Hyundai Tucson now CKD, priced lower from RM116k

Hyundai_Tucson_Sport_1

Hyundai-Sime Darby Motors (HSDM) has rolled-out the locally-assembled (CKD) version of the Hyundai Tucson. Now coming out of Inokom’s plant in Kulim, the C-segment SUV models are priced 10% lower than the CBU (Korea) models. The Tucson range now starts at RM116,677.60 for the Nu 2.0 Elegance, up to RM133,677.60 for the Nu 2.0 Sport (OTR without insurance).

Only the two variants remain, while the previous 2.0 Executive Plus and 2.4 Executive Plus models have effectively been dropped. Specs of the two CKD offerings are largely unchanged compared to their equivalent CBU models, plus the addition of LED daytime running lights and leather upholstery across the range.

Based on the spec sheet released (below), the only thing that is omitted is a leather-wrapped steering wheel previously fitted to the 2.0 Elegance, which is now replaced with a “soft PVC” unit. Otherwise, you still get 17-inch wheels, front and rear foglamps, steering wheel audio controls and auto lights as standard.

Click to enlarge.

The Sport adds on chrome door handles, all-around bodykit, front parking sensors, panoramic sunroof, keyless entry and start and a touchscreen head unit with navigation and front and rear parking cameras. Six airbags (as opposed to two on the Elegance), ESP, Vehicle Stability Management, Downhill Brake Control and Hill-start Assist are only available on the Sport too.

Under the hood, there’s the same Nu 2.0 litre engine. The MPI motor makes 158 PS at 6,200 rpm and 192 Nm of torque at 4,000 rpm. As before, Hyundai’s own six-speed automatic transmission transfers power to the front wheels. Previously, only the 2.4 litre Tucson variant had an all-wheel drive drivetrain.

Standard colours available are Pure White, Titanium Grey, Hyper Metallic and Pepper Grey, while Remington Red, Phantom Black, Sleek Silver and Platinum Silver options are offered on the Sport variant. HSDM provides a five-year/300,000 km warranty on the CKD Hyundai Tucson.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• jim labu on Mar 18, 2015 at 11:27 am

Harga sampai RM116k dapat PVC steering je? Kedekut betul HSDM ni…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 2
    • azhar on Mar 18, 2015 at 11:34 am

no VSC no nothing..2 airbags with ABS only..just like perodua…haha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 3
      • Therealmaserati on Mar 18, 2015 at 4:00 pm

too all my readers in PT. I have just left Toyota. Cannot survive in Toyota with sales so bad. I cannot join kimchi also because I have bad mouth kimchi so long now out of jealousy.

I have now joined Parkson as bra and panties promoter. Anybody want Wacoal, Sorella, Skiva, Bee Dees, Triumph, I can give good discounts.

Please guys in this forum, forgive me for all my bad writings and bad condemnation of kimchi cars. I am truly sorry. Kimchi cars are actually quite good, I admit.

I now look forward to my new career as an undergarments promoter. Infact, Same Lorr, Sam Loo and Sam Loo (ori1) is soon going to join me to sell panties and bra. Please wish all of us all the best.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
      • momoi on Mar 18, 2015 at 4:52 pm

this Outdate Hyundai SUV is even as good looking as the Basic B-segment SUV Honda HR-V..

very facepalm.

RM100k – RM150k plus must look classy maa..
        buy a C-segment excutive Sedan or a C-segment SUV.

• Jimmy on Mar 18, 2015 at 1:30 pm

HRV 118k has 6 airbags and ESP, in case Hyundai Malaysia didn’t read the news.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 3
      • in term of resale value , hrv must be very much better than tis tucson.

• PriceDrop on Mar 18, 2015 at 11:27 am

This kimchi near end production life. Only now SDA reduced price. Scared loose further to Honda HR-V?

HR-V an indeed a game changer. Well done Honda!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 2
  • brazbuz on Mar 18, 2015 at 11:35 am

Elegance spec is just hopeless.

• Gargantia on Mar 18, 2015 at 11:37 am

Not a bad price(elegance spec) but added VSC and etc(sport spec) cost more then 15k?

Lousy Sime Darby Hyundai malaysia, another unhuman marketing by the team and management !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
  • They should actually price the Tucson just like the recently CKDed Mazda 3.

• David Chang on Mar 18, 2015 at 11:42 am

RM116,677.60 for the Nu 2.0 Elegance
    -for this price range better buy HR-V

up to RM133,677.60 for the Nu 2.0 Sport
    -for this price range better buy CX-3,CRV,CX-5,X-Trail

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 6
    • applegreen on Mar 18, 2015 at 12:45 pm

at rm133k can get Subaru XV with sti package

• KENNY on Mar 18, 2015 at 1:26 pm

simply talk, u compared orange to epal. Just like:

RM1.5 mil for a small condo in KLCC area,
      -for this price better buy Terrace House in PJ

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 10
  • adik tucson bila mau launch??mesti harga boleh below 100k..good news!

• roxas on Mar 18, 2015 at 12:21 pm

DRL on elantra pls. .

• GERMAN CAR LOVER AKA JIAN on Mar 18, 2015 at 12:59 pm

I think this is quite a good move from the firm.Though Sime Darbys did this because their Korean Crossovers, the Sportage and Tucson are getting long to the tooth but I think their good buys if you wanna CUV and not care of it being replaced by its successor.

It is a good alternative to the likes of the ASX and the ever popular CX5 .Though I think it can’t compete with the CRV, T32 ,Ford Kuga and Forester as those are in the class above.

• Stock clearance strategy. Better to wait and get the much, much better 3rd-gen Tucson. http://paultan.org/2015/02/18/hyundai-tucson-third-generation-unveiled-at-geneva/

• nabill (Member) on Mar 18, 2015 at 1:58 pm

i was about to say its actually a good deal at rm116k til i real the specs for the base model , which is pathetic…

thats why whenever i see an iriz on the road , i think to myself , if this thing can offer 6 airbags and TC , why not everyone else??

• harkmee on Mar 18, 2015 at 5:34 pm

Ya right. Low class iriz can offer 6 airbags and tc and vsc at 40k price range. This tucson can consider high class ha? Camry also more low class than preve in terms of safety. Want to compare this with iriz?? Haha this one should be around 80k only la can consider buy.engine also nothing to shout about.like proton campro vvt only.even proton handles better!

• I’d rather buy CR-V 2WD than the Tucson Sport. About the same price.

• RAYMONDCAR on Mar 19, 2015 at 3:34 pm

NEW TUCSON ALREADY OUT IN OTHER COUNTRY…DONT SELL OLD CAR HERE.

• Current tucson owners,20k drop in RV!