GALLERY: W205 Merc C-Class vs F30 BMW 3 Series

W205_Mercedes-Benz_C-Class_vs_F30_BMW_3_Series_ 005

It’s an often-asked question, Mercedes-Benz C-Class or BMW 3 Series? Brand preference usually takes precedence in influencing the answer, but to those on the fence between the two premium German marques, this like-for-like comparison gallery should help your decision. So, bring on the two latest contenders to the fore: W205 Mercedes-Benz C-Class vs F30 BMW 3 Series.

Here we have the W205 in C 200 Avantgarde trim, while this particular F30 (which in on sale on oto.my) is a 320d Sport Line fitted with 18-inch wheels from the 328i and an Alcantara steering wheel from the BMW Performance parts range. Admittedly, the choice of colours here may not be ideal for a straight comparison, but it does show each car in its best light – the W205 looks best in darker tones, while a red F30 is, well, simply yummy.

Colours aside, the C 200 Avantgarde certainly stands out more with its prominent star grille, though this will change if you choose the much more subtle C 250 Exclusive variant. On the outside, both models have distinct LED light signatures, though the Merc’s headlights are of the LED variety instead of the bi-xenons on the BMW.

Mechanically, the base C-Class – if you can call it that, priced at RM285,888 – has a 2.0 litre direct-injection turbocharged engine that makes 184 hp and 300 Nm of torque, mated to an in-house-developed seven-speed automatic gearbox. The equivalent 320i Sport Line (RM241,800) has a similar engine configuration, but with 184 hp and 270 Nm. A ZF-sourced eight-speed auto ’box takes care of gear changes.

Both have very similar performance levels, with identical 0-100 km/h times and top speeds (7.3 seconds, 235 km/h). The newer Mercedes is slightly more efficient, as it’s claimed to average 18.9 km/l (5.3 litres per 100 km) over the BMW’s 16.7 km/l (6.0 litres per 100 km). But of course, the 245 hp/350 Nm 328i (at RM293,800, not far off the C 200) is much faster still, getting to 100 km/h in 5.9 seconds and on to 250 km/h.

Inside, the two can’t be any more different. The 3er’s cabin appears to be a lot more conventional compared to the fantastically over-designed C-Class interior. The F30 is more traditional in terms of operational controls too, sticking to a gear knob and handbrake lever combination next to the Merc’s column-mounted gear selector and electric parking brake.

At the same time, there are many similarities too. Both use a rotary knob for most major controls (Mercedes COMAND and BMW iDrive), and simple toggles are used to select between each car’s various drive models. Likewise, both have passive suspension setups (though dynamic dampers are available on the F30’s M Sport variants), with the drive modes affecting the steering, throttle and gearbox shift maps only.

Compared to the F30, the W205’s seats are more lavishly sculpted, and the adjustment controls are mounted on the doors as opposed to the BMW’s conventional sliders. Also interesting to note are the extendable thigh bolsters – they are electrically adjustable on the C-Class but manually operated on the 3 Series.

As for interior space, six-feet-tall Gregory Sze found significantly more legroom in the back of the Merc (left), but more headroom in the BMW (with the front seats adjusted to his own seating position). The BMW’s bench is better, since it is longer, offering your thighs more support. There’s not much splitting the two for boot space, as both have 480 litres of cargo room. Fortunately for the C-Class however, its rear seats can be folded down flat for bigger loads, while the 3 Series’ rear bench is fixed.

For more information, you can compare the pair’s full specifications on CarBase.my, or read our comprehensive reviews of the W205 C-Class and F30 3 Series. Enjoy the comparison photo galleries below, and do tell us which one’s your favourite in the comments section. Given a choice, would you go for the C or the Three?

W205 Mercedes-Benz C-Class Avantgarde

F30 BMW 3 Series Sport Line

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Minum Apa? on Nov 07, 2014 at 3:14 pm

Kopi C or Three-layer tea?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 7
  • Well i am not sure which one has better handling n more comfortable drive….but my vote for C Class….btw i am not an Uncle ok

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 25
    • karam singh on Nov 07, 2014 at 4:27 pm

Merc nowadays never look uncle anymore bro..
      I gonna pick the Merc anytime,
      so bored of BMW boring look, look at the odometer of BMW’s
      so outdated..
      The Merc really make u a real businessman & gentleman

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 124 Thumb down 23
      • Newcomer on Nov 07, 2014 at 5:34 pm

Yeah, those BMW looks similar, Mercerdes A-class, CLA, S, SLK, SLS, all looks great!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 8
      • Obviously (Member) on Nov 07, 2014 at 9:09 pm

I disagree with your last statement. A car doesn’t make a person even if, to some, it says something about the personality. That is very shallow thinking, though.

