Audi A1, A1 Sportback dropped from Euromobil lineup

Audi_A1_Sportback_live_01

The Audi A1 and A1 Sportback have been dropped from the local Audi model line-up – a check earlier with the Audi Malaysia website showed that both were no longer listed. A call to Euromobil confirmed that sales of the A1 models have indeed been discontinued, though this is only for the moment, the company said. Tip of the hat to reader Ron Nard for the steer in that particular direction.

The A1 hatch was introduced in Malaysia in June 2011, the three-door hatchback making its local debut in 1.4 TFSI form, priced at RM179,900 without insurance. The five-door version of the type, the A1 Sportback, arrived in March 2013, and was also priced at RM179,900 at point of introduction.

Both A1 models had identical powertrains, equipped with a turbocharged 1.4 TFSI engine offering 122 hp at 5,000 rpm and 200 Nm of torque from 1,500 to 4,000 rpm. In both cases, the mill was paired with a seven-speed S tronic dual-clutch transmission.

The cars could well return to the lineup soon enough in their facelifted forms – the updated A1 and A1 Sportback were unveiled in November last year, with revised front bumper, sharper-looking headlamps, new graphics for the tail lamps and a more angular front grille part of the external rework.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• seancorr (Member) on Feb 16, 2015 at 12:31 pm

Nice little cars but their price killed them here with the intro of the A3 sedan. Better luck next time with the price when the FL launches. Can we see it selling around 150k pls?

• Audi A1 is based on the VW Polo Hatchback.
    same wheelbase, same kerb weight.

RM170k for This?
    nobody buy Audi these few days.

The low specs looks too plain. Just a 70% Cheaper VW with different logo come with superior finishing.

Many people buy the Cheapest Cheap BMW 3161 at RM200,000.
    with 2 years warranty.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7

• seancorr (Member) on Feb 16, 2015 at 5:03 pm

Have to mention the A1 has a lot more safety features compared to the no VSC, 2 airbag Polo we have here.

VW would have nailed it if their Polo’s follow Honda City’s safety kit list.

• There are 3 variant of Polo hatch.. depending which one u comparing
        MPI,TSI, GTI.. and its call ESP… VSC is just a fancy name for Honda

• Seriously for the same price most people would prefer the Golf, A class, V40 or even the BMW 316i

• It’s ok. You won’t be missed..

• sudonano (Member) on Feb 16, 2015 at 2:40 pm

Its a really cramped car, tbh. In fact even more cramped than a MINI, which I found surprising… Considering the Polo GTI with the same chassis and engine but a slightly less flashy brand is cheaper, kinda pointless to have the A1…

• seancorr (Member) on Feb 16, 2015 at 5:00 pm

Its a nice little car really but the price killed it. I’m still looking for a small hatch for the wife but even the second hand asking price in the market is absurd so really, Audi Malaysia will have to price this cheaper than the A3 1.4 TSI to make any sense and it better come with the same kind of equipment, if not better.

• Audi should priced it same as Iriz, then the sales of A1 sure increase

• sudonano (Member) on Feb 16, 2015 at 11:18 pm

Thing is, after sitting (more like having to contort myself into) an A1, I just found the MINI a more comfy (shockingly) option. Somehow the MINI 5 door was actually much better up front than the A1. As for rear seat space, both were not generous, but hey for a stylish hatch, pretty standard. Boot wise, roughly the same, though I found the MINI’s deeper boot to have a bit more space.

As for dynamics and power train, I think I will trust the MINI more, on two points, 1 being the 1.5 and 2.0 engines are basically BMW engines, heck when you start the 2.0 MINI engine, it sounds 100% the same as the startup of a 320/328i. BMW engines are generally very reliable, have not had any trouble (or known anyone) with a TwinPower Turbo petrol having any issue. The main benefit of it is the A1 uses the 1.4TSI, which if I am not mistaken is the one with the supercharger (not too sure but I may be wrong) – which from past VW complaints has not had a sterling reliability record. Same goes for the transmission, Aisin 6 speed on the MINI vs the 7 speed S Tronic on the Audi, which again should be of the infamous DQ200 family. The MINI’s Aisin is actually surprisingly responsive, I was shocked by how crisp it was both in the 2.0 and 1.5 applications.

Though the one thing is, the Audi does feel classier inside, all minimalist and quality. The MINI is something you would buy if you are say 30. Tbh, if you want a hatch, a decent fun hatch above 150 and has a German badge has to be the BMW 1 series. But as for FWD hatches, I’d wait on the Mazda3 hatch. Seen it abroad, absolute stunner.

• Agree. For a hatch, Mini is still the best choice. The engine and transmission are superb. Iriz? Meh… The Punch CVT is enough to ‘Punch’ you away

• weiseng.9122 on Feb 17, 2015 at 10:46 am

Audi and VW are actually having 5 star safety feautures.. So both are very similar, no worries lah… xxxxdent also won’t die that easily! hehe

• TheAnonymous on Feb 18, 2015 at 1:05 pm

Yea.. you’re right! They both actually have 5 star safety features.. No way for you to compare them together..

• conti on Feb 16, 2015 at 4:59 pm

Iriz should be dropped from P1 lineup

• Semi-Value (Member) on Feb 16, 2015 at 8:42 pm

nobody is crazy enuf to pay 200k for a polo

• but a lot of crazy ppl buy 200-300k Toyota Camry, just for the L badge..
      and even more crazy paying >100k buy Proton Inspira bcos they like the 3-kaki logo

I guess only very small amount of crazy A1 owners compare both the above.. lol

• Semi-Value (Member) on Feb 17, 2015 at 9:48 pm

well…a lot of ppl pay 800k for a phaeton also….and 1 million for a touareg

• Leafable on Feb 16, 2015 at 9:51 pm

Not enough sugar daddy in Malaysia.

• shebang on Feb 16, 2015 at 11:27 pm

For rm179k, the bmw 1 series is a much better buy and better driveabilit as compared to A1.

• Iskandar on Feb 20, 2015 at 12:19 pm

they also discontinued the A3 Sportback quite sometime back too.

• csteoh7828 on Jul 23, 2015 at 2:05 pm

What is happening that the Audi A1 three and five door hatchback? These cars are not discontinued yet.