Malaysians need to start putting their children in child car seats when travelling in their cars

Nissan-Elgrand-Review-68

While browsing my social media news feeds during the Raya break, I saw a rather sad news piece posted by someone I know about a five month old baby who died in a car accident in Dungun because the baby was flung out of the car as there was no proper restraining done. The baby was being held by the grandmother in the rear seat of the car, instead of sitting in a baby chair.

There are no such thing as child seat laws in Malaysia. Even the requirement to use rear seat belts was only introduced in 2009, and adoption as well as enforcement remain poor. Forget airbags – the primary safety feature in the case of a car accident is the seatbelt. Airbags are only meant to be a supplementary restraint system, hence the acronym SRS. But a seatbelt is meant to safely hold an adult body in place – it will not work for the small body of an infant, toddler or a small child.

It’s been proven time and time again – the statistics show that a child who is in a vehicle that gets into an accident will face the possibility of significantly more injuries or even fatality than a child who is in a child seat. A recent crash test conducted by MIROS shows an adult passenger will not have the required strength to prevent an infant or a child from being thrown forward during a collision at any speed applied.

Yes, no matter how strong you think you are, your arms are not as good as proper belts. According to AAM, an unsecured infant weighing 7 kg a crash speed of just 50km/h will be thrown forward at a force that’s equivalent to an adult falling from a five-(5) storey building!

However, obviously there are many who simply still do not use chlid seats. Why do parents and guardians continue to let their loved ones travel in an unsafe manner?

There are a few reasons for this. Here are some of the usual suspects.

1. Child seats are too expensive

With the rising cost of living these days, some parents choose to forgo child seats. However, should we really compromise on a child’s safety?

Child seats can be had for as low as RM150 these days. I even saw one going for RM97 after discount recently. That’s cheaper than most people spend on cigarettes in a single month. For these more affordable “Made in Malaysia” child seats, just make sure they are SIRIM approved.

An alternative would be to look on local classifieds websites or even parenting forums or Facebook groups to buy good condition used ones. You also need to check if the child seat has been in an accident before as the structure might be damaged. Don’t buy something too old as the plastic may no longer be structurally sound. And give it a good wash, of course.

Whatever you do, DON’T buy the item below thinking that it is a low cost solution! It may be cheap, but it’s just a bunch of straps and fabric stitched together to appear like a makeshift “child seat”.

warning-makeshift-child-seat-500

2. Child seats take up too much space (i.e. my car is too small)

Unfortunately this is a real problem for many and it is a problem that runs much too deep to be able to fix easily. Unlike a lot of the other reasons here that are ‘first world problems’, this one is not. In a nutshell, a safe mode of transportation is basically still out of each for many.

A child seat will take up an entire adult’s seating space, and a lot of people can only afford a car that can seat five max. In fact, getting roofed transport like an old Kelisa or Kenari instead of going around on a motorcycle is already a big upgrade. Our public transport system is not really up to the mark yet, so you have to bring your kids around with a car – if you’re lucky enough to have a car in the first place. Otherwise it’s a balancing act on the motorcycle for you.

Interestingly, the government actually wants people to have more kids. Women, Family and Community Development Minister, Datuk Seri Rohani Abdul Karim told the press recently that the government was studying proposals to give incentives for Malaysians to have more kids in order to address a rapid decline in births.

The 2012 number is 2.1 children per woman compared to 3 per woman in 2000, and Rohani says this will cause problems with a shortage of workforce in Malaysia in 20 to 30 years. But how are we going to fit all these kids into the small 5 seater sedans or hatchbacks that a lot of people are limited to in terms of affordability?

A search for 7 seater cars on CarBase.my reveals that the cheapest 7 seater in the country is the Perodua Alza 1.5 Standard MT, which costs RM50,837.50. But the cheapest 5 seater is the Perodua Viva 660 BX MT, at an incredibly low price of RM21,144.80. That’s a massive, massive price difference!

3. I don’t need it, I drive really carefully when my child is in the car

Anyone who really believes this needs a reality check because no matter how carefully you drive, you are sharing the road with plenty of other motorists and not everyone is as careful and conservative as you.

Imagine you’re driving with your family on a rainy day, the roads are wet, and a car spins out right in front of you. Everything happens so fast that you’re unable to react and you cannot avoid slamming into him. I bet at that moment you’ll wish you’d have put your child in a child seat.

4. My child does not want to sit in a child seat

This would not even be an issue if the government makes child seats a legal requirement. As a result, many parents who don’t face any of the problems above still choose to carry their child in their arms.

I believe that this is just a matter of the child getting used to sitting in a car seat from the very beginning. My son is 20 months old now and he has always been in a car seat. He graduated from a rear facing Maxi Cosi Pebble to a rear facing Britax Max-Fix before he turned one year old and still sits in his car seat until today.

What we do is try to cap car journeys to 45 minutes max, and if he really gets agitated we’ll stop somewhere for a break. We’ve done KL to Penang and KL to Singapore journeys with him completely sitting still in the car seat.

5. Who needs child seats? I got child bed!

ridiculous-car-bed

There are also parents who want the best for their child and misguidedly decide that a child seat is too restrictive and uncomfortable for the child. The comfort of their child is the number one priority for them. As a result, ridiculous things like this “car bed” sell like hot cakes on online shops.

I don’t want to even begin to imagine what would happen to a child lying down on this type of “car bed” in an accident. The shocking thing is that it seems to getting massive amount of shares, likes and ‘interested’ comments this item is getting on social media, this means there are a lot of people interested in buying it.

6. My wife’s arms are as good as the belts in a car seat

Like we said earlier, tests show that an adult passenger will not have the required strength to prevent an infant or a child from being thrown forward during a collision at any speed applied.

It’s simple physics. Trying to hold a small baby in a car crash at 50km/h would be like trying to lift 8 bags of cement at the same time. It’s simply not possible.

7. My child is big enough not to sit in a car seat

Like we said earlier, seat belts in cars are designed for adult bodies. Even if it appears that your child can wear a seatbelt properly, the seat belt could be sitting on areas like their tummy or neck, which are not the strongest parts of their bodies, instead of where seat belts are supposed to lie – their hips, chest and shoulder.

In the UK, there are legal requirements in place where a child has to first use a Group 0+ seat (up to 13kg), then move to a Group 1 seat (9-18kg), and then use a booster seat up to 12 years old or taller than 135cm. We do not have such laws but this would be a good guideline. If you want to save money, you can go for ‘convertible’ seats that combine both Group 0+ and Group 1 sizes in one seat.

This is of course just the minimum. Since everyone’s body is different, if adult seat belts don’t seem to rest on the right places on your child even after the thresholds, continue to use your booster seat.

Do I need ISOFIX?

No you don’t need ISOFIX. You can use a child seat that is secured by a seat belt too. But a child seat is only safe if it is secured properly, otherwise it will just become a projectile in a car crash.

AA surveys show that child seats that are fitted with the adult seatbelts are typically 70% to 80% misfitted with around 30% being seriously misfitted.

ISOFIX’s purpose is to fix this problem. It minimises installation errors, but if your car does not have ISOFIX points, you just need to make sure you learn how to secure your child seat properly.

For your next car, use CarBase.my’s advanced search feature to look for cars with ISOFIX points.

This is what a child goes through in an accident

I think watching what happens in these videos would say it best. Once you’ve decide to put your child in a car seat where he or she belongs, you might want to read up on front facing versus rear facing child seats – these videos will help show you the difference. A child should be kept in a rear-facing child seat for as long as possible before graduating to a front-facing one.

I believe in something called “extended rear facing” where I intend to keep my child in a rear-facing position for as long as possible. I went through a lot of hassle parallel-importing the Britax Max Fix that I use myself because no one carried it locally – it is pretty huge, supports ISOFIX, and fits a toddler up to 18 kg in a rear-facing position, which is longer than usual. You can keep a child rear facing up to 4 or 5 years old, if the situation is right.