No, a man is defined by his actions, both on the road, on the sidewalks and at home.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 9
        • Coriolis (Member) on Nov 08, 2014 at 2:12 pm

I agree with you. But there’s s

• Coriolis (Member) on Nov 08, 2014 at 2:17 pm

Still that thing called first impression… I mean, it’s a lot easier to impress would be clients if you drive around in a merc as it may convey that you are a successful sales/business person.

Shallow? Maybe. But that’s how the world works, like it or not.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
        • Obviously (Member) on Nov 08, 2014 at 6:33 pm

@Coriolis

I don’t doubt that the world is shallow and I understand that some businessmen really do need an impressive car to make a good impression to seal a deal.

I was just pointing out that a car can only do so much for a person and being a real businessman takes more than a car. Being a real gentleman is even more of a challenge.
          Having a Mercedes-Benz would definitely help generate that image, though. ;)

• Preve has it all, gaya of Merc and handling of BMW

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 86
  • seancorr (Member) on Nov 07, 2014 at 3:27 pm

I find the fixed rear seats of the F30 to be a bother whenever I need to carry big stuff and not all M-Sport variants have adaptive suspension…this is only reserved for the 328i M-Sport. Its also worth to note that the W205 has reverse camera as standard…something you need in cars such as this although BMW has a reverse camera option coming soon for the F30…but its a COST option!

The W205 also has rear side sunshades as opposed to the DIY sunshades for the F30 which costs me RM380 to add on and its a bother to take out if you wanna roll down the rear door windows…bummer. Also to note the W205 has a better multi-info display than the basic one found in the F30.

I’ve not tested the W205 for its NVH but I think it will be better than the hollow F30 NVH which enables you to hear a lot of outside noise and you can listen to your music outside of your car with all doors and windows closed…yep noise seeping through.

Don’t mind me…I’m just venting on my car…. BMW better fix those issues when the LCI rolls out next year or else…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 4
    • sudonano (Member) on Nov 07, 2014 at 4:46 pm

For me, if I were to look at a BMW, I’d try to look at only the models with adaptive suspension. I’ve tried some of their standard suspensions before (specifically the 118i) and compared to the adaptive type (i.e. on the 328i M Sport, and 528i M Sport), I’d have adaptive any day of the week. Just feels more comfortable.

I never really carried that much stuff in my roundel-mobile, mostly suitcases, since my IKEA hauling is relegated to my lori, I mean, SUV.

Though I feel, while the F30 on it’s own is brilliant, and from an engineering standpoint, you would be definitely in a good position to go for the F30, W205 or even the A4 B8. The W205 is a good car, don’t get me wrong, but I’m not too sure if I will enjoy and like it very much. Main issue being the transmission being a bit slower than the ZF used in the BMW (this is coming from a friend who has the latest E200 which has the same engine and transmission as the C200), and more so, the rear sloping roof. I am paying for a sedan, not a 4 door coupe. I know the CLA sells but the CLA’s roofline at the back is very flawed. I smashed my head getting into the CLA’s back in the Mercedes dealer, and I’m about 5′ 7″ or so. I heard many of the foreign reviews praising the interior for the C class, but just picking on the sloping roof that is a bit annoying. Probably a non issue for most though. The main issue for the F30 is not from BMW. It’s from Inokom.

The thing is, Inokom has tried to cheapen out the car too much. I know because I actually sat in the F30 overseas which receives it from South Africa, and the F32 428i M Sport, essentially the 3 series with less doors, made in Munich, and incidentally runs along the same line that makes the F30. In both cases just by touch and feel, you can see how the F32 made in Germany is way superior than the Inokom F30, and even the SA made F30 is not too bad, better than our rubbish Inokom.

Being a current Inokom assembled owner, I also notice, stuff tend to be not fitted right. Like mine has those mechanical retractable shades in the rear doors, the assembly of the shade for the quarter glass is not fitted properly, so it is a bit loose. No rattles thank goodness, and sound deadening on mine is relatively good too. Also, some of the buttons and trim did either wear out fast within a year or two, or even came off. Covered by warranty but wait- warranty is only for 2 pathetic years!

I just hope Inokom improves. Personally, I feel in terms of the power train, handling and just the smile factor, nothing beats the BMW. It pulls brilliantly, and on the highways it really shows where the money has gone to. Just that, at this price point, I’d expect my trims to be fitted together. If a 150k Toyota can have nothing shaking after 5 years, I don’t see how a 300-400k BMW can’t do the same.

And as for the comparison, I’d take neither. Money no object, it would be a 428i Gran Coupe for me. Built by the Germans. Not some Inokom funny assembly.

Inokom, buck up. Stuttgart has fired shots. Improve warranty, improve aftersales, improve assembly. Don’t forget, the new buyer market is growing. Many are undecided, and can be easily swayed either way. Once you get into the brand, chances are you would stick with it for one or two more times at least.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 79 Thumb down 12
      • Turboman on Nov 07, 2014 at 6:16 pm

Agree with you 200 percent.

