Ops Strobe Light, non-reg number plates to begin Oct

W1A

Beginning October 1, the Road Transport Department (JPJ) will be carrying out a nationwide special operation on non-regulation number plates and the use of strobe lights on vehicles, Bernama reports.

The operation will be executed in two phases. During the first ‘educatory’ phase, lasting throughout October, JPJ will send out warning notices, reminders and advice to motorists on number plate regulation and correct usage, including brochures containing number plate specification under kaedah 6 Kaedah-kaedah kenderaan Motor (Pendaftaran dan Pelesenan) 1959.

During the first phase, motorists who fall foul of the rules will not be issued with summons through road-block checks and patrolling by JPJ, said JPJ director-general Datuk Seri Ismail Ahmad.

“(Translated) They will be given a letter of reminder to swap their non-regulation number plate for one that abides by the rules,” Bernama quoted him as saying.

jpj-strobe

But by November 1, the second phase of operation, motorists that do not comply can be fined a maximum of RM300.

During the operation, JPJ will also ask owners to remove strobe lights from their vehicles, as well as scale up operations on overloaded vehicles and vehicles carrying dangerous goods.

According to Ismail, 6,915 death cases were recorded on the roads last year, and this is estimated to increase to 10,716 cases by the year 2020 if enforcement is not carried out. With enforcement, JPJ targets a reduction to 5,300 cases by that year.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• jacksonljs on Sep 08, 2014 at 9:35 am

Summons not enough, as those bastard vehicle owners can pay one. Instead, their vehicles should be confiscated on the spot (let them ‘jalan kaki’ to home or whenever they go) as our country has the highest numbers of setan motorists in the world especially those with fancy plate and strobe lights.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 129 Thumb down 20
    • stillsamelor on Sep 08, 2014 at 10:18 am

don’t think too much, in the end will still be the same lor. . .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
      • Jabatan Pengamibilan Rasuah Jalan (JPRJ) on Sep 08, 2014 at 3:30 pm

Nothing will really happen. This Ismail, talk as if he is an angel. Helllo Ismail, you yourself know how dirty your JPJ officers are so don’t pretend to be an angel. You yourself know all this is a drama to show the Transport Ministry that JPJ is doing their job.

You see, JPJ and Polis have this “boleh settle” attitude. 9 out of 10 traffic offenders in Malaysia always settle their traffic offences on the spot.

I do not condone corruption but sadly, this is strong practice here in Malaysia. We all see it. We all know it happens. But we all close an eye.

JPJ Datuk Ismail Ahmad, while I thank you for this cerita goreng press release, you need to clean up the JPJ. The JPJ stinks like hell of corruption. Every fibre of it is corruption. Maybe in the office where licences are issued and road tax renewed nothing much goes on but in the field, your JPJ officers are heroes.

Every lorry driver who has been stopped by the JPJ officers also give money to the officers. This is why, many lorry drivers got no licence and are illegal immigrants and when they kill people on the road, they run away.

This is all because of JPJ and their officers in the field. Please Ismail, clean up your JPJ. They are so dirty. Before taking corruption did not hurt road users but now, taking corruption hurt road users because many accidents and deaths happpen.

Corruption is a bad thing but when it encroaches on the safety of the public, it is even worse. JPJ officers as well as Polis Officers in Malaysia have a bad habit of asking for money to settle saman on the spot. This must stop. It has become too rampant.

Do not take the figure lightly. I would estimate there are few million offenders who get away scot free because they settled on the spot and given duit kopi. We all know that this is the case and it is very very worrisome to drive on the road.

Even when an offender of strobe light is stopped and no duit kopi is given, half the time, your JPJ officers see big car or single number plate, their balls kecut. They immediately say, “Encik, tolong lalu”. Some have really no balls, they even salute the single number plate car.

So, Ismail, please don’t give us this bull that your JPJ officers will enforce the law. Based on the past many ops, we still see so many tinted cars on the road that is so dark, even the JPJ officer also starts to panic.

