the driver. The low, flat dashboard houses circular air vents – another classic TT touch – that incorporate the controls for the air-conditioning system.

The steering wheel is now flat-bottomed, and the front seats with integrated headrests are now lower and lighter than before. Sport seats with beefier, pneumatically-adjustable side bolstering is available as an option, but the TTS get these as standard.

Audi TTS Coup

Like its predecessor, the new Audi TT features a steel/aluminium hybrid space frame construction, but is further optimised to reduce yet more weight. The 2.0 TFSI variant now sits at just 1,230 kg, 50 kg lighter than the previous model. Suspension is McPherson struts at the front and multi links at the rear, and the new car keeps the optional adaptive magnetic dampers of its predecessor.

At launch, the new TT will be available with three four-cylinder engines, all of them turbocharged and direct-injected. The sole diesel option is a 2.0 litre TDI, available only with front-wheel drive, producing 184 hp and 380 Nm. Moving up the range, the 2.0 litre TFSI engine is available in two tunes. The base engine makes 230 hp and 370 Nm and comes in both front- and four-wheel drive flavours.

At the top of the food chain (at least until the inevitable TT RS arrives) is the four-wheel drive TTS, which uses the same engine but tuned to produce 310 hp and 380 Nm. 0-100 km/h takes 4.7 seconds and the top speed is limited to 250 km/h. A six-speed manual is standard across the range, with a six-speed S tronic dual-clutch transmission available as an option on the petrol-powered variants.

Live pix by Stefan Baldauf / Robert Kah

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• premier on Mar 05, 2014 at 12:32 pm

Love everything about this car especially the interior and LCD dash.. i think this model will last another 10 years.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
    • ABTguy on Mar 05, 2014 at 4:43 pm

TT S is looking good with the S-line exterior treatment especially the front bumper.

The TT (without S-line) is a bit sedate, a tab too close to the mk2.

The TT-RS concept has an even better grill and engine, look here

• sudonano on Mar 05, 2014 at 1:13 pm

310hp, 380Nm from a 2.0l engine. Wow. That, is amazing.

The TT is just like the Golf 7 in terms of the design. Just an evolution of the previous generation, just that now it is much sharper and looks more modern. The LEDs look nice too.

• Exterior wise, It will be difficult to differentiate this new model from outgoing TT, but that is not necessarily a bad thing as the 2nd gen TT has such a distinctive and striking line to begin with, harking back to Peter Schereyer’s original masterpiece.

But the new TT really shines in its interior, and let’s face it, no matter how good a car exterior is, buyers will spend looking the inside more than outside, and the new TT’s interior is a designer masterpiece. Eliminating and simplifying all that is unnecessary in the dash, makes it clean and futuristic; minimalism and form follows function, a principle that I personally am found to.

[-personal opinion may differ-]

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 9
  • xavier lert on Mar 05, 2014 at 1:19 pm

The back looks almost the same with previous one.

• Aaron on Mar 05, 2014 at 1:22 pm

Looks kinda odd,lack of the killing look.Somehow,the LED looks pretty good on it.

• Nice headlamp!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 13
  • is it new or facelift??

• Lane tamer on Mar 05, 2014 at 1:53 pm

It is just like bringing the 2nd Gen Audi TT to a Ah Beng Car Shop and changed the front and rear lights, wallah, there you have it, the 3rd Gen Audi TT…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 12
  • Datuk on Mar 05, 2014 at 2:30 pm

next year our grey importer will sell this with nego price

• BLT Club on Mar 05, 2014 at 2:42 pm

Looks more like a facelift than a brand new model. But loving the interior!

• what facelift?

• i hope the a5 wont be a big disappointment like this.

• Preve better than this shit!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 27
    • Bob_B78 on Mar 05, 2014 at 4:13 pm

Whats make you think Preve is even in the same league with this car?

• BLT Club on Mar 05, 2014 at 5:27 pm

Yes Preve is better. If you can’t afford this car…

• dugong on Mar 06, 2014 at 12:59 am

If you earn less than 10k then surely preve is better . Buy this and u will go bust in no time lol

• seancorr on Mar 05, 2014 at 4:31 pm

Interior looks very good to me but the exterior is somewhat lacking. I also think the rectangular lights are a bit off but that’s just me.

• I’ve seen too many concept nicer than this. Why can they just use the concepts…

• so damn smart! RM?

• Josh Ling on Mar 06, 2014 at 6:34 am

and we are going to see every future Audis wearing the same face…..from A1 to A8…..super yawn! Audi TT has definitely lost its charm after the departure of Peter Schreyer. Audi just can’t re-create the “magic” that it has with the first gen TT.

• Vision on Mar 06, 2014 at 6:48 am

OMG! The headlamp is just, perfect. Interior simple, but classy! A true Audi.

• kiewfong on Mar 06, 2014 at 8:59 am

Passenger:”Which station we are on now? The songs are so crappy…lets change to MyFM”
    Driver:”Passenger…don’t touch my audio, I am totally in control of what song I want to listen to!”
    ——–
    Passenger:”Hey Driver, are we lost? What is the GPS showing? Let me also take a look…”
    Driver:”Go away passenger!! You are totally blocking my view of the road!!…ahhhhhh….”
    BANG!
    ——–
    Driver:”Passenger, I am very focus on my driving now. Can you help to change the song to Folder 2763 – Song# 983765736527? Just use the dial on he center console, right there…in front of the center arm rest”
    Passenger:”Sure will do…which folder are we on now?”
    Driver:”hmmm…Turn left more…no no no, turn back…no no…right a little more….left back a little…ya ya hold right there…now move up, turn right, turn left….move down…yes. That’s the song I want….Ok…now I want song# 537146385. Thanks”
    Pessenger:” -_-” Go kill yourself…”

• it is likely to be sold above 350k for a brand new one? ahha… big monies for this machine, man!!