While you are still lucky that your Inokom 3 series is still ok, mine creaks and rattles from day 1.

And AB aint too great either. When I bought the car, i was given 5 years BSRI. After 2 years ++, when i checked, guess what. ITs only 3 years, expiring soon.

COntacted them but i was asked to produce evidence that i was given 5 years rather than 3. Heck, the customer needs to prove.

ANyhow, i moved house twice in those 2 years, and i could not find the paper proving 5 years BSRI. But i contacted the sales person and he remembers giving me 5 years. Don’t get me wrong, I can afford to service my car, no doubt about that, but what was promised vs what is actually delivered makes me question the integrity of those guys.

This is the problem with BMW brand in Malaysia. On one hand, assembly ain’t great. On the other, dealer quality ain’t great.

FOr a 200k+++++ car, i expect much better ownership experience than that.

They have strong Brand power and because of that, most people think they can do no wrong and aspire to own one. I was one of those people. Fool me once…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 3
        • seancorr (Member) on Nov 07, 2014 at 7:13 pm

Ah crap sad to hear your story..but AB being AB, famous for all their tricks…even worse is their after sales service.

BMW’s strength in Malaysia lies in their pre-reg cars…they sell bucket loads of it…just take a look at the amount of F10 and F30s on the road and I won’t say the dealers are all bad. My own dealer is a very responsible one – what I need they will oblige hence I’m willing to recommend people to them not because BMW is great in Malaysia but because of the dealer taking care of us, its customers.

• sudonano (Member) on Nov 07, 2014 at 8:49 pm

Speaking of CPO, can someone confirm this?

I was at a MINI dealer sometime back, when I was looking at the Countryman (which I eventually got and let go but not through them), I was told in the case of the CPO cars, what they actually do is the cars are registered to BMW Malaysia, run for a bit, and then displayed at Premium Selection. Then when we buy, it is possible for them to reregister the car, with a new plate with you are the actual first owner. I am not sure if this is even possible, and I was not willing to take the risk, plus they only had a Cooper and not Cooper S in stock. But if this is indeed true, I can see how they are selling that many cars, and I won’t mind getting a CPO with a few hundred kms, and save on the initial purchase price, or potentially go for a higher end model instead…

Normally I see more F30 316i and 320i mainly being CPO-ed. The 328i is hard to come by, and for the F10, also mainly the 520i, barely any 528i with the super low mileage.

I’d say BMW Premium Selection is actually not a bad place to shop. A friend bought his E60 2 years ago, with 40000km, no issues and was BMW Certified, eventually had the car till 100k and was recently sold cause time to upgrade… I was impressed by the lack of drama, though after the 1 year warranty was up, it was out at 3rd party service.

• sudonano (Member) on Nov 07, 2014 at 7:44 pm

I had more interesting issues with mine, specifically stuff on the iDrive didn’t want to work right, where none of the online features work. Even till today, doesnt work either. I have actually given up on trying to get them to fix it, the more I go to AB, the more I feel like face palming for even bothering to buy from them.

You are lucky, have you even used your BSRI? In mine, already 2 years + like you, first service at 10k I paid for it, and the geniuses reset the system. Technically the 20, 40 and 60k should be free in the BSRI, but guess what? At 20000km I was told no free service because the system was reset and so that means cannot claim! Hello… not my fault, I was not told about that!

I can afford to service it too, but just as you said, your really hit the nail on the head there, what they say is very different from what it is in reality. I too expected something more, way more, when I moved from the Japs and Koreans to the Germans. Sorry to say I was absolutely disappointed. Side note, first they blamed that I was using an iPhone 5 so it was not compatible with the iDrive, then after I showed them the site that shows the iPhone 5 is indeed compatible, and unfortunately, they tried to fool an engineer who works on iOS on a daily basis, they then said oh, actually there is no internet services, when the spec list (and even this site) clearly shows you do have it. At that point, I was like FTS forget it, I have more productive stuff to do, plus, the more they dig, the more they screw up.

I aspired to own one after getting a ride in an E39, best feeling ever. I love the car, I really do. But I passionately hate the people that provide the after sales for it. It amazes me how BMW Malaysia has not even taken much action.

PS: I decided against extending on the basis that, I have never had the chance to use my BSRI yet, and I highly don’t trust the circus, and would rather take it out to places like UltraTune who do the same service at about the same or slightly lower than the circus, but at the end of the day, I know they are more meticulous in their work as they have served friends who bring their recon Germans in with them, and even after the mileage counter goes over 6 digits, not much drama.

• seancorr (Member) on Nov 07, 2014 at 6:52 pm

Yes adaptive suspension is the way to go for any car out there actually but it also comes with its own set of problems. A few owners already report chassis warning errors coming from their suspension..whether its crap QC or sub-quality parts I leave it to you to decide. But for me I’m willing to take the risk….after I do some research on the 1st batch of owners hehe. The stock suspension on the F30 is beginning to show its limits when I go really enter a corner at high speeds.