JPJ is a disgrace. It should be renameb as JPRJ (Jabatan Pengamibilan Rasuah Jalan)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 5
        • MoFaz on Sep 08, 2014 at 5:27 pm

nobody give, nobody take. as simple as that. so many people only blame the police or jpj but they themselves who give the bribe are innocent? please help to make this country better, make a report if the police or jpj is asking a bribe from you. and you must stop giving the bribe too!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
          • Nice try on Sep 08, 2014 at 6:41 pm

@Mofaz, great work passing the buck to the people. I don’t personally give or take. Neither am I task to uphold the law either. But both JPJ and the police does.

It’s like saying a Doctor’s giving a wrong diagnosis based on wrong information supplied by the patient is the patient’s fault. The Doctor’s job is to identify and treat a patient. And very well make the right diagnosis. He has studied 5 odd years for a degree and is paid just to do what he’s supposed to be goof at. To not do the due diligent to cross check his patient is his fault, not the patient. He should know better.

Police and JPJ are there to uphold the law. And they are trained may years and paid to do so. They should know better than to break the same law that they are tasked to uphold. If they are offered bribe, report the perpetrator. What’s disheartening is when the guys that are supposed to uphold the law openly ask for bribe.

That’s why when a policemen refuse a bribe, it makes headlines and people respected him for it. These god fearing countryman are scarce and a dying breed.

• Nice try on Sep 09, 2014 at 10:48 am

@Mofaz: Lets put it this way:

When a murderer/law-breaker offered a bribe to a policemen/people of authority. They are a crook. Regardless of what severely of the crime they have committed. A crook’s a crooks when a bribe is offered.

When a policemen/people of authority that’s entrusted to uphold the law abetted to the bribe/crime, he’s no longer a crook. He is an abomination. And is the WORST kind of evil there is.

• tiampei on Nov 05, 2014 at 8:33 am

It’s not problem of give or take. Why don’t just refuse if someone give money.
            It is moral and responsibility.

• StaticX on Sep 08, 2014 at 10:19 am

Strobe lights i understand la. But fancy plate can kill people? Especially Euro plate is BIG and CLEAR enough for people to read better!! or on the other hand u just jealous that people got euro car to put euro plate and u don’t that’s why so sokong!? haha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 88
      • This is not Europe. No need to berangan & perasan lebih.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 86 Thumb down 11
        • katzy on Sep 08, 2014 at 3:32 pm

dengki la tu. haha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 15
          • that guy on Sep 08, 2014 at 6:50 pm

haha..euro plate konon. no matter how much more european u try to be u r still asian..deal with it

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
    • OMG…Wah, best time to cari makan….lol..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 14
    • MoFaz on Sep 08, 2014 at 2:11 pm

I wonder why people in Singapore could abide their regulations about plate number, tint, and many other regulations that are similar to Malaysia, but so many in Malaysia simply do whatever they wish and they want the police and jpj to accept their arrogance? try that in japan and you’ll have your car fail the mandatory bi-anual test at their ‘puspakom’.
      for those who think small plate number doesn’t kill, imagine if one driver hit you and run away, and you have trouble reading his/her plate number because it’s to small, then maybe you’ll realize why the rule is there in the first place.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 1
      • I agree with u. Been to various places, basically, i found that the cars in a country reflects the citizens’ mentality. Im not praising the western but go to uk, its hard to find a heavily modded cars with stickers & fancy accessories. Even there is any, it is tastefully done. Lol.. No matter what car u drive there, same plate number font used.

Sadly, in malaysia, the cars r comparable to third world countries in terms of modifications. Same goes to taxi.

I think because those items r available in the market, thats why ppl buy & install. These items r mostly from china. Should ban the importation of these items..

• because we are a creative lot.:) BE*713 becomes BEETLE.B*N7l34 become bentley.I booked WA*1773D to become WANTED but lose the battle.the reason?personalization.character.:) We are actually very creative.

• MoFaz on Sep 08, 2014 at 5:24 pm

Creative is good, but it must be at the right time, right place and most importantly doesn’t break any law. nobody care if you put decals or do any artworks on the car body, then why should people show the ‘creativity’ in such a small place like the plate number?
          it’s all about behavior. drivers in singapore will stop their vehicle and let pedestrians cross at zebra crossing but malaysian drivers will press their horn longgggg enough to warn the pedestrian that his car is ‘more powerful’. go read all traffic rules from any country and you’ll see pedestrian has the right to cross first. and speeding when you see yellow traffic light instead of slowing down?… no wonder our death rate per vehicle is higher than modern 1st world countries.

