Ford Fiesta ST launched in Malaysia – RM149,888

ford-fiesta-st-previewed-asia-klasika 286

By now you’d know everything there is to know about the Malaysian-spec Ford Fiesta ST. It was first previewed at KLIMS13, and we then spotted it going through the system at JPJ Putrajaya last October. Following that, its RM149,888 pricetag was announced, a day before the shiny new hot-hatch went on display at Asia Klasika 2014.

Now, the red-hot B-segmenter has officially gone on sale in Malaysia, arriving at select showrooms nationwide. Just in case you didn’t know, the three-door-bodied Ford Fiesta ST is powered by a 1.6 litre turbocharged engine with 182 PS and 240 Nm of torque (290 Nm on time-limited overboost), and it’ll get to 100 km/h in 6.9 seconds through a six-speed manual gearbox.

Nope, no automatic option here. At a shade under RM150k (OTR with insurance, or RM145,842 without), the tuned-up Fiesta will go up against the RM139,888 Peugeot 208 GTi (200 hp and 275 Nm, six-speed manual, 0-100 km/h in 6.8 secs) and Renault’s RM172,888 Clio RS 200 EDC (200 hp and 240 Nm, six-speed dual-clutch auto, 0-100 km/h in 6.7 secs).

Other than the obvious difference (two less doors than standard Fiestas) the ST adds on distinctive front and rear bumpers, halogen projector headlamps, plus a tasty set of 17-inch Rado Grey alloys (shod with 205/40 tyres) and red-painted brake calipers. There’s no mistaking it for anything other than an ST, that’s for sure.

On the kit front, Fiesta ST gets Silverstone grey/charcoal black fabric seats (Recaros in front), leather-wrapped steering wheel (with ST badging) and gearknob, manual air-con, keyless entry and start, auto lights and wipers, as well as a SYNC-based CD audio six-speaker system with multi-function matrix display.

Standard safety equipment consists of ABS with EBD and brake assist, ESC, hill start assist and seven airbags (driver/front passenger, front side, curtain and driver knee). Fully-imported from Cologne, Germany, the Ford Fiesta ST comes in three colours – Molten Orange, Spirit Blue and Panther Black – is packaged with a three-year/60,000 km free maintenance plan.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• wow….

ok.. wait til Xmas 2015 see how much discount we can get

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 1
    • Ford - Champion of RV on Nov 22, 2014 at 11:45 am

Too dangerous to buy this car now since Government has announced that they will give the 30% reduction they promised. This is “imported” and “non luxury” as defined by the Government.

Too scared to buy this car. Suddenly price is reduced, habis la. Already Ford got a bad reputation for having the worst RV of all cars. Even 2013 Ford Focus now can buy RM60k from its original price of RM113k

Now buy this car at RM150k. As with the normal Ford bad RV, it will drop half price after 2 years. Then Government do reduce the 30% promised, aiyoo, in 2 years time I want to sell, maybe get RM30k for this car.

Sam Loo also won’t take this car in.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 34
      • WTB 60k 2013 FOCUS! on Nov 22, 2014 at 4:09 pm

Champion,
        Pls show me or bring me to the RM60k Ford Focus (2013). Can upgrade from my Swift :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
        • Same L0rrr on Nov 24, 2014 at 11:22 am

For those smoking addicted Proton fanboys who can even do double smoking “smoking salmon inside while trying to smoke Civic outside”… this is THE CAR you guys should get it.

What 1.6 campro turbo DVVT Lotus flowery handling bla bla bla… only Sendiri Cakap Sendiri Syok. Preve turbo 0-100km/h still pathetic: 9.6s.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 10
          • Why suddenly Proton is mentioned? I can’t see any Proton above. Are you too anti-Proton or psycho?

• Same L0rrr on Nov 24, 2014 at 2:22 pm

I am just telling Proton hardcore smokers: Get this ST if you are serious on smoking other cars.

I also admit Toyota does not have any model similar to this. Well done Ford!

No need bash no need syok sendiri, everything on fact. – Same L0rrr’s style.

