Puspakom, MACC sign Corporate Integrity Pledge

puspakom-macc 15

Puspakom has augmented its efforts to combat corruption with the signing of the Corporate Integrity Pledge (CIP), witnessed by the Malaysian Anti-Corruption Commission (MACC). The move supplements an existing understanding between the two firms, which was marked by the signing of a Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) back in 2011 and led to the establishment of the Puspakom-MACC Integrity Technical Committee.

“Puspakom continues to engage with MACC in its efforts to fight against the risk of corruption and addresses the issue of integrity. The CIP will further aid and reinforce the implementation of Puspakom’s comprehensive continuous action plan towards creating a transparent and accountable governance, instituting high integrity and a corruption-free environment at all levels in the organisation,” said Tan Sri Datuk Sri Haji Mohammad Khamil Jamil, group managing director of DRB-Hicom.

In addition to the efforts of the Puspakom-MACC Integrity Technical Committee as well as tighter monitoring on employees, Puspakom has also introduced a “No Gift Policy” that strictly prohibits the exchange of tokens between members of the public and Puspakom officials. Furthermore, a “Whistleblower Policy” encourages individuals to report all questionable methods employed by Puspakom technicians.

In its latest move to quell malpractice within the firm, Puspakom has invested up to RM3 million on the deployment of what it calls the ‘Toughpad’ system. By having employees log their progress in each inspection every step of the way, the system uploads and records the process onto a dedicated server. This, in turn, minimises human involvement which reduces the odds of any form of misconduct.

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• What? Signing a pledge? How is this suppose to help?
    Get you butt off the couch and do some real work. Send undercover there.
    Signing konon.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 5
    • Same L0rrrr on Mar 09, 2015 at 6:25 pm

Sign what lar… making show only.

Just like the Iriz, betul betul onz… Onz what lar?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 9
      • Low Budget on Mar 10, 2015 at 4:19 pm

To make the show more exciting, MACC also can sign with PDRM, Land Office, Immigration and Custom department.

• DownRightStupid on Mar 09, 2015 at 9:52 pm

Same thoughts here.

This country has nothing better to do but put on Drama, Wayang Kulit and a whole episode of shows…..

IF you got good public/citizen feedback data to show , you don’t need some downright stupid pledge.
      Dare you to open a public forum for public to comment and take the criticism to improve..otherwise…stop the drama show….

• Why focus on the title alone..read the whole story and look at all the efforts they carried out in totality.

Don’t forget, it takes two to tango. It is customers who like to get thing faster than normal, Q jumper, cut corner etc that’s willing to pay to meet their objective. Giver meet taker…and the rest continue to bash..

• Low Budget on Mar 10, 2015 at 4:22 pm

Ka,ka,ka, what if they purposely make things 10x slower if the customer (the Citizens ) don’t grease?

• Bribing has never been acceptable and all agencies shouldn’t condone it. You do not need to organize an event to tell people that you reject it. It is common sense.

• This is another signing ceremony to make them look busy. Another event that ada santapan mee, karipap, crab claws with sirap bandung. God, I love my job.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 4
    • 75 Years Old Man on Mar 09, 2015 at 5:35 pm

When I sold my old Proton recently for RM2000, Puspakom Officer openly asked RM500 to settle everything. I asked him did my car fail. He said my car already pass but old cars like mine and old people like me sure some “problems” will come up and for sure “mesti ada masalah kat pejabat”.

I am 75 years old.

those were the Puspakom Officers words. He told me I had to come at least few times before everything can be sorted out eventhough my car pass the test.

Real robbery. Poor old man like me also, want to make RM2000 also, RM500 kena sapu. I am 75 years old.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 8
      • U can report to ceo of puspakom. Just need to give details of the offIcer who told u tat. We r consumenr, we hv the right to report and not to condone to it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 6
        • tokmoh (Member) on Mar 09, 2015 at 9:44 pm

First day in Msia? Consumer right? What’s that?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
        • Low Budget on Mar 10, 2015 at 4:26 pm

If all CEOs heed your complains, Malaysia will be as clean as Singapore, the little red dot down south many Malaysians love to hate.