• Haha.yes yes I agree.was being sarcastic in earlier post.:E Its true, the law is the law.Some of us likes to bend the law,and eventually breaks it.Like the EU blue sticker, it is actually an offense but not everyone knows.They just follow the trend.Plate senget is an offense, but wahhh nampak cantik, ikuutttt.Now the current style is the digital blocks, like the watches.err..strobe light is obviously unnecessary la.Will make people confuse with emergency vehicles.

• rally_fan (Member) on Sep 08, 2014 at 5:16 pm

one word…. Enforcement or lack of it. when you know you can get away with it.. you keep on doing it. same as why there are still cars today driving around with tinting thats almost 100%… or why cars are driving around with duty not paid… and the thousands (according to recent stats) of people who drive around without licenses.. etc.

• protonsucks on Sep 08, 2014 at 2:40 pm

this strobe light may be annoying, should ban, please check on all taxi drivers also, car not properly mantain, brake light not working, SIGNAL light also rosak… EVEN WORSE!!! and claim that UBER taxi is illegal !!! pathetic!!!

• JPJ Ampu Menteri Menteri on Sep 08, 2014 at 4:08 pm

JPJ what are you doing about the Ministers who now use bigger sirens than our Agong and kick cars not giving way to the Minister. That day on Federal Highway, the Ministers car nearly bang my car because I was too slow to give him way.

Then I saw his escort guys even kicked a few cars with their leg to push them to the side of the road. Many cars were dented because of the heavy kick with military boots

Is it my fault for being too slow becaus of my old age?

What is the JPJ doing about this? It looks like Ministers now got more power than Royalty.

By the way JPJ, it is a black Vellfire with Number 38. Incident happened in Jalan Tun Razak at 29th August 1.15PM. Use the respective cameras to identify the offenders. Jalan Tun Razak has so many cameras, no problem seeing the incident happened.

Please have the courage to saman this Minister and put the saman on your web page to show us, you have the guts to do your job without fear.

Or else Ismail, better you resign. If you don’t know how to protect the motorist from harm and fear, better you resign

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
    • James Wong on Sep 08, 2014 at 9:25 pm

@jacksonljs maybe you should just go home and polish your stupid car. We rich people don’t have to Jalan Kaki home because we got a couple of cars sitting at home and We also have a few drivers. Only idiots like you would have to Jalan Kaki home because you aren’t fortunate enough to have an Alphard or Mercedes. btw I think you should get your testicles chopped off because you are a setan motorist that deserves to get your car confiscated! How the hell would you feel is JPJ took your precious Myvi?? I think you would feel quite bad since you would have no transport to go to work.

• I never knew non-standard number plates can cause death.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 20
    • trololo on Sep 08, 2014 at 10:40 am

too focus on the small number plate….eeeeeetttt emergency brake…bang ! bodoh punya jpj.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 10
    • This is for you to read their plate number and ease for u to report. Small numbet or not follow standard oso u complaint later once u get bumped.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
  • macroemdia on Sep 08, 2014 at 10:02 am

We’ll see how this goes. Those strobe lights are the annoying ones. It hurts me eyes. COnfuses the heck out of me, as it is distracting.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 0
  • Justice Char Siew Bao on Sep 08, 2014 at 10:03 am

about time, it annoys my tits off when I see these non authorized vehicles using the strobe lights seemingly trying to get the whole lane to themselves, a fine is too lenient, I would suggest that these cars to be sent to scrap yard and proceeds to be channeled to charities…

next on the list: cars with non working brake lights, headlights, indicator lights…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 1
    • alldisc on Sep 08, 2014 at 9:42 pm

and not to forget, ppl driving with fog lamps on at night even though in clear weather.

i bet JPJ can easily summon 10,000 cars nationwide each night.

in singapore, misuse of fog lamps brings a SD1,000 ticket

• works on Sep 08, 2014 at 10:06 am

why don’t jpj do the ops among their staff first. a lot of their staff have also don’t follow rules. Do not command others if theirselves cannot enforce it among them…chitt

