RON 95 down 35 sen to RM1.91, RON 97 down 35 sen to RM2.11, diesel down 30 sen to RM1.93, per litre

RON-95-Petrol

Deputy finance minister Datuk Ahmad Maslan has tweeted that come tomorrow (January 1, 2015), RON 95 petrol will be priced at RM1.91 a litre (-35 sen), RON 97 petrol at RM2.11 a litre (-35 sen) and diesel at RM1.93 a litre (-30 sen).

The price drops follow the current downtrend in global crude oil prices. Brent, for instance, has fallen over the past month by almost US$20 (RM70) to comfortably below US$60 (RM210) a barrel – a five-year low.

Subsidies for RON 95 petrol and diesel were discontinued exactly a month ago, and according to the Domestic Trade, Cooperatives and Consumerism ministry (KPDNKK), their prices are, like RON 97 petrol, now derived based on a managed float system, and will be reviewed monthly.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Lane Tamer on Dec 31, 2014 at 8:24 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 254
    • lajdef on Dec 31, 2014 at 8:39 pm

It will stay at least for a month, stupid.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 299 Thumb down 13
      • New Year Goody on Dec 31, 2014 at 9:32 pm

better late than never … thumbs up

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 72 Thumb down 12
        • What a Lying Government! on Jan 01, 2015 at 9:05 am

I have been with Shell for the past 30 years and I am involved with pricing/finance. The exact formula is as below

If Global Brent is USD60.00/barrel = RM210
          RM210/159 = RM1.32/ltr (per barrel has 159 litres)

Before refining charge and petrol dealer profit is RM1.32/ltr

Our Government keeps on lying to us. Now it looks like the poor will be subsidising the Government for their lavish lifestyles.

There is no way petrol can even be more than RM1.60 as Brent Crude has fallen to its lowest. So, we Malaysians are paying more than 30 sen extra per litre. Why?

If they are truly doing a proper float system, the actual price is RM1.32 per litre if per barrel is US$60.

Then there is 2 other elements. 1) Refining cost and 2) Petrol Dealer Profit

The maximum for refining cost is 10 sen per litre. That is the Maximum ceiling for refining based on global refining charges.

Petrol dealer profit also is usually 10 sen per litre.

This is typical Malaysia. Government throw saki baki scraps from the dinner table, the rakyat, like dogs are forced to pick the leftovers and eat. The recent reduction of 35 sen per litre is a big joke and a big rip off to the rakyat because recent months Government increased so much…pandai pandai went up over 20 sen overnight.

The recent reduction 35 sen sen per litre is a slap to all Malaysians especially when we produce our own oil.

Whilst Ministers wives are buying Birkin handbags costing minimum RM100,000 to RM500,000 each and one particular has about 30 different Birkin handbags, we are told that we are given savings of RM1.60 for each full tank (4 sen reduction recently)

If oil drops below US$60 per barrel, the price should be RM1.10 per litres.

Critics will argue about sales tax but every single oil producing country sells their oil without sales tax to the rakyat. Malaysia is the ONLY country in the world charging sales tax on petrol to its rakyat.

Even at the new price of RM1.91, we will be overpaying the Government over 40 sen per litre. The Government Ministers now can make more money to go for their shopping holidays (Indianapolis)

Every single oil producing country gives their rakyat cheap oil. Only one oil producing country, Malaysia, gives the rakyat above global market price for oil.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 230 Thumb down 66
          • If that’s the case, they’re taxing us on petrol AND adding on excise duty on cars as well?! Please, for all that’s good and fair, we need that excise duty cut!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 6
          • Are you sure Only Malaysian imposed sales tax? As I know Singapore, Thailand, Europe, India, Hong Kong, Canada, US & etc charge Sales Tax + GST on their petrol…

Even though I again Govt imposed sales tax on Ron95 but I wont lying to people…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 31
          • hellhole on Jan 01, 2015 at 1:38 pm

You are rather big bloody liar. I hate the Malaysian government as much as I hate fucking liars like you. People who say they work with Shell for 3 years. As what the janitor?

“Malaysia the only country charging sales tax on petrol”. 1. First and foremost it is not sales tax, it is excise duty. 2. If you are from Shell you ought to know that in you HQ country UK and Amsterdam petrol is taxed bloody heavily as well.

Profit of dealers is fixed at 12.19 sen per litre for petrol. Not 10 sen. So obviously you are either a Janitor at Shell or lies. How do I know, because I WORK IN SHELL and people like you embarrass us!!!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 93 Thumb down 27
          • mastermind on Jan 01, 2015 at 1:53 pm

RAFIZI PUSSY CAT COPIER…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 10
          • Maserati(Official) on Jan 01, 2015 at 2:08 pm

I hope the Government can give special petrol pricing to Bumiputeras. Why limit it to just houses? I hope the Government can give Bumiputeras RM1.70 per litre and others RM1.95 per litre.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 108
          • Cium Buntot on Jan 01, 2015 at 3:14 pm

Typical BN Cybertrooper. Kipas buntot. Nak kontrak lagi?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 19
          • Bruise on Jan 01, 2015 at 4:43 pm

