Volvo developing new three-cylinder turbo engine

The latest company to jump onto the three-cylinder engine bandwagon is Volvo, who’ve just announced that they have plans to produce a lightweight three-cylinder petrol engine as part of its Drive-E engine family.

Volvo says the new three-cylinder engines will be built on the same production lines as their existing Drive-E four-cylinder engine, so it wouldn’t be too far fetched to assume they will have 1.5 litres of displacement, which is basically the four-cylinder with one cylinder dropped.

Multiple tunes are planned for the three-cylinder, with 180 horses as the highest output. A 180 horsepower 1.5 litre three-cylinder would basically replace the Ford 1.6 litre four-cylinder EcoBoost engine currently used in Volvo’s “T4” tune cars, with a lower powered version (say, 140-150 hp) being able to act as a “T3” tune.

“We have learned a lot from the development of our four-cylinder Drive­-E engines and translated this into a highly responsive, compact and powerful premium­ quality three-cylinder engine. The engine is being developed primarily with our new CMA architecture in mind but will also provide power for our 60 Series cars while also meeting Euro 7 emission targets,” says Michael Fleiss, VP Powertrain at Volvo Car.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• P2 all these while already in the 3 cylinders category maaa…nothing to shout about!!! Hahaha…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 23
    • Kancil l2 on Dec 14, 2014 at 7:42 pm

You mean it 3piston cn fight 180hp in stock mode? Even ran pipe also stock …

• Same L0rrrr on Dec 15, 2014 at 1:57 am

Well done Volvo. You can’t sell cars without decent fuel consumption (Euro 5,6,7…) Look at Proton’s sales record then you know. Iriz was named Global Small Car (GSC) which can’t even been sold in Europe now (only Euro 4 compliant).

Daihatsu goes for 3 cylinder (new Axia engine), Ford goes for 3 cylinder (Ecoboost), Volvo also goes for 3 cylinder now. The world is heading for the direction of “less fuel consumption but more power”.

Only the Proton fanboys so excited with the powerless and problematic 4 cylinder with Turbo.

Proton 5S lifestyle:
        1. Sendiri Cakap
        2. Sendiri Syok
        3. Sentiasa Rosak
        4. Sales Carnival
        5. Sangat Mahal

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 25
        • Proton Fanboy (Official) on Dec 15, 2014 at 9:28 am

Hey,whats your problem?You guys always critics Proton.But Perodua?You guys always say that Proton car just Euro 4,can’t reach Euro spec,tin milo.Then why Perodua

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
          • Samelorrr CCB on Dec 15, 2014 at 11:59 am

Kindly ignore him.. as he was an unfortunate victim of hit and run.

He suffers from severe mental bipolar condition

He was hit by a Proton, while on the run in a Perodua

Some say it was unfortunate, some say it was fortunate

• Same L0rrrr on Dec 15, 2014 at 12:03 pm

Do Toyota/Daihatsu has Euro 5 compliant model? Yes.

Do Toyota/Daihatsu make government to impose high tax on foreign cars? No.

Toyota/Daihatsu/Perodua will survive if Malaysia enforce Euro 5 compliant. But Proton?

Why Malaysia is not enforcing Euro 5 compliant? Waiting for Proton.

What should we be proud of Proton? High tax protection? Powerless but fuel hunger engine? RM1.6bil digging from tax payer money?

So much money dump of course can make car, but so much money dump the car quality still poor and sales bad. You proud of it?

Stop Sendiri Cakap Sendiri Syok. Anything you considered achievement from Proton, is because decades of tax protection and government help, after all, are from us the TAX PAYERS. Yet Proton can’t even sell its car to Singapore/Thailand/Indonesia after 30 years. It is a SHAME!

You convert to Islam can’t help Proton do any better. Wanna enjoy better and cheaper Proton? Convert to Arab citizen please.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 7
          • Same L0rrrr on Dec 15, 2014 at 12:34 pm

There are people like this: Whenever they have nothing informative/ constructive to talk, they talk shit. Samelorrr CCB is a typical one.