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 8
    • What Zit Tooya on Sep 08, 2014 at 12:27 pm

how do you know that they didn’t do ops on their staff.. my mom works at two different JPJ office. and they do ops against their own staff. dont simply jump into conclusion

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 12
      • Works on Sep 08, 2014 at 1:29 pm

Please go to jpj kl and negeri sembilan and go check their staf car..i knew Few of them….many overkill engineering car used by jpj staff…i think you one of the them…your mom know to diffrentiate overkill engineering car ke? Porahhh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
  • Great Work JPJ on Sep 08, 2014 at 10:06 am

Nothing like informing the masses that they are about to do work.

Come on, you should be doing this (enforcing road safety) daily, not once in a blue moon. And when you do it regularly, there’s no need to make a fuss about it. People will see that you are doing your work. Announcing it has the opposite effect of giving crooks time to remove whatever that’s road illegal temporary while the Ops is going on.

Do the work that the rakyat paid you to do… Be responsible.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 1
    • stranger on Sep 08, 2014 at 12:06 pm

because the cronies’ vehicles are also in with these equipments

• Anti-Establishment on Sep 08, 2014 at 12:46 pm

Please – they work, “rakyat” complaint saying it’s unfair, burden to the “rakyat” bla bla bla. They back off, “rakyat” complains saying “Why don’t you do your job” bla bla bla.

Why don’t the “rakyat” just follow the rules.

• Great Work JPJ on Sep 08, 2014 at 4:13 pm

@Anti-Establishment: Tell me where can I live in this mythical Utopia that you are describing. In your dream?

By-the-by: Any idea why every country in this world has some kind of law? Any idea why God has law?

Until then, lets be pragmatic here. I’ll like there to be some semblance of enforcement. I can bloody well follow the law thank you, but not everyone’s like that.

• Nissan on Sep 08, 2014 at 10:09 am

How would an operation on number plate and strobe light help in reducing the fatal accident? What is their plan to achieve that target? Gov standard to have a target without action plan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 18
  • are number plates with the funny blue ‘EU’ stickers considered non-regulation?

• kalam on Sep 08, 2014 at 10:19 am

Yes yes. Please proceed this operation. But not just for plate number and strobe lights. They need to give the warning letter and summon to those who modified their car appearance and tail pipe. its annoying.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
  • How many death related accidents were caused by non-reg plate numbers or by strobe lights? Is there really a strong correlation?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 21
    • victor tan (Member) on Sep 08, 2014 at 11:04 am

No offense but strobe lights really can cause safety issues. Everytime ppl will be blind for a few sec if they being projected by HID, that’s you’ll see most of the ppl just jump out from the lane to let those bastard pass by.

• Justice Char Siew Bao on Sep 08, 2014 at 3:14 pm

They are dead, they can’t tell you why they died.

• works on Sep 08, 2014 at 10:39 am

make sure jpj staff follow the rules first. Do ops among yourself. sendiri x betul, sibuk nak ops pd public

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • Just do it on Sep 08, 2014 at 10:57 am

I doubt there is much correlation between number of accidents and size/design of number plates. Same goes with strobe lights, but there are a lot of complaints these strobe light causes annoyance and blind other drivers.

Either way, both are against the rules and should be enforced regularly without announcing a new Op.

• kenix tim mun chong on Sep 08, 2014 at 10:59 am

on what research that jpj were conduct said that the plate number also can killed people.. if no research, why come out such statement.. driving at night the main problem is the strobe lights.. my eyes so hurt when opposite car flashing it to me.. even sometimes the car comes from behind.. their light so bright causing me having problem to check left car whether got cars or not… so now, what is the main problem?? plate number? strobe lights?? bla bla bla..get your research correct before do any announcement.. same like the tinted window.. do research properly before announcing implementation..

• JPJ stupid……

Last time issues about tinted film…..now quite already. Next strobe light and no plate…. i think before they start anything they should educated the driver first…put tv advertisement show short clips of “danger of strobe light or the need to follow requirement of no plate regulation” then after 2 month start operation so people who do not comply get summonses.