WTF, the RON 97 must drop until RM1.00/L, RON 95 will be RM0.75/L. Petrol price cannot higher than mineral water.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 23
          • DrRif on Jan 01, 2015 at 4:44 pm

U said: “Every single oil producing country gives their rakyat cheap oil. Only one oil producing country, Malaysia, gives the rakyat above global market price for oil”

NOT TRUE – I am from the UK, which is an oil producing country, 1L costs about 6RM, so pls, lets not criticise without knowing all the facts..2.10 is a great price….!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 43
          • MSIABOLEH on Jan 01, 2015 at 9:37 pm

that’s why Malaysia Boleh.. fxxking government useless!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 22
          • Alson P on Jan 02, 2015 at 3:41 am

Tapis crude oil is a Malaysian crude oil used as a pricing benchmark in Singapore… Tapis is very light with an API gravity of 43°-45° and very sweet with only about 0.04% sulfur… While it is not traded on a market like Brent Crude or West Texas Intermediate (WTI), it is often used as an oil marker for Asia and Australia…The price of Tapis in Singapore is often considerably higher than the price of benchmark crude oils such as Brent or WTI (those commonly referenced in market commentaries). This is because it’s greater aromaticity (i.e. higher ° API) allows for greater production of higher-value products (such as gasoline) from Tapis than Brent or WTI.

• UK Employee on Jan 02, 2015 at 9:12 am

So stupid comment DrRif I was earning RM3000 in Malaysia. Then my company seconded me to the UK HQ to do the same work. There, they gave me 3000 pounds salary.

My full tank for 50 lites was about 50 pounds. Hardly 2% of my pay. In Malaysia, my full tank was RM140. That is nearly 5% of my pay.

In Malaysia, my house electric bill was RM450 per month. In UK, same number of people in same size house, my electric bill 40 pounds per month

My grocery bill in Malaysia every week for whole family RM430. In UK, same amount of things as I buy in Malaysia, total bill 40 pounds.

So friend, dont convert lah and bluff people 1 litre is RM6. Even I pay income tax higher also, cost of living and petrol cheaper here in UK lah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 10
          • Anti BN Cybertrooper on Jan 02, 2015 at 10:28 am

Dr Rif typical BN Cybertrooper. Go around telling Malaysians Singapore also minyak RM5 per litre. But he forgot to tell Singaporeans earn 5X more than Malaysians.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
          • Fake Shell Employee on Jan 02, 2015 at 10:39 am

I doubt hellhole is Shell employee. I know Shell employees well and none of them are vulgar and free to use f words. Shell employees are quite refined.

Oh yes, maybe cybertrooper

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
          • paxter on Jan 02, 2015 at 11:56 am

what a liar, what did you work as the dispatch guy in shell??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
          • 1MDB (Malas Dolop Bodoh) on Jan 02, 2015 at 2:57 pm

hellhole BN cyberwarfare team. Their job is to thumbs up their comment and spread good news about BN

• Oliver on Jan 06, 2015 at 2:00 pm

The reason why we have a stupid government is because Malaysians are stupid. Exhibit A: Please see above. People who think we’re an ‘oil-producing country’ please get an education. We are an oil importing country, as our oil is high quality and we export it for maximum returns rather than have it used in your stupid Myvis and Sagas to go to the mamak everynight. Better to burn the petrol than use it in a Proton or Perodua. Asking for cheap oil just cos we have some here (we’re not on OPEC, we have a little teeny bit of oil, 22nd highest reserves worldwide, almost negligible to world supply) is stealing from your children and future generations who will not have access to that oil. Learn something, you idiots and your idiotic government.

• jibreelassalam on Jan 08, 2015 at 11:48 am

So ovious you will only feel satisfied if you are the prime minister or the sultan of this malay peninsular.and who can be sure or make sure you are not worse than the existing one….some people are born to develope the nation ,but seems to me you are born just to breed hate to malaysian.just like the jewish karl marx idealism that will lead to revolution..

• Where is Najib's 30% Promise? on Jan 01, 2015 at 9:09 am

Turun harga minyak is one thing but where is Najib’s promise to reduce car prices?

Before the election Najib promised that if we voted BN in, he would reduce car prices by 30%. He promised every single Malaysian that BN always kept their word and would fulfill his promise of reducing car prices by 30%

Already we are paying exorbitant prices for cars. A CBU Japan made Camry 2.5 with 9 airbags in the US is USD22,000. In MAlaysia, we get Made in Malaysia Camry with 2 airbags for RM180,000.

We Malaysians are paying 3X the car prices of what people overseas pay. Reducing price of Petrol to RM1.95 does not save you any money. Because you have prepaid RM2.70 petrol prices for the next 20 years with high car prices.

High car prices is the biggest burden to all Malaysians. Our car loans take up nearly half our salary.

So where is Najib’s promise?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 108 Thumb down 14
          • UncleLim on Jan 01, 2015 at 12:25 pm

Too bad. Goverment will tell you there are factors like weak RM, oil price drop that prevent the car price from dropping.

Government need money like you and me. Car tax is pretty good source of income.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
          • Albert Dock on Jan 01, 2015 at 4:51 pm

G sudah kurang tax 15% tapi harga barang naik 30%. Jadi tak ade berubah dari dulu. Oh yaa… kereta dari Jepun profit margin naik 25% krn mau service discount bg kereta damaged by flood.