• the driver on Nov 22, 2014 at 6:57 pm

Wow! I got inspired to check out the prices of Ford Focus in the internet and could not get that RM60k price – please advise where. All I got was a RM100k and up price for 2013 models/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
        • Same L0rrr on Nov 24, 2014 at 11:27 am

When you are willing to spend more for your personal driving interest, RV shouldn’t be your concern. Same like our 86, thanks to Proton, it is RM250k. If ppl buy, they are buying the car, not the RV.

Looking for good RV, Vios/Altis/Camry still your best choice. Check up the price of 2004 City and 2004 Vios then you know.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
      • Anti-Establishment on Nov 22, 2014 at 7:12 pm

A Ford Focus at RM 60K? Bullshit.

Been looking around and the cheapest I can get is RM 79K, but on average it’s RV is on par with Civic et al.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
      • thedarkside on Nov 23, 2014 at 1:28 am

talk cock sing song lahhh…..where got 2013 model goin for 60k….u talking bout fiesta or focus?

• ben yap on Nov 23, 2014 at 4:47 pm

Your face after 5 years only worth RM0.10.

Poor RV!

• Same L0rrr on Nov 24, 2014 at 11:32 am

No one buy this car for RV, come on. Want good RV car? Come i give you discount on Vios. The worst is Proton, no build quality no RV..

• NO ESP on Nov 26, 2014 at 8:24 am

Nowsaday, buy toyota NO ESC…
            Even have RV, also no life to sell it!

Hey Sam lorr…..
            Ask your bloody UMW to add this ESP as basic.
            See vios, altis, camry sales.
            Kanasai…….

Push to UMW and save your rice bowl. We will buy toyota if they provide ESC/VSC, 6 airbags..
            All engine change to Dual VVTi and 6 speed gearbox la!

• nuggyn on Nov 22, 2014 at 1:08 am

Nobody will buy this car at this price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 8
  • ralliart on Nov 22, 2014 at 1:27 am

The price is between 208 gti and polo gti. Made up ur mind.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
  • wolfsburg on Nov 22, 2014 at 1:55 am

I’ll take polo gti over this. Proven wrc champion.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 33
    • dsgsark on Nov 22, 2014 at 7:01 pm

It’s not exactly the same one, don’t be naive

• YeapyEvo on Nov 22, 2014 at 9:43 pm

208 T16 is Pikes Peak champion… come on those WRC and specially built cars are totally different from what you can buy ok

• Satria neo s2000 is also rally champ. you should just stick with your neo then. apala… rally cars & road cars are 2 different things.

• NO ESP on Nov 26, 2014 at 8:29 am

as a VW owner, Lousy SC champion champion!

• How about the Fiesta 1.6 TDCi ECOnetic with a consumption of 3.3l/100km in times of unsubsidized fuel?

• ShaunD on Nov 22, 2014 at 8:16 am

Polo gti not in the list of cars ST going up against? Just 208 gti and clio rs? Kesian polo :,(

• SkcusX55 on Nov 22, 2014 at 8:33 am

Fiesta 1.6L ST, Peninsular – 149,888.00, East Msia Sabah/Sarawak – 155,640.00, Langkawi – 88,888.00, Labuan – 92,340.00

You pikir lah sendiri, tax boleh sampey 60k perrggg

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 2
    • kzm (Member) on Nov 22, 2014 at 12:00 pm

In UK Fiesta ST is about RM90k+ (some equipment similar to ST2 UK)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 8
      • antihipokrit on Nov 22, 2014 at 10:56 pm

Then go to UK la. This is Malaysia. Stop comparing with other country. Mind you to pay up to 40% income tax over there?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 42
        • I get what i pay for on Nov 23, 2014 at 9:08 am

your country is special to you? Yes, by taxing you syiok, until nice car, you can see, drool and smell the fabrics only, but can only watch your rich pals drive. Go ahead M’sia, tax the people 50% also nevermind, but show that the taxes were put to good and fair use, and not for bailing out kucing-kurap projects.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 7
        • hes just providing info. he din exactly did any bashing there. dont butthurt…

‘tak suka, keluar malaysia’ –> ayat menteri ni. pls consider being 1. thanks

• NO ESP on Nov 26, 2014 at 8:34 am

Sorry, UK high tax, its true.,
          But british GOV does care to their citizen.
          They got better paid, income, medical, social insurance.
          Even you bitten by a snake, they will send helicopter to save u!
          Here, you pay all taxes, actually much more than UK. Import tax, excise duty, national tax, bla bla tax. Even bra also pay tax!