For summonses i suggest for first time RM300, then for additional summonses they added up about 50%, say second summons is RM450 next RM675 and so on. So people will become more careful. But before anything else educate driver first by showing ads in tv, like the need to wear seatbelt, to give signal at right time, drive in proper lane.

I hope they officers will stop sleeping…..

• cendol (Member) on Sep 08, 2014 at 11:01 am

Chill out gentlemen, by Oct, the operation will be postponed pending further review.

• cendol (Member) on Sep 08, 2014 at 11:02 am

Another way is contract out standardised plate making to 1 crony company. In that way, the whole malaysia cars have to buy number plates from this particular company.
    Crony happy, Malaysians happy

• sudonano (Member) on Sep 08, 2014 at 11:07 am

Strobe lights fine, but as for the number plates, I think as long as you either use the euro style “stamped” ones, or the clean cut perspex (with sharp edges) or the more rounded regular plastic white characters should be fine.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
    • Chris (Member) on Sep 08, 2014 at 11:57 am

I beg to differ. It’s a nightmare for people with photosensitive epilepsy. I once had to stop at the side of a busy road because a pickup driver decide to install an LED strobe light at my eye level, making me all dizzy.

The last thing you want is causing a person with serious epilepsy to have a seizure and drive straight into something else just because of your strobe light. Same reason tactical flashlight has a strobe mode, a strong enough strobe effect disorients even a normal person.

If jpj can only catch one type of offense, I hope they catch the strobe lights.

• sudonano (Member) on Sep 08, 2014 at 4:38 pm

Which is why, I said it’s fine for JPJ to catch those with the LED strobe lights, but to go after the stamped plates, is a bit of a nuisance as many new cars come with them from the dealership.

• Chris (Member) on Sep 09, 2014 at 9:21 am

Big misunderstanding then, your choice of word made it sound like you think strobe lights are fine.

I didn’t know dealership gave out fancy plates other than those with their showroom/dealership name. I’d like to see such practice banned. No advertisement, no words other than numbers, and no european union plate wannabe.

• Matjava on Sep 08, 2014 at 11:10 am

The plate number that carry advertisemnet should be banned too. It is normal that the dealer will advertise their company at the bottom of the plate number with Tel Number. I have debated with salesman so that the delaer pay some e.g. rm20/momth to advertise his componay dealer name on my car but turned down. Yous accept this rm40 plat or you get it on your own.

• Anti-Fuel-Price on Sep 08, 2014 at 11:24 am

Seriously I immune because even “overload” lorries also piling on our road, treler without safety sign also, many more…… mandatory wear rear seat belt also di mansuhkan. So ini no. “Plat” can they get tough??? Sigh**** to sad to say is meaningless.

• at last no more strobe light .. hope all that bastard using it will be fine and their strobe light will be replace with the normal one.

Please Don’t forget to ensure all shop, to STOP selling or allow to install in to any civilian cars.

• how about the govt accordana with fancy number plate…above the law?

• mmaker on Sep 08, 2014 at 11:33 am

Death cases occur after driver wanted to test drive his new car up to maximum speed limit. Those who drive at 200kmh should be fine at least rm2000

• malaysian driver on Sep 08, 2014 at 11:38 am

not limited to that, they should also do ops rear spotlight. a lot of malaysian motorist are utterly stupid enough to switch on the rear spotlight during night time which cause glaring to other drivers.

the spot light/fog light used only when you have visibility less than 50m in foggy area normally in european country.

its not for the sake of make up whatsoever. from proton to all sport cars, most malaysian drivers simply switch it on showing how stupid they are.

• smokey on Sep 08, 2014 at 11:38 am

Pls confiscate blue strobe light on the spot…it make us confuse whether they are real police on duty or just stupid driver..