• Clean Up MACC Please! on Mar 09, 2015 at 5:25 pm

What a big fat joke. Today, Teoh Beng Hock Investigation Officer was promoted to be State Director of Sabah MACC.

That itself will tell you, what ajoke MACC is.

And we all know, Puspakom is corrupted to the core. Every level of it need money or ang pau to get things done. Nobody can touch Puspakom because it is owned by Syed Mokhtar and we all know Syed Mokhtar is more powerful than even PM.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 7
    • George Abdul on Mar 09, 2015 at 8:49 pm

So true like Proton appoint a ex Prime minister like DrM as CEO… Same joke as always.

DrM a Dr to manage a automotive industry company… what a shame !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
  • main masak on Mar 09, 2015 at 5:39 pm

Signing integrity pledge with a body which its own integrity is in doubt… yalah rakyat semua bodoh la..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 5
  • nabill (Member) on Mar 09, 2015 at 6:19 pm

These two names, u can never ever associate them with integrity…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
  • isuzuki on Mar 09, 2015 at 6:27 pm

First, the persons has to have integrity, then only useful. Else…….

• Samad Jain on Mar 09, 2015 at 6:46 pm

Integrity???

Cows will fly if these bunch of idiots had even slightest integrity.

Please, please, please dont insult and use the word integrity if you have NONE.

Kasi malu saja….

What a bunch of Mat Slogan…..waste of money and time. Syoik sendiri….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
  • Megane on Mar 09, 2015 at 8:11 pm

What Integrity Pledge? Hahahaha kauorg takder kerja ka buat lawak hari Isnin nie? Sat aku nak makan Roti Jala Cicah kari lepas gelak nak pecah perut

• Semi-Value (Member) on Mar 09, 2015 at 11:46 pm

damn kesian…now need do show…last time i corrupt i get datukship

• If Puspakom performs their work with “integrity”, there would be lesser “failed” commercial vehicles on the road. But sadly this is not happening now. Some of these vehicles are in so bad shape that you started to wonder how they pass the Puspakom tests.

• 4G63T DSM on Mar 10, 2015 at 10:23 am

If they really want to check, then check for odometer fraud. 9 out of 10 cars sold here are tampered with.

I’ve sent a car in myself for the puspakom check once, the truth is, all they really check is the windshield tint. I used to work as a part time auto tech and I take 5 times longer to check for all the safety related items on customer’s car.

They don’t even remove the wheels, how to check the brakes and suspension components? A badly worn out ball joint or toe link may result in your wheels falling off.

Their checklist must be as follows;

Brek : ada
      Tayar : ada 4
      Potong : Tak ada
      Tint : Pass

• pus supervisor on Mar 11, 2015 at 3:24 pm

Bang, keja kuat-kuat buat ape? Letih laa bro, ku nak tidur nih. Check tint n mintak kopi je settle la. Jom minum teh dan makan kuih lapis. Malam nanti boleh cari awek kongkek…besnye.

• Low Budget on Mar 10, 2015 at 4:31 pm

Sometimes, even 2nd car buyers got conned by Puspakom certification too. I bought a 2nd hand car 4 years ago which was certified by the all expert in Puspakom only to ‘Whoops’ the next week or so with faulty gear box and also conked drive shaft.

• das auto on Mar 10, 2015 at 12:15 am

Just look at the faces of those crooks. Integrity? ptuii!!

• apanama on Mar 10, 2015 at 7:19 am

If only these clowns know what integrity really means..i doubt they will sign this pledge there hahaha.

• Wayang on Mar 10, 2015 at 9:50 am

Integrity? Let JPJ takeover Puspakom lah. Privatise safety inspection as business monopoly is morally wrong anyway.

• IrizX on Mar 10, 2015 at 9:51 am

MACC??? Integrity???

HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA!!!!

• At-least they acknowledged they are corrupt !! Bloody shameless morons !!!

• Talk3Talk4 on Mar 10, 2015 at 11:45 am

According to the internet search, they have bought the “toughpad” ever since Nov 2013 and now only they start to “surfaced” and encourage their employee to use it to minimize human involvement and odds??? Hmmmmmm………..