I hope that this article helps raise some awareness on the importance of child seats in Malaysia. If you know someone who has a child and doesn’t use child seats, please share this with them.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Aero (Member) on Sep 20, 2014 at 6:51 pm

Excellent read ! The team should continue writing articles like this ! If I ever have a kid, I’ll definitely put the little rascal in a baby seat, whether he/she likes it or not ! Safety first, always.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 233 Thumb down 6
    • REAR FOG IDIOTS on Sep 20, 2014 at 9:34 pm

Malaysian should NOT USE their rear fog lamps too. Its nothing cool about them but plain annoying. Those of you who are doing it and reading this… Stop it.. as you potray yourself as a KERA BAWAH TEMPURUNG. Obvious you never been driving overseas, if you did, you will be pulled over and slap with a hefty fine !

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 175 Thumb down 38
      • Frog lamp on Sep 20, 2014 at 9:48 pm

Bos, I feel the rear frog lamp very important, because sometimes when a heavy rain , you need open it also, for the rear coming car can caution you, especially at the highway. This can reduce the risk of accident.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 77
        • kzm (Member) on Sep 21, 2014 at 10:28 am

turn on during rain/foggy day la not all the time.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 121 Thumb down 10
      • deana on Sep 20, 2014 at 10:02 pm

KERA BAWAH TEMPURUNG? a big tempurung or a small kera..hehe..it’s katak bawah tempurung..but if ur trying to create a new modern proverb to indicate a different meaning, ignore my comment, thx :P

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 87 Thumb down 11
        • Idiots at MAI and JPJ on Sep 23, 2014 at 10:35 am

This is so true. Thank you guys for writing this article. The corrupted idiots at MAI and JPJ should be having videos to educate the public on safety of child seat but they are more interested in filling their pockets full of corrupted money.

Please lah JPJ and MAI. Stop being filthy corrupted. Don’t always fill your pockets with sinful and corrupted money. Don’t spend hundreds of thousands going overseas in big groups conducting “Lawatan Sambil Belajar”.

Do courses at home. Show videos to the public. Those idiots in JPJ and MAI, do nothing and get fat cat salaries. Have road shows and show people the importance of child seats.

MAI and JPJ boss should be sacked. They must take the initiative to educate the public about child safety and not just sit in their fat chairs warming it up. Go above your job description and do something for Malaysia. It may not be within your department’s scope but you can always do it for the betterment of society and Malaysia as a whole.

Real lazy and good for nothing leaders in MAI and JPJ

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 15
      • Agree on Sep 20, 2014 at 10:13 pm

i strongly agree with u…but i think most people dun know they switch on the rear fog lamp or some even dun know their car got such thing called rear fog lamps…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 6
      • They’ve never really bothered me, since most of them are fixed so low to the ground. Now driving with ONLY front fog lamps, those are dangerous. Fog lamps don’t really have the range of your head lamps, since they’re supposed to illuminate the ground. You’ll have a shorter visible distance and thus reaction time.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 10
        • kadajawi (Member) on Sep 20, 2014 at 11:28 pm

Malaysians simply need to learn how to properly use the lights on their cars, what the purpose is (hint: It’s seeing where you are going and to tell others you’re there/coming in a non-blinding way), and to be considerate. It’s a very egoistic society, where “looking good” is more important than if others are suffering because of that.

I flash my headlights (2 short flashes) at everyone who blinds me, and everyone else should do the same. Sometimes it’s as simple as the other person having forgotten to turn off high beam, or not having adjusted the level of his headlights properly. Those will be thankful of the reminder. Or maybe they’ll start wondering and get their lights fixed. And if they are just jerks, well, screw them, they should be blinded until they can’t stand it.

Likewise I flash people who have forgotten to turn on their headlights, sometimes I forget that too and am thankful for the reminder.

If it’s the car behind me I flash my rear fog light.

I have met few people who blind me with their rear fog lights, but in that case, high beam works too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 3
        • RearFoglights on Feb 27, 2015 at 3:42 pm

Rear fog light, not the front fog lights. It’s damn irritating especially the new Vios owners….it’s not cool man with the bright red lights.

• Very true… An add on…please please please do not switch on your hazard light when heavy rain. It’s very dangerous as people might not know you are stop on the road or moving. Just headlights will do. Any driving school tought you that or you have never been to one???

• GT3 (Member) on Sep 21, 2014 at 12:09 am

I see the confusion here. I think what you mean is people shouldn’t turn on their rear fog lamp on NORMAL WEATHER night.
        But if during heavy fog or heavy rain, the rear fog lamp does really helps.
        Nevertheless, some idiot drivers doesn’t even know whether their car is equipped with rear fog lamp or not, they’d be just like, “oh I’ll turn on all of my lights while driving because it makes my car looks cool.”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 3
        • Agree on Sep 21, 2014 at 12:24 am

True…the main purpose for the rear fog lamp is used when heavy rain, haze, fog…but they r not, js like u say, on everything…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 5
      • complainman on Sep 21, 2014 at 12:26 am

Whats bother me is in sabah, some use front fog lights as their night lights instead of the headlights.. It may provide some form of illumination but the fog lights are designed for low visibility.. And some aftermarket fog lights are adjustables, some shine higher than high beam headlights.. Kinda irritating..

• riz (Member) on Sep 21, 2014 at 2:19 am

When child safety topic changed to rear fog lamp …;P
        Child car seat are important,
        Even when u think u are driving carefully and slow,
        u never know if other road user gonna crash on you..
        so safety first …

as happened to my friend, his car fell into the ravine when a car failed to pass a buss and hit my friend’s car on the left into the ravine.. luckily, just small injury, the car is run away after what happened.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 1
      • Clubyxx on Sep 21, 2014 at 10:03 pm

Rear fog is must.SHALL INSTALL REAR FOG LAMP. MANDATORY FOR SAFETY

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
      • Clubuxx on Sep 21, 2014 at 10:06 pm

I live in UK…what say u idiot? Rear fog lamp it must. U talking rubbish. ITS MANDATORY

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 13
      • cuaca kat malaysia ni berbeza dibanding di luar negara, heavy rain, kabus tebal etc kna la pasang fog lamp…tapi kat malaysia ni ramai yg bangang pakai HID spotlight tu mmg annoying, silau mata

• cankersaurus on Feb 27, 2015 at 4:29 pm

One good article definitely.. I totally agree with your comments. Safety first always. Great! BUT I sense that you haven’t got any kid or even still single.. because when you do have them (in Msia especially) then you’ll realize that it’s easier said than done whenever those rascals overpowered you. cheers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 8
      • How a child responds is how a parent teaches. My 2 kids (16 &15 now) have never been in a moving car without any restraints. From the day they leave the hospital at birth, it was car seats all the way until booster seats and now seat belts. They were told that the car cannot move when they are not in a car seat and we made it a point never to start driving if child is not properly restrained. When a child is not given a choice, it is a way of life.

• June Miller on May 01, 2015 at 10:04 am

I don’t think you can have finished the article, because he states that he has a child’s car seat, so he must have a child. Just because you may have trouble with your own children, don’t assume that everyone allows the same behaviour with theirs. As for saying “in Malaysia especially” why do you assume that parents are less responsible and less caring for their children in Msia than in any other country?

• virgopearl on May 05, 2015 at 4:45 pm

I have a child and I know the tantrums and refusal to sit in the car seat or buggy. It’s up to us parents & adults to teach them, convince them even force them into it because it involves their life. The responsibility to make such decisions fall on the parents.
        Anyone who says otherwise are unfit parents full stop.

• TQ for this timely article. I have witnessed a driving father with a toddler on his lap and I have never felt such strong urge at stopping my car and ask him to on the spot buang his anak into the drain. It is difficult to understand this sort of mentality. And I don’t even have children myself.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 3
    • policeman on Sep 20, 2014 at 10:31 pm

That is a way to stop reproduction of dumbasses. Kill them before they grow old.

We had a perfect population control mechanism. Now with this article, you expect an increase in population. Thanks a lot.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 30
    • Parent on Sep 21, 2014 at 10:29 pm

I was once being in your shoes when i don’t have any kid, yet, at the time. Now i have three and i can perfectly understand the situation.

You may not understand this, but i think in time you will, that sometimes, little kids can be a pain in the ass when it comes to driving.

As much as i teach them to sit properly, the urge of a toddler can never be restraint from putting their hands onto the wheel, imitating what seems to be like a fun thing to do.

When these time comes, i properly assessed on all risk associated with having my kid sitting on my lap, and for most of the time doing that, i will observe the traffic very carefully, driving not more than 50km/h with wild eyes observing left right and behind.