• Semi-Value (Member) on Sep 08, 2014 at 11:41 am

while ridiculous…i agree that plates that are unusual should get a heavy punishment. laws are laws and if we can follow it…why not everyone else. i have actually seen malaysian cars using German style plates….(white background with german font)

• Steven Yong on Sep 08, 2014 at 11:57 am

Hello.. Guys and guys again.. Girls also la…
    JPJ should check on those cars and motorbike that the rear brake light is burn out or totally no function at all.. Check also the third brake light and headlamp….
    No plate would kill people.. Very very funny…
    I using euro number plate .. Is better from those plastic number plate soon a later will TERCABUT….
    Malaysia road is damn bad..now is 21st century but the road condition same like those 1980s…
    Some traffic light is not function…
    Correct me if I wrong..
    Gov should start the process from bottom..
    : road condition..
    : traffic light.
    : lampu jalan.. Some function and some dun..

Thank you..

• Marse09 on Sep 08, 2014 at 12:22 pm

Check also the people who don’t know how to use low light instead using high beam all the way.

• well that is the only legal way to drive in dark condition, cause they never bother to fix side lamp on those road and driver need to avoid those invisible bumps and holes. I think JPJ should take care the condition of the road more than this, unless they just want to make money from those drivers with night vision problem.

• Since already ops, why not also
    1. catch road hoggers. Esp those Nissan or Hyundai or Kenari or… that go less than 60kmph on the right lane with gap of 1 light years from the car in front of it.
    2. catch after market annoying BRL (Beng Running Light), including Camry and Vios TRD. DRL should be well integrated into the headlamps and not over bright.

• try to drive north south highway i dont see any hyundai noy giving way. only the arrogant japanese n local car drivers like to hog the road. even VW will not hog the road

• Maserati(Official) on Sep 08, 2014 at 3:19 pm

I couldnt agree more

the lights on k5 and cerato is so ugly and distracting i pulled up a few times on the highway to puke, and had to take mc the next day

not only are kimchis smelly but they are unpleasant looking as well

ban korean cars

• simple_g on Sep 08, 2014 at 12:52 pm

This is kinda confusing, i’ve seen a few articles said that the JPJ will hunt people who used illegal lights but which lights? One said strobe light, one said running lights and another one said accessory lights. This really confusing me and since when running lights cause accidents?

The Europeans installed running lights to their cars because it increases the safety. Now a lot of car company is installing them including Proton. Seriously? The malaysian road rules really need an update.

• im sorry to say but those authorities in malaysia are all with ancient mind, all canot accept new things, canot cope with world standards.tats y malaysia tak maju, n while singapore us already far ahead.. DRL is safety standard now.

• HafizJoe Dorifuto on Sep 08, 2014 at 12:57 pm

Strobe light & nombor plet tidak menyebabkan kemalangan…benda kecik macam tu pun JPJ nak kacau…JPJ patut ambik tahu yang masalah lebih besar lagi…seperti lori muatan lebih, bas yang pandu laju…lesen tamat tempoh. Msalah kakitangan JPJ sendiri pun buat salah…nak mengajar orang, ajar la diri sendiri ikut peraturan/ undang2…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 12
  • siapa yang pantau penjualan aksesori mcm tu? selagi ada jual maka ada yang beli.

• the problem is they don’t fix side lamp and holes on the road, jpj should understand why they put additional lights, use brighter lights. Driving at highway is fine, but did you try on those old roads without side lamp? with original yellow lamp you see shit.

• nabill (Member) on Sep 08, 2014 at 1:42 pm

Jpj is not serious obviously, either bcos of their gross in competency or thy jus dont give a damn….
    Thrs are trizilion things that are iritating in our roads, jpj exactly kno what thy are, but thy dont do much abt it, dont tell me lack of manpower n all that garbage, thy have a big budget, thy can hire more officers n implement the thousands of laws that are written somewer bt dont give a crap about…
    Give higher summons, make it deduct ur license points, block your insurance, prevent roadtax renewal if nt paid, dont give discounts on summons,
    The reason why the public use those strobe lights n all those annoying thing is because the utter lawlessness thats everywhere,public know thy can get away with it, if caught, the classic “settlement” on the spot wil get u away with murder even….
    The sad truth is that thrs no hope….. Only when road users start to b affraid of jpj thats when we can b proper humans on the roads

• ns88aq on Sep 08, 2014 at 2:15 pm

Dear JPJ, this is 2014. You people are still using the: number plate specification under kaedah 6 Kaedah-kaedah kenderaan Motor (Pendaftaran dan Pelesenan) 1959. That’s a 55 years old specification. Wake up.. I can’t believe this is happening in this country which is supposed to be a negara maju in 6 years time!