• ProtonGSC on Dec 31, 2014 at 9:38 pm

“Bila pula peniaga nak turunkan harga barang? Rakyat menunggu”

Again he ask… Automotive industry(car price) when will drop price? Rakyat waiting.

Cronies reading this? When will drop car price?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 119 Thumb down 22
        • Gargantia on Dec 31, 2014 at 9:42 pm

DrM will never let this happen…

His ego and pride will remind forever.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 44
          • Minyak Murah di Singapura on Jan 01, 2015 at 10:27 am

We kena con by our Gomen.Even Singapore petrol is cheaper for the Singaporean.

Singapore GDP per capita is 5X more than Malaysia. That means the same person in Singapore, doing your job earns 5x more than you.

If you earn RM5000, that same Singaporean earns RM25,000

So, who do you think has cheaper petrol?

RM1.90 petrol for Mr A who earns RM5000 or SGD2 (RM5) petrol to Mr B who earns RM25,000

The best part, Malaysia produces oil. Singapore does not produce oil

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 25
          • Kerajaan Penipu on Jan 01, 2015 at 11:11 am

Bodoh Gomen. If now per barrel about US50 and our minyak is RM1.95

What is going to happen when oil go to US150?
            We pay RM6 per liter? Last year per barrel went to US$150

Because of corrupted UMNO, who sapu so much, our GDP is so low and we don’t earn that much la to pay RM300 per full tank

Last year TNB increased electricity rates. Our bills are double from last year. TNB said because high oil price.

Now low oil price, why TNB, a crony GLC, tak turun harga?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 12
          • Albert Teh on Jan 01, 2015 at 3:01 pm

We produce our own oil. No need to follow global pricing. The Sultan of Brunei gives super cheap prices to his rakyat, then the remainder he sells it overseas at global prices.

So, we don’t have to follow global prices. Neither do we have to subsidise. Government for the past 20 years have been lying to Malaysians that they are subsidising petrol.

How can you subsidise what you yourself produce?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 11
          • Alson P on Jan 02, 2015 at 3:47 am

OPEC, the United States of America is here, and how. As the top oil producing nation for 2014, the U.S. has steadily left the world behind. Who said oil in the US was always under sempiternal stormy weather? Play a serenade.

According to the latest estimates, the U.S. is bypassing not only oil behemoth Saudi Arabia but also slapdash Russia. So, from positions No.1 and No.2 as leading oil producing nations, Saudi Arabia and Russia are effectively knocked off the pedestal.

• Anti-Establishment (Member) on Dec 31, 2014 at 11:34 pm

Stop buying cars.

You can see Toyota offering rebates galore for their cars so it’s proof that when the buying stop, the gouging can too.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 80 Thumb down 3
          • Kerajaan Penipu on Jan 01, 2015 at 10:09 am

Now got 250,000 people lost their homes, cars, tv, radio, fridge and every electrical equipment in their houses. Sofa rosak, mattress rosak everything rosak. 95% of them are poor Malays.

How Kerajaan? Still want to charge so much for petrol and still want to intro GST? How to introduce GST when 250,000 people have to start life from scratch??

250,000 people have lost everything. Semua hilang.

And still kerajaan ketuk rakyat for minyak? Still high lah at RM1.95. We produce our own minyak. We are a large oil producer. The Sultan of Brunei can sell his oil so cheap to its rakyat because he cares for his rakyat. then the remainder, he sells it overseas at global prices.

Malaysia macam mana? Our oil reserves are 100x more than Brunei oil’s reserves. It is a hidden secret that Petronas struck the largest oil field in the history of oil drilling few years ago. Then next day, story was covered up.

we have so much of oil. Oil that belongs to the rakyat of Malaysia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 22
          • Kerajaan Kelentong on Jan 01, 2015 at 3:24 pm

Woi kerajaan yang kurang jujur. IPP semua rogol TNB, sekarang, TNB rogol rakyat.

Tahun lepas taraf TNB naik gila gila. TNB kata kerana oil dan gas naik harga.

Tapi sekarang oil dan gas turun paling rendah. Diperkatakan bahawa harga rendah minyak sampai 2018.

Kenapa TNB tak turun taraf letrik rumah?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 6
        • enduser on Dec 31, 2014 at 11:41 pm

I don’t want the car price to drop. Now already so many cambry, bmw and other expensive cars use emergency lane when traffic jam!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 29
          • Car price drop is ok, but I advise you buy condom, less population.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 9
          • kzm wife on Jan 01, 2015 at 1:03 pm

Better tell that to my husband. We already got 12 kids

• Maserati(Official) on Jan 01, 2015 at 2:35 pm

I hope the Government can give special petrol pricing to Bumiputeras. Why limit it to just houses? I hope the Government can give Bumiputeras RM1.70 per litre and others RM1.95 per litre.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 48
          • Maserati(Official) on Jan 01, 2015 at 2:52 pm

I don’t waste money on kondom. I use kitchen cling film. So much cheaper. Better than kondom

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 17
        • Maserati(Official) on Jan 01, 2015 at 2:42 pm

I hope the Government can give special petrol pricing to Bumiputeras. Why limit it to just houses? I hope the Government can give Bumiputeras RM1.70 per litre and others RM1.91 per litre.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 47
          • maserati = racist

• BLT_CLUB on Jan 02, 2015 at 9:10 am

Bro, please stop using these kind of comments to troll. It’s 2015 already, when can we stand as one?
            Many people use racial and religious arguments to divide us. But when push comes to shove, as demonstrated by the recent floods we can all stand together as one. Please, the only way for Malaysia to move forward is to stand together. So stop playing the racial card. We are all brothers and sisters.