Those not having any kids at the moment, i know you will not agree, but in time you will realize that it is more dangerous driving with kids going around throwing tantrum just because they can’t put their hand on those wheel.

Whatever it is, i think with proper risk assessment, it is allowable, for short journey, slow drive and tactful skill in managing the kids with them on your lap. At the end of the day, if its meant to be, then it can’t be avoided. Fate is fate, no matter how you look at it.

I don’t ask you to agree with me, just my 2cents opinion, both being in that side of the court myself. :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 108
      • Common Sense on Sep 22, 2014 at 2:04 pm

Sorry, but you’re being foolish. Plain and simple. Even after reading the article (and I assume you did read it) you still think it’s ok or justified to drive with your child on the lap?

I am a parent and I never compromise on my little one’s safety, as “fun” or “safe” as I may think my driving is.

All it takes is one accident and your child could be injured or killed. Think about it for a while. Change your ways before it’s too late.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 5
      • halryue on Sep 22, 2014 at 9:51 pm

Throwing tantrums? Just give them a toy or a tablet so they can play, its just simple..if they REALLY like to imitate handling the steering, buy a toy looks like a steering, we need just to be creative tho…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 4
      • Dear “Parent”

You are either deluded or oblivious (or both).

Do you know what happens if the airbag is deployed while the child is sitting on your lap? I have read of instances where airbag deployment has decapitated a child!

Your child’s life should be worth so much more than you not being able to deal with their “tantrums”. Grow up.

Shame on you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 4
      • jwrx (Member) on Nov 18, 2014 at 8:57 am

I have 2 kids, both are in child seats when i travel. its not by “magic” they seat inside properly, the same way u train your kids to go toilet, to not fall down stairs, u need to train from young to sit in child seats. Both threw tantrums for WEEKS…cry and cry and cry till face red and puffy. But you do whats best for you kid…now my eldest is 4.5, she wont even let me start the car if she is not buckled up, its a habit to her “Daaaddyyy….you havnt put on my belt yet”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 2
      • jesse on May 02, 2015 at 2:04 am

i agree and at the same time disagree…
        I agree that if you’re not yet a parent or a parent of 1 or 2 children,you will feel it’s too risky or these peoples didn’t think of the safety of their family..
        but as a father of 4,driving a Myvi ( it’s all that i can afford for the time being),it’s quite impossible to have baby carseat for each of my children..it will take all the space and my wife can’t fit in..i tried putting one in my car..the problem that cames is they were fighting for it…to make it fair,i didn’t put anymore…

but i have to disagree about putting the child on the lap while driving..it’s too dangerous..my kids always want to sit on my lap during a ride,but i only allow them when i stop at traffic light..as soon as the light turns green,i ask them to get back to their seats immidiately …so i disagree with this one..

• You are just plain irresponsible. Who asked you to have so many kids when you have no means of transporting them safely? No family planning.

• June Miller on May 03, 2015 at 7:30 am

I can’t believe this!”to make it FAIR I didn’t put anymore”!!!! I’d say that what is not fair is to risk your children’s lives. Not only that you are allowing your children to sit on your lap at traffic lights thinking that is okay? What happens if some other idiot driver slams into the back of your vehicle while you are stopped there? One dead child, that’s what happens. Some people shouldn’t be allowed to have kids!

• Maseratits on Sep 20, 2014 at 6:57 pm

Very interesting read. Certainly points out that us Malaysians really need to put safety first when it comes to driving.

I think it’s a great thing to see Proton putting safety as their priority and even including stability control in the base model of their upcoming B-segment hatchback.

Such a shame that UMW still dare to sell their Toyota cars stripped of important safety features like stability control.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 5
  • cendol (Member) on Sep 20, 2014 at 7:12 pm

How often have we seen father and mother on a Kap Chai sandwiching 1 baby in between and another baby in the front hugging the motorbike handle?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 8
    • deana on Sep 20, 2014 at 10:06 pm

sometimes they have no choices, very poor family..n before u suggest to use public transport, u should try use it everyday for a month to get anywhere to realize how awful our public transportation is..plus for a long journey,it’s getting expensive..life sux

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 90 Thumb down 5
      • Burong on Sep 21, 2014 at 9:40 am

4 ppl in the bike. yesterday just saw 5 ppl in the bike, with one toddle hanging at the front with her mother. All with no helmet. I asked my kid to count and confirm 5 again.

If u r poor, it doesn’t mean your life is cheap. I don’t think she will come across this site, but hope nothing happen.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 5
        • Kekuda on Nov 18, 2014 at 5:46 pm

Strangely, I never heard 5 people without any helmet on motorcycle die in an accident. But solo rider, there is a lot.

• Man Lancer GTE on Sep 20, 2014 at 7:18 pm

The info will be very much appreciated by most of us. Hope the current trend will be changed. Thanks to you, Paul.

• eimsperfume on Sep 20, 2014 at 11:56 pm

Yes we are hoping for the changes in Malaysia. Expensive vehicles price. Expensive aa lot of things.. Many will not have the purchase power to buy safer vehicles and safety equipment. I blame High living cost what make the birth rate lower than before.

Anyway, I thank u very much for wnlightened me about rear facing child seats. I thought rear facing is not good. And awkward. Hurm..

I have 3 childseats on rear seat of my saga blm. I guess rear facing those seats will not fit..how?

• zainol on Sep 21, 2014 at 9:09 pm

i have the same issue to change from front facing to rear facing. any suggestion.

• HANI Selamat on Sep 22, 2014 at 11:58 am

You have to choose your carseats well, to make sure that they are slim enough to fit 3 in a row. It depends on the age, weight and height of your kids. Some carseats to look at include Diono Radian, Combi Coccoro, Clek Foonf. Look at American carseats rather than European, because European carseat standards insist that you cannot put 3 carseats in a row unless the vehicle specifies you can (big cars), and therefore you’d have to buy a new car. American standards are not as demanding as European’s, so they do have carseat designs that can fit 3 in a row.

While we should rear-face our kids as long as possible, the key word here is POSSIBLE. If there is no space to rear-face all 3 kids, then rear-face the smallest 2. If there is no space to rear-face 2 kids, then rear-face the smallest 1. The one thing you MUST do is make sure ALL the kids are in carseats that are appropriate for their maturity, weight and height.

Here’s a forum where Americans share what carseats they successfully fit 3 across http://www.car-seat.org/showthread.php?t=33226&page=44

• Obviously (Member) on Sep 20, 2014 at 7:20 pm

Thanks for the PSA, Paul. Your efforts to raise safety awareness during drives do not go unappreciated.

• autobarbarian on Sep 20, 2014 at 7:21 pm

this is the first time i have seen this “child bed”. A disaster waiting to happen. a comfortable, soft.. plush disaster. Pls pm me the link to buy. thks.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
    • GT3 (Member) on Sep 21, 2014 at 12:16 am

Some things are just have no right to exist, like the stupid ‘child bed’. Another thing is the ‘seatbelt card’ or whatever it is called; to stop the warning sound when drivers didn’t fasten their seatbelt. Big facepalm for that.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
  • I cannot agree more. Rear passengers seat belt law also fail to up hold not to mention child seat. When comes to inertia, both rear passengers can cause harmful injury not just to themselves but also the front passengers.

• hukaka on Sep 20, 2014 at 7:46 pm

i always support this move and i do put proper car seat for my toddler,and 1 half ears old baby,but he always manage to escape his his self while i was in driving.
    hahaha.

• kadajawi (Member) on Sep 20, 2014 at 11:31 pm

Maybe you haven’t strapped him in there good enough then. Remember that he needs to stay in there in the event of a crash, which is very violent. If he can free himself, chances are in a crash he’ll fly forward too (unless he knows how to unbuckle…).

• terryhendra on Sep 20, 2014 at 7:54 pm

I have always used child seats for both of my kids since infants. Please set a budget of at least RM500 for a reliable one which can face both forwards and backwards. My mothercare unit lasted 7 years with me and it is now been donated to a close friend who will be using it for his newborn.

Kids might refuse it at first, but they will get use to it after a while. They have now graduated into booster seats and will continue to do so until they outgrow it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 2
    • That's great but... on Sep 20, 2014 at 9:02 pm

Remember that childseats are made of plastic and they have a finite shelf life.

