VIDEO: W205 Mercedes-Benz C-Class walk-around

Taking its turn on our walk-around series this time is yet another new challenger in the compact executive sedan arena, but one that looks to have the best shot yet at taking the fight to the F30 BMW 3 Series. It is, of course, the all-new W205 Mercedes-Benz C-Class.

We’ve pitted Munich and Stuttgart against each other before in a full head-to-head gallery, but now our man Jonathan James Tan will guide you through every little minutiae you need to know about the W205, inside and out, in under seven minutes.

You’ll find out how the C-Class compares against the 3 Series in areas such as performance, fuel economy, interior quality, safety and after-sales support, as well as whether equipment levels are up to snuff against its sworn rival. Confused about the three variants available locally – the C 200 Avantgarde shown here, the C 250 Exclusive and the C 250 AMG Line? No worries, we’ve got you covered there too.

We hope you enjoy the video. Piqued your interest? You can read our review of the W205 Mercedes-Benz C-Class, or better yet, wait for the video review of the car coming out very soon. Also, you can head over to CarBase.my for full specifications and equipment, as well as compare it to the BMW 3 Series, Audi A4, Infiniti Q50 and Lexus IS. Don’t forget to subscribe to our YouTube channel, and thanks for watching!

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• weeee on Dec 15, 2014 at 7:00 pm

First choice still 3 series, this one is nice but still more towards Ahpek.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 98
    • ProudAhPek on Dec 15, 2014 at 8:07 pm

If you know the story you must be surprised. Apparently a few years ago a bunch of professional designers, engineers, mechanics and the board of directors gathered in a room in Stuttgart and decided,

“Yeah lets build a car for the ahpeks.” Hence a legendary car was born.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 7
      • ahpekrich on Dec 15, 2014 at 11:28 pm

Interior look p;asticky!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 21
        • Same L0rrrr on Dec 16, 2014 at 1:15 am

Wa… so CHEAP! All thanks to Proton.

If not Proton, even freshgrad can get one, now it is available for rich uncle only.

And please note that, every boy will become uncle one day. But not every uncle can afford this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
    • Mercedes-Benz is for ‘Ah Pek or uncle’. Undeniable as when you can afford one, you already aged. Unless you are a Peter Pan, you will grow old one day. The question is will you look like in your forties when you are in sixties? Only time can tell. So for the time being, go drive your 3 Series, 50-year-old-Peter-Pan!

• kennethkkf on Dec 15, 2014 at 7:47 pm

they got a headup display right?

• maXref (Member) on Dec 15, 2014 at 9:25 pm

Nope. So far i think only BMW offers it. I know 528 and & series does. Not sure about 3 series..

• seancorr (Member) on Dec 15, 2014 at 9:31 pm

F30 no heads up display for Bolehland…born in the US or Europe then yeah you got option for that.

Anyway need to wait for 2015 to arrive for CKD price then the real fight will begin…its no wonder I cannot even see one W205 on the road now.

• maXref (Member) on Dec 15, 2014 at 11:01 pm

seen quite a number on the road already. Honestly, i love the interior. Looks even better in person. But exterior wise, ‘baby-S’ looks didn’t work out very well for this car. Unless its the AMG kitted car, it does’t look that great. Maybe its one of those design that grows on you…

• I have seen a few C250 AMG it boy does it look stunning.. RM330K is ok for that kind of package and specs. Higher spec than most countries in ASEAN.

• seancorr (Member) on Dec 16, 2014 at 4:08 pm

Damn must be where I live and drive that I don’t see any…I do see those S400 Hybrids though…

But yeah the AMG Line is the only line I like in the W205 lineup and its spec kit is just nice…pity MBM do not offer adaptive LEDs and fully comfort accessin its cheaper C200 model…its supposed to be standard in cars with these kind of prices…

• maXref (Member) on Dec 15, 2014 at 11:03 pm

assuming you’re a 3 series owner (based on ur picture), does BSRI cover the cost for parts? Or it covers only the labour costs? I mean, does it somewhat covers like how a warranty should cover the car?

• seancorr (Member) on Dec 16, 2014 at 4:04 pm

I just send it in for service whenever my iDrive prompts me to and its all on the house but BSRI is not warranty…and our local BMW models only come with a pathetic 2 year warranty…

• ipader on Dec 15, 2014 at 11:30 pm

Those display likes ipad on dashboard

• 335i has head-up display thou. While in overseas, HUD is a pricey cost option.

• Jilbaber (Member) on Dec 16, 2014 at 10:05 am

So far i never see Mercedes offer HUD on any of their cars,not even the S-class, wonder why..

• heybadigol (Member) on Dec 15, 2014 at 8:25 pm

Obviously, this is a teaser for the real deal full review. But I totally agree on the rim size. Too small for the non AMG models (same comment for the Infiniti Q50 2.0GT base model). Maybe its just me, the Avantgarde still looks fine, but the exclusive line with 17 inch rims is just ugly. 18 inch is the minimum for cars this size. Looking forward to that review guys.