• sandy on Dec 16, 2014 at 5:08 pm

Japs took more than 30 years to be like now. Go and bash them. Korean co.s are times bigger than p1 and Qoros is multinational, so?

• Proton Fanboy (Official) on Dec 15, 2014 at 9:38 am

Hey,whats your problem?You guys always critics Proton.But Perodua?You guys always say that Proton car just Euro 4,can’t reach Euro spec,tin milo.Then why Perodua?Perodua also didn’t reach Euro 4,Euro 1 also can’t reach,always rebadge Daihatsu car since the Perodua Kancil.I know why!Because the Toyota already buy the saham 50% and the Perodua car owner dreaming that they are driving a Toyota luxury car.Syok sendiri lah!!At least Proton already try reach Euro standard.Euro 4,not bad right!You guys should be proud of it!!People that use Satria Neo R3 in Japan also proud of it.We?Supporting foreign car manufacturers.This Volvo engine sound sound like lorry also you guys praise.Typical Malaysian.

#GoGoProton
          #MyFamilyIsChineseConvertToIslam
          #ProtonHatersSyokSendiri
          #ProtonWannabe

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
          • Victor (volvo fans) on Dec 16, 2014 at 4:07 am

Proton fanboy,I’d like to inform you that the latest perodua axia engine meets the euro 4 standard. Currenty, Proton Perdana is sharing the same engine with Honda Accord. It’s a shame that Proton can’t produce a 2000cc engine without any defects as Malaysia’s gourvement have had invested billion of RM towards Proton

• Citizen on Dec 15, 2014 at 10:31 am

Not all OEM go for 3 cyc strategy. Look at mazda strategy for SkyActive.

I read so many ‘Intelligent’ comments from you. If you are so good in Automotive and know how to persuade your top management for your great ideas, please help us change our national automotive company.

U r most welcome there.

• Same L0rrrr on Dec 15, 2014 at 12:11 pm

My top management PRIMARY objective is to make money, not making Malaysia a better environment for cars. Wake up!

I dare Proton to let go protection and all foreign cars will be cheaper.

When foreign cars are cheaper, my top management will be forced to introduce better and cheaper models. Understand the economic principle of free market??

Look at US, UK, AUS… their people enjoy better and cheaper cars because of NO PROTECTION.

• nhili on Dec 16, 2014 at 5:10 pm

NO PROTECTION MY FOOT, only vehicles that fulfill their rules and regulations can be sold there.

• Ah Beng (Member) on Dec 15, 2014 at 10:57 am

PROTON also developing new engine..just wait n c..Same L0rrr, I advise you not to banyak cakap, please improve your Toyota car quality. Customers were complaining they need to queue when booking for repairing at SC..

• Same L0rrrr on Dec 15, 2014 at 12:16 pm

Proton FOREVER developing this and that lar… Lot of hoohaa excitement but nothing achieved. Look at the Proton hybrid!!! When it was supposed to be launched?

Proton 3 cylinder engine (powerful and Euro 7 compliant)? Year 2044 please.

Customer complain queue in SC because A LOT of people buy Toyota. Our technicians are doing good job, there is no bullshit like “Bang, ni biasalah, Proton mah!”

• gater on Dec 16, 2014 at 5:13 pm

p1 already has turbo engine, when UMW when to sell it here? Bigger cc means paying higher insurance and road tax.

• RyanS on Dec 15, 2014 at 10:05 am

Different thing at all, this is some kind of turbocharged engine not the kecil miao P2 ED-10, 1.0 EJ-VE or 1KR-DE zzz

• They are not shouting.

• V6VroomVroom on Dec 14, 2014 at 7:54 pm

I beg you differ ! P2 only 1 liter engine. Still, try install turbo, will it almost match this Volvo ?