Katak bawah tempurung.

• IM22BUTILIKTTHENEWCAMRY on Nov 22, 2014 at 8:48 am

SO PETROL PRICE MARKET ALREADY..

IT’S TIME…

FOR OUR CAR PRICE TO BE MARKET PRICE TOO…

Fair ?

FASTER ANNOUNCE CHANGE ALSO LAAAA

LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 1
  • bigdog on Nov 22, 2014 at 8:54 am

its ridiculous how expensive car prices are in Malaysia for such a small engined car…turbo is pretty common nowadays..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 2
  • old dog on Nov 22, 2014 at 10:56 am

STOP spending on cars folks, that is the only way to counter the cronies…

With GST, Oil price hike, its time. Just stop 2 years and see who will bleed. We need to save some $$ as well.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 1
  • seancorr (Member) on Nov 22, 2014 at 11:53 am

For that kind of price they could have added xenon or HID but nooooo they had to sell it with halogen lights.

• weeee on Nov 22, 2014 at 12:01 pm

still think its expensive for the amount of equipment on board.

• cendol (Member) on Nov 22, 2014 at 12:12 pm

Petrol no more subsidy, when car price going to drop?

• Anti-Establishment on Nov 22, 2014 at 7:14 pm

Despite the high prices, it doesn’t stop people from buying cars as it seems now. KL is perpetually jammed, every holiday the highways are jammed, every year new car sales beat expectations.

So just keep it high. Or if you want to bring it down, change the loan terms so that at max you can only take a 5 year loan.

• JB_KIA on Nov 22, 2014 at 1:16 pm

this car met my all my requirements except pricing and the material used in its valves driving mechanism…(can’t mention item name else kena whack)

• Matrix on Nov 22, 2014 at 1:29 pm

this is junk!

My city can beat this car easily at genting downhill.
    Even my city cornering is much better than this.

I think in highway, can’t even smell my inspira smoke.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 45
    • Abes la your inspira eats dust

• YeapyEvo on Nov 22, 2014 at 9:46 pm

Taking the shortcut straight downhill doesn’t count , and in the highway your inspira will engine will burst with so much smoke trying to chase 180hp car

• lolpanda on Jun 04, 2016 at 10:10 pm

mind you it’s 199PS and 290Nm on 15-sec overboost.

in markets (like UK and Malaysia), manufacturers don’t advertise specs on limited time overboost, in US you’ll find the figures above.

• Annoynimouse on Nov 23, 2014 at 12:58 pm

Yeah yeah… your City & Inspira are the best cars in the world at going downhill and cornering and highway driving.

• Talk East Talk West Tokok on Dec 20, 2014 at 11:20 am

You should stop talking KOK. Talking KOK is for brainless ED people. WTF.

• jinggo on Nov 22, 2014 at 1:38 pm

jilaka mahal gila!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • Drixie on Nov 22, 2014 at 8:24 pm

Saw a blue Focus XR5 Turbo on the road yesterday. Where did that come from?

• droll on Nov 23, 2014 at 2:19 am

old unit. been around for > 5 years I believe. it was originally at the old Ford showroom along jln ampang (which has now become Auto Bavaria selling MINIs).

manual gearbox without power windows.

• Ong Chee Boon on Nov 23, 2014 at 2:56 pm

For this kind of spec at this price, only (only) really impatient car enthusiast will fall into the trap.

I have test driven the peugeot 208 GTI (yes manual). It was a very exciting driving experience. I do not know much about fiesta ST, but calling it superior driving experience than 208 GTI, is misleading.

Driving experience might vary in different kind of people as they are looking for different things when comes to driving.

That being said, 208 GTI pricing is far better and attractive than fiesta ST, not to mention they will throw in additional discount during year end. (Did i mentioned 208 GTI has 200 HP at least?)

If i go for refinement, i will pick polo GTI or even Mercedes Benz A200 (it lacks punch, but very good stability and quality interior and solid build quality)

If i go for similar experience, i will pick 208 GTI (much cheaper yet more HP and Nm)

If i am going for pure monstrous horsepower and yet reliable quality, i will go for Mazda 3 MPS.