• adnan A on Dec 15, 2014 at 8:30 pm

Despite my lack of interest in this segment of executive car, I must say, the car is quite a departure from the usual C merz. And somehow, I understand why the need to move to a more premium level. Mercedes CClass need to keep its tokay ish feel, as product differentiator. Slowly it also managed to keep up with the power race and small engine config.
    Its a segment now more hotly contested, where the likes of A4 is upping up the game and keep the big 2 honest.

For now, C class, i.m.o has somewhat triumphed.

• elson on Dec 15, 2014 at 8:32 pm

only those “lala” will go for BMW,
    bcoz they still believe “bring more women” this grandma story

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 16
  • This is real nice!
    The last generation W204 was also good but it aged so fast than E90 3 series that time. Hope this new generation doesn’t age that fast. To be honest, F30 still looks great!

• Both are aged, only Audi has timeless design coz all variants look same!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
  • Thinking sell one of my condo to get this,wonder is a wise move?
    Anyway buying car at 300k is never a wise move,rather an impulsive decision.
    but really syok if owning one.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 13
    • You cannot afford this at first place!

• 6 years ago i cant afford even vios, cant afford a house.
        now with 8 properties in hand inclusive a semi d and shoplot.
        if i always say cant afford, i woundnt be as affordable as now.
        have some dream please.

• VW Fanboi on Dec 15, 2014 at 8:46 pm

My Passat is much stronger, sure can ligan this new C class easily.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 32
  • Proton Fanboy (Official) on Dec 15, 2014 at 8:58 pm

Humm,looks plain.But good job Mercedes.But I think Iriz interior and exterior looks more interesting.

#GoGoPROTON

#GoodJobMercedes

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 24
    • sepul on Dec 16, 2014 at 1:33 am

Dude, stop it, seriously. You want to talk about Iriz? There are more W205 than Iriz on the road, that tells you something

• Same L0rrrr on Dec 16, 2014 at 1:56 am

You are right on Proton 4-Good marketing strategy:
      1. Sounds Good
      2. Looks Good
      3. Promises Good
      4. But actually not Good.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 12
    • Anonymous on Dec 16, 2014 at 12:08 pm

This is one of the best interiors of the d segment. So you also saying iriz interior better than f30?

• wayangkulit on Dec 15, 2014 at 9:11 pm

Comments section looks strange without comments like;

“In xyz country this car only cost xxxx amount of money”

“Where’s the 30% car reduction”

“How many airbags?”

“Oil is expensive here”

• Yeah yeah so you want to copypaste it here?

• Confirm the guy who writes all these nonsense is a merc salesman, that is why this kind of message only appear in BMW, Audi and other luxury car post.

• Matrix on Dec 15, 2014 at 9:39 pm

what a poor car!

Uncle look! lousy performance !

City is much better! sporty !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 28
    • BRO … ARE YOU SICK COMPARING THIS WITH city?

• Matrix on Dec 16, 2014 at 11:13 am

Are you nuts? or brain masuk water?

This car is very bad in RV.

City is the king! best choice in malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
        • IKnowUDunnoIKnow (Member) on Dec 16, 2014 at 11:50 am

No wonder you are still driving City.. ppl who bought Merc won’t think abt RV.

• Anonymous on Dec 16, 2014 at 12:04 pm

City may have good rv but it sucks in everything else.

• seancorr (Member) on Dec 16, 2014 at 4:15 pm

Bro…owners who buy these premium models do not put RV on top of their lists….these cars are depreciation suckers but the joy of owning one is waaaaaaay better than owning a Honda City for sure…

• elson on Dec 16, 2014 at 9:22 pm

i bet u just can afford a honda city in the rest of your life :D

• policeman on Dec 16, 2014 at 9:56 am

C segment sedan, this is Civic competitor!

I think this is a bit better than Civic.

teeheeeee.

• Bruise on Dec 16, 2014 at 10:49 am

What a poor car !

Uncle look! Lousy performance !

Vios is much better! Sporty !

• Anonymous on Dec 16, 2014 at 12:03 pm

I’m at loss of words seeing there are such people in this world. Vios highest variant also can’t beat c class lowest variant, there’s nothing else to say.

• Proton Supporter on Dec 16, 2014 at 1:15 pm

No lah, Iriz is better in RnH compare to W205. Lotus handling Merc where can beat?

• Anonymous on Dec 16, 2014 at 8:45 pm

You really think it’s lotus handling? Yes it’s lotus handling but lotus bought by proton so proton people own lotus so no difference!

• heybadigol (Member) on Dec 15, 2014 at 10:24 pm

But why is the e-brake located in a rather difficult to reach place? Why not put it in the centre console area (where you would normally find the manual parking brake) like how Audi (and even the new Honda HRV) does?