Please check that the plastic is still safe and has not passed it expired date. You might be risking a child life rather than saving a feel bucks passing on a 7 years carseat to a pal. Plastic becomes brittle as it age.

Be aware.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
    • Leena on Feb 27, 2015 at 10:35 pm

Yes, car seats has expiration date. The recommended usage is not more than 6 years for possibility of plastic degradation. It is very important to check the expiration date before using a pre-loved baby car seat.

• kazai on Sep 20, 2014 at 7:58 pm

I use car seat for my 6 years old son. But people even adult start to make fun of him. Dah besar pun guna ni lagi.

Need to change Malaysian mentality about safety.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 1
    • ahmadjohnson97 on Sep 20, 2014 at 11:06 pm

True. Well, in my case, my friends laugh at me when i’m putting on rear seat belts.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 0
    • kadajawi (Member) on Sep 20, 2014 at 11:34 pm

Yes, there are Malaysians who make fun of safe behavior. It’s sad. Those who are victims to such idiots, stand your ground. One suggestion when fighting with people who don’t like to wear seatbelts… just brake very, very hard, suddenly, with no warning (of course make sure it is safe to do so, and it doesn’t have to be very fast, 50 will do). Watch them fly forward, hurting themselves. Then explain that a crash is much more violent than that, much more abrupt.

Also, I hope you protect your son from such idiots, he shouldn’t be mobbed because of his seat booster.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 0
      • Car just don’t move until everyone on board belts up. No need to be endangering anyone by theatrics. Anyone who disagrees with buckling up, can get out and walk.

• kadajawi (Member) on Sep 23, 2014 at 12:55 am

A nice demonstration may help though. I’ve had people buckle up before driving, and once I’m driving they unbuckle again. Or they pretend to be buckling up by holding the seatbelt.

• GT3 (Member) on Sep 21, 2014 at 12:19 am

Kazai and ahmadjohnson97: glad to know that we’re not alone. When I fasten rear seat belt my friend would ask like, “man, seriously?” I could just make a straight selamba face…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
      • sonyman on Sep 21, 2014 at 9:15 pm

respect all those with the proper mind of safety,

as for your friends. You just tell them, the belt is there for a reason, so use it.

• true especially in taxis, but sometimes they hide the buckle. the belt is there but when I pulled it to buckle up there is nowhere to buckle, so I just hold on to it the whole journey.

• June Miller on May 01, 2015 at 9:49 am

Holding a seat belt is the same as not having one. If I get into a taxi with no working belt, I get out again & get another taxi. And I don’t understand why people, even so-called ‘friends’ making fun of someone using a belt, why would you worry about that? They’re obviously not as smart as you.

• Anti-Establishment on Sep 20, 2014 at 7:59 pm

Actually, as a last resort the seatbelt will be of some help according to a study done by Steven D. Levitt (of Freakonomics fame – in fact he had presented it in the Superfreakonomics book). According to the study, statistically the probability of the kind of damage which the safety seat can help reduce is insignificant for most accident cases. It’s certainly better than having an unrestrained child.

Better yet, Malaysians with kids need to stop driving recklessly, especially when you’re transporting kids. I’ve seen parents driving without a care in the world and I’ve seen too many instances of parents letting their kids STAND THROUGH THE SUNROOF! An attitude change goes a very long way.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 7
  • shawal on Sep 20, 2014 at 9:00 pm

Can i just wrap them in a sleeping bag like a kebab and secure it with seat belts….?

But if the car caught fire….then itll be a wee bit difficult…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
    • Shawal – so how are you going to secure the sleeping bag and prevent it from sliding or slipping then?

• Thank you Paul for highlighting this issue. We really need to do something seriously about this. There should be absolutely NO excuse for parents out there not to have baby seat.

The government and relevant authorities must take this seriously. Enough with third class mentality Malaysians driving first class cars.

Laws for child seat must be put into place and enforced (seat belts included). People can whine and bitch about high toll and fuel price etc. but when it comes to safety, they should just shut up and follow the laws.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
  • azhar on Sep 20, 2014 at 9:26 pm

using it for my 9 months old daughter since she was a month old..intend to use it till she 3-4years old..most people that i have met said they intend to use baby car seat but abandon it when their child kept on crying when they put them to the seat

• kangkong on Sep 20, 2014 at 11:32 pm

I put my kid on it when he was out from hospital at 3 days old. He did cry even 6-7 months, but crying is much safer then your kid flying out from your car in an accident.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
    • kadajawi (Member) on Sep 20, 2014 at 11:49 pm

Don’t stop using the seat just because the child is crying. It’s in their best interest. And it gets them used to seatbelts, which is a good thing. Overseas kids and adults put them on themselves, it’s like clothes there. Sit inside a car, put on seatbelts. Go outside, put on clothes. Without it it just feels wrong to them.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
    • kangkong on Sep 21, 2014 at 3:54 pm

My.1year old younger son no more crying in the seat. My 3 and half years old elder son will remind who ever not fastening seat belt in the car to fasten the seat belt.

• choky on Sep 20, 2014 at 9:32 pm

really hate ppl drive with their kid at steering wheel.. moron!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 1
  • Fadzlan Failul on Sep 20, 2014 at 9:43 pm

One suggestion. What if we could give the newlyweds a child carseat as a wedding gift instead of those set of pinggan mangkuk and gelas air. If its expensive, pool the money from few friends. RM150 divide by 3 persons will cost you RM50 per person which I’d say ok for contribution on wedding gifts. Btw, POV from normal Malay wedding. Not sure about the others.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 1
    • Fadzlan Failul on Sep 21, 2014 at 7:31 am

Guys, there are a lots of child car seat in the market. I am trying to buy one as a wedding gift. Any suggestion on which to choose? Sirim certified, reliable etc etc. Price range up to RM200. I could google and try to learn how to choose etc etc. But am sure the readers would have inputs on where to buy and which to choose. Thanks in advance.

• Fadzlan – Anakku has SIRIM certified seats..but sometimes to get them cheap you need to look out for warehouse sales. The one I bought was RM250 and could (theoretically) support a child until 14kgs.

• unforgiven on Sep 20, 2014 at 9:57 pm

Yes, again, it’s education. Knowledge = Power!

• enforcement is poor..even among the enforcers their awareness about child safety also poor..thats lead to what currently happening..do u ever get stopped by police while driving with your kids not fastened. ..if you r on australia or japan it is yes..here if kids having pole dancing at the back enforcers might think its ok becoz they also doing it..I am not downgrading the enforcers but its the reality..

• sudonano (Member) on Sep 20, 2014 at 10:06 pm

Spot on.

I for one grew up with a child seat from the start, in fact for us it was very simple, child seat or no go. And trust me, as a kid, no go is not an option, so you’d suck it and sit in the child seat.

Sometimes when I am driving, I see people next to me with kids STANDING in the front seat, with the parents perfectly fine with that. I just feel like getting down of my car one day and knocking on their windows to tell them.

Even till today, I insist that if say we have an extra person in the car, I’d rather take 2 cars. I rather pay that extra bit for petrol and arrive in one piece. Or not go at all.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
  • Lorat on Sep 20, 2014 at 10:27 pm

More PSA like this than bash bait articles :)

• vkp1200 on Sep 20, 2014 at 10:56 pm

Well written, Paul. This is an issue that is very close to my heart. Every time I see child safety being neglected, it boils my blood. I have great hope that this article will go a long way to raise awareness and real concern among all Malaysians on the importance of proper safety measures for infants and small children in vehicles.

• Utterly shocked on Sep 20, 2014 at 11:00 pm

I just saw a man with a toddler on his laps, driving and smoking without wearing seatbelt himself. Totally speechless…

• Advocating safety via awareness on Sep 20, 2014 at 11:02 pm

I totally agree in this PSA. My spouse and I are strict advocates on child seats in the car. All our kids grew up and still are using car seats from day one. It may be a pain in the butt initially but all that mumbo jumbo abt your child not wanting to sit in a child seat is all bullsh*t.

If you love your child enough I’m pretty darn sure you would want them to be buckled up. It’s a matter of ensuring that the child gets used to it. Get strapped on and getting used to it. After some time they will know that it’s a norm to buckle up when they sit in the car.