• hellhole on Jan 03, 2015 at 12:17 pm

Maserati(Official) also known as Lim Chee Hong. Are you a DAP cybertrooper pretending to be a Malay in a quest to wedge divide between races?

• ApaLaiLuMau on Jan 02, 2015 at 12:05 pm

P2 Axia already cheaper than the old Viva, MyVi also cheaper than the older models, P1 Saga also cheaper than the older Saga FLX, rakyat di dahulu kan.

• Zidane on Jan 01, 2015 at 5:19 pm

Try to be sarcasm but not reading the news?
        That’s dangerous, mate!

• 1MDB (Malas Dolop Bodoh) on Jan 02, 2015 at 3:21 pm

Soon it will be 90 sen like in year 2000.

• LatukBandar on Dec 31, 2014 at 9:00 pm

haiyah, people like you always complain. I think if gov drop the price to RM0.00, also sure complain, will say why gov never give cash out everytime we pump because our country sell oil.

if it is RM0.00 + cash out, sure complain why no free car and no lifetime free car wash.

niamah… and no, i did not vote for BN last election. and please stop complaining.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 161 Thumb down 21
      • veloster on Dec 31, 2014 at 11:54 pm

Dude, u r freaking awesome..
        Stop being a pessimist y’all!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 8
      • Zidane on Jan 01, 2015 at 12:55 am

We don’t want fuel price drop… We want free petrol! Come on PR cybertroopers, we need this campaign to prepare for next election!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 25
        • Free Petrol so everyone can speed like there’s no tomorrow? =.=” at least now people still will appreciate every single drop of the fuel in their car

• 1MDB (Malas Dolop Bodoh) on Jan 02, 2015 at 3:23 pm

Zidane, how much BN pay you to go cyberspace and spread goodnews abt BN?

• Maserati(Official) on Jan 01, 2015 at 2:44 pm

We BN Cybertroopers are in full action now!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 25
      • LatukBandarSumpahBodo on Jan 01, 2015 at 3:25 pm

if the govt giving free petrol of course we complain,
        not because we want more, its because we want a better country. charge petrol at a proper rate but not trying to rip off the rakyat.

• JokoWi on Jan 01, 2015 at 7:01 pm

The people has a right to complain as long as they are taxpayers of this country. The Govn and all ministers job is to serve the people.

If certain quarters are not open to constructive criticism, it basically means they are either too proud or they have no desire to improve.

• Alson P on Jan 02, 2015 at 3:54 am

According to the International Energy Agency (IEA), oil output in the US will increase to 13.1 million barrels a day in 2019 before leveling off. IEA predicts that the US would enjoy the top ranking as a producer till 2030 only due to resource depletion as oil is a non-renewable source of energy. Then, the Middle-East may re-emerge to dominate the oil scene again. But, those days are far off. For now though, on the energy field at least, things are as rosy as they look. In fact, a decision of a U.S. Commerce Department to allow overseas shipment of processed ultra-light oil (condensate) raises hopes of the nation lifting a four-decade long impractical ban on crude exports. Journeyed in the right direction, where it’s headed now, North America will relive the build-up of crude supply. Should that happen, the U.S. will have daily exports of one million barrels of crude by the end of the year, according to a report.

• mamat on Dec 31, 2014 at 10:15 pm

1 month … Don’t you know the current info… Use your brain

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 6
  • Finally ….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 2
  • UbahUMW on Dec 31, 2014 at 8:28 pm

Although a little bit delay, the price cut on oil at petrol stations is commendable move. Now it is time to MOVE the businesses and sellers to REDUCE their price. #WE DECIDE.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 113 Thumb down 1
    • Burong on Jan 01, 2015 at 8:25 am

Putrajaya shoud show by example. Reduce their car excise duty, let the country feel the difference.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 6
      • hellhole on Jan 01, 2015 at 1:42 pm

Why so that more people can drive cars? Our jam is not enough izit? More public transport (buses and more buses) and increase the price of cars please.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 10
  • May this last forever <3

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 2
  • wilson on Dec 31, 2014 at 8:37 pm

So he mean price of goods should practice managed float as well?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 4
  • seancorr (Member) on Dec 31, 2014 at 8:43 pm

It’s not so much about the oil price I’m concerned but the rising costs of goods and services which have NEVER went down EVER….

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 74 Thumb down 3
    • armandd on Dec 31, 2014 at 9:22 pm

As usual, people WILL blame the government, not the businesses.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 7
    • Such as TNB … when elec tariff will down?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 6
    • Anti-Establishment (Member) on Dec 31, 2014 at 10:03 pm

Because Malaysian consumer are – sorry to be rude – stupid. They keep blaming the government, which meant that retailers can easily raise prices without fear as they won’t be blamed.

