Google self-driving car first “real prototype” unveiled

google-self-driving-car-prototype-5

The first “real prototype” of the Google self-driving car has been unveiled, arriving with working headlights and road-legal status, according to the company. Revealed earlier on in May, Google has since refined the prototype and is now replete with a host of systems that will enable fully autonomous driving.

From an aesthetic point of view, there’s no doubt the self-driving vehicle looks the part – with rather bulbous styling and cutesy details. The prototype still comes with a steering wheel and throttle but only because of the strict Californian laws which necessitate the inclusion.

Topping out at around 40 km/h, the prototype is the first purpose-built vehicle by Google. Previously, the firm has experimented with its autonomous technology using a fleet comprising of an Audi TT along with a number of Toyota Prius and Lexus RX test cars.

All in all, the team has recorded close to one million miles (1.6 million kilometres) worth of testing on Californian roads. Apart from California, three other states have given the green light for autonomous driving to feature on its roads – Florida, Nevada and Michigan.

However, the laws differ with California being the strictest. To operate an autonomous vehicle in the Golden State, test drivers have to be in their seats at all times and possess a clean driving record. Drivers must also complete a training programme.

Companies testing out autonomous technology are required by Californian laws to file a report each time said vehicle disconnects from its autonomous setup, no matter if it’s from the driver intervening or a software glitch. Google will now further refine the car on track before taking it on public roads in 2015.

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• frossonice on Dec 26, 2014 at 9:45 am

Isn’t this suppose to be an old news? I’ve seen it a few months back.

• Casanova on Dec 26, 2014 at 10:32 am

“Don’t worry honey, let the car drive by itself. Now we can concentrate on our private intimate discussions…How about the recent ringgit value depreciation issue?”

• heybadigol (Member) on Dec 26, 2014 at 10:59 am

I’d make the car bigger & put a mattress & duvet. Since you don’t need a driver, why sit when you can sleep in it.

• komarad on Dec 26, 2014 at 11:03 am

now i can sleep thru the heavy traffic when going to work…

• kimi fan on Dec 26, 2014 at 11:41 am

will oil companies do whatever to stop this car on the road ?

• CyberPatrol on Dec 26, 2014 at 12:26 pm

Indeed this Google innovation can bring changes to eco system and safety to roads, and commute people even with disabilities (blind, color blind, handicap, rescue and beyond your imagination. This takes away the perseverance of ‘Lazy’ public transport drivers or drives only take passenger to certain route. Some day bad driving behaviour can be control, we see it lots of it on the our roads everyday

We see daily the motorbikes weave between lanes in compulsion state of mind. I call them “Mat Rampit” are worst case and the other I call them “Mat Zorro”.

Lastly Google please do your testbed and prototype in Malaysia (develop status), we have ideal environment (floods, pot holes, man-hole, landslide, fallen trees, dogs, cats, double parking, all types of MAT.), vandalism (stickers ‘Urut’, ‘Loan 100%’, Plumber.. ) and worst road drivers behaviours that you never imagine. I hope to hear from you coming to Malaysia soon, and I can help Google enhance software coding too.. is this running on Linux OS. Call me..

• darkermarker on Dec 26, 2014 at 12:38 pm

good concept…but it wont work in Malaysia….

why?

Road work and repair happens everyday in Malaysia.
    Road diversion /closure happens everyday too…

If the car drives by itself, surely the car masuk longkang, accident kaw kaw etc

• Sammy on Dec 29, 2014 at 9:32 am

This will be hunt down by SPAD just like they did to the Uber if it comes to Malaysia. Because this will threaten the taxi income…