Having said that I think some parents are also ill informed or have lack of awareness thus contributing to this lack of knowledge.

Govt shd make it a point to create more road awareness to the rakyat then focussing on other trivial issues. After all safety is everyone’s effort but with the right awareness campaigns in place.

• Boy Racer (Member) on Sep 20, 2014 at 11:02 pm

The answer for all the questions is basically GET A BABY CAR SEAT OMG.

• From A father to a father on Sep 20, 2014 at 11:10 pm

Great article!

I would assume majority of parent readers here are aware of the risk and we practice good child safety.

Sad to say that majority of the people not buckling their child on a booster/childseat dont even give a goddamn peanut about buckling in the first place.

We need those scary PSA shortclips/pictorial to be shown on national tele/cinema/billboard/papers about the condition of our preposterous driving etiquette and it’s unforgiving consequences.

Just to list a few driving etiquette malfunction:
    1. talking on speaker phone. What F**ing difference does it make? sebab apa? takut polis nampak
    2. exitting a highway ramp at the very last minute. and probably, if the divider poles were plastic, they’d just bloddy bang it down.
    3. Not giving way, even if the person signals, raise his hand politely and wait for ample space to cut in. In the UK, people at the right of way would high beam you telling you to cut in.
    4. Cutting que without any guilt.
    5. Driving while child is in lap, and driving like a donkey arschloch hogging the fastlane.

Its just sad, really sad, that us asian are said to be courteous with our hospitality. I’d say that this is tru, when with foreigners (post colonialism , white supremacist trauma). But among ourselves? our next door neighbor on a traffic jam is our bloody enemy.

A little bit of topic, but still in the context of driving etiquette of malaysians.

• kadajawi (Member) on Sep 21, 2014 at 12:02 am

3 and 4 are connected. In Europe, where people don’t cut queue, I let people in, no problem. In Malaysia, it’s war, unless I’ve seen that that car is actually not cutting the queue.

IMHO Asians, at least when in their car, are very self centered. Seen that behavior in Malaysia, in China, Singapore, … there’s no empathy for others, no courtesy. It’s the cutting queues, it’s the modifying cars to make them not road worthy (too low to go anywhere in Malaysia… or blinding others), etc.

• Shopric - www.shopric.com on Sep 20, 2014 at 11:20 pm

Yes, we are always in support of having car seat place in every car with a child atleast until age 4 or the car seatbelts able to hold the child.
    Good car seat plays an important role too as some built with cheap plastic, that breaks easily during collision.
    Lastly, never place a car seat at the front passenger seat unless your vehicle can disable the airbag else it is a risk to your child too. Hope to see more Malaysian take proper safety measures to ensure safety to every single passengers in the vehicle.

• Maree on Sep 20, 2014 at 11:32 pm

Thanks for the great article! Too many children are dieing on Malaysian roads. Take a look at our article on choosing a children’s car restraint http://thesafetyeducator.com/2014/08/17/child-car-safety-restraints/

• If you’re looking for a reasonably priced seven seater, doo a search and you’d realize that a used 4 year old Exora CPS is now within reach of most buyers at around 35-40k. With low maintenance it would definitely be a safer options for those needing more space.

• tishaban on Sep 20, 2014 at 11:47 pm

Good article. Child safety in the car is only one aspect of safety.

In an ideal world, someone should care about their own safety and also the safety of others, whether it’s your child or a pedestrian on the street. Be safe everywhere whether on the road or at home or in the office/school/etc.

For readers who are already aware of the need for child seats, please talk to your family and friends and make them aware as well.

• my kids age 8 & 6 are using booster seats. the eldest aged 12, never failed to buckled up. they have been buckled up since infancy. i have seen parents driving myvi with children in car seats and parents driving beemers with toddler standing on the front passenger seat. if accident happens the child becomes a projectile. get a car seat….if you can afford a car.

• June Miller on May 01, 2015 at 9:58 am

Good point,ns, if you can afford a car, you can afford a car seat. If you have a car without a car seat, your child cannot afford to have you as a parent!

• Amir M on Sep 21, 2014 at 12:42 am

Thank you Paul Tan for writing this article. Too many Malaysian drivers are still not restraining their kids/grandkids properly. It’s not an uncommon sight to spot children on drivers’ or passengers’ laps, and it’s very very exasperating. Definitely sharing this!

• Annoynimouse on Sep 21, 2014 at 1:32 am

Absolutely agree.
    The child bed or whatever they call it is only good when you have to spend the night in your car. At RnR maybe.

• RejimKejamGanas on Sep 21, 2014 at 1:41 am

Parents these days are so soft. Rather do what makes their children happy than what is good for them. No wonder the generation Y population think they are so entitled. Back when I was using child seats, people thought it was something only rich people can come up with. What to expect when most Malaysians think that stability control and airbags are luxuries.

• Simon on Sep 21, 2014 at 2:23 am

Paul please highlight this also, most of the Malaysia lorry without rear bumper.
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bT3G-kcKN70&w=300

• heybadigol (Member) on Sep 21, 2014 at 10:51 am

Very good article. I think the biggest issue is point number 2. Considering what majority of Malaysians can earn, the only car (if even possible) is a small car like Myvi. So, if you have 2 kids, both rear seats are already used up for the seats. Spouse sitting in front. But what if you have 3 kids? An MPV/SUV is kinda out of the range for majority of Malaysians, even a small SUV like the Avanza might be a bit expensive for most. For this to be resolved, either income has to go up or car prices lowered :) Or for large families with household income below a certain threshold to be given some sort of benefit or tax reductions when buying cars. Because cars are not too expensive. Its the tax that drives the prices higher.

• kadajawi (Member) on Sep 21, 2014 at 5:39 pm

I don’t think that is the biggest issue. The biggest issue is mindset. Yes, some families are indeed screwed as they can’t afford better, and I feel for them, but there are many who have the money, who have a big enough car, and who still don’t give a f*** about safety. Why don’t they do it?

Also, the Avanza is a very poor choice in terms of safety. Get an Exora, please.

Btw., a 7 seater MPV/SUV would cost you at least around RM 80k in Europe, and that’s without the crazy Malaysian taxes. I think perhaps the Kangoo 7 seater might cost a bit less than that (but still 70k+), and the Dacia 7 MPV (was it Lodgy? Dodgy?), which isn’t that safe, should come in below that price tag. Granted most of these cars are better than what you’d get in Malaysia, but a car of that size does cost a lot.

• Why would Avanza be a poor choice in terms of safety? Higher centre of gravity? NCAP rating? Airbags available? Please elaborate further.

Actually, the most dangerous thing in ANY car would be the driver. If you put a reckless person in the safest car in the world that would still be pointless as every safety feature would be made redundant.

• HANI Selamat on Sep 22, 2014 at 12:07 pm

You can actually fit 3 Combi Coccoro carseats in the back of a Myvi. Yes, I promise you, you can do it. The Japanese designed the Combi Coccoro with cars like Myvi in mind.

If you have 4 kids, look at trading in your Myvi for a used MPV within your budget. It’s safer to buckle up everyone in a 10yo Toyota van than squeeze 5 kids on the floor of your Myvi.

• fsfsfs on Sep 21, 2014 at 12:24 pm

Paul, how to import a Britax Max-Fix ?

• Paul Tan on Sep 21, 2014 at 7:17 pm

I bought it online from carseat.se

Once it arrives at KLIA customs, just need to go process and pay tax for it.

• hippo on Sep 21, 2014 at 3:37 pm

I bought one from AEON Big MId Valley. The brand is SweetCherry, cost me about RM200 plus. Quality is good, you can tilt it for sleeping position or sitting position. Can also face backwards as well. My bb been using it since 1 year. Not bad.

• isofix on Sep 21, 2014 at 4:11 pm

It is damn hard to get an isofix seat. And when you get it, it is really really expensive for majority of the parents.

• HANI Selamat on Sep 22, 2014 at 12:11 pm

I don’t find it hard to get an isofix seat at all. Isetan, Parkson, Aeon, Mothercare and all baby shops in the malls now sell isofix seats. It can be EXPENSIVE to get an isofix seat, but it’s not hard.

What is hard, is installing a seat using seatbelt! Have to shower after installing, soooo sweaty!