Start being vocal against the retailers – use the power given to you instead of moaning & complaining to no avail.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 119 Thumb down 7
      • Albert Teh on Jan 01, 2015 at 2:57 pm

Clever to talk big. I go to pasar make noise, the seller just tell me “you tak suka, pergi tempat lain”

Then I go to another seller, he tells me the same thing when I complain about high prices.

Dont be a kid and give childish comments. We still need the Government to uphold and control prices.

Can clearly see you don’t buy vegetables and meat for your family and you have no idea how prices have shot up lately.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 7
        • das auto on Jan 01, 2015 at 9:27 pm

Pasar pagi and pasar malam memang scam la. Charging premium prices like UMW toyota. I rather shop at supermarket. Better quality and lower prices

• Albert on Dec 31, 2014 at 8:49 pm

Low global oil prices is like a double edged sword.
    On the one hand,it fights for your pocket by saving you ,perhaps Rm100 a month on petrol.
    On the other hand,our sliding Ringgit will mean costlier imports.That includes cars.
    2015 will see price increases on most daily necessities.GST is only sidetracking us.The real issue is our sliding Ringgit and bigger current account deficit.
    No one will reduce prices of goods and services even tho oil prices have decreased cos other items have increased,especially imported vehicle spare parts.
    Watch out,2015 will even be more/doubly challenging.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 8
    • Zidane on Jan 01, 2015 at 12:36 am

With this excuse, the retailers can maintain the current price (and profit margin) as they wish?

• Albert on Jan 01, 2015 at 8:03 pm

The problem in Bolehland is non transparent and corrupted enforcement.
        There are so many good laws left by the british.
        Look at the enforcement.Have you seen children of law enforcers riding on motorbikes like rempits without helmets?

• droll on Jan 01, 2015 at 7:52 pm

not only that but if prices of goods and services go down as a result of oil prices going down – employers have an incentive to lower salary levels.

• Alson P on Jan 02, 2015 at 4:00 am

As (almost) everyone in the U.S. knows, this has been achieved on the back of robust boom in the energy extraction from shale rocks. Speaking anything (or writing anything, for that matter), would still underestimate the role of Shale boom in these energy developments. In case the U.S. didn’t have Shale to fall back on, and taking into account the political situations in some oil producing countries, oil prices would have been a tad beyond the reach of an ordinary citizen. A scenario unimaginable; the tone apocalyptic, so why say?

• relief on Dec 31, 2014 at 8:50 pm

Good, good. Next, tnb should follow same footsteps.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 5
  • hakim on Dec 31, 2014 at 9:02 pm

the price won’t go down.. EVER. anyway, thank you dear gov., for the price drop, especially the RON97. much more cheaper than this current hour RON 95 price.

• Maseratits on Dec 31, 2014 at 9:03 pm

BILA TURUN KENAPA TAK PUJI KERAJAAN? LOLOLOLOLOL.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 31
    • hello!! on Dec 31, 2014 at 10:37 pm

price went down because of float,… nak puji kerajaan sebab ape ye??

i will puji kerajaan if they make all prices of goods and services that was raised when price of fuel went up the last time , revert back lower , in line with current prices…

faham tak bongok !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 51
      • Zidane on Jan 01, 2015 at 12:41 am

If government can control all goods and services price, that is chapter on of communism handbook…

In a free market, all depends on supply and demand. That’s why consumerism is key…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 2
        • Bulu Ketiak on Jan 01, 2015 at 4:04 pm

Then what is the Consumers Affair set up for???

Our car prices also kena control Gomen, artificially made expensive.

Why not let prices being set by supply and demand?
          Is it komunism as well?

• Alson P on Jan 02, 2015 at 4:06 am

Did you ever wonder what makes the price of oil move and why movements in the price of oil don’t always feed through to the gas station’s prices? Who decides the price of oil and how do all the oil businesses in the world hedge against sudden movements in the price? Although there are well known oil price indices in the world, the mechanism that sets their levels involves a range of factors from politics to transport networks. Buyers of oil for physical delivery rarely pay the price listed on the WTI index or the Brent crude index. In this article, we take a look at how crude oil prices are calculated and why gasoline prices are not always linked to the price of crude oil.

• Ya..price went down coz float price. Jgn puji gov. So when price up dont compliant gov pulak ya ..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
      • armandd on Jan 01, 2015 at 11:44 am

You are barking to the wrong tree. Prices of goods and services are determined by the businesses, not the government. Yet, people still blame the gov, and the retailers, traders etc can happily raise the prices without getting blamed. All because of consumers like YOU.

• George Abdul on Jan 01, 2015 at 8:00 pm

You’re a greater liar then him…

Sugar is control by Govt not business. Go back to school and study before comment.

• Lu Bahalol on Jan 01, 2015 at 11:02 pm

Only certain items are controlled by the government.. It’s not like your teh tarik and roti canai are controlled by the goven as well

• because RON95 should be around rm1.60 and RON97 should be around rm1.90. yet we still kena tipu.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 36
      • Zidane on Jan 01, 2015 at 12:38 am

Nothing good living in Malaysia… Like living in hell!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 23
        • hellhole on Jan 01, 2015 at 1:43 pm

Yes you should migrate to Philippinesor Indonesia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
          • Bulu Ketiak on Jan 01, 2015 at 4:06 pm

Excuse me, u think Indonesia is any worse off than Msia. If you can get Indon to accept me, I will definitely go.