• prevezto on Sep 08, 2014 at 2:16 pm

you know what, the only things and the best into jpj knowledge was, setting road block during midnight under the bridge, after road corner to catch ghost riders and documentation eg ownership transfer, roadtax, license and bla bla.. road condition, it all JKR problems.. AP problem, that1 MITI work.. so apa lagi JPJ tau buat?

• superdriver on Sep 08, 2014 at 2:27 pm

Yes its about time to get these bastards with the lights, excuse me for the language but honestly these people are real bastards for installing and flashing these lights and HID lights blinding the drivers in the front when they are going at 110 kmh.Risking the lives of the families and children and innoccent people on the north south. Real typical selfish and tidak apa attitude. You cannot do that , seriously imagine your family member and your loved ones going at a certain speed on the lane and you come up their ass and without any remorse shoot the lights into their rear view mirros and front mirrors like an assh*le. He or she cant see and most likely startle and stops the car and you slam straight into them.Why he/she stop the car , because he cant see the front let alone the back.

I swear JPJ and the police must revoke their license and force them to retake the exams again. Its nothing bad, its just re tutoring the idiots that this is bad and you should have learned it in the first place.

There is no excuse for this kind of behavior and light application. It killed Diana for fck sake.

Just because it fucking looks cool and you can afford the price tag to scare people doesnt mean its you should do it else everyone would start strapping it on their car.

Forgive me for the long abusive comments, it should hurt the people in the heart who does it which is better than endangering the lives of others.

• Jebonr (Member) on Sep 08, 2014 at 2:37 pm

If it for good cause. I support.

• xoxox on Sep 08, 2014 at 2:51 pm

lol, another one?how is the tint negotiation case?

• Bay MH on Sep 08, 2014 at 2:53 pm

Strobe Lights and DRL are different things.

Yes, ban those strobe lights…summon those police wannabe a.k.a unregulated Marshall

• Jhon Tan on Sep 08, 2014 at 2:55 pm

IMHO best for JPJ to issue number plates like MOST develop countries. Why do we stick to this age old practice, I don’t know, but it sure does more harm than good. I think in the USA they get their number plates courtesy of the Dept of Corrections, in Msia its Jab Penjara laaa. You get new plates every time you renew your road tax, that way number plates remain current and readable by ALL law enforcement officers.

• joyce on Sep 08, 2014 at 3:21 pm

Please check for tinted glass too. Some so dark & will cause danger to motorist

• guilt79 on Sep 08, 2014 at 4:58 pm

Agreed. Some big cars with heavy tinted, can’t differentiate car and motorcycle.

• LA Law on Sep 08, 2014 at 3:42 pm

I am still lost as to why can’t JPJ standardized our number plates? When I was living in the States, I bought a car and number plates came in the mail 2 weeks later. All the number plates were done by prison convicts (one of their many tasks) and even though they all looked the same with same size and same fonts it looks much better than our highly stylized plates. To make a license plate here, you walk into an accessories shop with lots of choice…font style, font size, even carbon fiber background are available. Its like ordering food from a menu. Sadly their creativity are wasted on ways to make more money from us which in return gets us in trouble with the law. I am all for standardized license plates. Hope it’ll happen one day.

• Why do people put the blue “EU” on their number plate? Are they not proud to be Malaysians?? – any further comments on this very welcome.

• transformer on Sep 08, 2014 at 8:58 pm

number plate has nothing to do with high accident rate, jaguh kampung milo-tin without ACTIVE SAFETY DOES!!!

• transformer on Sep 08, 2014 at 8:58 pm

“modified” headlight blinds other road user should be fined or return their license!

• transformer on Sep 08, 2014 at 9:00 pm

same to “BLACK TINTED” causing obstruction front view of rear driver… rear driver can’t see IF the front-most car brakes or not(not applicable to TALL VEHICLE, eg. Saga back, Hilux front)

• magee3 on Oct 09, 2016 at 7:32 pm

I don’t agree.