• Chin Tu Lan on Sep 21, 2014 at 5:39 pm

I think most children don’t like sitting in car seats because it’s made of synthetic materials and it gets pretty hot after a while.

• sonyman on Sep 21, 2014 at 9:20 pm

not very true, but you need to choose the seat material well, so they be comfortable in it and can seat for hours

• HANI Selamat on Nov 18, 2014 at 12:01 pm

It’s actually not healthy to be seated for long periods of time. Ergonomists recommend that everyone get off their chairs every 20 minutes to move around. That’s why all our highways have frequent rest stops, so you can pull over safely as often as you need to.

When traveling long-distance with your kids, it’s always a good idea to include lots of rest stops so they can get out and move around. It may be difficult to stop every 20 minutes, but it’s definitely a BAD idea to drive non-stop from KL to Singapore when everyone is strapped in without being able to move!

• kadajawi (Member) on Sep 21, 2014 at 5:43 pm

Thank you Paul, good and important article.

If the Malaysian government wants a bigger workforce, here’s a hint: Keep those you already have alive! It’s cheaper too, you have already invested in educating them.

Safety ads on TV for example, designed to be as gruesome and violent as possible, just take a look at what the UK etc. has produced and shown in the past. On TV all the time. Even aimed at children, scaring them to death of driving in a car without the proper seats and wearing a seatbelt. People should be scared of cars without stability control. Of driving in a car without wearing your own seatbelt, or of passengers inside the same car without seatbelts. Ads that ask for courtesy, and for being considerate (blinding headlights for example). That explain the use of the front and rear fog lights.

Btw., these child seats aren’t that expensive, as you can use them for your next child, or sell them.

• Sometime I am thinking how well it it adsorbs the force if the car hit from behind. Usually car built to absorb the front impact, but if Car B hitting the back of Car A in this momentum (1.1 tonne car in 60km/h).

Is has the greater inertia? Which one more deadly?

• kadajawi (Member) on Sep 23, 2014 at 12:59 am

Good seat design is important, as well as good restraint systems. Of course, if the whole rear end of the car is crushed, including passengers, that is bad too, but otherwise I’d say frontal impacts are more dangerous. The really bad part is hitting something hard with your body, and if you are rear-ended I guess the impact into something hard won’t be so hard, because you’re already slowed down by the time you get there… some of the impact energy is already absorbed by then.

• Why not car company provide car seat when buying a car. Buy 1 car get 1 free car seat. So, no more excuse anymore… Proton can start first ;D

• kadajawi (Member) on Sep 23, 2014 at 1:01 am

Not every car buyer has kids, and how many kids there are differs too. And how old they are. Basically it would simply make cars more expensive for everyone.

And do you think those families that don’t buy a child seat would use one if it was provided for free? I doubt it…

Government subsidies when buying a child seat would make more sense IMHO.

However there are IIRC cars that can be ordered with seats that can be converted into child seats easily (at least that used to be the case). An aftermarket child seat is cheaper though.

• Agreed wt this article…its about time malaysian woke up! give me the shivers everytime i say kids/toddler on an adult lap in the car….mind you, some are premium cars and the kids standing on the front passenger seats…just imagine if the driver suddenly stop or worse involved in a crash, the airbag will **** the kid!

• sonyman on Sep 21, 2014 at 9:23 pm

can blame them cause they never thought the seat is important. now adays we travel more on highway, risk is higher, in the olden days, there were less cars and less risk, but no reason for people to not use car seat.

My kid, if no seat car seat no kai kai. simple.

• Lynette on Sep 21, 2014 at 11:01 pm

Good article but I think you left out the “It won’t happen to me mentality” I feel this is the greatest reason for travelling without child seats couple with pressure from parents and in laws who wishes to hold the child while travelling. It’s the “I grew up without any car seats and I turn out okay” and “I raise you without child seat and you turn out fine o” If you grew up that way or live with parents or in laws and have a child, their first grandchild, chances are they will butt in if you try to strap the child in the car seat. This I’ve come across many times because grandparents usually insist on carrying the child in their arms. the argument is that “I will hold the child tight” but what they fail to realize is that in the event of an accident, not only does the adult fail to hold the child, the child actually becomes the adult’s cushion.

• Thanks you Paul for your crusade on child safety in cars.

Just a few things to add;

1. If you have front passenger airbags and cannot turn it off, please put your child car seat at the back. There is a reason why car and car seat makers spent money to put that warning sticker. Statistically, the safest place to put the car seat is in the middle of the back row.

2. Do not, in any circumstances, leave children alone in the car. That hassle of putting them in and out of the car seat is a minor inconvenience compared to the potential accident waiting to happen.

4. Make a habit of checking the car seat whenever you exit the car. You definitely DO NOT want to forget if your child is still in there.

Recently, there are some new ‘smart’ child car seats that connect to your phone and warn you if the belts are unbuckled, give the temperature of the seat, the reclining angle, or if you left the car with the seat still on, etc.

Maybe in the future the car seats can also communicate to the car itself. The alarm will turn on if you left your child in the seat, or you have a video feed to see if they are comfortable, etc.

• My 3 year old can get out fr his seat when he was 15 mths old. And he has been in a car seat since birth. And we know how to tighten d straps and even unassemble d cover to get basi milk, pee, vomit washed out. He stays for d early part of d driving but he will work hard at wiggling out. Those who have kids that stay strapped bcoz d kids r obedient not bcoz d parents r superfantastic at parenting.

• HANI Selamat on Nov 18, 2014 at 12:09 pm

Yup. Naughty kids are naughty. The minute a child escapes their car seat, you must pull over and stop. The rule is if there is even one person unbelted, the car doesn’t move. Bribe the child, threaten the child, whatever, but if you refuse to compromise this rule, then sooner or later, the child will learn to stay in their car seat.

When I’m in a real rush, and my son is not cooperating, I promise him McDonald’s fries if he stays in his carseat the whole drive. I know fries is bad for him, but I’d rather he get fries, then he be out of his carseat while the car is moving. Fries will just make him fat. A car accident could make him die or worse, permanently injured.

• Adlan on Sep 22, 2014 at 8:38 am

Good write Paul.

I totally understand the purpose of having a good child-restraining system in a car.

But from this article, I don`t find an explanation on how to give your newborn good way to travel in a car ride.

• Latisha Merican on Sep 22, 2014 at 9:36 am

Thank you for writing this, Paul. My kids have been in car seats from the time they were 3 days old. They are now 12, 8 and 7. The younger two are still in car seats and they all know that they need to be belted whenever they are in the car. My husband and I are particular about whom they ride with and whether the car has child seats and a belt. However, it’s really surprising how people tell me that I’m kiasu. One even went so far as to say that seatbelts are unnecessary!

• Azrouy on Sep 22, 2014 at 10:48 am

Or…Dont have kids…period! If you dont know to take good care of them. Problem solved.

• Malaysians love to bitch about how many air-bags a car should have BUT in reality they can’t even practice basic safety, seat belts, hand phone, indicator, child seat and so on.

• kadajawi (Member) on Sep 23, 2014 at 1:05 am

If you’re talking about me, then no, basic safety is very important to me. I’d rather sit in a Kancil wearing a seatbelt than a 6 airbag 5 star EuroNCAP car without. I’d feel safer in the Kancil.

Making phone calls while driving is bad, especially when you’re using one hand on the phone. At least use a hands free set.

• Also, parents need to stop those kids from sticking out their heads from the sunroof while driving!

• 4G63T DSM on Sep 22, 2014 at 11:14 am

I have 2 kids, one 2 years old and one 5.

They have been strapped into car seats since they left the hospital.

For parents who say they can’t get kids to stay in the seats, its basically training from young. Both the kids never complained about being in seats and even the 2 year old now tries to strap himself in each time he gets in. They both fall peacefully asleep on any long journeys without much issues.

My big girl went through a phase of not wanting to be in her seat because of the grandparents being lax in enforcement, so I had to hold my ground to insist that they MUST always be in car seats.

We had a Graco travel system (class 0) and a Graco My Ride 65LX (class I – II) seat we bought from US where is it a lot cheaper, and have been using them since. Get a good quality seat and it will last a few kids and you can probably pass it down or resold. yes, they can be expensive here but we saved almost 50% by buying from the US and brought it back ourselves (no duties/tax) and the airline is more than happy to fly these back for free.