• Proton Fanboy (Official) on Dec 14, 2014 at 7:28 pm

Goodles Job Volvo!!!But still I will wait for the CFE 2.0 engine for Proton R3 car.It’s awesome.I already see it.Maybe Proton will launch it before Proton Sa3a.With six manual transmission,gorgeous looking,superb engine,it’s awesome!

#GoodJobVolvo

#ProtonCamproEngineFamilyKickIn

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 28
    • V6VroomVroom on Dec 14, 2014 at 8:01 pm

CamPro 2.0 with turbocharge is bit overkill.
      Still, I hope if they release out 2.0 engine will be completely new. And hope FC by par to most today 2.0 liter engine.

• Proton….I still doubt about the QC and Quality….to make us malaysians buy your product..make sure your fuel turbo consumption is excellent..no point 155bhp bla bla bla but end of the day your fuel is suck big time

• Same L0rrrr on Dec 15, 2014 at 12:23 pm

You are right. Proton fanboys can only verbally smoke this and that with the torque figure on the paper.

On the road? The turbos are moving slow and fuel hunger. The fastest also 9.6s from 0-100km/h, similar to our hybrid Prius C (10.5s, only 0.9s slower).

• samelorstpd on Dec 16, 2014 at 12:51 am

Prius C is slowwwwwww. Slower when full load.
          You want to compare it with Preve Civic Pug 308?
          Go back to your cave!

• Same L0rrrr on Dec 16, 2014 at 1:42 am

LOL, your Preve/Civic/308 are faster when full load? Say again!

Preve (12s) without turbo is even slower than Prius C (10.5s). Get the fact right: http://www.protonpreve.com/pricing.php

See who is indeed the caveman now.

• samelorstpd on Dec 16, 2014 at 5:04 pm

Prius C has puny torque, if full load, how to move?

LOL

• Prius C is crampy car, handling is the worst among the ars mentioned.

• I believe you are Amir. :) #goodjobamir.

• Mat Kool on Dec 15, 2014 at 1:23 am

Syoknya-syoknya selalu, syoknya-syoknya sendiri!

• seancorr (Member) on Dec 14, 2014 at 9:51 pm

Cool so we can expect a cheaper T3 version…but at what cost? Please – no skimping on the spec list, Volvo has always been associated with generous spec lists here in Bolehland.

• ( ° ͜ʖ͡°)╭∩╮ on Dec 14, 2014 at 10:25 pm

What the heck are you people even commentating about?

• wooowww… already meet “Euro 7” std emission.. others manufacturer, Euro 6 R&D still in progress…

• Savoc_Smyh on Dec 16, 2014 at 7:52 am

Euro 7, WOW…. but sadly Petronas still supplying us with RON 95(EURO 2M) standard.

Please refer the below hyperlink:

http://www.mymesra.com.my/RON_95-@-RON_95_EURO_2M.aspx

• reqww on Dec 14, 2014 at 10:58 pm

wow, 1.5 3-pots putting out 180hp nowadays, japanese still selling 2.4L sub-180hp petrol guzzlers in Malaysia..

• Makes sense: Cheaper to build, less internal friction.

• Volvo do very good job under Geely. look at XC90 and Volvo S100 concept. and now they developing new engine

• Jaybond on Dec 15, 2014 at 8:08 am

Now, where are the new Volvo cars ??(excluding XCs..)

• BNLOL on Dec 15, 2014 at 1:31 pm

All the APs taken by you-know-who, not so easy to bring in new models

• Sammy on Dec 15, 2014 at 12:13 pm

So… the trend now is to use motorbike engines in cars….
    Or is it using car-like body in motorbikes?…

• guys…hold your horses…is not proton to be blame,is those management guys and the policies should be blame, remember the 90s when proton was the top,did these management think about to improve their product ??????? no…. after all these year of bad impression….is a bit too late, ask those who bought proton before do they want to buy proton again..