Renault Clio RS 200? Never tried that, but read reviews saying it is awesome except for its a plasticky exterior and high price tag.

My choice: PG 208 GTI (sob i already bought my car before 208 GTI came out, so can only drool) Or POLO GTI.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
    • CWKen on Nov 23, 2014 at 11:03 pm

I agree with you that different people have a different definition of driving experience. However, the buying behavior also differs between individual. Some values certain experience more and are willing to pay for it, some will go for compromise.

That said, I think you should give the ST a go and decide if your verdict would still be the same.

For myself, I look for driving fun. If I’m going to part with similar amount of my hard-earned money, I would pick the most fun car to drive. That means, I wouldn’t accept anything other than a stick shift. I’ve tested both the GTi and the ST. The verdict: The Fiesta ST. Even with the extra RM10k(or RM15k with rebates)

To put it simple, both are great cars and no doubt the best small hot hatch in their class. However, there’s one major difference between them: In the GTi, it was good fun but it felt weird and something seems missing but in the ST, I was grinning silly all the time. Best part of all, I actually felt at home; everything felt right. Sounds so much better as well thanks to the symposer. And I find the 208 ugly.

All these can’t be describe on paper. Moreover, the ST does have an overboost function where the ST outputs 197bhp & 290Nm for 15 seconds. 15secs is enough on the road unless you’re on track. Then again, despite the lack of power, I’ve watched one track test video where the ST still go faster than the GTi. If that minor difference in HP & torque alone affects your buying decision, you obviously love the straights more than the bends then by all means pick the GTi instead.

• droll on Nov 24, 2014 at 7:19 am

and then you have this -> http://www.mountune.com/index.php/services/performance-upgrades/fiesta/fiesta-st-2013

• CWKen on Nov 24, 2014 at 11:27 am

droolworthy indeed if this comes to Malaysia and SDAC still covers it under warranty. Am sure all ST owners will get it

• lolpanda on Nov 28, 2016 at 3:54 pm

you do realise the A200 is one of the poorer handling hatchbacks in the market..not sure where your “stability” remark is coming from.

• bigdog on Nov 23, 2014 at 5:57 pm

ANYONE noticed that somehow there are little or no 2nd hand Ford cars for sale in a local car classifieds weekly magazine? instead most of the Ford ads for new cars…always wondering whether they scared to publish 2-3 years old model at only half the prices of a new model next

• Henry on Nov 24, 2014 at 10:53 am

Cars like these are for the niche market. We won’t be seeing many on our roads.

• Jilbaber (Member) on Nov 24, 2014 at 1:46 pm

Weh…no body saw the first pic…that light blue car on the right hand side…is that the mustang ?

• WTF. who would pay RM150k for a plastic interior car like that…

• truely malaysian on Nov 24, 2014 at 4:14 pm

Why would we need to borrow money to buy a car, hmmm, let me re-phrase it: why would we need to a loan from a bank and service the loan of which RM60k goes to the government. Get it people of Malaysia?

• before the car was launched… “please bring Fiesta ST here”..
    when the car is here…. “aiiyoo.. expensive”… “crazy.. who want to buy at ## price”.. in UK cheaper larr.. @#$%&$*(@$(

typical people… so what price do these people expect? RM100K for Fiesta ST?

I doubt even at the same price as 208Gti.. the same people will only talk.. talk.. and talk.. and giving nonsense comment..

• NO ESP on Nov 26, 2014 at 9:05 am

Fiesta ST does provide different driving experience in handling.
    You will feel the raw power,action, manuever.

The GTI are tech equiped.
    THe victorious shift via DSG, the failure of DSG.
    It’s still a good performance car in terms of performance. But lack of ,well care of after sell service.

IMHO, fiesta, it’s pure driver’s car.
    GTI, it’s weekend driver’s car.
    We cant demand performance car got good RV.
    It’s pure driving pleasure.
    If pocket not full enough, it becomes driver pressure.

Anyway, welcome ford fiesta ST join Boleh land.
    It’s another good choice for petrol head!

• Madness on Dec 01, 2014 at 1:42 pm

Yea..I agree with you..We can’t expect a performance car has good resales value..
      One of my friend who owned a Golf 1.4 TSI for about 1 year already, so far his car’s condition is pretty well as he is a car lover, taking well of his car all the times..