But I agree, it has not been a smooth ride, car manufacturers still do not put high emphasis on safety, in this case safety of the young. Case in point, the Exora, a “FAMILY” MPV that does not have ISOFIX/LATCH.

We were out to buy a new MPV a few years back and looked at the Naza Citra Rondo which has a weird 2nd seat arrangement. If you had placed a rear facing seat in the second row, you cannot slide the seat forward to get into the 3rd row. And now, I wont blame KIA for such shortsightedness as this is solely the job of our LOCAL product managers doing some cost savings. The first batch of CBU/SKD Rondos have seats that work properly as they are the split/fold design. Imagine a cost saving that compromises safety. What a job…and cost a sale.

Yes, while we can still mount child seats with just the regular seatbelts, they are far from ideal. First of all, only a few cars have proper top tethers. 2nd, in the case of MPVs, once the seat is in place, you cannot slide the 2nd row seat due to the seatbelt placement. Those that have seatbelts mounted on the seat (like some lux MPVs) can still have that functionality.

The new budget superstar the Axia, seems to not have ISOFIX on the base E. Now, why? I can’t think it is anymore than a few ringgit to get isofix installed.

Im surprised why JPJ has not done a PSA blitz to educate drivers. Perhaps they don’t care. They ironically give me more flak about the roll cage, 5 point harness and race bucket on my car (which makes it much safer) than making sure young kids are well protected.

I drive a lot and its a daily recurring theme. Kids left alone un strapped or being held by the guardian. Some in the front passenger seat of an airbag equipped car. I have even seen kids sitting in the drivers’ lap when driving.

I remember when I was a kid, maybe 3 or 4, in my grandfather’s car, happily standing in between the front seats….until my grandfather had to brake, and I got really intimate with the dashboard. Its was just a stop, albeit a quick one, if it was a crash, I would be thrown through the windshield.

Malaysia still has a long ways to go. Hopefully here is to a good start.

• insider on Sep 22, 2014 at 11:41 am

paul, any comment on the use of seatbelt positioner for toddlers? it’ll pull the seatbelt closer so that it will rest on the hip & chest of the toddler. i have 2 kids aged 5 & 3. both of them used child car seat up to 2 years old but due to some space constrain, we switch to this seatbelt positioner.

• HANI Selamat on Nov 18, 2014 at 12:43 pm

Depends on what material is this seatbelt positioner made of. If it’s made of the same material as that seat in the picture of #1 point in paul’s article, then it will NOT keep your kids safe, because it will rip out in an accident and be useless.

You’re better off looking for a child booster seat. These look like cushions that fit under your kids’ bums and make them “taller” so that they fit the adult seat belt like an adult. There are several brands of boosters just under RM60 but make sure you test your kid with the booster first for proper fit. Not all boosters fit all kids. You must make sure when they are sitting on the booster that it helps keep the seatbelt against their bones; hip bone and shoulder bone. That’s the most important thing because in an accident, if the seatbelt is on a soft part of the body, like the belly, the seatbelt can cut INTO the belly and cause serious injury.

If your kid cannot ensure that the seatbelt is ALWAYS on hard bone and never on soft area like neck or belly, then PLEASE put them into a proper carseat with 5-point harness or something like it. There ARE slimmer carseats, like Diono Radian, Clek Foonf and Combi. Measure the maximum space you want to use in your car, then bring a tape measure to the carseat shop!

• mel5582 (Member) on Sep 22, 2014 at 1:15 pm

My wife and I are expecting our first born son soon and I’ve been doing a lot of reading about car seats. I just bought a convertible car seat which rear faces the baby up to 18kg and front faces till 35kg.. Yes, they’re not cheap but never, ever buy a cheap car seat. Buying a cheap one might not guarantee your child’s safety. Britax have some good ones..

• kerol on Sep 22, 2014 at 1:18 pm

I use baby seat too in my kelisa.

• Car-Fans on Sep 22, 2014 at 1:55 pm

Fully support Child Car Seat and also please came out good rules/law penalty for those placing “nice/cute” object behind rear window – that is DAMM DANGEROUS (unable to view vehicle from behind / also other to see through).

• Zeakvonne on Sep 22, 2014 at 3:49 pm

You know what? My friend shared this article. And the first FB post below was a mom who posted a picture of her child in a Graco car seat, which is NOT SECURED with the seatbelt (it is obvious from the picture).

We need car seat education. Do you know you can rent a car seat from AAM? http://www.aam.org.my/aamweb/childseat.php
    It costs RM30-45 a month – that is about three Starbucks frappe ONLY.

Malaysians who can afford to buy six-figure-ringgit cars surely can afford that amount of monthly expenditure…!

Yes, it would seem that parents who put their kids in a car seat are kia-see and may seem to have adopted ‘Western thinking’, but safety first!

• mel5582 (Member) on Sep 22, 2014 at 5:57 pm

Maybe the seat was secured using LATCH system instead?

• Zeakvonne on Sep 23, 2014 at 9:31 am

I hope so, or the ISOFIX method. I’ve seen parents using the baby ‘recliners’ that are meant for home use as car seat, hence my skepticism.

• exoraowner on Sep 23, 2014 at 12:15 pm

I got an isofix child car seat for my son… BUT my Proton Exora Premium denied me to use it… why proton make a 7 seater MPV without isofix???

• Harry Oh on Feb 27, 2015 at 12:44 pm

Car manufacturers like Proton are trying to save RM2-3 for ISO-fix or LATCH to be fitted OEM.

• Charlie Ling on Sep 23, 2014 at 2:41 pm

Can you also do a write up on how Malaysia drivers should use their honk? Honking is a way to warn others to be careful or be watchful. It is a way to tell them, “Excuse me motorcyclist, I am passing by (perhaps in a fast speed), please move a bit to the side”. Cities like Bangkok and Jakarta are extremely congested and they ‘honk her and honk there’ thus reducing chances to accidents. Malaysian roads are getting congested, it is time to stop treating honking as impolite. Some even considers car’s honking as an arrogant selfish road owner. ‘You think u own the road har?!’ TQ.

• Junaidi on Sep 24, 2014 at 3:45 pm

great job Paultan.org
    I’d like to see more articles pertaining to the law like this.
    Its nice to read and hopefully, with your huge reader base, many others will get the message of what we are and are not allowed to install or do in our cars.
    Many would rather hear it from the “people” rather than from the authorities who’s usual concerns are to saman and restrict us.

• Nusyam on Sep 25, 2014 at 9:52 am

Thanks Paul for the article. Hope we can continue to emphasize on importance of child car seat as well as their proper installation and usage.

• It’s all about mentality.

Not just child seats. I can’t even stand how many people actually push the strollers using escalator, it’s not just dangerous for the kids and the stroller can hit someone else n cause serious injuries to others.

This “no it will never happen to me as i know what I’m doing” mentality has to be stopped.

If anyone is still doing these, seriously i do not wanna say “i told u so” after anything happened cos whatever i’m gonna say has nothing to do with what that had HAPPENED by then. Period.

• Dear Proton/Perodua – how about you make packages for that come with child seats which can be incorporated as accessories when buying cars so that it can be worked into the car loan? This would be great for people who are trading up their cars when having a baby for the first time or having new additions to the family.

• Harry Oh on Nov 18, 2014 at 5:14 pm

Fine Dynasty Sdn. Bhd. is the only local company manufacturing Child Safety Car Seats which are tested in Japan but we are closing down this division owing to poor sales. Our prices ranges from RM250-380 & booster seats are only RM60.00 a piece.
    For your info., SIRIM DOES NOT TEST Child Safety Car Seats, MIROS can test Child Seats but they only test cars.
    We have tried promoting child seats for cars for the last 18 years! We did promotions with Min. of Transport, AAM, Road Safety Council, Baby & Child Shows. Any Child seats sold in M’sia below our price are all untested and uncertified!