At least their corruption index has been improving since 5 yrs ago.

Car prices are also cheaper than Msia!

What I admire most is they have a President Joko who travels on budget airlines and queues up at the counter like everyone else!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
          • Zidane on Jan 01, 2015 at 5:04 pm

Just being sarcasm…

• car-fans on Jan 01, 2015 at 11:26 am

Maseratits,

R U kidding – Puji GOV after kena tipu so long? Where is your brain?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
      • Maseratits on Jan 03, 2015 at 6:11 pm

Oh come on, I was being sarcastic.
        Most of the people who comment here don’t understand sarcasm.. Sad..

• Alvin on Dec 31, 2014 at 10:03 pm

Great news to start the year. Now what about the prices of goods that always increase in price whenever fuel price increase (ie : A bowl of mee, price increase by RM0.50 when fuel price increase by RM0.15 -_-)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
  • jinggo on Dec 31, 2014 at 10:09 pm

Ok. Gov sudah kasi turun itu petrol price, sikalang kita tunggu, adakah tauke pun berani kasi turun harga barang?
    Kata dulang paku serpih, mengata orang dia yang lebih..
    Berani kah semua tauke?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 2
  • Rahman on Dec 31, 2014 at 10:15 pm

To all, now let’s use our consumer power to share all those business that reduced their prices and boycott all those business that refuse to reduce their prices. Only we consumer can make the change.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 1
  • not bad…really out of my expectation…

• Next, electricity tariff drop?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
  • Elchino on Dec 31, 2014 at 11:17 pm

Why are u all still complaining. I am now in Hong Kong and the price of fuel here has not even gone down at all despite the falling world oil prices??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 3
    • Zidane on Jan 01, 2015 at 12:44 am

You will never find other nations where the people love to badmouth their own country. That’s unique about Malaysian…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 6
      • There is a difference between badmouthing the govt of the day vs country..

Do not use Ummno stupid logic of criticise govt = criticise country = traitor of country

• Zidane on Jan 01, 2015 at 5:09 pm

When I said badmouth the country it means badmouth the country… Criticize government is something else… Please read the lines carefully ok?

Anyway good spinning…

• Peter on Jan 01, 2015 at 7:59 pm

Until today, I never see any country without ppl like to badmouth about it. Maybe North Korea, and even that I know some of their ppl ‘re prosecuted b’cse of that. Did you just read from mainstream media and nothing else?

• Alamak at HK on Jan 01, 2015 at 7:19 am

http://www.shell.com.hk/en/products-services/on-the-road/fuels/price-board.html

Grade Pump Price HK$ / Litre
      Shell FuelSave Diesel 11.07
      Shell FuelSave Unleaded 14.79*
      Shell V-Power Nitro+ 15.83*

• But did HK increase petrol price for the past 3 months?

• Alson P on Jan 01, 2015 at 12:33 am

Just fill up RM90 ron97…. Happy new year 2015… Leaving 2014 behind

• Shane Jpchin on Jan 01, 2015 at 12:38 am

owh~ the petrol price is drop..is tnb fees drop soon??

• When I went to pump the diesel. One of the Shell petrol station in Bukit Mertajam, Penang, still applying RM2.23 instead of RM1.93. Clearing old stock with old price?? When I asked the casher, given me unclear message. Other RON95 and RON97 have went down to RM1.91 and RM2.11. This is cheating….

• Anonymous on Jan 01, 2015 at 11:02 pm

You know you can report it to the ministry in charge. Did you? Good for u if u did… or r u like many who keeps on complaining in social media n not the right authorities… then grumble later on the whole year…?

U as a consumer have rights… but also the responsibility.

• Maserati(Official) on Jan 01, 2015 at 9:45 am

Syabas Datuk Maslan, once again you have proven the doubters wrong

and he’s very right, when are the traders reducing their prices? for the hardcore poor, this is crucial to their livelihood. Although for middle class and rich people like us, we do not feel a pinch, but we do feel a tad sad if the poor are being taken advantage of by these greedy traders

i hope datuk Maslan will be able to do something about this, even though he has his hand tied with so many important issues !!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 23
  • muskil on Jan 01, 2015 at 9:46 am

drop for a few month nak ambil hati rakyat yg bodoh dunggu konon kerajaan prehatin, pooodah . after that its will increase over rm2. kah kah kah banyak bagus rakyat kena tipu lagi olih kerajaan yg korup. padan muka luuu semua.Kerajaan kroni Barang Naik

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 19
  • jinggo on Jan 01, 2015 at 9:57 am

Ok. Gov sudah kasi turun petrol price. GLC juga misti kasi turun harga.. Tauke tauke semua pun wajib turun harga barang.. Bersatu teguh demi kesejahteraan rakyat. Beranikah GLC & tauke semua? Sembang bukan main lancang!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
    • Bro, ini turun harga bukan Government bagi, is the global crude oil trend. So do not thank our government for this time price drop. Everywhere is other country also having petrol price drop already.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
      • jinggo on Jan 01, 2015 at 6:37 pm

Haiya… Lu tauke ka? Wa punya statement mana ada puji gov.. Kasi baca & faham maa.. Wa mau semua tauke kasi turun harga barang, simple saja.. Ada brani ka tauke kasi turun harga? Hahaha! Sembang kasi faham dulu la bro.. Puiih!