Another thing I dislike about Mercedes is…why do they need to rely on those light counters for their parking sensors and not just show it on their LCD? It seriously makes the car old fashioned.

Oh speaking of rear sunshades..my bloody DIY kit from BMW had to be sent back to the dealer because their whole batch of sunshades were of wrong size…China made ftw.

About the 428i GC…that also has a sloping roof..u sure u ok with it? I’m way shorter than you and I already find it hard to enter n exit the rear doors. But like all owners of Beemers, the warranty really potong stim.

• sudonano (Member) on Nov 07, 2014 at 7:54 pm

As for chassis failure, I think it is something to do with the sensor or could it be leaking? Note that failing suspension is not a BMW only issue, Toyota is now infamous for it, and on my ex Toyota (don’t judge why I had one – at least the engine was OK after all the kms, just everything else wasn’t) too, the suspension will leak or squeak, even within a year. I noticed the issue is now worse, especially on the newer Toyotas too.

I so far have been highly impressed with the adaptive setup, and will never leave it. I heard air suspension is nice, when it works, but the risks, I’m not ready for it. Adaptive risks, not too bad I’d say.

As for the LED thing, it’s a Merc thing la. The thing is, you take it away, the existing loyal owners will all line up with pitchforks in front of MBM’s office, waiting to eliminate the person who did that. It’s just like an iPhone, why is it the home button is that round thing in the middle, even after 7 models, it’s “heritage”.

LOL. That one, haih. Sorry, I LOL-ed.

As for the 428i GC, need to sit in it, have not had the chance to sit in one yet, so have to hold the final judgement till then. I like the F30 looks, but will consider the GC just for the German build. I was amazed by the 328i GT though, lovely space, and I kinda liked it. One big issue, no M sport pack and no adaptive suspension. Tsk tsk.

And warranty. No need to say la. I’m quite curious though, doesn’t BMW read the online automotive media? I mean, all these people review their products, they all highlight the warranty, or rather the lack of it. No action?

Saying BSRI is like a warranty is not sufficient. It is not written in stone that it will cover your electronics and engine all. Yes, I know the dealers say it covers and all, but honestly, after the stories I have to put up with these dealers, I don’t trust them one bit. That’s sad, for a premium brand.

• seancorr (Member) on Nov 09, 2014 at 9:50 pm

I haven’t asked how much it is to change the adaptive system in the M-Sport model but I guess its an important question to ask before you sign on the dotted line. Those Benz air suspension are a lot more expensive though.

True on the reverse light counters…oh well the bulk of their customers are still of the previous generation I guess?

China made stuff will always be like that…even the new iPhone 6 is plague with NAND flash memory issues…haha. Yeah you should try out the 428i GC. Its a fine looking car and rides low too and its arguably the best looking one among all its siblings but seriously made for short people to sit behind.

I have to stress BSRI is not warranty….its Service + Repair Inclusive so they will repair your car at no cost until the 3rd year…and I mean its JUST repair and parts replaced are not free! So their warranty ENDS after 2 years which is a bummer really.

• AskMe on Nov 09, 2014 at 8:45 am

excellent comment!

• Obviously (Member) on Nov 08, 2014 at 7:16 am

lol…rich guys discussing their Bimmers. Enlightening read for someone outside of that world — like me. For the record, after a bit of research, “Bimmer” refers to BMW’s cars while “Beemer” refers to BMW’s bikes. Enthusiast source, so… *shrugs*

Anyway, what I got out of all that was avoid buying a BMW in Malaysia if you don’t want to risk the inferior quality of CKD and don’t want to deal with mostly sucky customer after sales service. Where will you two go from here, though? Are you guys still able to switch out or are you both irreversibly poisoned by the Sheer Driving Pleasure? Surely not only BMW is able to offer that, right?

• Turboman on Nov 08, 2014 at 12:44 pm

The driving pleasure of BMW is good, but the Audis and Merc and heck even Lexus is catching up and closing the gap. I tried Audi A4 2.0 Quattro and i would say the gap is so small that unless you are doing something crazy, you won’t feel it. The W204 C250 and C300 and the latest IS250 that i have tested are great too. Both are RWD.

To get such a small improvement in driving pleasure with a BMW, one has to put up with creaky interior and dodgy dealers, which to me is too much a price to pay. Yes, the base version of 3 series is cheaper than the base sedan from Audi, Lexus, Merc, but you would get what you pay for. ( A4 vs 3 vs C vs IS ) Not talking about A3 or CLA as those to me are too small.

While i cant vouch for Audi dealers, feedback about Lexus and Merc Malaysia is awesome.