• Shiraz Faruqi on Feb 27, 2015 at 12:19 pm

Sadly i observe a lackadaisical attitude prevalent in our society with regards to child car seats in particular and road safety in general. Roads get busier, traffic moves faster, even small city cars are capable of high speeds… but our concern for in-car and road safety doesn’t seem to have progressed much from when i was a child, 40 years ago, standing in the front seat of my dad’s car enjoying the scenery as we drove in and around the leisurely-paced streets of Klang. Driving is so much riskier today than 4 decades ago. We need to adopt higher safety standards. As the world progresses, so must we! Both my kids were ferried around in child car seats. Even my dad adhered to this because he knows how potentially risky car rides have become for his grandchildren. When the kids outgrew the toddler seats, we got them child seats. All of which have since been passed on to their younger cousins because both my kids are now old enough to be strapped in with conventional seat belts. Though car seats were not prevalent back when i was growing up, my dad did teach me “Safety First!” and “Better safe than sorry”. Modern traffic and driving conditions now warrant that children need to be afforded the protection of child seats. There is no question about how much safer a child is when properly restrained in an appropriate child car seat. The question is how much are you willing to do to ensure your child’s safety?

• Harry Oh on Feb 27, 2015 at 1:04 pm

I am the owner of the only Malaysian Child Safety Car Seats manufacturer, I am also a member of SIRIM Technical Committee for Vehicle Passive Safety Standards, I also advise AAM on Child Safety In Cars and my group has been giving talks, seminars and demonstrations on Child Safety In Cars for more than 10 years.
      Kindly contact me if you need my services to explain the different category of Child Restraints, what is ISO-fix, L.A.T.C.H. and Child Harness.
      My interest in Child Safety In Cars started with my own children 32 years ago, now they are 32 and 26 years old.
      I have worked as an Export Manager for a local car seat manufacturer and an international seatbelt/airbag manufacturer.

• edison on Feb 27, 2015 at 3:15 pm

i hope malaysia will increase the car insurance,

like rm20k per annual, then the ncb can deduct up to 90%

i think this is the only way to lessen accident.

• Harry Oh on Feb 27, 2015 at 5:16 pm

cankersaurus, if you start to put yr kids in the baby seat from day one coming home from hospital, then your child will always associate that sitting in the child seat meant going out in the car for a ride.
    Most baby/child seats are so comfortable that after a couple of minutes they fall asleep.
    Most grandparents tend to spoil the car seat training by insisting that they carry, that is the main problem.
    I have friend who insist that his children sit in the C/B Seat ended up arguing with his parents as they said they carry is safer…..????

• cankersaurus on Feb 27, 2015 at 5:53 pm

Harry oh, as a matter of fact my older children spent their early childhood in the UK where C/B seat and booster seat are compulsory. Only then after we have returned they start envying their cousins and neighbour’s children in the front seat on mum’s lappy.. after couple of years we finally gave in to the youngest rascal :)-

• Harry Oh on Feb 27, 2015 at 6:43 pm

This is bad that a child teach his parents that sitting on the lap is better… Next time they will say my friends are smoking, going to clubs and driving their fathers’ cars without licence… this will never stop until a tragedy happened. Sad to hear parenthood is failing.

• EvenSteven on Feb 27, 2015 at 9:22 pm

When you raise this issues with parents in Malaysia, the most common response you’ll get is, “don’t worry, it won’t happen.” That’s just the thing, we tend to wait until disaster strikes then there’ll be regrets. When we say this is your fault for not providing proper car seat, they’ll be moaning about how you are hurting grieving parents and all of this is ‘ketentuan ilahi’. Keep this up, Malaysians, and see where that takes you.

• Jasbir | beeraycoffeethoughts on Feb 27, 2015 at 11:24 pm

Great to see some importance paid tothe safety of our littlest car riders. I like you point about affordable car seats. I have seen and once purchased these “affordable” car seat.
    The fact remains, they aren’t safe because if it was you wouldn’t have gone through the trouble of lugging back one Britax from abroad.
    I hope, this could be made into an awareness so we will have more reliable affordable car seats, locally made. Someone’s got to sponsor or providessubsidies or something of that sort to make affordable and reliable car seats and our cars must come with proper seats to allow accurate installation of children car seats.
    Most car dealers know aren’t equipped to install children car seats, which is another point to bring out.
    Good article and thank you forbbringing up this matter. Let’s hope more parents will get to buy reliable seats in the future

• Li-Hsian on Feb 28, 2015 at 7:41 am

On point 1, we sometimes even see expensive luxury car drivers here with children in the car WITHOUT car seats!

• Pamela Lim on Feb 28, 2015 at 12:15 pm

The Senior Principal Assistant Secretary of the Land and Logistic Division under the Ministry of Transport is calling for all child-carseat manufacturers/dealers/importers/traders/retailers to submit their safety ratings of their products for inclusion in the nationwide campaign to promote ownership and installation of child seat in cars owing to the rising number of deaths involving unrestrained children in cars. Last year, a total of 125 children under the age of 5 years, were killed in such accidents. Please forward this info and help raise awareness for this campaign to lower the prices of child-carseats, promoting the use of and help prevent unnecessary deaths. Send your info to Mr. Jeevananth at this address:- [email protected]

• I was in an accident once without my seat belt on…and now I make sure me and my passengers have their seat belt on before I start my car. It was a scary feeling that I do not want to experience again.

• Samantha on Mar 30, 2015 at 11:52 am

My husband and I both are driving old cars, both without seat belt at the back passenger seats. Yes, very old and were exempted during the seat belt implementation few years ago, both are local-made cars. This case, is it still safe if we use Graco My-ride 65 to put baby rear facing at the co-driver seat?

• The issue with placing a rear facing is mainly if there’s a passenger side airbag at the front. If there are no co-driver airbag then any rear-facing seat would be fine by my reckoning.

• The truth is that if there’s ANYTHING not restrained in the car during a car accident, the unrestrained item/person will fly towards the impact. I know of one mother who died because her head hit one of her children’s carseat, in a car accident where she was not wearing her seatbelt. Both her kids survived the accident, but the daughter was traumatized by her mother’s blood all over her.

When you have a carseat in the car, EVERYBODY needs to be belted up too. Assuming that your old car doesn’t have an airbag, you CAN indeed put your baby rear-facing in the co-driver seat, BUT you shouldn’t let anybody be in the back seat because they can’t buckle up.

• Harry Oh on Mar 31, 2015 at 11:50 am

Actually, you can retro-fit any cars without seat belts, they do that in Australia. We have been trying to get the various authorities to approve retro-fitting of seat belts but our local authorities are against it for ignorant reasons.
        Our company has been producing the parts for retro-fitting seat belts and exports to our customers in Australia. Our Australian customer is willing to part with the know-how to our company but our local authorities are adamant in not wanting to approve it.
        They rather have the older cars driving around without seat belts than retro-fitting them. Sad…

• Harry Oh on Mar 31, 2015 at 12:16 pm

I am resigned to promoting Child Safety In Cars…..

• no-phone-in-hand-driver on Apr 30, 2015 at 5:58 pm

inline with the theme of safety, we need some serious attitude readjustment/education/beating-in-the-head for all the drivers out there with their phone in hand while driving. they are as good as plummeting asteroids, selfish individuals who would endanger others driving on the road while on their phones.

these people deserve a high five in the face with a foldable chair.

• Mother of 4 on May 05, 2015 at 2:41 pm

Great write up on car seats. Having 4 kids myself, I can understand it’s not an easy task to ferry 4 kids in a car, young children. But as a responsible parent, I wouldn’t want to risk their life so from newborn till now, my kids are being trained to buckled up securely, while the infant/toddler are in the child seats. Of course children will cry will show tantrum and may refuse to sit in the car seat, but once they were securely buckled up, they won’t be making noises long. As for the older kids of mine, age 9 & 11, although they supposed to sit in the kid’s car seats too, but due to the limited space of my car, I have them to fasten up securely and not to let go the seat belts at any time. Children need to be trained from young. Playing kids’ favourite music, talking singing make them sit down calmly without showing tantrum. We parents have to change our mentality and firmly believe car seats and seat belts are mandatory when travelling in a car, make it a norm and our children will follow naturally. It’s very sad to see fatal accident with innocent lives lost with passengers & children/baby being flung out from the cars. Everyday, I see children roaming freely in the car without any seat belts, babies were carried on the lap with the adult playing up and down with them. This is very alarming. Hope the authority will do something to educate public & parents, the importance of car seats and seat belt.