• Kesian Ahmad Maslan … kena jual petrol dgn harga murah!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 25
  • TheDean on Jan 01, 2015 at 11:32 am

Haters will hate…

• Zidane on Jan 01, 2015 at 5:16 pm

I am amused to see politically fanatical Malaysian… They can criticize other people, but when being criticized they immediately losing their head…

• Diesel Power!!! on Jan 01, 2015 at 11:37 am

For me personally, fuel drop wont affect much to me…frankly i rather hope that the fuel maintain rm2.5 above and car price high bcoz too many vehicles on the road…
    Anyway, since we are an oil producing country, and with a falling oil price, the latest pump price of ron95 shld be rm1.60 not rm1.91. I hope tht gment can show us their calculation as promised. Just wanna know the truth.
    Happy New Year 2015!!

• Adrian Lau on Jan 01, 2015 at 12:19 pm

Why shop owners (tauke) throughout malaysia not want to lower the price of their goods? Bising sana bising sini….tok kok sana, tok kok sini. Always said no money…but drive Camry, Altis, New Accord, CRV, Vellfire, Passat…bla..bla.

• CyberPatrol on Jan 01, 2015 at 12:48 pm

I clearly read many times in this forum Mazlan mention of review the price formula for this coming fuel price drop to public but still not yet. I still have doubt you can show it. I felt unhappiness to rates of price drop because we have not clear idea of the equations and variables to fuel price formula. Nevertheless we shall enjoy what coming before fuel price restore to origin after oil producers come to consensus reduce production and normalize output.

• Jokovi on Jan 01, 2015 at 12:48 pm

When price of petrol and diesel went up, prices of foods also went up immediately. Now that the prices of petrol and diesel came down, would food prices follow them down.

• Hey Maslan, this is still BN cronies control price!! What if the petro price go up just in nick of before next PRU???? U can forget sitting in the same place talking rubbish!!!!

• PSLIM on Jan 01, 2015 at 1:07 pm

This price drop is not government effort, is the global crude oil price drop.

Now I wonder how do our government set the pricing. Any specific formulation?? At least they should show us the basic of calculation.

Now crude oil is lower than $60 per barrel.

• You meant petol price drop or up is not relevant to government right?

• Alson P on Jan 02, 2015 at 4:20 am

Tapis crude is a Malaysian crude oil used as a pricing benchmark in Singapore. Tapis is very light with an API gravity of 43°-45° and very sweet with only about 0.04% sulfur….While it is not traded on a market like Brent Crude or West Texas Intermediate (WTI), it is often used as an oil marker for Asia and Australia…..The price of Tapis in Singapore is often considerably higher than the price of benchmark crude oils such as Brent or WTI (those commonly referenced in market commentaries). This is because it’s greater aromaticity (i.e. higher ° API) allows for greater production of higher-value products (such as gasoline) from Tapis than Brent or WTI

Malaysia – Analysis, US Energy Information Administration http://www.eia.gov/countries/cab.cfm?fips=my

Malaysian Tapis oil field EOR project set to start up end 2013: ExxonMobil, Platts http://www.platts.com/latest-news/oil/singapore/malaysian-tapis-oil-field-eor-project-set-to-27172899

Australian Crude Oil Requirements, Australian Institute of Petroleum http://www.aip.com.au/pricing/crude.htm

• LatukBandarSumpahBodo on Jan 01, 2015 at 3:30 pm

no matter what, BN has to go down in order to learn.

all these 60 years, been ruling way way too long.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
  • somanywarrior on Jan 01, 2015 at 3:57 pm

Fuhh…sembang kencang bagaikan hurricane katrina…#esokgiofficekeneisiminyakjugak #murahcomplain #mahalcomplain

• Bulu Ketiak on Jan 01, 2015 at 4:01 pm

World price goes up, Rakyat sengsara coz Goman increase price of petrol and all other consumer products would also follow suit.

World price goes down, Rakyat also sengsara coz Gomen no money.

Malaysians always face dilemma.

• mango on Jan 01, 2015 at 4:45 pm

Last time oil price goes up, everything goes up. Now Oil goes down, everything still remain high..

• MAL produce petrol 1000, Rakyat 3000, kena import 2000, jadi perlu subsidi krn Rakyat bodoh dan malas tak mampu bayar 2000.
    BRU produce petrol 1000, Rakyat 300, tinggal 700 masih boleh jual kt global ade untung.
    SIN produce petrol 0, Rakyat 300, kena import 300, tak perlu subsidi krn Rakyat bijak dan rajin mampu bayar 300.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
  • No more Value on Jan 01, 2015 at 6:46 pm

Now harga minyak turun, bila harga barang nak turun? Semua penipu-penipu orang niaga di Malaysia. Last time said petrol price increase want increase goods price also, now petrol price drop, when are all this sin ga lan want to drop their goods price?