• sudonano (Member) on Nov 08, 2014 at 2:08 pm

LOL.

No la, anyone is welcome to the UDM world, just passion is needed. And no, not all BMW drivers are douches, and we know how to park properly.

Pretty much yeah. Though, if at all, I’d say our CKD X5 is not a bad buy, it seems the South Carolina built X5 is worse, and according to some owners whom I have spoken to, they described the rattles, especially the seats at the back, as something close to a, I quote for you exactly what that owner said about his X5, “a flock of pigeons having an orgy inside”.

In that sense, the Inokom baloney is not too bad I’d say. Not as bad as the SC plant ones, but not as good as the Germans.

I’d be honest, the first German car I ever went in was a BMW E39. That was a parallel import unit, but the thing is, it was just so lovely. There is just something about the BMW driving that has poisoned me.

Will I leave the fold? Unlikely. I’d still buy another one, most likely look at a unit that is fully made in Germany instead. Two things I learnt, avoid the CKD at least in the first production year, and even the CBU also, wait for at least 6 months before the thing stabilises. As for the dodgy dealers, I did hear, smaller groups like Quill and Ingress have significantly better service. I bought mine from AB, a friend bought his exact same model from Ingress, at the same time, and his Ingress experience was significantly better. The fact that he went back and got an ///M from them was enough to show how well they took care of him.

Having said that, I must say, I have not driven a bad German car yet. The Audi A4, is highly impressive. I’ve not had the time to play with the W205 yet, so no comment. Lexus, err I just can’t get over the part where they share quite a bit of parts from the Toyota parts bin. Good cars though.

However, I’d also look at Jaguar at this point in time too. If I get the chance to be able to afford 2 conti cars, it would be one from the roundel and one from the cat. Especially the XE and XF (though I’d wait for the next generation XF).

On a side note, I am actually looking at changing my lori – mean SUV, for potentially an X5, I had some hope that Porsche would price the empty Macan at about 350k so that with options it will be just over 410k, but since that didn’t happen and a Macan’s price is nearly in the 500+ range, suddenly a CPO barely used X5 30i may make sense. But need to check about the build tho.

Audi dealers – just as dodgy I’d say from experience. At least the cars are built in Germany.

• Obviously (Member) on Nov 08, 2014 at 6:47 pm

Yes, I was thinking that you’d be interested or that you would seriously consider the Jaguar XE or something similar. It looks to be pretty much up your alley. But Audi isn’t a force to be ignored and they’re pretty much on the rise, even with some trouble on the Volkswagen side of things.

I guess once you’ve been poisoned by the UDM, you can’t really go back, can you? All the more reason for me to avoid them for now then. Haha. I am well-aware that not all BMW’s are douches. Some have shown kindness to me on the road before — shocking, I know. But they’re kinda few and far in between.

I wish you Bimmer owners and fans (you can be an owner without being a fan and vice-versa, can’t you?) all the best in your future endeavors. And all the best with your driving machines too. May they not be so temperamental and may you not get high blood pressure from your SC visits.

• Coriolis (Member) on Nov 08, 2014 at 2:33 pm

That sheer driving pleasure is a usp that’s really hard to be beaten by other marques. You sure you don’t wanna check out their premium selection? :-)

• Obviously (Member) on Nov 08, 2014 at 6:49 pm

Thanks for the invite but I’ll pass for now. Look at sudonano — he seems to have been poisoned to the point of no return. The income barrier is not exactly easy to overcome also. :)

• blaster88 on Nov 08, 2014 at 5:23 pm

Ok. I test drove the W205 C200 and the F30 328i Msport a few weeks ago…Not a fair comparison in terms of performance and handling. Obviously thumbs up for the F30. Can’t wait for the LCI version. Interior and fitting wise, its all W205! Great build quality, modern interior, dials and a superbly contoured centre console. Interior also quiet like a church mouse….I believe you cannot avoid comparisons but the 3 Series and Class are positioned differently. 3 Series is about handling and performance – living up to the motto “ultimate driving machine”. the C class is about luxury, comfort and class. No departure from this in the F30 and W205…Consumer research had proven many times that the target market for either brand is very distinct….I for example is a fan of the blue and white propeller. As much as I try, I cannot bring myself to like a Merc…but have to say I was very tempted this time till I test drove it….not my cup of tea.

• paultan.org way to go!!!!!! Its goina transform in to Top Gear of Malaysia. Please do more comparison of these type on the luxury segment and also supercar segment. It will be even more excited to read. Besides, I know Gregory as I studied same high school as him.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 7
    • forrest the tree on Nov 07, 2014 at 5:25 pm

so paul tan need to learn how to drift and drag racing? hahah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
  • Aerodynamic bro on Nov 07, 2014 at 3:53 pm

There’s no contest here,Mercedes win even though I’m a BMW fan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 8
  • Old Man vs Young Man.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 14
  • The W205 has pushed the benchmark up. Better handling but a leap jump in quality & design. For someone who doesn’t need the class-leading handling but for who appreciates good looks & superb quality coupled with nice taut handling; the C class is tailor-made for them. IMHO, Merc has found the winning formula

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 4
  • heybadigol (Member) on Nov 07, 2014 at 4:50 pm

Nice comparison. But was expecting an on the road test. Guess that will come in later – with the 2 Japanese compact sports sedans (IS250 & Q50) in attendance, eh?