• okkar on Dec 15, 2014 at 11:44 pm

This is Merc lor, cannot persoal!

• Jilbaber (Member) on Dec 16, 2014 at 10:08 am

that’s not all, the gear lever also on the RIGHT side of steering wheel meh….can confuse with signal stick..
      but of course I won’t complain coz its Mercedes..

• heybadigol (Member) on Dec 16, 2014 at 11:33 am

I hope the gear controller has anti-accidental activation-of-reverse-gear-when-in-forward-motion. Could happen to someone used to right hand indicator stalks (usually Japanese cars). Trying to signal left, but end up selecting reverse, ouch. Contis (and Protons) all have left stalk for indicators. People who never use indicators also have no problem! Imagine that.

• seancorr (Member) on Dec 16, 2014 at 4:13 pm

All German cars have their signal stalks on the left and wiper control stalks on the right but don’t worry once you own one it’ll be second nature to you and I kinda like how Mercedes put their gear lever on the steering column to free up space below.

• The car looks good but the main reason that I seal the deal is the perfect interior.

• tupperware on Dec 15, 2014 at 11:46 pm

It looks plasticky like Japs car unless you fancy plastic very much

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
      • Afraid on Dec 16, 2014 at 9:40 am

I doubt you can afford a car that does not use plastics for its interior at all.

• IKnowUDunnoIKnow (Member) on Dec 16, 2014 at 11:53 am

Plasticky?? Obviously u never sit in one before…

• Anonymous on Dec 16, 2014 at 12:00 pm

It is one of the best interiors in its class, even the experts say so, so you think you’re greater than the experts. F30 more plasticky than this, okay!

• I ALWAYS THOUGHT MERZ IS FOR ah PEK ……
    DEFINATELY NOT tHIS W205 …….. BEAT bmwF30 ANY TIME ANY WHERE ……..
    very GOOD CAR TO OWN .
    CHEERS

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 9
  • AR Yusof on Dec 16, 2014 at 6:52 am

hi,
    i gonna come back to Malaysia and i wanna bring along 2011 C180 from UK. its euro5 emmision, will it give me problems if i bring it back home?

• Yes, you will find lots of problem.

Try to look for older model that is not euro5 fuel

• gaviny on Dec 16, 2014 at 8:30 am

only ah pek can buy because ah pek can afford, younger buggers 316i also ok lah

• Between AMG line and Brabus which one is better buy? both over RM300k and has fierce looks

• Hi…all BMW BSRI cover the cost for parts & Labour. That is the only advantage BMW have over Mercedes & Audi. Merc advantage is 4 years warranty vs BMW 2 years warranty. My brother has a 2 yr old B200 (bought New) and he says that mercedes service charges are high ranging from RM 400 to RM 1500. Now BMW offer BSRI for 5 years or 100,000km whichever comes first (oil change, oil filter, brake pads, wiper and etc). I am not a BMW sales person talking facts here.

• IKnowUDunnoIKnow (Member) on Dec 16, 2014 at 11:58 am

Give u some thumbs up!! Coz some idiots here will say you are BMW salesman if you say something good abt them. I’m not a salesman too…

• this baby-s totally not working . the proportion of the car is weird and front still use halogen headlight and back use fake-twin-exhaust . come up merc , what happen! how to fight F30 especially LCI coming in 2015

• IKnowUDunnoIKnow (Member) on Dec 16, 2014 at 12:03 pm

Bro, that is LED headlamp la… I agree with you abt the rear bumper trim, not so nice and looks low class. Are you BMW salesman? (I’m asking on behalf of Gary) ;-)

• Anonymous on Dec 16, 2014 at 11:56 am

There is no C 250 AMG line. Even at the launch the CEO said that there were only two variants, the C 200 Avantgarde and the C 250 Exclusive. What’s more to say. Check the Mercedes Benz website yourself!

• Paul Tan on Dec 16, 2014 at 12:03 pm

http://paultan.org/2014/10/14/w205-mercedes-benz-c-250-amg-line/

http://paultan.org/2014/10/14/w205-mercedes-benz-c-250-amg-line/w205_mercedes-benz_c_250_amg_line_malaysia_01/

• heybadigol (Member) on Dec 16, 2014 at 12:30 pm

There is. Have seen one on the road. Very nice too.

• fair Kangkung on Dec 16, 2014 at 2:43 pm

Benz always elegance first, sporty 2nd.
    While BMW is a driver’s car.

Love both car. Barang Naik, when drop the car tax?
    C class and 3 series is normal executive sedan.
    Should not heavytax.

Our boleh land kosong spec. should be much more cheaper!

• iluvproton on Dec 16, 2014 at 7:57 pm

Dear jonathan / paul,
    http://www.mudah.my/All+New+Mercedes+Benz+C+Class+W205+2+0+Turbo-30965880.htm

mudah got source say CKD coming on jan 2015, expected 270k for C200, just to share info. thanks