• JokoWi on Jan 01, 2015 at 7:05 pm

LGY: but Spore purata gaji ialah 5 times Msia.
    Currency pun 2.5 kali currency Msia.

Much better spending power.

If we earn those sort of income I am also willing to pay for their petrol prices.

• Malaysian cannot earn income as much as Singaporean because majority Malaysian bodoh dan malas. Sy sudah beritahu

• No more Value on Jan 01, 2015 at 10:05 pm

Malaysian malas or companies didnt want to increase the overall salaries?

• Majority Malaysian memang bodoh dan malas, sy sudah beritahu kali ke-3

• No more Value on Jan 02, 2015 at 5:13 pm

If you are malaysia then you are one of the bodoh dan malas. Because of the majority you stated just now-Malaysian, include you

• Peter on Jan 02, 2015 at 2:08 pm

M’sia employer pay lower but still we go for it. Yes, it’s our faults. Nobody false you to work for lower pay.
      Capable ppl who can go SGP already there.
      Incapable Ppl like me and you still stay here & see Employer tibun face.
      As for the gov, they still sleep & dreaming with perkasa on same bed. Until 1 day we & tibun faces left, they ‘may’ wake up (go for pee & sleep agn)!

• Albert on Jan 01, 2015 at 7:55 pm

The low global oil prices will not be permanent.It may hover around US 55-65 per barrel,this year.
    Now,Putin in Russia….can become the next Rasputin.He is already arming the Ukrainian rebels.The fighting may escalate into a full Russian invasion.Once the conflict is full blown,with other nations drawn into it,oil prices may skyrocket to US 110-120 per barrel.
    Or,we have Israel making a preemptive nuclear strike at Teheran’s nuke plants.
    2015 may be more teruk than 2014.The Armageddon clock is also ticking very fast,with so many nations with nuclear strike capability…with unstable North Korea fanning the flames of war every now and then.

• Alson P on Jan 02, 2015 at 4:26 am

usually any unrest in any of the oil producing countries shakes up the speculators making the oil prices bit too tipsy. That the good news of U.S. oil production hasn’t caused any ripple in the global market can be attributed largely to the Geo-political and unusual situations in countries like Iraq, Libya and Nigeria. In Iraq, militant group Islamic State of Iraq and al-Shaam (ISIS) has raised alarm bells regarding oil flows from the second-largest Producer of OPEC (after Saudi Arabia). Infrastructure woes including theft and sabotage have blighted oil industry in Nigeria whereas political unrest and protests in Libya have led to reduced oil production.

• forgot86 on Jan 01, 2015 at 10:10 pm

Shell V Power Racing is missing from the list :(
    Anyway, its down from RM2.8x to RM2.51
    So I assume increment/reduction follows the ron97 as well, at least it seems to be the trend lately.

Have been pumping it in my small motor tank btw :p

• awan nano on Jan 02, 2015 at 12:03 am

“Maslan”…”Maslan”… Deyyy where were you all born ah?? You don’t even know the structure of Malay names ah? Disgusting.

• Angela on Jan 02, 2015 at 1:02 am

The Joker was right all along,

“When the chips are down, this civilized people, they will eat each other”.

• Pemerhati on Jan 02, 2015 at 6:20 am

Minyak dah turun xbersyukur lagi,
    Bile name FREE ker baru korang puas hati,
    Kepada tauke tauke yg dok bising sana sini
    Ada berani kasi aa harga barang turun skali

• Albert on Jan 02, 2015 at 9:18 am

Today.the petrol dealers association making a big ho ha that prices have decreased,thus incurring losses.How come,they never complain when prices rose to Rm2.30,when they bought the petrol stocks below rm2.00?
    In Australia,petrol prices differ from different stations.Consumers there ,especially Asian migrants take the trouble to look for the cheapest pump.
    In Boleh Land,you see the problem of too much perlindungan.Sikit setback,gomen must bail me out.This is a sick ,spineless mentality.
    Petrol prices are not raised daily by gomen.These childish petrol dealers have to manage their stocks towards end month by not overordering when they sense gomen will reduce prices further.

• jinggo on Jan 02, 2015 at 9:23 am

Woi tauke tauke? kasi turun la itu harga barang.. Ini tauke semua manyak langsi lor.. Untuk mau manyak saja.. Pentingkan diri dan family sendiri.. Tidak mahu bersama Gov membantu rakyat.. Jilaka la tauke!

• Jin 2 on Jan 02, 2015 at 3:10 pm

Dear Paul Tan,
    I am a big fan of your blog. I’ve been followed your blog since year 2005.
    I see nowadays the comments are getting not ‘cerdik’ as it is suppose to be or use to be.
    Is this car blog has become ‘hentam’ blog!
    I now you have warned the others how to give comments but seems like they are ‘pretending’ not to understand it.
    You have a very good blog. Don’t let others spoiled it.

• logic? on Jan 03, 2015 at 4:55 am

June 2008 oil price = approx $130 a barrel, ron97 was priced at RM2.70
    now oil price is $53 a barrel, ron97 priced at RM2.11

60% reduction in world price but only approx. 21% reduction in our pumps.

eh?