Note that even though the C Class has more rear legroom, the bench is short and does not reach anywhere near Gregory’s back of knees. The W205 rear bench are also lower set (good for kids & those with shorter legs, not so for the long legged), as you can see by the narrower angle of Gregory’s knees (compared to F30). So its not supportive as the F30, based on pictures anyways. But of course, shape of seats, recline, material softnees, bolstering are also important factors. And those require an actual road test to determine the winner.

• Choco on Nov 07, 2014 at 5:03 pm

This C was meant to clobber the 3. That was the intention of Merc and from where most people are standing, the 3 is on the floor and the referee’s count is getting close to 10. Clear knock out!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
  • spongewai on Nov 07, 2014 at 5:06 pm

and the winner is……

*drum*

I really dunno XD

• Aero (Member) on Nov 07, 2014 at 5:12 pm

Another excellent comparison ! Great job guys !

• BS, no comparison with the class leading Preve is BS

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
      • Obviously (Member) on Nov 08, 2014 at 2:14 pm

The real BS is another joker Proton supporter. You guys give normal Proton supporters a bad name.

• P1 Salesman on Nov 07, 2014 at 5:25 pm

Why no comparison with Preve? Preve not up to standard meh?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 23
  • bummer on Nov 07, 2014 at 5:32 pm

F30 win Free service, maintenance, and repair for 3 years!

• seancorr (Member) on Nov 07, 2014 at 7:06 pm

Puii I only serviced my car once so far in my 15 months of ownership and they also refused to change my wiper blades coz its not time yet!

It only benefits sales people who drive a lot of mat rempits who rempit all the time on the road and on the track.

If you want a better deal, go get a Beemer now since selected models are offered with 5 years BSRI.

• Preve wins with 5 years warranty!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
  • Cristiano Ronaldo or Lionel Messi…

• advice those interested in c200 , pls go for test drive by bringing 3-4 adults sitting at the back .
    you need to decide whether u can tahan for the retarded transmission .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 11
  • if c200 sell at 240k , will consider it . but at 280k
    (plus 3 year service fees 15k-20K) 295k . just top-up another 15k u can get BMW 328I M-SPORT .
    NO need to trust me , just go and test drive yourself and feel the diff between 328i and c200 .
    I own a 328i and my father own E200 .so I know the diff ..
    note : BMW BSRI is totally free for 3 years (estimate you can save 15-25k compared to Merc)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 14
    • The sales of BMW is quite bad lately, ya?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 11
    • seancorr (Member) on Nov 07, 2014 at 6:58 pm

Chillex bro, the price of the W205 is high due to CBU status. Wait for CKD coming in 2015…by then the C200 price will be closer to a 320i.

As for BSRI…don’t fall for that gimmick…if you travel less than 30k a year you only save a couple of thousand over the 3 years they offer free service. Plus BSRI doesn’t change simple stuff like wiper blades each time you sent in for service. My car only does 12k km per annum so by the time it hits 3 years I would not have the chance to claim free disc brakes and pads which are the costly items covered so yeah….BSRI is a gimmick if you’re not a salesman or a driver who rempits all the time.

• Preve only selling at 80k, why pay 280k when you can have Lotus handling that beats BMW?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 10
      • GlueBall on Nov 08, 2014 at 4:39 pm

And after 3 years of aggressive motoring your Preve will become a queen in the shop.

• blackbox on Nov 08, 2014 at 10:44 am

3 years or 60,000km you only service 5 times, RM15k saving, average each service RM3k. You stupid BMW salesman.
      Compare 328i to E200?
      Compare CKD price with CBU price?
      You stupid BMW salesman.

• ..the merc longer warranty compared to beemer 2 years warranty seal the deal for me

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
  • nabill (Member) on Nov 07, 2014 at 6:20 pm

For me, thrs sting abt the c-class(previous gen W204) that the f30 does not provide, which is the overall solidity n refinement… It jus feels like a steel build vault that the f30 does not come close to…. Locally build f30 jus feels like a a level down frm the c204 interms of overall build…
    F30 2 litre turbo n the 8speed auto is one of the best n can get freakishly good fc but everthing else… The c204 trumps it… C205 probably even more so….
    What brings down the f30 is not the car, bt the suspect ckd quality

• sick&tired on Nov 07, 2014 at 6:34 pm

a fairer comparison would have been the F30 328i M SPort. It has a different steering wheel, larger i-drive screen, shadowline trim, all black interior and not to mention the M Sport bodykit!

• seancorr (Member) on Nov 07, 2014 at 7:03 pm

Eh….u wanna compare a W205 C200 with a F30 328i M-Sport? Its the W205 C250 AMG Line that should be compared to the 328i M-Sport and boy does the AMG Line have a good list of stuff like the Burmeister Surround Sound System, Panoramic Sliding Sunroof or the LED Intelligent Light System with Adaptive Highbeam Assist. The only thing good on the 328i is the adaptive suspension…seriously. Comfort access pun tarak in the F30, how la macha?

• many uncle dont know that even in European countries the 3 is far better than the C. C is for old uncle. 3 is for young man.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 18
    • not-a-beemer era on Nov 07, 2014 at 10:42 pm

typical malaysian comparison. boy, pergi tengok kereta depan2 dulu baru compare ok? and u can see which one is a real uncle look. ok boy?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
      • i challenge u go and see which one uncle prefers….of course the mercs

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 10
        • bro, merc models are no longer for uncle only la, pls update ur taste …

• transformer on Nov 07, 2014 at 8:22 pm

don’t know much about these 2 cars, interior, handling, rides & etc…. but based on this blog tittle “gallery w205 vs f30”, gallery means photo/image so its more towards exterior…

my vote definitely goes W205 Merc because BMW has been using their signature front for the longest time…. its really need a full makeover!

* why longtime paultan.org no new poll? IMHO this gallery blog definitely need to be a poll… thank you.

• BSRI is not a gimmick . Go and ask real owner . I drive e90 for 3 years and f30 for 2 years . I never paid a single cent for the past 5 years . Go and ask merc owner how much they need to paid for 5 years .probably more than 20k .

• We should use the car value for comparison . That why 328 m-sport not compare to c250amg .

• Malaysian don’t know anything about car . Go n see oversea review . Most review f30 beat w205

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
    • not-a-beemer era on Nov 07, 2014 at 10:47 pm

u have to accept now this is not a beemer era. i know this is hurt. the only 3s can win is seating position at the back and the rear leg room also the engine and handling. features? spec? safety? quality? comfort? non a 3s can beat that. sorry kid, i already compare this both model when i was training last month.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 9
      • daffodil on Nov 08, 2014 at 8:00 am

Come on lah you merc salesman, the facts and figures tell us that BMW sales more car then merc every year for the past donkey years, and you come here and bull.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 11
        • Proton Fanboy on Nov 08, 2014 at 3:45 pm

Come on lah, Proton sells more than BMW and Merc combined, more people like Proton OK?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 11
          • Rkhouse on Nov 09, 2014 at 3:37 pm

Come on la are u retarded? proton affordable of course more people can afford not because people like proton ok?.. Omg face palm

• seancorr (Member) on Nov 09, 2014 at 9:59 pm

I understand what you mean coz I saw the review too and was surprised the F30 won overall compared to the W205 but it won by a small margin.

I guess with all the plain Jane feeling driving all the recent cars lately people still want to see and feel a driver’s car and the F30 is the answer to it. I just hope the next gen 3 Series will not get even softer else the magic it has to enter corners at high speeds will be gone.

• Definitely go for bmw

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
  • I just booked the c250 AMG..plenty of option worth..used to own f30 320i and its a great car..just needed something for a change..the w205 profile looks awesome though..

• Bro, is it feasible to pay almost RM350k for C250 AMG? btw, congrats. I am sure u will definitely have a good driving days ahead of you.

• Thanks & btw in 2012 bmw launched the top line 335i CBU at 488k..massive myr 148k more for just lil bit more power ( 5.5 sec to 100 kph vs 6.5 sec on the c class).

• heybadigol (Member) on Nov 08, 2014 at 10:21 am

Wow, good for you. Thats top of the line W205 (for the moment). Saw the C250 AMG nearby my home earlier. Looks so much better than the Avantgarde & Exclusive (which is more boring looking than exclusive).

• Thanks guys..well considering all of that extra stuff i’m gettin..its really valuable’s that cn only be found in other much expnsve models like the S class & porsche’s..plus c class hv high rv value compare 2 other german rivals to date..

• shah21 on Nov 09, 2014 at 12:36 am

Hey samz, when did you booked the car? I already booked the c200 since may. Since i saw the official c250 amg brochure by MBM, I called my salesperson to change my booking to c250 amg line. But he says this amg line only limited for 12 units of allocation in malaysia and no possibilities for me to get the ckd amg line also. Is this true or I’ve just been tricked by him? Thanks.

• daffodil on Nov 08, 2014 at 7:57 am

BMW. Because I am still young.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
  • I guess this generation is the Merc Gen. The last BMW that can topple a Merc in any aspect would be the F10 against W212. Perhaps the new E-class would be a better driving machine when the new gen is due in 2017.

• heybadigol (Member) on Nov 08, 2014 at 10:14 am

With all the quality, service, warranty issues, i’m surprised not more people buy Lexus. They are as reliable as Toyotas (technically they are Toyotas but much more luxurious and in case of the IS/GS way more fun to drive). And i’m sure many know about Lexus’ well known customer service, from the point of buying (even if you look-see only and never buy) the car until it comes to maintenance service.

• the merc with its chrome line around the window makes it really an uncle-ish feeling about it.

• old dog on Nov 08, 2014 at 11:08 am

Most UK car reviews gave BMW F30 the upper hand even though it launched earlier…

• Merc is no longer perceive as the businessman’s car, it is the car for the entrepreneurs!

• Peter Mak on Nov 08, 2014 at 12:36 pm

Never been a great fan of previous C’s. Drove both of these recently and must say the C has an edge over the 3 this time.

• Heybrook on Nov 08, 2014 at 1:21 pm

i see some people are making idiotic comments who know nothing about premium cars while this Ah Beng is making a fool out of himself.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
    • Proton Fanboy on Nov 08, 2014 at 3:19 pm

Proton has VSC and Lotus handling, cheaper and better than BMW or Merc

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
  • GlueBall on Nov 08, 2014 at 4:06 pm

Are you all wealthy Datuks or politically connected VIPs who can scam an AP to avoid the obscene import tax? (Second highest car import tax in the world after Singapore) The cost of a 320i in Germany, incl tax, is 36,400 Euros (RM 152,152) Why are we paying an astronomical RM 241,800…? I’m making do with a second hand 20 year old Five series; still better than a new bone-shaking Proton.

• MercFan250 on Nov 09, 2014 at 12:44 am

I’m very excited for this new c class. Suddenly, after I zoomed in the rear pic of this car, I just noticed the twin faux exhaust of the car is FAKE!! What a shame…

• Both car quality it’s just the same, very slightly different between each car, I like C- Class most of 3 series, but I like 3series driving character , if really want to chose, i will consider which is value for money ! Temporary BMW premium selection is great deal , C- class is new born in the market with long queue N nothing with exciting offer! Those who keen
    C-class may need more patient .!

• greatlander on Nov 10, 2014 at 7:45 am

Last week in Cologne “Kloen”, Tested all the Mercedes, including the new C class, it is a great car and smooth ride. The only problem it bothers me , it is a common Taxi. I had ride on from A Class to the E class, well I think the S Class is too exclusive that reserve for hotel. well, the Taxi driver demo the Turbo diesel boost to show me how it efficient the car. Well it was great ride to Dom city… from my hotel… smile with a pleasant…

• A200 feels underpower , so can’t imagine for a bigger and heavier c200 . so 290k buy a under power car !
    better get a 328i m-sport , really more fun and power .

• In terms of showing extraordinary and excellence (in terms of aesthetic and reputation), of course for the comfy drive as well, the C-class is now the choice. But however for the performance and responsive drive, it always be BMW. that is why we always see BMW speeding all the way instead of mercedes. ;)

• i have seen lots on the road for new c class at istanbul last week, its look gorgeous, totally differnce with previous c class model, f30 quite familiar alrdy, too many on the road since 2 years back at malaysia, not much changes. funny comment frm our fella here, fake exhoust system for new classs…its not fake bro, original double exhoust system, the sound totally difference, like turbo car system…..thay why, now days merc formula one is no 1 but sorry for bmw…

• A200 is using 1.6 engine which is same as CLA200 if i m not wrong. thats y it’s slighly under powered

• sodomite on Nov 13, 2014 at 11:55 am

I can’t believe there are so many idiots wanting to put 328i m sport here for comparison. How on earth is that fair, comparing it to C200? C200’s equivalent is 320i. Are they true idiots or getting paid by BMW?

• comtruise on Nov 16, 2014 at 1:07 am

Because C200 and 328i is a lot closer in price than 320i. Which you would have gotten if you actually read the article.

• german marque lover (not perpetually) on Nov 14, 2014 at 4:03 pm

Both cars are good in their own individual ways. Each has its own strength and weaknesses. I am in a fortunate position to have owned both models, albeit in their previous iterations. Due to the lack of test vehicles plus the unrealized promise of when a car is available for me, in this case a w205, I have decided to go for a Japanese L-uxury brand this time around. So far, the ownership of this vehicle has been quite pleasant and uneventful. Some readers rightly mentioned, the rear seat of the W205 is still far from being comfortable. Hence my decision to go for the L-uxury Japanese brand which is superbly quiet, refined and comfortable.

• bevin on Mar 25, 2015 at 10:58 pm

Initially preferred the MB. But rear…boot looks too short. Bm cheaper too.